Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow No Choice!! Pak Lah needs to stay on as PM

No Choice!! Pak Lah needs to stay on as PM PDF Print
Saturday, 28 February 2009 23:31

A call by the Islamic-based PAS for the formation of a unity government to put aside unnecessary negative politicking and focus national resources and attention on weathering the economic crisis has the full backing of the Pakatan Rakyat.

However, there is one all-important condition.

“Broadly speaking, Pakatan is agreeable with the idea and principle of a unity government given the uncharted economic uncertainty facing the nation,” said KeADILan information chief Tian Chua.

“But we are agreeable only, and only if the unity government is under Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. You can see for yourself, it is becoming quite clear, the people are uncomfortable with Najib, and we have to abide by their wishes.” > Read more >>

written by kc kua, March 01, 2009 00:00:36
Hidup Pak Lah....
Hancur UMNO....
Hidup Najis....
Hancur Negara....C4!
written by timmy, March 01, 2009 00:04:37
Second Choice is ask PR to push Tengku Razaleigh for PM with the help of some BN supporters. PR you can't take over now, but DO YOUR PART to ensure country is governed by someone who really want to save Malaysia. Save Malaysia for the next 3 years with Ku Li in charge then you can take over without much mess, and some money in the bank.

10 Advantages if Ku Li is PM:

1. He is better than Pak Lah and Najib.
2. He can take care of the country before PR takes over in 3 years time or else the country will be ruin by then.
3. He will return Perak to PR, help Selangor to buy water concessionaires and stop the plot to take over Selangor and Kedah.
4. He is of royal blood, he can control the Sultan to abide by the rule of law. If he gets the majority from Parliament, Agong will likely approve it.
5. He is consistently consistent with his principles.
6. No backlash as he is a Malay, but an open-minded one.
7. No backlash from UMNO as he is still with UMNO. Although he is a torn in a flesh in UMNO just like Zaid, but he did not quit yet. We still nominate someone else from UMNO to take over to minimize the political game revenge from UMNO.
8. He has enough experience on the economy.
9. He can sit down, talk and listen to economy advice from DAP, PKR and PAS.
10. He has a Chinese wife, which is a very good symbolic power-sharing theme between the races if he is the PM. With this, we can gain stability to steer our economy out of this global crisis more confidently.

The problem now is he is lack of support.

The idea of Pak Lah staying put is not a good idea also. He approves the way his deputy plays politics, just like in Perak. I feel they are just 2 kali 5.

I hope PR, RPK and pro-Pakatan bloggers can agree to this and start the push before April.

1. Chances of Pak Lah staying. (0/10)
2. Chances that country going to be in better shape if Pak Lah is staying. (0/10)
3. Chances that country will turn better when Najib in power. (0/10)

With the chances rate above, why don't we take this bet, and try to push Ku Li for PM to save Malaysia? Or we just sit aside and hope Pak Lah will remain or something happen to Najib that he can't become PM?

This is the most effective remedy.
Razaleigh.com -- follow him here.
written by SiHangChai, March 01, 2009 00:18:04
Seorang peimpin terutama PM yang meninggalkan jawatan pada waktu negara dibelegukan sengsaraan dengan ekonomi dan politik rasuah serta dengan TPM yang berekod jenayah adalah pemimpin yang tak bertanggungjawab. Pak Lah mesti bertannggungjawab untuk memulihkan keadaan ekonomi Malaysia dan juga membersihkan keadaan korupsi seperti yang dijanjikan semasa angkat sumpah jadi PM. Selagi ini belum berlaku, Pak Lah tak patut letak jawatan.
written by Thian, March 01, 2009 00:19:12
YES, Only if they make RPK as the head of Home Minister and PDRM...
written by Just Gan, March 01, 2009 00:20:26
Whether we like it or not, Najib is set to become PM to reinstate Mahatherism soon. Badawi just doesn't have it to remain as PM. No support from UMNO, no credibility, no track record of decisive action, no powerbase. Just slumber and a new wife to boast of. Badawi has been hounded by Mahathir since his fatal decision to cancel the ex-PM's crooked bridge to Singapore.

Khairy, Badawi's son-in-law, in spite of all the rhetoric and racism, is no match for Khir Toyol and Mockriz. Hopefully, the Oxford education would enable Khairy to see what is awaiting him after Najib comes into power - ridicule from Mahathir and Mockriz , and possibly criminal charges for misuse of power while occupying the 4th floor. Khairy - you will be the first to face the consequence of Mahatherism if Najib becomes PM. At least, Pakatan has the numbers to fight back. Your racism stance will not save you. No one in UMNO will save you. For all you know, a sodomy charge may be awaiting you too. Take heed and act before it is too late. Do what you can to ensure that your father-in-law continues to be PM. Do not let Mahatherism return.
written by fireduck, March 01, 2009 00:26:42
I'm not so sure we do not have any other choices. So much for Malaysia Boleh. We can only have a choice of devil and the deep blue sea?

Abdullah with his invisibility and elegant silence would make no difference whether he is still the PM or not. He does not act like he's interested in the job. And with his indecisiveness, I think even a blind person throwing darts would make better calls. Abdullah with his elegant silence, in effect condones all the bad that is happening in Malaysian politics today.

As for Najib, I agree that we should not allow him to be the PM. He's dangerous, and has shown that he will do whatever is needed to wrest control and power. He has screwed up the people of Perak just as they start to believe that a better govt, in the form of Nizar and PR, is possible and can be a reality. I believe Najib will eventually screw up all Malaysians. Look at how he makes decisions as the Finance Minister with the wanton decision to 'borrow' RM7bil from you and me just like that. No thinking through nor thinking forward.

There has got be a third choice. One is standing on the outside of UMNO/BN. Who says the YDP Agong cannot appoint a person of his choice, if he feels that that person commands the confidence of the majority in the Dewan Rakyat?
written by Hello Keithy, March 01, 2009 00:49:51
Najib has to be stopped being the next PM. He is the meanest crook of all times. I bet his Allahyarham daddy is rolling in his grave for the things he's done. Malaysia will go down in history with the worst PM if he ever gets to be one.
written by tumbledore, March 01, 2009 03:11:59
respected PM,
please heed the wish of the people and stay on until the end of your legislature!
Najib is No, Nein, Nahi and Nyet!
please save us from explosive Najib.
written by PASOK, March 01, 2009 07:04:15
Tian Chua and PR leaders you had better stop thinking of selling out.
All this time you been telling us that BN is a gang of crooks with no respect for the peoples' rights.
Now you say you don't mind working with them in a "unity" government!!!
What's going on?
Steer away from this betrayal of the rakyat.
Fight BN until they are totally crushed - that is the mandate you have got from the people. You dont have a mandate to form a unity government.
written by educationist, March 01, 2009 07:15:18
He has not done anything to warrant his status ua PM for the past 5 years.
Will he now rise above the shackles of his UMNOputras colleagues and put the good of the nation before his party?
I doubt it.
But I hope he will!
Yes, we can!!!!!
written by singam, March 01, 2009 07:57:42
You have to read between the lines.

Tian Chua has signalled that the PR recognise the seriousness of the economic situation, understand the unsuitability of najis as PM and demonstrate that the PR are not greedy for power. The PR are willing to work with the BN for the time being to help secure the nation's economy. This message will not be lost on BN MPs who are also concerned about the state of the economy and the fears over a Najis administration.

By reaching out to BN MP's in this way, the PR are setting the stage for a no-confidence vote on a Najis-led government. Then the path is open to another capable candidate acceptable to both BN and PR. That candidate could be Ku Li, it could be Anwar... let Parliament choose.
written by rosso, March 01, 2009 09:15:11
The certainty that Pakatan Rakyat will win the next election will be completely eroded if this goes through. PR will no longer be distinguishable from the corruption stained Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat will lose the moral high ground in the next election. Thousands of voters will be disappointed that Pakatan Rakyat is willing to compromise its high ideals and allow itself to be tainted by the corruption and abuse of power in the BN.
Sure, the economy is our most pressing problem. Cant you guys do your part from the opposition benches ? Why are you in the Pakatan Rakyat not formulating your own strategic proposals for rescuing the economy from an almost certain recession ? Or perhaps you dont have any ideas yourself ? I have not heard of any meaningful ideas from yourselves. Work harder lah and SHOW TO THE RAKYAT that you have what it takes to govern the country - that you have the wherewithal to steer the economy into safer waters. Then only you will win the next election.
Now it appears that you only want power - share with the devil also never mind - what lah, so haprak ah ? (in street lingo). I am truly disillusioned.
written by confuseus, March 01, 2009 10:42:53
Tian Chua, speak for yourself. How do you know that I am not comfortable with Najib. Another dumb "postman" !!!

Excellent proposition, Timmy.
After the stupid 916, PR has no right to demand PL to continue as the PM since Rakyat has clearly rejected him as shown by the GE12 results.

The only way for PR to redeem itself is by lobbying the above proposal. It will be great if RPK can push for the above agenda since he is definitely the KINGMAKER !!!

Please do it, Sir and establish Ombudsman office to check on the Exceutive as well.

Confuses says "KU LI for PM or FINANCE MINISTER"

written by changeformalaysia, March 01, 2009 11:46:14
Say "NO" to Najib.
Rakyat are uncomfortable.
Therefore,Pak Lah must stay on!
written by kkselvam, March 01, 2009 13:24:29
Najis will surely pee in his pants if Pak Lah agrees! Can't wait to see the climax!
written by panca, March 01, 2009 13:25:15
Rahman

Abdul Razak

Hussein Onn

Mahathir

Abdullah

Nil (Next GE)
written by batsman, March 01, 2009 13:50:55
If opposition is as stupid as they seem to be then we are lost! Unity govt only if ISA is abolished! Unity govt only if IPCMC is started! Unity govt only if RPK is made home minister!
written by tenang, March 01, 2009 13:55:59
It does not necessary means good thing for Malaysia when there is a word "unity" in the proposal.

There are two types of unity. One of them is the unity of political parties and entities. Another one is the unity of citizens of Malaysia.

In a healthy democratic system, the collective rights and voices of the citizens should be and could be made supreme. The purpose of unified citizens is to defend the collective rights against the abuses of political figures especially the ruling regime.

How could one common person or even all common people exert power strongly enough to check against the power of political elite or ruling regime? It is almost an impossible task if we are in a feudal system. However, in a democratic system, the "unified" civil society acts as a boss to choose between two opposing political camps. The key here is to ensure there are two (sometime more) equally strong opposing political camps; Otherwise, the civil society does not have a choice and therefore cannot be the boss. You cannot be the boss if you have no choice or just nominal choice.

The idea of using unified government as means to unify the people is actually an horrible proposal. In the past 50 years prior to the last election, BN is the indisputable unified government with extremely weak opposing political camp. This is the major factor contributing to the failure of our democratic system. Without equally strong opposing political camp, we the people cannot choose in the true sense, and thus cannot be the boss!

I would agree to have the political figures to treat your rivalry with some civility and "sopan santun". But to weaken the "two party" system, that is a BIG NO NO.

Unified government with weak opposing political camp, such as the BN prior to the last election, is the best formula to divide the common people to serve the ruling elite.

Say yes to unity of common people. Say no to unified ruling and opposition political parties because that is "political incest"!

written by bknight, March 01, 2009 15:38:46
i think many are missing the point here.. wonder how many of MT reader play chess here..

i believe what they talk about is to have both the ruling party and the opposition to work together to tackle this economic issues looming at large.. it is not said that PKR will join the government coalition to form a unity gov.. be it the ruling party or the opposition, they are elected representative in our gov, so in another sense the oppositions is part of the gov.

by signalling this move, it is
1) to ensure PL do not pass the baton
2) to refocus the gov objective from taking over states gov to really working on real issues that a gov should be focusing on.
3)how else can PKR's brain be contributed into improving our economic conditions if not to work with them on this issue ?

now if the gov or pak lah heed this advice, which means, whatever happening in the country and apa nama? stimulus plan from our so call finance minister..doesnt work!! isnt it ?

just my 2 cents worth

written by penangboi, March 01, 2009 15:44:36
Pak Lah with all his incompetency is still the lesser of the two evils available in UMNO.

But, being objective, and facing the reality of the situation, I strongly support Kuli as the most reliable and competent candidate to lead us out of our current economic doldrums.

Unfortunately, UMNO being UMNO, they will never see and recognise 'merit' and true capabilities of genuine leaders. Only the ringgit reigns supreme where it is the driving mechanism of UMNO tribalism.

Which is why UMNO is surely but inevitably heading for the sewers into oblivion.