Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Umno seeks QC help to break Perak deadlock

Umno seeks QC help to break Perak deadlock PDF Print
Sunday, 22 February 2009 19:43

The lawyer is said to have left for London yesterday to meet with an unnamed QC even as the question over the legitimacy of the current MB Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir is already before the courts here.

By Leslie Lau
Consultant Editor, The Malaysian Insider

An Umno lawyer is understood to have been instructed by the Barisan Nasional (BN) party to seek advice from a Queen’s Counsel in London in an effort to break the constitutional impasse in Perak.

The lawyer is said to have left for London yesterday to meet with an unnamed QC even as the question over the legitimacy of the current MB Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir is already before the courts here.

British lawyers are occasionally instructed in courts here but only when the expertise is not available locally.

It is not clear if Umno will want to have a QC represent them in court in the lawsuit filed by Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin, who maintains he remains the Perak mentri besar.

Since the 1980s QCs have rarely been granted approval to appear before Malaysian courts although clients are free to seek their advice.

In 2006, Cherie Blair, the wife of Tony Blair and a prominent QC, was denied her day in Malaysian court when the Federal Court dismissed her application to appear on behalf of Fawziah Holdings in a dispute with Metramac over a tolled highway contract.

But the Perak case is now in what is clearly uncharted constitutional territory.

Earlier this month, Sultan Azlan Shah denied a request from Nizar, who was still recognised as the Pakatan Rakyat MB then, to dissolve the Perak state legislature after a series of defections from PR parties to the BN.

While constitutionally the ruler is given the discretion to reject such a request, it is widely accepted convention that such requests to dissolve governments are rarely, if ever, rejected because Malaysia has a constitutional monarchy.

The Perak state constitution, which is subject to provisions in the federal constitution, does not give the ruler any power to dismiss an MB.

While some lawyers here have argued that the Interpretation Act, which states that the power to appoint implies a power to dismiss, gives the ruler the power to dismiss Nizar, it has also been noted that that provision does not apply to constitutional matters.

Furthermore, it has been noted that while the Sultan is given a discretion in the appointment of an MB by the state constitution, the MB does not hold office at the pleasure of the ruler. Only state executive councillors hold office at the pleasure of the ruler.

The fact that the MB does not hold office at the pleasure of the ruler is provided for in the state constitution, and will likely be cited as a legal point by Nizar’s lawyers, who will also contend that the only way for him to be dismissed is through a vote of no-confidence in the state legislature.

An MB, under the constitution, can only be removed from his position if he resigns or if a vote of no confidence is carried in the state legislature.

Nizar’s refusal to resign, despite being asked to do so by the Sultan, is at the heart of the constitutional conundrum.

Last week, Perak state Speaker V Sivakumar’s decision to suspend Zambry and his entire executive council from the assembly proceedings for between 12 and 18 months has also added to the growing list of constitutional issues.

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by batsman, February 22, 2009 19:48:30
Running back to the old colonial power! I thought UMNO claims to be anti-colonialist fighter of the bravest order. Turns out it is chicken shit puppet and torturer extraordinaire with ISA credentials.
agree 267
written by OVERLORD, February 22, 2009 19:49:19
Since the ISA derives from our imperial masters,heck, why not just revert back to our former motherland rule while we are at it???I would agree since our judiciary system is unrealiable... Another waste of precious tax payer's money....Stupid idiots...
agree 191
written by educationist, February 22, 2009 19:52:42
Hmm.. very interesting move!
It's not the QC that's important in Malaysia.
It's the judge hearing the case!
agree 163
written by batsman, February 22, 2009 19:53:55
Malaysian judges and lawyers working for UMNO have no more credibility. That is why they have to use a lily white QC. This is the only way to get any credibility.
agree 132
written by batsman, February 22, 2009 19:55:11
Any QC willing to work for UMNO must be an expensive high class prostitute.
agree 132
written by raven1958, February 22, 2009 19:56:49
Cant really blame them...they are stuck with all the dungu monkeys dropping out of ITM, UIA, etc while the rest of the good lawyers are all firmly in Pakatan's camp......have to go outside for help laaaa.....wonder why London though....Singapore pun cukup maa. Maybe can ask Jeyaratnam and Lee Kuan Yew to bail them out.....
written by shamadz72, February 22, 2009 19:57:09
Looks like UMNO is looking for Perjanjian Pangkor 2

written by ireneyow, February 22, 2009 20:09:43
Can QC twist and change existing Perak Constitution. QC speak and write the same english as we do. What is the difference between QC reading and our local lawyers reading the Perak Constitution. SAMA JUGA.....
agree 118
written by Fuminari, February 22, 2009 20:13:02
hoh!hoh!hoh!British interference again???
mana semua lauyar lauyar umno yg memang 'boleh'???
beware,this is jus another piece of umno be end hoodwink sh.it!
do not believe??jus wait n see what stuff they are bringing back from uk.
written by jonath66my, February 22, 2009 20:13:02
So what does it say of hypocrisy and double standard.
Isn't this crawling to good ole London to seek QE's council tantamount to 'derhaka' treason & disrespect to the Ruler. They believed the Ruler's decree is legal..huh now? see 'Zamry's Derhaka to Ruler-Away we go to the Queen..' www.jonathan66-my.********.com
written by tuanlokong, February 22, 2009 20:14:45
They reject the QC now is in need of them smilies/grin.gif muskil nih...
written by KC Chin, February 22, 2009 20:15:48
I thought I am stupid. BN are even more stupid than me. In term of law. At least I know what is wrong with me.
written by bknight, February 22, 2009 20:17:03
typical! i was thinking of the Cherrie Blair case when i read the article..and i got this funny feeling that if they decided to seek a QC's representation in this case. it will be approved with eyes close. this is what i think everyone call "cakap tak serupa bikin, bikin tak serupa cakap"! sigh..cartoons

written by boblskee, February 22, 2009 20:17:48
I think its fair game to seek counsel from a QC. My main question is who's paying for it?
written by OVERLORD, February 22, 2009 20:19:52
Alamak...kesiannya...BN bypassed the "Perak Pembaris"??? I thought he was well read??..
written by ibabonma, February 22, 2009 20:21:58
Nizar and PR interpretation of the law was right after all, otherwise why stupid UMNO is looking for loopholes in London?
written by ChanRaj, February 22, 2009 20:22:44
Hahaha! Shift the goal post again as they deem fit. What an embarrassment? They cant help you….what UMNO did in Perak is illegal and the Sultan sold out his people. Its as plain as that. The only way out is to dissolve the state assembly and call for state elections. Let the people decide…but you people already know the outcome of that don’t you?
written by FFT, February 22, 2009 20:22:57
Of course, when you breed and raise monkeys at UM, UiTM, USM, UPM, etc, etc, there is no surprise that you will have to run back to professionals from civilized societies to clean up after you UMNO apes are done flinging poo all around.

Not that Malaysia doesn't have good lawyers, but most of them are not on UMNO's side. One notable law graduate associated with UMNO is that keris-wielding neutered alpha chimp, Hishamuddin Hussein. Another notable lawyer is one who discusses his client's case with Najib Razak, trying to arrange for a "tentative" charge.
written by bknight, February 22, 2009 20:23:02
dear ireneyow...
ada sikit lain ooo, sebab itu loyar loyar umno bukannya tau berbahas dengan adil, jadi dia orang kena cari loyar yang boleh slang itu peguam peguam PKR looo....sebab kali ini dia orang kena kantoi sama itu proses perlembagaan, tak tau mane mau bahas..jadi dia caring QC sebab QC punya england manyak kuat oooo...

itulah! cakap tak serupa bikin, bikin tak serupa cakap...

written by bknight, February 22, 2009 20:24:30
sorry, Cari QC not caring QC. saya sudah confuse sama itu england dengan melayu bahasa..

written by bujangsenang, February 22, 2009 20:30:34
No need QC la.. The loyar bulok (sorry its you Perakians lah) have spoken. Listen to them. They are supposed to get what they voted for.

What if the QC advise that Nizar is still MB? Will UMNO heed QC advise?

Oh ya. Ask the angmo what the heck the ISA is for?

written by Concerned_Citizen, February 22, 2009 20:30:43
So how money rakyat money is spend on this QC project? Last time they took over Malaya for such a long time and know you going back to beg for help?
written by Check, February 22, 2009 20:31:10
If QC says that Nizar is the MB then you can find UMNO goons protesting in KL and London.
written by SiHangChai, February 22, 2009 20:32:11
Is UMNO's lawyer brain dead that they have to seek a foreign expert to Malaysia's own laws? How will the cost be paid - taxpayer money? I thought we aleady have world case laywers among the cabinent of ministers who always said they know the best and other lawyers are wrong - Syed Botak Al-Albar & Nazri? Why the did then?? smilies/angry.gif
written by teo siew chin, February 22, 2009 20:39:49
aw come on! in the eyes of the common people, does it look FAIR?
does the regular joe perceive bias, unfair tactics, abandonment of rakyat's wishes in the appointment of the royal's MB?
so what if at all a QC finds in favour of BN - will it win back the rakyat's trust and support?
Fair is fair - PR, go get your QC too ! smilies/wink.gif
written by BGs, February 22, 2009 20:44:56
Korek,korek,korek! Aiyah....lingam disgraced ma...otherwise no need QC lah!
written by TaiLow, February 22, 2009 20:45:46
I saw the lawyer in London airport holding a banner "Who Wants To Be A Million Air", I think they meant "Millionaire" smilies/grin.gif
written by Ixora712, February 22, 2009 20:46:53
no need any QC, just refer back to Perjanjian Pangkok.
Who sign it, is the Perak's sultan again.
Since Perak's Sultanagree to let BN win, mean is Perjanjian Pamgkok Final
written by varvoom, February 22, 2009 20:56:58
Here is the advise for free,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4nPJ-YYHBc
written by varvoom, February 22, 2009 20:58:30
Try here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4nPJ-YYHBc
written by raven1958, February 22, 2009 20:59:12
QC???....That is so unlike UMNO....what happened to their bomohs...

It's too late in the day. By the end of next week...the illegal BN government will be voted out of Perak..and hopefully they carry their Sultan out with them. They can of course try Emergency Rule....but in these trying economic times and of course with UMNO's civil service goons....they will end up paying all of Perak's bills with no investor wanting to come anywhere near the state or for that matter even the country. In financially trying imes....the word emergency will get every investor to scramble whatever little money there is left in Perak to Singapore......Najib just put himself in the cooking pot...it is on slow burn..he has to do a real Johnny Depp to hop out of this Carribean adventure....
written by nero287, February 22, 2009 21:00:07
UMNO, UMNO. First you espouse Ketuanan Melayu and now u run all the way to our colonial masters to seek advice? Just admit that u guys are hypocrites and lets revert to British rule since you have more confidence with British Lawyers and their interpretation of the law. So, UMNO, what have we achieved after more than 50 years of independence? Racism and discrimination!! U should be ashamed for not knowing the law of your own country!!
written by lamakawan, February 22, 2009 21:13:36
These umno people are nuts. They are unable to decide whether their forceful takeover is constitutionally right or wrong. They had used force to push out PR gomen and now they want to seek QCs from London to protect them constitutionally.
Can we trust people to run our country when they don't know what they are doing?
They will lead us to the dogs if we continue to trust these people in government.
Time is now, people. Let's eliminate the BN from the Malaysian political scene.
written by panca, February 22, 2009 21:17:51
They(QC) would have to ERR if they have to advise according to the whims and fancies of BN Monkeys.

Outside of the Malaysia BN courts, a SIGN Reads, Kangaroos - "NOW HIRING, enquire from within"

QC advisors, hope you note the sign and check what is called MOCKERY.
written by kavidibaku, February 22, 2009 21:18:28
When hindraf went to london, they laughed. Now,......Cakap tak serupa bikin.
written by Susanna, February 22, 2009 21:24:14
To be sure The QC must be appalled that such things can ever happen!
written by mamanur, February 22, 2009 21:27:36
this just shows that UMNO/ BN has never been free from British occupation eventho they claimed they championed the independence of this country.
written by Concerned_Citizen, February 22, 2009 21:36:28
If you have the QC more sure the QC will say that you are on the right side, no brainer. BTW, I suggest UMNO win the rakyat of Perak thoroughly by having an election. Don't waste your time and money with the QC. Last time, they cheated Malaya so much money and which now their currency become one of the strongest in the world, yet you will seek their help. The best pratice let's the rakyat decide.

written by smalluncle, February 22, 2009 21:40:18
Mak Salleh? How Can. not Ketua--n leh.

Have you told him / them your term of service? That they have to share 30% of there fee. Why not? Its our NEP.

Wat if they find no case against PR and instead offer to help PR fight the case?

The answer my friend, is not crying in the rain. Its "mind your own business. don't interfer"
written by xkbyuk, February 22, 2009 21:49:21
The comments posted are interesting. The majority exudes a confidence in the legal position of the PKR government. However a good many show an over confidence. Supporters and members of the PR will do well to remember a good many battles have been lost from over confidence on the part of the leaders/players concerned. It will do no harm if the PR follow the advice of one or two of the readers and send somebody over to Singapore to consult a very well-known legal firm there to prepare for all possible legal arguments from UMNO's team. It's better to be prepared for all eventualities than to be caught with one's pants down through being over confident.
written by cheekhiaw, February 22, 2009 22:17:58
Aiyah, why bother to go London to consult some QC?

Just get some fellow thieves in Jakim to declare a fatwa or quote some hadith on why thieves, liars and murderers should be running a state lah...

written by NeoMalaysian, February 22, 2009 22:23:43
Looks like Britannia would rule the waves again! this time in the Malaysian political wave.
QC would be off her/his chump to layan that UMNO pig/dog/slime. and QE2 wouldn't be any better than our local royalty to assent to such a request. Aiding and abetting the MURDER of Malaysian democracy! Dream on la UMNO shitheads... now the world knows you are really otak-kat-lutut to go running off to QCs to ask them to aid in power-grabbing. Hello? BBC also reported Perak incident as 'Power-grab' already ok? You think orang nak layan?
written by KARMANNGHIA, February 22, 2009 22:48:33
50 years of affirmative policy cannot produce a croony lawyer.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by aryn, February 22, 2009 22:51:04
In 1986-87, Pairin Kitingan and Tun Mustapha both engaged QCs over Mustapha's laim that he was CM of Sabah. He lost because his appointment was unconstitutional.

That trial, supposed to be one of the longest, actually served as a learning experience for many Malaysian lawyers. Both QCs are truly excellent lawyers and with gentleman manner to boot.

The Malaysian High Court judge himself was an excellent Justice, that even the QCs showed great respect.

But that was then when Malaysian judiciary was a shining beacon for many a country. Today, the judiciary is a kangaroo. With due respect to a few judges/justices who stick their neck in the name of justice.

I fully agree QCs be engaged so the Malaysian govt have no choice but to put competent and fair judge to hear MB Nizar's case to avoid the label 'kangaroo court' as the world begins to see in Malaysian courts.

written by No nonsense, February 22, 2009 23:10:39
Another way to waste the rakyats money. Nothing better to do but spend and spend and spend the rakyat hard earn money and some people are still so dumb as to follow this type people. Do not know that their hard-earn money are wasted in the so call of justice. What a shame a terrible shame.
written by smeagrooo, February 22, 2009 23:14:50
hahahaha. when they lose, they run to Mama and cry for help. Have they forgotten what they said when Hindraf went to London to seek for help?

Now who is the cry baby?
written by prof, February 22, 2009 23:57:17
This Perak constituional crisis is going to be another landmark in Malaysian History. Remember the British Pangkor Agreement was signed in Perak? What waws the significance of the Pangkor Treaty/Agreement. The acceptance of British Resident and Advice in the Malay so-called land of Perak. So this Perak and Malayan History Revisited. Hey Guys, look who are calling the Britishers now? Aren't they the same group of people who are calling themselves NATIONALISTS or UMNO NATIONALISTS. Guys, guys beware the British are coming, the British Advisers are coming! Guys the Brits are coming and they are going to advise us on what to do and how to do properly!. Guys the Brits are coming? And the Nationalists UMNO are doing nothin? Shit
written by Daryl, February 22, 2009 23:59:19
Please don't embarass rakyat by bringing cash. Use check book or other method okay. Just like the HK's ICAC guy you need them to give okay not to make it better. Also, BN please use your own money .... oops forgotten your account is the same as the tax money account.... Aiyah so many problems but it is ok we have PDRM to falsify investigation and judge to give bias judgement.

To HELL you BN.
written by tumbledore, February 23, 2009 00:07:11
I'm sure PR can efford to seek the QC!
please make use of this opportunity and
let not the chance slip through your fingers.
you have to copy their tactics and
stay one step ahead of them!

the presence of the QC's might also force bn/umno
to play fair.

you can hope for fairness,
people say many negative things about the English
colonial times; on the otherside they were the fairest
of all colonnial powers who left behind robust infrastructure e.g.,education law and political structure.

if our country continues this kind of money mongering
politics we'd end up being taken over by the Indonesians.
or they will sell us to the arabians for a few bucks!

terima kasik!

there is a saying 'if you dig in a rubbish dump you'll get only trash'

save us malaysians, QC and QE2 - just look at what they have done to us!

they refused us to submit a petition to you but now they are seeking the help of the 'Queens Council' to continue their raping of democracy in malaysia.

your Highness, I doubt your police constables carry guns but the malaysian police constables carry guns with orders to shoot and kill. in that way they have already beaten the crime solving statistics of the UK police force. can you imagine we are better than the Scotland Yard, FBI and Interpol all put together. we solve crimes and save money by eliminating suspected criminals on the spot so the general public is not endangered. the most important work of our polis is to aid and abett the ruling party in their unquenchable pursuit to get all the monies together and put in their private banks to keep it safe.

your majesty, one last wish; if you see one of our stupid politician from em-no or be end please give him a kick in the butt or please ask our beloved Maggie to swing her handbag!

have a nice day ma'am, the next time I walk around Buckingham grounds I'll think of your goodness.

god save the Queen!

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, February 23, 2009 00:51:57
If UMNO seeks QC, they realise they are in a deadlock. In trouble. But they should bite their tongue or their teeth!!! SHAMELESS to go back to colonials for advice! Aha!
written by Shiva, February 23, 2009 00:54:07
umno is a terrorist organization.
written by JUST, February 23, 2009 06:35:48
An insult to Judiciary!
A waste of Tax money!
written by Mama Juwie, February 23, 2009 07:06:04
raven1958 wrote:

"Cant really blame them...they are stuck with all the dungu monkeys dropping out of ITM, UIA, etc while the rest of the good lawyers are all firmly in Pakatan's camp......"

raven1958, you are an IDIOT. Do you know that there are many good lawyers in Pakatan's camp are from ITM and UIA? Most PAS lawyers are from UIA. Heck, Fong Po Kuan of DAP was from UIA Law School! For god sake, Prof Aziz Bari and Prof Shad Faruqi (both esteemed constitutional scholars who opined that what BN did in Perak was unconstitutional) were from ITM and UIA. Datuk Zaid Ibrahim was from ITM too. Malik Imtiaz Sarwar is an IIU law grad.

Your prejudice stinks, BODOH!
written by evaangel, February 23, 2009 07:57:15
Can someone explain what seeing a QC will achieve and how relevant it is? Apart from Malaysia being a commonwealth country (heck even wikipedia says malaysia has no such QC appointment within Malaysia - so why seek help from them now)
If for example the QC says - Perak should go to BN then what will be the outcome of that? britain is in a bad shape right now - not in any shape to follow up with troops should the impasse continue. Is it just a case of BN going - hey see? we told you so!
Sounds like a waste of money to me.
written by emirateswenger, February 23, 2009 08:00:05
In real terms, who can say for SURE the use of QC will indeed see superior arguments?

The use of QC is used to project a perception of "above board" and "competency" to both the courts and the PUBLIC.

By the way, its the Judge who will decide/rule. And he does not necessarily have to rule according to ..........I leave the rest to your imagination.

Semua wayang but the QC move may well backfire. Lends credence to a general perception that UMNO is stuck on the legal front.

written by dumbfounded, February 23, 2009 09:42:53
I hope the QC gives the UMNO lawyer a stinging tight slap before sending him home
written by SCM, February 23, 2009 09:54:12
Hahahaha, running to get advice from a mat salleh? What happened to all the super duper Mara full-scholarship graduates? All stupid ah? Scholarships are meant for potentially intelligent students with lack of funds. You are saying that all the billions UMNO spent on Bumiputra scholarships have gone down the drains? Hahahaha.

Why you don't ask your legal criminal Shafee? He also stupid ah? Anyway, don't bribe the QC with money okay? You can get into a lot of trouble there. I heard that most QCs there love the Malaysian roast pork and will do anything for it. I suggest you take a suitcase full of roast pork.
written by unomalaysia, February 23, 2009 11:38:33
Hey Ambiga and semua loyah loyah Malaysia. umno is saying you taada class, taada standard, not good enough to represent them. Even the Safee and Lingam not good enough and that's why need the ex-colonial master orang putih to represent them. Hey Sleepyhead, what happened to buy Malaysian? Didn't you say "you tried it and it was not bad?"
written by raven1958, February 23, 2009 11:53:58
Mama Juwie ITM and UIA graduates are not worth the the two cents toilet paper costs.Racist.look at the names you mentioned.Shad Faruqi was never a Malaysian to start with.Fong is no lawyer she is a big mouth (now very silent though) and dont lah compare with Ngeh or Nga, Zaid got there thru connections.all his work was done by donkey lawyers who worked their butts out doing research but cannot climb the ladder because of these racists Universities.you really think Zaid can argue a case in court.Malek is an academic lawyer.he has a good track record of loosing almost every constitutional case he has fought although I must admit I dont know who this publicity crazy Bari guy is.he tends to be shooting off his mouth in between cooking shows every now and then.hope you are not from one of these dungu places.there isnt any need to educate/con the Malaysian public.they know that when they are in trouble to never go anywhere near these graduates.you want to be treated on par go lah take the CLPPS
written by Siapabohong, February 23, 2009 17:17:39
They used to claim that they are the rightful government appointed by the sultan but then why must go all the way to the past colonial master to seek advice, surely they have found out that they are not the rightful government but 'thief'. Why not humbly give back the power to the people to choose the kind of government they want!
written by Siapabohong, February 23, 2009 17:27:58
Dear shiva, contact the US government to officially list the party that you have mentioned as a terrorist organisation!
written by Mama Juwie, February 23, 2009 21:13:03
raven1958,

Wow, you are more ignorant than I thought. If you have problems with all UIA/ITM or local graduates, then something must be really, really wrong with you, either in your heart or in your brain. And if you have problems with specific individuals from these institutions, then why are you generalizing them all as the same? Your logic has been screwed up by your hatred and I truly hope it is not from your CLP-based education. (In fact, I have seen MANY CLP-trained lawyers who only got a mere pass but acted like QCs when they don't know shite about the law or case or even general knowledge. I pray really hard for their clients).

You called me 'racist'? Did I mention an iota about 'race' or racism' in my statement previously, or was it already lingering in you mind the moment you read my reply? You know what they say, you are what you think.

You said, "...ITM and UIA graduates are not worth the the two cents toilet paper costs." I'm speechless, my friend. You just won the Oscar for the Most Promising Bigot of the Year.

C'est la vie.
written by Sabahfan, February 23, 2009 22:19:41
hoi malaysian bar,Now UMNO is telling u, there aint any Malaysian lawyer qualified enough to deal with constitutional mattaers aaaah?

Last time someone wanna hire MRs BLair, also a QC, she was rejected by the corrrect correct corrrect judges... ha ha ha ha ha ha
written by allmenarebrothers, February 23, 2009 23:26:58
UMNO Tak O Tak!
Brains only used for corruption & intimidation & bribery & spewing hatred & dividing Malaysians
written by fencesitter, February 24, 2009 00:01:13
wo..wo..hold it there..raven1958...Can sensed you are 1 angry old man....cool it..before you get a heart attack. Dont be angry...be happy...he he he..
written by SamBall, February 24, 2009 01:13:55
hahaha what a sorry story HUMNOOOO.

Some good lawyers right here in Msia; how about Karpal? he will shit himself defending HUMNOOO!!

Anyway, while in London, HUMNOO should get in touch with Waytha Moorthy; kekeke. Kenapa bodoh sangat HUMNOOO?