Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Muhyiddin: Opposition has no cause to dispute by-election date

Muhyiddin: Opposition has no cause to dispute by-election date PDF Print
Sunday, 15 February 2009 16:23

(The Malaysian Insider) - Umno vice president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the opposition should not dispute the date of two by-elections because the Election Commission (EC) decided on it based on legal provisions.

The decision, he said, was not wrong because the by-elections were to be held within 60 days after the Bukit Gantang parliamentary and Bukit Selambau state seats fell vacant.

“It was for the EC to determine the election date. According to the law, the EC has 60 days to hold an election for each vacated seat,” he told reporters after meeting Penang Umno delegates here today.

Pas Youth chief Salahuddin Ayub was reported to have said the EC fixed April 7 for the two by-elections following pressures by the Barisan Nasional (BN) leadership, particularly Umno that will be holding party polls at the end of March.

The by-elections were called following the death of Pas representative Roslan Shaharum (Bukit Gantang) on Feb 9 and resignation of Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s V. Arumugam (Bukit Selambau). The nomination day is March 29.

Muhyiddin said the opposition should not be suspicious towards Umno and if they were unhappy with the EC’s decision, they could take any action including by not contesting.

“If the opposition wants to dispute it, it is up to them. Even if they do not want to contest, up to them. If they are not contesting, BN can win uncontested,” he said.

He said BN had never disputed any EC decisions including on election dates.

written by Fuminari, February 15, 2009 16:33:15
""muhyiddin said BN had never disputed any EC decisions including on election dates.""
how can u dispute the date set by ur own??moron.all malaysian know that EC is jus one of ur guard dogs for power preservation to continue stealing n robbing the rakyat big time.

written by OVERLORD, February 15, 2009 16:43:13
BN = EC Full stop

MuSHITddin, please don't talk about the law to us...U guys has been holding the law hostage for a long time. The law states "witin 60days...Why is the damn EC idiots utilising the full allocated days then?
written by sahabat, February 15, 2009 16:44:04
Muhyddin,

Dont be boasting. My just born baby knows very well that the EC is working under UMNO's finger. No matter how UMNO including Najib and Muhyddin for that matter deny it, it is very clear in the eyes of every citizen.

written by lunas oh lunaih, February 15, 2009 16:45:59
Muhyidin..You must not contest UMNO Deputy post.. Let Stoopid m.taib win uncontested...haha
written by savemalaysia, February 15, 2009 17:09:36
Mud-headed Yiddin is best at talking through his nose. Such comical reasoning only shows his stupidity and disregard for the intelligence of the people. More than half the nation is laughing at his clowning act which is a sad reflection of the calibre of this moronic soon-to-be DPM.
written by ahmadneil, February 15, 2009 17:11:26
Mati lah umno.Banyak election umno mesti habis!
written by SamSan, February 15, 2009 17:16:06
In similar vein, I would like to ask Muhyuddin why after agreeing to UMNO Supreme Council decision that our beloved Pak Lah retire on his accord after two years, that he decides to push our PM to vacate UMNO presidency and PM ship abruptly. Why couldn't Muhyiddin and his band of pirates agree to what had been honourably agreed by crooks on the date of our beloved PM's retirement so that ample time is given to fullfill his 2004 election promises but which was severely derailed by Muhyiddin and his warlord cohorts in AMENO. I am praying that either Muhammad bin Muhammad Taib or Mohd Ali Rustam win the deputy UMNO president's post as honour among theives is very important. People who betray their honour after giving their word are devoid of loyalty. If Muhyiddin doesn't understand what honour means,then he needs to learn about it from Che Det.
written by Michael Sun, February 15, 2009 18:04:59
What do you expect an UMNO leader to say?

Election Commission acted within the law but did they acted judiciously?

The very fact that the EC fixed the dates after the UMNO meeting, ipso facto, it is bias in its decision.

Do not fear the righteous will triump over the evil ond day
written by avj, February 15, 2009 18:09:15
Is MuSHITddin trying to play poker? I dare him to get Be eNd not to contest in these elections,for surly they are going to loose,and loose badly. The day of limbo rock are over MuSHITddin.All can see your bluff even before you can call,check and mate loser.
written by Melly, February 15, 2009 18:12:17
Tan Sri, Malaysians are not questioning the legality, but, the WISDOM of holding it on a weekday.
written by ahmadneil, February 15, 2009 18:16:26
He is counting how many by-election losses Najib can withstand before he make his move to overthrow him with the backing of that Racist mahathir.Pretty quiet since KT slip through Najib's finger.
written by justme bc, February 15, 2009 18:25:41
Umno vice president Pukiyiddin Yassin AND the fat hope UMNO deputy president aspirant said the opposition should not dispute the date of two by-elections because the Election Commission (EC) decided on it based on legal provisions.
The decision, he said, was not wrong because the by-elections were to be held within 60 days after the Bukit Gantang parliamentary and Bukit Selambau state seats fell vacant. Everyone knows that the date is fixed to the UMNO advantage, say what you want idiot since the EC chairman is pro UMNO bast**ds, see what happen if the EC chairman is from Pakatan Rakyat.
written by justme bc, February 15, 2009 18:32:08
Any right minded netizen will know that polling date falls on the weekday is no good for turnout. Is UMNO idiots that scared until their balls will drop if the turnout is high and they will sure lost. This is another unpopular and sinister decision from proUMNO EC that will never go down well with the rakyat. They want to play play with the power of the rakyat and get their arse burnt yet again.
written by Khan, February 15, 2009 18:37:49
simply stupid statement...
written by Hello Keithy, February 15, 2009 18:51:47
Why is he speaking on behalf of the EC ? He must be guilty conscious. Then again, these UMNO goons are so thick-skinned that they hardly have any feelings and conscience.
written by miwaki, February 15, 2009 18:54:46
Muyiddin is right,only UMNO can dispute on anything,the rest just have to keep quiet !
written by smeagrooo, February 15, 2009 19:38:33
now u know why mujahidin is not a PM material? He is the same shiat as those b4 him. they talk thru their arses.

We know it was set within the 60days time frame. But why on a Tuesday? Might as well choose Feb 30th. Dumbo!
written by onnetline, February 15, 2009 19:51:01
Not so intelligent UMMNO idiot to be a deputy PM ???? Malaysia boleh !!!
written by uxzee, February 15, 2009 19:54:55
The EC is a servant and ball-carrier to UMNO. They do not respect themselves or the rakyat.

How else do they explain this "coincident" of the by election date which is so convenient to UMNO elections.

Any dates the EC chooses, will make the potential UMNO election candidates or losers screw up the election campaign.
written by onnetline, February 15, 2009 20:07:21
This Muhyiddin fella is upset because the average people knows about their corrupted actions !
written by IbnAbdHalim, February 15, 2009 21:21:16
The moron is talking through his hat. What a guy! Malaysians aren't stupid like UMNO supporters. All these years EC has been dancing to UMNO's tunes. And don't try to trick PR to not contesting. UMNO be ready for the worst for the people will teach it a lesson that will make it regret for life. UMNO will regret that it ever exist.
written by Dualties, February 15, 2009 21:54:18
Muhyiddin Yassin:

If you want to survive as future DPM or PM of Malaysia, you need to get rid of your rotten and stinking ideology of curry favour for popularity from UMNO. You should look at the total picture as Malaysia.
written by Changes, February 15, 2009 21:55:27
Umno vice president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the opposition should not dispute the date of two by-elections because the Election Commission (EC) decided on it based on legal provisions.
My BALLS, can we have this elections before umino asids elections. TQ
written by Semut Jantan, February 16, 2009 09:19:42
Budak jahat Johor talked cock. You just wanted to gain some mileage to compete for the Deputy post. Porah!!!

Your turn will come, that is when you become the opposition, make sure you don't dispute the dates set for future by-elections, agreed?