Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow One man’s meat is another man’s poison

One man’s meat is another man’s poison PDF Print
Thursday, 26 February 2009 13:20

No, we need the Rulers. I don’t trust politicians, in particular Malay Nationalist politicians like Umno. With the Rulers removed, the Umno politicians will now control the army. And I would hate to be an opposition supporter or non-Malay when that happens. Then Malaysia Boleh would transform into Malaysia Beirut.

The mark of a wise Sultan

Daulat Tuanku! The Sultan of Selangor has once again demonstrated his qualities as a wise and fair ruler. He has openly expressed his sympathies for Elizabeth Wong, saying he was worried and upset over the intrusion of privacy and private right's with the intention of destroying one's dignity and reputation. Well said.

The point is simple - what Elizabeth Wong, a matured adult, wants to do behind closed door is nobody's business. As I said, we picked an elected representative, not a nun. Malaysians have had enough of this kind of gutter politics. If it's the work of a rejected ex-lover, it's equally disgusting. He should be arrested and charged in court soon. He should be brave enough to return home and answer the charges against him instead of running away. Nobody is sure whether it's the work of BN, the results of an internal party feud or simply the stupidity of a former boyfriend. But the allegations and counter allegations is sickening, to put it mildly.

The Sultan has also correctly decided that he would not get involved as he is above politics. In the first place, there was really no need for the MB to ask the Tuanku for a decision. He should keep the Tuanku informed of the developments, that's all. - Wong Chun Wai, 47, is the Group Chief Editor of The Star

Well, Wong Chun Wai, that all depends on whom the hell you are. If you were a Jew, Christian, or Muslim, then what Eli did would be considered immoral. So what you said is based on your yardstick of things. Others use different yardsticks and would profusely disagree with you. I take it you are not Jew, Christian, nor Muslim. Or else you would be frothing at the mouth and spewing fire and brimstone.

Now, before anyone gets his or her knickers all twisted, today’s article is not about Eli. It is about your perception of things. Sultans are also heads of religion of their respective states. This means head of Islam. If you were a Muslim would you still sing the same tune? Would you not take the Sultan to task for defending a woman who is said to be having an affair with a Muslim man?

Okay, maybe Eli is not a Muslim. But her boyfriend is. And Eli is not just a simple rakyat. She is a lawmaker in the state of Selangor. Should she therefore not know better? This extends beyond just a matter of the heart. It is not just a bedroom issue. It becomes a matter of state. It involves 'illegal' sex with a Muslim when the state laws say that Muslims may not engage in illicit sex.

But you are right. I too support Eli and was one of those who phoned her to plead with her not to resign the instant the matter exploded into the public domain. But what the Sultan of Selangor did may now open him to attack by certain elements in Umno who may want to take this nation through a third Constitutional Crisis a la the first two in the 1980s. The Sultan would be touted as an immoral person who condones sex outside marriage.

In short, the Sultan should have been left out of it so that he does not ‘taint’ his hands with the issue. Even if Tan Sri Khalid needed to check with the Sultan, he could have gone to speak with Tuanku ‘secretly’ during one of his weekly meetings. Then no one would know he spoke to the Sultan and no one would know about the Sultan’s response.

Nevertheless, the Sultan made one very bold move in openly ‘endorsing’ Eli. Now he may have to pay the price for this public endorsement. And, trust me, someone will use this against Tuanku, one day, when they need to whack him for some decision he made which does not go down well with those who walk in the corridors of power. And all those who applaud Tuanku’s decision today will not be in front of the palace to defend him when those who walk in the corridors of power whack him. The 1980s has proven this.

When you laugh, the whole world laughs with you. When you cry, you cry alone. That is a fact of life. And the Sultans too have come to realise this during the 1980s Constitutional Crisis. They were very much on their own when Umno ran them through the mud. No one came out in defence of the Sultans. Not the Malays, not the Chinese, not the Indians.

Other than being heads of Islam, the Sultans are also defenders of Malay rights and special privileges, as well as of the Malay language. This is written into the Constitution.  Currently, Umno is embarking on a Malay Nationalist campaign. Were you aware of that? They are going to campaign for Malay reservation land. They want English abolished. They want the Internal Security Act retained so that it can be used against anyone who questions Malay rights and special privileges. You question them and you get detained without trial.

Do the right thing, and you all scream. Follow the Constitution, and you all shout. Uphold the law, and you all rant and rave. What if the Sultans do exactly that? The Sultans did not write the Constitution. In fact, they are mere Constitutional Monarchs. This means they too are bound by the Constitution. So they too have to follow the Constitution. And the Constitution says that Islam is the official religion of this country. Malay is the official language. And Malays have certain rights and special privileges that non-Malays do not have.

So, how do we want the Sultans to act on these issues? Should they do the right and fair thing? Or should they do the lawful thing and follow the Constitution? If they follow the Constitution, then Islam is numero uno. The Malay language is numero uno. And the Malays are numero uno. All non-Islam religions, non-Malay language, and non-Malay race are number two. That is the law.

Yes, the Sultans must do the right and fair thing. But what is the right and fair thing? What’s right and fair and Constitutional to Muslims and the Malays may be the opposite to the non-Muslims and the non-Malays. So right and fair may not be quite the Constitutional thing if you want to see right and fair in the real sense of the word.

Allowing you to convert to Islam but not allowing you to convert back to your original religion is legal. It is also right and fair if you are a Muslim. But if you were not Muslim, then you would not agree that it is right and fair, never mind if it is legal.

The New Economic Policy is right and fair if you are an Umno-Malay. It is also perfectly legal and Constitutional according to the court. Would you agree if you were not Umno-Malay, never mind what the court says?

What we fail to realise is that the Sultans have less rights than the rakyat. In fact, the rakyat have more freedom. The Sultans can’t even offer their personal opinion without breaking the law or risking a backlash. The only opinion they are allowed to have is the opinion that the government allows them. Even the Agong’s speech is drafted by the Prime Minister’s Department and they sometimes never get to see it until they are ready to deliver the speech.

That’s right. The Agong does not even know what he is supposed to say until he starts delivering his speech. Now do you understand why, during the recent Parliament opening, the Agong ‘thanked’ Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and hoped that there would be a smooth transition at the end of March? And guess who wrote that speech? Even Abdullah did not know about it until he heard the speech delivered.

Understand what a Constitutional Monarchy means. I am not saying that the Rulers are rubberstamps or figureheads. They do have some powers. We just got to know what they are and work within those powers that the Rulers have. Then we can do things that under normal circumstances we can’t.

But Malaysians speak as if they know the law and have studied the Constitution. Many I have met who are very free with their opinions were not even aware that Perak has a Constitution.

“Ah, Perak has a State Constitution? I did not know that.”

“Not only Perak. All the states have Constitutions.”

“Oh, I was not aware of that.”

Well, what business do they have being so vocal and emotional about the issue then?

“Do you know that under the Selangor and Terengganu State Constitutions they do not need to appoint a Deputy Menteri Besar? But under the Kelantan and Pahang State Constitutions they must appoint a Deputy Menteri Besar.”

“Oh, I was not aware of that.”

“Then what the hell are you so emotional about the matter of the Deputy Menteri Besar when you don’t even know that all the Malaysian states have Constitutions and you do not even know which state makes it mandatory to have a Deputy Menteri Besar and which do not?”

Hey, oppose by all means! Speak out, as that is your fundamental right. But please do your homework first. Like those who are asking for this country to be turned into a Republic: not only will you go to jail under the Sedition Act, but the Constitution will not allow it to be done. And any laws passed after Merdeka that violates the Constitution is automatically null and void. So perish the thought of amending the Constitution to turn this country into a Republic if you happen to command a two-thirds majority in Parliament. It can’t be done.

The only way we can abolish the Monarchy, and get rid of Umno in the process, is through a military takeover -- like some of our immediate neighbours who got rid of their Rulers and turned their countries into Republics. Then we can be rid of our Rulers and corrupt politicians and the army will instead be running this country. Is that what you want?

Thank God this can’t happen in Malaysia. The Rulers are Colonels-in-Chief of the various branches of the military -- Infantry, Navy, Air Force, Commandos, Artillery, Malay Regiment, Engineering Corps, etc. -- while the Agong is the Commander-in-Chief of the entire Armed Forces. This means the Rulers call the shots, not the politicians who may want to become another Gaddafi, Saddam, Idi Amin, Marcos, Sukarno, or whatever.

Get rid of the Rulers. Then see what happens. The Armed Forces will be out of control. They will become a tool of the politicians -- that is if they do not become dictators themselves now that the ‘shackles’ have been removed.

Some of you think I am pro-Monarchy because, as you say, of my ‘royal blood’. You don’t even know half of what you think you know. And that is because you are ignorant of the Constitution and the delicate structure that holds this country together. Do you remember May 13 and the ‘role’ the army played? Well, that is only a small ‘sample’ of what the army can do with the politicians using the army for political gains.

No, we need the Rulers. I don’t trust politicians, in particular Malay Nationalist politicians like Umno. With the Rulers removed, the Umno politicians will now control the army. And I would hate to be an opposition supporter or non-Malay when that happens. Then Malaysia Boleh would transform into Malaysia Beirut. And I will move back to England where I was born. Good luck to those born in Malaysia and have nowhere to go. You better learn how to shoot.

Comments (79)Add Comment
written by allangan2006, February 26, 2009 13:25:07
The above should be re-phased to "Altantuya's meat is Najid's venom"
agree 121
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, February 26, 2009 13:29:34
Well said and a timely reminder. We all should know the Constitution and do our homework before commenting.

When everybody plays their part, everything works! The trouble is when some are pushing the Constitution or even re-interpreting it, that's when chaos reign.

That's the trouble with us. Know a little and pretend to be an expert! Ha! Ha!

Reminder to us all - do our homework first and let's not be too emotional in our opinions!

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by KC Chin, February 26, 2009 13:33:39
Hmmm and urgh. Daulat Tunku.
RPK, thank you for clearing my mind.
written by timmy, February 26, 2009 13:39:06
This is exactly why RPK is the best. As I have followed a lot of blogs, Tengku Razaleigh and RPK really do their homework before writing and shooting in their blog.

That's call wisdom and wise. These are the leaders that can change people mind and attitudes. These are the people that should lead the country.

But too bad, RPK is not interested in politics and power while Tengku Razaleigh is lack of support.

Freedom of expression (in writing and speak) should be used wisely with facts backing up our arguments. We always take for granted RPK graciousness to let you write whatever you feel to write even though it gets him into trouble.

As for us readers of MT, we should learn to be non-partisan and bias. Don't just blindly support whatever PR is doing and condemn whatever BN is going to do. Both sides have their good apples as well as bad ones. We suppose to judge and give our opinions fairly.

RPK, with the power to change people perception granted to you thru your writings, I hope you can use it more to change MT readers mindset on how to judge fairly.
written by cheekymate, February 26, 2009 13:39:40
The Rulers are our silent guardian saviours through this turmulous period. I fully agree with dear RPK that knowing the vengeful shit that Najis is made of, he will steam roller his way without the moderating presence of the Sultans.
Daulat Tuanku! Long live our Royal Highness!
written by Cash Money, February 26, 2009 13:51:51
Who says you can't change the ruling.
The powers be to if you think you are still relevant go back to the rakyat for a referendum.
That will put everything into perspective, if the rakyat thinks the powers to be are still relevant so be it,otherwise find a real job.
written by biggun129, February 26, 2009 13:53:53
'Timah bukan Perak', 'Tin is not Silver', we must remember whose is the people who changed the 'Tin' to be as valuable as 'Silver',and today the 'Silver'of Malaysia originated from Tin is no better than coal!The mistake is the people is over confidence with the present politicians!And now, we trust and count on the Royal Monarchy to save our neck!
written by adriany, February 26, 2009 14:00:30
the Agong is the Commander-in-Chief of the entire Armed Forces. This means the Rulers call the shots, not the politicians

and

Do you remember May 13 and the ‘role’ the army played? Well, that is only a small ‘sample’ of what the army can do with the politicians using the army for political gains.

Seems like even with the Commander In Chief we could still have that 'small sample' on May 13th..
written by New Malaysian, February 26, 2009 14:03:18
Really, RPK?

And you took up this cause and decided to blog AFTER studying all the Constitutions of all the States of Malaysia because, as you say, you have to do your homework before you open your mouth? I don't buy that, of course. And I will continue to express myself even if I am not an authority on the subject matter. Suffice that I know what is general knowledge. Sheesh, at this rate only RPK and Karpal may be allowed to express an opinion in Malaysia!

Why such uncharacteristic vitriol? Is it because the battle has reached too close to home?

New Malaysian
disagree 30
written by miwaki, February 26, 2009 14:08:32
What is right and fair most of time are not constitutional,whereas what is constitutional could be wrong.Ah ha,we are in a fix now and what rakyat have to do is just pray God one day would give us a great man to amend the constitution so that a law could be constitutional and fair.We cannot live under a law which is depending on "luck" or rather on probability !
written by Jun Jan, February 26, 2009 14:12:13
So the Sultan has made his thoughts known. maybe it is the correct choice, maybe not...like RPK said, depend on where you stand la. But i think the Sultan has made the right choice this time around so u all know now where i stand
written by ez24get, February 26, 2009 14:15:38
Ok, you convinced us that we need the rulers. But :-

1. Malaysia is a very small country with a small GDP, do we need more than half of the world's kings here?

2. If the rulers are under the thumb of UMNO due to the royalties and their family's involvement in businesses, isn't it the same as we are under the evil UMNO rule?
written by apa jadi, February 26, 2009 14:17:33
Hehehe....even I sense that RPK is still grumpy, I think he still makes sense...

I like the part where he said "The only opinion they are allowed to have is the opinion that the government allows them....the Agong ‘thanked’ Abdullah Ahmad Badawi .... Even Abdullah did not know about it until he heard the speech delivered."

Hehehe....The King or the Sultans seems to be the muppets delivering a prepared speech (sorry,..no insult intended). I remembered once the Agong muttered to himself "who the hell wrote this" in one of the speeches.

Yes the monarchs are constitutional monarchs manipulated by the power that be at the moment. When they say or act something against the interest of these people in power, they are humiliated. While on the other hand, they acted according to these politicians' wills, they are good, even though they are wrong. Anyone opposing such move will be liable to treason. This is the irony in Malaysia.
written by quietguy, February 26, 2009 14:26:49
I beg to differ with RPK.

First, you say the Sultans are not allowed to have personal opinions. In you words, "The only opinion they are allowed to have is the opinion that the government allows them." It goes without saying then, that even most of their actions are controlled by the government.

You then mention that the Agong is the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces. But what exactly does this mean? In the Constitution, it's just a one-liner. Article 41 says, "The Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall be the Supreme Commander of the armed forces of the Federation". It doesn't say anything more than that. And if we follow what I inferred above, that the Rulers can only act according to what the government wants, then doesn't it follow that it is the government, i.e. politicians, who really control the military?

So why do we need the Rulers, then? Lots of countries doesn't have monarchs. A lot of them seem to be doing fine.

BTW, the Constitution can be amended. The Constitution we have now is not the same as the one we had after Merdeka in 1957. It's not even exactly the same as the one we had after formation of Malaysia in 1963.
written by timmy, February 26, 2009 14:39:07
And also to some hardcore followers of RPK, please do not follow blindly.
Just your GK (general knowledge), CS (common sense) to judge as well.

We are god-made humans that can think wisely and rationally if we put emotion aside.
No matter how much hatred you have towards BN or the royals or maybe RPK, put the emotion aside before making comments.

If you want your opinion to be heard, make sure you listen to others opinion as well. All we want is just a better Malaysia, and I believe that's the aim of MT and MT readers.

We write here not because of profits or anything, but we just want a certain voice in our mind to be heard. If you have nothing to say besides a few foul words to scold a certain individuals, please refrain from commenting.

You can disagree with RPK, he loves it, but make sure you have enough bullets of facts to fire back in any case you get shots from him directly. This is what makes MT alive and popular.

Kelantan, under Nik Aziz can survive 5 years long with 1 person majority because Nik Aziz guarded his nest well, and enemy can't do anything to it.

Perak, make a sloppy nest and it did not hold long.

Didn't Sun Tzu teach us to attack the enemy at its weakest point?
Didn't Sun Tzu teach us to anticipate what's the enemy next move?
Politics is just a war and an on-going war.

In war, everything can be your weapon:
Weather
Tree
Your enemies
Water
Epidemic
Poison letters

There's no mercy because it involves one's life. The victor stays alive. Those that lose power will have to die. Therefore if BN fights back dirty, it is supposed to be anticipated.

No one will play clean when you know your power is about to be taken away. Someone needs to die. PR just have to be smarter this time around. Enemies are everywhere, look for spies, look for trojans to make sure you stay alive in Selangor and Kedah. If you do not, then it is your fault and you betray the people who gave you the power. The power to serve is given by us for you to take care, and if you lose your power because you are careless, you are only the one to be blame.

Don't let the decision on the situation falls on Sultan's hand. Now you are relying someone else to bail you out. It should not have reach that stage at all if you have plan your war well. Once it reaches the Sultan's hand, you have only 50% chance of winning, and the worst thing is the 50% chance is beyond your control. When it reached this stage, you can only blame the commander-in-chief for not having foresight to anticipate that this is going to happen and he did not have any tactics to counter it.

Whoever is smart is going to be in power for a long time. Ever since human existence, power is always up for grab, and human will do almost anything to be in power. Isn't that the case? Everything, everyone on earth can be manipulated for power.
written by Taikohtai, February 26, 2009 14:51:06
Spectre of another May 13 and chaos looming if Malaysia rids itself of her royalty? I don't think so!
Today's BN is no longer about having too little like before but more about plundering the country for whatever is available. I think the individual UMNOputra has grabbed so much already that if another civil disorder comes about, they will stand to lose even more than other races, materially.
Also, the rest of the world will not sit quietly and watch on the side, except perhaps USA.
I know little about the Malaysian constitutions but like they say, a bad law is still a bad law.
written by hiro, February 26, 2009 14:56:10
I'm more worried that the perceived independence of the Sultans are now compromised. For instance, did the Sultan of Perak actually thought he did the right thing, or did he act under coercion as some commentator pointed out? If indeed the so called independence of the Sultans have been compromised, then to think that they wield considerable non-justiciable powers - it's a scary scary thought.
written by quietguy, February 26, 2009 15:15:25
Super Admin, you of all people should know not to put words in people's mouth. When did I ever say I wanted the monarchy to be abolished and have a Republic of Malaysia? I just asked why we need a monarchy, and you didn't answer my question.
written by jchew, February 26, 2009 15:18:23
Disagree with RPK,
Mahathir can clip Royal's wings! And, not the Roayal who command the forces; it is the UMNO! We are not childish RPK. Why hasn't the Royal take action as you claimed about the reports received in C4 case? Clearly it is the politicians in control!
written by malaysianohope, February 26, 2009 15:19:33
I like to repeat what I've said previously, that the Menteri Besar made the wrong move by seeking the Sultan's views about Elizabeth Wong's fiasco. The Sultan is not interested nor should be involved in matters of private matters and by seeking his views leaves the Sultan in a predicament, which is exactly what happen.
written by OVERLORD, February 26, 2009 15:27:07
Of course we will support the idea of a monarchy" IF" ...I repeat" IF" they have proven to be more of an asset rather than a liability..Public perception is everything.Some of you would agree that the royals has it's share of bad press in the past..... We can argue until the 46 cows comes home, and still end up where we all started...Heck, this arguement wouldn't have occured in the first place if all of us have "no reason" to doubt the system......I want to believe, i really do, but i can't seem to go past Perak , Bruce Willis or a golf club.....
written by Blacknight, February 26, 2009 15:27:52
I read MT almost everyday but choose not to comment regularly. Anyone can comment and give their point of views but action speaks louder than words.
Everyone supports RPK but are there anyone of us who fights for the country and our rights like him rather than blogging? For now i'm in the same boat, shame to say. That is why i dont wish to comment much.
Almost 75% of the Mt readers failed to forsee wat the future brings us..
When Najib rises, he will rule wit an iron fist, dictatorship,violence and injustice will prevail. Why?? Because we are moulding him into this. Every civilization will come to a destruction. That depends on the leverage the citizens give to the premier.
Judges,police, macc and every damn organization withought check and balance will be part of it. The country will be brutally ruled by the police and worst still if the army comes into control. The country will bleed.
If I am in NAjib's shoes, I will rule the same because of my Hoo ha Hoo Ha citizens does nothing about it and provokes me day by day without action taken. It will make no difference.
Come on guys.. We are all well educated and we can change things around with our wit, unity and actions.
RPK sees far and can foresees the future. We must give back power to our rulers and make them powerful again. Make them feel important again and as citizens live vigorously by the RUKUN NEGARA. Live everyday with TRUTH, HONOUR, RESPECT and JUSTICE. Please read the RUKUN NEGARA and plant it deep inside your heads. Take pride and ownership of it.
Example.. Look at JAPAN. Read their history, culture and way of living. You will know wat to do for this country.
Its time for us to rise and fight for our rights. Do not only let RPK live for you and take all the bullets but live your life like RPK. When he is no longer around, it will take another fifty years to get someone to fight for us like him. We can be like him! We can be the ultimate power. Dont ask wat the country can do for you.. Instead, ask wat you can do for the country and the future generations.
No sacrifice.. No glory! We have to do something together, united with RPK or we will be fcuked. Let him die a righteous death with all our names for him to remember, the same cause we fight for and struggles we shared when he is gone. The bigger and stronger the wave is, i promise to surf with you guys even to death.
The next time you comment lets do something constructive. Let’s start the wave and we together we unite and ignite till kingdom come.
RPK.. Get off the scene for a while and go take a break and settle your personal war first. We need to come to our senses on our own. Sorry if i have offended anyone and thank you.

written by joseph81, February 26, 2009 15:33:00
A lot of things were WRONG, people go missing, bullets and threats given like nobody business, wayang kulit reforms and ISA been used to protect the innocent, non-neutral police and that funny MACC...etc, who can put a stop to this ?

Agung is the head of the country, he should do something before the country get any worse.
written by quietguy, February 26, 2009 15:35:05
I want to say one more thing. You said,
The Sultans did not write the Constitution. In fact, they are mere Constitutional Monarchs. This means they too are bound by the Constitution. So they too have to follow the Constitution.

But what if they don't? What if they have a choice between doing the right thing and doing the Constitutional thing, and they choose to do do the right thing? What's the worst that could happen? Maybe someone will say what they did was unconsitutional and blame the Rulers for it. But that have happened before. So what? It's not as if the Rulers can be fired or taken to court for it. Or maybe, the powers that be can get the particular Ruler dethroned and replace with someone else. So what? What's so bad about not being King? It's better to be a commoner with a conscience than a puppet King.
written by Rundukon, February 26, 2009 16:01:00
'Other than being heads of Islam, the Sultans are also defenders of Malay rights and special privileges, as well as of the Malay language. This is written into the Constitution'.

When HRH Sultan Perak agreed to appoint Zambry, how are we to know that he did it because he believed that Malay rights were being eroded by PR?

If that was HRH reason, can we blame him?
written by quietguy, February 26, 2009 16:05:31

'Other than being heads of Islam, the Sultans are also defenders of Malay rights and special privileges, as well as of the Malay language. This is written into the Constitution'.

When HRH Sultan Perak agreed to appoint Zambry, how are we to know that he did it because he believed that Malay rights were being eroded by PR?

If that was HRH reason, can we blame him?

Yes. I'm a Malay and I don't believe Malay rights are being eroded because of PR. Malay - and in fact, all Malaysians' - rights have slowly been eroded under BN rule for the past 5 decades. If HRH can't see that, than I do blame him.
written by IbnAbdHalim, February 26, 2009 16:06:32
Salam Pete,

Your fear is our fear. We need the monarchy, but we MUST get rid off UMNO in its present form.
written by apa jadi, February 26, 2009 16:10:36
Yes, Malaysia is heading towards Beirut(BERUK). Kera and Beruks rules OK. Security personnels at the PARLIAMENT are merely zombies. See what has Malaysia August House has become of.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/99126
written by chin, February 26, 2009 17:15:20
Good Advice.

Maybe the country does need a new constitutions.

People should start thinking about the inevitable.

Rulers are not so dependable, look at Perak.

written by tlnrs, February 26, 2009 17:23:19
I am more or less belong to the category that of Blacknight

This is my second comment.

I am Chinese, sometimes I feel like well my grandpa came from mainland China and I am the so called 3rd generation here in Malaysia, so I have to admit to the fact the Malay are the people originally live in the land call Malaysia, formerly known as Malaya I guessed.

I barely passed my SPM sejarah with C5 n year 1995, so do forgive me if I says the wrong thing.

For quite some times I live abroad and maintain my citizenship of Malaysia but for a very very long time I didn't realized the existent of a Sultan and the idea of Sultan was vague to me.(hope would not be prosecuted by saying so)

What they did everyday? How they contribute to the economy? Where they spend their time? Totally no idea.

I think we should not drag the Royal into the discussion of politic, leave them alone, point the finger to the party that who running the government and thus country.

They are the one that should responsible for our economy, people rice bowl, etc.

MT reader,
Honesty is when you admit to some thing you've did be it right or wrong, just like Washington admitted he axed the cherry tree.
Action first than come word -Honesty.

Integrity is like you keep what you have your promised stick to it and achieve it.
Word first and prove it by your Action.

Dear para-para politicians be it from BN or PR
Fore whatever you've done be it good or bad for our country, Your name will not be forgotten, please realize what you've promised during your ceramah with integrity

Really hope that one day we will have an unity among all the races, and hope this dream is not too far away, and from what I could see, current government are seemingly beyond hope and I'll cast my vote for PR coming GE13 and hope you will do the same.

Cheers
written by sulphate, February 26, 2009 17:41:18
YM RPK,

Yes, I get the gist of your article. I like the way you express your thoughts on this, and about how emotional people can become over things they do not fully understand or comprehend. And yes, you make sense overall, and I can ALMOST agree with you. But only ALMOST.

Quote: "...any laws passed after Merdeka that violates the Constitution is automatically null and void."

Well, I am no legal professional, so I won't know which laws passed after that time are actually null and void. But by saying that, you are actually implying that the Merdeka Constitution cannot be amended, forever and ever. But the Constitution today is not the same as the original, I gather? (I dunno, I'm too young to recall the original one...)

Quote: "If they follow the Constitution, then Islam is numero uno. The Malay language is numero uno. And the Malays are numero uno. All non-Islam religions, non-Malay language, and non-Malay race are number two. That is the law."

HYPOTHETICAL: What happens, say if 50yrs from now, some virus infects and kills off all the Malays in Malaysia? Will Malays still be numero uno, eventhough they have become extinct? Shouldn't such redundant laws or constitutional provisions be struck off, if the Malays are extict then?

Say also, HYPOTHETICALLY, that one day many centuries from now, the world is unified in a single religion (no Buddhism, no Christianity, etc)? Must Islam then still remain the numero uno religion in Msia, even if it no longer exists? Are you saying then that Malaysia's Constitution cannot be amended at that time? Even if it is the will of the people? Even if every living soul, rock and tree in Malaysia believes that parts of the original Constitution are outdated and no longer relevant? Because "That is the law"? A law that was drafted long long ago?

By such implication, you are saying that we cannot abolish the ISA? Or can we? Which is which? Should I pack my bags and leave this country, because I am forever destined to be numero-second, and Malays numero-uno? And my children, and grandchildren and so on, will continue to be neglected because "That is the law?" Nevermind if the law was lopsided in the first place?

So what is everybody in Malaysia so upset with UMNO & BN for? Going by that logic, you are saying they have done a good job by upholding the NEP, using/misusing the ISA, banning the "Allah" word, etc!

No, methinks this logic is slightly flawed. Laws evolve too. Laws HAVE to eveolve with the times. Many, many years ago, "human rights" as we define it today did not exist. What we define as "human rights" today is a product of the evolution and culmination of beliefs, principles, ideals and what-not. I am certain that many centuries from now, humanity will look back at the 21st century and perhaps feel us to be backward, just as we now sometimes reflect back at the medieval era with shock.

Laws evolve. Our Constitution must, too.

If the people feels that the monarchy has outlived their usefulness, it is the right of the people to change that. There should be no doubts about that. Just like the French did during the French Revolution - many were decapitated. It is the right of the people to change not only the government and laws of the land, when felt appropriate.
If the people feel that the Malay-numero-uno provision is no longer useful, then it is the right of the people to change that also.

The means and methods to effect such change, however, whether by gun or by pen , is a matter for another discussion altogether. Who exactly is defined as "the people", and other finer points, are also another matter for sociologists and other experts to debate. My point here is that laws are man-made. Laws are never perfect, as is everything else on this finite universe. Laws can be changed if it is the will of the people. And a Constitution is just that -- a law. A supreme law, yes. But a law, nevertheless.

It is precisely because the current BN government refuses to repeal unfair laws/provisions, and continue using loopholes in such laws (for many many years), misusing current laws, and twisting the laws that were originally drafted with the best of intentions, that the rakyat is so upset with them now.
written by lobster, February 26, 2009 17:43:57
I agree with dragonheart.

I don't think a lot of you get the message. RPK is saying our anonymousity isn't exactly a nuclear shelter as many of us have come to believe. It doesn't take much to track us down if someone really try and we could be put behind bars for some of the comment we made. Just be mindful of the consequence.
written by ibabonma, February 26, 2009 17:48:04
HRH the Sultan(s), will be there to stay. It's only UMNO/BN that ought to be replaced, and that is not written in the constitution.
written by aryn, February 26, 2009 17:52:31
Pardon my ignorance but in the 51 years of BN rules, did any of the rulers stick their neck for the rakyat that warrant their continued existence as 'payung negara'? Have they done anything at all that endeared them to the rakyat enough for this humble subject to take the bullet for them?

Weren't their misconducts, among others, led Tun Mahathir and BN to remove the royalties immunity in 1993? And many of the royalties 'could' be 'blackmail' by the powers that be because they have too many skeletons in the closets (?), that render the royalties powerless or reduce to BN's rubber stamp.

Why, even our Agong didn't even know the content of the speech he delivered in parliament recently, until it was handed to him there and then. What does one expect me to think about this? Can anyone blame me for asking: "Look, you are the Agong, why can't you bertitah to those idiots that you want to read the speech before delivery?

If the Agong himself is powerless over his parliament speech, as Pete indicates, doesn't that enforce public opinion that the office is merely rubber stamp or BN stooge?

In my humble opinion, all of us are sinners and royalties are no exception.If they hold back and dare not go against the powers that be because of past misdeeds, I can understand.

But a king/sultan or royalties who stick his neck for the rakyat, put the public interest above that of his and his family, deserve my loyalty, my support and the throne. And I won't judge them because of their past misconducts so long as they don't repeat the mistakes.

And I am sure they are many out there who share similar views. Now, if only the Agong, sultans and royalties dare to take that first brave step.....instead of just one RPK.....

And those of us who voted for change in the PRU12.

written by FFT, February 26, 2009 17:53:10

So, to re-instate Malay rights he fires a Malay MB and appoints an Indian-Muslim MB?

Now that is wisdom par excellence!

written by cruzeiro, February 26, 2009 17:55:05
As much as some things may be "cast in stone" in the constitution, it cannot last forever.

The question is - How long the leaders can keep it viable, without corrupting the spirit in which it was drafted.
Many things are said in the Constitution - but unless those who interpret in understand the spirit in which it is supposed to be applied and upheld, it is nothing but "toilet paper".
Right now, the extremists have succeeded thus far in manipulating the moderate secularist spirit in which it was drafted, so as to make demands based on a "literal" interpretation. This is made convenient through the draconian laws (eg EO, ISA, Police Act, UUCA, PPPA) which these extremists have formulated - laws which encourage ignorance and an unthinking mob mentality.
Discussion is deemed a danger. Debate is a danger. Education is deemed a danger. Progress is deemed a danger. Anything which threatens the comfort of the corrupt is deemed a danger.
Laws are formulated to protect the pirates from the people. "Daylight Robbery" will also be translated as constitutional, and "cast in stone". To challenge it would be deemed "seditious" and would warrant "detention" (and not "arrest", mind you!)
This attitude is further aided by the servile & corrupt instruments of state, which facilitate fascism and obsession for "sectarian supremacy & purity". That too is considered "constitutional". That the idea of "the unique identity and economic sustainability" is what the constitution intended would be lost forever. It becomes a competition to plunder and rape the nation based on the fascist ideas of "supremacy" of an elite club of pirates, on the pretext of "constitutional rights" of a privileged "sect".

If the "spirit" of the Federal Constitution is lost for good thru this ignorance & manipulation, for better or for worse, one might as well resign oneself to an impending revolution and a new Constitution and the fracture of this "nation state" as we know it.

Whether this revolution will be peaceful or otherwise will depend on the level of education and enlightenment which the people espouse. In a worst case scenario, we will end up like the Swat Valley in Pakistan, in which case even PAS as we know it wouldn't survive!

Then the we can kiss good-bye, all that is "cast in stone" ..... and sing "For He's a Jolly Good Fellow" while we bang balls!
written by bknight, February 26, 2009 18:01:50
Pete is right
i for once never thought of abolishing our Sultans, they are our heritage, the living monument of our history...(mind you i am of chinese heritage) but there is nothing more proud to be a malaysian than to tell all my foreign friends about our country and our monarchy...and beside this, our King is the Commander in Chief of our Military not the politicians just in case they forget! they can manipulate..but being us malaysian, we should protect our king the same way we hope our king will protect us malays and non malays all together..

written by Long Man, February 26, 2009 18:03:45
yes... we need Rulers... hope many will understand...

DAULAT TUANKU!!!
written by SL Chan, February 26, 2009 18:48:12
Agree with YAM RPK!!! We still need the Constitutional Monarch!!!
He got the points and we need YAM RPK voice and i remember there were once mention need of a OMBUDSMAN. Wether PR, BN , executive ,legistry or judicial they will be monitored and face the whip without fear and favour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by SL Chan, February 26, 2009 19:00:01
YAM RPK says
"Nevertheless, the Sultan made one very bold move in openly ‘endorsing’ Eli. Now he may have to pay the price for this public endorsement. And, trust me, someone will use this against Tuanku, one day, when they need to whack him for some decision he made which does not go down well with those who walk in the corridors of power. And all those who applaud Tuanku’s decision today will not be in front of the palace to defend him when those who walk in the corridors of power whack him. The 1980s has proven this.

When you laugh, the whole world laughs with you. When you cry, you cry alone. That is a fact of life. And the Sultans too have come to realise this during the 1980s Constitutional Crisis. They were very much on their own when Umno ran them through the mud. No one came out in defence of the Sultans. Not the Malays, not the Chinese, not the Indians."

I agree with RPK fully on this and is a fact. Let's say if HRH Sultan Selangor face the lashback of the 'endorsement', have we ask ourself what are we going to do about it?????????????????????????? That's the damn problem, people are naturally selfish (i admit i do) , when they want things go their way ,everything they will say alright and all the ho...hahs... to make it happen but when is not they will put all the scorns to it without thinking of the consequences.....
written by renoir, February 26, 2009 19:12:51
cruzeiro wrote:
> unless those who interpret in understand the spirit in which it is supposed to be applied and upheld, it is nothing but "toilet paper"....Discussion is deemed a danger. Debate is a danger. Education is deemed a danger. Progress is deemed a danger. Anything which threatens the comfort of the corrupt is deemed a danger.
Laws are formulated to protect the pirates from the people. "Daylight Robbery" will also be translated as constitutional, and "cast in stone". To challenge it would be deemed "seditious" and would warrant "detention" (and not "arrest", mind you!) ... the constitution ... becomes a competition to plunder and rape the nation based on the fascist ideas of "supremacy" of an elite club of pirates, on the pretext of "constitutional rights" of a privileged "sect". ]]

Well said, Cruz. Precise, concise, and accurate depiction of the present circumstances.

written by Rhan, February 26, 2009 19:22:48
wow, 513 and indonesia chinese oso come out? very umno huh.
written by budakindia, February 26, 2009 19:53:48
Can we do like what Gandhi does? Just one day to totally boycott everything! smilies/wink.gif If we can do it, just imagine the effect on the government! smilies/wink.gif
written by sulphate, February 26, 2009 19:53:49
cruzeiro, I agree with your comments.

I also agree with the rest who commented, that we still need the monrachs in this current situation. I feel it is indeed by a stroke of luck that the Agong is the chief of the military, and not the PM.

I also agree with aryn.
Quote RPK: "When you laugh, the whole world laughs with you. When you cry, you cry alone. That is a fact of life. And the Sultans too have come to realise this during the 1980s Constitutional Crisis. They were very much on their own when Umno ran them through the mud. No one came out in defence of the Sultans. Not the Malays, not the Chinese, not the Indians."

Well, dear RPK. Why should we defend them then? Don't forget one of the monarchs who had people beaten up, killed, and so on. I was still in primary school then, and the mere mention of him struck fear in my young mind. And what did the rest of the Royals do? Advised him? Chastised him? Had him dethroned? Anything? No!

I'm sure there are more such abuses of the power of crown that could be mentioned. Alas, I am a young naive man -- cannot recall much of such stories, and also not privy to the insider info that you are privy to.

Looking at this in hindsight, I for one am glad that immunity of the royalty was removed.

Dargonheart, you really believe the royals have the power to protect the other 2nd-class citizens? Really? Didn't RPK just say that the Malays are the numero-uno? "That is the law"? Let me tell you, when push comes to shove, one thing is for sure: The Royals will not be on the side of the 2nd class. Take a look at history and you will note that all monarchs, at one time or another, have always needed the "nobles" and bowed to them -- watch Braveheart (Mel Gibson) again. No prizes for guessing who the "nobles" are in this country. "It is the law", says RPK.
written by InEffective, February 26, 2009 19:58:53

the same facts are always interpreted differently based on the lens-of-bias (race, religion, interests etc) its viewed through.

But that is NOT an excuse to NOT to do the right thing.

Until you can implement a law consistently and reliably, no point having laws to that is selectively enforced on the rakyat - its outright coercion. No religion defines human rights. Double standards don't work - different rules for politicians, different rules for the rakyat.
written by KKchan, February 26, 2009 20:08:07
Khir Toyo where are you? Your Sovereign differs from your stance regarding Eli. Are you taking the charge against HRH? Let's see what sort of 'jantan' you are or are not.
written by KotaDamansara73, February 26, 2009 20:15:52

First of all, you said that the rulers has no freedom and their speech were prepared by UMNO goons. That means, UMNO control the rulers. UMNO control the rulers means UMNO control the army. Makes no difference.
written by talk2stop, February 26, 2009 20:19:06
Before I start reading your article everything was crystal clear now it is as clear as mud. Can we start all over again where the part where the big bang and then the earth was created?
written by Blackgiring, February 26, 2009 20:40:04
....yes RPK really need his cousin as ruler and bcoz he is also have that same blood to be proud about....and yes the best way to protect that status quo is to blame the other party with etc. atc. etc. what a best way to cover RPK......
written by johntyc, February 26, 2009 21:55:55
RPK, what can we do to change all this?
written by Daryl, February 26, 2009 23:13:56
No, we need the Rulers. I don’t trust politicians, in particular Malay Nationalist politicians like Umno. With the Rulers removed, the Umno politicians will now control the army. And I would hate to be an opposition supporter or non-Malay when that happens. Then Malaysia Boleh would transform into Malaysia Beirut.

I agree with the whole statements at this moment in Malaysia but it just doesn't sounds right in this day and age. I think we agree that the royalties are here to stay and I am neutral on that other than anger got the better of me over Perak's issue. However, I wished for independent military, PDRM, judicial, Anti-Corruption unit, State Police independent of Federal law enforcement, independent Education funds so it will not be use as tools to any political parties and lots more. But, the most critical part is to have good leaders and that need to come from Federal government, state government and royalties as well sitting on both sites of the lawmaker. Right now the good lawmaker on the BN sides are mute and silent because the bad ones have the money and power. I have to put my vote on PR at this moment because the actions, words and attitude by BN doesn't show they will change anytime soon and will only get worst.
written by onnyap, February 27, 2009 00:39:36
During May 13th massacre, the Ruler had to bring in Sabahan & Sarawakian soldiers from East Malaysia to really implement curfew. Owing to them there was no further bloodshed. This could be avoided if the local soldiers & policemen were neutral at that tragic times and RPK is right in reminding us.
written by Milo, February 27, 2009 00:48:22
I am not sure what the Sultan said in defence of Eli is 'wise' in view of the political attack he can be subjected to, but everyone should accept that his words are compassinate towards a subject, a quality we want of a Sultan. Those who blame Eli purely because she had an affair with a Muslim obviously do not understand human emotions and what falling in love can make people do. If the Sultan is ever attacked by any Muslim because he had exercised a discretion and shown compassion when he should, than it makes one wonder if there is something very wrong about these set of 'religious' muslims and what real values they have with regard to their fellow humans. The fact is Eli serve the public well; his private 'errors' in breaching others' religious moral codes not falling to the level of a crime, should not be used against her for those who are truely moral. However, the one who breached her privacy in such a cruel fashion is another matter. That person, with his obvious evil act, should be condemned in the severest of ways to deter such people from polluting society. Ask yourself, who would you rather be your friend or your state representative, someone like Eli or the one who is willing to breach your privacy so immorally?
written by Milo, February 27, 2009 01:03:03
No, we need the Rulers. I don’t trust politicians, in particular Malay Nationalist politicians like Umno.
------------------------

Totally agree, we need a balance. Absolute powers corrupt and we have seen enough of this happening.
written by wongnoball, February 27, 2009 02:24:46
Malaysia is SO STUPID!!!

They Have not even make a Dent to Regim kejam ganas UMNO-BN they talk as if Changed have happened in Malaysia. You who oppose UMNO-BN have not even a control of anything yet talk as if change would be Peaceful. I have said it many times these SCUMBAGS of UMNO is in the Whatever it takes Zone like Mugabe to retain power....

Yes because of the illegal sacking of Singapore, those that holds the guns 98% are the supreme race of UMNO. Had it not been done by the Illegal Agong, we would have Army Generals of every race and malay who holds GUNS would only account for 42%...and this is where I differ with Raja Petra.....Bring it on the Next May 13 or Kampung Medan.....and Malaysia would not exist in the same manner. Sad but if destiny heads that manner the non-malays will NOT Sit and be target Practice. Initially we will suffer huge casulty but like Japanese in world war 2, all Evil will come to an end.

Yes I know UMNO is onto this Malay Racist Road Show...that is why I have been doing my little Not natural to DNA Stuff....target Cawangan UMNO....
written by SamBall, February 27, 2009 04:38:21
Don't trust HUMNOOO, BeeN, race politics including royalty, unnecessary in that order.

Don't need royalty to protect me from BeeN or HUMNOOO; why do we need them anyway?

This is not their land; it is also mine; like everynone else's.

Sheesh; can't get it into your heads; like this is the 21st century la; wake the fcuk up!
written by wongnoball, February 27, 2009 07:57:04
and to add Further to my DISAGREEMENT with RPK

His potrayal that the Agong and Sultan not much power, weak and Force to read what is prepared for him......then being guardian of Islam and years of education have really taught them to be BRAIN-LESS!! Stop being defensive for them Royalty. Yet I prefer we focus on UMNO Total Obliteration.

Focus on this guy :-Petaling Jaya Utara UMNO Youth Chief, Latt Sharizan Abdullah

Terror Back his cawangan, friends, family! Nip it in the Bud!

I don't TRUST EVEN MORE when one Supreme UMNO Malay Race forms 98% of gun holders in army, police, Rela, reservist...But we are more ready than before.

Plus the Greatest Economic Crisis to Ever Hit Malaysia with no MONETARY $$$$help from China (the Holder of Wealth now)...dare they slay Chinese, Malaysia will be either Burma , Zimbabwe or Somalia Malaysia will be divided Forever!! Either way win-win!!
written by Dreamlander, February 27, 2009 08:24:26
Most MT readers are Malaysian citizens (MC). Leave aside the non-MC and ex-MC.
We did not choose to be born into Malaysia
If I had a choice, I would rather be the son of Warren Buffet
Better still, I wished to be born as Bill Gates.
In REALITY, I am now a Malaysian reading and commenting on MT.

The Malaysian Constitution is a set of laws written by human beings.
That being the case, it is not PERFECT.
We grant that the basic principles upon which such laws were compiled are generally “fair” and “reasonable” and in synch with the circumstances at the time it was written.
The other important component of a set of laws is the accompanying REGULATIONS that set out to IMPLEMENT the law.
If the regulations are POORLY CONCEIVED & WRITTEN or the execution agency SUBJECTIVELY INTERPRETED and SELECTIVELY APPLIED the regulations on to a TARGETTED group of the populace, then we may perceive this law to be ineffective.

IF we have to remain as Malaysians, we have to live under the current set of laws. Avail ourselves to the remaining aspects of the laws that we can legally employ to improve the prevailing political and social environment in Malaysia. We need a champion to rally the masses.

Otherwise, as RPK concluded in the above article “And I will move back to England where I was born. Good luck to those born in Malaysia and have nowhere to go”

SOMEWHERE TO GO ???
written by raverz, February 27, 2009 08:36:18
If this is the case, in which it happens to be so, none of us have a place in here now do we?
I'd suggest we all take up another residence just like Pete will return to England...

being objective here, what good can it do if we can't do anything?
not that we will be accepted anywhere else, but at least our children may have an inkling of an option...
written by sueteh, February 27, 2009 08:48:23
Sorry, i tak buat homework. but, i am glad that Mr Timmy said something about Sun Tzu Art of War. to me, well, almost anything and everything is negotiable but getting what you negotiate for it is another story.

Absolutely correct, everyone now is guarding their sarang/nest, economic downturns, kiasu, kiasi whatever else. you want to survive right? those peoples yang ada bini, anak lagi lah. so, this year, project buat anak percentage go down lah, unless Accident Punya Project. Better delivering your unborn child is USA, England, Australia, NZ, Europe. Second choice of refuge. Like RPK. With desired birth of place, money and influence, the world is your oyster,

IF you want to change and amend the Constitution, there will be a price to pay, if you are willing to pay it, then go ahead to challenge the COnstituition. Why is it, that when the rulers of yesteryear, about to cement batu the constitution that Islam, Bahasa Melayu/Malaysia, hak hak istimewa orang Melayu, is there anyone from the non Islam, non Malays protested?? Kalau dah di maktubkan, aiyah, susahlah nak pecahkan batu itu buat Commandment Baru.

I remembered in the years of 50s, 60s, 70s..there is a balance of percentage of races in Peninsular Malaysia. Then, Pak Kerala mai Mahatir, implementing his policies..many many Chinese Malaysians in particular, fled and migrated to other countries. To add, things getting more expensive and not much support from the gomen, the CM reducing their quotas of bikin anak. At the same, the Melayus dapat lah segala galanya.

Those older generation CM, often said 'aiyah, we not interested in politics, we want to make money only'..so padan mukalah. Now, you want to renew your business licence you have to go to government offices. I also often overhead, how CM having the air of 'superiority' that i got someone over the seas and are very proud to talk about it, son in USA, daughter in Australia, mistress in the next taman. Ya lor, my money my sukalah. See, money rules.
written by Umm Adzka, February 27, 2009 09:09:49
cashmoney, you wrote:
Who says you can't change the ruling.
The powers be to if you think you are still relevant go back to the rakyat for a referendum.
That will put everything into perspective, if the rakyat thinks the powers to be are still relevant so be it,otherwise find a real job.

how can rakyat go for a referendum if the army does not let them? what kind of referendum you are talking if rakyat are not even called for election or do not have the freedom to vote (without risking his life of that of his relative?). If rakyat referendum is so easy, why Suharto kept his regime for so long (until he had lost the full control of the army as some people he trust did no longer give him their full support and were more interested in "his throne" than keeping that for him)?
written by Yee Poh Chai, February 27, 2009 09:20:06
Dear Raja Petra,

Your article makes a lot of sense and I have to admits the statement by the Selangor Palace was one I was very glad of, but it only serves to highlight the difference between how the Sultanate of Selangor and Perak acted. HRH Sultan Sharafuddin basically told YAB Tan Sri Khalid that he did not want to get involved in what was basically a political matter, the public perception (rightly or wrongly) was that BN was behind this, HRH Sultan Sharafuddin nevertheless expressed his own opinion (using his discretion), while he could have not done so and yet told YAB Tan Sri Khalid the same thing.

In Perak, HRH Sultan Azlan could easily have allowed the state assembly to decide then exercise his discretion not to dissolve the state assembly after all BN and the Independents would have out voted PR, nevertheless he decided to take it upon himself.

This highlights how one can achieve the same results and yet convey the message and act differently, In one case, the goodwill that accumulated for 25 years evaporated overnight, in the other it continues to build.

DAULAT TUANKU
written by antiilluminati, February 27, 2009 10:59:47
As i see it, SULTAN is the figurehead of the RAKYAT while $ultan is the opposite not.
For Sultan, i would proudly say alout DAULAT TUANKU !, DAULAT TUANKU !, DAULAT TUANKU !.
And to the $ultan, DUITLAH TUANKU, DUITLAH TUANKU, DUITLAH TUANKU.

See the big difference.
written by A MI, February 27, 2009 15:46:06
well RPk none of your royal cousins came to your rescue-- to the rescue of an innocent man being framed by the gomen
written by UKpassport, February 27, 2009 19:02:54
The Sultan reserves the right to do as he deems fit, given the perlembagaan and all that. Daulat Tuanku!

But MACC is a joke and this Ahmd Said Nonsense is the chief of clown of sorts. Fancy that, going after petty cases like cows and such; when real, alarming cases like having properties paid for by state funds but registered under an individual's name (even a cow knows that something's not right there) and having a pilot (allegedly his son, nonetheless) disgracing the country while having child pornography Down Under. What a clown! Long is the day when we have a REAL ICAC in the country...
written by apanama, February 28, 2009 16:01:03
at the rate the country is deteriorating, i'm guessing you have started packing your bags and book a ticket to heathrow. or abberyswyth. not a bad idea.

i think it's NOT REASONABLE to expect every one who comes in here to read every Article in every state constitution.

it's REASONABLE to allow every one who comes in here to express what is COMMON SENSE, DECENT and REASONABLE, even if these comments go against any Article in the constitutions. they want to say something that their CONSCIENCE says is the right thing to say. Of course, no apology for those BS/ stuff from some.

one can follow the constitution. one NEED NOT agree with it.

written by lampard, February 28, 2009 21:06:04
WAH, SO MANY WROTE, I OSO WRITE...
ALL I SAY IS CAN WE JUST HAVE 1 SULTAN (AGONG) INSTEAD OF 7 SULTANS AND ONE YAMTUAN!
DEAR RPK, CASES IN INDONESIA AND OTHER COUNTRIES AS YOU MENTIONED ARE DIFFERENT, THEY ONLY HAVE A SULTAN OR A KING, WE HAVE 8!!! INSTEAD OF TAKING CARE OF 1 RUBBER STAMP, WE HAVE TO TAKE CARE OF 8!!! SIGH, THERE GOES MY TAX MONEY!!! ADOI!!!
written by lampard, February 28, 2009 21:11:34
YA, YA, BIGDAWG, YOU ARE THE SMARTEST....HAIL THE BIGDAWG, THE CHINESE MAN WHO SUPPORTS MALAY RULERS! OIII UNKER, DON TALK KOK CAN AH? SPEAK FOR YOURSELF CHINAMAN!
written by Davy McChester, March 02, 2009 01:58:36
There again it is a matter of interpretation and who interprets.It is not going back to the British Empire for clarification whenever there is an issue and needs a third party to intervene. The third party cannot be citizens of Malaysia ,those who are subject to of the constitution,therefore it should in all fairness be referred back to British legal experts or the framers of the constitution. Sadly this recourse is not one favoured by the ruling elite. They know the chances of a dispute being in their favour would be very remote ,therefore it is in their interest to not allow appeal to the British Empire for interpretation. Strangely ,in the case of Perak ,UMNOputras are consulting the British barristers in their current dispute with PR . This is what we call double standards: change the position of the goal post whenever it does not favour you. Who knows the UMNOputras ,Malaysia post -independence colonial power, might succeed in the present times forwarding their cases to their ex-colonial masters, because ,today,the British are as corrupted as they come. It is "money talk".

About the constitution vis-a-vis Sarawak and Sabah ,Mr.RPK should not exclude the damage inflicted by UMNOputras on the peoples of these states. Their rights as enshrined in the constitution for their joining Malaysia have been trampled upon and hijacked by UMNOputras. UNMOputras sinister designs,motives are apparent in the states: the demography has changed,they have been overwhelmed by legal and illegal immigrants ,all with the blessing of of UMNOputras. It is okay for UMNOputras to make a mockery of the rights of the natives of Sabah and Sarawak and take away their numeral political clout. Where does this hypocrisy come from ? Yes ,we know where it comes from and where it is enshrined. Most peoples of the world can live in peace and fairness,but there is one group that has been indoctrinated with a fear of bogeyman for eternity . It is this fear that has made this group to resort to violence,treachery,double standards so much so that it is constantly in battle within its own group,let alone outside the group. It pays a long-term consequence for short-term gain.The long term consequence is it never stops fighting,therefore it is always backward thinker ,and most of its members have serious IQ problem,and therefore cannot compete on equal footing. They are not ashamed of their stupidity,because it is impossible for them to think when thinking is not part and parcel of the group. They are not nation builders,not statesmen. They are plain robbers and destroyers of peace and harmony.
written by nafis, March 02, 2009 12:03:03
I agree with Milo's points.

Sultan Selangor has shown his wisdom by not getting involved with Eli's predicament, but I fear this decision of HRH would be the 'bullet' for those fanatic amno-Malays who would use Islam to garner support from ignorant/narrowminded malays who equate "Islam at its best when amno is its protector"
written by madtrix, March 02, 2009 14:50:16
aiyah monarchy or republic also same lah. UMNO/BN corrupt but the royals is hardly the protector of the people. Where were the sultans in 1969? Where were the agung when that mamak demolished the judiciary 1988? The sultans only care about their own interests. This country has gone from bad to worst, what did the royals do? Like Nero, they relaxed in their many palaces, while Rome burned.

I don't see there's any hope left for Malaysia, even if you can find 1000 RPKs. Everyone, Malay and Chinese alike only care about their own skin. The country is going to the dogs. It's a very sad country. The non-Malays should just abandon the country and let the tuans and royals have it to their hearts content. This way, problem solved, no need to fight anymore, right?
written by son of soil, March 02, 2009 19:03:31
My heart say its the right thing to do "to stay and fight" but the fear of loosing you is far more realistic.You are our national treasure, loosing you will be akin to loosing our pillar off strength.You are beacon of hope to all those "balless Malaysian" out there(me include),we need to get our fight international.We do not have anymore avenue's ..the courts are joke boxes..leave the country "you need to be the "pain in the ass" for our new prime minister..if not, he is going to take our beloved Malaysia down the drain.