Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Unbecoming to cause trouble in Parliament

Unbecoming to cause trouble in Parliament PDF Print
Saturday, 28 February 2009 09:25

SOME Umno Youth members must be out of their minds if they think that the way to fight the gutter politics of Karpal Singh is to brandish their own version of longkang politics!

Their intrusion into the august House of Parliament can be construed as treason of the highest order as they have not only invaded the physical space of the honourable Speaker and Members of Parliament but more significantly, the physical guardian of the Federal Constitution and everything that it stands for.

When these people defend their ketuanan and adab, the sovereignty of their Rulers, the Malay language and Islam, don’t they realise that they themselves must be exemplary in upholding all of these?

Do they remember at all that Islam and Malay adat is full of urgings for us to show good behaviour at all times?

When we accuse others of derhaka and treason against the Sultan, are we aware that the House of Parliament is the rightful abode of our constitutional monarchy, and to invade this sacrosanct space is more serious than demonstrating outside the Sultan’s istana?

What must our politicians be thinking when they engage their supporters in these absurd ways? Are they trying to provoke anarchy and rebellion among the irrational and the emotional? Or are they trying to wrest votes in the coming party and by-elections?

Instead of redeeming the party image and standing in the eyes of the electorate, they are only destroying it further. Ordinary Malaysians are a lot wiser than the politicians we have voted into power!

HALIMAH MOHD SAID,
Kuala Lumpur.

Published in The Star

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by rpremkumar2u, February 28, 2009 09:33:41
Simply brilliant.
written by Krepot, February 28, 2009 09:36:15
So rightfully said.............Ceeeeeeeeeelakaaa punya Pemuda Umno!
written by yy88, February 28, 2009 09:40:46
That the best the bully Pemuda Umno can do and are good at.
You should be at the Gaza,Afganistan,Iraq, etc doing more of all these
'heroic' missions. Don't wet your pants!
written by krising1, February 28, 2009 09:45:01
You are my kind of gal Halimah! Bravo.
written by Bigjoe99, February 28, 2009 09:56:06
You just realized that politicians are worst than the voters? Its been that way for long long time!!!!
written by batsman, February 28, 2009 10:03:41
Unbecoming can be tolerated. What UMNO Youth did cannot.
written by lamakawan, February 28, 2009 10:29:51
Halimah, your article is indeed thought provoking. But do these people who invaded parliament house ever sit down to think what they had done to our country as a democracy? Parliament is our seat of government and to intrude into its grounds is a very clear violation of our roots of democracy. Our leaders in the party called UMNO must rethink their proirities when they have such provocative members in their midst. They cannot continue to dream the ordinary Malaysian will give them the votes year in and year out in these circumstances. I for one will rethink about my next casting come election time.
written by Sudahlah tu, February 28, 2009 10:40:30
hilanglah kebanggaan dan maruah bangsa melayu ......
written by Motherchell, February 28, 2009 10:57:48
Great to know there are more souls like you HALIMAH MOHD SAID,

Kris amuddin---- what will a child in school see and say to KRIS? their Minister . He has no worries as their children will follow their fathers. They are all overseas at the expense of the sweat of the Real Malays.

When these people defend their ketuanan and adab, the sovereignty of their Rulers, the Malay language and Islam, don’t they realise that they themselves must be exemplary in upholding all of these?

People like Albar, Kris , Nazri ,Zulkifli , are some examples of such blood sucking insects . A total shame !
written by 2edgedsword, February 28, 2009 11:20:31
Malaysia can only progress if the majority chooses to change. Malays, you are the majority - it's up to you to decide whether to excel through healthy competition or remain in mediocrity by bullying and threatening the minorities.
written by Susanna, February 28, 2009 11:57:59
Spot on Halimah. But how do you expect leaders who behave like hooligans. One branding keris, one inciting people to kill karpal singh, to lead good followers? Are they true Muslims in the first place? Bet my last dollar they are not in it for the love of the monarchy or god or even their members. They are there for the love of themselves and are just using their members for their ulterior motives and exploits. Where are the imans who should step in to admonish all these people who profess with their lips their love for God but acting so opposite!
written by cahaya, February 28, 2009 12:04:41
We don't agree with her description of Karpal Singh in the first sentence. Karpal Singh is a man of integrity who does not practice gutter politics. In this case, he was the victim of gutter politics.
written by Zapper, February 28, 2009 12:07:02
There is always one set of laws but 2 different methods of implementation. If you are on the right side, then you will get away with anything otherwise, good luck!!
written by Thinkwisely, February 28, 2009 12:29:26
Hyprocrite is the true lable of all these people. They are simply opportunist who are finding way to become someone relevant in their party. It seems that this is the way to get popular and they will then be nominated as chief..what a joke.

While we all disagreed with Karpal uttered the word "celaka" but we are more against intruder into our August House. There are so many channel available to voice out disastisfaction.

Sadly instead of condemming such a behavior, some of our MP is standing behind them for fear of losing support.

We are already in 21st century and no longer living in the jungle so don't try to insult our intelligent please.
written by hakuna, February 28, 2009 12:54:02
Aptly stated.
written by macakmy, February 28, 2009 13:19:55
Wah... Halimah, I'm proud of you. By the way, I'm Halimah too... But, without the ah at the end...
written by Hakim Joe, February 28, 2009 13:45:46
Not up to Taiwanese parliamentary standards yet...

written by lynn, February 28, 2009 14:58:52
Halimah,

I don't know whether it was a genuine mistake or deliberate of you to describe Karpal's as gutter politics. The only gutter politics practised in bodohland is by bn. I consider men like Karpal or Lim Kit Siang patriotic & courageous. They dare speak out against the wrongdoers & even got detained under ISA for speaking the truth.

My friends & I are disgusted abt 2nd round of attack against Chua Soi Lek. Who cares whether he did enjoyed some oral sex? How many millions of bodohland citizens enjoyed that too? In Msia oral sex is a crime but bold outright blatant corruption is not. That is the sequence of priorities in bodohland. That is our pathetic reality.

The majority in Msia are Malays & we hope they demand aggressively for reforms; you don't need a PhD to tell you many issues are wrong in this country. A country ruled by bn for decades, Malaysia is described as crappy, trashy & disgusting in the eyes of the world. Even our judiciary is tainted which is very "malu" for me when foreigners condemn us over dis. ACA or MACC,is merely a huge joke. MACC is now perceived as a tool for umno-led bn to carry out selective prosecution. In such a short span of time, MACC is doubted by many to be independent; it means, from the word 'go", MACC is not meant to do its job unless instructed.
written by fireduck, February 28, 2009 17:33:16
As a Parliamentarian, Hishamuddin must be clear in his duties and functions. But obviously he does not have any sense. He's real brainless to even dare to condone the actions of the UMNO youths, let alone state so strongly that he will back them all the way. He is the epitome of all that is disgraceful and wrong in our society.

First, he must defend the sanctity of the institution and the House of Parliament. That is the foundation upon which our Constitution stands. If he does not respect that very institution for which he is elected into, then he should resign. He obviously love his party and his Youth movement more than his country and the laws of the nation.

Second, as a Parliamentarian, he must be able to differentiate between right and wrong. And he must be willing to sacrifice the interests of the few for the sake of the majority and the generations to come. For without the Parliament being kept sacred against such trespass, the we might as well forget about defending the Constitution. And with it, we might as well not talk about defending the rights and privileges of the Sultans whose positions were guaranteed in the Constitution.

written by kkselvam, February 28, 2009 18:18:14
Well said! Good job ma'am.
written by chrisckv, February 28, 2009 19:06:26
While The law abiding Rakyat were prohibited to go near the parliament with thousands of armed security blocking the road, The Parliament allow the hooligang to show their 'power' over an old man on wheelchair while the Parliament security look on!

That's is UM-NO! The youth follow the old! Gangsteerism! The Parliament are infested full of them!

written by lynn, February 28, 2009 20:05:13
This country is truly condemned to an even worse fate if these umno youth gangsters are going to be "the future leaders" of bodohland.

I mean, look at the "malau" Hishamuddin - my gawd, our Minister of Education. He has effectively said he supports the unruly, amok behaviour of those umno youths. What a sicko, a sick job.
written by Darth Vader, February 28, 2009 20:21:56
written by lynn, February 28, 2009 20:05:13

This country is truly condemned to an even worse fate if these umno youth gangsters are going to be "the future leaders" of bodohland.

I mean, look at the "malau" Hishamuddin - my gawd, our Minister of Education. He has effectively said he supports the unruly, amok behaviour of those umno youths. What a sicko, a sick job.

Dear Lynn

This is exactly what happens in schools nowadays. Gangsterism etc etc. This is because Keris mud din is education minisiter and student look up to him as father of gangterism
written by mikefonz, February 28, 2009 20:29:51
Members of the UMNO Youth in training to be samseng in Parliment.
Take a look at some of the UMNO's MPs. Using vulgarism, challenging
Oppositions to fist fight, insulting women MPs. The UMNO youth
are just preparing to be like the elder UMNO there.
ALL ARE SAMSENGs.
written by lynn, March 01, 2009 00:23:27
Darth Vader, mikefonz,

Remember the "bocor" episode targeted at Fong Po Kuan & other shouting matches in Parliament by bn MPs? One is speechless these bn monkeys behaved as if they were sitting in some rural coffeeshop, screaming across the room, talking shit, making vulgar hand gestures... my gawd, these monkeys in the august House, they have NO FCUKING idea how to conduct themselves!

Bn MPs are mostly trashy, low-class, crude, crass, vulgar, disgusting - why no one ever told them, their behaviour is so samseng like slimeball gangsters in some back alleys.