Inquest into actress’ death starts today PDF Print
Friday, 13 February 2009 12:53

By M. Mageswari, The Star

The inquest into the mysterious death of actress K. Sujatha will begin today at the magistrates court here.

Sources familiar with the case said that magistrate Mohd Faizi Che Abu, sitting as the coroner, was expected to be informed of the witnesses to be called to testify in the proceedings.

“It will be a fact-finding mission on Sujatha’s death, including to determine the cause of death and witnesses who were present during and before her death.

“It is to find out more of the details, what had transpired during that period including if she had boyfriend problems,” the sources told The Star yesterday.

They said that 10 witnesses were expected to testify at the inquest.

Among them are Sujatha’s two brothers, two medical specialists and two general practitioners who had treated her at the Tengku Ampuan Rahimah Hospital in Klang.

S. Vell Paari, the Maika Holdings chief executive officer and son of MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, who had denied rumours linking him to Sujatha’s death, will also be one of the key witnesses.

Sujatha had worked as Vell Paari’s secretary.

The sources added that Mohd Faizi would set the trial dates after being briefed by DPP Geethan Ram Vincent, who will be assisting the coroner in the inquest proceedings.

Sujatha, 29, who had acted in several Tamil dramas, movies and commercials, died at the Tengku Ampuan Rahimah Hospital in Klang three days after she was admitted on June 25, 2007.

She was believed to have swallowed weedkiller at her apartment in Sentul.

Her death also resulted in PKR supreme council member S. Manikavasagam, who is also Kapar MP, lodging a police report on Aug 8, 2007 on behalf of Sujatha’s family at the Brickfieds police station and appealing to Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan to form a task force to investigate the case.

It also saw former Sentul police chief ACP K. Kumaran filing a lawsuit against Manikavasagam and three others in relation to a news report on her death which allegedly defamed him.

That case is due to be heard at the High Court.

written by batsman, February 13, 2009 13:10:10
More "I don't know" or "I can't remember" from witnesses? Beginning to look like standard text in law courts.
written by ahmadneil, February 13, 2009 13:26:49
WOW,Samy's son also to be key witness! great.Now,let the show begins!
What about Najis! we all have been waiting for him to be the key witness in killing of Aminah.
written by shamadz72, February 13, 2009 13:43:49
No wonder Samy continue to cling on to his power in MIC, knowing very well that if he is no longer the boss of MIC, his son probably gonna face the gallow!

written by carribeanking7, February 13, 2009 14:16:04
I am still waiting for the story of vell pari having USD500mil in a swiss bank to break......
written by chanakyan, February 13, 2009 14:19:49
ahmadneil, its the similar story of Altuntaya.. Story goes something like this (not exactly).. i had an affair with my secretary and etc... my wife went and complained to my mother. My mother got my secretary killed.. This is theme of the story.
written by Ken Liew, February 13, 2009 14:22:37
MOre like " I KNOW, But I CAN"T tell. "

As you know, those Barisan will prepare a C4 just to make people disappear.
written by Fuminari, February 13, 2009 14:32:23
as far as it involves the umno be end side,that would be a no caselah!!
this is the so called umno be end's rule of law in this bolehland!!
written by Kunta Kinte, February 13, 2009 14:36:56
Mahathir too did exactly that during the Lingam hearing. Suddenly, he could not remember any details at that point of time. However, lately he has been writing like he just got his memory back. Hopeless people!
written by louisL, February 13, 2009 15:05:01
The truth will never be uncovered given the current situation in this country.
The perpetrators will get away.....key witnesses will suffer memory relapse...post mortem reports will go missing or 'doctored' ....key witnesses will go missing (a uniquely Malaysian phenomenon) .......one or two scapegoats will take the rap....and Viola! Life goes on in Bolehland.
written by SCM, February 13, 2009 16:33:47
Why waste the people's money and time. Here it is:
1. Vell Paari killed Sujatha.
2. Samy Vellu will give the judge RM2 million.
3. Vell Paari will not be prosicuted.
4. Samy Vellu will give the investigating officer (IO) RM100,000.
5. IO will close-one-eye during investigations.
6. Judge will declare "case closed" due to lack of evidence.
7. Bozo Syed Hamid Albar will praise the Malaysian judicial system.

So, don't waste our time and money.
written by fairnessforall, February 13, 2009 17:51:17
The funny thing in this case is that she was found unconcious in her apartment in sentul after drinking weedkiller. She was taken to Tengku Ampuan in Klang when KLGH is less than 10 mins away. Who arranged for her to be taken to Tengku Ampuan. What I was told is that Samy vellu knows someone there and its obvious the corroner may give a false report on the post mortem. This question is imperative to ask why she was taken to klang in such an emergency when KLGH was so close by.
written by cllim123, February 13, 2009 18:39:38
There was liquid in the lungs. No foul play. No need to investigate. Kugan, Sujatha, Altantuya, Norita, the chinese boy killed by his Dato Seri uncle, Nor Omar's brother, Eric Chia... all same script. Baastaards. Soon, Vk Lingam, Eusoff Chin, Vincent Tan, Ahmad Fairuz, Tengku Adnan... also all no evidence. PKFZ, Johor ICQ, Zakaria Palace, Maika shares, all clean and above board. Shit to them all.
written by The dragonheart, February 13, 2009 19:07:06
What a stupid idea!!!

One uses C4 and the other uses weed killer...
written by rpremkumar2u, February 13, 2009 22:15:06
Semi Value Jr, have you heard strange goings on at the Rifle range house belonging to your Sr? And the even more strange things going on at the Syuen Hotel Ipoh in the suite? No worries now. Its just that the sins of the parents are visited upon their kids. High school drop out that you are, just wondering if you find this script ok for a television serial? Without prejudice bro, without prejudice. But plenty of juice nah?
written by Anak Desa, February 13, 2009 22:38:59
Hi Guys, Sujatha was unconsious when she was taken from her sentul house. Nearest hospital is General Hospital ,Kuala Lumpur at Jalan Pahang,KL which is 10 mins away but she was taken to Hospital GH Klang to be attended by a doctor who is related to Semi Value. So it is highly suspected and motive of foul play...by who ..your guess is as good as mine .....!
written by raven1958, February 14, 2009 00:36:58
Aiyooo...script so simple maa....Sujatha forced to drink paraquat..."water in the lungs"....send to Uncle Sam's nephew at Klang GH (the type of very ethical doctors MOH loves to employ)....nephew confirms heart attack and again "water in the lungs"...tells mortuary attendant will give you RM20 today, KFC and as abonus 10 coconuts for your temple....just do "external postmortem and confirm..."water in the lungs" story due massive heart attack in this young girl with an old heart....dont do complicated stuff like tissue samples , toxicology report etc....and if you release body real quick and a package deal to bury/cremate body quickly...will give you and family free treatment at my new private hospital...kau timmm...kau timmmm....no body...no evidence...dead women tell no tales....unless you bring Dr. Pink Panther with DNA expertise.