Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No Need For Unity Government With Opposition, Says Rafidah

No Need For Unity Government With Opposition, Says Rafidah PDF Print
Sunday, 01 March 2009 20:51

(Bernama) -- Wanita Umno head Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz today said PAS president Datuk Seri Hadi Awang's call for the formation of a unity government is a political ploy and bringing in the opposition into Barisan Nasional (BN) might only cause disunity instead.

"We already have a unity government in the BN. We have so many component parties representing all the racial groups in the country ... We already have that, so there is no need for us to bring in any opposition member.

"If anything at all, they might come in and cause disunity; the way they are behaving today, the way their members are disregarding the law and constitution," she told reporters after attending a get together of Umno supreme council and Wanita Umno candidates for the party's polls with Sabah state Umno delegates, here.

Recently Hadi in an interview with The Malaysian Insider, an Internet news portal, had said that with the current economic crisis and political turmoil in the country, the time was right for a unity government and that BN could not on its own bring the nation out of the economic crisis.

"This is just a political ploy, maybe they are losing ground in places where they think they are strong, so they would like to gain some sympathy by talking about a unity government.

"We in BN are very confident of our own efforts to promote national unity, most important is that for the opposition not to distrupt the unity of this country by playing on racial issues, discriminating against groups and causing dissent everywhere," said Rafidah.

Therefore, she said, instead of forging a unity government with the BN, the opposition instead should abide by the laws and avoid violating the national constitution, thus enabling both parties to be able to coordinate with each other in developing the country.

On other developments, when asked about her chances in retaining the top leadership of the Wanita movement against challenger Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, she declined to comment, saying that it is up to the delegates to make the choice.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by chanatak, March 01, 2009 20:54:07
No, the rakyat doesn't want it either. A unity government will cause the dirt and smut of UMNo to smear onto the PR side even more. In any case, UMNO will not be in power after the next GE. Who needs a unity government? We only need UMNO dead and gone
written by onnetline, March 01, 2009 21:03:10
Porky AP queen is worried that she'll get ' eaten ' up if there's actually a formation of a ' unity government ' !
written by OVERLORD, March 01, 2009 21:04:55
Please don't "perasan"...We don't want rotten apples like you either.....Next GE,you will be begging for unity.....hahaha...revenge will be sweet....
written by educationist, March 01, 2009 21:08:16
Who are you to comment?
Still smarting because you are dropped as a Minister?
Perhaps hoping under Najib you can make a comeback?
If indeed a unity govt. can be formed under Badawi, it'll surely lower the political temperature a few degrees.
Then, the resources and energy can be used to help the country out of the current uncertain economic uncertainties.
But, of course, this is day dreaming!
Najib will make sure it does not occur.
written by ciahcra, March 01, 2009 21:09:55
I find arrogant and BN can't be separated....
written by Sabahfan, March 01, 2009 21:11:39
check out her videos at the utube before the announcment of cabinet. she said with a smile "tentang cabinet pun i tak tau, its up to pm
selepas cabinet lineup announce, dekat mau nangkis blame sharizat pula she thinks MITI is her personal home.
written by supplier, March 01, 2009 21:25:39
The big fat and ugly
written by JaguhKampung, March 01, 2009 21:30:23
For once, I agree with this AP Queen. No one should not get near to such a dirty and immoral UMNO.
written by justme bc, March 01, 2009 21:34:47
The AP queen Rafidah is already causing disunity among her wanita movement and not wanting to make way for other eligible candidate to take over her position for the very reason of her selfishness. She will pay dearly come this Mar wanita head election.
written by cheemengwong, March 01, 2009 21:36:30
Rafidah never wants to share her cake with anyone. She has been enjoying all the APs all these years. Why should she want it exposed for all and sundry to see and share?

Rafidah... can you take all the money to the grave when you are gone leaving Malaysia in a worst condition than Zimbabwee? Even your grandchildren will be unsafe then!

How? What say you Rafidah. Donate all the ill gotten APs to the charitable and old folks home?
written by Raizzen, March 01, 2009 21:47:50
Well PR pun bukan terhegeh-hegeh sangat nak buat unity govt. with the likes of you pigs. But then again, this is us giving you chance. To redeem your unworthy selves to the Rakyats.

This gemok suddenly has grown some balls to talk cock back now. I remember someone whipping over a Quran denying charges not too long ago. Not to mention with half ass.ed tudung. What a joke.
written by MAGELLAN, March 01, 2009 21:51:17
As a common rakyat, I also do not want such unity governments, this is the begining of future or potential crossovers.

As for Rafidah, she is past her prime. What she should do is mind her business and retire from politics for good.
written by malsia1206, March 01, 2009 21:56:37
Rafidah, your statement probably get you with your own panties down. Surely the Malaysian rakyat knows your position clearly cos there's no reason for you to share your APs with the other Pakatan Government, would you?
written by fdqn, March 01, 2009 21:57:07
The higher you rise,the harder you will fall,come march,she will fall flat on her face,better get use to it cos she has been sitting on the golden throne for more then 2 dacades and thinks that the seat belongs to only her,hah!,still in denial and so arrogant,no wonder her previous 'sifu'TDM also cannot tahan her attitute,wake up lah, this is 2009 already,a generations have grown up and many are educated and wiser,so bye bye AP queen,and make sure you wipe your seat clean lest the Rakyat will vote and boot you out this time around.adious smilies/wink.gif
written by uxzee, March 01, 2009 22:00:41
Good try Rafidah - but your time is up. Prepare to make way for Sharizat who is Najib's preferred choice.

Your statement on 'Unity Govt' is good for Najib, but Najib is not about to change his plans and campaign for you in the Wanita election.

Good Bye
written by Good News, March 01, 2009 22:03:27
Come on AP queen, do you seriously believe that PR needs to form a unity government with BN? You have been fooled! Datuk Seri Hadi Awang is just being polite, and this is his fore-warning that BN will come begging to be part of the PR government come next GE.
written by uxzee, March 01, 2009 22:06:58
Ooooi MACC Ahmad Said - are you sure you have given a non-corrupted 'corrupt free' bill to this AP Queen. Even Mahathir thought she was corrupted.
written by loosecannon, March 01, 2009 22:07:37
The fat lady is afraid to share her APs?
written by aplus, March 01, 2009 22:29:07
Ya lah Kak Rafidah, please stand and be counted by having your say. After all it's the Wanitas and Puteris which manage to garner more votes to UMNO BARU than those "empty barrel makes the most noise"-lay-about dickheads could.
written by the1, March 01, 2009 22:35:12
Not sharing the billions you ripped off from APs yea?
Enough lah, don't be greedy and fat!
written by SiHangChai, March 01, 2009 22:54:33
You are spot on, Fat Lady! Opposition is definitely not needed in the unity. Everything has a price and you certainly won't want to share your APs with opposition.
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 01, 2009 23:09:40
I'm really sad, not because Rafidah Aziz or UMNO/BN had rejected the idea of a unity government proposed by Hadi Awang, but because Malaysians are led by idiotic and moronic politicians, especially those from UMNO. They are narrow-minded. Perhaps because they guzzled too much haram money that made them thickheaded and spiritually unclean. They have narrow vision and can't think outside the box. To them the opposition is never right and never follow the law or the constitution. To them whatever they do is constitutional and they are always right. That actually is the harm caused by the ketuanan melayu struggle. They are nor different from the Jews. To the Jews, non-Jews are goyim.
written by Lis LQ, March 01, 2009 23:49:15
Hoooii,you are really a real sicko!!! Phtuiiii,opposition losing ground???
I think your dementia has set in early..
Please don't day dream Madam AP.
In America,after the election,the new president will say to the opposition...
Let us build America together for a better tomorrow.
But in Malaysia????? they will try and kill all oppositions party,if not buy them!!!! This is what madam Ap wants!!!
All are the same,semua takut,holding on tight to their position,takut terlapas their $$$$$$,that is what its all about!!!!
written by Aramsawafer, March 02, 2009 00:07:59
Hoi, AP Queen, where got unity in Ameno/Be-the-End la. You still thinking of the AP ka. Over the years the AP has made you so fat, lagi tak cukup-ke? Siapa nak unity gomen. Rakyat tak nak gomen contaminating the Rakyat punya representatives. You should retired and go plant vegetables/sweet potatoes like Bodowi(
written by SamBall, March 02, 2009 00:17:00
This porky bitch is still around ah? No one to run around and make sandiwara since the ol kera left
written by budakindia, March 02, 2009 00:33:12
Err what happens to the unity idea BN was pushing all this while? smilies/tongue.gif
written by teohpg, March 02, 2009 00:39:59
woi pat poh...cakap baik baik! siapa biadap? Umno ke pakatan?

"If anything at all, they might come in and cause disunity; the way they are behaving today, the way their members are disregarding the law and constitution,"
written by Agahdemo, March 02, 2009 00:47:14
"We already have a unity government in the BN. We have so many component parties representing all the racial groups in the country ... " said Rafidah...

You have missed the point AP queen. The proposed unity government is not to address a racial disunity but rather a political disunity. UMNO leaders like you have nothing much to play but racial issues.....open mouth close mouth racial issues, religion issues....tak ada modal lain ka?
written by fireduck, March 02, 2009 01:02:07
This fat lady does not even understand what Hadi is saying. She obviously does not understand what a unity government is. There are only two parties in this equation, the govt and the opposition. Unity govt means cooperation / collaboration between this two. But all Rafidah can think of is racial groups and her UMNO, MCA, MIC etc. Hello, those are not important in a unity govt! And you bet your fat too-too that the opposition, Pakatan Rakyat, matters far more than your MCA or MIC if you want to have everyone heading the same direction in countering the coming recession. Please remember half the nation is already sick of you guys, and Hadi is being very generous to offer you a unity govt. Shows he is more concerned about the dire economic situations than you self-serving buggers.

Sometimes our politicians sound so dumb.
written by rpremkumar2u, March 02, 2009 02:01:20
He MITI baby, why don't you accompany ExPM-to-be & Jenny on a cruise on his gifted yacht? Nah!Cheap isn't going to invite the likes of you in. We both know that. I am sure you know that Murmurdin has been digging up plenty of stuff you did while you were in MITI ya? APcan become API you know?
written by Tompios, March 02, 2009 02:23:46
Rafidah, time for you to have a rest!!
written by goman2k3, March 02, 2009 04:21:01
PIGGY go play your golf and collect you APs, you are "has been"
written by laksa maner, March 02, 2009 10:42:32
Well. the Queen AP is still talk cocky? Actually, in last GE you are technically lost. Did you remember that? You didn't signed one of the form that shows you are NYANYUK...Did you remember when you are crying on stopping TDM to resign...?? After he resigned, did you remember TDM good deeds to you?

You are USELESS lady.
written by Tok Din, March 02, 2009 12:45:10
Of course less men or less women, more share. Why form a unity government and let others share in the largess of government contracts and AP.