Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow RPK takes on...everybody

RPK takes on...everybody PDF Print
Friday, 13 February 2009 18:34

Instead of toeing the Pakatan line by harping on themes that questioned the Barisan Nasional’s takeover, he highlighted the Pakatan's flaws and weaknesses in Perak that had led to its downfall.

By NJ AHMAD, The Malay Mail

RPK takes on...everybody

LIFE is never dull in the SoPo Blogosphere when you have its most famous denizen around – the always-controversial and almost-iconic Raja Petra Kamarudin blasting at full speed and living on knife’s edge. Let’s not get into the back-stabbing.

In the space of less than a week, the man with the country’s most well-known initials, RPK, has shocked and astounded detractors and ardent admirers alike by coming out in support of Perak’s Sultan Azlan Shah, criticised his own supporters, derided the top Pakatan Rakyat leaders and calling for their replacement, challenged a renowned lawyer, spotlighted a triad boss, and made insinuations against various judges and ministers in the process.

The amazing thing is that the 58-year-old Raja Petra did all these while also facing court cases that could see him being incarcerated for an unknown number of years ahead. And this might even happen before February ends, if things go badly against him.

On the national political front, Raja Petra had previously been content to be among the supporting cast of Pakatan since the Shah Alam High Court ordered his release from ISA detention last Nov 7.

Last month, he was the most illustrious member of a group of Barisan Rakyat bloggers who set up camp to help the Pas candidate win the Kuala Terengganu byelection.

He was also in Ipoh on Feb 5 to lend support to the Pakatan, which had just lost control of the Perak State government.

RPK takes on...everybody

But this secondary mode changed from last Saturday onwards when Raja Petra made a posting that created shockwaves in Blogosphere – especially among the Pakatan leaders and supporters. Instead of toeing the Pakatan line by harping on themes that questioned the Barisan Nasional’s takeover, he highlighted the Pakatan's flaws and weaknesses in Perak that had led to its downfall.

However, it was Raja Petra’s defence of Sultan Azlan – and denouncing those who had blamed the ruler – that had created the biggest wedge with many of his previous supporters. Personal attacks and malicious accusations against him soon poured in at his ‘No Holds Barred’ blog in online news portal Malaysia Today (http://mt.m2day.org) and at other blogs.

In the past, Raja Petra had usually chosen to ignore these; perhaps because of his realising the futility of responding to all the negative statements and speculations that celebrities have to live with. But there was one instance this week where he lashed back at a comment by a reader:

“Mendela, (Nickname of a commentator) I should punch you in the face for suggesting that I ‘sided’ with the Sultan and Umno because of my court cases next week. I am made of better stuff than you suggest. I bet you would never make that statement with your name and address below it. So who is the chicken, you or me?”

RPK takes on...everybody

So what’s happened to this symbol of the anti-establishment, and whose name is also synonymous with the word “blog” among those who neither write nor read them?

Something that he wrote at the very beginning of his post might actually explain it: “Well, that is because I sudah menyampah.” According to the dictionary, it is a feeling that ranges from mere “dislike” to a venomous “hate”. It is safe to say that Raja Petra’s feelings for Pakatan – and especially towards its leaders – is at the moment stronger than just dislike.

Last Tuesday, a daily reported that he has called for Pakatan de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang and Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang to resign; saying that the three were out of touch with the people and that they were responsible for the loss of Perak.

RPK takes on...everybody

This report led to another round of posts on blogosphere; including at Lim Kit Siang’s blog (http://blog.limkitsiang.com) and former Malay Mail editor Ahirudin Attan’s Rocky’s Bru (http://rockybru.com.my).

Ignoring the frenzy of incensed comments from blog readers sympathetic to Pakatan, Raja Petra had also taken on prominent lawyer Datuk Muhammad Shafee Abdullah. Last Monday, he published a post concerning a police report allegedly made by one Low Siew Ley in Subang Jaya over a land deal.

Raja Petra has had to attend court hearings throughout the whole of this week. The Federal Court will decide on a cross-appeal by the government against the High Court decision that had freed him (postponed to Feb 17). Shafee’s civil suit lodged against him last year is also scheduled for an inter-parte hearing on Feb 23.

He is also facing a sedition charge at the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court.

But these had not stopped the apparently indomitable Raja Petra from taking on yet another issue and powerful figures with his post last Wednesday titled “Heavenly King: The Story of Kuala Lumpur’s Boss of Bosses”. This is about Datuk Koo Tee Yam @ Ah Lek, who was arrested and detained under the ISA for alleged criminal activities and apparently “mysteriously” released after being detained for a second time.

Love him or hate him but one thing’s for sure – when Raja Petra writes, a good many people will read. Such is the RPK’s reign in the SoPo Blogosphere.

Comments (96)Add Comment
written by Malaysiaku, February 13, 2009 18:44:17
RPK is entitle to side the Sultan, others are also entitle to side the opposite. I? I side Karpal. Only man with balls. Long live Karpal.
disagree 42
agree 434
written by educationist, February 13, 2009 18:48:51
Yes, I am incensed over what happened in Perak but I am not among those who are angry with RPK for calling a spade a spade.
Anwar, Lim Kit Siang and Hadi ought to take responsiblity for the fall of the Perak state government as the respective heads of the PR coalition. On that point I agree with RPK though I realise the realities on the ground dictates that they should not resign.
But RPK has every right to demand accountability from them as he had divulged that the PR government in Perak was forewarned of this immoral grab on power.
But the bearers of the warning were told not to teach their grandmothers how to s*** eggs.
So, way to go RPK!
Keep it up and may the courts rule according to the merits of your cases!!
disagree 24
agree 197
written by ahvoon, February 13, 2009 18:49:05
what do you mean ALMOST??? Pete is only almost iconic as Obama is almost president!
disagree 18
written by Ray, February 13, 2009 19:04:18
We can never find another RPK who stand up for the Rakyat. No matter what he says about Anwar, Hadi or Kit Siang, that's politics. I am still with RPK.
agree 172
written by arazak, February 13, 2009 19:05:09
Anybody should have the right to "whack" someone or something if he/she thinks that someone or something is wrong!

And this privilege should not go to RPK only. . .!

So why is this author raising questions about someone's basic right?
written by amjoem, February 13, 2009 19:05:31
Thank You NJ AHMAD, The Malay Mail,
Your report comes in at the right time. YM RPK is absolutely right. With his call for the three big ones to take responsibility and resign, he has made YB Karpal look small. Perhaps I see that YB Karpal was a wee bit biased because he did not call upon the stalwart from his own party YB LKS to resign. Actually all the three must either resign or revamp the entire PR michinery so that it is ready before the 13th GE. YB DSAI has a lot to learn from Najib. The world saw how Najib launched his assault on Perak's PR Government quietly but surely like a serpent under the grass. In the case of YB DSAI, there was too much of a noise made regarding cross-overs, but in the end nothing materialised. Every Malaysian felt cheated by YB DSAI. Empty vessels make the most noise. SHAME.

I support the call by both YM RPK & YB Karpal Singh!
disagree 33
written by ahmadneil, February 13, 2009 19:08:19
Raja Petra Kamarudin is the greatest spin master the world have ever seen.He is on par with David Copperfield who is the greatest illusionist on this planet.
If RPK don't have MT,he will be like those street shoe shine boy.Nobody will ever know him. he will unleash his pen of furry.His bloody pen is mightier than all swords.
When I see him in KT,I dare not come close ,for fear of him hataming me.I just stand in a distance and enjoy the sight of this iconic man,who fear no one.May be one day I will grow another ball so that I will have the courage to approach him.
RPK!You are the most loved and hated human being on this planet.
disagree 19
written by macakmy, February 13, 2009 19:10:33
Me??? I'm with RPK.
written by rpremkumar2u, February 13, 2009 19:11:44
I dont fear RPK. I am in awe. I dont fear Nah!Cheap. I feel like puking.
written by malsia1206, February 13, 2009 19:15:13
That's the whole beauty of it all. Line em up in front of a brick wall and do what's need to be done. True justice is blind. Not determined whether you wear the Barisan or Pakatan badge. Pak Lah, Najib and Anwar all included.
written by cheekymate, February 13, 2009 19:17:12
RPK is great for what he stands for, speaking out without fear or favour. Look at the hypocrites who surround us and tip our hat off for this one true gentleman who shoots straight through your heart. The opposition should wake up, buck up and build strength through defeat;otherwise, please pack up come next election.
written by justme bc, February 13, 2009 19:22:21
Yes, RPK blog has for-warned the Perak Pakatan Gomen, if they have sought the consent of the Sultan to dissolve the state legislative assembly when they still have the majority lawmakers, things would be different. Now, it is too late and the task to declare the "BN state gomen" illegimate would be the next option.
written by Kritz, February 13, 2009 19:26:40
A Bugis Warrior!!

written by Fuminari, February 13, 2009 19:28:49
what is so shocking if the MT readers do not agree 100% with RPK???
we are still with RPK n it is common for people with intuition!nothing wrong but it is perfectly normal for a real human being,perfectly up right!
why the fuss???
written by ahmadneil, February 13, 2009 19:30:21
I fear no one but I bloody fear his pen.This welshman need to be smack,but who dares.He is so hated but when you see him in Bangsar,you want to pay his bills. What type of man is he!He is like a Panadol.You hate to take it but you have to becos the headache is unbearable.
RPK,I'm saying the truth.I will be very happy to pay your bills one day!
written by slaiman36, February 13, 2009 19:34:26
RPK is entitled to his opinion as we all, What ever the opinion.. entitlement to an opinion is singular....good or bad it does not mean that the love is lost. I'm appalled that after all these years of following MT most of us are unable to differentiate between having an opinion and believing in a cause.
written by KC Chin, February 13, 2009 19:34:56
RPK is a free man. Fear no human or devil. He only fear is Allah/God and wife.
written by Badaksumbu, February 13, 2009 19:35:50
RPK is entitled to side anyone he chooses. Like this one he sided the the King of Perak. May be one day if he finds something not worth supporting, he may change his mind. I may disagree with him on this one just like many people because I hold certain view which I'm subscribed to the ideal that law is all to do with justice and fairness on the strict interpretation, king of Perak knew about law too, better than than me in comparison but as of this minute I hold mind tightly that king did't do justice to the people of perak
written by Jay Krish, February 13, 2009 19:42:21
long live RPK... enough said!
written by ylcc, February 13, 2009 19:44:03
Luckily, I mentioned "so what if RPK had said it?". Otherwise, I too will kena "hantam".

KC Chin, I do not agree with your comment. RPK did mention that he was in a foul mood, and even Marina is staying away. The only difference with his wife and some of the readers is that she is very loyal, and stand by him faithfully through thick and thin.
written by ChandraJ, February 13, 2009 19:45:00
South Africa had Nelson Mandela, India had Mahatma Gandhi, USA had Martin Luther King, we have RPK. A true Malaysian if ever there was one.
written by Motherchell, February 13, 2009 20:04:00
If you have followed Pete all these years , you will get what he means when he whacks whom you support most. When Raja Petra bin Raja Kamaruddin speaks , which you decipher as letting you down , then you have missed his points .
Soak in , smell the roses , the coffee and if you have to smell sweaty leather do it ! Read the sentences over again -- and see the facts in full form , in the puns , the dictum , the facts !
Titrate it silently and you see the light you were looking for!
Dont read like what Jakim holds true with Englande!
Take care Pete, we know your set sails for our shores , Keep up your health , you need it to get the scums .
written by needchg, February 13, 2009 20:04:32
RPK, I salute you and and stand with you.
written by merlin2001, February 13, 2009 20:11:44
In RPK's Article "What More To Say ", I had agreed that the Perak Episode was over, done and useless to cry over split milk. I was never aware that that PR leaders were forewarned of the impending implosion that was to take place.
Assuming, the PR leaders were to take heed and the MB were to approach HRH to dissolve the assembly and to call for a new mandate whilst the PR at that point in time still had the majority would HRH have a good laugh and agree? He would look very naive would He not?
Unless the MB had very concrete evidence that grass hopping were to take I do not think HRH would ever consider it.
It is easy for us to say many things after the fact bur never before.
As far as I am concerned Perak is technically lost not factually. I have faith in this MB that he will still win.
Even if he does not it is up to the voters to exercise their feelings come next election.
Please for now, let us have cool heads, strong hearts and intelligent minds for the bigger battle that is looming ahead. Just stay together for that purpose.
written by OVERLORD, February 13, 2009 20:24:38
Some of us fear or feel intimidated by RPK's words because it highlights the truth without the added preservatives.He doesn't white wash the facts but gives us the grim reality. He can be blunt at times which does not appeal to some people's flavour.And for his most ardent supporter, RPK is best described as stubborn, charasmatic,posess a somewhat dry humour, words that he pens which anyone could relate too..I for one have great respect for a man who stands his ground, even when he faces a barrage of critism, caught in a crossfire of different opinion.AT times, I might disagree with his comments, but that doesn't mean I dislike him....Give RPK a break... is only human.He is entitled to make any conclusion, just like anyone else...
written by OilMan, February 13, 2009 20:31:23
It goes to show that RPK is a realist. When the PR team makes a mistake RPK has the courage to highlight it.
written by malgal, February 13, 2009 20:40:01
hey rpk aka pink panther. da dum da dum da dum .... knew it was you from da dum start, right? yeah, remain watchdog sans bias, sans popular currents, dats the way. cheers and see ya soon.
written by Anti Relon, February 13, 2009 20:49:02
At least there is a democratic tone in MT. Readers/Bloggers have the right to criticise RPK, as they also have the right to defend him.
Readers should accept reality. Not all the raykay support the opposition parties. Those who support BN have their right too.
I go for PRK.
written by CheGUvera, February 13, 2009 20:53:38
This is what we call democracy..Everyone's thought are allowed in the NEW coalition party. Karpal had his say too, & all should be allowed. This is no BN where critics will be ev. punished through diff.form. Everyone know what I mean esp the BN themselves. So, long live the NEW & FREE party.
written by Awaken64, February 13, 2009 20:54:53
Well RPK the 100 day report card is nearing one year!!!

The truth is Politicians are politicians!!!

Keep well and have peace and serenity with your loved ones!!!!

You are definitely my Malaysian of the new Millennium
written by sahabat, February 13, 2009 20:58:51
UMNO introduced the Special Court which is meant only for the Sultans. This means the Sultans can be sued. When Mahathir introduced this court nobody was against it.

RPK, you are defending the Perak Sultan. Alright but is the Sultan above the law?
written by asiana888, February 13, 2009 21:04:50
No need to be shocked about RPK. He is entitled to his opinions. If indeed it was true that he did advised the PR Perak govt to dissolve when wind of the defections surfaced - and the advised not heeded than it is only fair the leaders have to do some soul searching and no use crying over spilt milk!

Well ... be prepared la for next GE and by-elections.

Good luck, PR!
smilies/smiley.gif
written by Richy, February 13, 2009 21:06:34
I think the whole scenario gets out of control. Winning and losing are norm and a part in politics but in Malaysia with all invisible touch BN and UMNO do achieve a lot of things. We all know that and Perak's episode is an extreme case. The important thing for now is, instead of blaming among ourselves why can't we revisit our weaknesses together to overcome them. When RPK gets angry he blasts everybody. When Karpal gets angry he too blasts everybody. When PAS is not happy they too bring up issues. With this kind blame game can we meet eye to eye to discuss things constructively? If we have this amount of intolerance to keep harping on shortcomings of leaders, forget about changing Malaysia.
Joining UMNO would be a better option!
written by ahmadneil, February 13, 2009 21:24:33
RPK,you must be joking when you say you side the sultan.
written by tommycol, February 13, 2009 21:25:18
RPK, I for one SALUTE you SIR.
From what i have read ; it's just been a very FRANK article.
some of these ppl just cannot accept the FACT that their BELOVED LEADERS
had gone under the hammer from RPK.
I hope these ppl will look at the events and truth that's written and not
be blinded and hot-headed when your LEADERS were FAULTED.
I have NEVER VOTED for BN but then i do agree with RPK.
It should be a LESSON well learned and i sincerely hope the LEADERS of PR will
be WISER from now and PR will be much more MATURED from this.
Here i would also like to wish them BETTER LUCK for the BY-ELECTIONS &
to the RAKYAT of both PERAK & KEDAH, pls vote with your HEAD in the coming
BY-ELECTIONS. Pls show UMNO, what DEMOCRACY & PPL POWER is ALL ABOUT.
written by Rozlan, February 13, 2009 21:43:03
the past, Raja Petra had usually chosen to ignore these; perhaps because of his realising the futility of responding to all the negative statements and speculations that celebrities have to live with. But there was one instance this week where he lashed back at a comment by a reader:

“Mendela, (Nickname of a commentator) I should punch you in the face for suggesting that I ‘sided’ with the Sultan and Umno because of my court cases next week. I am made of better stuff than you suggest. I bet you would never make that statement with your name and address below it. So who is the chicken, you or me?”

Even some of Kerabat DiRaja Perak who usually support PAS had now support DYMM Sultan Perak in his decision overiding Perak Constitution to give advantage to UMNO..After all blood is thicker than water..Anyway how far RPK support DYMM decision beyond my knowledge.Maybe he was just trying to provoke us as usual.Furthermore at the same time ha had a court case to deal with

Anyway looking back to DYMM Suktan Perak decision,he had succeeded in making most of Perakians and Malaysians in general lost confidence in Malaysian monarchies..Looking back at history we the opposition found out that The Royals hardly support us.They will try to find any technical glitch so that they could reject us..As far as the monarchies are concern any UMNO enemies are their enemies too..
written by ylcc, February 13, 2009 21:54:51
ahmadneil, now that you have mentioned it, I do not recall reading about RPK saying it. Maybe I missed the article. Normally RPK comments directly on MT, why then has there been two articles quoting him saying this and saying that? I find it strange and am a bit puzzled.
written by ibabonma, February 13, 2009 21:54:54
I have stated my piece,

(1) its not the time for Anwar to leave.
(2) DYMM erred in his decision and temporarily blinded in not seeing what 16(6)was and I hated such.
written by confuseus, February 13, 2009 21:57:02
Yes,RPK cannot fight alone..he will soon be frustrated,fed up and eventually give up. We need a structure and RPK can set up an Ombudsman Office under Royal patronage.
How about it, Sir RPK ??

OMBUDSMAN: HISTORY and DEVELOPMENT.
The modern use of the term began in Sweden, with the Swedish Parliamentary Ombudsman instituted in 1809, to safeguard the rights of citizens by establishing a supervisory agency independent of the executive branch. A prototype of ombudsmen may have flourished in China during the Qin Dynasty (221 BC), and in Korea during the Joseon Dynasty The Romans may have also grappled with the problem.
However, it was the example of the second Muslim Caliph, Umar (634-644) and the concept of Qadi al-Qadat (developed in Islamic law), which influenced the Swedish King, Charles XII. In 1713, fresh from self-exile in Turkey, Charles XII created the Office of Supreme Ombudsman, which soon became the Chancellor of Justice.[1] A parallel institution, the Parliamentary Ombudsman, was later established by the Riksdag, and it was this that the Scandinavian countries subsequently molded into its contemporary form.
In general, "ombudsman" refers to a state official appointed to provide a check on government activity in the interests of the citizen, and to oversee the investigation of complaints of improper government activity against the citizen The major advantage of an ombudsman is that he or she examines complaints from outside the offending state institution, thus avoiding the conflicts of interest inherent in self-policing.
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:01:58
Dey, sufc, read the credit again. The article is not by RPK. It's by By NJ AHMAD of The Malay Mail.
written by sufc, February 13, 2009 22:07:20
dey, super admin. I didnt refer to the maly mail article, i referred to 'what more to say article'
written by ylcc, February 13, 2009 22:08:30
Ooops, my question has just been answered. Yellow highlight "hantam". OK, I am off to bed. Goodnight, everyone.
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:12:12
sufc, you said: "i disagree with rpk's view on this latest article". THIS means THIS and not THAT, the earlier article. Your England very bad one. No wonder you did not understand what RPK wrote. Read it again, S-L-O-W-L-Y this time.
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:14:38
sufc, tell me which part of this you DO NOT understand:

About a week ago, a few of us sat down to discuss the impending collapse of the Perak government. It was suggested we speak to the Pakatan Rakyat leaders, which we did. Our recommendation was that they dissolve the Perak State Assembly and hold fresh state elections while Pakatan Rakyat still has the majority in the Assembly. Once Pakatan Rakyat has lost that majority it will be too late. No way will the Sultan agree to the request to dissolve the Perak State Assembly once you no longer command the majority in the Assembly.

But the Pakatan Rakyat leaders would not listen. They still have things under control, they remarked. We did not think so and we told them this. But who are we to ‘teach grandmothers how to suck eggs’, as Malaysians would say? If we are so smart then how come they, and not us, are the party leaders. We would be sitting in their chairs, instead, if we are cleverer than them. Politicians do not think much of you if you do not hold any party positions. They only respect those who hold positions in political parties and government, not those outside mainstream politics.
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:15:57
and this:

When the Rulers of Perlis and Terengganu ‘interfered’ in Umno’s choice of Menteri Besar, we hailed them as great Rulers who are full of justice and wisdom. When the Rulers agreed to allow Pakatan Rakyat to form the Perak and Selangor state governments, they are the best Rulers in the world. Whenever things go our way we are full of praise. But as soon as the decision does not favour us they are haprak Rulers.

written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:16:51
and this:

What happened in Perak is good. I hope it will teach Pakatan Rakyat that it has to get its act together. The DAP lady’s crossover was triggered by something very trivial and goes to show she is more concerned about herself than about her party or about the rakyat. Everyone got a new Camry except her. So she sulked (merajuk) and left the party. If she had been given a new car she would not have sulked. A mere car brought the Perak government down.

If this is what brought the Perak government down, then it deserves to fall. The Pakatan Rakyat government in Perak used to be a non-Malay majority government. Now, it is an almost entirely Malay government. 27 of the 28 State Assemblymen are from Umno. Even if the three ‘independents’ join the new government it will be 29 Malays against only two Chinese. And there is not a single Indian State Assemblyman/woman in the new government.
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:17:42
and this:

What took 52 years of transformation has been destroyed in a mere days. Today, we are back to an entirely Malay government in Perak. And a DAP State Assemblywoman helped achieve this. A Chinese made the restoration of maruah Melayu (Malay dignity) possible. She should be given the next Ma'al Hijrah award and be accorded Bumiputera status.

I can only say that this serves Pakatan Rakyat right. They had it coming. When personal interests and racial issues override everything else, you deserve to fall. And there are many low quality wakil rakyat still in Pakatan Rakyat -- DAP, PKR, as well as PAS. Expect more to cross over. The RM25 million dangled in front of their faces is just too difficult to say no to. After all, not everyone is in politics to serve the rakyat. Many are in it for their personal interests. And RM25 million is an attractive proposition.
written by mendela, February 13, 2009 22:17:43
I would say it again and again:

Perak Sultan did not need to swear-in the new MB so quick!
He understands our laws very well, what was the hurry for him to do it in such a rush? Gamuda factor? Blackmailed by Najis and its scumbags?

Also, even PR Government wanted to resolve the Perak assembly earlier, would he allow it?
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:18:39
and this:

Next time, get better candidates. Some of the Pakatan Rakyat wakil rakyat are so low standard I would not even trust them to baby-sit my dog. I would not deny there are some good wakil rakyat in Pakatan Rakyat, some even better than those from Barisan Nasional. But all we need are 30% bad ones to bring the party down, especially when you are barely surviving with a 10% majority in Parliament or the state assemblies.

Okay, Umno bought over our wakil rakyat. So what? If they are not for sale then Umno could not have been able to buy them. It is like prostitution. If there are clients then there will be prostitutes. It is the law of supply and demand. If there are no takers then there can be no givers as well. Simple!
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:20:14
and more importantly, what about this:

Let’s face it: we lost. Let’s just lick our wounds and learn from this bitter experience. Our leaders were stupid and we paid for this stupidity. We chose poor quality people as candidates. We knew that Umno was trying to buy over our wakil rakyat. We knew they would eventually succeed. But we just stood and watched without launching a pre-emptive strike -- such as dissolving the state assembly when there was time to do so and when we still had the power to do so.

That is the long and short of it. Let us lose like gentlemen. Sure, they did not play fair. The Sultan should not have forced the MB’s resignation or appointed a new MB from Umno when Nizar did not resign. Sure, there are questions of whether it was legal to do what the Sultan did. But he did, fair or otherwise. And the Sultan could not have done so had we been cleverer. We left the door open and they walked in. We should take the blame for that rather than moan and bitch. And, next time, lock all the doors. Thieves are thieves and will always be thieves. But we were sloppy and that allowed the thieves to get in. There is no denying that.
written by sufc, February 13, 2009 22:23:18
dey super admin, do you expect people to agree with rpk said all the times? we have our senses too?
written by Super Admin, February 13, 2009 22:27:31
sufc, disagree by all means - just as long you understand what was written. But you are disagreeing because you do not understand what was written. RPK disagreed with what the Sultan did and he said so. He did not support what the Sultan did. But he said that Pakatan Rakyat must also share the blame for not preempting the move until they had lost the majority. By then it was too late. You whack him for agreeing with what the Sultan did. But that's just the point. He does not and he puts his name to the article while saying so.
written by Anak Desa, February 13, 2009 22:32:56
Hi MT Readers, Take a rest .. Wishing you a Happy Valentine day Feb 14th 2009.
Our warm regards to you all.
written by amjoem, February 13, 2009 22:49:21
Sufc,
Enough! Don't further proof your stupidity. OKAY. Go to bed.
written by LFLee, February 13, 2009 22:51:26
RPK article provides another point of view in this Perak incident.

I always think it is good that there are many point of views
among PR. This allowed the people to THINK, to educate the
people, to inform the people. Only through these various
discussions, we as a nation can move on as a whole.

Not like BN, where everything said by UMNO (or its president)
is FINAL, and NO ONE ELSE allow to discuss 'SENSITIVE' issue
anymore, not even MCA, MIC, or GERAKAN - just SHUT UP.

I still support RPK, support PR, support a free-of-speech
environment. I believe only through these kind of discussion,
some may say arguments, we as Malaysian can see who is the real
leader, who is consistent with their principles, and who is
just some a$$hole who keep changing and hopping.

RPK, Anwar, Kit Siang, Karpal are the man - they stick with
their principles and their believes and with these people,
we are clear where they are going to lead us to.

With UMNO, you know they will lead the whole country to 'Ho Land'. smilies/grin.gif
written by Kopi37, February 13, 2009 23:18:40
No simple mind will understand how complex is RPK's cerebral mechanic, for he's a great man! No simple person can read RPK's tears in his writings but merely his emotions! They mistook his love with hatred and emotionally lured into greater emotions to until beyond control and confrontation caused at times.

One must follow Pete for long time to see the whole hog of his character, not only his macho appearance, his lovely bald head but his true character and his virtuous mentality sort of ins and outs quality of a person - an extra ordinary person, as great as a Novel Prize Laureate!

When Pete was released from Kemunting and when confronted by the reporters, his heart words spelled out to the reporters shook me which touched me very much - 'Pls don't write me into a Hero, I am only human, I do have fears and worries about my family while I was in the boot camp', more or less synonym to what he said. I read his sentiment of a great man and I understand what he uttered out his heart and his true feel. He's only human, the difference is between a great man and an ordinary man, the way he expresses!

I quite agree with Super Admin, when one read RPK's article, don't just read the worst 4 paragraphs, neither 9 para is sufficient to understand the gist of the whole article! Read in totality - read the essence of the words, read RPK's heart, read out his true sentiment, not merely emotion! Read his tears behind the messages! Read his anxiety and his anxiousness in competing with time to achieve his ideal, an ideal for all - a better Nation! Read his wits in politics and read his philosophy and read on.....slowly and stay cool to chew the cud of his writings!

I choose to digest RPK's emotion with enzyme of positive opiate rather than negative bias which only blurs my perceptive understanding and miss the respect and love to a great man ever being missed in the murky political environment for decades in this beloved land I adore!

Ask Super Admin, why RPK was Pink Panther?
written by Kopi37, February 13, 2009 23:29:29
Typo error rectified--

.....Nobel Prize Laureate, TQ.
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 14, 2009 00:47:27
For our Big Brother Pete [Quotes]
"[Pope John Paul II Have no fear of moving into the unknown. Simply step out fearlessly knowing that I am with you, therefore no harm can befall you; ...]
"
written by bexe, February 14, 2009 01:12:02
In the heat of things, everybody erred. Najib, UMNO, BN, DAP, PAS, PR and I dare say even the Sultan. Corruption and manipulation triumphed.
The most equitable solution is a snap election and we start with a clean slate.
written by freedom to speak, February 14, 2009 01:55:12
Super Admin,
Superb man. I find reality has not hit many of the rakyat yet.
The fairytale is still going on for them, sending state governments to opposition control but,..
the reality is, they are imperfect administrations because they are at the mercy of the federal government who still control the laws and machinery.
It was like giving a time-bomb to a kid. How does he know how to defuse a bomb?
He only knew how to stand on the sideline and shout poor management, corruption this and that all the while.
I hear LGE pleading for funds from the federal government every now and then.
What is he going to do? He can't give details to us. There is the Official secrets act. Another time bomb, maybe? Economic situation is very critical now. And their coffers are running dry. Go and figure it out la. They will need to cut cost and down size. Then the rakyat are going to call them corrupters too!
written by freedom to speak, February 14, 2009 01:57:48
PS. I am not concern about the BN.
It is the internal enemy, saboteurs.
And the every watchful rakyat, who will shake the boat.
written by Zeroed, February 14, 2009 02:16:36
The ****ing problem is that everyone has gotten themselves fanatical about a certain causes they choose to take sides. Disregarding which sides, both are blinded without the natural sense to reason reasonably or to accept what are facts of the matter. Too fanatical in this instance that they no longer seek the truth to remedy the situation but instead choose to blindly oppose to the opposing side at all cost. Based on the way things are going....which ever side wins, the Rakyat still ended up the biggest loser.

Uncle Pete is the only person I know who has been CONSISTENTLY neutral from the very beginning. After 8th March 2008, didn't he caution PR about discharging their duty to put the Rakyat's interest above all?! Yes, PR house was besieged by BN in Perak. If PR guard their own house well, non of these would had happened.

The whole Perak fiasco can be better illustrated by usage of The Thirty-Six Stratagems applied by BN to gain succession.

1.Loot a burning house (Chinese: 趁火打劫; pinyin: Chèn huǒ dǎ jié)
When a country is beset by internal conflicts, when disease and famine ravage the population, when corruption and crime are rampant, then it will be unable to deal with an outside threat. This is the time to attack.
Usage: Keep gathering internal information about an enemy. If the enemy is currently in its weakest state ever, attack it without mercy and totally destroy it to prevent future troubles.
*Lets face it. Components of PR are still squabbling among each other with their differences in ideology, who should get a Camry and who don't, Hudud or no Hudud. Compare to BN, everyone THERE has a common interest-POWER & MONEY, thus united.

2.Watch the fires burning across the river (traditional Chinese: 隔岸觀火; simplified Chinese: 隔岸观火; pinyin: Gé àn guān huǒ)
Delay entering the field of battle until all the other players have become exhausted fighting amongst themselves. Then go in at full strength and pick up the pieces. This has been US foreign policy when it comes to dealing with complex international conflicts, since at least the First World War, and onwards.

3.Sacrifice the plum tree to preserve the peach tree (Chinese: 李代桃僵; pinyin: Lǐ dài táo jiāng)
There are circumstances in which you must sacrifice short-term objectives in order to gain the long-term goal. This is the scapegoat strategy whereby someone else suffers the consequences so that the rest do not.
*...and the list of Scapegoats of Perak fiasco goes on and on.......

The strategies applied by BN on Perak also go on and on.....http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thirty-Six_Stratagems

SO, Uncle was right when he pointed out that PR didn't pre-empt what were coming.

To all you fanatical maggots out there who are intellectually incapable to comprehend the whole picture.....**** u!! Those who accuse Uncle Pete of suddenly went south in his stance because he's facing his sedition trials....**** u too. For he don't have to give up his freedom by spending both 2 times in Kamunting, charge for sedition for causes that are none of his ****ing problem and endangered himself by bravely exposing those underworld bosses. Nobody does all those stunts just for kicks. You ****ers out there who criticize him, I suggest you do the honorable thing by taking his place. Otherwise, just shut the **** up.

Sorry for using the f word....i truly cannot tahan already....
written by pkrgulf, February 14, 2009 02:23:45
Let's see if RPK could take the fight alone..without the help of opposition leaders and supporters..he will just be an irritant not so relevant and after a while forgotten...the point is..we need to focus on the common enemy..stop the finger pointing and get on the job of pushing BN out of power..we need each other now than ever..end the bickering and move on..isn't that not the right thing to do?
written by Zeroed, February 14, 2009 02:39:55
pkrgulf, U don't seems to get it. RPK has never been PR or BN. He's simply RPK. It seems more to me that PR has been leeching on him to win elections than the other way round.
written by sonofmalaysia, February 14, 2009 02:48:43
I agree with sufc.

It is very easy to say that had PR dissolve the assembly when they still have majority, it would not have happened. This is an out-right assumption !! What guarantee that the Sultan would allow it if he was approached earlier when PAkatan still has the majority ? The Sultan could still very well reject it on basis that Pakatan still has majority and an fresh election is very expensive and that the Pakatan govt should concentrate on economy and all the jazz !!

With the haste at which the Sultan go about it , and that an assembly was not called to removed MB legimaately and legally, and with the big Gamuda factor, it smell rotten rat !!

written by tumbledore, February 14, 2009 02:50:26
RPK also gets the most comments!!
I'm really jealous of him

the commentry intercourse between
sufc and superAdmin did indeed
enlightened us a bit. discussions
do contribute to better understanding!

keep it up!
written by MasterYoda, February 14, 2009 04:15:51
I take no sides in this factionlizing things...

I am for God Fearing men and women!
written by flyer168, February 14, 2009 08:14:26

Things are brewing HOT in Perak & overspilling Nationally! Our vigils are taking 2nd place with all their FRUs in Perak !

PDRM & FRUs are "Baby-sitting" KJ's, etc (Il)legal! Protests whilst our PEACEFUL Candlelight Vigil brothers & sisters were Harassed/Arrested!"

After all RPK's, his Special Bunch's & Bloggers' efforts to support PR in the last G/E & a year since, we are back to almost square one !

Devine intervention is giving PR 2 Bye-elections as a "Last chance" but their Inter & Intra squabbles, their Infrastructure/member quality, etc
is definitely not "Healthy" for this battle/War eventually !

Maybe let us ALSO ponder upon/deliberate on the Action Plan NOW to mitigate the IMPENDING Political & Financial fallout and to start anew with "Fresh Calibered" personalities & not recycled Politicians/Personalities.

With RPK (Personally & Poor Marina with the family !), seemingly having to fight his "Unending Court Cases" on top of all his initiatives with MT & his Blogging fraternity....whilst still remaining "Cool & Calm", ofcourse he feel "Dejected" when his suggestions to the PR Leaders were brushed aside as he is not a "Political" party member & they lost the "Game".

Barisan Rayaat has been "Neutral" & not "Pro" any "Party" nor "Personality" in its pursuit of "Truth" to restore Justice, Freedom, Equality & Peace !

Give RPK a "Break" guys, cos NONE of US could have "SURVIVED" what RPK "Went Through & is Still having to ENDURE."

Anyway Happy Valentine's Day Pet, Marina & all MT readers.

written by roylim, February 14, 2009 08:15:35
RPK in my own personal opinion is someone to be fully respected.

Do not say that he is taking sides, which he definitely is not.
He will say the truth and if anybody errs, he will give them his piece of mind.
We surely want RPK to remain this way, APOLITICAL, without fear or favour.
I do not think that we want RPK to be just anti-BN because when Pakatan Rakyat takes over the federal government in future, we will need RPK to be there to have some check and balnce and to differentiate the rights from wrongs.
We in Malaysia needs more RPKs to stamd up. Maybe it is time we have an APOLITICAL PARTY that looks into the best interest of the rakyat.
written by teo siew chin, February 14, 2009 08:48:29
YM RPK's been round the block - a few times even!
He knows what he's doing.
His cause is actually very simple - AMAR MAARUF, NAHI MUNKAR; which means to uphold truth and oppose evil.
It is the enemies he has to fight to uphold the cause that is difficult - especially if the enemies do not fight fair and honourably. There is no honour among thieves!
The lost of Perak is hard to fathom becos even the last hope of the rakyat to rely on the royalty is gone.
The troops are demoralised, hurt, felt betrayed.
The troops are weak now - ready to give up?
OF COURSE NOT !!! LAWAN TETAP LAWAN !!!
but lock all the doors, secure the fort and
LISTEN TO YM RPK when next he advises!!!!
written by China Trengganu, February 14, 2009 08:51:45
sonof, sufc,
There's never any guarantee that if u keep all the doors locked, the thieves can't come in. But at least if they do manage to come in, u could have said "We have done all we could to prevent it".

But if we left the door open and they walked in and rape our daugthers, then for sure it'll be too late to say "girls, daddy wish daddy had lock all the doors".
written by Running Sardines, February 14, 2009 09:08:10
To me, YM RPK is a sort of 'catalyst' for all Malaysians to think of their future ... previously, we do not comprehend that it is us RAKYAT that choose the leaders so that they can SERVE us and not the other way round ... we stick to the same misleading though that saids only BeEnd can deliver ... and hell, after so many bad news and scandals, we still give BeEnd hope but they took us RAKYAT for granted ... and now when we realised that it is us RAKYAT that can have justice, fairness and hope, them BeEnd unveiled their dirty tricks ... which is shameful for a country like Malaysia ... and I support what YM RPK wrote about the Perak power grabbing incident ... my suggestion is that them PR leaders and YBs must be more hardworking than what we expected ... don't slack ... after all, it is like a marathon race ... we cannot changed the past but it is from the past we learnt to change the future ... Happy V day all smilies/grin.gif
written by talk2stop, February 14, 2009 09:11:28
Malaysians are strange people. You guys just can't work with disagreement.
PR is rather good in blaming others who don't even bother to defend themselves for their failure.
All the good work is undone. Bloggers are now kicking and asking themselves it is better to clean up UMNO rather than to help PR.
written by Rozlan, February 14, 2009 09:16:37
Super Admin

I agreed with you that PR Perak was late in their action to dissolve the assembly while they still have the "majority"..I think the blunder come from their trust to DYMM Sultan of Perak.How come they didnt trust him.He was our country judicial guru.So for him to go against the Constitution was unlikely.That was what PR thought..

PR should have smell the rat earlier before when YM Raja Muda criticized MB of Perak for giving lands to non malays.After that in one of his speech he did stressed out that the Sultan was "neutral".. PR forgot to learn from history,History write that the Sultans never favored PAS or other oppositions.Any technical glitch was enough excuse for the Tuanku to favor UMNO..After all the smell of RM is sweeter than the smell of fairness and justice aint it??

Now we in PR should face reality.The socalled payong are not our payong.It is UMNO payong..We have to be careful from now onward..We have to remember that BN,all govt agencies,security forces,judiciary and the monarchies are agaisnt us..

PR must stay united.If not we will be torn to pieces...Insyaallah we will win.
written by advocatusdiaboli, February 14, 2009 10:12:41
What happened in Perak left a bitter taste in everyone's mouth as we had hoped so much could be achieved by a new State Government. RPK has a right to his comments. That is his point of view. Karpal also has a right to bring the Sultan to court. That is his point of view. We here have a right to make our comments known. That is our point of view. As much as I feel disgusted with what had happened in Perak lets take it as a good lesson as to what UMNO is capable of. Let the leaders of PKR, DAP and PAS sit and be honest with themselves and find a solution to this sad events that had taken place. Take all comments positively and improve. PR still can do a good job by serving their constituencies as best as they can and lets swallow the bitter oill and wait for the next GE unless by the grace of god more BN fellas kick the bucket. PR please improve as this event no matter how sour it is has exposed the chinks in your armour. Next time choose more capable, educated and honest people to stand for elections.
written by advocatusdiaboli, February 14, 2009 10:17:54
Next time leave the Sultans out of politics please and stop this incessant Daulat Tuanku nonsense. Maybe one thing that Mahathir has done correct is to limit the power of Sultans. Shit, I hate to agree with Mahathir on this but I grudgingly will and swallow the bitter pill myself.
written by advocatusdiaboli, February 14, 2009 10:19:38
For now let us all give our support to RPK in the ongoing legal battles. This is what UMNO is capable of. That is why the PR must improve more.
written by SL Chan, February 14, 2009 11:27:41
I think YM RPK is right....Yes,infact they should have listen to get the assembly dissolve when they have the majority even if a risk is there where the Sultan will never approved...One thing for sure the reliable information that RPK and others blogger ,most of the time are accurate...Anyway we hope Pakatan will learn their lesson well and start to buckup and unite as force to move forward..Loose the battle but won the war and is coming...

YM RPK mention "Let’s face it: we lost. Let’s just lick our wounds and learn from this bitter experience. Our leaders were stupid and we paid for this stupidity. We chose poor quality people as candidates." HONESTLY I FULLY AGREE WITH YM RPK..SOME WAKILS ARE SUCKS,IDIOTS,MORONS AND GOOD FOR NOTHING...SORRY TO SAY THIS "LIKE PIECE OF SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think PKR,DAP and PAS should cleanup all this idiotics or should i say inhouse cleansing!!!!!!
written by malaysianohope, February 14, 2009 11:36:58
The reason why I like to comment in MT is that I'm allowed to form my opinion regardless of whether all the votes are against me or not, and that's "Democracy". I have observed that the more you engage Raja Petra with dissenting opinions the more he hit back with his viewpoints, nevermind who is right or wrong. The important thing is that others can decide for themselves which is also their every right. With regards to his treatments of Pakatan as against the Sultan, I am of the view he is 'spot on' concerning Pakatan but not the Sultan. The fact that the Sultan is perceived to be playing Politics would mean that he is not for the Perakians but himself.
written by mykantree, February 14, 2009 14:20:47
Man, this dude is a lot smarter than some gave him credit for.He's got balls ala Karpal. A Man Of Distinction.He knows what he is doing.Just wait for the outcome.A master chess player.
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 15:14:48
Malaysiaku, NJ Ahmand (not that he will respond), Badaksumbu & Those Who Kept Saying PRK Was Siding With The Perak Sultan: Pls specifically state the part or parts of the RPK’s “What more to say?” article that had led you to the conclusion that he sided with the Perak Sultan? It seems that I am one of those in the super minority that had failed to arrive at this deduction ! As RPK responded in blog “What more to say?” that he is NOT siding with the Sultan, so it is a case of him having written something he did not mean to (which based on my own reading of the article that he was crystal clear with his words) or many among us need English teachers to interpret the article? Pls can someone or everyone please please clarify ! smilies/grin.gifjavascript:void(0);
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 15:37:17
Sufc : On your comment “do you expect people to agree with rpk said all the times ? we have senses too ?

All rational and responsible people will most definitely share a comment answer to your question; the answer (which I will state here at great risk of insulting these people’s intelligence as it is so clear) being “No, not every single one of us expect total conformity and agreement to what RPK had wrote and would write. Yes, every one of us should respect other parties’ views, even if the opinions are differing and opposing (to the extent of the contrasting views from parties such as ahmeadneil)! After all freedom of expression is but one of the foundations of democracy. As Super Admin had said to you, you are free to disagree but please make sure that you understand what RPK had written. Pls present a clear case of your opinions and why you disagree (which you gracious had done!). To make an accusation of PRK needing to protect MT and himself, and that “he has enough of legal suits to defend” is falling short of being responsible and rational and is no different from a ranting demonstator in the street ! I am sure none of us would want to, consciously and otherwise, behave in such a manner. Rgds.

written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 16:33:28
Sufc : I am one of those who happen to agree with RPK’s assessment (a view which was already formed before I read his “What more to say?) that the Pakatan Rakyat-led government in Perak should had called upon the Perak Sultan to dissolve the Assembly when the party still had a clear and uncontestable majority of the Assembly (i.e. before defections of the MPS had run into advance stage of development) instead of hanging on and fighting it out !

In other words, if Nizar had the gift-to-foretell or that magical crystal ball two weeks ago, would he had seek for the dissolution of the Assembly given the current turmoil over “loss and downfall” (I know there are those who still that the Pakatan-led government is still standing tall !) and current uncertainty over the legality (or illegality) of Pakatan-led government ? In my opinion, the answer is a crystal clear “Definitely Yes!” Why do I say this ?
Obviously a dissolution will lead to a general election, of which many believe the Pakatan will be returned to govern. For me, and clearly for many, dissolution will give the Perak citizens the opportunity to clearly and undoubtedly elect who they want to lead and govern their beloved state.

Sufc : to the question, what guarantee that it would be successful ? Obviously, and especially in Msian politics, there is no guarantee ! I am not a constitutional law expert but my limited knowledge of this subject is that if the government party were to present to the Sultan that the incumbent party no longer commands the confidence of the majority of the Rakyat, the Sultan should then agree to a dissolution. There is a possibility that the Sultan might not agree to this, and in my opinion, this was why the BN leaders were rushing to meet up with the Sultan to present its side of the case. Obviously, the BN had presented their State Assemblymen line-up which off course then was in the majority and therefore seek consent to form the next government. Hence, it is RPK (which is also mine) that the Pakatan government should had called for dissolution in the early parts of the event when it had a stronger chance (which was diminishing by the hours during the course of event) of doing so. Sufc : if you don't agree with this, its fine with me.

Sufc : to your question “what would be the people’s reaction?”. Maybe many Pakatan supporters will be disappointment if Nizar had then opted for a dissolution, more so if Pakatan had lost in the now never-to-be known election (an outcome which I do not think is likely but then even if this were the case, so be it as it is the view of the people)! Why withdraw and surrender ? Lets fight it out as we had the legitimate rights to govern! Which options would you prefer ? As RPK had mentioned in his article, this issue is now a moot point as we cannot turn back the clock. Everyone have his own preference and reactions to the course of events! But if Nizar had been successful in calling for a dissolution, in my opinion, then no one should be dissatisfied as the end results will reflect the views of the Rakyat ! So, Sufc, if the people were to react negatively to a dissolution, then fine !

written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 19:14:41
The following were posted by Loh, on February 07, 2009 19:53:12 on the RPK's blog on "What more to say?". I think its worthwhile repeating the content:

///Mohd Ali Rustam, contender of Deputy President of UMNO said that Nizar should accept the outcome in Perak as one based on the democratic process and respect for Sultan Azlan Shah’s position.

Najib said should there be any disputes on the appointment {of MB from BN}, the remedy is to go to court. He said “it does not matter what we feel because it is the sultan’s prerogative to decide under the Federal (state?) Constitution./// -- The Star

Najib may soon be the PM and it would be his duty to uphold the Federal Constitution. As the UMNO Chief of UMNO for Perak and the state government he would also be responsible to uphold the state constitution. The persons who are responsible to uphold the constitution need to understand what the constitution provides, pertaining to the relevant issues, even though they are not expected to be able to argue cases in court. The state constitution provides for specific actions in the event that the Mentri Besar ceases to enjoy the majority of the votes of the State Legislative Assembly. For ease of reference, the two relevant sections are reproduced here under:

Quote:
Article 16 (6) of the Perak state constitution reads: “If the MB ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly, then, unless at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council.”
Article 16 (7) reads: “Subject to Clause (6) a member of the Executive Council other than the MB shall hold office at His Royal Highness’ pleasure, but any member of the Council may at any time resign his office.”
Unquote
In the event that the Mentri Besar ceases to enjoy majority support in the Legislative Assembly, however determined, he can be removed in three ways. He can resign, he can be dismissed, and his post as the Mentri Besar can be removed by having the Legislative Assembly dissolved. Since it was specifically mentioned in Article 16(7) that the Mentri Besar was not subject to hold office at His Royal Highness’ pleasure, the MB cannot be dismissed, and he need not follow the advice of the Sultan to resign. So, there are two alternatives to removing the Mentri Besar in that event; either the Mentri Besar resigns, or the State Assembly was dissolved when the letter of resignation was not forthcoming, and the Highness has been requested to dissolve the LA.

The Mentri Besar announced publicly on Thursday 5th February 2009 that he had not resigned and that the Highness would announce his decision soon. It should be clear to Najib that the only constitutional course of action for the Sultan was to announce the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly. Yet, Najib was competing for time to announce that the BN had acquired the required number of kataks so that a majority of seats in the LA would be occupied by BN. That misled the Royal Highness into taking into consideration matter beyond what had been provided by the state constitution. The Sultan subsequently appointed a second Mentri Besar for Perak, and declared that the Mentri Besar was ordered to resign. The actions were ultra vires to Article 16 of the Perak state constitution.

To ensure that decision made ultra vires of the state constitution is fait accompli, UMNO leaders threatened Pakatan government to accept the action as though the Sultan has the right to take action ultra vires of the constitution, and that those actions cannot be challenged. That was why Mohd Ali suggested that Nizar should respect the Sultan’s decision. He was clear that he had no ground to ask Nazir to respect the constitution.

Having contributed to the Sultan making the decision he hoped for, Najib now places the Sultan in a position for legal challenge. He attributed full responsibility to the Sultan, after having involved his highness in politics..

The education Minister, Kerismuddin said that other Pakatan government will also be taken over soon. He too does not respect state constitution, and he believes that UMNO can involve the royal houses to do their bidding, just like what happened in Perak.

Are the leaders in UMNO aware of the basic tenets of rule of law?
written by Sabahfan, February 14, 2009 20:59:08
Hey everyone in MT,

whatever are your arguments... they are all good for yourselves...

but it does not change the fact that malaysial land has proven to be govern by a govt best described as..

Govt of the corrupt, by the corrupt and for the corrupt..

and no single word appears in any dictionary for this term...

so i suggest this to be called UMNOcracy..... govt of the corrupt.
written by aryn, February 15, 2009 00:36:48
Supporters of Pakatan Rakat should be happy that democracy prevails in PR where everybody can speak their mind unlike in Umno.

This differing views is good for PR so the leaders would learn from their mistakes and if they are any wider, rectify them.

So don't be afraid to speak up. Even when we have to stand up against any sultan in the name of justice and rights.

written by latihanQ, February 15, 2009 01:22:39
Was not everything RPK wrote of the PR leadership correct?
Is it not a fact the PR leaders were completely complacent and failed abjectly in guarding their fort?
Is it not true there being no point in crying over spilled milk?
Should RPK who had invested so much, if not more than the Perakians, a right to say it as it is, to tell the PR leadership where they failed and why they failed so miserably in mounting a defense of the BN coup?
After having digested all that had been said, the only practical course of action for the PR leadership is to wake up, correct course, and take the critical steps needed to steer the pact in a more focused and clear direction before the next BN waves drown them?
We demand better leadership from those we voted for! We call on them to start thinking and working for the rakyat instead of self interests.
Otherwise it may not be just the words YM RPK throws at them. It could be our shoes!
written by TwilightYears, February 15, 2009 11:43:26
I salute RPK for the man that he IS. He speaks his mind without fear of consequences, except that of Fear of The Almighty. His defence of the Sultan of Perak is not without reasons. In similar vein, I respect Kapal for his stand from the legal point of view. Mahathir was solely responsible for the immunity of the royalty from the court and Karpal is only saying what was legally right. But his outburts were uncalled for, really.

I see RPK as a true Man, and a real Malaysian and a good Muslim.
written by Jit Dharma, February 15, 2009 23:19:22
Is it too late to say "death to the Malay Mail and all
running dog media" ? Their gloating cari-makan "reporters"
as well.RPK this and Pakatan that, you bastids are traitors,
getting bloated on your hot air while the country becomes more
and more a criminal enterprise run by a murder suspect. The
darkness has now encircled this land. One doesn't need to be
a prophet to see a very tragic end looming ahead for this nation.
Unless we resist. The final outcome will depend on the intensity
of our resistance.There is no other way.
written by Yee Poh Chai, February 19, 2009 11:34:37
I think most people who read MT only started shortly before the March 2008 elections or after the March 2008 elections. Those who have followed MT long enough will know that RPK is not Anti BN or Pro Pakatan, he says and does what he thinks is right, one may agree or disagree with RPK's editorials and what it says but I feel the problem is that most of the Malaysian public has wrongly categorised RPK and Anti BN and Pro Pakatan. I believe that it says alot about where most bloggers stand when the call themselves Barisan Rakyat Bloggers rather than Pakatan Rakyat Bloggers, Ipso facto we can see impartiality and fairness, and that is what we have been pursuing all this while.