Tell it to the marines PDF Print
Saturday, 26 January 2008 11:34

If Anwar is not a factor, why Abdullah cannot wait less than two months to allow the former DPM to contest in the 12th general election?

{mosgoogle right} “Tell it to the marines” – that will be the common response to the statement by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in CNN’s World News Asia telecast live from Davos, Switzerland yesterday that former Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was not a factor in his decision on the timing of the next general election. (“Telling it to the marines” is the scornful response to a tall and unbelieved story/claim.)

Asserting that he was not pre-empting the former deputy prime minister from contesting the general election, Abdullah said:

There are other factors in my mind that I have to think about before I recommend the dissolution of parliament and fix the date for the elections.”

If Anwar is not a factor in his calculations for the next polls, Abdullah should explain why he cannot wait less than two months to allow the former DPM to contest in the 12th general election?

Is it because Abdullah has been advised by his strategists and the Putrajaya fourth-storey advisers that the electoral prospects for the Barisan Nasional can only get worse and not better, especially if Anwar is allowed to participate personally in the hustings as a candidate?

The latest opinion poll should be a “shocker” for Abdullah and the Barisan Nasional leaders, as it found that the Prime Minister’s approval rating has hit a personal low, slipping from a high of 91 per cent when he took power in late 2003 to 61 per cent in December last month, the lowest since he took office in late 2003 and down by 10 percentage points from November.

The poll by market research firm Merdeka Center found that as the country gears up for early elections, voters were unhappy over rising prices, racial tensions and crime – issues which the DAP had been hammering over the past few months and years!

Abdullah’s statement “There are other factors in my mind that I have to think about before I recommend the dissolution of parliament and fix the date for the elections” is very wrong for another reason.

Under Malaysia’s system of parliamentary democracy, the Prime Minister has the sole discretion to decide when to recommend the dissolution of Parliament to the Yang di Pertuan Agong but once Parliament is dissolved, it is the constitutional duty of the Election Commission to conduct the general election, including the issue of the election writ and the fixing of the Nomination and Polling dates.

It is unconstitutional and gross abuse of power for the Prime Minister not only to recommend the date for the dissolution of Parliament, but also to fix dates for nomination and polling, in effect deciding on the length of the campaign period – which is the sole prerogative of the Election Commission!

Thus, when Abdullah told CNN interview that he had various factors to think about before he recommended “the dissolution of parliament and fix the date for the elections”, he was making a confession that in the 2004 general election, he had acted unconstitutionally and abused the powers of a Prime Minister in fixing the election dates of nomination and polling – providing the shortest election campaign period in the nation’s history - when this should be decided by the Election Commission without interference or directive from the Prime Minister!

Is Abdullah prepared to own up to his past unconstitutional action and abuses of power and fully respect the untrammeled right of the Election Commission to fix the dates for nomination and polling for the 2008 general election without any directive from the Putrajaya fourth storey?

It is clear that as far as Abdullah is concerned, the polling day for the next general election will be in the first half of March. March 15 was the favourite day as this was said to be recommended by his feng shui master.

The March 15 date will have to be ruled out however if Abdullah is serious about his announcement in Madrid last week when attending the First Alliance of Civilisations Annual Forum that he would be in Senegal to hand over the chairmanship of the Organisation of Islamic Conference (OIC) at the OIC Summit in Dakar on March 13-14.

On the other hand, this could be a ruse – as Abdullah could either request for a postponement of the OIC Summit or finally skip the OIC Summit on the ground of having a general election in Malaysia.

Be that as it may, there is no reason for Abdullah to act with such secrecy when he should be setting an example of “First World Infrastructure, First World Mentality” as Prime Ministers and Presidents of first-world developed nations give several months’ notice of the election day, and not like in Malaysia, where there is lightning notice for the shortest period for election campaign provided by an unfair and undemocratic election law.

Lim Kit Siang

written by confuseus, January 26, 2008 12:03:34
"It is unconstitutional and gross abuse of power for the Prime Minister not only to recommend the date for the dissolution of Parliament, but also to fix dates for nomination and polling, in effect deciding on the length of the campaign period – which is the sole prerogative of the Election Commission!"

Very well said, Yang Berkhidmat Lim.
As the Peoples' Rep., please make a police report against the PM.
Confuseus says "Defer no time, delay has dangerous end."

written by Mr Smith, January 26, 2008 12:27:56
How can a man of such cheap material be the PM of a First World Country. In fact, he is dragging the country deeper into the bottom half of the list of third world countries.
Since the EC chairman is an UMNO poodle, he will fix the date as requested by the PM. This election will see even more blatant abuse of power.
written by JohnQ, January 26, 2008 12:38:04
his feng shui master never tell him the truth part of his destiny too! "That he will lose in his constituency together with BN 2/3 fake majority".
written by PRESENT POINT POWER, January 26, 2008 13:24:33
CNN mentioned that the early polls were to deny Anwar the chance to participate. Abdullah was pointed asked “What was foremost in your mind about calling an early election” and “Would you happily run against him?” and he evaded the issue and replied it was not a main factor. For a full view of the 5 min CNN interview go
http://powerpresent.********.c...25th.html

plus his reponsse to the Hindraf rally protest and the Voice of the Islamic Moderates
written by Oldmantalks, January 26, 2008 13:34:40
Can a Prime Minister be a Prime Minister when the whole parliament is dissolved? Should the whole cabinet be able to sign documents when parliament is dissolved? I am sure the current government is still acting like they are running the country once parliament had been dissolved. The government should be grounded until they are re-elected. Maybe this is one of the reason why the government secretly goes around preparing for the General Election, trying to catch the Opposition offguard.
The country is not doing anything towards democracy. In fact the BN people makes sure everything is in place (with the help of the EC chairman, and I hope it is only the chairman and not the whole Election Commission machinery). It will be a great feat if the Opposition wins with such odds stacked against them.
written by manny_california_usa, January 26, 2008 14:10:38
Just for your thought readers:-

It is obvious today that America has defaulted on this promissory note insofar as her citizens of color are concerned. Instead of honoring this sacred obligation, America has given the Negro people a bad check, a check which has come back marked "insufficient funds." But we refuse to believe that the bank of justice is bankrupt. We refuse to believe that there are insufficient funds in the great vaults of opportunity of this nation. So we have come to cash this check — a check that will give us upon demand the riches of freedom and the security of justice. We have also come to this hallowed spot to remind America of the fierce urgency of now. This is no time to engage in the luxury of cooling off or to take the tranquilizing drug of gradualism. Now is the time to make real the promises of democracy. Now is the time to rise from the dark and desolate valley of segregation to the sunlit path of racial justice. Now is the time to lift our nation from the quick sands of racial injustice to the solid rock of brotherhood. Now is the time to make justice a reality for all of God's children. By Martin Luther King Jr.

"IT'S TIME TO MAKE THAT CHANGE"

written by Eskay Lim, January 26, 2008 14:31:29
"Tell it to the marines" YES, that's right and "Ask him to tell it to the inhabitants of the jungle" too.

If Anwar is not a factor, then the PM should not call for GE so soon. After all the present govt. has still a year more to rule. Why is he in such a hurry to ask for the peoples' mandate for another term. You'll be surprised how unpopular you have been since the 2004 GE. You have broken all your previous election promises; i.e you have kept one-eye closed about transparency & corruption, mismanagements of the peoples' money, by requiring party-members to contribute and donate funds to the party, you are encouraging corruption because your officers who offer contracts and tender for your various projects nation-wide would ask for under-counter payments to recover those donations & contributions from people involved in the projects... So project costs will have to be inflated.

If Anwar is not a factor, then allow him an opportunity to take part in this GE and then finish him off his political career, so that he won't be a bother to you again. Of course, that is if you have the courage to do so. I doubt you dare. You used to say.."don't challenge me..." NOW we challenge you PM, to call for the GE after April. OR are you chicken?
written by anallu, January 26, 2008 15:05:59
Abdullah Badawi admits that he cannot expect to receive such a high level of mandate as he has now which he obtained in the 2004 general election. Why does he want to face another general election now when he still has more than another year to rule under the existing mandate? He keeps repeating that Anwar Ibrahim is not a factor in the proposed forthcoming election, but every action he is taking surely reveals that he is taking Anwar Ibrahim as a factor in the election. Abdullah Badawi makes a fool of himself every time he says that Anwar Ibrahm is not a factor!
written by Rohani Hitam, January 26, 2008 16:14:39
We should leave it to AAB. Whether he tells the EC what to do or he deliberately preventing Anwar makes no difference any more. It is written all over the wall. Come election the raayat is more prepared what to do. Anwar can come in as soon as his prohibition ends through a by-election.

Let lessons learned. No point pinpointing his mistakes anymore. It will be history sooner than later.
written by RichPoon, January 26, 2008 16:58:35
whatever date he chooses the bn is in for a hammering.....so many issues confronting the nation and the pm spends most of his time overseas....malaysians are fed up with inflation, crime, the slowing econmy, corruption etc...we need a leader who knows the way, show the way and leads the way out of these problems confronting the nation..not someone who keeps running away overseas!
written by borneopeteliew, January 26, 2008 18:51:59
For sure this is going to backfire on the BN.
written by johanssm, January 26, 2008 22:45:27
bodowi wont know whats the meaning of "marines",he might think it is some sort of "kapal selam" and will ask najis to explain to the press.
It is a straight lie coming out from bodowi that DSAI is not a threat to his umno survival.But, lets not blame bodowi too much.
As he is brave to screws his sister in law and brave enough to use ISA towards Hindraf.But his balls shrunk when he hears the name of DSAI.
I am not a fan of DSAI, but i do give credits to good Opposition.
written by Dreamlander, January 26, 2008 23:16:11
There MAY BE two factors that the BN government has to call an early general election.
The first is, of course, Anwar's qualification to contest an election in April. If Anwar were to be an official election candidate, the opposition will have a focus. This is especially true for the anti-BN/UMNO leaning Malay voters. The BN is prepared for Anwar to contest a by-election. In that case, the ENTIRE BN machinery will concentrate on that by-election to ensure that Anwar will not win.
The second is economic. The current troubles in the US, if they deteriorate further, will definitely affect Malaysia's export performance. Coupled this to the increasing energy costs and the expected soft commodity prices hikes, inflation in Malaysia will sure escalate and will further increase the government's subsidies to hold down prices of essential foodstuff & items. This cannot go on any longer.
Therefore, an early election is the only sensible course.
written by DontPlayGod, January 27, 2008 00:47:54
Guys, we can gather definitely from what the PM and the EC chairman has been saying that it is the PM who decides the election date and the length allowed for campaigning. In other words, the EC is far from neutral and acts as a direct division of UMNO. Why else would they amend the constitution for this one man, the EC Chairman. If there is fairness in our G.E., the EC Chairman should ensure all news media and RTM be easily accessible to all political parties, and the length of campaigning be at least 3 to 4 weeks duration after nomination day.

You can bet your bottom ringgit that this will not be so. The PM will decide the campaigning period and it will be the shortest period. It was UMNO who changed the constitution so that the campaigning period can be less than 2 weeks. We can only appeal to the world's top democracies to look at our elections in depth when it is held, and highlight the idiocy of our system to all and general.

We can stop calling our so-called elections as democratic and fair.
written by Bigjoe99, January 27, 2008 10:31:45
RPK like to say Anwar is also not a factor. I tend to agree that he is not a major factor but given the other factors like Hindraf, Lingam Tape RCI, rising cost, Anwar is a factor as far as being the major spin doctor.

Anwar cannot be a major factor unless he can attack Badawi's Islamic credentials. I don't mean ala Chua Soi Lek sex tapes but if he can proof that the excesses of UMNO, deemed unIslamic, is still there, he can blow Islam Hadhari away and truly hurt Badawi. This is where he is most dissapointing because he keep attacking Najib but does not take it one step further with Badawi's defacto consent. Its clear Badawi is not doing much about these excesses and that is his weakness in of his greatest shield, his Islamic credentials.