Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow WITHER OPEN TENDER ?

WITHER OPEN TENDER ? PDF Print
Sunday, 22 February 2009 00:14

It is public knowledge that PM Badawi has said many times that he will revert back to the time tested mode of open tender to carry out high value public projects. Recently it was announced that our old Subang Airport will have a new lease of life as an airport terminal when a RM 40 million renovation work is completed sometime in the middle of this year . But where is the public invitation to tender for this project ?

As part of a scheme to alleviate the chronic daily and hourly traffic jam in the Klang Valley, PM Badawi has also confidently announced a few years ago that the present LRT network will be expanded to cover the high density population areas. Until now, we have not seen any public invitation to tender for this multi-billion urgently required project. But we have seen reports that certain companies like Gamuda Bhd are already lobbying for the job. What is going on ?

As a representative Rakyat and an ordinary representative contractor of our society, we have to conclude that what we heard about PM Badawi speech to go back to open tender was merely an election gimmick. To us who took his words seriously, it was a sad and utter disappointment, not unlike awakening from a very bad dream .

How to get rid of money politics ? No need to disband UMNO Youth or  PUTERI Wings . Just go for open tender by an independent professional body. We do not need men with brains of rocket scientists to get rid of money politics. We need men who will pay the price to carry out their noble and honorable intention.

We have now another piece of the mass of convincing evidence that BN will not reformed. Any reason why we should not support PR ?

Sincerely,

Moses Lim
11 Jalan 21/144A
Taman Bukit Cheras
56000 KL

written by cheemengwong, February 22, 2009 00:28:26
Same song lah... different singer only. Abdullah Who? Abdullah Bluffu&me? Same goat lah!
written by hakuna, February 22, 2009 00:34:17
Moses - BN is NEVER going to change - ipso facto. Please wake up from this slumber.

Those speeches are merely speeches and nothing more. Accept the fact and get on with Life. We should have kicked out BN a long time ago but the problem is most were selfish, thinking of themselves than the nation.

At least let's do it in the next GE or better still in all the by-elections which may turn up prior that.
written by FuLinYu, February 22, 2009 00:54:48
We must have good & timely reminders from ppl like Moses Lim. Empty words/promises from the BN leadership - let's keep counting.
Lest we forget...someone must keep a record, like Moses. Useful, for the next election.
written by lynn, February 22, 2009 01:24:26
Badawi gave a lot of promises in the past; we all know by now he had no intention of carrying them out. The one that did happen was MACC which was a sick & pathetic joke he played on bodohland.

I think his idea of "running" the country is to talk positively so you all experience that "Feel Good Factor" - it's like conman, promising the sun, the moon & the stars, none of which will ever be within anyone's reach, so logically nothing materialises. He cannot helped being a lame PM;that is who he is, which was why he was "chosen" by the previous one.

He could have done so much to win back some support but he did nothing. Probably his SIL had the final say, not him. And if that is the case, he is under control, unable to do anything unless instructed & permission granted...

It's no use asking for transparency, accountability & some semblance of professionalism from bn. It is totally foreign & beyond any of them to be honest, to have conscience, to heed the rakyat. There is currently not a single man or woman from BN who can provide us the above. We have to change federal govt. that is obvious.
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, February 22, 2009 03:20:31
yes...
for example the 2nd penang bridge is already mention from 1995 election year

however the project only start in 2008 election year!
Yes! this is our policy,
work only election year...

so? lets change!

http://gomalaysian.********.com/
written by NSTPravda, February 22, 2009 06:24:38
Moses, are you still wandering and lost in the wilderness?
Let us clue you up to present day and on UMNO’s businesses…
“Open tender” here means it’s open season!!!!!
Open for UMNO cronies to get their cash injection

Since when did anyone believe UMNO’s promises and fairy tales
Look around! Everything in this country is up for sale
For pangkats, elections, judges, police, all you need is CASH
Murder, kidnapping and other evidence can disappear in a flash
We have the best witnesses, police and judges money can buy
With enough ringgits all can be bought to close an eye!!!

Moses, stop wondering, stop questioning, come back to bolehland
Play the game, make money, sell your country, join our band
Nothing in the universe, is more important, than Duit today
Without duit in UMNO, even Al-lah is not semua-nya OK!

Rasuah sayang eh!!!
Duit-lah
written by Msian Idol3, February 22, 2009 08:08:40
Open tender is for show only. I have a friend who sits in the tender board and he was so tired of the corruption plus headaches & he quit. This he had to say, tenders are submitted by directors or cronies with their specs etc -- its very difficult to do the job he was suppose to as he mentioned he doesn't even know who is actually involved as it goes all the way to the PM office in all projects over $1 million. Lots of baruahs. Its just like the minister secretary or right hand man telling the contractor that Datuk or Tan Sri need so much money now..... not sure whether its even true even thou the top guy have been bribed. Certainly the tender board can be made better by appointing Opposition members etc. Would UMNO agree to it. Hmmmnn no way UMNO can come clean like mother Theresa.
written by Mama Juwie, February 22, 2009 08:45:26
'Open Tender' in Malaysia means bidding for a project where you know the result would be in your favour even if you have an undeserving proposal because:

a) you have a relationship (family, friendship, ally) with; or
b) you have allocated a share of profit with; or
c) you are indirectly;

the decision maker.
written by Malaysiaku, February 22, 2009 08:56:18
Moses, the 10 Commandments do not work with Abdullah and UMNO. Once a thief, always a thief.
written by Old Man, February 22, 2009 10:12:26
His friend Ar David KK Ng, is / was practising in Kota Kinabalu under the name of Arkitet Nikareka, went for "open" tender, now refuse to have the last nail into his coffin unless he can pull AAB into his rotten coffin with him!
written by biggun129, February 22, 2009 10:56:42
What 'OPEN TENDER'? the Tender is only open for certain people, the already 'OPEN THE TENDER' before you know it!
written by allmenarebrothers, February 22, 2009 12:30:36
Everyone knows that AAB talks only but he never practises what he preaches.
This is indeed shocking becos' he never fails to remind the world that he is a morally righteous God-fearing person yet he is more often than not not a sincere & honest person.
To quote one of his most famous claim "I am a Muslim leader of peoples of all religions, communities & creeds of Malaysia". Nobody believes him. It is only a self-delusion.
I rest my case!
written by non conformist, February 22, 2009 14:46:35
All lullaby to hypnotize you and put you to sleep while they PLUNDER the nation's wealth, and rape the common people.
written by malgal, February 22, 2009 15:41:20
Which promises have come to pass?
Tick the list please, we all want to know.
written by jjireh99, February 22, 2009 16:47:02
aiyah...... heard about our pm long time ago-lah. not surprising to me. Again, I say, everyone thinks he is a God-fearing person..... I say, nay!!!!!!
written by mikewang, February 22, 2009 17:49:48
Let me give you a hypothetical situation how the open tender system may be defeated.

Let's say a certain PR government would want to resort to open tender for their projects.
However, except for projects that require "A" contractors, most, if not all, the lower categories are controlled by a certain m*m*& group of, say, "F" contractors who control the tender price among the group, ensuring that the tendered prices remain high and there is no undercutting.
Unless the municipal or state government breaks this vicious cycle and bring in genuine bumiputra contractors, prices may never be lowered.
written by Jack Hui, February 22, 2009 23:53:03
Aiya BN won't change la, let us change them.....f*ck them of on GE13