Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Open letter to the king of Malaysia about blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin

Open letter to the king of Malaysia about blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin PDF Print
Friday, 20 February 2009 09:05

Reporters Without Borders secretary-general Jean-François Julliard wrote today (17 February 2009) to Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin Ibni Almarhum Sultan Mahmud Al Mukhtafi Billah Shah, the king of Malaysia, asking him to intercede in the case of "RPK".

“Your Majesty,

Reporters Without Borders, an organisation that defends press freedom worldwide, would like to draw your attention to the case of Raja Petra Kamaruddin, a journalist also known as “RPK,” who is charged under the Internal Security Act (ISA) in connection with articles posted on his Malaysia Today blog (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/) and who now faces the possibility of being imprisoned again.

In the speech you gave today, you described the younger generation as Malaysia’s hope and future. RPK is a model of the free speech this generation should enjoy.

The way the federal court in Putrajaya is conducting RPK’s case is travesty of justice. The court’s impartiality is jeopardised by the fact that Augustine Paul, one of the three judges on the panel handling the case, issued a ruling against RPK in 2001 as a “threat to internal security.” RPK had posted comments online that lambasted the judge for his role in Anwar Ibrahim’s corruption trial - comments that were widely circulated on the Internet.

The decision by judges Nik Hashim Nik Ab Rahman and Zulkefli Ahmad Makinuddin to reject a request by RPK’s lawyers to recuse Judge Paul seems to be unconstitutional. Paul chose not to remain in court to hear the application for his recusal, leaving the other two judges. However, the law requires that such an application by heard by three federal judges.

Since the start of this case, the police and government officials have acted outside the law as established by the constitution. RPK was jailed under the only section of the ISA that allows the authorities to imprison a person without giving their reasons. And the charges brought against him violated some of his basic rights, including individual freedom (article 5.1), freedom of expression (article 10.1) and freedom of religion (article 11).

Malaysia has ratified the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, so such violations of freedom cannot continue. This situation threatens the rule of law in Malaysia and offers an extremely negative image of your country internationally. In the current context, it seems clear that this is a political manoeuvre to silence RPK and put pressure on Malaysia’s civil society leaders.

We believe that it is your role, as your country’s monarch, to defend your people and ensure respect for their basic rights, while remaining completely neutral and independent of any political party, as required by the constitution. This is why we are seeking your help and why we ask you to ensure the withdrawal of the appeal against RPK’s release and to prevent any other attempt to detain him under the ISA.

These proceedings are a challenge which Malaysia should take care to meet. A new hearing has been set for 23 February. We urge you, Your Majesty, to do everything in your power to prevent any further judicial errors.

We trust you will give our request your careful consideration.

Respectfully.”

written by Birdbrain, February 20, 2009 09:13:15
Please tell our King not to continue letting Umno insult his intelligence just like what happened in Perak. If a King loves his loyal subjects, the King should listen to his advisers who are apolitical not those implanted by Umno into the palace.

Malaysia needs a King for the common people!
agree 134
written by harryo, February 20, 2009 09:19:00
In Malaysia many have deaf ears.
written by Birdbrain, February 20, 2009 09:19:30
RPK is right now a good leader for the common people but we must also have a King for the common people too, otherwise the constitutional monarchy will not work.

Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku!
written by hellosunshine, February 20, 2009 09:21:08
Unfortunately, RPK gambled on PR taking over the govt and the C4 murderer prevented from seizing power but it didn't happen. Now, we can openly see all the unscrupulous and underhanded moves carried out to remove this prickly thorn in C4's backside. As for the royalty, I have not seen any actions that the rakyat can depend on for our salvation. smilies/sad.gif
written by wongnoball, February 20, 2009 09:24:37
the Rakyat is about to UNLEASH an Anger Not seen soon due to the crime(latest is the TAZER shock and Rob in Kuala Lumpur), unemployment.

We will HUNT Those Police, FRU and Rela down if they do not know and UNDERSTAND What is People Power. These Regim Kejam Ganas UMNO tools will be taught the same lesson as what we will do to UMNO...especially Najis, Khairy, Mukriz, Toyol and Fat Face Botox-Mah. Incidently Rosmah is Grooming her CHILDREN to be Next PM of Malaysia...like Mukhriz and Khairy.
written by SCM, February 20, 2009 09:57:08
Dear Jean-François Julliard,

The people thank you for trying. We had a very very corrupt and racist Prime Minister in the past who was the one who took Malaysia into the sewers that we currently live in. That man is still alive but is very senile now. He talks rubbish all the time. Actually, he used to talk rubbish in the past too. His son is now trying to be a future PM of Malaysia. This guy is a billionaire who, with his father, stole billions of our money. He wants more.

Our next PM is not even elected by the people and they still insist that Malaysia is a democratic country. He once said that he wants to drench his knife with Chinese blood. He and his fat ugly wife are also the persons who most Malaysians know are responsible for the brutal murder of Altantuya, the Mongolian mother of 2 children. That case was a staged comedy courtroom drama too.

The Malaysian police? Well, let me not even start with this group of thugs in uniform. Even recently, they brutally murdered a Malaysian boy who was in police custody. They murder Malaysians regularly.

At least Hitler was overt about his intentions. UMNO has the same intentions as the Nazi party but is covert in their ways to achieve their ends.

Thanks for trying anyway.
written by *********, February 20, 2009 10:02:38
Do we have a CONSTITUTIONAL MONARCHY or POLITICAL MONARCHY? Whatever the case, let's storm 'The Bastille' for our Brother RPK...More http://*********.********.com
written by malgal, February 20, 2009 10:11:51
fellow msians,
foreign quarters are concerned enough to write to our king. most ashamed we didn't even think that far, or that clearly.
did we lead rpk to the slaughter?
written by DezMalaysia, February 20, 2009 10:26:36
Money $$$ is the Universal KING ! Even in America, I believe the government will not prosecute the evil jewish lobby 's Kingpin ! What more to say in this Banana Kingdom ?
written by lamakawan, February 20, 2009 10:34:55
If RPK is jailed again this time around, the government, especially the UMNO leaders must be responsible if any untoward were to happen to him in jail. Let the whole world knows that this is not a threat but a true reflection of RPK's request not to accept any food in prison.
written by mulut murai, February 20, 2009 10:35:18
Dear all
Please mind your language when talking about our King, because,

1. It may get RPK into further trouble.
2. The King has not done anything to deserve your tirades...some Sultans yes, but not the King.
written by Msian Idol3, February 20, 2009 10:45:08
Anyone knows anything on whether the King can pardon someone at his discretion?
written by Semut Jantan, February 20, 2009 11:19:07
If RPK goes down, hundreds will rise up...

Count me in. MT will be 10x better. Together we shall flourish.
written by lamakawan, February 20, 2009 11:46:14
To malaysia idol, if I can remember during Mahathir's reign, there was this culture minister who was committed for murder of a aasemblyman or MP. He was subsequently pardoned by the king. May be 20 or 30 years ago or thereabouts.
written by BGs, February 20, 2009 12:38:42
Thks Jean but I doubt it would make a difference. Sorry but there's how pessimistic we Malaysians are about Royalty caring for the citizens. Plse do help follow up on a larger world platform if your appeal is ignored as this might get more attention eventually.
written by Liberace, February 20, 2009 13:29:57
malgal, I don't think it's because we didn't think of writing to the king. I think we're just suffering from disappointment fatigue. It's not like we've never done it before. Even gave our IC and all. We didn't even get nod of acknowledgment from the palace nanny. And after the Sultan Azlan Shah and Raja Nazrin's show in Perak, I think we know better. Now the ball is in the Palace's court. It's their turn to prove us wrong. But I indeed thank all foreign organizations who've taken up our cause. It's good to know that we're not alone.
written by sambal muncha, February 20, 2009 17:08:00
If this Royal trend continues, my kid will live to see Malaysia as a Republic.
written by carlitos, February 22, 2009 08:51:59
same case lah just like perak, can forget any open letter.. leeches only like open wound, only one who is producing free flowing open wound to the rakyat $$ is Barisan Najis.

What is the use of sending letters when it goes to blind eyes, furthermore it is not what they see that they care it is what they hear, the only sound heard is the ringing sound of 20 silver pieces being dropped by Barisan Najis.. and these people are more interested in selling their soul to syaitan than to help the raykat who they probably see as someone who is below them. Only to serve their needs as kuli.
written by Vasily, February 22, 2009 19:32:52
Republic...Republic...Republic!!!
Fcuk Royals.....
Hammers & sickels...unite!!
written by Old Man, February 22, 2009 21:08:59
We appreciate Mr Julliard's concern. However, it'll come a time where we oppressed, suppressed and repressed Malaysians have to decide, TO BE or NOT TO BE!