Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Teresa Kok: Charges against Selangor MB politically motivated

Teresa Kok: Charges against Selangor MB politically motivated PDF Print
Friday, 20 February 2009 20:15

By Neville Spykerman, The Malaysian Insider

Selangor senior executive councillor Teresa Kok said the ongoing corruption investigation on the Selangor Menteri Besar appears to be politically motivated and smacks of double standards.

"The whole episode seems to be linked to the political situation in Perak where the Barisan National (BN) is being frustrated by a political impasse of its own doing." Said the Teratai assemblyman.

She also suggested that it had something to do with opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's revelation in Parliament yesterday about the tactics used by BN to coerce and induce Pakatan Rakyat (PR) elected representatives to switch camps.

She said the fact that the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission (MACC) moved with such speed on what may be, at most, a minor technical infarction leads one to wonder about the purported independence and fearlessness of the body.

Meanwhile Khalid's lawyer Sankara N. Nair said he regretted the statement released by the MACC chief Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan where he indicated there was strong evidence on the misuse of power by his client.

He said previously it was the norm for the MACC not to issue statements about the culpability of a person being investigated.

"It is quite disturbing the MACC has, in this instance, in respect of my client, being an opposition politician, is singled out to look "guilty" in the eyes of the public before he is charged or convicted in court."

Sankara questioned why Ahmad Said prejudged his client and urged the MACC to act professionally.

He added that he has advised Khalid to refrain from making any statements on the matter as he is the subject of investigations.

In a written statement to the Press, Khalid said he is aware that of the ongoing MACC investigations and all further comments on the matter would be made by his lawyer.

Meanwhile Selangor BN and Umno chairman Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib said it was up to the MACC and the Attorney General to take the necessary action against Khalid.

The Rural and Regional Development Minister declined to comment further.

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by myke, February 20, 2009 20:44:56
Macc ni nampak macam lagi satu "abang adik" BN yang sedang rogol negara Malaysia?
written by uxzee, February 20, 2009 20:54:29
This Ahmad Said is a one-eyed jack idiot. He has got eyes to investigate only the opposition and never his BN boss.

He could not see the corruption involved in the 3 frogs in Perak, he was blind to Najib's corruption in the Perak fiasco, he lost his marble to think about the corruption paid to the Ruler of Perak and he wants to investigate Siva, the Speaker of Perak.

He has got time for the cows in Selangor. If what he is doing is anti-corruption, then Malaysian will not understand the meaning of corruption.

Very corrupted Muslim, this Ahmad Said.
written by hellosunshine, February 20, 2009 21:21:35
Ladies and Gentlemen, buckle your seat belts and get ready for the ride of your lives! They are now starting the thrills, spills and comedic roller coaster ride called "C4 Opposition Blitzkrieg". smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by lynn, February 20, 2009 21:25:41
ACA is toothless, MACC is remote-controlled weapon of umno against PR's representatives since its inception.

someday, malaysians would like to see how this ahmad said can be punished.
I guess being unprofessional is not exactly a crime; but he is a total dickhead. AAB started this MACC BS - to give some semblance of "reform". But we know better.

What reform? This is "selective prosecution' - as the man at the helm of MACC, selective prosecution is equivalent to abuse of power, abuse of process. Now that is a CRIME.
written by raven1958, February 20, 2009 21:43:58
It's so obvious isn’t it Teresa..this Ahmad fella investigating cow problem....what a moron. But these are the spineless cockroaches running this country's security.....and carries a title of Datok...probably handed over to him by another brain dead Sultan...geez...story of this country....
written by PAKRAK, February 20, 2009 21:49:12
This Indonesian bastard Toyol Tempe is a shit stirrer. He tries to stir up shit everywhere to gain attention for his UMNO election in March and he knows very well his UMNO brothers like and enjoy it. Secondly by doing all this PR will have their hands full to remedy the situation and attention diverted from their actual work.
One day (very soon) we'll hear that Toyol will be struck by lighning while sleeping...AlFatihah...
written by savemalaysia, February 20, 2009 22:04:21
The Govt has so much of time in digging into the affairs of PR but has no time to address the ailing economy. Najis is so lackadaisical, apathetic and painfully slow in dealing with what that bothers the people most - their rice bowl.
written by Urangsabah, February 20, 2009 22:23:36
Well this seem to be the same strategy, they use in Perak to get the 2 to jump ship,

I hope YB Khalid will not be easily UMNOed. This are desperate times, so UMNO are using desperate action to protect their turf just like the Mafia......

PR if you survive this turbulence and trying times, where the whle UMNOed goverment machinery has been activated to wipe out opposition......from the ashes rises the New Dawn For Malaysia - a pipe dream for me and 29 milion other Malaysia with the exception of the UMNOed Guys and Gals.....
written by hiro, February 20, 2009 22:42:29
Didn't you know? MACC stands for Malaysian Advanced Corrupting Commission
written by ez24get, February 20, 2009 22:55:55
ACA was already bad enough. Now Badawi has created and given this new creature, MACC, more powers to go after all those who try to challenge UMNO. This is not reformed agency! This agency is deformed - blind to big corruption but very efficient in catching ikan bilis and those who oppose the powers that be!

If this is not a deformed agency, what is?
written by SeriousLy, February 20, 2009 22:59:52
Stupid idiot UMNO and whoever support them are enemy of Malaysia's future! they are robbing our grand children's money for themselves! Touch Selangor MB or topple this PR government will be retaliated with further hatred towards BN! Real stupid UMNO!
written by Msian Idol3, February 20, 2009 23:27:16
Organised criminal gangs infiltrated MACC. Staffed with boddeks to make sure rakyats cases disappeared with time.
written by Wahyu, February 20, 2009 23:27:39
MACC sudah bersedia untuk mendakwa MB Selangor, Khalid.

Maka, Kerajaan SELANGOR pimpinan pakatan rakyat akan tumbang dulu
sebelum kerajaan Kedah.
written by Fuminari, February 20, 2009 23:55:44
the 'wife steals while husband robs' khinzir toyol is jus an indon thief mixed well in the umno triad.
but pathetically for all malaysian,MCAA is seem to be another guard dog for the triad but fed on fund from the rakyat blood, sweat n tear tax payers' money!
wake up rakyat,umno could never reform,n this is the so called 'refomed' legacy of ahmad bodowi!this is what the 'wow' factors umno be end goons hav been sh.it talking about!!!!
the only way to save ourselves are the rakyat ourselves!!!
written by SamSan, February 20, 2009 23:56:16
Muhammad bin Muhammad Taib is the cleanest person in UMNO as he was cleared by the Brisbane court in not understanding simple English on money laundering. Unless I am wrong here. Can anyone clarify this matter. Was there a review of the Brisbane Courts decision that stated that it made serious error of judgement then. Muhammad bin Muhammad Taib is the right UMNO candidate to be elected to the UMNO Deputy Presidents post compared to Abdullah's traitor / Brutus character Muhyiddin. Rahim Tamby Chik is the best canditate for the UMNO vice presidency post as he was found clean of any underaged rape. In fact our honourable Lim Guan Eng was found guilty of tarnishing his squeeky clean image and jailed. In fact according to our PM in waiting, Malaysia is the only country in this God damned world not affected by the Current Financial Tsunami. Thanks to his vigilant and excellent economic management credentials. Malaysia Boleh!Malaysia Bolih!Malaysia Bolih!
written by back2future, February 21, 2009 00:10:33
yb khalid fight back , no doubt all the documents being erased before u took over , i believe there still a lot out there to prove , dun tell me , kerajaan perak tumbang pasal kereta camry dan kerajaan selangor akan tumbang pasal lembu
written by Lim Lim, February 21, 2009 00:12:01
umno be end hav no way to win back those five states with a genuine mandate from the people!n umno be end hav no intention of regain these states via the proper channel of democracy,via good showing on virtues of good governance!
they can't !!! becos umno be end hav been rotten to the core,corrupted n ran out of good leadership which one can easily sees it for urself!
they couldn't even be man enough to face the people of perak n main rampas dgn rasuah! blackmailings n threats.
n now in selangor,they are trying to use their lapdog mcaa to carry out the dirty job again!
hey,bodowi...!!u can talk till cow come home about reforms ,change the name of aca to mcaa to makohai to what ever u want,after all what hav been proven for all malaysian to see are "it is jus a piece of umno be end SHI.T""!!!
written by tryme, February 21, 2009 00:20:34
u all know lah, MACC only have tooth to investigate those corruption case below RM1 million. Those more than million or billion is out of their range, sorry they cant help. This is Malaysia, im shame to be Malaysian, Singaporean must be ketawa there...
written by freedom to speak, February 21, 2009 00:31:18
..... the BN onslaught continues.
After Perak, is it Selangor next?

DEAR MB OF SELANGOR,
You have been served. The time is now.
Seek your assemblyman and DISSOLVE the ASSEMBLY, NOW!!!

BN is throwing a spanner into your works and they will succeed, as usual.
Give the responsibility to SAFEGUARD the state of Selangor BACK TO THE PEOPLE.
It is safest there. You have been given fair warning.
BN, the sleeping WHITE ELEPHANT has awaken and is on a roll.
YOU CANNOT (i REPEAT, CANNOT, CANNOT) fight a runaway brute like it.
The best way is to give in. (Law of nature, let it runaway to its death).
The RAKYAT WILL surely give you back the state, eventually.

I PRAY YOU GUYS THINKS CAREFULLY, AND DO IT NOW!
(Anyone with contacts to reach them (PR_Selangor), please advise accordingly)
FAST,FAST, FAST... no time to lose or you lose the state and dignity of each PR assemblyman.
written by uxzee, February 21, 2009 00:40:17
Congratulations Ahmad Said for this most politically motivated statement. I am so "convinced" by your one sided investigation and this has made me so sick of UMNO that I will go all out to support PR and their cause.

It is natural talents like you, Gani Patail, KJ, Zahid Hamidi, Nazri, Hamid Albar and a big bunch out there, that drive me so passionately out of UMNO and into PR.

New recruits of these talents that drive people out of UMNO/BN include Zambry, Sultan of Perak, Sultan of Selangor.

With all these "talents" it will be very very soon before UMNO meet their end. Keep it up.
written by Organiclizer, February 21, 2009 01:35:49
I feel sad lah. But I am in an opinion that Mr. Khalid should NOT bring out that MACC has double standard or something similar. Because 2 wrongs doesnt make a right.

Mr. Khalid, quietly prove them wrong, we unfortunately (to them) are not as silly as they have always thought we were. Things they do always challenge our maturity and intelligence and I am getting very fedup of it.

Mr. Khalid, you are a already rich before you took the job, you don't really need this job for the money to be honest, I appreciate your commitment to bring great future to the state. Fight on.
written by Wakeupmsia, February 21, 2009 01:46:46
When not IF, Pakatan Rakyat takes over the Federal Government, they should bring to trial the top echelon personnel of G. agencies to court. Sacking them is not an option and it will not be Justified in the eyes of the Rakyat. Only then, can we have the Rule Of Law in this land.
written by thor, February 21, 2009 05:12:52
Sankara questioned why Ahmad Said prejudged his client and urged the MACC to act professionally.

Well, Ahmad will then say "It is subjudice" with an air of deep and profound knowledge smilies/grin.gif These jokers sometimes don't even know what craps they splew.

Meanwhile Selangor BN and Umno chairman Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib said it was up to the MACC and the Attorney General to take the necessary action against Khalid.

The Rural and Regional Development Minister declined to comment further.

This NO SPEAKE LER INGRIS LAH hve no comment ah? This is quite UNBECOMING of him as the speaketh that word when talking abt the Perak's Speaker, shown on NTV7 two days ago I think. Syabas MM finally taking Kelas No One ah ???smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES AND PEOPLE CARRYING MILLIONS IN BRIEF CASE TO DOWN UNDER
written by mikewang, February 21, 2009 05:52:05
Dear PeeM,

Is this the result of your so called unfinished job to establish a new anti-corruption agency?

~PTUI!~
written by wongnoball, February 21, 2009 06:47:13
Wait for an 3 UMNO MP to Jump to Pakatan...then 8 from Pakatan to Jump to UMNO-BN..........but check mate them immediately after the Jump to call for Statewide By election.... Once Bitten twice Shy. Obliterate Regim kejam Ganas UMNO!

We need to clean up the GREED and Corruption and Racism!! Its Chaos Everywhere, Barisan Najis is in Overdrive, time to Disrupt , disrupt their Plan....Disrupt their plans. When something Happen in Selangor go disrupt Pahang, If Perak, Malacca, If Penang go Kacau Johor....lets Chaos their Stronghold too...this is NOT a NORMAL Event.

All working to Najis taking of power and EMERGENCY Rule immediately....like Father like Son...under the Guidance of Tun Dr. Munafik.

Do something not natural with your DNA.....Najis also getting his Army Boys on stand BY (while he was the minister there, rosmah Botox bought a few ranking Army capable of commanding a platoon....Don't worry I have boys inside that will put a bullet in them all if the Signal is Invoke. Max Chaos UNSEEN IN MALAYSIA if Emergency is Invoke!!

Agong also Worried with Peaceful transition...that is why he mentioned it!!
written by Sudahlah tu, February 21, 2009 08:03:26
inilah apa yang kita hendak mempertengahkan kepada rakyat berbangsa melayu yang hakikat sebenarnya hidup mereka selalu dalam keadaan terdesak adalah kerana mereka adalah patung permainan umno.
selama ini segala jentera kerajaan diberi ceramah dan pengajaran yang Malaysia akan dikuasai oleh bangsa lain jikalau mereka tidak bersatu menyertai umno untuk mempertahankan ketuanan mereka.
jentera kerajaan kezaliman umno kini bertindak menyusahkan kerajaan PR dan membuat hal-hal yang haram.
mereka inilah merupakan pengkhianat bangsa melayu yang tamak dan bodoh.
apa gunanya apabila keagungan budaya bangsa melayu digadaikan untuk menjadi perisai percuma umno dan menyebabkan keamanan negara terjejas.
dengan beberapa ribu binatang tamak umno yang zalim bersama dengan golongan elit yang tamak , mereka mengawal segala perlembagaan negara dengan meletakkan anjing belaan termasuk saudara sendiri daripada negara jiran untuk mengetuai kezaliman umno.
segala tindakan tamak dan ingin menandingi taraf dunia telah menjadi golongan elit terdesak hingga sanggup menipu dan berdosa besar terhadap rakyat.
mereka sendiri bukan berpegang kepada keimanan Islam dengan teliti tetapi mengeluarkan syarat Islam mengikut kepentingan mereka sendiri.
mereka sebenarnya memperalatkan Allah sebagai mata api bagi memulakan kemarahan bangsa melayu kepada rakyat lain.
kalau sudah mengerjakan sembahyang 5 kali sehari pun masih melakukan kezaliman keji .... mengapa bangsa melayu masih menyokong binatang zalim umno dan golongan elit.
kalau mereka yang kaya sudah lupa diri dan ini menggantikan Allah , adakah itu menunjukkan yang bangsa mealyu setuju dan berdosa kepada Allah ...
written by Sudahlah tu, February 21, 2009 08:06:56
walaupun umno dan golongan elit memaksa kerajaan PR ditumbangkan dengan cara yang berdosa dan zalim , segala dosa mereka akan Allah balas ....
mereka tidak pernah percaya kepada Allah dan hanya menggunakan Islam sebagai alat pengawalan terhadap bangsa melayu ...
52 tahun .....isu keagamaan dipermainkan oleh umno ...
politik Malaysia yang kotor sebegini telah merosakkan budaya unik dan maruah bangsa melayu dan keagungan Islam ..
siapa yang bodoh sekarang.
written by Qcumber, February 21, 2009 08:13:09
One sentence describes all......Ahmad Said is very unprofessional.
written by Catharsis, February 21, 2009 08:33:22
WE CAN TALK AND TALK TILL THE COWS COME HOME and these egoistic moronic clowns will still be performing their mischievious monkeys acts..........

THESE MASTERS OF INJUSTICE THAT MAKE UP THIS GOVERNMENT OF THE SELF AND BY THE SELF HAVE TO GO...................SIMPLE AS THAT..................
written by msiaman, February 21, 2009 08:48:47
How can paying maintenance to his SUV and Cows be considered criminal?

Cows can definitely be for public consumption and how do you establish it as wrong? Unless this MACC fella treats the poor in Selangor as Khalid's family. Speaking of family, why not dig out all PM's ex-in-laws. I am sure you will instantly be able to see all relationship and that would be abuse of power and conflict of interest. Latest being award of contracts by Mindef.

As for maintenance for SUV, at most, the committee can say not approved and Khalid reimburses the state fund. Anyway, if he uses the car for official purposes, he should be allowed to at least claim for mileage or acceptable maintenance. This happens in Corporate company as well. Don't tell me that is criminal in nature? You mean Zakaria Palace does not attract more abuse of power and process than this?

written by kurangfaham, February 21, 2009 09:15:44
Itu MACC memang macam anjing, belum ada apa-apa sudah mula menyalak ke sana sini. Dia punya chief itu ada apa kuasa untuk memaklumkan ke awam dia ada bukti yang kukuh untuk mendakwa Menteri Besar Selanor. jangan cakap besar lu anjing , kalau ada bukti dakwa sahajalah bukan menyalak ( kerana awak punya muka memang macam anjing kurap) melalui media UMNO syaitan. Lain kali jangan cuba berpandai-pandai, kerana kebodohan awak sudah nampak melalui percakapan awak.
written by matt3238, February 21, 2009 09:21:24
MACC head by a CORRUPTED ARSEHOLE. Our country is really Ashame in the eyes of the world.

ARSEHOLE.... Get lost and go to HELL.
written by chronos, February 21, 2009 09:57:26
The motto "without fear or favour" does not ring with macc (they dont deserve reckoning) They don't know their priorities, fact is they don't know what they are doing, just follow what UMNO says. This whole bag of rotten arseholes must be thrown away to prison.
written by chronos, February 21, 2009 10:00:27
MACC tidak ada MARUAH, selalu jadi BARUAH.
written by diehard, February 21, 2009 12:32:18
http://rockybru.com.my/2009/02...n-law.html
written by Areyaar, February 22, 2009 03:24:50
There is already an immense amount of hatred towards those who are behind this latest vile and evil plot, but it seems that this group of morally bankrupt demons are determined to come up with more ways to make the rakyat hate them even more.

Are they so stupid that they think they will gain the peoples' confidence by siezing power thru such blatantly unethical means?

It is so amazing that it boggles the mind: instead of trying to win over the people by working to improve their rotten reputation, they are hell bent on completely destroying any chance of redeeming their trashy image.

How can anyone trust anyone whose sole objective seems to be to sieze control any which way.

Is it about how much money they can make by having absolute control? If so, they must be dying a thousand deaths at the thought of all those billions of lovely ringgit they are unable to get their filthy hands on. Penang, Selangor and Perak have immense commercial value. Think of the billions being traded and then think of how much pain it must be causing them as they digest the fact they can't be there calling the shots.