Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow For he’s a jolly good fellow

For he’s a jolly good fellow PDF Print
Wednesday, 25 February 2009 15:54

If a half dozen Pakatan Rakyat State Assemblypersons from Selangor cross over to Barisan Nasional, and what happened to Perak also happens to Selangor, would he still be a jolly good fellow?

This is the full statement by His Highness the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, over the controversy involving Bukit Lanjan State Assemblywoman, YB Elizabeth Wong.

I am pleased to inform that Yang Amat Berhormat Tan Sri Dato’ Abdul Khalid Bin Ibrahim, the Dato’ Menteri Besar Selangor has sought an audience with His Royal Highness, The Sultan of Selangor, on Wednesday, 25th February 2009 and duly informed His Royal Highness on the political development and the issue which involved Yang Berhormat Elizabeth Wong Keat Ping, the Selangor State Assemblyman for Bukit Lanjan who is also the State Selangor Exco Member.

His Royal Highness, The Sultan of Selangor, has commanded me to inform that His Royal Highness could not offer any guidance or advice to the Yang Berhormat Dato’ Menteri Besar of Selangor in the matter related to the issue of Yang Berhormat Elizabeth Wong Keat Ping as it was still under police investigation and it involved her political position. It is His Royal Highness’ stance as the Sultan of Selangor to be above politics.

His Royal Highness believes that whatever decision that is going to be made by the Yang Amat Berhormat Dato’ Menteri Besar of Selangor will made with accurateness, fair and with wisdom by taking into consideration the interest of the Rakyat in particular and the State of Selangor generally. His Royal Highness is upset and worried as of late the intrusion of someone’s privacy and private rights was being used to destroy one’s dignity and reputation. It is a sad thing as one’s life and private rights were being made public and subject to public scrutiny by publicising in the mass media.

To Yang Berhormat Elizabeth Wong, His Royal Highness felt sad and sympathised with her as to the unfortunate event she had suffered and hoped that Yang Berhormat Elizabeth Wong will remain calm and be patient in continuing with her life henceforth.

Dato’ Haji Mohamad Munir bin Bani
Dato’ Lela Bakti Private Secretary to His Royal Highness

For he’s a jolly good fellow
Which nobody can deny

And so say all of us

For he’s a jolly good felloooooow
And so say all of us

Yes, that is probably what many, if not all of you, will be singing today. And you will be singing that because His Highness made what you perceive to be a ‘fair’ and ‘balanced’ decision. But you only perceive it to be fair and balanced because it favours the opposition. If His Highness had ruled that Eli is an immoral person, not fit to remain as a Selangor Wakil Rakyat, and that she should resign, then you would whack the Sultan of Selangor, as you did the Sultan of Perak when he ‘took Umno’s side’ and ruled against the opposition.

Is this what Malaysia Today is all about? Is it about being pro-opposition and being anti-establishment for the sake of being so? Even when the government does good things it is still wrong while the fart of the opposition leaders smell sweet just because we support the opposition.

No, this is not what Malaysia Today is all about. It is about supporting right when it is right and opposing wrong when it is wrong, never mind who the personalities may be. We do not overlook wrong and oppose right because of the person involved. If you still don’t get this then the more than four years of trying to ‘educate’ you through Malaysia Today has totally gone to waste.

I do not believe that Eli should resign. And I will not think so even if she happens to be a MCA or Gerakan Wakil Rakyat. It has nothing to do with the fact that she is from PKR or Pakatan Rakyat. This must be the spirit of how we perceive things. Eli’s fart still smells foul as anyone’s fart would smell. This can never change although she is an opposition Wakil Rakyat.

Malaysia Today’s readers appear to be very biased indeed. You oppose people because of their political affiliations, not because of their ideals. And if their ideals are opposed to yours you will oppose them as well, never mind if they share your political affiliations. You will only support people who share your sentiments.

PAS is ‘bad’ because of their ideals. They aspire for an Islamic State and since some of you do not agree with this you feel that Pakatan Rakyat is better off without PAS. Many also do not support HINDRAF because they fight on a Hindu platform. Even Indians of Muslim or Christian persuasions do not have nice things to say about HINDRAF.

Can’t we agree to disagree? If Khairy Jamaluddin fights for freedom of the press, an end to the persecution of Bloggers, the abolishment of the Internal Security Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Press and Publication Act, Official Secrets Act, University and University Colleges Act, Official Secrets Act, and whatnot, would you support Khairy, notwithstanding the fact he may be the Umno Youth Leader?

Of course you would not! Khairy is Umno and he must be opposed because he is Umno, never mind what he stands for. And you will support Anwar Ibrahim, warts and all, because he is PKR and Pakatan Rakyat. This is what Malaysia Today is all about, at least to most of you.

But this should not be how it is. We must be more matured in our thinking. We must know how to separate the wheat from the chaff. This means we take what is good and reject what is bad. And it must never be about the personalities.

I always use the analogy of the half glass of water. Most of you perceive the half glass of water as half empty. But a half glass of water is also half full. Half full is positive. Half empty is negative. And since most of you have negative thoughts you see things as half empty rather than half full.

PAS may not be a full glass of water. But it is certainly more than half full and far from half empty. Why can’t we see PAS for the many good things that it is instead of the few bad things that you don’t like? I wrote about this in my article awhile back about the one bad brick amongst the 99 good bricks, if some of you can remember.

So, the Sultan of Selangor has said something we like. So, he is a jolly good fellow. Tomorrow, he may say something we don’t like. He then becomes a bad fellow. And the same goes as far as the Sultan of Perak is concerned. When he swore in the Pakatan Rakyat state government soon after the 8 March 2008 general election, he was a great guy. Now he is a bad guy and should be dethroned. This is how we think.

Sultans are human beings just like you and me. They too have opinions and feelings. Sometimes their opinions do not matter as they are bound by both the Federal and State Constitutions to perform certain duties. So, what they believe is not as crucial as what they are bound, by law, to do. That is the price they pay as Monarchs. If they do what they like and not what the Constitution says they must do, then they will become Absolute Monarchs instead of Constitutional Monarchs. Then we will not need elections or Parliament. The Sultans can instead run this country like how it used to be in the days before Merdeka.

We need less emotional and more clarity of thinking. Okay, I am one mother of an emotional person. That is my weak point, undeniably. But I need to be emotional about what I do. I call it passion, though, not emotion. And my wife can testify to how passionate I can be. That is why she does not want me back in Kamunting. She said she would miss my passion, which she finds in no other man -- at least this is what she tells me. Whether it is just to ambil hati, I don’t know.

So, allow me to be the passionate one here. The rest of you need to put the brakes on the whole thing by being more clear in thought. Look at things from all perspectives and not only from your own perspective. Things do not always work out the way we would like it to. Sometimes things work against us and we just have to accept it. And never shoot the messenger just because you don’t like the message. The messenger can’t be faulted for the message, just like you don’t give the postman a French kiss whenever he delivers a cheque in the mail. He is just the postman.

Okay, the Sultan of Selangor is now a jolly good fellow. If a half dozen Pakatan Rakyat State Assemblypersons from Selangor cross over to Barisan Nasional, and what happened to Perak also happens to Selangor, would he still be a jolly good fellow? Knowing you guys and gals you will smear my cousin to kingdom come. And you will not blame Pakatan Rakyat, PKR, PAS, DAP or Anwar Ibrahim for losing Selangor. You will blame His Highness the Sultan.

I never blame the fox for eating the chickens. God made foxes with the natural instinct to eat chickens. I will blame the chicken owner for allowing his chickens to get eaten by the fox. Foxes can’t help themselves. They eat chickens. This is what they do. Or would you like to instead blame God for making foxes? Yes, that’s an idea. Let’s blame God while we sing: for he’s a jolly good fellow.

Comments (102)Add Comment
written by Cash Money, February 25, 2009 16:00:57
Once beaten twice shy.Don't be fooled by mere words.We have seen it all.It is people power nothing less then that.
agree 324
written by sorosapril, February 25, 2009 16:06:58
it involved her political position. It is His Royal Highness’ stance as the Sultan of Selangor to be above politics.

this is what the Private Secretary said.

so the Sultan should be above politic, therefore, whether to dissolve a State Assembly or not should not be the call of the Sultan since this is a political decision.
agree 325
written by MushroomUniverse, February 25, 2009 16:09:50
I could not have agree with you any less Uncle Pete!100% true. Malaysians, please grow up!!
disagree 125
agree 131
written by GobloGadhero, February 25, 2009 16:13:36
Hi everyone,

RPK, many thanks for posting this article.

It is essential that we think with a clear mind, objectively.

Agree with how you teach us to do so using the postman as analogy.

disagree 59
written by *********, February 25, 2009 16:18:33
Exposed! Ahmad Ismail is covertly trying to bring down the PR government in Penang and he has the MSM working with him...More http://*********.********.com
written by OVERLORD, February 25, 2009 16:21:22
I agree with the Sultan's decision today eventhough it was mainly protocol on Khalid's part......But inlight of royal bungles both past and present, I'am still a sceptic concerning the role royal play in our country...
agree 143
written by loosecannon, February 25, 2009 16:28:18
That money just can't buy

written by Eyes Wide Open, February 25, 2009 16:29:19
I think teh Sultan of Selangor has demonstrated how the Sultan of Perak should have decided - remain neutral and above politics, while leaving politics to politicians and the political process. Thus his decision to leave it up to YB Khalid.

But His Majesty has said that he has confidence in whatever Khalid decides. His Majesty has also (indirectly) declared his support for Eli and condemned those who destroyed her this way. I guess that's the most he can do for YB Khalid in his capacity. Personally, I do not agree with YB Khalid seeking the Sultan's "advice". That would be like Najib asking Baginda Sultan Perak for his decision.

They are both merely using the Rulers to rubber-stamp their politics.

If ever Baginda Sultan Selangor pulls a Perak, I would not hold it against him. Just as I don't hold anything against my Sultan Perak. I would say that there were probably circumstances that were beyond their control that forced them to act uncharacteristically.

I would blame those people who forced them into those circumstances.
disagree 31
written by mountainking, February 25, 2009 16:33:24
unless khairy can re-shape UMNO, there is no way i will support him. if what we are fighting for is for a genuine multi-racial party, then no way i can support UMNO, MCA or MIC. if BN is willing to drop the policy of race based party, i will support BN if they have a heart for the rakyat.

as much as if you have your opinion, i have very strong opinion too. even if you don't support the struggle of PR and support UMNO now, i will still not follow you just because of MT.

my opinion stands...
agree 157
written by sulphate, February 25, 2009 16:34:03
Point noted in this article, but I would disagree to some of the examples raised by your article, YM RPK.

To me, it's about walking the talk. If it's Khairy...hmmphh...just because he *says* something, doesn't mean he'll do what he said. And I'm sure there is no need to elaborate about all the others in UMNO. Our PM and DPM are good examples already, eh? Say one thing, do another. So your example of Khairy used in this article -- doesn't quite hold water. History has shown very clearly that the bad apples outnumber the good ones in UMNO.

Likewise, we would expect that the police behave with a certain level of good conduct, justice and fairness. If they don't, then society SHOULD criticize them no end until they change for the better. It is PRECISELY because they wear the uniform that they be EXPECTED to behave and act in a certain, expected way. If they do, we say "Well Done!". If not, we have to f* them nicely.

Persons of positions are expected to talk the talk, walk the talk, and walk the walk. That's just the way it is (or should be).

I must admit that I myself am not confident I can walk the talk -- that's why I won't say that I'll do this and that if you get sent back to Kamunting. I don't promise things I cannot/might not deliver.

About HRH The Sultan of Selangor being today's Jolly Good Fellow, I see it as HRH being *expected* to act fair. "Fair" here being what is perceived as "fair" by the majority. And we all know, "majority" is a matter of perception. UMNO goons will feel that they are the majority. But I feel that most right-minded Malaysians will agree that in this instance, HRH is doing the right thing by saying that he should be above politics.

So I cannot agree with your point of view, in this article, though I get the gist of what you were talking about. This is just a humble opinion, coming from a young, unwise fellow.
agree 157
written by cahaya, February 25, 2009 16:34:45
RPK, we salute your passion and your logic. We pray that you will stay alive for many more years (enjoy a long life), because Malaysia needs both your passion and your logic.

In this article, you mentioned what happened in Perak, and what could happen in Selangor, if there is no clear political majority in the state assembly. Whether or not the Sultan in Perak was correct or wise depends on who you ask. Some blame the Sultan, while others accept what he did. At this time, we cannot tell whether the Sultan of Selangor will repeat what the Sultan in Perak did, if faced with a similar situation.

By the way, when we describe someone as a jolly good fellow, it is not what he does, but who he is. Not his deeds, but his moral character. So you are a jolly good fellow! And of course, your cousin the Sultan of Selangor (even if he choses to repeat what happened in Perak.)

One last thing. God Almighty, who created all creatures and other living things, should not be blamed for any folly committed by humans.
written by mountainking, February 25, 2009 16:35:08
and i choose not to see the glass half full or half empty. i choose to see "i can fill up the cup".

i choose to see a better Malaysia.
written by aryn, February 25, 2009 16:45:19
I opposed MB Khalid running to the sultan regarding Eli's case.
Sultan should only exercise his duties within the ambit of the constitution, no more no less. And yes, he should be above politics.

Will I criticise the Sultan of Selangor if he walks the path of Sultan Perak in the case of power grab.

I will if he disregards the constitution and disrespectful to the State Assembly and most importantly, the concerns of the rakyat.

As for PR, no blind support here. I'll whack them if they do wrong.

As for Khairy. Let's face it Pete. He is in the position to do all what you mention during the years of his FIL tenure as PM BUT HE DID NOT and you see for yourself that things only got worse.

Many are skeptical about him because he only open his big mouth when his FIL is on his way out. To me, that sound political and personal at that. He has to work hard to convince us that he is sincere.

Sure, Pete. Some of your readers are just parrot. Praising you sky high for all your articles. But not all of us because we do have common sense to think what's right and wrong and not sway by someone's political affiliation as the basis of our criticism.
agree 136
written by malaysianohope, February 25, 2009 16:51:25
Abang,
I understand you point about being impartial about calling a spade a spade and not following herd's mentality. But then again I can also understand why most of M/Tians almost always scream the moment a decision is gone against the Oppositions. This I tell you why....

The Police is against Us
The MACC is against Us
The Judiciary is against Us
The Civil Servants are mostly against Us
The Rotalties do not help Us where it matters

That's why we hang on to every good news & behave like a child tasting his first ice cream.
agree 145
written by densemy, February 25, 2009 16:58:06
A non-decision by a man who rightly should stay above politics. The Royals have two roles... to be a figurehead for all Malaysians and to be the upholders of Islam for the Malays

You wouldnt ask your plumber how to fix your brain tumour so why expect the Sultan to be the font of all knowledge on matters political and constitutional

We are not talking about a feudal system when the sultan/king was the ultimate judge. This is a complex social issue and needs the opinions of experts, not that of ordinary men in funny hats
written by thor, February 25, 2009 17:00:16
Can’t we agree to disagree? If Khairy Jamaluddin fights for freedom of the press, an end to the persecution of Bloggers, the abolishment of the Internal Security Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Press and Publication Act, Official Secrets Act, University and University Colleges Act, Official Secrets Act, and whatnot, would you support Khairy, notwithstanding the fact he may be the Umno Youth Leader?

Yes, we can and with that attitude it display a high level of respect or hormat between the two individual who are disagreeing on the subject. Yes, I will still support him, but then too often such trust placed on them had been betrayed so to support him just bcos he out of sudden, start singing a different tune wld not be too easy as they say once bitten twice shy. Ameno and its Insignificant Others have their work cut out for them if they are really serious in serving the RAKYAT, for the past 52 years where hve our country gone, we could hve be one of d DEVELOPED countries by now if not for mismanagement and corrupt people with corrupted ideas cari cari makan at expense of the RAKYAT

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by SL Chan, February 25, 2009 17:02:00
Most important is a party has to learn to accept criticism and buckup,improve and learn from their mistake.The big problem here some party never learn(negatively speaking will never learn unless some drastic changes) and worst of all continue to carry on all the misdeeds!!! Public perception is important wether we like it or not. Everything happens it seem to be so obvious....

YAM RPK quote "I never blame the fox for eating the chickens. God made foxes with the natural instinct to eat chickens. I will blame the chicken owner for allowing his chickens to get eaten by the fox. Foxes can’t help themselves. They eat chickens. This is what they do."
written by murali, February 25, 2009 17:06:01
I dont see the point of this article... We expect the royals to do their duty as Constitutional monarch, which is more or less what Sultan Selangor did. Maybe RPK missed the article by our former appeal court judge on the Perak issue on why the Perak Sultan could have erred in that issue.. Thats one of the things that make people angry and say all kind of things..

Also after the last GE HRH Sultan Perak didnt swore in the new gov "soon enough". It was only after all other state goverments sworn in. And remember also there was an issue of appointing non-malay MB due to handling of Islamic affairs.

Also tomorow if i wake up and i see a BIG change in everything, from the goverment policies and immediate implemenatation of the policies than maybe i will change the way i view them.. Otherwise...... no way. And i dont think anyone in the ruling party will dare to suggest for any radical change... Good example, see what happened to our former de facto law minister.

You think KJ will dare to that.... all talk and no action.. all for their own political gain..

And finally we the majority of the MT and other new media readers maybe biased but can you blame us...
written by Shion, February 25, 2009 17:06:03
Hahaha... RPK,

At least you able to see many Malaysian knows where to get their alternative info feed, so your 6 years of "online education" is not totally wasted lah. In fact, you should view in positive way as a success like what you see "glass is half full".

But hor, to change a person's thinking model is not that easy one.., especially do it in online. Those ppls are gone thru > 10 years of gov academy, they are "trained" to think that way mah..., somemore hor, who behind the NICK also dun know leh...

Bra-der, long way to go... the mission of changing Malaysian mindset is not impossible but I would say it not easy lor... so bra-der, ppl of Malaysia (of coz not everyone) still need you to lead the way.

written by san amin, February 25, 2009 17:07:26
Dear RPK
Most of us in MT do not always agree with ur articles or thoughts. we'r here bcos of theres lots of perspectives. U,urself had condemned most in UMNO until the recent event in Perak. We'r here mature enough wat to and not to believe. Pls dont insult our intelligence as we too respect ur thoughts but it doesnt mean we agree with u.
written by Rundukon, February 25, 2009 17:09:12
' If Khairy Jamaluddin fights for freedom of the press, an end to the persecution of Bloggers, the abolishment of the Internal Security Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Press and Publication Act, Official Secrets Act, University and University Colleges Act, Official Secrets Act, and whatnot, would you support Khairy, notwithstanding the fact he may be the Umno Youth Leader?'

If thats Khairy's stand, he wont be in UMNO. UMNO would have kicked him out. And Pak Lah would have asked him to divorce his wife.
written by cahaya, February 25, 2009 17:17:04
And never shoot the messenger just because you don’t like the message. The messenger can’t be faulted for the message. . . He is just the postman.

RPK, we understand what you mean. But sometimes when we don’t like the message, we must also find fault with the messenger. Sometimes if we could we would shoot the messenger. Why? Because it is so obvious that he has allowed himself to be a media tool of evil masters. For example, that “Silly Fool” who claimed to be sodomised, some local newspapers or television stations that distort the facts of political events (by only telling half the story, or changing the facts), the publishers of nude photos, and those who deliver other junk mail.
written by SamYap, February 25, 2009 17:27:17
RPK, I agree with you about some of the readers of Malaysia Today, allowing their emotions to over rule rational thinking. Have you also noticed how you have become almost a cult figure? Man! You should take some time to read the comments here and less time smelling the flowers or bashing the politicians, even you would be abashed with the fawning, bowing and scrapping. Its not healthy and you know it. We should approach this "change Malaysia" or "Free Malaysia" with less crazy thoughts about just one person.

Maybe its a strategy you have adopted to whip up the people's emotions, to fire up their imagination that we can and we will live in a country that's free of corruption and racism.

Unfortunately that emotion has now gone a bit of control, short of some who might just set up an altar and worship you as a messiah; but its also their right to get mad with the Sultan if they don't get what they want. If they want a Pakatan government, so thats what they want. Whats wrong with that? Has the Pakatan government let the people down thus far? Not that I had read or heard of anything like that. Well, at least no one has grabbed any land yet, instead the Pakatan govt is giving land to the people who had stayed on their turf for many many years.

Besides, I do remember in a cconversation with you a couple of months back, you did say that perception is an important factor in politics, and if now the rakyat perceive the Sultan had gone against their wishes and worst, had not refreshed his memory about the rights enshrined in the State Constituion, can you blame the people for getting mad?

Or are you upset because now the very people who adore you are not too happy with your royal kinship?

Or perhaps you are saying that the rakyat should leave the royalty out of the political equation as it is a two edged sword?

RPK, you have to be clear about these things as there is no doubt that many have come to accpet you as their Mao Tze Tung or Gandhi, depending on their policitical leaning; and Malaysia Today to many is the altar upon which the BN-UMNO aniaml would be sacrificed - soon, many would hope.

The green cap with the red star and the beard is almost a striking likeness to Che Guevara. And to add more to the legend, your previous piece even rehashed the Mao phrase of "power comes from the barrel of a gun" which became "change might have to be by the bullet".

As an aside, in case you are not aware, any communist regalia is still illegal in Malaysia and the person in possession of such items maybe charged as a CT. That might just give the idiot Botak Syed another point to use if he needs to arrest you again under the ISA.

RPK, I have no quarrel with you, just like you I support the goal of a United, Free, Clean and Prosperous Malaysia. (Some of your closest friends know who I am) But I think you need to rein in the emotional thingy abit more before some of the readers start praying to you with three joss sticks and two candles like you are some demi-god - you wouldn't want that would you?
written by lobster, February 25, 2009 17:40:14
But I think you need to rein in the emotional thingy abit more before some of the readers start praying to you with three joss sticks and two candles like you are some demi-god

Sam, judging from the photo of the supporters showing up at Putrajaya on Monday, I think your statement had widely exaggerated.
written by disgruntled, February 25, 2009 17:40:20
We need sultans with a clear mind and wise thoughts like the sultan of selangor. He is not asking eli to resign or not to resign. He leaves it to the people to rally behind her and seek the voices of the people that voted her into office. For he will say since the people voted you in, go get the people to decide for you. This is indeed what everybody with a clear mind will advise. And not like the sultan of Perak who appointed 2 mentri besars in a span of less than one year !!!! How is the state administration going to work with two heads? Dua kepala? The sultan of Selangor is above politics and the people will live in peace with the monarchy and everybody will love the king and kiss his hands if not his lips !!!! LOL Good on you, sultan of Selangor. May you live happily ever after!!!
written by ohuat, February 25, 2009 17:41:06
I don't care who will be our next PM except Najid. He has too many skeleton in the closet. In other country, people like this will be condemned. Only in Malaysia, moron UMNO.
written by PeoplePowerPronto, February 25, 2009 17:49:43
I do agree that we sometimes get carried away with our emotions. But hey, we are human beings too. Passion is nothing without emotions. When we see our beloved country going down the drain, is hard not to get emotional. Sometime, our 'passion' is to kick the living shit out of the corrupt til kingdom come.
written by cruzeiro, February 25, 2009 17:53:26
Knowing you guys and gals you will smear my cousin to kingdom come.
================================

Indeed Pete - clarity of thought should be the order of the day. So I say - you've gone on a tangent, and lack the very clarity required here!

If the DAP/PAS/PKR farts don't smell so sweet to you at all times, why then do you carry the flag of all these parties (on the Barisan Rakyat banner) at all times?
They may have signed the people's declaration for political expediency, but they don't exactly walk the talk at all times - Hassan Ali, Zul Nordin, that Manicka clown and the "Songkok issue man" are some to note. moreover, they back down, at the first sign of controversy!
(My hats off to LGE, Karpal & LKS though ....)

Then you go on to say, "They aspire for an Islamic State and since some of you do not agree with this you feel that Pakatan Rakyat is better off without PAS. Many also do not support HINDRAF because they fight on a Hindu platform. Even Indians of Muslim or Christian persuasions do not have nice things to say about HINDRAF.

Well, to that, Pete - I'll say damn those guys who say that their kinda fart alone smells sweeter than all the rest! Period. There is no premise for sectarianism in the People's Declaration!

As for the office of the heads of state, is created by the real rulers of a state - the government. The legitimacy of it lies with the people- and hence, the people have a right to dispute a judgmental error.
The onus is on the one who occupies the seat/office to maintain its credibility, and preserve its integrity against all odds, to uphold the constitution upon which it depends. The respect the office commands depends on the conduct of the office-bearer, and not his bloodline, heritage or "god-ordained rights"
So there is nothing wrong in questioning a flawed judgment, and praising a good call.

So - about Perak and Selangor ...
You're comparing apples & oranges, Pete!
These are two different scenarios - one was about the installation of an illegal govt. The other was simply "advice" sought.

Without a doubt, HM Sultan Azlan Shah may also have personally been a "victim of circumstances" just as much as the Perakians. and it isn't necessarily him personally that the people condemned, but the office of the Sultan - the institution that was abused by "hidden hands" at work.
Whatever said and done, the head of state cannot "fire" his MB - he may only select the candidate he feels, commands the majority in the assembly - and the argument about the "Interpretation Act" which Shad Faruqi highlighted is flawed. The MB can only be "fired" by a vote of no confidence.

Hence, I have no doubts whatsoever that the people would be pissed off should the office of the Selangor Head of State commit an indiscretion to the same effect - and it may not necessarily against your cousin in his personal capacity.
That it is your cousin who occupies the seat, is incidental.

As for KJ, we all know what he's done, and the reputation he has as a "wormtongue" and how sweet his dog-breath is when the situation calls for it ..... but of course there are always people who believe that it's cool to jump into a barrel of shit, to clean it from within, while hoping to come out smelling like roses.

Come what may, despite my difference in opinion, I'll still sing "For he's a Jolly Good Fellow" for you - becos of what Malaysia Today has given to the people.
So let's have some clarity over apples & oranges, and not get petty - passionate or not.
written by carribeanking7, February 25, 2009 17:59:02

I understand the conundrum Sultan Azlan faced as a constitutional monarch, thats why I did not say anything further
on the issue beyond posting a polite letter of appeal and a suggestion that one of your admin was kind
enough to post on MT.

This is just Perak, and look at the turbulence it created, it gives us a glimpse of what may have happened if
Anwar had actually pulled off a coup d'etat on 916 to take over the Federal Government.
Imagine PR supporters cheering when the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong refuses to dissolve parliament,
and the cheers become sortlived , when Speaker Pandikar Amin suspends the 31 "crossover" assemblymen from parliament.

Selangor falling is even scarier as BN would not only gain a state but two thirds majority in Parliament.

If I had my way I would love a parliament divided 40% each between PR and BN, with the balance of 20%
made up by independents who can be the decider vote to pass bills with no party whips influencing their decisions,
the we can sit back and watch BN and PR knocking themselves out with proper arguments to win over these independents vote
before any bill can be passed.

The cultish behavior you speak of was clearly seen on a number of occasions, sometimes even a piece that
was clearly meant to be a satire had its author lambasted and accused of being a BN stooge.

HINDRAF supporters will cheer me on no end when I lambasted MIC in general and Samy Velu in particular,
but will quickly vote me down when I point out shortcomings within HINDRAF or suggest how they may have done it better.

I too am guilty of taking an NST article posted here to shreds based on the authors previous flavor of writing,
and of course NST propaganda.
she was upset enough to write to me personally to explain her stand in a gracious manner,
her colleagues alerted her, so this means NST staff read MT too.
we have since made peace, and I am reminded yet again that we can debate points we disagree with
but not make hominem attacks.
So I guess I am emotional too, my GF complains that I nag, imagine that......lol

By the same token, MT commentators are human too thus can sometimes be prone to irrational emotional outbursts.

Regards
written by sulphate, February 25, 2009 18:00:36
Lobster,

Just because the turnout at Putrajaya wasn't in the millions, doesn't mean that RPK isn't worshipped acrossed Malaysia! "Ada udang di sebalik batu" (more than meets the eye) mah! Haha, couldn't resist.

No. One must not be too hasty to make judgement upon others, with the holier-than-thou attitude. Many of us have to work. Some of us can't take leave so easily (some have company bosses that frown on this -- economy not good, so don't p*ss-off the bosses unnecessarily). Others have personal reasons. I am sure many of us were there in spirit. Support does not necessarily need to be a direct, visible one. In fact, indirect support can be just as potent, if not more. And I am also sure many of us will be there in spirit if YM RPK gets sent back (but not so sure of Malaysians' "stamina" in remembering daily the people in unjust detention).
written by Proarte, February 25, 2009 18:17:48
The fundamental issue is integrity.

If Khairy supports the abolishment of the ISA, independence of the media and OSA we really have to ask- why? Is this based on 'Realpolitic' or actual principles. A man like Khairy who is financially corrupt, who can be unashamedly racist, insulting the Chinese and Indian community before March 08 and then tries to be a latterday 'cosmopolitan liberal' has to be treated with a pinch of salt.

Any immoral donkey can come up with liberal and democratic claptrap, the question is whether they can be trusted. Khairy, the Sultan of Perak, the Regent have been tainted by speaking with forked tongues and will be judged by the people as such.

If the Regent Raja Nazrin comes up with more of his well scripted poetic pleas for racial equality, democratic values and political integrity, it too will be treated with a pinch of salt from now on because of the actions of the Royal Court which practices racism, political bias and which is capable of being blackmailed by UMNO.

This 'jolly good fellow' the Sultan of Selangor has a vested interest in supporting Eli Wong by opposing invasion of privacy, even if it is in the interest of exposing Khalwat. This is clearly unIslamic. Eli Wong's boyfriend assuming he was Malay ( with a name like Hilmi) was commiting Khalwat and this is immoral according to Islamic tenets. I thought the Sultan constitutionally is a defender of Islam. Is the Sultan now a Munafik?

It is also well known that this 'jolly good fellow' has an Indian girlfriend and commits Khalwat with her on a regular basis. Could his empathy with Eli Wong be partly due to his fear of invasion of privacy into his personal life? Does Islam allow for the concept of 'personal life' where the State has no jurisdiction over? These are fundamental issues which we must deal with. If we are not brave enough and continue to fudge moral, philosophical and democratic values, then we as Malaysians will be caught in the morass which we are in now for a long time yet!
written by malsia1206, February 25, 2009 18:18:12
It's not so much what the Sultans and the Royal Palaces said for or against the Barisan or the Opposition that makes them the 'jolly good fellows'. It's essentially what they said or how they act that is perceived to be rational, logical and sound, politics aside. If His Highness takes a golfstick and bash any Government or Opposition MP, that is indeed a bad act, whether you like it or not irregardless of which political team you happen to belong to. But if His Highness gives sound practical advice without other personal, family or self-pecuniary matters involved, then it should be seriously considered and thought upon. Just my 2 sen.
written by cruzeiro, February 25, 2009 18:20:37
BTW, about Eli - I think your support for her to stay on should be conditional, depending on "what else is in store".
Without a doubt, thus far she has been a victim, and I sympathize with her.

The judge to this whole affair is Eli herself - and thus, if she feels that there is nothing more than images/movies of her being captured while not being a participant, she has every reason to stay the course and fight on for a greater cause. The people will certainly stand by her.

However, it is quite regrettable that, being in public office, she has displayed poor judgement in trusting scumbags and as such is "vulnerable" ..... one can only wonder if she was blackmailed prior to the release.
Poor Eli ...
written by Admiral Tojo, February 25, 2009 18:38:21
"If Khairy Jamaluddin fights for freedom of the press, an end to the persecution of Bloggers, the abolishment of the Internal Security Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Press and Publication Act, Official Secrets Act, University and University Colleges Act, Official Secrets Act, and whatnot, would you support Khairy, notwithstanding the fact he may be the Umno Youth Leader?"

I will eat my shoe and campaign all out for him. Tapi mereka selalu cakap tak serupa cakap, let alone cakap tak serupa bikin lah.

Salaam
written by AsamLaksa, February 25, 2009 18:44:14
Peoplepowerpronto, you are missing one vital ingredient. Passion on it's own it not of much use. You need solid direction, not excuses. Passion without direction leads to anarchy. Passion with bad direction leads to suicide bombing.

Where should you get your direction from? It isn't hard. You have many philosophers be they religious or areligious to guide you. Go seek knowledge passionately first.

If you do not understand the issues, you will end up like the UMNO goons who passionately shout ISA is right and good for the country and should be used to protect Ketuanan Melayu. They haven't a clue or conveniently bend over about principles of fair trial, no incarceration without trial and what the heck is Ketuanan Melayu.

Or for those who passionately fight against BN and point fingers at BN supporters mimicking buggery during the Permatang Pauh by-election as monkeys, then also make rude remarks about BN leaders. What do you get? Competitive bunch of monkeys.

Or the chap who told me that since BN plays dirty, PR should play dirty too. I remember playing college football where this they play dirty so we play dirty too concept resulted in the game losing all the fun (the whole point of playing) and heavily bruised players.

Bottom line, passion on it's own is useless and we have too much of it already. Passion is also never a good excuse. Go educate yourself if you do not want to act like monkeys.
written by tumbledore, February 25, 2009 18:47:12
dear Pete,
you seemed to be obsessed by the idea that we criticise the Sultan of Perak because he decided against PKR! are you really that sure!? thats what you think of us? as they say birds of a feather flock together; we commentators are supporting the overthrow of the present government thats why our sentiment is that way. those pro-government people flock to the umno blogs! don't misunderstand me, I see your article as guide to those participating in MT. we have to be objective in our comments and only letting your frustration rule you in your comment helps noone.

I feel sorry that you are feeling that way but there are many comments that qualify as objective and based on facts.

my heartfelt condolences to you for the passing of a dear one.
good people go early, they say.
there is a saying in german; 'unkraut vergeht nicht' means roughly; weeds never wither. so we'll be seeing Najib for a very long time!
take care.
written by ahmadneil, February 25, 2009 19:18:24
Everyone is entitle to his or her own opinion.You may like the sultan but I may not.You may like the pipe but I may like the cigarette.Not everyone is the same.Your taste and my taste are different.
So today you are writing something that I don't like reading at all.This is your opinion and it doesn't mean that what you write is not good.It might be good to some becos they like RPK and so if RPK writes shit,they still like your writing.
I like RPK for his stance but this doesn't mean that whatever he writes will suit me ,even if he writes shit.I may not like the writing but I still like RPK.
Today,what RPK writes is absolutely bullshit.I don't like a bit of it.RPK is spinning nothing but real shit.
God save RPK but not this piece of bullshit.
written by AsamLaksa, February 25, 2009 19:20:28
SamYap, who is RPK to you? Are you guilty of hero worship?

What is RPK to me? He isn't the brightest and he isn't always right. I have said it many times before that RPK needs Malaysians more than Malaysians need him and this is how I relate to him. He needs me to think for myself more than I need him to think for me. That's the surest way to keep the fire that he tries to place in everyone's heart to continue on even if he can't write any more or MT is abolished. He needs involvement not spectators. No disrespect but to be honest he isn't my hero as I do not aspire to be like him. I have more mundane aspirations and also do not have the drive and charisma.

How do I view RPK? He's an attention seeking populist figure. There are many others who have great ideas but RPK has charisma. He's the sort of person that appeals to all levels of society. He could easily win a local election based on charisma alone but would not be a good politician. Active involvement in politics will stifle his style. RPK can perhaps draw parallel with Che Guevara and perhaps it is so as there are many T-shirts with his profile and name on it in Malaysia now compared with Che's.

I am however thankful for PRK for MT. It brings me news and lets me comment. I like to comment as it helps me develop my thoughts. Many times I write a long comment only to stop before submitting it because I realised that my arguments are hollow or pointless. This is like 25% of the time. It helps me self-reflect on my thoughts. For that I am very grateful. The other person I am most grateful in developing my thoughts is my wife who is more pragmatic than me.

So, who is RPK to you? How do you view him?

Tumbledore, there are also many comments on the sultan of Perak that do not qualify as objective and based on facts. The real worry is not about how many good quality comments there are but rather that there are still shitty ones. It's like it's great to know there are so many 'moderate' Muslims who are opposed to Al-Qaeda's suicide methods but the real danger lies in the big numbers of those who are extreme.

It takes a few unqualified biased comments against the action of the sultan of Perak to taint the rest. Just like it took one 'natang' banner to taint the rest of the procession.
written by ahmadneil, February 25, 2009 19:21:02
Today the devil have enter RPK mind and that is why he wrote crap!
written by ahmadneil, February 25, 2009 19:23:16
Can I be wrong if I say I want malaysia to be a republic,not becos I don't like the sultan,but becos I think a republic is better and can save alot of money and criticism.
written by tumbledore, February 25, 2009 19:32:54
AssamLaksa: I'm trying to be optimistic, I see the half full bottle of whisky rather than the half empty!

please take it easy, you all.
lets discuss objectively.
Rome was not built in one day.

but I can't help grinning when I read comments from Ah-MAD-neil. in fact I was waiting anxiously for his comments today!
written by ahmadneil, February 25, 2009 19:38:16
written by AsamLaksa, February 25, 2009 19:20:28
SamYap, who is RPK to you? Are you guilty of hero worship?

spot on!RPK is the same as you and me.He is nothing if he don't have MT.He may say crap if he likes but his crap is not what I like to smell.
written by fireduck, February 25, 2009 19:54:14
Good points. But most of us are emotional beings. That's why we need something to hold on to, to hope for, to rely on. And you may notice too, how MT readers will fawn over RPK, and even he says the sky is falling, most will believe him. No offence, but that's how blind devotion is.

carribeanking7 wrote:
Selangor falling is even scarier as BN would not only gain a state but two thirds majority in Parliament.

Don't think I follow that one, bud. How can 'losing' Selangor state cause a 2/3 majority for BN in Parliament? Unless, all those frogs who jump over from PR to BN have dual representations, i.e Adun and MP. Then it's possible. But how many of the PR's reps are such?

Hmmmm..... maybe, it is possible.
written by ahmadneil, February 25, 2009 19:56:06
Of all that RPK wrote,I may laugh,cry,ponder,reflect but not this one.Today ,RPK wrote just becos we all say something about the sultan of Perak and RPK don't like the way we say it.He has royal blood and so if he say it then it's ok but if we say it then it's not ok.
Long live RPK but not what he wrote today!
written by tanahairku2, February 25, 2009 19:57:21
Dear RPK, I think you have made a couple of statements that are not really proper.As you have so clearly stated, Malaysia Today "is about supporting right when it is right and opposing wrong when it is wrong, never mind who the personalities may be." It is for this very reason that I am in full support of your principles, and use this plateform to air my views. 'So if anyone, irrespective of his position & status, if he/she has done, or made the wrong decision, of course we will not sing 'he is a jolly good fellow'. Here again, whether a decision is right or wrong is again subject to intepretatiopn of the law and other considerations. The Perak constitutional crisis is a clear example, as even lawyers hold different views. You have asked "Can’t we agree to disagree?" And this is exactly what we are doing. Hence it is unfair of you to say that we only whack people who made decisions which are not in our favour. I have read enough of MT readers's responses to know that they are just and fair minded people. We whack most of the time, because, as Malaysianohope said, everything umno does is against us. Give me an example of an umno deed that is of benefit to the rakyat and I'll sing "he is a jolly good fellow" the whole day long.
written by Goostee, February 25, 2009 19:59:23
I agree fully with RPK. Hence, my stand in the Perak constitutional crisis. With due respect, I earnestly felt that His Royal Highness has somehow erred at dismissing Nizar. My opinion rests on the contention that the constitution empowers the Sultan to dismiss the EXCO, and yet remained silent on the dismissal of the MB. I truely beleve that this provision was purposely left as a safety valve to protect the survival of the MB as the MB had never been envisaged to have come from any other party but UMNO. Nizar just happened to be the lucky beneficiary !!!
written by Liberace, February 25, 2009 20:06:17
RPK, isn't this exactly what you taught us to do? Support Anwar and PR when they do right and whack them when they do wrong? Well, the same applies to the sultans. If they act wisely and do not usurp the people's vote, then we indeed ought to honor, not worship, them. But if they knowingly take what is ours and give it to the thieves, then we will indeed vilify them, as we have done to the Sultan of Perak and as we will do to the Sultan of Selangor if he does as his uncle did. Maybe we don't always sound intelligent, but give us some credit for being smart enough to differentiate between a fart and a whiff of perfume.
written by ahmadneil, February 25, 2009 20:18:55
RPK is entitle to write whatever he thinks is right.
ahmadneil is entitle to air his comments in anyway he likes.
RPK is entitle to write crap.
ahmadneil is entitle to reject his crap.
RPK can be wrong.
ahmadneil is just a human being.
RPK can ?? the gov't becos he is the boss of MT.
ahmadneil can only warn becos too harsh comments are always deleted by admin.
RPK can air anything in MT.
ahmadneil can only air some.
RPK use his real name.
ahmadneil use bullshit name.

So all in all we are the secondary and RPK is the primary jungle.He towers over us.
written by advocatusdiaboli, February 25, 2009 20:43:18
Just listen to yourselves. If RPK writes what he feels then it is his right. We can agree to disagree. I may not agree with all that he writes and that is my right. Come on la guys. Let him have his thoughts as we have ours.
written by cruzeiro, February 25, 2009 21:28:18
Isayman Pete,
I still remember when you used to come back & whack furiously in the comments section.
Kinda miss that lah ....
written by Rozlan, February 25, 2009 21:49:05
So, the Sultan of Selangor has said something we like. So, he is a jolly good fellow. Tomorrow, he may say something we don’t like. He then becomes a bad fellow. And the same goes as far as the Sultan of Perak is concerned. When he swore in the Pakatan Rakyat state government soon after the 8 March 2008 general election, he was a great guy. Now he is a bad guy and should be dethroned. This is how we think.

DYMM Sultan of Perak is a Constitutional Monarch.So DYMM should act according to the law.The Constitution had clearly spelt out how to sack the MB.If he follow the Constitution I dont think Perak Constitutional crisis will occur..

written by johntyc, February 25, 2009 21:50:07
I'm not biased. There are more goodness in PR, that's why I like them. I hate BN because there are more badness and evil. If BN is good, yeah sure I'll like them, but the thing is BN never change.

If Elizabeth want to quit, let her. This is because Umno will use this issue to attack her, PKR and also PR if she remain in politics. (But I still see her as a good person, I hope she'll stay)

Thanks to HRH Sultan Selangor for the statement.

My apology to HRH Sultan Perak for my emotional being. All I want is a better Malaysia.
written by merlin2001, February 25, 2009 21:51:17
MT2day exists not for us to treat PRK and his articles as God Given Right. There are many occasions he is not that right. If he is wrong he does not expect you to kow tow to him. Tell him, explain and if your reasoning is logical he will accept.
That is why why he serves you bread half buttered and the other half plain. If you prove him wrong you get the buttered. But if he proves you wrong you get the plain or a nice kick in your ass.
As to why the MB of Selangor went to HRH THE Sultan of Selangor many of you do not still get it.
The Sultan is the Head and The Protector of Islam. The issue of Eli revolves around morality and this IS sensitive to all Muslims. The MB is very WISE to approach him to seek his advice. The answer he got was was just as wise.
The Other issue in Perak you know, I will not go into it.
written by biggun129, February 25, 2009 22:39:04
This RPK, I told you once, he have a pair of suspicious 'Tiger Look'eye, very unpredictable, its difficult to read his mind, very slippery, read carefully the contents of this article of his, if you dont understand, repeat until you find out what he means, it look simple, but very complicated, not easy, very uneasy, good luck, folks!!!
written by clarity, February 25, 2009 22:50:31
Right is right and wrong is wrong. I am sure all of us praise right actions and criticise wrong ones. The only trouble is when we criticise the opposition nothing happen to us but when we criticise the BN we may be arrested or put in ISA. Of all people, RPK you should know better.
written by Daryl, February 25, 2009 22:58:57
RPK
I think I agree that most of us here are pro-PR to certain extend. Just like BN supporters here you have the hardcore PR or DAP or PAS or PKR or DSAI or someone else, those who follow them because of idealogy, or just because they are tired of BN. Also, I believe that most people here are very pro PR but can you blame them after 51 years of being BS by the government in daylight plus stupid comments and excuses. At this moment I am going to call them honeymoon period and believe me if PR come to power and behave like BN these people here will most likely keep them narrow and straight. You may ask why.... because they did it the first time with BN ... as I am doing now.

As for the royalties and I admit I am one of them that call for Republic of Malaysia because I expect too much out of one of the most educated royalty in Malaysia. So, expectation is for him to make the right decision and if he was threaten is for him to stand up on his belief. I may be wrong on the threaten part but it is one of the conspiracy theory I have to go by because of the situation. As for Eli the case is totally wrong and I expect any politician or royalties with good advisors to come out with these type of comments.

That is my two cents why I think this is a great webssite for Malaysia's future.
written by Wak Din, February 25, 2009 23:02:00
-----"It is about supporting right when it is right and opposing wrong when it is wrong, never mind who the personalities may be."----
Yes this is a good statement to make and in line with this statement that Wak feel The Sultan of Perak has wronged the rakyat. And for the meaning of the above statement that Wak will say that the Sultan of Perak has "menzalimi Rakyat". This is what Wak feel. Not because The Sultan of Perak support BN but because what is right is right, what is wrong is wrong. The Sultan has all the resources and time to make a wise decission. He could take the time to investigate. As for The Sultan of Selangor, He is not hastily make the decission, He took his time and give a wise judgement.
written by slimbrowser, February 25, 2009 23:03:51
If Khairy Jamaluddin fights for freedom of the press, an end to the persecution of Bloggers, the abolishment of the Internal Security Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Press and Publication Act, Official Secrets Act, University and University Colleges Act, Official Secrets Act, and whatnot, would you support Khairy, notwithstanding the fact he may be the Umno Youth Leader?

Noble indeed. But if khairy ever said that he would not be with umno. He would be with the opposition or an independent with different ideals.

Umno's political structure is such that such ideals are not allowed. It is a raced based party. Once you have negativity in your ideals, noble ideals such that you mentioned can never flourish.
written by teo siew chin, February 25, 2009 23:09:55
This is the second article YM RPK have posted calling the PR people dumb-ass chickens who are no match to thieves and foxes.
So you whack the PR people for being stupid instead of corrupt.
hmm.
written by JaguhKampung, February 25, 2009 23:22:16
That proves we are not personal nor anti establishment nor blindly support any establishment. Sultan is human too, just like anybody be than in BN or Pakatan. When he does something we think it is right, we will cheer. If he does something we feel is not so right, we have to cheer also? We are merely expressing our dissappointments. We never say Sultan is bad. We hope Sultan will revisit his decision. With all due respect
written by biggun129, February 25, 2009 23:23:02
'A friend will turn enemy, and enemy will turn friend'there is no such thing as 'Ever lasting','He aint my enemy, he is my brother', 'He is my brother, he aint my enemy',you dont have to 'Worship' him to become his follower, he aint hero, he aint god, he is human being like all of us, having love, hate, forgiveness and revenge internally like all others human being, so, what's so big deal to be his friend, and sorrow to be his enemy, for one day, the 'Angel' may be 'Devil', and the 'Devil' may be 'Angel', all men are born equal, he remains our friend because we need him more than he need us!!!
written by delCapo, February 25, 2009 23:26:46
fair enuff.... we cut the Selangor Sultan some slack... he is, after all, got to be one of the more liberal one =]

Doesn't mean the Sultan of Perak did the right thing though... even if totally unbiased... something really stink in that whole Perak deal.

As for Khairy He is not & will never even be half full.... bloody empty can making noises... he can say all the right things but will never do them unless they benefit him first.... dun matter if other suffer for it.
written by smeagrooo, February 25, 2009 23:38:57
so Uncle Pete, u r saying HRH made the rite decision in Perak?

Ok, now i only know I am an idiot!
written by fromamovingtrain, February 25, 2009 23:47:50
Ahmadneil, the one thing you must never forget is that we are all his guests here in his house. Malaysia Today is his '********'. You, i, and the rest of us are here making comments courtesy of him. He can choose to shut down the comments section of MT and you and i will be reduced to just mere readers of this website, and mumbling away our comments in front of the monitors and to our unfortunate families. He towers over us in his own house. You want to tower over him and the others, go set up your own ******** like tun mahathir, anwar ibrahim, khir toyo, rembau man, kadir jasin or akmal fairuz. What's that? You don't think you'd get an audience as massive as RPK? My, My...tell you what, maybe you could try championing selflessly, passionately and actively for something that involves the nation's integrity, well being and betterment. Throw in amal makruf, nahi mungkar for good measure. Better still, do it at full throttle for 12-15 years, be visible, be vocal, chain yourself in front of bull dozers, fight the samsengs in the corridors of power, sting your eyes with some tear gas and acid water, get harrassed at home, in the car, at the office, at gatherings and have them take away your possesions and sometimes threaten your wife and daughters. Get bashed many times by the police, thrown into the slammer and sent to kamunting twice or thrice for a few months/years. THEN set up your ********, write sensible things (to discerning and intelligent people) prolifically day in, day out, taking all the bulls by their horns. Oh, using your real name when you set up your spot will go a long way too.

Only then can you say "So all in all we are the secondary and RPK is the primary jungle.He towers over us" with a mug of salt that was certainly in your hand.

a footnote for RPK and the admin:
I don't whine, whinge, and feel prejudiced here. When you take out/delete what i write, it is because you see it fit to do so. I'll continue to 'speak' my mind here, subject to the approval of the tuan rumah. Saya tak masuk rumah ni, duduk, makan, minum, kemudian ludah di dalamnya. One thing i don't do is to be kurang ajar in other people's homes.
written by tan_eng, February 25, 2009 23:54:32
Hi Guys.... Hi RPK.. :-)

Well, i would agree on the notion of being mature in terms of our thinking. I have commented in one of my earlier comments, the same thing.

Rationality is important. Right is always right even if BN brings it in. Thats why i don't support Pakatan Rakyat on their policy regarding reverting "Teaching Science and Maths in English" policy.

People get too emotional, so they lack to see the true picture.

I am with Ahmadneil on establishing a Republic Malaysia rather than the current constitutional monarch. Why ? The current system is open to abuse like what we saw in Perak. I think we are better off without the sultans.

See Ya,

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia.
written by jjireh99, February 25, 2009 23:55:14
i think you underestimated most of the MT readers and commentators. Whilst we respect and admire you for what you have gone through in the name of justice and compassion, it is not just mere words we are seeking for. As far as I am concerned, we are seeking for people with integrity, honesty, justice, compassion, impartiality, truthfullness and good morals. Not that we are all of these but just ask ourselves, do we really believe that the royals or any of the UMNO/BN fellas are any or at least one of the said characteristics mentioned? None, isn't it? So, that is all the rakyat is asking for!
written by apa jadi, February 25, 2009 23:57:33
As usual, RPK in one of his grumpy mood. But I agree with him. What we need is the ability to discern what's right and wrong, even with RPK.

As for Kera Jantan, I feel that he may rebrand himself as an FartingOx after he loses his contest for Deputyship. As for me, a leopard never shed his spots but only putting on a sheep's wool. But, some of us will one day sing "He is a jolly good fella" just he swamp his fart with cologne spray.
written by smeagrooo, February 25, 2009 23:59:31
HRH of Selangor was put in a predicament. D. SO better to play it safe. Let PR handle their own problems. Afterall, if the rakyat can live with Eli's "sins" (which to me is nothing that grave as compared to those who steal from the rakyat), then so be it. Similarly, if a BN candidate has blown someone up and yet can maintain his position, and the rakyat can accept that too, so be it. Let the ppl decide for themselves who are for them and who are against them.
written by shamadz72, February 26, 2009 00:00:46
While I agree with RPK's message in general, I have to disagree with him on his observation of the event happening in Perak. What has happened in Perak is that the Sultan has gone overboard by sacking the MB which clearly was against the state constitution. The Sultan can only appoint an MB from an elected assemblymen whom he believe can commands the majority in the assembly. Once the person has been chosen by the Sultan, he don't have the power to sack him, this is the beauty of our constitution which clearly mark the separation of power between monarchy and executive power so as to provide a check and balance and provide stability in our democracy system. I stand to be corrected if RPK can point to us where does it said in the Perak state constitution that the Sultan can sack the MB.

written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, February 26, 2009 00:05:21
now rakyat should stand together as one to protect Pakatan Rakyat!

Marilah bina Malaysia Baru!

http://gomalaysian.********.com/
written by renoir, February 26, 2009 01:33:53
If anyone still doubts the superb intelligence of Malaysians in general, let them come to this site. I used to read a lot of newspaper/periodical comments before blogs came into existence, and I can say that Malaysians are a match for any of the so-called First World chattering class. The refusal to be led by the nose is most obvious here, despite the presence of a small, pathetic minority (this exhibition of individuality is a slap to those pro-BN bums who like to claim that M-T readers are a bunch of cult followers). Malaysians have clearly taken this advice from the Buddha to heart: "Believe nothing, no matter WHERE you read it or WHO said it. Don't believe even what I say. But believe only when it accords with your own reason, experience, and common sense."

written by Farouk, February 26, 2009 04:39:31
Comment on RPK's lament:

http://www.peru.name/writing/?p=995
written by tumbledore, February 26, 2009 04:48:12
we are living in a different epoch. once upon a time the sultans or chieftains played a role in everyday life of the laypeople. they offered security and moral support in exchange for their indefinite loyalty. today we pay their bills so it would be kind of them to consider the plight of the general public. if they can't do that and on top of that aid and abbet corrupt leaders to exploit the impoverished populace; then, there is something wrong.
the Queen of England has to pay taxes and show account. not much but at least something. each and everyone has a certain role to play in the society. you get a reward for what you do for the society. you can't only take but you have to give too.

monarchy is a leftover from day before yesterday. today you have to be really smart to survive. the glorious days are over therefore we have to fight for survival.

you guys must be really living in Mars to be fighting over Perak and Selangor, the sultan and mayor, Eli and Khalid. you should be fighting to jumpstart the economy. if not you're going to get ?? in the end. the royals and 'administrators' would be having a last drink on you and laughing away at your gullibility. you've yourself to blame. time out - ladies and gentlemen ' malaysia is lost! the point is to screw them before they screw you!
I beg your pardon humbly for my profanity; but after reading that of Pete, I say why not me too!!
good night to you or good morning!

one of my favourite book is 'A Town Like Alice' by Nevil Shute
were'nt they wonderful days!!??
written by letsbefair, February 26, 2009 07:50:10
True. Many of us are against BN and UMNO in particular because they control everything.
MACC, police, army, judiciary, multi media, EC, those multi billion Ringgit companies... everything! And they use these against those who challenge their authority.

That is why anything BN does is deem as wrong! Sad!
Even if Khairy will to declare freedom of the press, an end to the persecution of Bloggers, the abolishment of the Internal Security Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Press and Publication Act, Official Secrets Act, University and University Colleges Act, Official Secrets Act, and whatnot, many will view it as "he had some hidden agenda".

The other is PAS. But I do understand why PAS have such a hardline stand on Islamic matters. Their party stands for Islam and they will be finish off if they now state their stand on the contrary. They will disappear!! That is why they must not take control of parliament but just enough seats to make up the number.
written by Tompios, February 26, 2009 08:00:48
RPK, most of the time, I really love to read your articles. But, out of hundreds or may be thousands articles that you or someone else have posted it in M-T.N, this is the third among thousands articles that really make me sick, ill-feel, and stomachache!!. I don't like to read it at all. Yes, you may say, "Why don't you poke your eyes and leave my articles alone" but the fact is, you are generalizing all your readers in one line-canonization. Indirectly, for me, it means that you want to educate your readers by screening and insulting them for not touching any Sultans' sensitivities and moral ideologies. Yes, the Sultans and their descendants have special place in the eyes of Rakyats! But, the real king is, the person inside your heart!! Our dignity and empathy are the truest kingship that govern our inner-self! Tengku BN Bin Raja UMNO for 52 years failed to see Malaysians as whole as the royal Bangsa Malaysia. So, don't try to fill my emptiness by insulting me with this articles.
written by Tompios, February 26, 2009 08:29:40
MT needs people to be called Malaysia-Today.Net! I don't feel that I am a guest in this '********'! I don't care if Super-Admin degrading my status as visitor and not entitled to give any comment or to view this resource. What I mean it, RPK needs people and people need RPK as well. If Admin accepts me as one of the registered member in MT means I have my right to say agree and not agree with any article that contradict with my dignity. It was not about guest of RPK.
written by anon, February 26, 2009 08:57:20
Strange, I thought we were doing just that - oppose wrongdoing ( whoever is behind it ) and support the good - and the person - whoever it may be.

Cheers.
written by joseph81, February 26, 2009 08:57:25
No, most of us don't behave like what you mentioned above, in the Perak case, the Sultan was biased as claimed by some and after reading the recent report I do agree with them. In times like this when the politician are playing extremely dirty, don't you think someone who is respectable and royal should come out and say a few fair words to stop all this nonsence ?

Yes I do get angry when the villian get away with crime !
written by pinsysu, February 26, 2009 09:44:16
roger, less emotional and more clarity of thinking.
written by Newkidonblog, February 26, 2009 10:40:59
The Sultan is merely doing sensible things in desperate times, unlike Umno shit head which does desperate things in desperate time!

A ruler who cares for his people deserves to be on the throne! A ruler who group together with the bandits, deserves nothing!
written by FuLinYu, February 26, 2009 11:15:48
As for PAS, I must say as a party, it is consistent to their vision & purposes - but much less can be said of individuals within the party.) Can we have ideas to prevent betrayal? These are hurts, Band-aid won't help - which we will have to carry for the next 5 years. Sudah kena beberapa kali with promises from BN candidates, now 3 from PR. How?
written by Running Sardines, February 26, 2009 11:26:23
Dear YM PRK

What you write is absolutely true ... we should support only the truth, nothing but the truth ... then only we will see positice changes ... but alas, I fear that our politicians and YBs are not able to do this ... blind loyalty to party first ... so even if one good idea is from the opposition, it will be shot down ... for example, the request by Lim Kit Siang to form a Royal Commission to look into the issue of ICs owned by foreigners in Sabah, BeEnd people said no need for the opposition to do so as them BeEnd have their own method ... Amd to add salt into the injury, someone in the Prime Minister Department have the cow sense to say that the PTIs are not a problem/issue in Sabah ...
written by anon, February 26, 2009 11:56:18
Comment on RPK's grouse -
www.anonpartisan.********.com
written by cruzeiro, February 26, 2009 11:58:29
Here's to you, besides the "For He's A Jolly Good Fellow":

"Under Pressure"

Pressure pushing down on me
Pressing down on you no man ask for
Under pressure - that burns a building down
Splits a family in two
Puts people on streets
....- that's o.k.
It's the terror of knowing
What this world is about
Watching some good friends
Screaming 'Let me out'
Pray tomorrow - gets me higher
Pressure on people - people on streets
O.k.
Chippin' around - kick my brains around the floor
These are the days it never rains but it pours

People on streets - ....
It's the terror of knowing
What this world is about
Watching some good friends
Screaming 'Let me out'
Pray tomorrow - gets me higher high high
Pressure on people - people on streets
Turned away from it all like a blind man
Sat on a fence but it don't work
Keep coming up with love
but it's so slashed and torn
Why - why - why ?
Love love love love love
Insanity laughs under pressure we're cracking
Can't we give ourselves one more chance
Why can't we give love that one more chance
Why can't we give love give love give love give love
give love give love give love give love give love
'Cause love's such an old fashioned word
And love dares you to care for
The people on the edge of the night
And loves dares you to change our way of
Caring about ourselves
This is our last dance
This is ourselves
Under pressure
Pressure

written by amoker, February 26, 2009 12:04:13
ONe day, we would loose hopes on all leaders and out rulers by the rate we are going.
written by East Highlander, February 26, 2009 14:10:19
What's there to cheer about. That the royals remain impartial is what is always expected.
written by A MI, February 26, 2009 15:34:46
Read this in MSM
He said he was sad that the private life and rights of people were being made public and subject to public scrutiny via the mass media.

well the parties responsible should be rebuked!
License for the daily that carried the story and pictures should be suspended!
written by rpremkumar2u, February 26, 2009 17:23:02
I have observed that there is a tendency to re-invent the wheel here. Pete's form has function. Maybe its time to read here and elsewhere andread in between the lines. I somehow believe that since we have come onboard MT, we should observe some housekeeping rules. As in the case of the comparison of the blueblood from the 2 states, there is a need to understand the peculiar role that the monarch plays given the constitutional perimeters. It doesnt require one to be fully cognizant of the Constitution; suffice to put on a thinking cap and observe the aftermath of the Sultan of Perak's act. The passionate one was the Menteri Besar who mohon derhaka. YAB Nizar actually 'mohon'. Prior to Nah!Cheap banging away the nails of the PR coffin, Nizar came across AAB. This is what I mean by the right to 'mohon' derhaka. I doubt sincerely and thoughtfully, that I am anywhere near Pete's category of the size of balls. I ama guest at MT because I chose to participate and learn. There are a few housekeeping rules by Pete and I am inclined to not 'trespass'. He has deep throats all over the place. It takes passion to get a rendezvous with these deep necks as far as my past experience goes. I remember when in paticular I wrote in MT in wanting to go on fast, one alarmed reader told me not to go overboard and to fend for my wife and kids. I dont know honestly what the hoo haa was all about. I reckoned if Pete had been sent back to Kamunting Villa, he'd have abstained from 'food' offered thereat; I merely wanted to abstain from solid food during certain periods of the day and break fast at the same time he would. I reckoned I could at least learn the strength that one garnered by doing what a man of balls did. He wouldnt have died and neither would I. The only thing that would have died is our former self. Isn't this what it is all about? The only person we can be better than is our former self. I am here to learn. I stand corrected. 2 wrongs never made a right.
written by best4rakyat, February 26, 2009 18:49:20
smilies/cool.gifI totally bound down to agree when Sultan Selangor reacted correctly this way.
In fact, it's rakyat's attitude and all different conducts, abuse by devilish group.
Why should our Sultan tug his head into all these nonsense! So the Sultan is sharp and right in judgement here.
"Either you are a leader to lead or just be a follower to follow"
Not many have a good judgement and unique wisdom to do so.

Daulat Tuanku, syabas to Selangor as whole!
A good example where opportunist has no place at all.
written by A MI, February 26, 2009 20:43:44
so, since it would be deemed wrong only of one is Catholic, Muslim or Jew, how come the BF who is presumbaly Malay has not been hauled in for khalwat?
written by rajafarouk, February 26, 2009 22:55:33
HRH Sultan Selangor,

RPK the true Cik Hasnah clan at work for upholding the Kedaulatan Selangor .

Daulat Tuanku, Daulat Tuanku, Daulat Tuanku.
written by wildbil, February 27, 2009 01:27:31
What is the similar case for Anwar and Eli case involved with their supporting staff?

These two cases look very similar and have the same "smell" of it. Both two men are young and nice looking. I will bet my last penny that both men are planted by the "evil" political party to smear the PR.

I am sure more of these "trouble makers" are still hiding among the PR offices.