Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Speaker says Standing Orders give him final say on interpretation

Speaker says Standing Orders give him final say on interpretation PDF Print
Sunday, 01 March 2009 21:57
By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

Perak Speaker V. Sivakumar said this evening that a statement made by the state assembly secretary was made without his knowledge and permission and that the secretary has no powers to interpret Standing Orders.

He cited the legislature's Standing Orders 89 as giving him final say in any interpretation of the state assembly's Standing Orders. He also declared the emergency sitting on Tuesday as legal and will go on as scheduled.

The secretary of the state assembly, Abdullah Antong Sabri defied the speaker and issued a statement to the media this afternoon, where he declared the emergency sitting on Tuesday to be illegal as it has not received the consent of the Sultan of Perak, in accordance with the Standing Orders of the assembly and the state constitution.

"If the power to call a sitting can be taken from the speaker, what democratic values will future generations inherit?" said Sivakumar in his statement to the media. "We do not want our children to live in a half-baked democracy."

Observers have characterised the standoff between the house secretary and the speaker as a possible breakdown between the separation of powers between the executive and legislative branches of government.

"As far as rules are concerned, the secretary can only take orders from the speaker as head of the legislature and the sole authority to interpret standing orders," said Selangor state assembly speaker Teng Chang Kim.

"The only reason he would go against the speaker is if he is taking orders from the executive. This is a good case for instituting reforms to make the legislature truly independent of the executive."

DAP chairman Ngeh Koo Ham said that he has strong reasons to believe that the executive is forcing the secretary to defy the speaker.

"It is uncharacteristic of the clerk of the house to usurp the speaker and start interpreting the rules of assembly without knowledge or permission of the speaker," says Ngeh.

The speaker's legal counsel team earlier today rebutted Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir's comments made yesterday that the speaker is acting ultra vires the state constitution and circumventing the Sultan of Perak.

Sivakumar's legal counsel, Augustine Anthony, said that as an adjourned sitting, the session is not dissolved or prorogued and therefore does not require the consent of the Sultan.

"The emegency sitting is being held within the first assembly so he (the speaker) has the power to call the meeting," said Augustine.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by OVERLORD, March 01, 2009 22:07:44
In other words, the ruler has no jurisdiction and BN is full of crap! .....Karma baby...karma....28 vs 21....BN must be pissing in their pants!...oh joyful day..
written by DreamLady, March 01, 2009 22:10:23
The tug of power war is still on going. UMNO regime is adamant to cling on to the ill-gotten spoils of the war by hook or by crook, eventually the good shall prevail the evils. Let's us pray together so that Perak shall be returned to its rightful ownership!!!

God bless the rakyat of Perak, God please, bless the people of Malaysia!!!
written by justme bc, March 01, 2009 22:15:56
Hello Mamak Zambry, your legal counsels have gone to England to consult the QC, what is the outcome? no need to go so far, they(the Queen's counsel) will tell you that the Speaker has the final say in the DUN, correct? must be correct lo....Our advise to you robbers is to dissolve the DUN and seek the mandate from the Perak rakyat if you dare.
written by Thian, March 01, 2009 22:20:47

UMNO's understanding of law is bullying and intimidation... that is why they have to get QC to assist.

If left alone, they samseng the member of parliament...

written by Kacang Tanah, March 01, 2009 22:24:32
Believe me. BN will employ all dirty tactics they can think of to stop this meeting. On 3/3/09 the PDRM and FRU will set up road block and no ADUN is allow to enter the State Assembly Hall.
written by uxzee, March 01, 2009 22:27:10
Siva, do not get confused or distracted by this Antong Sabri or even Najis. They do not understand the constitution as well as you do. I think you are very focussed. That is why they have consulted a Mat Salleh QC.
written by Thian, March 01, 2009 22:32:27
Yes, they do not need to know law, they are the law.

They just use the UMNO agencies such as PDRM and FRU; or even send out their Gestapo Celekas to stop the meeting or arrest (ISA) all the MP or some similar lawless, hooligans means that we generally expect from them...

written by fdqn, March 01, 2009 22:35:12
Hiyah!!! Drama,drama,people all over the world are thinking how to over come the economy slow down and all the bills that they need to pay, and yet the politician are coming up with all these stupid drama one after another,wake up brothers, we are in deep shit and yet,nobody pays a hoot,to our sufferings,what a shame,enough is enough, give the perakian have their say on whom they want to govern their state once and for all ,then get itmover with and theose elected this time will get the state back on track, the longer the sultan delay the rakyat wishes,the more drama we will be seeing. daulat tuanku, give your poor rakyat some peace and nobody will blame you cos it will be decided by them ,the voters and perakian only , not outsiders. smilies/cry.gif
written by Good News, March 01, 2009 22:39:26
You know, I know, and everybody knows who the Perakians want, as their state government, yet this bloody can't-wait PM is up to no good with all these monkey tricks. What would you think of such character? All these dirty tactics will eventually hasten their own demise. Enough is enough.
written by biggun129, March 01, 2009 22:53:57
Keadaan di 'Negeri Timah' sekarang Kalam kabut,apabila S/U undangan negeri mengeluarkan kenyataan itu, seolah olah dia yang berkuasa dalam Dewan Undangan Negeri dan bukan lagi Speaker Dewan., Negeri Perak sekarang terjatuh menjadi sebuah negeri disemenanjung yang tiada lagi undang2,hasrat rakyat perak terhampa apa bila keadaannya menjadi begini,mereka hidup dibawah negeri yang hilang haluan,dalam keadaan huru hara ini,yang menderitanya ialah rakyat,siapa yang sebenar nya menanggung kesemua perbuatan yang jahat ini!Ada kah 'Negeri Timah' akan berpulih kembali saperti dahulu, 'Manusia merancang, Tuhan yang menentu!'
written by kavidibaku, March 01, 2009 23:22:06
They never came across a person like siva i guess. Siva, all the best and take care.
written by Alamak, March 01, 2009 23:31:29
Siva, Good Job... Don't let them intimidate you...
written by malgal, March 01, 2009 23:50:20
Suspend the secretary, case of insubordination.
written by malgal, March 01, 2009 23:51:24
Siva, you have shown you're not made of jelly.
written by Aramsawafer, March 01, 2009 23:57:35
This is like Alibaba and the forty thieves. The BN/UMNO goons now use the secretary of the assembly to test water and see whether any thing can come out of it. You know, the next thing they will do is to get all the 40 thieves to block the Speaker from carrying out the emergency session on 03-03, and when the Speaker and the PR resist, they will call the polis to bar all from convening the emergency session and if this is resisted further by the PR, then the Ameno/Be-the-End BNks goons will declared a state of emergency and rule the state from KL. Who don't know this dirty game to be played by the Alibaba scumbags during the next few weeks. So no more bye-election in Perak and the 3 stooges will not get a single cent
written by budakindia, March 02, 2009 00:31:18
Thanks to Najib! He screwed up big time! Maybe UMNO will only the best party for livestocks like cows and sheeps!That's why they are hellbent on laws forbidding unnatural sex! Maybe that's the law they created to prohibit them from having sex with their livestocks!
written by onnetline, March 02, 2009 02:33:16
Kayu Sabri,

If you're that good, Najis won't be sending a legal team to UK to seek clarifications with Queen counsels lah !!!
So, are you under instruction to ' act ' like an expert or bark aimlessly to buy more time ?
Plainly, shut up, please !
written by sahabat, March 02, 2009 07:52:00
The speaker's power to call for the emergency meeting is constitutionally valid.
written by adan, March 02, 2009 08:12:18
This is to be expected in a LAWLESS society,where THE RULE OF LAW is replaced by the RULE OF THE JUNGLE. We end up with the situation when the court interpretor -(the state assembly secretary)- is directed to OVERRULE the judge - the State Speaker. Let us see HOW this illogical and senseless situation is allowed to prevail.. and by WHOM..
written by asguard, March 02, 2009 09:34:20
UMNO does whatever it please...example Perak problem... to them they are the law ... do what ever please them... and other no matter how right they are still regarded by UMNO is wrong or illegal! In another words... UMNO's law above all other laws in Malaysia! That is what they are trying to tell the public.
written by benyap, March 02, 2009 12:10:19
I pray for Mr sivakumar's safety. The govt (the corrupt one) may use ISA against him. Isnt it a coincidence that the whore of jelapang is also the deputy speaker of the perak house? If Im seeing this right, putting siva in ISA and then u will see suddenly the whore of jelapang return "unexpectedly" to reinstate the BN reps.