Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Law and disorder in Perak

Law and disorder in Perak PDF Print
Monday, 02 March 2009 22:32

By Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

Perak stands on the verge of an administrative breakdown tonight as the state’s executive and legislature appeared locked in battle for control of the state.

Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir, the mentri besar of the de facto Barisan Nasional (BN) government, has declared an attempt to hold an emergency sitting of the state assembly a “threat to national security.”

“If anyone is involved in tomorrow’s assembly, the government will not compromise with anyone who threatens national security,” he said.

Perak Speaker V Sivakumar has called for an emergency sitting of the state assembly tomorrow where a vote is likely to declare support for the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) government of Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin and call for the state legislature to be dissolved.

Zambry claims that the emergency sitting is illegal without the consent of the Sultan. He cited Articles 8, 11 and 36 of the state constitution.

However, a check with the Perak constitution confirms that Articles 8 and 11 cited by Zambry were not related whatsoever with what he argued.

Articles 8 and 11 are in relation to the state seal, and the executive action of the authority being conducted in the Sultan’s name, respectively.

Article 36 says, among other things, that “His Royal Highness shall from time to time summon the legislative assembly and shall not allow six months to elapse between the last sitting in one session and the date appointed for its first sitting in the next session.”

However lawyers representing the Speaker are arguing that the last sitting of the assembly had only been adjourned sine die, or indefinitely. Therefore, the emergency sitting would only be a continuation of the last sitting.

Meanwhile, Speaker Sivakumar also said tonight that he will be suspending assembly secretary Abdullah Antong Sabri and has appointed Nizar’s political secretary, Misbahul Munir Masduki, as replacement.

The Speaker said Abdullah had failed to exercise his duties impartially when the latter claimed that the emergency sitting would be invalid without royal consent.

Sivakumar also called on the police to ensure that all state assemblymen would be allowed to attend tomorrow’s sitting without interference or obstruction.

He says he intends to invoke the powers of the assembly to commit those responsible for stopping the assembly to appropriate punishment.

Sivakumar cited Section 124 of the Penal Code, which is related to the crime of attempting to induce or compel or wrongfully restraint any member of the legislature.

The Perak state secretary’s office has issued a directive to lock the gates tomorrow to the building, where the state legislature is located, ahead of an emergency sitting of the state assembly called by Sivakumar.

The directive appears to suggest civil service and executive interference in the legislature in what some lawyers say is a clear violation of the constitution and the doctrine of separation of powers.

The Perak police chief also issued a statement this afternoon in which he said the emergency sitting is “invalid” and advised members of the public not to gather at the state assembly.

These various directives appear to suggest the state Barisan Nasional (BN) government is trying to stretch to the limits its advantage of incumbency to prevent a vote in the assembly tomorrow, which it may lose.

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by OVERLORD, March 02, 2009 22:34:59
we shall fight on the seas and oceans, we shall fight with growing confidence and growing strength in the air, we shall defend our island, whatever the cost may be, we shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender

Sir Winston Churchill

Our own Bapak revolusi has sounded the war drums...heed his call.....we must prevent BN from holding our rights hostage...the time for change is not yesterday or in the future....but now!!!!!!!!!
agree 123
written by *********, March 02, 2009 22:38:16
The BN/Umno regime is dragging the Palace into politics to cling on to pwer. The Sultan must make his stand here or be seen by the Rakyat as a tool of the BN/Umno regime. What BN/Umno is doing in invoking the Sultan's name is indeed PENDERHAKAAN (TREASON)...More http://*********.********.com
written by Bandit, March 02, 2009 22:39:29
Lap dogs PDRM. Pakatan should work hard that the next GE all top rank UMNO civil servants should be replaced. Includes all departments. These so called civil servants have lost their prorities. PDRM should be totally overhauled and the top ranked police officers punished severely. Rakyat with you
written by smeagrooo, March 02, 2009 22:41:04
let just say PR wins next GE, u think PDRM will stand on PR's side? Hmmmmmm........

Unless u gv the some fellas some form of immunity la.
written by Darth Vader, March 02, 2009 22:43:57
What do you mean by "threat to national security"? Are you indirectly saying that Mr ISA will be attending the assembly tomorrow?

Please check up the word "National" and also look up the word "State"
written by lamakawan, March 02, 2009 22:44:29
The state assemblymen are required to attend an emergency state sitting tomorrow.
All assemblymen invited by the speaker of the house must attend. It is their responsibility as elected representatives to attend all state assembly sittings.
It is the responsibilty of the police to ensure their safety while attending to the state emergency sitting. The public will hold the police responsible if anything untoward were to happen to the state assemblymen who are elected by the rakyat .
written by nanyangren, March 02, 2009 22:45:48
TOMORROW, in Perak, will be Najib's Waterloo. So the state of BN ( France ) as we know will change forever.

That is my prophesy. And they tend to come true.
written by fan73, March 02, 2009 22:50:52
news!!! berita harian online...

Speaker Perak pecat Setiausaha DUN

IPOH: Speaker Dewan Undangan Negeri (DUN) Perak, V Sivakumar, memecat Setiausaha DUN, Abdullah Antong Sabri, dan melantik Misbahul Munir Masduki mengisi jawatan itu.

Misbahul ialah setiausaha politik bekas Menteri Besar Perak, Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin.

Pada sidang media pada 7.45 malam tadi, Sivakumar turut memberi amaran kepada Ketua Polis Perak, Datuk Zulkefli Abdullah, bahawa beliau boleh dipenjara sehingga tujuh tahun mengikut Seksyen 124 Kanun Keseksaan jika menghalang sidang DUN.
written by cheemengwong, March 02, 2009 22:51:27
Raayat of Perak have to speak up or hold their peace till the next election. PKR MPs risk being arrested and ISAed tomorrow! My Dato friend in construction tried to comit suicide by drinking wisky and slept for a week lamenting poor economy, no cash flow, creditors chasing and host of other problems. Cheer up Dato'
written by Ron, March 02, 2009 22:53:35
Shame on najis!shame on najis!Shame on BN!Now they use the courts just like Mamak.20 years ago bn locked the supreme court and now they lock the state secretriate.Nothing has changed in umno.No guts to face an election.They have politicised the palace.
written by SeriousLy, March 02, 2009 23:00:08
Lord Siva, Just have the assembly under the tree or in the hall behind your house!
written by miwaki, March 02, 2009 23:03:12
RPK said if the stupid "jaga" locked the gate,look for a new place to carry on with the agenda.Does Perak's Constitution state that state assembly meeting is mandatory to be held in a particular venue ? Zamry kadir,if you cannot understand Perak's constitution,please check with Karpal Singh,Lim Kit Siang or Haris ibrahim-lah.
written by uxzee, March 02, 2009 23:08:21
It is time that the Palace stopped acting like a hypocrite and pretend not to know the turmoil that is caused by their wrong move.

Stand up and declare your fair stand like you should.

How far is this going to be allowed to go ?
written by edmundkang, March 02, 2009 23:09:20
hahahaha...what Zamby (can't remember how to spell his name...nevermind...I do not want to know too) cited Articles 8 and 11 has nothing to do with the calling for assembly sitting...hahaha..what is he doing? He do not know what he is saying...haha. It is always the BN politicans that made themselves a fool. Haha..HEY MCA, MIC and Gerakan, What is your views?? support Unmo or the people??
written by fan73, March 02, 2009 23:10:10
Truly Sivakumar is Sivaji the BOSS!!

you are making history man!

written by JaguhKampung, March 02, 2009 23:13:17
Zambry has run out of ideas. He doesn't know how to manage the situation in Perak now. He is mumbling wild ideas. Threat to National Security? Is he trying to invoke ISA to all the PR state assemblymen including the Speaker? He is quoting all the wrong laws of the State Constitution. He's gone mad.
written by ez24get, March 02, 2009 23:14:39
I would suggest to Nizar to bring a make-shift tent to the state assembly tomorrow. In case the gate of the state assembly is locked, open up the tent and hold the meeting at the gate of the state assembly in the full glare of all passers-by, local and foreign journalists, camera-men, etc . You are still holding a meeting at the state assembly, is it not?

Immediately, the whole world will know the absurdity and the high-handedness of the BN government and the Perak royalty.
written by cahaya, March 02, 2009 23:16:43
At a press conference earlier tonight, the Perak State Assembly Speaker V Sivakumar announced he was suspending the assembly's secretary Abdullah Antong Sabri with immediate effect. The suspension was because of Abdullah's failure to carry out his duties professionally. He has appointed a new State Secretary.

Speaker Sivakumar also said the emergency meeting of the assembly scheduled for tomorrow would go ahead as planned. Please pray for peace and justice in Perak!
written by Captain, March 02, 2009 23:22:22
All PR ADUNs and Parlimentarians take heed and learn from all the umno dirty tricks, and deploy all the tricks learnt back into bn controlled states and also the Parliment!

umno has opened a pandora's box that they will not be able to control or seal again...
written by The Hammer, March 02, 2009 23:46:26
Zambry claims that the emergency sitting is illegal without the consent of the Sultan. He cited Articles 8, 11 and 36 of the state constitution.
However, a check with the Perak constitution confirms that Articles 8 and 11 cited by Zambry were not related whatsoever with what he argued.

Articles 8 and 11 are in relation to the state seal, and the executive action of the authority being conducted in the Sultan’s name, respectively.

Are you really holding PHd in whatever you study!? To me the above statement shows that you are not a learned person at all. Some stupid Babi Najis lawyer must have quoted this Articles to you and you took it line, sink and hook!
Hey Zamboy, before you open that big mouth of yours, please check the facts not one time but maybe 10 times as you are very unsure whether you got it correct or not!
One thing for sure you are FINISHED ; FINITo; KAPUT ; BYE BYE ZAMBOY DODO!
written by othman hitam, March 02, 2009 23:50:21
"de facto Barisan Nasional (BN) government, has declared an attempt to hold an emergency sitting of the state assembly a “threat to national security.”
de facto/threat to National Security??????
Aiyo, Is that the best u can come out with?
written by fireduck, March 02, 2009 23:55:40
The whole problem with our country is that the police is totally unprofessional. They should not be used as a tool against the rakyat. What happens when there is a real change in the Federal govt come the next general election? Can we count on them to perform their duties in law enforcement professionally and impartially? Or will they all act as spies for UMNO then?

I am very sure most of our country's ills will be reduced if only the Police live up to its honour to protect the rakyat against criminal elements. As it is now, the police sorely lacks honour and dignity.

written by The Hammer, March 02, 2009 23:56:36
I believe it is not necessary that one must be in the august house to hold the assembly. Why not have it held at the stadium or any open space field before the public? That way the rakyat can see for themslves and decide the fate of the state. Those 'celaka" fellows and their paid servants can "jaga" the empty building. It is not the building but the people that makes the assembly.
written by fireduck, March 02, 2009 23:58:33
I can only pray for Sivakumar, Datuk Nizar, and all those in the state assembly, regardless of which side they are on. I pray that they all come to their senses and perform their duties that they were elected to do in the first place -- i.e. representation of the constituencies, and not of UMNO.

Bring back the dignity of the institution of the State Assembly by attending the emergency meeting. That's the least you ADUNs can do. How you vote is up to you, but respect the Speaker and the institution. Do not subvert the Speaker and the Law as that would only lead to further confusion and disrepair of our civil society.

And all these is caused by Najib. Evil!
written by amjoem, March 03, 2009 00:06:11
YAB V Sivakumar, we salute you. We who voted PR are today proud of you and the PR members of the Assembly. We also salute YAB Nijar for his stand. It is a pity that BN and Najib are careless of the People Power. The Palace and the Police have become their puppets. They dance according to the BN tune.
written by RumahPanjai, March 03, 2009 00:34:30
Where's the Sultan the protector of all perakians at his moment where his sultanate is in crisis? Why is there a deafening silence from the royal household? Why is he muted? Could it be he can't care less.
written by Daryl, March 03, 2009 00:39:34
Does PR have the rights to setup State Police and shrink the power of the PDRM in its state? It will be great if they do because than whoever run the state can run it without concern of PDRM interference in the future and also avoid chain of corruptions because they will be afraid of change in government in the next election. Good for Rakyat not for politicians. Because you have the State Secretary and PDRM trying to protect their "MASTER" in this. Also, please pay this state police more than the PDRM because they have family to feed and also find them extra hours work as security officers to supplement their income.
written by apa jadi, March 03, 2009 00:44:02
I had just praised this Zambry for his PhD brain for learning fast on the use of trumpcard, viz internal security, from his mentors. Now, he is really showing us his quality of a PhD calibre for citing Articles 8, 11 and 36 of the state constitution.....This kind of PhD.
written by OVERLORD, March 03, 2009 00:45:57
Please see this link to see why our country has gone to the dogs....This is video evidence of UMNO celakas harassing Karpal taken from the blog " The Might of the Pen"

http://sjsandteam.*********.com/2009/03/03/umno-youths-celaka-behaviour-towards-karpal-video/
written by SamBall, March 03, 2009 00:54:38
Sultan

Perak dah jadi Berak; oops najis
written by Wakeupmsia, March 03, 2009 01:06:35
A zimbabweee in the making in Perak! Long Live Rakyat Malaysia! We shall overcome. Salute to YB Sivakumar who acted without fear nor favour. But most of all, FAIRLY.
written by Daryl, March 03, 2009 01:48:04
I was told that PhD stands for "Permanent Head Damage" by one of my professor and that is why IO stopped at MSc. This false ME of PErak must be one of this PhD.
written by PASOK, March 03, 2009 02:43:12

The BN is now trapped within in its own contradictions.
written by Adriftboat, March 03, 2009 05:18:29
Zamry, today assemble is not a treat to security. As long as you do not vacant your seat since the prople of Perak do not acknowedged you as the legal MB, then you are the treat to security, keep on having press conferences and talking nonsense. Obey the law like the People of Perak and we are right in our recourse against ruthless people like you grabbing power without the consideration of the RAKAT of Perak.
written by Stupid me, March 03, 2009 05:28:35
God knows why this type of thing must happen in 'the most learned state'. Maybe someone could come out with a better explanation. Is there something more insidious than meets the eye ? Search me.
written by educationist, March 03, 2009 05:38:40
I wish I will be proven wrong.
Next, Siva and Nizar plus the other PR ADUNS will be detained under the ISA for threatening national security.
That ex-lord president can best be discounted to come forward now to do what is right and just.
he has sold his soul to the devil.
written by Adriftboat, March 03, 2009 06:31:00
Why is so hard for our HRH Sultan Azlan Shah to give th mandate back to the people of Perak? With the current situation, I fear it may escalate further as BN is so ruthless that they will do anything to be in Power. Power means where the money is if not people would not scramble for a position, with position comes with money derived from corruption.
I hope HRH will come to his senses and give us back our mandate to elect our representatives. Enough is enough and we have seen arrogant, corrupted, racist politicians who do not even know how to make a correct speech in public and an insult to our intelligence,. If it is wrong means it is WRONG. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Krepot, March 03, 2009 06:53:31
Perak Speaker V. Sivakumar is going down in history, the Indian bloke who brought back democracy to Malaysia! Remember this day!
written by borneoman, March 03, 2009 07:40:08
written by Adriftboat, March 03, 2009 06:31:00
Why is so hard for our HRH Sultan Azlan Shah to give the mandate back to the people of Perak?
....because all his royal house hold income depends on the the good will of tuan melayu umno who plundered the nation.
written by DreamLady, March 03, 2009 08:14:09
His Royal Highness, the sultan of Perak, PLEASE, say something!!! you are in position to turn the table around in favour of your Perak Rakyat, please, do not disappoint them at this hour when your decision is crucial to disperse the evil spell that has been hovering over the state of Perak. It is unfair and cruel to leave the rakyat in the lurk, at the mercy of the UMNO regime that throws its weight at its whims and fancies.

Please, His Royal Highness, the rakyat are crying out loud for your help. They will forgive you for the blunder you have made against them as long as you are daring enough to admit openly that you have indeed erred!!!

The rakyat are keeping their fingers crossed so that the hope shall become reality to them.

May God bless our Sultan of Perak and his family!!!
written by PASOK, March 03, 2009 08:48:50

Today is when the dogs of war are let loose to roam freely about the land.
It all starts today.
Muaaaaahhaaaahhaa!!