Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Reinterpreting "raja"

Reinterpreting "raja" PDF Print
Monday, 02 March 2009 12:47

Given the stalemate in Perak, many would say that the best option to uphold the country's constitutional monarchy is for all parties to keep the rulers above the political fray.

By Ooi Heng, The Nut Graph

IN the wee hours of 9 March 2008, I waited until 3am before leaving my office, just to confirm that Perak had really got rid of its old regime. I also wanted to make sure that Malaysians would wake up embracing a new Malaysia where, joining Kelantan, four states would have gone through the political metamorphosis they had been longing for.

8 March did not only put an end to the old regime. It also signified the beginning of the end of an old political model while a new model was still being developed. To the 13 May generation, this was especially meaningful because of what they have been haunted with post-1969.

This time, bloody incidents á la 13 May did not take place. What a wonderful new Malaysia! It was as if the federal government had changed hands, although in effect it did not.

Today, one year after 8 March 2008, the same hope many of us felt has turned into mixed feelings in the midst of the political crisis in Perak.

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by Hello Keithy, March 02, 2009 12:58:30
The next time round, whether it's snap poll or GE, we Perakians make sure the old regime (BN) is rid of and dead for good. We will bury it 30ft. underground with no tombstone or markings. It would be impossible for BN to wrestle by hook or crook the next time. They can throw away their pillows and stop dreaming.
written by Democrats, March 02, 2009 13:23:57
Perakians should just tell the king....Daulat Tuanku, ampun tuanku, appoint lah however you want as MB and EXCO. no need to waste the rakyats time on election, as if our opinion matters. No need for your Raja muda to continue giving speeches about being apolitical, or ruler and sovereign of all rakyat regardless of race and religion, the sanctity of legislation and law..... just appoint or listen to whoever you want to la......save us all the trouble.
written by Newkidonblog, March 02, 2009 13:57:07
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related

A dedication to Raja Nazrin. Love of the common people!
written by yipck, March 02, 2009 15:10:44
No to Raja Nazrin.
This is NOT to insult and NOT to curse Royal Family.

When Umno held knifepoint at Sultan, this already prove that Sultan only care of his own family interest and NOT the rakyat interest.

Even if Gamuda really got screw up by UMno, as long as Sultan on the Rakyat side, we as Rakyat will come to rescue!! We just need to contribute Rm1 to RM10 already can generate millions or hundred millions to save Gamuda!! This is RAKYAT POWER!!.

Too bad Sultan is trying to save his own other than the Rakyat.

That already has made us LOST RESPECT on the Royal Family.
written by Siputman, March 02, 2009 18:25:29
Daulat tuanku !! Sultan oi sultan. U have lost respect from most of the perakian including me. What had Najis spoken to u?