A question of etiquette PDF Print
Monday, 23 February 2009 22:57

I was in the Federal Court this morning with Malik Imtiaz for the hearing of Raja Petra’s application to review four decisions of the Federal Court last week.

The review application stemmed out from what we, the Counsel for Raja Petra, deemed as the “coram failure” of the Federal Court which sat to hear 4 motions filed by us last week.

Briefly what happened last week was as follows. When we were told that Justice Augustine Paul was sitting, we filed recusal application. When the appeal was called, Justice Paul, correctly in our view, said that he should not hear the recusal application as he had wanted everything that needed to be said be said without fear. He had also expressed that he wanted justice to not only be done but also be seen to be done. That was gracious of him, I think. He said that at the outset.

The motion then was called and he excused himself. The 2 remaining Judges decided to continue. Imtiaz pointed out that under the Court of Judicature Act, the Federal Court must have 3 Judges. Justice Nik Hashim invoked section 78 which says that if a Judge is unable to continue hearing a matter, the other 2 may continue.

And so they continued. We told the remaining Judges that our stand is that the sitting is unconstitutional. The Court then heard argument and dismissed the recusal. 3 other motions were also dismissed later when Justice Paul rejoined the Coram. Against that we filed a review, which came up for hearing today.

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by karyeowl, February 23, 2009 23:02:53
Justice Paul, his name sounded so close to Justice Pao, but unfortunately, they are world apart! Kisah benar of Malaysia Boleh!
written by SocratesI, February 23, 2009 23:18:06

Augustine Paul is an old fox, and very accomplished at playing wayang kulit and sandiwara. Let us not be taken in. I hope the Judges will find RPK not guilty and his appeal allowed or else I shall place a deadly curse and whammy on the Judges who dare to convict RPK, for it is not only the man they are convicting, but Justice, Fairness, Rule of Law, Decency, and Free Speech !

I hope the Judges are reading this and take heed for Eternal Damnation is your soul's if you do the wrong thing !!

written by Captain, February 23, 2009 23:30:48
The umno & their running dogs have lost their command of the english language, hence running to their former masters, the british to learn some queen's english & shopping for some queen's counsel.
written by flyer168, February 24, 2009 05:17:14

Former Lord President Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim repeatedly insisted in his foundational written texts that in Malaysia,

“the constitution and nothing but the constitution is “the supreme law of the land”.

“Malaysia cannot afford to see constitutional principles imperilled, and constitutional processes jeopardised — not even out of an understandable impatience, or a conscientious determination, to see the urgent political and practical problems of the day speedily resolved.”

Things are brewing HOT in Perak & UMNO/BN is still in “Denial” even at this 11th hour of our nation’s “Political & Financial tsunami” - Democracy vs Gutter Politics & Rule of Law vs Law of the Jungle!