Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Leslie Lau Bends Over Backwards For Khairy Jamaluddin

Leslie Lau Bends Over Backwards For Khairy Jamaluddin PDF Print
Monday, 23 February 2009 10:06

All of us who professionally use the mass media are the shapers of society. We can vulgarize that society. We can brutalize it. Or we can help lift it onto a higher level.-William Bernbach, of DDB Needham Worldwide, 1989.

I refer to Leslie Lau’s recent piece entitled- “Was this the future of Umno?” (The Malaysian Insider, 18th February 2009).

The Malaysian Insider has once again displayed its pro-Abdullah Badawi position and confirmed what Malaysians have known all along-that this online news portal is but a spin medium for the powers that be or was. The writer of the piece gave Malaysians a taste of “local journalism” and reporting skills when he took the opportunity to make personal attacks and cast negative aspersions against Mukhriz Mahathir.

The writer displayed his impartiality and contempt for journalistic etiquette for all to see when he lauded Khairy as the most “palatable” candidate while biasing everyone against Khir Toyo and Mukhriz. The writer even goes so far as to transgress standards of common civility and fair comment by substituting abusive remarks against Mukhriz such as;-

•    “Mukhriz appeared to be way out of his league during the debate, and looked like he did not really want to be there”.  

•    “From his responses — that he was very proud of his father — it was clear that what he was trying to offer Malaysians nostalgic for his father's strong leadership a return to Mahathirism”.

•    “Compared to Dr Khir's conservative bordering on extremist views, Khairy's message was probably the most palatable of the three candidates (Mukhriz was almost not there)”.

The writer’s abusive description of events to put a spin in favour of Khairy needn’t be at the expense of maliciously ridiculing Mukhriz Mahathir. As a consultant editor that’s eager to please-the writer would surely know that by now. Perhaps the writer should have done some research on the reaction on the ground towards the candidates’ performance unless of course the writer was projecting his own view- that a great number of viewers felt that Mukhriz appeared down-to-earth, unpretentious and responded in the straightforward manner sans rhetoric of which he is popular for. Mukhriz’s response that he was proud of his father meant just that. Why the writer had to put words in his mouth and imply anything else smacks of spin to undermine Mukhriz’s good standing. The writer’s ill-intent is clear.

Mukhriz articulated his ideas and opinions on a number of issues of pertinence such as the Internal Security Act (ISA), the National Economic Policy (NEP), the need to reform Umno, vernacular schools etc; which was widely reported in the local broadsheets and blogs. Mukhriz was definitely “there” but perhaps it was the writer’s focus or lack of that was missing.

The writer may find it useful to know that with the Rakyat and on the ground, Mukhriz is fondly known and accepted as an approachable, wise and level-headed grassroots leader. In case, the writer is confused, doesn’t understand or is just ignorant of the sentiment among the grassroots Umno members and Malaysian citizenry, this bit of information is intended to bring him up to speed.

In the end, Mukhriz sums it up succinctly when he said that his campaign is based on the thirst for integrity in Malaysian politics. If anyone deserves our support, it is a leader that banks his political career on his integrity. Substance wins over rhetoric anytime.  

The writer is begging the question when he roots for Khairy. Even after all the damage Khairy has done to this nation especially with regards to race relations. Really?

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob  

written by batsman, February 23, 2009 10:16:38
What is said and what is done are 2 different things. Don't over analyse. What is promised can be taken back. Looks at people's record of actions and character not words.
written by krising1, February 23, 2009 10:23:11
Imran, Leslie is entitled to his views as you are to yours. I did not see any abuse as claimed by you. If you mean buttering up like you are trying to do now in the case of Mukriz, I agree he only buttered up Khairy and not the two others. In any case, let me tell you that I agree that Khairy is the lesser of the 3 evils.
disagree 19
written by SCM, February 23, 2009 10:23:20
Imran,

I too may write favourable things about this Kerbau from Rembau if the "price is right". Money (loads of it) changes a person. Let's face it. All 3 candidates are racist corrupt pigs, so whicever one becomes UMNO Youth leader doesn't change anything in Malaysia. It's be the same sewer style politics they will follow. Only difference is, Leslie's bank account just got more impressive.
written by DreamLady, February 23, 2009 10:35:55
I have no high regards for Khairy, his every single speech made that comes out from the mouth is not worth anybody's grain of salt to listen to, cos'he frequently spills venom and filth from it!!!

In short, he is the first class scumbag!!!
written by lobster, February 23, 2009 10:49:00
You know what I see, Imran?

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob Bends Over Backwards For Mukhriz Mahathir.

The pot calling the kettle black, tsk tsk...
written by borneoman, February 23, 2009 11:00:14
imran,
if you are impartial yourself,there is no reason for you to be agitated by what leslie wrote.let those umno robbers quarrel among themselves over the depleting national resources because they are all scumbags!
written by yeechut, February 23, 2009 11:19:10
Everybody has a point of view - some are more matured, some are more narrow minded. Everybody is entitled to express his/her point of view - and get the appreciation and criticisms he/she deserved.

So what is your problem Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob?
written by Celestial, February 23, 2009 11:21:44
If I had a choice, I wouldn't give the steam off my pee for any of them. However, given that it is a choice of three clowns to head UMNO Youth, like Leslie, I would favour Khairy. Why one may ask?

1. Mukhriz Mahathir is riding on his father's goodwill, whatever is left of it but is the least impressive of the three
2. Khir Toyol is the better of the other 2 politicians but the most ruthless and evil. His bigotry and racism do not need any more help that the position would legitimise.
3. Khairy is by far the most intellectual of the three and have been known to sprout some moderation but then he is also a politician.

There are many more reasons but I don't feel like wasting any more efforts on these 3 clowns and scumbags. Like I say, I wouldn't give the steam off my pee for any of the three candidates if there was a choice, but then UMNO is bankrupt of ideas and candidates of quality. The only one left is Tenku Razaleigh and what do they do to him? Sideline him to obscurity. History will remember him as being the best Prime Minister Malaysia never had.
written by Hakim Joe, February 23, 2009 11:23:01
Who cares what Larry, Moe and Curly is yabbing about anyway....

written by *********, February 23, 2009 11:34:11
As far as The Scribe is concerned, there are no good souls left in Umno. The last good soul to leave this cesspool was Datuk Zaid Ibrahim. Evil is evil and that's Umno for you...More http://*********.********.com
written by joeawk, February 23, 2009 11:34:18
Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob,

What is the difference between you and Leslie? Leslie stroke KJ's ass and here you do the same to Mukhriz.

I loathe all 3 of them but like krising1, I find KJ the lesser evil of the 3.
written by SocratesI, February 23, 2009 11:44:14

All 3 Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization racist, plundering imbeciles are birds of a feather, so what is there to choose amongst them ??!! All rogues trying to get more power to rake in more of the Rakyat's money, & resources for themselves and their cronies. Of course Leslie Lau is probably to KJ what Sai-Fool is to Najis Rosak, a complete and avid @rse-licker !!

written by Oscar Winner, February 23, 2009 11:58:15
This Leslie will even bend forward and allow the Kera to do a doggy-style. That reminds me of the late Leslie Cheung of Hong Kong.
written by Arubin, February 23, 2009 12:00:36
Why are you surprised by this, Imran? Have you already forgotten that Khairy has a hand behind the Malaysian Insider? It might throw up a few minor criticisms of Badawi and Khairy every now and than just to maintain the illusionsof journalistic independence, but we all know which side its bread is buttered on.

Personally, I prefer to read The Nut Graph.
written by cheekhiaw, February 23, 2009 12:36:18
Lying mule versus lying ass...

written by carribeanking7, February 23, 2009 13:10:57
Who cares about an incentuous inter UMNO debate for youth,
why not pit the 3 of them against Hannah yeoh , yusmadi yusoff, Ronnie Liu---then we can really see how inferior they are.
Tiga-tiga pun haprak.
written by chanakyan, February 23, 2009 13:37:30
ooi Imran, i have read your letters in MT and found one thing that you only write to support TDM & his son & at same time demonising Khairy.. But, let me tell you, what ever it is, if "Leslie Lau Bends Over Backwards For Khairy Jamaluddin" then " Imran Imtiaz Shay Yakob Bends Forward For TDM & his son"..
Sorry! TDM was a great man in terms of Malaysian Economy and Progress even though he screwed up Human Rights. But his Son is no where near it.. If you ask me to choose between Krismudin, Khairy & Mukhriz.. I would say KJ will be my choice.. because Krismudin is waste and will spoil the country, Mukhriz got no calibre (will be another AAB after TDM's demise). KJ is better even though he talks crap sometimes.. This dosent mean that i support KJ.. I dont want anyone of them to run the country with their present mindsets.. Lets have PR for a change..
written by East Highlander, February 23, 2009 14:22:08
i dont give a rat's ass who bends over for mukhriz, khir or khairy. not relevant.
written by cruzeiro, February 23, 2009 14:23:31
Leslie Lau Imran Imtiaz Bends Over Backwards Forward Smiling For Khairy Jamaluddin Mahathir
written by densemy, February 23, 2009 14:30:36
WHOOPS!!!! Maybe Mr Imran should check his articles before committing them to print

The writer displayed his impartiality and contempt for journalistic etiquette for all to see when he lauded Khairy as the most “palatable” candidate while biasing everyone against Khir Toyo and Mukhriz
written by mypanida, February 23, 2009 14:40:30
Don't like the 3 Stooges and I don't like this writer too because you are 2x5 satu lobang.
written by exzonerator, February 23, 2009 20:40:38
Feel sorry for all three.
written by Joe, February 23, 2009 22:54:50
Well En Imran, I understand that over the years you may have ruffled a lot of feathers.. but for you to support Mahthir the Second, well I wager you really trampled on some expensive and not to mention dangerous toes to seek out such protection.

Either way, I hate Khairy, and any enemy of Khairy, will be spared my attack.

written by ATSaari, February 24, 2009 00:32:09
Yeah....the other one is that Baradan Kupu-Kupu.
All stooges of Garbage Journalism.