Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Minister's appeal may not be heard on Monday

Minister's appeal may not be heard on Monday PDF Print
Saturday, 21 February 2009 10:30

(NST) - The Home Minister's appeal against the release of blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin who was detained under the Internal Security Act is unlikely to be heard on Monday.

Raja Petra yesterday filed an application to review four rulings of the Federal Court made earlier against him on grounds he was not given a fair hearing.

The blogger, who filed the application under rule 137 of the Rules of the Federal Court 1995, named the minister as respondent.

Raja Petra wants four previous applications to be reheard by judges other than Datuk Nik Hashim Nik Abdul Rahman, Datuk Seri S. Augstine Paul and Datuk Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin.

He also wants the hearing of his appeal to be stayed pending the disposal of his review application.

On Tuesday, a two-man bench unanimously dismissed Raja Petra's application to disqualify Paul from hearing the appeal on grounds the blogger had made several remarks about the judge on his website since 2000.

Raja Petra said Paul had formed an opinion that he was a threat to national security in a judgment in 2001. At the outset of hearing the application, Paul disqualified himself.

Raja Petra's counsel Malik Imtiaz Sarwar asked for Paul to be replaced with another judge as the law prescribed that an uneven number and a minimum of three judges must be on the bench.

However, Nik Hashim and Zulkefli dismissed the recusal application as it was without merit.

Paul, who returned to the bench, together with Nik Hashim and Zulkefli, later unanimously dismissed three other applications sought by Raja Petra:

- For the existing three-man bench to be increased to five or seven on grounds that complex and constitutional issues which have far-reaching consequences would be argued;

- For fresh evidence to be adduced in the Federal Court to show he was not a threat to national security after the High Court in Shah Alam allowed his habeas corpus application on Feb 17; and

- To introduce the notes of evidence in his ongoing sedition trial at the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court.

written by Dragon888, February 21, 2009 10:45:45
Another SOB !!!
written by cilimalaysia, February 21, 2009 10:56:29
RPK now di luar. adakah sekarang dia bahaya for the nation? siapa takut rakyat or AMAno gooons? celaka. rakyat bukan bodoh. amano use isa for their own purpose.
written by Celestial, February 21, 2009 11:40:16
It aint over until it's over.

By being too arrogant, now these three corrupt judges have removed themselves from hearing the appeal and hopefully the remaining Federal judges are more professional and unbias. Dare we hope that they are not tainted by BN dirty hands?
written by Celestial, February 21, 2009 11:42:36
The Lord does move in mysterious ways. The wicked that men do will surely be repaid in full. That's karma.
written by truthbespoken, February 21, 2009 12:05:30
Yeah, if there is a change of Bench members, let's hope the new judges will act in a manner true to their esteemed profession, that is, to be seen and judge without bias, fear or favour. It's all about having a conscience. God bless.
written by penangboi, February 21, 2009 12:19:31
Paul Augustine is in the same league as that froggy woman from Jelapang.

Paul Augustine is the epitome of the state of our Judiciary in the country.

With people like Paul Augustine who needs appeal and hearing when we all know what the outcomes of all cases are going to be.
written by ibabonma, February 21, 2009 12:47:21
Paul, you are a disgrace to SYS, Batu Gajah. Even our Tuanku went to the same school! You bloody Hacks.
written by sahabat, February 21, 2009 13:00:51
Expect no mercy from these 3 judges appointed by Umno chief justice Zaki. But angels from heaven will come to them and warn them to think strictly for their 'ahirat'.
written by Msian Idol3, February 21, 2009 13:06:32
Are these 3 really learned judge ? Or are they there to interpret UMNO's form of justice? These judges actions are a disgrace to the judicial syatem. Even my great grandma who has no academic education can come to this conclusion after she overheard my cousin talking to his friends at the house. From today onwards I will arm myself with at least one rotten tomato just in case I run into one of this pariah judge.
written by malgal, February 21, 2009 16:05:49
Johnny Kangaroo down spot, Johnny Kangaroo down...
written by lynn, February 21, 2009 16:35:03
Since November 7th 2008......... did you & I ever found RPK a threat to national security? The answer is a loud & resounding NO!

On the contrary, his presence, well-being, safety & good health is our biggest concern. Malaysia have produced very few men like RPK, courageous & uncorruptible; on the other hand, RPK is a threat to the most corrupt govt in the world. Hence his detention.

My gut feeling is: all three judges are biaised & under instruction - the conclusion is fixed where the home minister's appeal is concerned. in fact, this home minister is one of the biggest threat to malaysia, if you asked me. he has contributed his share of destroying malaysia's reputation.

Gone were those days judges were perceived as wise, learned, untainted, principled men of justice & integrity. Nowadays we view most of them with suspicion & skepticism, belonging to same category of corrupt & abusive bn ministers (former & current).

All these titles, Tuns, Tan Sris, Datuk Sris, Datos, even JP.... nowadays meant nothing; just a title for ignorant ppl to "admire" & gawked with wonder. Men shld be judged by their deeds, not by their titles. But then, this is a stupid, shameless country, with its priorities screwed. BIG thanks to Dr M & bn voters. You have both done an excellent job in screwing us up.
written by axppin, February 21, 2009 17:17:52
Nothing is gonna happen in Monday? Really smart move. It is going to start happening again immediately after March once the Premiership has been confirmed and handed over.
written by Angela Ooi, February 21, 2009 20:13:17
Dishonourable n DISaGUSTINGe PAUL..you and your children will sow what you reap
written by feleaz, February 21, 2009 21:49:37
I think this case will be deferred and deferred until UMNO's election and the by elections in Perak and probably in Selangor. UMNO is trying to "act good" for the time being to avoid suffering backlash from the rakyat