Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Ex-boyfriend sought

Ex-boyfriend sought PDF Print
Thursday, 19 February 2009 15:04

MALAYSIAN police are seeking the ex-boyfriend of opposition politician Elizabeth Wong after photos of her in the nude were circulated.

He has been identified as Mr Hilmi Malek (above), 32, who worked as a personal assistant to lawmaker Hee Loy Sian for nine months after last year's March general election.

Like Miss Wong, Mr Hee is also from the opposition party Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR).

Selangor police chief Khalid Abu Bakar said they had received two nude photographs, and a CD, of the 37-year-old Wong from a Malay Mail journalist.

The photos, which have been circulating since last week, reportedly show Miss Wong partially covered by a sarong. It is not known how the private snaps ended up in public circulation.

Police have recorded statements from four journalists from the Malay Mail and Sun, reportedly the first two newspapers to have received the photos.

They also recorded Miss Wong's statement on Tuesday, after she offered to resign from her Selangor executive councillor and assemblyman posts. PKR has not yet accepted her resignation. She is now on leave.

According to the Malay Mail, Mr Hilmi has been missing since last Saturday, with unconfirmed reports saying he has left the country. The paper quoted Mr Hilmi's colleagues as saying they were aware of his relationship with Miss Wong and that the latter had revealed that they had split up recently.

Prominent blogger and opposition MP Jeff Ooi wrote on his blog that this would be the second time a politician's aide was involved in such a scandal, and suggested they were 'trojan horses'. He cited the earlier example of opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim's aide Saiful Bukhari Azlan, who had accused Mr Anwar of having sodomised him.

'I believe there is a dire need for all Pakatan Rakyat leaders and elected representatives to beware of trojan horses in our earnest deeds to recruit new blood and party cadres,' he wrote.

For now, it appears that Miss Wong could continue as assemblyman.

PKR insiders said she may relinquish her executive council position in the Selangor government, but public support could enable her to keep her state seat, the Malaysian Insider news website reported.

Selangor chief minister Khalid Ibrahim has said he is open to the idea, but added he would seek the advice of the Selangor sultan and discuss the matter with the state executive council.

BN, opposition hit by fallout from scandal

THE storm over the semi-naked photographs of an opposition assemblywoman may have started as a private matter, but it has now become a complicated political mess for both sides.

Bullets have been fired at the Barisan Nasional (BN) for using it as a political weapon. But the opposition Pakatan Rakyat is also grappling with the difficulties of defending its assemblywoman without alienating the conservatives in its midst.

The BN took the first hit after the photographs of Selangor state's Miss Elizabeth Wong began circulating. Some even called it a BN conspiracy, despite the lack of evidence.

'This is a nasty, humiliating personal attack on her and we have seen this pattern of attack in Perak, Kedah and now, in Selangor,' opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim was quoted as saying in The Star daily yesterday.

Asked for proof that the BN was responsible, he reportedly said several blogs had made the link.

Deputy Premier Najib Razak yesterday denied that the BN was behind the scandal, and told the opposition to stop making baseless accusations.

'Where is the proof? Who did it? I don't know anything about it and suddenly the issue exploded in the papers. If they want to accuse us, please show proof,' he said.

There seems to be widespread belief in a conspiracy. This is not surprising as the BN is carrying the heavy burden of a loss of public confidence.

The timing of the photographs comes close to the toppling of the opposition government in Perak, and the resignation of an opposition assemblyman in Kedah. Mr V. Arumugam resigned abruptly after being accused of marrying another woman without divorcing his first wife.

'He was targeted, and it turned into a morality issue,' said political analyst Khoo Kay Peng.

In fact, many BN leaders, including the Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) women's chief Chew Mei Fun and Gerakan women's chief Tan Lian Hoe, have been sympathetic to Miss Wong.

They were swift to support her when the photographs of her asleep, partially naked, surfaced.

Miss Wong, 37, who tendered her resignation on Tuesday, did not say who took the photographs, but police are looking to question her former boyfriend Hilmi Malek, 32.

But what caught attention was Umno Youth chief aspirant Khir Toyo's call for Miss Wong's resignation. 'She is a single person. How can she allow a man into her room when they are not married?' he was quoted as saying.

There is vast sympathy for Miss Wong from the public, and Datuk Seri Dr Khir was slammed by many for his remarks.

But the opposition is also aware that there is a segment of Malaysian society who thinks like him, and views premarital sex as a sin.

'Wong the politician understands that there are people who do mind, and some could be in her constituency, hence her offer to resign,' columnist Zainul Arifin wrote in the New Straits Times.

Miss Wong had said she wanted to resign because she believed the attacks by the BN would continue with greater intensity.

But even within her coalition, there appears to be difficulties.

The conservative Parti Islam SeMalaysia has not spoken with one voice. While its women's chief Nuridah Salleh supported Miss Wong, its Selangor leadership has been ambivalent.

'If investigations reveal any moral transgression on the part of Wong, we feel that appropriate action must be taken against her to safeguard the integrity and good name of Pakatan Rakyat and the Selangor government,' it said in a statement on Tuesday.

The issue is complicated by the fact that Ms Wong's former boyfriend is Muslim, and is subject to Islamic laws on morality, such as those on close proximity.

'The matter could take on a new dimension,' said an MCA politician.

As Mr Khoo noted, the political twist in this private matter has merely reinforced the belief that sex scandals are the most potent tool to destroy political rivals in Malaysia. -- Carolyn Hong

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, February 19, 2009 15:12:46
Another Bala missing? I called his line but it went dead.
written by Mr Smith, February 19, 2009 15:29:31
This bugger is probably carrying a briefcase stacked with RM2 million.He may be happily taking pictures of some topless girls in the beaches of Bali.

This is a country where people can disappear into thin air. And they disappear with money in the pocket. Because we have a magician as DPM. Fat hopes of getting him.
agree 142
written by Xerxes, February 19, 2009 15:32:22
"....It is believed police wanted her boyfriend Hilmi Malek to return from a neighbouring country to give a statement....."

He absconded before the news broke. Now why did he run unless he knew he would be questioned and was told to hide away to prevent him from spilling the beans as to who is behind this whole conspiracy? This is very similar to Bala's disappearance. No witnesses, no proof so culprit gets away scot free.

written by bullets, February 19, 2009 15:34:36
it took a few days to establish the idea of questioning ex-bf. Ordinary people like us figured it out within minutes... no wonder he's missing!!! Yet our law enforcement officers passed interpol standard???
written by MasterYoda, February 19, 2009 15:41:55
www.facebook.com/home.php?#/gr...0128929725
Morale Support For Elizabeth Wong

www.facebook.com/home.php?#/group.php?gid=45582922716
The Last Emperor of Malaysia - Say No! to Najib. Tak Nak!!

written by Counterpointer, February 19, 2009 15:43:41
Again the PDRM are being made to look like fools.

Yesterday's new report:

SHAH ALAM, Feb 18 (Bernama) -- Police will record a statement from Bukit Lanjan assemblyman Elizabeth Wong's boyfriend over her nude pictures scandal today, Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar said.

And now that guy is missing in action presumably overseas?
Man, do I smell the trademark stench of Najis.
written by ellyna, February 19, 2009 15:46:13
So this is the useless piece of crap behind this. Hmmm....looks like another Saiful Bukhari case.
written by scottiebabie, February 19, 2009 15:49:00
Tolol, do u mean its fine for Ms Wong to allow a man into her bedroom if she's married? is that the reason for why our beloved ministers keep inviting PYTs (Pretty Young Thangs) into their rooms?
written by ellyna, February 19, 2009 15:49:56
Hallo DPM even with proof staring at you in the face, you are not going to admit it. We know from experience.
written by unomalaysia, February 19, 2009 15:53:33
To all females in Malaysia. Remember this shithead's face and if you see him remember to give him one tight slap on behalf of all females in the world. This piece of shit is the worst excuse for a man (after Mr Shit of course).
written by by2020, February 19, 2009 16:03:10
It is quite easy to put the pieces together for the truth.

This man probably caught by Special Branch and threaten with prosecution for khalwat. Then he is given this offer to take Eli's photo, or else he will be heading to Sungai Boloh Jail the next minute!

Unfortunately he is spineless, if the above speculation turn out to be true... For you Muslim brothers, the syariah law effect ...?
written by Kunta Kinte, February 19, 2009 16:13:05
Satu lagi projek di Bolehland oleh Barisan Najis! BRAVO!
written by hiro, February 19, 2009 16:16:01
1) Don't demonize Eli if it's Hilmi's fault

2) shouldn't we as Malaysians be celebrating cross race relationships?

3) There may be closet minded folks out there who believes in what Khir Toyo says, but the rest of more enlightened Malaysians should be more pro-active to educate them
written by panca, February 19, 2009 16:26:51
Stop all bullshitting until the person is produced in the EYES of the Malaysian public. He is NOT C4ed! He is ELSEWHERE enRICHed!

I think flying south to read a BOOK clears away the emotions.
written by fireduck, February 19, 2009 16:33:00
Of course, Najib. I believe you. Of course, BN is not involved. Of course you didn't know anything about it and 'suddenly the issue exploded in the papers'.

Ah, of course, of course.

Just like "I didn't know who Saiful is. Wait a minute, he came to see me for a scholarship. No, no, I recall now, he came to see me because he had a pain in the azz".

Of course, of course. Same goes with Ms Altantuya. "I do not know her. I just injected some growth hormone into her, if you know what I mean, but later Razak took her off me. No, not my father, the other Razak".

Sure, of course, Najib!!
written by fireduck, February 19, 2009 16:44:05
I guess the STAR and BN/MCA dogs are dutifully do their canine job. Notice how they are trying to spin the issue around to be one of possible khalwat or zina case?

What the heck has that got to do with the invasion of privacy in a person's own home. What has that got to do with invading a person's (and a sleeping one at that) body? It's as serious as a rape case. And what has that got to do with the circulating of those pictures, that were very, very obviously taken without the person's knowledge, with the criminal intent to blackmail and sexual harass the assemblywoman.

So, for all those spin scumbags, I summarize for you here:
The issues are:
1) Intrusion into the privacy of a female person in her own home
2) Invasion and molestation of the private body of a female person which cannot be morally tolerated
3) Blackmail
4) Sexual Harassment

I will leave out 'political dirty tricks' as you scumbags love to feast on that and revel at other people's misery, anyway.

written by mypanida, February 19, 2009 16:46:50
He is going to be the last eunuch of Asia !!!
written by CheGUvera, February 19, 2009 16:47:21
Another Bala, missing in action with C4...so now bala is missing, this punk is missing, when will bitch Hee go missing? Can the corrupt police force ever find anybody? BUT then again if we have the FAMOUS interpolis GAN, as a famous eg. i am that they ever find their way home
written by carribeanking7, February 19, 2009 17:00:57
"HILMI Malek, the man in the middle of police investigations into Malaysian opposition politician Elizabeth Wong's scandalous pictures, could be charged in a Syariah Court for various offences if she admits to their relationship.
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said although Wong was a non-Muslim, her testimony was valid in a Syariah Court. "

Oh is that so ? What about self confessed adulterer Abdul Razak Baginda ?
Special orders from DPM issit ? hypocrites.
written by Dominic, February 19, 2009 17:02:28
Son of a bitch ! I thought touching a can of non halal food is considered unclean and created so much hooha ? Here you have this bitch that goes beyond doing that. He should be properly charged on few counts both from the civil as well as syariah court. Wonder how much UMNO paid him to disappear ?
written by PangurBan, February 19, 2009 17:27:08
OK, I've seen the photos on some website, and I must say I am shocked at the way the Malaysian press has sensationalized them. To begin with, there is no way you can use the adjectives 'nude' or 'naked' to describe them. The subject is fully clothed. Someone has obviously very naughtily sneaked up to the subject, who is in blissful slumber, and taken a few shots up her sarong. The quality of the pictures is so bad (let me guess, Nokia?) you can't really see anything. At worst, you might want to describe this as nothing more than a puerile teenage prank. The fact that this whole thing has been blown up to such obscene proportions is a sad reflection on the political and moral landscape of our country.
written by advocatusdiaboli, February 19, 2009 17:37:10
Eli take this as a good lesson in life. This shameless bastard ought to be castrated. Any volunteers? Experience not necessary. What kind of a bf is this who betrays his woman? People take a good look at this photo. If you see this fcuker anywhere then you should know what to do. His parents ought to be ashamed to have brought up such a son into this world. In any intimate relationship there is some respect, but this bastard betrayed her altogether from day one. Hmmm....looks a bit like that saifool fella, his brother or relative aa?
written by Jan, February 19, 2009 17:39:21
I read the MSM and their reports seem to imply Wong is having a sexual relationship with Helmi and as such is immoral. Even the botox guy said Wong was immoral and has to resign. But are they having a sexual relationship? That's for Wong and her ex-beau to say not you not me and certainly not Toyo. So stop being a moral authority.
written by lynn, February 19, 2009 17:59:30
Elizabeth,

You don't have to quit. As worst, pls hold on to your state seat.
This thing will blow over soon enough. Anyway, i don't see any big deal in yr "photo".
At 37 I can understand your reaction. At 47, you wud realise, it's really no biggie.

Corruption is a million times worse than all this nonsensical trivia; dat is what is wrong with this country - the focus is always on trivia, on form rather than substance. No wonder Bodohland is in bn's rule for 50 yrs.

If you wish to give up your state seat, we want a by-election.

Your voter/supporter on March 8th 2008
written by NSTPravda, February 19, 2009 18:05:10
"MALAYSIAN police are seeking the ex-boyfriend of opposition politician Elizabeth
Wong"

Eli and PKR, move very very carefully
The police may not be acting sincerely
They are gathering more evidence to besmirch your reputation...
Think through the consequences of any further action.
Best of luck to you in everyway
We hope you will be semua-nya OK!
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by z3_demarco, February 19, 2009 19:05:17
look at this dog dog face?! Muka kerbau, badan monyet!? I think i will video him when he ZzzZ and shove a vibrator up his ass and tied his kuku to the ceiling fan! Hahahha
written by densemy, February 19, 2009 19:08:05
It makes you wonder about the IQ's of young Malay men.. and their inability to forsee the consequences of their actions

They might end up wealthy but will be shunned by everyone.
written by Krepot, February 19, 2009 19:18:31
Breaking news:

Hilmi was found in Najib's house this evening!

Najib who first denied it, later confirmed that he took Hilmi in and held Hilmi's hand while consoling him after.

Hilmi will be leaving for UK to further his studies in photography.

written by exzonerator, February 19, 2009 20:16:05
What a cheeky fella...
written by zcakw07, February 19, 2009 21:03:48
I would think the use of violent force should be discouraged and as a last resort to resolve issue.

Unfortunately, I cannot restraint myself to think about the use of violent force to revenge UmNo mafia whenever I see innocent people like Bala and Liz Wong get bullied by UmNo mafia.

We should locate this hopeless Hilmi and teach him a "good" lesson of being too "cooperative" with UmNo mafia. The Rakyat need to send a strong and consistent messege to all running dogs of UmNo mafia that they will never have the chance to live peacefully in the rest of their life until they come forward and confess their crime in helping UmNo mafia.
written by jonath66my, February 19, 2009 21:33:07
So Hearthtrob who has turned BolehLand into BOlehWood or is it Heartbreaker to so many millions of BolehLander has gonna a missing!!!!Let's give him the BOD (benefit of doubt) to clear his name. Did he sell his soul to the devil for a thumbnails of digital pixs.. see and 'Ode to Helmi' www.jonathan66-my.********.com
written by JohnQ, February 19, 2009 21:55:43
This crab has the looks of a gay?
More character revelations ? Malaysia feng tsui experts, pls read his face/palm/birthdate etc...... Another proof for your next year book/seminars/prediction... heheheh !!!!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Sabahfan, February 19, 2009 22:02:42
Sorry folks..... I NEVER TRUST CROSS RACE AND CROSS CULTURE AND RELIGION RELATIONSHIP.... see what happend to this one? TIPU ADA, VOYEUR ADA, CORRUPTED ADA...

AND WHAT would happened if Elizabeth has married this useless INDON looking man? would she have to POTONG as well? compulsory isnt it...

I am just very disappointed Eli has to trust this bastard, there are plenty of other loyal men around... ME for example...!!!

written by raven1958, February 19, 2009 22:04:22
You can run Hilmi....but many know you and your family....how long can you hide...god luck to you man ...wherever you are...dont wind up dead....the probability of that happening is now above average.
written by apasalahku, February 19, 2009 23:53:55
say what you want you assh-oles...but Eli is still a cutie to me
written by Davy McChester, February 20, 2009 00:48:48
The police had problem? solving the mongolian murder can they solve this crime ? We will wait and see.
If the subject has now become religious issue ,why not disclose the BS and the double standards so common. One does not have to go too far ! Look around Kuala Lumpur hotels and ask the hotel security where UMNOputras hang out. You will hear a lot of hotel gossips,which are good clues to further investigate. You live by double standards and have the cheek to accuse others. What kind of losers ?
written by clarity, February 20, 2009 01:44:42
Mr Mafia strikes again! sleazy pictures, people gone missing, bribery and corruption, mysterious C4 killing with no one giving instructions to do it and the list goes on.
written by SamBall, February 20, 2009 02:17:34
In my neck of the woods, we will usually pancung his little neck or cut of his dick, but in boleh land, he will we rewarded and promoted.

I hope he gets C4'ed
written by Areyaar, February 20, 2009 02:54:48
Ladies, let this be a huge, huge lesson to all: do not, DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, allow any man to take intimate pictures of you, however romantic or seductive it may seem like at the time.

And this includes even your husband, YES, EVEN YOUR HUSBAND, because he might one day end up as a vengeful ex-husband who will stop at nothing to hurt and humiliate you.

But when one is deeply in love, it is only natural to trust the one we love. And that is where the danger lies, because the trouble with being in love is that it makes people do silly, even dangerous, things at times. Love makes people want to trust the other person explicitly. Love makes people believe that nothing could ever go wrong.

Not that there is anything wrong with being in love -- after all, all the world loves a lover. But, in the end, we are all human beings and have human failings. We betray those who trust and love us.

If hell hath no fury like a woman scorned, what does one say about the actions of a man who wants vengence.
written by anon, February 20, 2009 12:50:30
I have always sympathized with Ms Wong. Yes her privacy was invaded and that moron should be punished severely.

However, Ms Wong should have been very cautious about who she shares her bed with, being a politician and all.

Having said all that, I still maintain that she should weather the storm however difficulr it will be and hold her ground. She did nothing wrong but has been wronged by unscrupulous scumbags.

That piece of shit whatshisname should be hunted down like a dog and should be dealt with according to the hudud law.

So, act on it PAS.

cheers.

written by Francis, February 20, 2009 13:11:06
Barisan Nasional has paid him to do this work for them.
Najis is asking for proof.
How same of you to ask for proof.
written by froggy, February 20, 2009 18:56:28
Stuck In The AMNO Rut……..How To Move Ahead Like That!!!???

http://thedandelions.*********...like-that/
written by nov05, February 21, 2009 11:00:08
Financial tsunami? Recession?

What recession? We can still afford to feed these greedy sleazy slimy suckers.