Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RPK suffers setbacks as court postpones hearing to Monday

RPK suffers setbacks as court postpones hearing to Monday PDF Print
Tuesday, 17 February 2009 16:59

By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

Raja Petra Kamarudin suffered a legal setback today when all his applications, including one to disqualify one of the sitting judges in the Federal Court, were dismissed.

The hearing for the appeal from the Home Minister to overturn the Shah Alam High Court decision last November to free Raja Petra from a two-year detention at the Kamunting Detention Centre in Perak under the Internal Security Act (ISA) was also postponed to Monday, Feb 23.

Raja Petra’s lawyers had applied to disqualify Justice Datuk S. Augustine Paul on the grounds of apparent bias as Raja Petra has written critical articles involving Judge Augustine since 1999 and the judge would be perceived as presiding over a man who has been consistently critical of him, potentially undermining public confidence in the court.

They further argued that Raja Petra’s consistent criticism of Justice Augustine could give rise to animosity and give him cause to silence the applicant and that informed third parties would perceive the judge to be prejudiced.

However, the application was rejected by the two other sitting judges, Justice Datuk Nik Hashim Nik Abdul Rahman and Justice Datuk Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin, who said they were satisfied that the application was wholly without merit.

When the application was made earlier, Judge Augustine had excused himself from the hearing saying that his presence could be a hindrance to justice.

Upon his exit, Raja Petra’s defence team objected that the court had no power to sit with only two judges. However, the court overruled the objection.

Raja Petra’s lead counsel Malik Imtiaz Sarwar informed the court that sitting as two judges was possibly unconstitutional and reserved the right to challenge the constitutionality of the decision to sit as two judges.

Raja Petra also applied for a quorum of 5-7 judges due to the complexity of the legal issues and applied to adduce additional evidence.

Both applications were dismissed.

Raja Petra did not appear in court today. Malik said his presence “was not required.”

Nevertheless, his supporters filled the court room and extra benches had to be brought in. Among notable political leaders who appeared to show support were Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng and PKR vice president Azmin Ali.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by ylcc, February 17, 2009 17:09:46
Pedra Branca: Malaysia vs Singapore
"The ICJ has 15 judges. The current Predident is Dame Rosalyn Higgins of the United Kingdom. In 1994, Singapore sought her legal advice on Singapore's claim to Pedra Branca. She gave a positive opinion. It was for this reason that she had to recuse herself from the case when it came before the ICJ." Singapore DPM S Jayakumar/Professor Tommy Koh (The Great Hall of Justice). What a grand and honorable lady! What fine display of fairness and justice.

Shame on Judge Agustine Paul for not volunteering to recuse himself. Shame on the government for appointing him as a judge. Shame on the Malaysian judicial system.
agree 324
written by Anti Relon, February 17, 2009 17:11:26
Dear Raja Petra,
This is not a set back. You will make wonderful Malaysia a better place with your sacrifice.
Be brave. Don't ever think Malaysians will let you down.
You have been an inspiration for Malaysians.
agree 180
written by miwaki, February 17, 2009 17:17:14
Augustine Paul ! He is as good as Najib being on the bench.This is Kangaroo court or what ? may be we need to upload his naked photo on youtube.
agree 153
written by New Malaysian, February 17, 2009 17:52:11
The later the incarceration, if any.

I'm sure we have many friends in embassies and high commissions still. RPK need not be rearrested after all.
written by CheGUvera, February 17, 2009 18:01:27
It is a setback at all, Basically everyone knows the outcome of this "evil" plot to torture and belittle the nation's most popular Hero. That every minutes he remain in freedom,out of the evil's touch of the ISA is already a heavenly victory. A setback is when the struggle is even and outcome unsure, so this is far from a setback, a victory I would call it. BUT, a setback will soon be for the evil present adim. of this country.
written by biggun129, February 17, 2009 18:01:43
Will RPK be the next person 'Missing in Action', come this monday, the 24th of February???
written by wongnoball, February 17, 2009 18:04:12
As usual for 51 year ALL these UMNO Regim Ganas Kejam Judges need to consult their Masters like Rosmah, Najis, Tun Dr. Munafik to seek their Approval and How to MANAGE the Situation if each SCENERIO Comes.

They have this Flow Chart to MANAGE Malaysia with their Power in Police, Army, GUNS, Money, Judiciary, ALL MEDIA at their Disposal in case Rakyat MIS-BEHAVE.

Malaysia is a Failed and a Police State and the sooner you wake up and do your Mat Kilau Disrupt, disrupt, disrupt.we will NEVER see Justice! Everyday I am doing something that must be PISSING those Dectective and Investigators No Ends. I need to spread their Evil Resources.Now some of these Dunggu Investigating who threw those Shoes into Sultan Azlan Shah Compound.DNA test etc. Good Luck to them!
written by harryo, February 17, 2009 18:05:16
RPK, history will be written on you as a person brave, sincere, civil and a friend of all races. The issues that you brought about in your articles require a higher degree of reading and reasoning that only statesmen could fathom. I hold your sincerity, contribution and openness to the highest esteem.
written by mikefonz, February 17, 2009 18:15:37
In Malaysia, got money .. anything also can. Malaysia Boleh
written by Melly, February 17, 2009 18:21:25
Once in a long while, if, we are luckly enough comes a brave and selfless soul. In my lifetime I considered myself luckly to witness such in the form of Nelson Mandela, Mother Theresa, Morgan Tsangeri. In Malaysia we have Pete. I hope, in fact, I believe all fair playing Malaysians, with no self serving agenda, hope that the power that be will not be arrogant enough to make him a Martyr.
written by Angela Ooi, February 17, 2009 18:28:25
When Augustine Paul is in court, it can only mean one thing... he's the hatchet guy sent to do the dirty jobs that decent, god-fearing judges decline. RPK was proven right, he did not get fair trial today. The carrot must have been juciy for someone!
written by kamal, February 17, 2009 18:30:09
Malaysian Judiciary has still not learnt its lesson - still siding the unscrupulous, useless & corrupted UMNO-led Barisan Nasional government.

The time has come for incompetent and corrupted Judges to be HANG IN PUBLIC' to show the rakyat mean business against those who do not seve justice fairly an properly.

To our friennd, RPK, hold on and an something good would turn out.We are behind you 100% sinc you haealay besaying the truth, which usually hurts the culprits.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by cruzeiro, February 17, 2009 18:45:22
Augustine,
As RPK said, you definitely are a "slimeball".
The deeds you're known for are so vile, it's amazing that there people willing to sit with you on the bench.
Such a shame that you're such a shameless person who's even willing to show his face after his inhuman deeds.

You, Augustine partly symbolize all that is ethically & morally wrong with the Judiciary (and the country)!
The other is of course - your boss!
written by Bandit, February 17, 2009 18:51:33
Mr Not Relevant will no longer be relevant soon. His belly is full with ill gotten gain. The authoroties just keep on provoking the ordinary peaceloving Malaysian everyday with all injustice that one day "One" will rise a lead a rebellion that will hit these UMNO led regime so hard that the will have no place to call a home again. Keep on provoking guys, you are just asking for it.

"If peaceful ways fail, its time to pickup the sword of justice"
written by kingelvis, February 17, 2009 19:08:53
A judge sitting in a case should have no interest in it..isn't that a fundamental rule of justice.
But then we are talking of Malaysia where a judge must have interest to preside over cases.
BOLEHLAND
written by Old Man, February 17, 2009 19:33:17
Sir RPK, more than 50% of people around the World are watching and praying for you. Everything happens for a reason. Don't worry, have confidence and don't give up! May Allah bless you, your family and all peace loving people of Malaysia.
written by cllim123, February 17, 2009 20:00:47
RPK, Sad to say your goose is cooked the moment they appealed to the Federal Court. See how Mangosteen Paul got to climb so fast to the Fed Court, and what favours he did the Tun MM gormen against Anwar?

That Mangosteen has really thick skin and does anything to please his evil masters. The only way the decision can be in your favour is a miracle. I am such a disappointed Malaysian. There is absolutely no law here.

See how all high profile cases get acquitted? And how Teresa Kok, RPK and the newspaper reporter got ISA? How Rahim got away and Guan Eng got sent to jail? How VK, Vincent, Tun MM, Adnan, Ahmad Fairuz and Eusof still freemen? Where is the law?
written by eskay, February 17, 2009 20:31:31
After observing BN esp. UMNO & the gang for some time, I agree with some commentors here that there's absolutely no law here in the hands of this gang. The only way to tame these people is to make them (1 1 1) feel the pain and suffer they have been forcing upon others, and that power who's going to do this is our Highest Almighty.

GOD BLESS RPK & his family.
written by kooler, February 17, 2009 20:49:59
After a judgeship at Federal Court, Augustine Paul expects an elevation to a Higher Court with Najis' reccomendation. No way, St Augustine & St Paul will not accept him as a peer. As an accused, certainly.
written by Khan, February 17, 2009 20:50:47
despicable act by this kangaroo court...one judge stinks the most n u know who...
written by Man In Black, February 17, 2009 21:41:48
Slimeball drunk Paul.you are a drunk and please do some justice before you die.we will hunt u(if u a gone by then) your family for your decision.Najis is gone.u will begone soon.
written by Man In Black, February 17, 2009 21:51:21
What do u expect!!! Hope and prayers will not happen in MALAYSIA BOLEH!...Some suffered for justice...n some died for justice...but malaysian's only talk....only RPK will end his life for justice....please don't comment if u are not committed....there is one winner ....RPK...and all losers...we the people....freedom is a previlage...not a anjing UMNO thing....God Bless Malaysia..........n god bless RAKYAT MALAYSIA
written by MAGELLAN, February 17, 2009 22:32:00
RPK, I can only pray for you! I am sure you are destined to be imprisoned again. As long as the judges mentioned are there, you have to be ready! Cheers! My prayers are with you! Don't worry! Coz' GOD is greater than Augustine Paul or that forking group run by Najis!
written by Sudahlah tu, February 17, 2009 22:47:35
Perjuangan YM RPK banyak menolong menegakkan maruah martabat bangsa Melayu dan juga membantu membina bangsa Malaysia yang murni.
selama saya percaya yang bangsa Melayu diperalatkan oleh umno dan golongan elit atas nama ketuanan Melayu yang sebenarnya memberi peluang untuk umno dan golongan elit mencuri kekayaan negara.
sudah 4 generasi bangsa Melayu dipermainkan oleh umno dan golongan elit dan kini YM RPK cuma hendak menyedar bangsa mulia kebanggaannya untuk menghentikan kezaliman umno dan ketamakan golongan elit agar masa depan Malaysia akan cerah dan perlembagaan negara dapat disangjungi semua.
wahai bangsa Melayu yang dilahirkan sebagai umat Allah , di mana engkau sekarang ?
mengapa memilih jalan singkat dan bersifat malas mempertahankan maruah bangsa dan keagamaanmu dengan diberkati oleh Allah ???
mengapa sanggup diperhambakan oleh umno bagaikan binatang jalanan dengan mudah ?
dengan wang sogokan yang sedikit telah cukup 'dibeli' oleh umno .. mengapa ?
umno yang berzalim selama ini masih berkuasa kerana mereka telah menempatkan seekor binatang belaan mereka sebagai ketua kawasan kamu, bergaya hidup mewah dan sering menyogok wang kepada kamu agar sentiasa mengikut arahan mereka ..
wang haram tidak halal dan Allah tidak membenarkan umatNYA menerima ataupun melakukan perkara keji ini.
apa gunanya bersembahyang 5 kali setiap hari jikalau ketenangan yang dipinta tidak dapat menahan nafsu dan sikap tamak ?
Bertaubatlah .... biar apa sembahyang yang kita kerjakan setiap hari itu benar-benar mengikut Ajaran Allah dan bersabar mengharungi godaan syaitan dan kezaliman umno ..
jangan putus asa dan bersabar agar generasi akan datang dapat menikmati kebebasan Malaysia daripada kezaliman umno dan ketamakan golongan elit.
written by mick_err_stan, February 17, 2009 23:18:02
The story line and its outcome have been written..... the only way to stop this manipulation of justice is for all Malaysians to vote out the present government and its machinery of corruption. The present government is serving themselves and not the Rakyat. After 51 years, with the resources that we have, Education and Health care should be free for all and poverty totally eradicated. Unity and social enlightenment dictates and not racial discord and "don't question our right" quote of the day!!!!!

Raja Petra Kamarudin, justice, logic and pure reasoning do not rule the day. It's not what you know but who you blow rules the day in Boleh land. Let 'Karma' take it course for the guilty will eventually be punished and suffer the wrath of God.

written by The Hammer, February 17, 2009 23:32:24
This whole affair is becoming like a monkey court.These 3 reminds me of the The Three Stooges! And the defination of stooge :
"A stooge is generally defined as a person that is under the control of another. Being called a stooge is not a form of praise. Stooge can also sometimes be used to mean "idiot".
Yes, we have lots idiots running the country. Sure going to become one big circus this year!
written by FFT, February 18, 2009 06:11:19
And just in case anybody needs reminding, don't forget the Melayu Celup Bapak Korupsi who now wants to get back into the thick of things with his loyal sockpuppet Najis.

If you thought the judiciary under Mahafiraun was bad when he was directly in control, wait until he gets to play the role of the wizard behind the curtain.
written by Highway16, February 18, 2009 07:56:56
Dear RPK
I am one of those "outside looking in" person, and talk for me is "free".
Well, after having said my disclaimer, I would like to make a plea, that even if they overturn the ruling, you would stay alive and continue the fight.
You done so much, and the momentum is gaining each day. And if you give up and just die, the momentum is going to die with you. What do we achieve?
You are worth more being alive than dead. And your are definitely worth more than 25 million!
God bless you and your family.
written by freerpk, February 18, 2009 08:19:48
We will continue to pray for you. Do not give up hope on God. Where would South Africa be today if Nelson Mendela had given up hope during his long years of imprisonment by the EVIL regime.
written by teo siew chin, February 18, 2009 08:50:23
"...YM RPK cuma hendak menyedar bangsa mulia kebanggaannya untuk menghentikan kezaliman..."
---------------

Dear Sudahlah

Your comment is most heartening. If they can inflict such cruelty, such injustice to a Yang Mulia who practises "AMAR MAARUF, NAHI MUNGKAR", can you imagine what horrors they can inflict to the common man, whatever race color religion?
written by Roseminah, February 18, 2009 09:07:35
MY PLEA TO AGONG: ARREST OR SACK NAJIB

There is no doubt that RPK has gone thru a terrible emotional state, sheer frustration but he is fully in control of himself in his fight for justice. He is facing the whole of Barisan Umno with all the crooked ways by legal barriers, imprisonment and death threats- for a long long time just to get justice and closure for the murdered Altantuya woman. Now he faces being imprisoned again under ISA for speaking out against Najib, the would-be PM, the person RPK believes is the mastermind behind the Altantuya heinous murder. RPK is so sure of that that he is putting his life on that- that is his conviction. No words will describe my admiration for him.
But Najib, Barisan, Umno could not care less about what happens to RPK and the sooner the better for them. I hope RPK’s friends in the police and army will take action against Barisan.
Rakyat, stop the rubbish about saying ‘we will pray for you, Allah will take revenge on the perpetrators, we’ll meet again in the afterlife’ and other rubbish talk. No need for the spiritual, abstract mumbo jumbo.
We need to take physical and concrete steps to bring down Najib and his atrocities and save Malaysia and RPK.
PKR is powerless to do anything because of the obscene barriers put up by Barisan.
There are 3 only ways Najib can fall:
1) The quickest and cleanest way is for Agong to step in and force the arrest or sacking of Najib. My plea is for Agong to act decisively.
2) Delegation led by PAS Tok Guru and masses of rakyat behind him in demonstration and tell, yes, just tell Agong that Malaysia cannot have an obscene man like Najib as leader and must face trial for murder.
3) If nothing happens, there will be open violent confrontations with rakyat against police and Barisan.

Sadly, the first 2 options will not take place but the third option will happen and drag Malaysia into much chaos if RPK dies or gets gravely sick in prison.
Malaysia is slowly falling into more and more mess with confusion and lack of law and order as there is no honesty in the leadership except murder, torture, national corruption and swindling by Barisan.

I predict rakyat will take to the streets to face the guns of the Barisan police and army but rakyat WILL WIN by toppling Najib.
written by NSTPravda, February 18, 2009 09:11:32
One man’s setback is another’s victory
This shows that we cooked a better story
J. A. Paul should be very pleased today
Now he can really screw renegade RPK

Our court does not need any public confidence
All it needs is to exact Najib’s personal vengeance
The “real” pertinent issues for the court of the day
Is deciding how to punish the renegade RPK

That RPK is guilty as charged is very obvious
All his allegations will be rendered baseless
Our judges know who controls their pension and pay
Not to find RPK guilty, is not semua-nua OK!

Duit-lah tuan ku! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Admiral Tojo, February 18, 2009 10:56:12
Our Malaysian Judiciary has long gone to the dogs.We know who these judges are and that is good enough.

Peace
written by Jit Dharma, February 18, 2009 11:32:44
"...Justice Agustine said his presence would be a hindrance
to Justice.." Out of the mouth of King Kangaroo the first.
Future generations will know of your treachery!!!