unity government PDF Print
Sunday, 01 March 2009 09:28

Dato’ Seri Abdul Hadi Awang’s call for a unity government should be taken seriously.

I appealed for discussions leading to a unity solution last September, when it was already clear that the country is at a dangerous impasse.  I said it is time to come together.

The factors I mentioned were:

1. Our political conflicts threaten to deteriorate into constitutional crises.
  2. We will be suffering the effects of a global economic crisis on a scale we have never faced.
  3. Racial and religious issues, fanned by politics and media incitement, threaten to spiral out of control.
  4. The very integrity of the Federation is at stake. The grievances of Sabah and Sarawak cannot be papered-over with political manoeuvres. They are about the fundamental basis of the Federation. 

There is a real danger of our falling into a long-term loop of decline, with job losses, crime, social conflict, institutional breakdown and political instability feeding upon each other.

Our problems are fundamental, and must be faced immediately. But BN cannot do this alone

Read more at: http://razaleigh.com/2009/02/28/unity-government/

written by timmy, March 01, 2009 09:38:57
Second Choice is ask PR to push Tengku Razaleigh for PM with the help of some BN supporters. PR you can't take over now, but DO YOUR PART to ensure country is governed by someone who really want to save Malaysia. Save Malaysia for the next 3 years with Ku Li in charge then you can take over without much mess, and some money in the bank.

10 Advantages if Ku Li is PM:

1. He is better than Pak Lah and Najib.
2. He can take care of the country before PR takes over in 3 years time or else the country will be ruin by then.
3. He will return Perak to PR, help Selangor to buy water concessionaires and stop the plot to take over Selangor and Kedah.
4. He is of royal blood, he can control the Sultan to abide by the rule of law. If he gets the majority from Parliament, Agong will likely approve it.
5. He is consistently consistent with his principles.
6. No backlash as he is a Malay, but an open-minded one.
7. No backlash from UMNO as he is still with UMNO. Although he is a torn in a flesh in UMNO just like Zaid, but he did not quit yet. We still nominate someone else from UMNO to take over to minimize the political game revenge from UMNO.
8. He has enough experience on the economy.
9. He can sit down, talk and listen to economy advice from DAP, PKR and PAS.
10. He has a Chinese wife, which is a very good symbolic power-sharing theme between the races if he is the PM. With this, we can gain stability to steer our economy out of this global crisis more confidently.

The problem now is he is lack of support.

The idea of Pak Lah staying put is not a good idea also. He approves the way his deputy plays politics, just like in Perak. I feel they are just 2 kali 5.

I hope PR, RPK and pro-Pakatan bloggers can agree to this and start the push before April.

1. Chances of Pak Lah staying. (0/10)
2. Chances that country going to be in better shape if Pak Lah is staying. (0/10)
3. Chances that country will turn better when Najib in power. (0/10)

With the chances rate above, why don't we take this bet, and try to push Ku Li for PM to save Malaysia? Or we just sit aside and hope Pak Lah will remain or something happen to Najib that he can't become PM?

This is the most effective remedy.
Razaleigh.com -- follow him here.
written by Macrophage, March 01, 2009 09:55:42
I will support a unity government if Tengku Razaleigh is at the helm of the federal government.

No to Najib.
written by cocomomo, March 01, 2009 10:05:51
I believe that PR and BN MPS who are genuinely interested in the nation and the Rakyat should give serious consideration to the proposal to support T Razaleigh as the PM.
There are doubts in various aspects of Najib. After the Perak experience teh Rakyat are concerned about the extent to which he may go to achieve and retain power.
The present PM is ineffective.
PR cannot on its own come into power now with Anwar as the PM - even if BN MPs switch to PR, the issue of party hopping will be an issue that remain as a thorn.
written by SeriousLy, March 01, 2009 10:22:00
A temporal Unity Government and Ku Li as PM! I'm all for it until next GE!
written by confuseus, March 01, 2009 10:31:59
Excellent proposition, Timmy.

After the stupid 916, PR has no right to demand PL to continue as the PM since Rakyat has clearly rejected him as shown by the GE12 results.

The only way for PR to redeem itself is by lobbying the above proposal. It will be great if RPK can push for the above agenda since he is definitely the KINGMAKER !!!

Please do it, Sir and establish Ombudsman office to check on the Exceutive as well.

Confuses says "KU LI for PM or FINANCE MINISTER"
written by loosecannon, March 01, 2009 10:32:00
You must be joking. It's like sleeping with the devil. As it is now, they are so devious I can't imagine when you sit on the same table with them. Umno will never change. Woe to those who place their trust in them.
written by OVERLORD, March 01, 2009 10:35:19
Quite a novel idea, but remember that Kuli is a solitary figure in Umno..Just look at how his nomination went for the top post. ....It will be a challenge for him to garner support from within the party....
written by timmy, March 01, 2009 10:40:49
Hi All,

To further add why this proposal is doable is I am still trusting Anwar has the 30 MPs with him, but they can't jump because most of them are not Bumiputeras.

Here is the key now, they should not jump, but Anwar should be able to ask them to vote Ku Li in the vote of confidence in Parliament. Together with PR votes, we nominated Ku Li as the next PM from BN.

After all, who is Pak Lah to pass the throne to Najib without the MPs agreement and vote? We need to sell this idea fast to all the PR leaders.
written by malaysianohope, March 01, 2009 11:11:43
Very bad idea. There won't be check & balance with just one major party(combined).
written by aeromaverick, March 01, 2009 12:29:15
Unity Governments do work sometimes under extra ordinary circumstances. It is also good to weed out out the undesirables from each political parties at the same time. It will also help to accelerate the process of maturisation of Malaysian politics and civic sense to a great extend.
It will for sure also help the nation and the region as a whole in these tiring economic climate!
written by OVERLORD, March 01, 2009 12:29:43
malaysianohope,

Agreed....monopoly doesn't benefit anyone..... like the famous words of the Australian Democrate Dale Chip states " we need to keep the bast**ds honest!" perharps I would be wise for Kuli to resign and run as a independent in his seat....once he receive fresh mandate as an independent, he would be able to work with PR, non-binding from BN
written by aeromaverick, March 01, 2009 12:30:03
I believe we are living in extra ordinary times right now!!!
written by batsman, March 01, 2009 13:05:53
Anything decided by man is possible, but to make it palatable the following not yrt exhaustive list is necessary:

1 The ISA detainees must be released and ISA abolished. (incl EO)
2 All charges against DSAI and RPK dropped
3 AUKU and printing press/publications ordinances abolished
4 IPCMC started
5 Universities given full autonomy by creating a trust whereby their full income is obtained from this trust.
6 Guys .. pls fill in the blanks
written by batsman, March 01, 2009 13:13:44
How about RPK appointed Home Minister with powers to sack any cop he wishes? heeheehee
written by tenang, March 01, 2009 13:33:04
It does not necessary means good thing for Malaysia when there is a word "unity" in the proposal.

There are two types of unity. One of them is the unity of political parties and entities. Another one is the unity of citizens of Malaysia.

In a healthy democratic system, the collective rights and voices of the citizens should be and could be made supreme. The purpose of unified citizens is to defend the collective rights against the abuses of political figures especially the ruling regime.

How could one common person or even all common people exert power strongly enough to check against the power of political elite or ruling regime? It is almost an impossible task if we are in a feudal system. However, in a democratic system, the "unified" civil society acts as a boss to choose between two opposing political camps. The key here is to ensure there are two (sometime more) equally strong opposing political camps; Otherwise, the civil society does not have a choice and therefore cannot be the boss. You cannot be the boss if you have no choice or just nominal choice.

With all due respect to Kuli for his sincerity and analysis, the idea of using unified government as means to unify the people is actually an horrible proposal. In the past 50 years prior to the last election, BN is the indisputable unified government with extremely weak opposing political camp. This is the major factor contributing to the failure of our democratic system. Without equally strong opposing political camp, we the people cannot choose in the true sense, and thus cannot be the boss!

I would agree to have the political figures to treat your rivalry with some civility and "sopan santun". But to weaken the "two party" system, that is a BIG NO NO.

Unified government with weak opposing political camp, such as the BN prior to the last election, is the best formula to divide the common people to serve the ruling elite.

Say yes to unity of common people. Say no to unified ruling and opposition political parties because that is "political incest"!

written by timmy, March 01, 2009 13:39:31
Shy away from him?

So you prefer Najib, Pak Lah over him.

Over to you.

Yeah, everyone wants someone for PR to be PM. But be realistic, this cannot be done NOW. The option we have is to choose someone from BN. Who else in BN you can think of?

1. Muhyddin?
2. Syed Hamid?
3. Rais Yatim? (A rather good choice but you know he doesn't have the ambition.)
4. Rafidah?
5. Hishamuddin?
6. Anyone from MCA? Forgets it, it will never happen?
7. Next generation? Khairy, Mukhriz or worse Khir Toyo?

Like him or hate him, Tengku Razaleigh is the only good force remaining in BN. If he is an opportunistic guy, he would have bribe his way to UMNO presidency. He would have openly support PR and quit UMNO. If you can accept Zaid as hero, then don't be bias towards Tengku.

Put personal differences aside. We are trying to save the country, our only Malaysia. If you can migrate, great, but for those who can't, who would you rather choose from BN to lead the country? Is there any other good choices?

He is a man of principle. Probably the last and only one remaining in BN.
written by johntyc, March 01, 2009 14:29:44
We do not need unity government.

We need a government of high moral that are not corrupt and won't embezzle from the country's coffer. We need a government that won't systematically influence one particular ethnic or religion to hate the others. We need a very efficient government. We need a government that truly respect democracy.

I must be day dreaming.
written by densemy, March 01, 2009 14:33:05
A Unity Government is just another Malaysian COP_OUT.

Oh dear, we can never get rid of those corrupt bastards who have spent the last 50 yrs raping this country over our apathetic bodies... So why not join them

You have NO government of the moment so I dont know what there is to unite with
written by wongnoball, March 01, 2009 14:45:10
Good Politiking Hadi.....wink wink nudge nudge.....to take pressure off Pakatan.

Looking at the number of Regim Kejam Ganas UMNO people that is going to lose all those BILLIONS of Contract in CORRUPTION Kick Back, I think we will have UNITY ONLY with THOSE that share the DREAMS of Malaysians: i.e

Freedom of RELIGION
Freedom From ISA
Freedom of Press
Freedom from RACISM

Otherwise we need more distraction to take media away from the spotlight that Najis is going to be a PM in Waiting as Pak Lah will stay on 12 more Months like Tun Munafik to Manage the Economic Crisis (Actually this also Politiking within UMNO while Pak Lah do unfinish business) Whatever it is A day longer of UMNO Rule and Flavours of their Exiestance, Malaysia is going down the Tube of Pariah State!!
written by Apeiron, March 01, 2009 14:48:24
Civil Societies and NGOs should take the lead in pushing for TR to be the next Prime Minister. With a Unity Govt under his leadership, our country stands a better chance in forging national unity, a cohesive society, with single-minded focus on tackling the economics woes confronting us. In the meantime to implement radical reforms to make this Govt, a Govt by the people, of the people and for the people.
For this to happen, the PR leadership must be magnanimous enough to forgo their personal political ambitions for the larger good of the country and the Rakyat.
written by uxzee, March 01, 2009 15:45:28
This is an idea worth some thoughts - but it may be too late now.
written by mucking fuddled, March 01, 2009 16:33:52
tenang,
you are absolutely correct and i hope the rakyat can read the message you are trying to convey...
folks, read again what tenang is advocating, only with a two party system can the rakyat be assured of checks and balances...
look what a supposely unity government brought us for the past 50 years with one particular party domineering the rest with arrogance and impunity
written by AsamLaksa, March 01, 2009 17:26:24
Unity government? What's that? And why?

BN still holds a large majority in parliament. It can pass most laws whether PR likes it or not. Since they still strongly control the parliament, do you expect them to then give up some cabinet post for the unity government?

Regardless of unity government, the constitutional issues need to be addressed.

Unity government may still not work anyway. Think Zimbabwe. In fact it might make things worse. Factionalism is rife and there's been too much sabre rattling for some of them to back down.