Royal Commission of Pondans PDF Print
Saturday, 26 January 2008 13:53

By Little Bird

I actually wanted to title this the Royal Commission of something else but with all the fart jokes stinking up the Lingam Video inquiry it is perhaps apt to link the conduct of the Royal Commissioners with unmanly behaviour. They are sissies, maybe even bordering on cowardice.

{mosgoogle right} A Blogger who writes on this site explained to me in detail that during his rule, time was Dr Mahathir’s greatest friend. Through all the crises, economic downturns, general elections and recalcitrant foreign leaders time was always on his side. There is no shortage of time available if you want to postpone something. There is only a shortage of time when you want to do things in a hurry. Dr Mahathir was able to use time to do both ie to get things done in a super hurry and to postpone pesky problems to another day.

But when he postponed a party election, a General Election or sparred with the Keatings, Gores and Soros of this world he treated any extra time he got like the precious commodity that it was. Dr Mahathir was known to burn up candles working hard at his job. No PM before or since worked as hard as Dr Mahathir. And he also knew what to do if he had any extra time.

And today after his retirement even some of the Opposition has rallied around Dr Mahathir. Time has always favoured him. Even personally - a ripe old age, relatively robust health and good fitness have served him well. He also outlived them all.

But the same is not the case for Abdullah Badawi. Badawi does not have a clue about what to do to run the country. He gets nervous when he has to make a decision or read a brief. That is why he keeps leaving the country to go overseas. He does not have to work or worry about anything important or serious when he is overseas. Whether it is loafing around Perth in Australia, sleeping on someone’s boat, sleeping on board the plane or sleeping at the Davos Economic Forum it all means the same thing : he does not have to work.

He just postpones matters without using the extra time to find solutions. So problems do not go away. When they come around again, Abdullah Badawi goes away overseas.

When he tries to do something it always backfires. Without thinking Badawi dispatched the MCA Minister to China to apologise to the Chinese Government for the ‘poor treatment’ of a Chinese girl by the Police. Firstly asking women to do naked squats is procedure and physical examination to find hidden objects. The offense took place when some idiot video taped the girl and showed it to everyone. But the PM looked the idiot again when it was found out the girl was a local Malay lass and not even Chinese. The Malaysian Government was made to look totally stupid.

Obviously the PM was set up by his own Police, of which he is the Minister. They knew the Malay identity of the girl all along but they kept it from the PM. It was possibly a “teh tarik” bet among some Senior Police Officers to see just how big a fool they could make of the PM. More than anyone else, the Police know just how sleepy the PM can be. He does not know what to do.

Now in similar fashion the sleepy PM has appointed a Royal Commission of Inquiry to look into the Lingam Video recording. Again he has done this without thinking. Promising transparency and ‘lets get to the bottom of this’ the PM and whoever are his advisors thought they could gain voters confidence by dredging up dirt from the Mahathir era and exposing it in open court hearing. They even put Dr Mahathir on the witness list and called Dr Mahathir to the witness stand. But as the CNN broadcast of the event showed, Dr Mahathir gave a good accounting of himself. When he walked in, everyone stood up, including the judges. As one Mahathir critic said Dr Mahathir came across quite clearly that he exercised his authority as the Prime Minister and he was not answerable to anyone for his actions. In the appointment of judges, he said he listened to his officers, the Police, dinner guests or anyone else. But the final decision was his alone. The Royal Commission then thanked him and he went home for tea. And that was the end of that.

But here is an almost unbelievable news headline from today’s Star:

January 26 2008

Hearings in camera so that only relevant testimony is allowed

KUALA LUMPUR: The Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Datuk V.K. Lingam video clip will not be “that open anymore” to prevent baseless and wild allegations from making way into the news. “It’s not going to be that open anymore, like previously. It’s not nice for the news to come out first and then only it is (evidence) decided whether it is relevant to the terms of reference of the inquiry,” commission secretary Datuk Abdullah Sani Ab Hamid said. “The commission must determine first the questions to be asked so that unrelated matters are not brought up.” The commission wanted to make sure that allegations that had nothing to do with the video clip would not be included as evidence, he said after the panel heard submissions behind closed-door proceedings yesterday. Earlier, the Royal Commission heard in camera arguments on whether Lingam’s brother and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim should be called to testify on the alleged closeness between the lawyer and judges. The commission stopped the press and public from attending the morning and afternoon sessions yesterday as lawyers for the two proposed witnesses had indicated they would be touching on certain personalities in the course of their submissions.

So they are afraid of Anwar Ibrahim! They do not want to give Anwar Ibrahim a platform from which he can preach to the gallery. But Anwar Ibrahim is the person who exposed this Lingam Video clip which resulted in the formation of this Royal Inquiry. Anwar Ibrahim is also number four on the list of 16 witnesses to be called by this Royal Commission. Surely the public wants to hear what he has to say. But it has been two weeks now and about a dozen witnesses have been called but Anwar Ibrahim has been passed over. Apa pasal takut sangat kat Anwar Ibrahim?

Earlier Commission chairman Tan Sri Haidar Mohd Noor had said “Show your face today and speak under oath.” Now Tan Sri Haidar will say ‘Show your face and lets whisper behind closed doors. Don’t worry we will close the doors to the press and the public’.

The reason is simple. Just like the case of the naked woman in the Police lock up, this Royal Commission is becoming more an embarrassment for Abdullah Badawi than for Dr Mahathir or Anwar Ibrahim. As a result the political masters are now interfering and calling the shots. The Royal Commission has lost its transparency and its independence. The man who is calling the shots now is Badawi’s agent planted to supervise this Royal Commission. Who is he? Lets read the Star again :

It’s not going to be that open anymore, like previously. It’s not nice for the news to come out first and then only it is (evidence) decided whether it is relevant to the terms of reference of the inquiry,” commission secretary Datuk Abdullah Sani Ab Hamid said. The commission must determine first the questions to be asked so that unrelated matters are not brought up.”

So now Datuk Abdullah Sani is telling the judges of the Royal Commission they just cannot be transparent anymore. Not just Anwar Ibrahim but others also want to connect the former Yang Di Pertuan Agong, the former Chief Judge Fairuz and God knows how many other issues to this Royal Inquiry. What a can of worms. So this Royal Commission of Bravehearts and Defenders of Truth has become a Royal Commission of Pondans.

Apart from Haidar, the other commission members are retired Court of

Appeal judge Datuk Mahadev Shankar, former chief judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Steve Shim Lip Kiong, former solicitor-general Puan Sri Zaitun Zawiyah Puteh and Malaysian Human Rights Commission commissioner and Professor Emeritus Datuk Dr Khoo Kay Kim. If they want to uphold real principles they should just resign. But this is Malaysia. Cari makan comes first.

So the longer this ‘Royal Commission’ charade goes on, it will make Badawi look even worse. But lets focus folks. Lets cut the crap and get to the point. We all want to know ‘Did Lingam use undue influence to get Dr Mahathir to appoint judges?’. This is where ultimately the Royal Commission cannot arrive at any earth shaking conclusion.

Yes it was Lingam speaking on the phone. But who was he talking to? Fairuz says it was not him. Lingam said he was not talking to Fairuz. The ACA says they could not trace Lingam’s phone or even his phone number. So where is the evidence that Lingam was talking to Fairuz?

But even if Lingam and Fairuz confess that they were talking to each other so what? The Royal Commission must prove that Dr Mahathir listened to these two clowns in the appointment of judges. Dr Mahathir has said that in the appointment of judges, Sultans, choosing the King, picking the MPs, appointing Cabinet Ministers etc he listens to Lingam, Mutu, Christopher, Siti Nurhaliza, Wong, Hussein, Melissa, Sue, Hamidah, Khatijah, Mak Jah, Lebai Omar and that tall mamak fellow. But ultimately he makes his own decision in anything.

So what exactly is this Royal Commission trying to achieve? Kalau nak malukan Tun Dr Mahathir, well he has already come and gone. Tak kena apa pun. Now it is the Royal Commision that is running and hiding behind closed doors. And they are not going to achieve anything either. Why don’t they just pack up and go home. Buang karan, buang air dan buang masa saja.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by ahmed, January 26, 2008 13:58:31
This is a good piece. I'm jealous the way you handle words and phrases
written by BennyG, January 26, 2008 14:04:55
The more Bodowi try, the more foolish he appears. It looked like that his advisors are not as smart as they think. Trying to make Mahathir look but instead some many worms appear and Bodowi still has to protect those people showed how limited his resources/team are.
written by teo siew chin, January 26, 2008 14:09:53
Little Bird - you are one geram, funny, sharp birdie smilies/cheesy.gif. Keep up the good writes!

BTW were you one of those who yelled for the RC? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by manny_california_usa, January 26, 2008 14:26:02
This so called Royal Commissions were set up not to bring out any thruth but merely were set up for 2 reasons:-

Firstly, the panels are so proud that they are called as 'ROYAL'S'
Secondly, after the case they will be paid with a good 'KOMISYEN'

written by GordonLim, January 26, 2008 14:28:03
Royals and Commission payment- Manny California USA.
written by doggone, January 26, 2008 14:29:06
This is such a good read.
Anything that enlarge the font size of the word BODOH
on sleepy's forehead certainly pacify some of our anger.
Sadly our frustration remains.
We will send the 'poorah' message to him this coming GE.
written by geddemtata, January 26, 2008 14:30:09
VISIT YOU TUBE -- CANDLE VIGIL MEMBANTAH ISA ,THAIPUSAM IPOH
PART 1, PART 2, PART 3 &PART 4...
THE BEST DONE
written by Statesman, January 26, 2008 14:53:22
Excellently worded Little Bird. The country is run by clowns and the judiciary is a mockery. Just got to get rid of the clowns thats all. Will the people be smart enough to vote Mr. Ibrahim's party in.
written by MsLim, January 26, 2008 14:55:53
Little Bird, Raja Petra, I always have a hearty laugh reading articles by both of you. Somehow my depression, tension and anger against the BN are all evaporated. Keep your articles coming. Thanks
written by raven1958, January 26, 2008 15:02:23
Someone along the line must have credibility... dont they? It surely cannot be Badawi...the dumbo...but what happened to the brains ..and balls of every one of those RCI members..Haidar, Shim, Mahadev, etc....surely at least one of them should be standing up for his own credibility and principles and say...I am not going to be part of this circus and resign....but all of them aren't doing it....is the whole country made this way....not possible...otherwise there wont be BERSIH or HINDRAF.....the buck has to ultimately stop somewhere....but it is certainly not going to stop at the current lot of RCI members who are now destined to go their graves as unprincipled men and women......
written by mikewang, January 26, 2008 15:04:06
I thought I read somewhere in the media that female Chinese nationals did complain before that they were asked to do squats to prying eyes of amorous males ?
The video taping, albeit to a Malay lass, was only proof that such incidents did happen.

I don't think the apology was out of order.

written by hiro, January 26, 2008 15:16:33
I'm not sure if any one of you feel angry, but I am feeling damned pissed.

The video plays a historical account of our nation. It does not affect national security, and it does not affect a child. There is absolutely no reason why it can't be continued in open court.

It is mind boggling and inconceivable that case-fixing cannot be relevant. What is the worst possible thing that could arise from judge-fixing, if not case fixing??

Haidar and the commission is beginning to sound like another Augustine Paul when he ruled conspiracy theory irrelevant in Anwar's corruption trial.

This must end now! All of us should be pissed enough that some of us who are still considering giving BN a chance over the ilks of PAS should be able to settle out conviction come general election.

There is no saving this country save removal of BN. I'd rather take the risk of what comes after, because if I can help remove BN despite all odds, I can help remove any incompetent, chauvinist, idiotic, stupid, dishonest, lying government that comes after BN just as easily.
written by gundohing, January 26, 2008 15:33:46
I like the closing lines, it sums up the whole episode... Buang karan, buang air dan buang masa saja. It brightens up my day Little Bird with a loud laugh.
written by mikewang, January 26, 2008 15:35:30
Was the Secretary of the Commission Datuk Abdullah Sani telling the judges of the Royal Commission that they should conduct the inquiry behind close doors or was he merely conveying the consensus of the panel ?

Is is important to establish which is the correct message.

One other thing'
It is difficult to establish misbehaviour because rule of law is bent and corrupted by the rule of man & politics.
So if this country really want to establish misbehaviour, she must remove the layers of crusts deposited by the years of corrupt/abuse and try again.

ie. Try the corrupt with a new government !
written by nasilemak, January 26, 2008 15:42:28
It is not Lingam or Mahathir we should be appalled at. Understandably they are the ones protecting their a**ses

BUT It is the "royal" commission who are being judged here.

If they are really doing their job, the world and we will not be laughing at these lingam/tdm antics.

BOTH of these skilled "politicians" are making donkeys out of our "judicial" system..as if we needed any more help on that area!
written by Penghijrah, January 26, 2008 16:39:06
lingam Park tape is "clone"altantunya.The Royal Commission will convene every working day untill the end of the world and still no result achieved.Look,malaysia boleh.
written by tsuchong, January 26, 2008 16:50:25
What's written is correct x5

It may look like RC, it may sound like a RC, but it may not be an RC.
written by Yew Loke, January 26, 2008 17:43:51
Badawi is a stupid old folk, horny old custard. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Bennyloh, January 26, 2008 17:59:20
Listening to Lingham's farts..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...akini.html
written by Meerkat, January 26, 2008 18:06:18
I am going to submit a new phrase to Oxford dictionary for their next edition...

Lingam defence -(Definition) A verbal defence technique to exonerate oneself from any wrongdoing (especially with video evidence) with words like " It looks like me, sounds like me, I cannot comment furtherlah"

Example: After avidly following the recent Royal High Commission testimonies by the so called " high-profiled" witnesses, my close friend tried to use the Lingam defence to uphold his dignity when he was charged by the police after a CCTV recoding from Majlis Perbandaran Kuala Lumpur caught him pouring Starbucks coffee (which he could not finish) into the potted plants placed outside KLCC.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Motherchell, January 26, 2008 19:01:39
Beautiful write up Little Bird, very good work!

Wish Rafidah could read and write!!!!!!!!!!She may have a forked tongue, but has lots to gain in knowledge and how to exhibit the dazzle of erudition in a blog by Little Bird!

What do these so called leaders like her and her sleepy Boss plan for a future breed of New Malaysians.???? A cage full of parrots???

I'm mad as hell little bird!!!!!!!!!!Don't your think its time for us to sell Malaysia off as a parking lot to the Thais , then live in here facing incorrigible upstarts and sickos?????.

Kudos to your spontaneous mastery of facts to make this place a better one Little Bird!!!
written by wildman of borneo, January 26, 2008 19:10:57
This Lingam story reminds me of Richard Nixon (US President 1969-74) famous quotes "I am not a crook", often attributed to his denial of any foreknowledge of the Watergate break-in, when in fact the question raised in a Press Conference was about his personal finances.

I bet the rest of the ‘world’ knows Lingam has had made that judge fixing thingy, but the RC members are damned whoosh, coward etc, to bring out the whole truth.

Another new definition for ‘transparency’- to expose a person while peeing and the act of exposing shall be supported with photographic evidence.

written by alibaba anjing, January 26, 2008 20:46:05
Tun Mahatir seorang jantan. RC and AAB, semuanya pondan. Kata Mahatir, "Melayu mudah lupa". Kepada Tun Mahatir "Cina tak akan lupa jasa kamu kepada negara". smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Lipanbara, January 26, 2008 20:50:48
Wow, spicy Little Bird...You deserved to be alleviated to "BIG" bird now smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by densemy, January 26, 2008 21:02:39
This title is an insult to Pondans... who are what they are because they have no choice

"They are sissies, maybe even bordering on cowardice." Those people ( I hesitate to call them men) are not bordering on cowardice... they are simply out and out gutless cowards, with not a gram of moral integrity between them.

... as I might add are many Malaysian men, but then what do you expect from a society based on fear

written by DontPlayGod, January 26, 2008 21:52:36
Looks like the Royal Commission is not independent. It is supposed to answer only to the Agong, but now it seems it is taking orders from the secretary(from UMNO). I think the whole thing is beginning to look like a circus with all the commissioners looking like clowns.

As someone above wrote, why don't the commissioners just pack up and go home. Now, at first Lingam said it was just someone who looks like him and sounds like him. Now even though he admits it could be him, he says he was only bragging. This has surely got to be the biggest joker for the past 50 years(since Independence). And the fact is that this joker looks like he is going to have the last laugh.
written by johanssm, January 26, 2008 22:07:24
It is true and appropriate that "Haidar" is indeed a Hider as mentioned from another blog.When the court case is held behind closed door , especially this royal court,we can safely "rumours" they have something to hide.
Wheres the transparency here?
I suggest that the Agung appoints another group of judges for this court.
By exposing lingam is buddies to all those "witnesses"is just the starting point as to where all the roads will leads to, as not all the names was mentioned by lingam in his famous phone conversation.There is a big ocean of cronies out there and Haidar wants to hide it.

Not only we have jokers as miniters, but we have jokers as royal judges.
Agung better say something.
written by talk3talk4, January 26, 2008 23:19:28
Pondans got balls man

These guys got none
written by talk3talk4, January 26, 2008 23:41:14
This Royal Commission of Inquiry,
which looks like a Royal Commission of Inquiry
and it's name sounds like a Royal Commission of Inquiry,

is tasked to verify the authencity of a video clip and not about a man known as Mr.

'It looks like me, and the voice sounds like me'

Unbeknown to most of us, this Royal Commission, though it may looks and sound like one was actually
Inquirying into the actual amount of the Commission that is of Royal proportion..........

written by Milo, January 27, 2008 00:52:24
RCI = ROGUE COMMISSION OF INQUIRY?
written by Milo, January 27, 2008 00:53:57
Do we need a Closed-door RCI on the Lingam's tape issue?
written by supplier, January 27, 2008 01:10:08
IT IS GOING TO BE A COVER UP,LOOK AT THE WAY THE COMMISSIONERS ARE SIDING, WATSE OF TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by budakindia, January 27, 2008 06:47:05
maybe PM will use Lingam's catch line: "It sounds like me, looks like me but it's not me" Maybe he could further improve like "It sounds like me, looks like me, smells like me but certainly I wasn't the one hwo made that decision!" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif What an idiot!
written by drrafick, January 27, 2008 07:07:08
Melayu mudah lupa. Malaysia semua boleh...
written by Dogboy, January 27, 2008 08:30:57
The findings of the RC is going to be one of anit climax, you just watch
written by CIA, January 27, 2008 09:59:04
Royal Commission/Suruhanjaya Siasatan Diraja....SEE HOW THE JOKERS MAKE FOOL TO THE RAJA2. RAJA2 PLEASE DO SOMETHING BEFORE THE RAKYAT LOST THEIR CONFIDENT AND RESPECT TO YOU GUYS (RAJA2).
written by macaufan, January 27, 2008 12:15:08
good write up ! keep up ur good works.
written by joeawk, January 28, 2008 14:56:28
Time. Very cute. screw Badawi if you may but he has been PM for the last few years, long enough to show what he is made of but not long enough to dismantle the legacyt left behind by mahatir,the ultra malay racist.

Anyone who want to trumpet mahatir, let him go though the legacy left behind by mahatir, the education system, the govt administration where racial discrimination and manipulation takes place,the judiciary,the various tolls roads, the sssssssheer waste of money that poured into Langkawi, and lot's more.
written by tuanlokong, January 28, 2008 15:28:49
Never thought of that, RPK keep it up... smilies/wink.gif
written by alee, January 29, 2008 04:34:21
Election is imminent. We as Malaysian who love this country must do something to save this country from destruction by the corrupt politicians.

CALLING ALL READERS OF MT,let's use SMS to spread the education. We should take the important points from MT articles, condense them into SMS and send out chain SMS. We should have all all language versions. Encourage everyone to send to everyone else.

We must reach out to all Malaysians, especially the people in the kampongs and new villages !! Let's start today !! Can anyone start posting those SMS in MT so everyone can use ?