Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow One Opposition of One Discipline

One Opposition of One Discipline PDF Print
Monday, 23 February 2009 02:56

Almost a year after the 12th GE, there appears to be no move from the opposition parties to cement and formalize their relationship. It is as if they are satisfied with the gains of the 12th GE and have no more ambition to strengthen their ranks and vie for power in the 13th GE.

In the meantime, BN is trying all sorts of dirty tricks and attacks against the opposition held seats and states under its control. Faced with increasing attacks there is no move to close ranks and strengthen organization and discipline. Instead there is only fire-fighting and defence of the too easily won seats.

The rakyat gave the opposition these seats to their own surprise, but the opposition does not respect this gift by taking a serious attitude towards becoming a serious opposition with a view to seize the reins of power during the next GE. Instead it looks as if it is satisfied with becoming a 3 party opposition with informal agreements. This is as good as saying they are satisfied with becoming a permanent opposition.

It is high time to respond to the trust and hope that the rakyat place upon the opposition by cementing their relationship in a formal way and endorsing a single discipline as well as master plan.

The least that can be done is to form shadow cabinets not only for the nation but for states which are still under the BN. This way, there will be a single discipline and a single opposition that faces the BN – not 3 opposition parties. All opposition members must respect the leadership and discipline of the shadow CMs as well as shadow PM.

This way, the rakyat can see that the opposition is serious and may be trusted to stand together in the face of dirty tricks and immoral attacks. The rakyat do not have to worry whether the opposition can stay together and appoint cabinet ministers and important posts without quarrelling and breaking apart.

The political situation demands that this be done, not I, but if you do not do this, I for one will say that you are not serious politicians.

By batsman

written by steve, February 23, 2009 03:54:44
Talking as someone removed from local politics, I can only that not much will change until we improve the quality of the various elected representatives. It would appear that all who get on the bandwagon are there because they think it licenses them to print money. It is this mindset that needs to change. I do not see it changing anytime soon. However on the other side of the equation, I also see that the BN is hemorrhaging voter support. Their dirty tactics and the use of the police to carry out extra judicial killings, will eventually deny them all the support of the indian community. I seem to sense that the mood of the electorate is that BN needs to be dumped - forever.
written by OilMan, February 23, 2009 05:34:57
Being a fragile coalition of opposition parties, I find it strange that some leaders opt to go to the press to voice their displeasure towards other opposition party members. All these bickering has somehow indicate that all is not well or perfect in PR. This has increased BN confidence level in toppling and manipulating PR.

For PR to be effective, right now is the time to debate about our economy, job security, rakyat security, etc... and nnot fight over petty issues in parliament.
written by borneoman, February 23, 2009 07:55:07
batsman,
i share your dream of a united opposition fronts but i dont think we can have a superficial one too.what they are doing right now is slowly but surely bridging the gaps in their political differences.we dont want every body to be mr yes to everything that everyone has to sayjust for the sake of unity.lets be patient and have a real solid opposition who will be the government of the day come next GE.
written by loosecannon, February 23, 2009 08:09:31
Agree with you there. Now more than ever the opposition PR must show unity and speak with one voice and on a common political platform. Some senior leaders seem to go off tangent at times. Anwar is spending a lot of time fighting small fires which is not right. Don't play into the BN hands.
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, February 23, 2009 08:14:13
if PR still not stand as one...
i think they have the probability to lose this coming election...

Bukit gantang and bukit selambau...

http://gomalaysian.********.com/
written by JC Tan, February 23, 2009 09:14:30
I wonder if we have any leader in PR brave enough to suggest dissolution of DAP, PKR and PAS to form a unified party.
written by batsman, February 23, 2009 09:35:22
TQ for yr comments, guys. The situation changes daily. UMNO is no longer the same UMNO as pre-12th GE. In its desperation, it has corrupted even more people, bought off those on the margins and tried to strengthen itself by taking desperate measures. As a result it is even more arrogant than ever before. More and more scoundrels in the civil service push it to new heights of arrogance and blindness to decency by misusing and abusing the power entrusted to them by the people.

The opposition must change as well. It must show that it can meet the hopes and dreams of the people for a decent and efficient Malaysian administration free of the worst abuses and corruption. It must show that it can compromise with each other in the same way that it asks the people to compromise with each other and respect each other. There is no need to give up the basic platforms of each party, but realise that these platforms cannot be pushed through using force and bully tactics that BN is famous for. It can only be realised through mutual respect and patient education.
written by temenggong, February 23, 2009 09:35:37
I don't think it is necessary to have an opposition any more formal than it is now. They already have a common agenda, and sufficient flexibility to allow each party to operate with some lassitude. A more formal relationship like BN will only weaken each individual unit.
written by Democrats, February 23, 2009 09:40:48
I think a PAKATAN is an entity itself is ok, with the three coalitions. Integrating the three parties together as one would be problematic given the different idealogy these party have. Problem is not so much the structure of PR but the candidates and the reps. Talk all you want but act accordingly. They must be mature enough to agree to disagree. They should be principled enough to state their point and argue with conviction their stance.

A three party coalition is weak against the enemy but is beneficial to the rakyat.
written by CitizenBodohland, February 23, 2009 10:21:53
Dulu gua bagitau itu Barisan Alternatif bukanlah satu alternatif kepada rakyat. They are not an alternative or just another choice for rakyat to choose from. THEY ARE THE RAKYAT! Yang sedihnya, ramai yang mudah lupa.

Lupa tanggungjawab kepada rakyat dan lupa bahawa mereka adalah rakyat juga. Now, tell me who looks after our much polarised education system? Biro Sistem Pendidikan PAS? Biro Pendidikan DAP? Biro Pendidikan PKR? atau Biro Pendidikan Pakatan Rakyat? ada ker?....???

Who looks after our much troubled public transport system? Biro Pengangkutan Pakatan Rakyat? ada ker?

Who looks after the poors at national level? Biro Kebajikan PAS? Biro Kebajikan PKR? Biro Kebajikan DAP? atau Biro Kebajikan Pakatan Rakyat? ... again..ada ker?

Shadow Cabinet still non existence. Is it because of someone mau mintak lebih or someone tak puas hati because he got less?

JC Tan is right! Either unite or become another clone of Barisan Neraka.

Sometimes a two-party system may not be suitable for Bodohland after all. We are not United States. What if we ended up choosing between two devils? Rakyat still loose. A third party will always serve as a good check and balance.

Barisan Rakyat anyone? No prize for guessing on who will be the president.
written by carribeanking7, February 23, 2009 15:18:41
Yes , agree batsman,

I have said before that pakatan Rakyat needs to study each of the component party constitution and come up with a cohesive unified pkatan constitution, but when drafting it we must be careful to give the component parties autonomy.
one clause they shouldnt allow for example , like in the BN constitution is for all components to agree before admitting a new party, this prevents new alliances being formed, as we know Dr.M wanted to allow IPF into barisan, more recently Tengku Adnan, both were blocked by Samy Velu citing the BN constitution, its a "blackball system" it aonly takes a veto of one party, its not even put to vote.
these aspects need careful study.
written by jeya, February 24, 2009 06:16:35
Malaysia/Malaya was NOT a united country for eons of years.
Yet, in 1957, a Federation was formed and thus Malaya/Malaysia.
Each state is guaranteed individuality
Yet the "Final Authority" is with the Federal/Parliament.
Why is it no member of the Opposition has even thought of this?
Why is it that we have not had THE FEDERATION OF PAKATA'AN RAKYAAT?
Its such a simple solution smilies/cheesy.gif