Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar: 8 months and no action

Anwar: 8 months and no action PDF Print
Friday, 20 February 2009 20:24

By Tim Leonard, The Sun

Parti Keadilan Rakyat adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has expressed disappointment that no action had been taken on the police report he lodged eight months ago alleging abuse of power by Attorney-Gereral Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail and Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan over his 'black eye' incident in 1998.

The Parliamentary opposition leader also expressed his disappointment with the newly-minted Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) for failing to take action despite promises of transparency.

Anwar said this after he lodged a second report at the Damansara police station about 11.30am today. He was accompanied by PKR vice president R. Sivarasa and dozens of supporters. The report was a follow-up to his first report lodged in June 2008 at the Shah Alam police station.

“I am disappointed that after eight months, no action has been taken against the AG and the IGP," said Anwar.

He acknowled that Minister in the PM's Department (Datuk Seri) Mohamed Nazri Aziz had informed him that the (investigation) papers are now in the AG's chambers.

In today's report, Anwar added some additional information to support his claim that Gani and Musa were responsible for falsifying a police report on his detention by ACP Koh Hong Sang on Sept 21, 1998.

"The report mentioned that I was arrested under ISA (Internal Security Act) and not for charges of sodomy as mentioned by Koh a few hours earlier.

"The AG and IGP conspired to do this because they wanted to hide information from the public that I was assaulted and injured...so that I could not be brought to court immediately."

Anwar was arrested on Sept 20 1998 and brought to Bukit Aman, where he was assaulted by then-IGP Tan Sri Rahim Noor, which resulted in the infamous 'black eye' incident. Rahim was charged in court for the assault and pleaded guilty. He was sentenced to two months jail and fined RM2,000

Musa Hassan was then the case's investigating officer while Gani was the prosecutor.

written by karyeowl, February 20, 2009 20:29:27

Biasa la, PDRM. This is not the scope that they measure against the Interpol standards.
written by eskay, February 20, 2009 20:41:49
can some one compile a list of police reports & MACC/ACA reports made by PR & UMNO, of which action has been taken ?
written by PAKRAK, February 20, 2009 20:48:30
PDRM and AG take instructions strictly from UMNO whether they are legal or illegal. All the goons don't care whether they are acting according to judiciary system as long as they have full advantage now to suppress the opposition. The country is run by UMNO whether the Rakyat like it or not. The only thing the Rakyat can do is to strategise and outst these useless and good-for-nothing UMNO goons and not forgetting PR betrayers once and for all!
written by taxi90, February 20, 2009 20:54:32
For Khalid, MACC just took 20 days!
I don't remember ever hearing MACC say that they have ample 'proof' to convict any UMNOputra. Not even after 50 years of crap!! My god, these UMNOputras are cleaner than mother Theresa!
written by Mr Smith, February 20, 2009 21:03:08
Is MACC Chief Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan a candidate in the UMNO elections?

It looks like it. He acts and speaks exactly like an UMNO candidate fighting for dear life to win a slot in the party hierarchy and lay the foundation to accumulate future wealth, power and fame.

If not, he had better declare his UMNO membership and not hide behind MACC as its chief and bring disrepute to this body, himself and his family.

Countless reports had been made against UMNO leaders who are robbing this country like hell and yet NOT a single one of them has been brought to court. Khir Toyo’s every single bone in his body is corrupted and he is walking free.

When it comes to Pakatan leaders he acts in super efficient speed and even found it necessary to announce to the whole world that the Selangor Menteri Besar has been found ‘almost guilty’ even before being charged.

This man is playing politics.

As though this is not bad enough, he wants to question the Perak Legislative Speaker V. Sivakumar for corruption.(sic). What corruption, idiot?

And now he wants to question Anwar for revealing MACC investigations in Parliament. How Anwar’s revelation hampered his investigations (or rather the lack of it) is not told.

His behaviour is so blatant and he is not hiding the fact that he is one of UMNO’s lapdog, and proud to be so.
written by lamakawan, February 20, 2009 21:04:54
They even have the cheek to say they are ISO compliant here or ISO compliant there.
They are bloughing themselves. These excuses have become standard practice for all government departments. They pray that you would have forgotten about your black eye complaint since you have already recovered!!. Bloody scroundrels they are.
written by savemalaysia, February 20, 2009 22:00:17
If you are high up in the ruling BN Govt, then you can get away with murders. That's why there are so many unsolved murders in the country.
written by PAKRAK, February 20, 2009 22:05:53
Before he was given the job he was given the cue. Need we think further?
written by ez24get, February 20, 2009 22:35:55
The rakyat has had enough of the MACC’s one-sided charade!

We demand you to stop all this nonsense of selective persecution. You have no right to partake in the overthrow of a democratically elected Government in Selangor! The taxpayers don’t pay you salaries so that you can do the dirty work of BN!

When Khir Toyo lodge the report against Khalid you are so efficient and even go to the extent of condemning him of being guilty even before he is charged. When Anwar lodge a report on corruption on the Kulim Assembly man you rebuke the lodger of the report.

You are a shame to the nation! Soon you will face the people’s revolt!
written by JaguhKampung, February 20, 2009 22:53:51
Anwar, I think you are wasting your time and breath. UMNO and the people aligned to them have legal immunity. Not even the Sultans.

You are just wasting time going through the system controlled by them.
written by FuLinYu, February 20, 2009 22:57:42
I say again: Without doubt, this AS guy is an UMNO stooge & MACC is the UMNO toolbox.
written by Msian Idol3, February 20, 2009 23:19:57
Remember the hype on MACC pet project of PM. Now MACC have delivered proof that UMNO just want to continue to korek the rakyat & nation via MACC as their toolbox. Even the Agung has been fooled in his opening speech about MACC. Well, fella true Msians who wants a better Msia -- I guess we have to keep on making our voices heard & make our votes count.
written by Wahyu, February 20, 2009 23:34:57
Polis di negara ini, PDRM tidak mempunyai sebarang rasa
tanggungjawab terhadap masyarakat, negara mahupun diri sendiri.

rasuah je kuat..haihh
written by Dualties, February 21, 2009 00:28:12
Judiciary :

Malaysia has a classic case to present to the world that the Judiciary is akin to be lead by 2 persons, i.e. the Gangster and the Law Enforcement who are above constitutional law in this country.

They are "The Untouchables"
written by Lim Lim, February 21, 2009 00:50:50
with the current showing of MACC lead by ah mad sai hamtan,PDRm lead by musa hassan n palace of justice lead by zaki,malaysia would most probably occupying at the end of the ranks for FDI,foreign direct investment index very very soon!
they are all showing as umno branch offices n malaysia would be doomed fast into free falling mode!!!
written by nurmizan, February 21, 2009 02:04:23
Do you think if PR rule this country and we will not having the same problem again?
I don't think so... New Government may change policies, rules, laws etc.. the government officers / servents / authorities is still the same people with new head at the top... the people of Malaysia also part of the problems...

I overheard someone said this "kalau itu lembu masih makan rumput...rasuah will be here for a long long time"... fix the individual Malaysian then only we may able to reduce or eliminate this "rasuah" in our society... it may be another 7 generations... more or less... before we can see some improvement...

It is just like economic... supply and demand... or just like business transaction.. willing seller illing buyer... as long as there is an offerer and offeree... and depend on what is at stake... RM 100 or RM 10,000 or RM 10,000,000 etc... your temptation will be strong as the stake become bigger...

I estimated that 1% will take RM 100 any time... 5% will be at least RM 1000... another 5% will take if the stake more than RM 10,000... another 9% will take once it go more than RM 50,000... So with RM 50,000 (each) you can buy 20% of the people...so on and so forth.... the bigger the stake the more people will give in... we may reach 80% if the stake touch million... of course there are always 20% people with priciple.. do not take any amount, regardless.... (the above % is not a reseach figure.. it is just for an illustration using 80-20 rule)
written by Tompios, February 21, 2009 08:18:36
UMNO is an old toilet. Very smelly and dirty. On the wall (face) of UMNO written so many disgusting words. You know, toilet words!! But yet, people like MACC, ISA still using this toilet to discharge their diarrhea-stools because of a respect attitudes. Why? In this toilet, they can push out their deposits without flushing them clean.
written by Sudahlah tu, February 21, 2009 08:20:59
saya berdoa agar bangsa melayu sedar akan masa depan mereka diperkosakan oleh kezaliman umno.
cukup sudahlah , bangun dan memguasai kembali kedaulatan bangsa melayu .....
perjuangan nenek moyang kita semasa bertapak di bumi ini haruslah kita yang mempertahankan dan bukannya untuk umno memperalatkan ..
written by Catharsis, February 21, 2009 08:22:49
Change these MASTERS OF INJUSTICE only then there will be the dawning of the INSTITUTION OF JUSTICE.....it is simple as that this government of the SELF AND BY THE SELF has to go ..........no IFs and no BUTs
written by InEffective, February 21, 2009 09:24:47

Yup - when the unscrupulous politicians and state-excos expropriate peoples personal assets and land under false justification by state powers and then transfer to their family members, then even after 15years no action from courts. (referring to selangor, johor... etc)

Justice Denied.....
written by onnetline, February 21, 2009 09:31:23
Only the foreign diplomats are in the dark about the practice of marginalisation of races in Malaysia since the days of our ex-dictator, carTUN Mahatahi of Kedah.
And Rice Yatim is a great liar ....... like all the foreign minister before him, even our sleepy head PM. !!!
written by Arum, February 21, 2009 09:38:53
Malaysians have allowed this UMNO to get into a well organised mafia that rules the country.If malaysians allow this to continue,do not cry when this country take to the worst case scenario.
written by my oumrie, February 21, 2009 11:20:11
MACC is making Malaysia a laughing stock to the rest of the world yet again. Its joined the other gomen departments like PRDM, judiciary,AG etc. etc. So what's new? The gomen don't give a monkeys about the rest of the world, that's why they behave in this fashion. But, we as Anak Bangsa Malaysia are very MALU when we travel abroad and the rest of the world find out where we come from. Especially as the decision makers, as malay/muslims, are supposedly rasuah (a major sin) free. NOT SO!
written by Old Man, February 22, 2009 10:34:05
DSAI, you can wait as an ordinary citizen because the BN Govt got all the time in the world! Unless you and other PR leaders can come up with new strategies, you can continue wait............