Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Singh is king, says Karpal

Singh is king, says Karpal PDF Print
Thursday, 26 February 2009 11:21

(NST) - IT'S the title of a Hindi movie which has captured the imagination of every red-blooded Sikh -- Singh is Kinng.

And Karpal Singh obviously takes delight in the title and used it to reinforce his image as a fearless person.

"Singh is King. I am not afraid. They made 100 police reports, sent me two bullets and demonstrated (near his law firm and house). Section 57 of the Internal Security Act says that anyone caught and found guilty of being in possession of live bullets will face the gallows," said Karpal, debating the Royal Address while defending himself against claims he had committed treason.

Karpal gave his take on who could have sent the bullets to him -- instantly getting blood pressures up among backbenchers.

"Where did the celaka (damn) Pemuda Umno fellow get the bullets?" he asked.

Puad Zakarshi (BN-Batu Pahat), Datuk Ismail Mohamed Said (BN-Kuala Krau) and Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan (BN-Kota Belud) immediately demanded a retraction.

Karpal: "No I am not accusing anyone in particular. Don't play the fool with me. I am speaking the truth here. They demonstrated in front of my home in Penang," he said, leaving little doubt who he thought sent the bullets to him.

"Singh is King. Umno Youth, don't play with me. Article 181(2) of the Federal Constitution clearly states no proceeding shall be commenced in a personal capacity, except in special court. Read the Constitution. I am clear," he said on his aborted plan to take the Sultan of Perak to court over the appointment of a new menteri besar for Perak.

By now the backbenchers were repeatedly demanding that Karpal stop using the term celaka against the Umno Youth.

"It is unparliamentary language. He should retract it," demanded Rahman, who is also the Umno Youth secretary

Deputy Speaker Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar instructed Karpal not to use the word.

He had to repeat himself several more times before Karpal agreed.

"Okay, okay I will retract, but that does not change anything about Umno Youth."

Karpal continued in the same vein and made known his views on the judiciary, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission and the police.

He rounded up by giving his oft-repeated warning remark in the house: "Don't play with me (Jangan main-main)."

Earlier, Karpal at the start of his speech, tried to clear the air over his recent remarks on Pakatan Rakyat and opposition leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

"I don't have any misunderstanding with him. I accept him as a leader of Pakatan," he said.

He refused to entertain calls for clarifications from backbenchers as Karpal had previously called on Anwar to step down as opposition leader.

"That is none of your business," he said in his dismissive tone.

written by OVERLORD, February 26, 2009 11:27:26
Hey...don't forget Rajinikanth for our tamil brothers.........UMNO wants to mess with the king????...hahaha...The Lion can take on 100 people head on!!!Siap with flying kicks amidst blarring bhangra soundtrack...
written by murali, February 26, 2009 11:32:02
Yes..YB, Karpal Singh is King... you are a law institution your self. They want to play play with you...

Dont bother them lah Sir, But how about our brothers in Kamunting, the Hindraf 5?
written by Jivathma, February 26, 2009 11:32:41
Very brave Mr. Singh is King. smilies/grin.gif
written by budaktapah, February 26, 2009 11:48:54
YB..please don't use the word "celaka"...it's toooo soft for them...instead (may i suggest) YB should use "haram jadah pep pundek kepala hotak bapak penyamum hampa"...(note : please don't censor)
written by SocratesI, February 26, 2009 11:49:03

In my vocab too, Singh is King, particularly, Karpal Singh. He has been consistent in his views about party-hopping, and has been vocal about it, albeit sometimes, overly so. A Man of Principle is hard to find amongst the politicians in Malaysia these days. My salute to the Lion of Jelutong !

written by raven1958, February 26, 2009 11:49:39
If Singh is King...how did the Perak Sultan get away.....perhaps I should call on my grandmother who is related Joan of Arc.....you are King only as so far the people let you.
written by DreamLady, February 26, 2009 11:51:34
I do have high regards for Karpal's raw bravery. At times people do need some fine tuning in their speech if they intend to achieve maximal outcome from their talent and expertize displayed. Harsh or vulgar word carries no weight to deliver an intended message, on the other hand, it tends to backfire on them. Maybe the practice of subtle insinuation to get even with someone using words that could cut the recipient into thousand pieces might proved to be more effective!!!!

Give it a try Karpal, you might eventually like the idea of it!!
written by harmanamri, February 26, 2009 11:58:38
Karpal should now go for those "cilaka" goons for making false police reports against him. Those guys have in fact committed a crime punishable under S. 211 of the Penal Code.
written by Msian Idol3, February 26, 2009 12:44:12
Tributes to the Lion King - a true Msian. Can any UMNO MP come close to be as clean as Karpal. Either they are all bad boys or spoilt brats sanctioning corruptions & have done nothing good for the rakyat in terms of race relations.
written by ryan giggs, February 26, 2009 12:45:23
Thats the way to go Mr.King !!!! Hats off to our Singh King !! Jai OH !!

written by SL Chan, February 26, 2009 12:47:50
YB Karpal..start to kick asses...go! go! go! Time to rise up!!!
written by Hakim Joe, February 26, 2009 13:00:36
From now on, Karpal is officially known as KARPAL "The King" SINGH.
Three cheers for THE KING!!!

written by yy88, February 26, 2009 13:21:39
YB Karpal Singh, you sound like Kapak King, chop the evils out of UMNO!
written by magen, February 26, 2009 14:07:06
hail the King Karpal
written by dumbfounded, February 26, 2009 14:20:24
long live the king of justice!
written by rpremkumar2u, February 26, 2009 15:46:35
Ohh. I thought the powers to be had his residence under surveillance. I mean they still have no clue is it? Special Branch? Tidur kah? Atau tutup satu mata?
written by Cinakelate, February 26, 2009 17:04:04
Dear dreamlady,
Let Kapal Singh be Kapal Singh. It's his nature to be a chili padi. What happen if you take away the chili from padi?
To YB Kapal Singh, keep it up. That will be your legacy
written by Susanna, February 26, 2009 17:29:16
Long live Karpal Singh! You are my hero since young. Fighter for justice, truth and equality. God bless you. If more Malaysians have guts like you, we don't have to be fooled for 50 years by all those celaka close one eye politicians!
written by cllim123, February 26, 2009 17:36:06
Hail, the Lion King of Jelutong!!!

Celaka Pemuda Umno, you protest against him, who else would even want to send the bullets? Berani hantar tak berani aku.
written by Hakim Joe, February 26, 2009 19:50:21
Cannot say celaka, meh?
How abiut this.....celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka, celaka.....phew!!!

written by changeformalaysia, February 26, 2009 21:22:10
Daulat-Singh...

Even Celaka Pemuda Umno do it, they never admit.
Show the Celaka Umno gangster your fire...Hooray...Well done.
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by InEffective, February 26, 2009 21:25:58

Clearly a real ketuanan in spirit and mind.

Well done o singh the king
(wish our own leaders had such calibre)
written by roadbarra, February 26, 2009 23:23:40
We have great faith in you Mr Karpal. Have no fear, the rakyat stands by you and proud of you because of your principles and strong spirit.
written by KweN, February 27, 2009 01:48:20
the tolerence level of malaysians are quite high! If this kind of stuff happends elsewhere those bloody umno douchebags would have been shot or somethin like dat, and go karpal singh! yr d singh wif d balls in parliment!
written by SamBall, February 27, 2009 05:11:14
"By now the backbenchers were repeatedly demanding that Karpal stop using the term celaka against the Umno Youth.

"It is unparliamentary language. He should retract it," demanded Rahman, who is also the Umno Youth secretary"

OK OK, dont say in paliament, here can say

CELAKA UMNO CELAKA UMNO CELAKA UMNO