Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA: Such intimidation destroys our country’s image

MCA: Such intimidation destroys our country’s image PDF Print
Saturday, 28 February 2009 09:28

(The Star) The MCA has hit out at the Umno Youth members who confronted Bukit Gelugor MP and DAP chairman Karpal Singh in Parliament, calling such behaviour unacceptable.

The party’s information and communication bureau chairman Lee Wei Kiat said such physical intimidation “destroys our country’s image in the international stage”, and called for respect to be shown to Parliament.

“Any kind of behaviour or mob rule which forcibly prevents the MPs from entering Parliament not only offends the rakyat but is also an affront against the country’s democratic system, rule of law and also to voters,” he said in a statement.

He called for conflicts and differences in opinions to be debated through a peaceful, democractic and rational platform.

“It is unfortunate that Umno Youth members chose to be irrational and rowdy in voicing out their views in Parliament. Hence their action is tantamount to insulting Parliament,” he said.

On Thursday, the wheelchair-bound Karpal Singh was prevented by a group of Umno Youth members from entering Parliament who demanded an apology from him for calling them celaka.

Penang Chief Minister and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng also condemned the Umno Youth members who confronted Karpal Singh, saying the incident was “embarrassing and disgusting.”

He said Umno had tarnished Malaysia’s image and called for stern action to be taken against the group.

Lim, who is also Bagan MP, said he appreciated that Backbenchers Club chairman Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing had apologised over the incident, but felt it was only right that Umno should do so too.

On Karpal Singh’s use of the word celaka in reference to Umno Youth during his debate speech on Wednesday and his allegation that Umno was responsible for the two bullets he had received in the mail, Lim said the statement was made in the House and it was up to the Speaker to take any action.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by batsman, February 28, 2009 09:38:26
The behaviour of the security officers and police who watched and did nothing and allowed hooligans to invade the sanctity of Parliament is equally heinous and unacceptable.
agree 148
written by krising1, February 28, 2009 09:41:56
But there is not even a whimper from OKT. Waiting for the testicles to grow is it?
written by Bigjoe99, February 28, 2009 09:49:13
Intimidating? Tarnish Image? Its attempted CRIMINAL assault. Its illegal.. Image is not the first or most important thing to worry about....
written by shamadz72, February 28, 2009 09:53:04
Here is a bone for you, go role over and play over there like a nice dog...
written by Krepot, February 28, 2009 09:53:53
And when Pemuda UMNO squeeze your balls or raise the keris, you go running to your mummy and hide behind her skirt! cowards!
written by expat70, February 28, 2009 09:59:53
.....Lee Wei Kiat said such physical intimidation “destroys our country’s image in the international stage”,....

Yes Minister,

What do you expect clowns to do at the circus? No need to feel sorry for the laughing stock.
written by onnetline, February 28, 2009 10:07:20
Lee Wei Kiat,

We don't need lying hypocrites or MCA to bark like toothless dogs and disturbing the peace.

written by miwaki, February 28, 2009 10:09:36
It's amazing that these hooligans were wearing suits (4-piece) to parliament.I propose next time they just wear singlets and sarong will do.
written by yy88, February 28, 2009 10:14:21
Pemuda Kecut Umno diketuai Kerismuddin Pondan, dibiayai Kera Jantan dan dimentori Tun Mamak Kerala Racist. Tell us when you will grow up despite your mental deficiency. Use your handicapped brains and do not just be led by the noses by your
corrupted 'leaders'.
written by Goodbites, February 28, 2009 10:20:37
No,no, no, we are thankful to UMNO youth for their actions because they have now shown to all Malaysians their true colors.
written by Arum, February 28, 2009 10:30:22
Just ,intimidate to get their way.No other work .Economy down.They have time for all this.Who are their employers.They took MC to get extra pocket money which is more than their salary.Bonus ini banyak lah.
written by OVERLORD, February 28, 2009 10:39:12
Action speaks louder than words....any less than that would be deemed as hot-air or a castrated canine.....
written by ASK4u, February 28, 2009 10:39:44
They just proved Karpal right, i.e., 'cel@ka'.
written by garuda, February 28, 2009 10:43:32
whatever said and done this will be swept under the carpet and in time will be forgotten, only here will there ever be an allowance for outsiders to intimidate seasoned politicians who in my opinion have voiced their thoughts in an arena which is allowed!
If there is any problems than the speaker should take action not UMNO youths!!, moreover countless times UMNO has said worse things to us, yet we never reacted like how UMNO reacted!
Saying in parliament that killing races than snakes is a issue we can take offence but we never resorted to such things, why? maybe because we are after all a more rational, educated, sensible group than UMNO ever will be, the elections in the two bukits and one batang is ours to win, i will be very shocked if we lose and god bless all of us if we do lose as than the UMNO youths will than take to the streets to intimidate all of us
written by devious17, February 28, 2009 10:58:54
mca, all you can do is just talk about it laa. Show us something different laa, dont be umno's 25 kid and running dog. This is one of the many chances which mca chose to seize before this, take this opportunity and make that change, take a more concrete action rather than just TALK!
written by needchg, February 28, 2009 11:16:39
chairman Lee Wei Kiat, may I ask you to have less words and more action on your part. This is the time you must lodge an official complaint on the matter for MCA. Don't waste time with pasing rhetoric statements.
written by Steven Ong, February 28, 2009 11:34:58
Right. Its time the MCA stand up for justice and righteousness and not just a few rhetoric now and then. To MIC, Gerakan and MCA and all component parties in Barisan, please stand up for justice and fairness for all Malaysian. be consistent at all times.Dont just think of your own benefit. Be a true wakil raakyat of all . Shame on you all.
written by Apek, February 28, 2009 12:06:12
And while the parties fight, thieves come in the night to rob, rape and plunder
the richness of Perak.

Trees are being felled, logs being carted away;
sand being mined and land being polluted at a rate hereunto unknown to mankind.
All these thieves must make hay
while Zambry still shines.
All these thieves who are there for the plunder,
will pay any ammount to keep Zambry in power.

"Damn the people of Perak" these thieves will say,
"What’s the meaning of mandate when we can pay"

The People rant and rave in the streets
of being shortchanged in their receipt
They voted one but strangely got the other
now scratch their heads and begin to wonder.

But behind the scenes stands a Chinese Tycoon
who says "No morals my friend"
"Its just good business you see".

So continue the woes of Perak.
written by adan, February 28, 2009 12:29:56
Do not worry about the country's image in the international stage, MCA should safeguard its own image with the local people. By continued association with such an undisiplined party ,MCA members should share the shame and digrace....and not just tHe loot only!!
written by ultraman, February 28, 2009 12:30:15
Now MCA is playing the good guy!!! Ha!Ha!
What about GERASKAN AND MIC?
written by hakuna, February 28, 2009 12:51:54
It is not UMNO alone - all you BN component parties are "DAMNED" as well - when you dance with the DEVIL you are with the DEVIL.
written by Hakim Joe, February 28, 2009 13:54:20
OTK, who the hell are you to make such statements?
Settle your internal MCA problems first-lah.
Be a man! Resign!!!

written by chanatak, February 28, 2009 14:09:23
Let's face facts.

UMNO is a bastion of LAWLESSNESS.
They defy the laws of the nation for their own advantage.
They break the very same laws when it is to their own disadvantage.
They command the police to stop investigations against their own people, despite clear evidence of lawbreaking.
The command the police to support illegal gatherings organized by their UMNO.
written by asguard, February 28, 2009 14:16:14
The bodahland or bolehland has been came laughter stock for decades... so what is new after series of scuffle happen in Parliament!
written by chiongguo, February 28, 2009 14:21:36
Bila budak sekolah yang berdisiplin dan bersopan cuba masuk kawasan parliament untuk hantar petisyen mereka dihentikan. Sekarang ini kita ada "officially sanctioned" gangster yang dapat masuk kawasan parliament tanpa apa-apa halangan.

When good can be made to look bad and bad can be justified, we have a lot of growing up to do.

written by expat70, February 28, 2009 16:39:44
Can't agree with you more!!... chairman Lee Wei Kiat ....such physical intimidation “destroys our country’s image in the international stage”. In fact such actions is utter disgraceful for national leaders to behave in this manner. Are we to expect that all BN leaders behave in that manner too. Is this the type of leaders that we expect to lead the country.

So what is MCA and the rest of the BN component parties going to do about it to prevent themselves from being tarred with the same brush.

Let the talk translate to the walk. May I ask, what action does MCA think is appropriate rectify the image of the country?
written by latihanQ, February 28, 2009 16:53:50
Seriously, it would be a hollow and hypocritical behavior if the recalcitrant youths from Umno had apologized. We can only expect less from them.
Watching the scene on TV, no further action need be taken. They have borne themselves out to be mere cowardly bullies emboldened only because they are a part of a mob and beyond redemption. They just do not the guts to engage 'Singh the Kiing' intellectually.
Their misdemeanor in the vicinity of Parliament leaves no doubt their disrespect for the august house and to all Malaysians. And they are members of Umno, a party in the ruling coalition.
Shame! Shame! Shame!
written by kkselvam, February 28, 2009 18:20:28
Lim, who is also Bagan MP, said he appreciated that Backbenchers Club chairman Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing had apologised over the incident, but felt it was only right that Umno should do so too.

UMNO instructed MCA to do it.How else can be explained?
written by SiHangChai, February 28, 2009 19:41:24
Charges those two bastards for attempt to murder. Sending 2 bullets is enough. coming to parliment to do this is even worst! UMNO YOuth is not above police.
written by Joelim, February 28, 2009 20:34:17
What image? Malaysia has long disappeared from the "international stage".
written by Alamak, February 28, 2009 21:48:54
Why the sudden silence from those top 2 UMNO Head? If this was done against an UMNO MP, I bet my sorry arse that heads will roll, all hell will break loose & this 2 will come out will all guns blazing.
written by JaguhKampung, February 28, 2009 22:11:43
Hey MCA,

The country's image was already long gone. You don't know ah?!

It started long ago when your master (read UMNO) shouted for blood with the keris, the guy that graduated from Oxford told the whole world that you (you know who you are) are a group that will take advantage of their people; why someone high up in your organization were caught with his pants down in a video and yet managed to come back again; when your master's high ranking officer were suspected of having a Mongolia affair and many more.

This incident of your master's gangsters rounding up Mr Karpal is a small issue, it's just a drop in the ocean of all the shameful acts committed by you and your compatriots.

But we know you are just barking for show only. You are just waiting for some biscuits from your master before you shut up.