Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ‘Ban Karpal from entering Perak’

‘Ban Karpal from entering Perak’ PDF Print
Thursday, 12 February 2009 19:50

(The Star) - The Kedah Royal Household Association (PKDK) is proposing the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, ban DAP national chairman Karpal Singh from entering the state.

PKDK president Datuk Tengku Zainol Rashid Tengku Yahya said that such an action would be appropriate punishment for Karpal, whom he claimed had insulted the Perak Ruler.

“We propose that the Sultan of Perak ban Karpal from entering the state as we feel that his action is against the country’s Constitution.

“His action also (does no good) to his credibility as a senior lawyer and as an elected representative,” he said at a joint press conference with the Malay Unity Action Front (BBPM) here Thursday.

Also present at the conference was BBPM president Osman Abu Bakar.

Both movements are urging the Malay Rulers Council hold a special meeting to discuss action that should be taken against Karpal, who had informed the Sultan and the new Perak state government that he would take legal action against the two parties if they proceeded with the swearing-in of the new mentri besar.

Tengku Zainol described Karpal’s remarks as “uncivilised” and said they could influence others to make such remarks against the rulers.

Several quarters have lodged police reports against Karpal for his allegedly seditious remarks against Sultan Azlan Shah.

The lawyer-politician claimed that the Sultan had acted beyond his powers in dismissing the Pakatan Rakyat state government.

BBPM’s Osman said that the movement has prepared a memorandum that would be presented to the Sultan of Kedah, Tuanku Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah, asking all Malays -- irrespective of their political beliefs -- to unite and protect Malay special rights.

“I feel that legal action should be taken against anyone who challenges the power of the Malay Rulers,” he said, adding that the movement was now seeking an audience with the Sultan.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by wartank, February 12, 2009 19:59:34
What about the people who had insulted the Agung in Terengganu earlier? We ban them from entering...
agree 124
written by ahmadneil, February 12, 2009 19:59:44
Karpal Singh is a true and honest malaysian.He is entitled to go anywhere in malaysia without any restrictions.No one can restrict his movement,only God.Be clear on this!
agree 137
written by anak penang, February 12, 2009 20:01:30
Then after that why don't you go to all the rulers of the other states to do the same.
Hello, brader, orang sudah bosan dengan cara umno ini lah

Think of something new

Meanwhile you can take your middle finger and stick it behind your......s
written by chanakyan, February 12, 2009 20:03:10
NOW

THEN

written by Tompios, February 12, 2009 20:04:24
Now, we have Perak as the very civilize feudal country in this world. Tengku Zainol, don't be so NOL or NIL about civilize issues.
written by pixieface, February 12, 2009 20:05:43
The big glaring question is, ARE ROYALTIES ABOVE THE LAW. Perhaps Tun Mahathir
could shed a light on this. After all during his tenure, he clipped the royalties'
abuse of power. Need we be reminded of the numerous incidents by royal households
written by indianputra, February 12, 2009 20:05:59
The most stupid and idiotic statement I have ever heard in my entire life! What is wrong with these people. Do they have belacan in their brains? Don't they ever think?

I am not surprised why Malaysia is going down to the dogs. It is people like this... and why the hell is Kedah getting involved in the issue of Perak??
written by Sudahlah tu, February 12, 2009 20:11:52
baguslah ...kini senanglah kita tahu siapa mereka yang selama ini menjadi agen umno dan binatang jalanan yang selama ini cuba merosakkan perpaduan negara dan mencuri khazanah negara demi tamak mereka ..
written by Hello Keithy, February 12, 2009 20:16:21
Mr. Karpal Singh's alone is far more intelligent than all those UMNO Youths idiots combined. But of course, the youths' brains fetch a higher price at markets becos' they are not used at all.
written by Dominic, February 12, 2009 20:26:11
Look, even calls are being made from Kedah asking Malays to rise and protect their rights! What rights are they talking about? Who has rob them these rights ? I think Malaysians,esp the UMNO Malays in particular are an idiot lot. Maybe they dont have anything better to do and too complacent in life. Probably some calamities would mould them into a better person as otherwise they dont know whats their priority in life ! Plain idiots !!
written by mikefonz, February 12, 2009 20:27:11
'Ban Karpal from entering Perak' ???
Those fools thinks Karpal is alone ???
More than half the nation supports him.
Perak is going to be a "dead" state soon.
Even Perakians are embarassed to be Perakians.
Dissolve the state goverment a see what is
installed for the BN in the by-election.
written by HeeHaw, February 12, 2009 20:29:42
While the rest of the world is trying to figure out a way out of an impending catastrophic recession, these UMNO fellows (who never did an honest day's work in their lives anyway) are fixated on an old man in a wheelchair. And then they wonder why they keep losing elections.
written by thumb, February 12, 2009 20:39:53
umno should be banned for enacting laws to bring Royals to court in the first place. Do these scumbags use their brains or not, don't know the history of their own country.
written by miwaki, February 12, 2009 20:41:29
Better still they ban all Malaysians from entering Perak since most do not agree to Sultan's action.People from Perlis,Kedah and Penang have to jump across Perak before they can go to Selangor.He He He.
written by MyBUDAK, February 12, 2009 20:42:05
i think Perak Sultan will not do 2 wrong to make 1 right... smilies/grin.gif
by the way HRH had made 2 wrong by appointing Pangkor as ILLEGAL MB...
then appointing few gundik UMNO as EXCO...

please HRH, SAVE some face for Perakian... smilies/cry.gif
written by Raizzen, February 12, 2009 20:45:27
The Royal Household of which state ? Must be some bitter arses now that PAS is the ruling party. lol.

Making backdoor transaction not so easy anymore. Wargh kargh kargh.
written by OilMan, February 12, 2009 20:52:05
Dear Ahmadneil,

Some people wants to play God.
written by disgruntled, February 12, 2009 21:02:11
The BBPM people have got nothing more important to do in life than to ask sultan to ban Karpal from Perak!! I believe the sultan is a learned man and will laugh at these BBPM instigators for trying to influence him to do such silly things to his highness' subjects. I am sure the sultan treats all his subjects equally and fairly and will know how to differentiate the right from the wrong.. The sultan has more important things to attent to than to pick on Karpal just because Karpal said something which is out of the ordinary. I am sure if the sultan wants to penalise Karpal he need not go to the extent of banning Karpal from entering Perak. He could resort to much simpler moves than to station immigration officers along the Perak border to watch out for Karpal. The sultan knows Karpal is a true nationalist by name and deeds. There is no doubt about this.
written by Horizonline, February 12, 2009 21:07:02
wtf? if you all so respect royalty, how come rpk is being sued? munafiq, nevertheless.
written by macaufan, February 12, 2009 21:08:49
ROYAL KEDAH CIRCUS !
u guys r 'korek korek korek' ! ban Karpal ! ban all 98% Perakians who oppose corrupted regime racist umno's illegal state gomen !!!
so regime can hv d whole 2% of Perakians who fully supported regime !!!
hahahaha.....
written by Bloodhound, February 12, 2009 21:18:47

"......PKDK president Datuk Tengku Zainol Rashid Tengku Yahya said...........

“We propose that the Sultan of Perak ban Karpal from entering the state as we feel that his action is against the country’s Constitution.

BBPM’s Osman said that the movement has prepared a memorandum that would be presented to the Sultan of Kedah, Tuanku Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah, asking all Malays -- irrespective of their political beliefs -- to unite and protect Malay special rights.

“I feel that legal action should be taken against anyone who challenges the power of the Malay Rulers,” he said, adding that the movement was now seeking an audience with the Sultan.

Tengku Zainol as PKDK's president is showing his very glaring ignorance of the what the Constitution is all about! The Constitution dictates what the Royal families can and cannot do - all thanks to Dr. Mahathir (UMNO). Where was he when Dr Mahathir downgraded the authority of the Royal households? Perhaps he should have been screaming, kicking and banning the good Dr. when he placed the Royal households under the control of the Constitution.

Nobody should ever be above the law of the land as there could be no guarantee that their actions will not harm the innocent people that he/she might come into contact with directly or indirectly. Any wrong doings should be able to be adjudicated.

As for BBPM's Osman, he is just another one of those opportunistic scare mongering ketuanan idiot who are still not confident of the intelligence of the Malays who nowadays are very knowledgeable, intelligent and can stand on their own feet and are proud enough not to be bogged down or unduly preoccupied with the rights of this race or that race and their "tongkat" mentality.

If they still continue to feel insecure about the prowess of their race, then, there is no way that the Malay race can ever achieve anything great because the scaremongering rhetorics of their "leaders" will suppress/prevent the capable ones from emerging from their subservient attitudes towards everything. It's these people who claims to represent the Malay race that will keep the Malay race's progress at well below par of what they are capable of.

Keep them (the Malays) in the dark and feed them with bullshit is what has been happening in Malaysia. No wonder progress is slow when the calibre of their leaders are such. As the saying goes, we are only as good as our teachers.
written by merchant222, February 12, 2009 21:28:51
Tengku SAInol, your name translate literally as SHIT in hokkien.
You can shut-the-fkcu-up for you are not worth 2 sens of your words. A good leader or royalty should know how to carry themselves and be impartial for the people.

What is happening now is, the royals don't even step in to calm the situation with words of wisdom. Instead, it is perceived that they are exactly doing the opposite. Malaysia has indeed gone to the DOGs.
written by kingelvis, February 12, 2009 21:38:52
Kaki bodek
written by OVERLORD, February 12, 2009 21:44:22
Maybe we should ban the King from entering Perak...Why is a traitor still seating on the throne? POWER to THE PEOPLE!!
written by kodoktua, February 12, 2009 21:45:02
“We propose that the Sultan of Perak ban Karpal from entering the state as we feel that his action is against the country’s Constitution".

Does banning Karpal from entering Perak is very constitutional???!!! smilies/grin.gif

We, the people would like to counter propose; go back and study the Constitution first before telling us what is allowed and not allowed under our Constitution.
written by PangurBan, February 12, 2009 21:48:30
Oh wow, looks like the Sultan of Perak might order the half-formed Perak State Government, which he swore in earlier this week, to set up checkpoints at all land crossings into Perak to prevent ingress of the Honourable Member for Jelutong. Wah, bestnyer, can award contracts to a couple of cronies!!!
written by IbnAbdHalim, February 12, 2009 22:07:37
First of all have both the PKDK and BBPM presidents read and studied the state and federal constitutions and the laws binding before opening their gapes? They are becoming objects of laughing stocks and deemed moronic. Although it's unethical to drag the royals to court but they are legal under our law, and you can give that credit to UMNO, namely Mahathir Mohamed. And those NGOs and UMNO don't have to bark 'cause the public aren't stupid, and Karpal Singh knows what he's saying.

I for once am against the idea put forward by Karpal but on second thought Karpal SHOULD go ahead with his idea since UMNO and their goons are stirring public hatred towards the royals by their doings.
written by No nonsense, February 12, 2009 22:13:29
Do they have belacan in their brains?
Dear indianputra, if they have belacan in their brains at least they have something but they have nothing at all so what is the problem man?
written by harryo, February 12, 2009 22:19:37
Don't make this country look like a communist country where freedom of movement is restricted. This is a democratic country where movement is free and the royal is respected well too. Let us not confuse ourself. The world will laugh at us.
written by cylee, February 12, 2009 22:25:18
Woooh, why ban only Mr. karpal from entering perak? Why not ban all Pakatan supporter? why not send all the "Keturunan Pendatang" out from malaysia? I suggest BN let send all the Yellows skin back to South China Sea, Send all the Dark skin into India Sea, Send all the Botak idiot back to death sea, send all the Brown skin back to Indon? And i dare yours BN please send me back to Hell. Let this land rule by the "Keturunan Lanun" only which claim as the Tuan of this land. In Fact this Lanun's nature is to rob others wealth and land then claim to be the owner. Please don't blame them, because its lanun flow inside their blood out of their own wish. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by joeawk, February 12, 2009 22:26:38
Stupid. He forgets that Perak is stuck in between Penang and Selangor.

Malay special rights, my cock. Malay is not even a race. Malays is more rojak than rojak Penang. If there is a race known as Malay, the closest you can identify would be the orang asli.

Look la at Perak MB, is he what you call a malay? He is more indian than indian la.
written by wood, February 12, 2009 22:37:56
Is this a joke?
written by KKchan, February 12, 2009 22:45:23
Looks like we have another idiot talking. How does he propose to ban Karpal from entering Perak? Immigration checkpoints? Karpal is a citizen of Malaysia and last I check, Perak is a state in Malaysia. Sorry Perak. You have no 20 points agreement to bar Karapl and all those pesky PR politicos! A survey showed a majority of Perakians questioning the decision of the Sultan. Ban them too?
written by PresleyP, February 12, 2009 22:59:51
Guys,

Just cool down. Abusive language or racial remarks will not get the message across. The BN; PKDK and NGO can be forgiven when they make those remarks, because of their mentality or they are souls-less.

I am sure the public will not hesitate to show the Sultan. He is just the Leader of a Family, provided he walk his talk, act Constitutionally and act fairly for the benefit of the Rakyat.

Is PKDK showing their respect to Sultan by "telling his Highness what to do" ?

And one little issue, they are stirring up racial tension "to protect Malay Special Rights". They should be detained under ISA !!!

written by OVERLORD, February 12, 2009 23:26:53
Hello Keithy,

But of course, the youths' brains fetch a higher price at markets becos' they are not used at all.

Agreed..but I think you can also slot in "because their brain very hard to find!" cheers
written by rocky, February 13, 2009 00:12:30
have these fools actually read the constitution?

here it is for the fools including KJ and it is under Fundamental Liberties

(1) No citizen shall be banished or excluded from the Federation.

(2) Subject to Clause (3) and to any law relating to the security of the Federation or any part thereof, public order, public health, or the punishment of offenders, every citizen has the right to move freely throughout the Federation and to reside in any part thereof.

(3) So long as under this Constitution any other State is in a special position as compared with the States of Malaya, Parliament may by law impose restrictions, as between that State and other States, on the rights conferred by Clause (2) in respect of movement and residence.
written by raven1958, February 13, 2009 00:46:59
If there is anyone that needs banning from the state of Perak...it is the Sultan of Perak himself....please Azlan...just get lost...the people of Perak dont want you and your family....in fact you are not even welcome in Kedah, Penang, Selangor and KL....please take all your ill gotten gains and get out of Malaysia for your own good.....
written by Fuminari, February 13, 2009 01:28:56
by calling on this sort of barring this n that,tengtengtengku zainol is naively spinning faster into total self extinction !!
written by samarlin, February 13, 2009 01:54:18
Am not a swearer by nature but this idiot tengku or whatever shitty name he calls himself is or has tested me limits.You are one real dipshit who probably do not even know who your father is.You seem to have no wiener just like the others who hide behind the despicable cloak of royal farce to impose your decisions knowing very well they are contrary to the wishes of the people.And feeling smug with that idiotic face knowing that you are untouchable.
Only Tunku Abdul Rahman and RPK are the only ones worthy of their birthright as royalty with their concern for the common people befitting their title.The rest are just self-centred,egoistic and arrogant to the core.
written by samarlin, February 13, 2009 01:59:01
So come ban me too,if you know how to read.
written by ylcc, February 13, 2009 07:07:36
Actually, I do not approve of harsh critizisms against the Royalties, but in this case I cannot blame the people. Unfortunately, Tengku Zainol has not read the public well. Do not just go after Karpal alone. Most Malaysians are with Karpal, some openly, some quietly, perhaps more inclined to give the Sultan more "face" than Karpal. Might as well put the ban on majority of Malaysians, and particularly banish the upset Perakians from their hometown. Tengku Zainol should just watch his own backyard with a by-election looming over the horizon.
written by Dragon888, February 13, 2009 08:11:35
This suggestion is the most stupid and the greatest abuse of power. These sultans are useless in our modern age and should be caned. No wonder TDM took their power away. Even the more educated ones made heinous mistakes and refused to back down. They are just parasites...
written by Malaysiaku, February 13, 2009 08:48:29
Seems like UMNO's tactic is shallow and focusing on threats and intimidation to its opposition. The people should reject BN wholesale. They never learn and never will learn about what the people wants despite what they are saying about changing for the better. It is the same UMNO's and same BN's bad attitude for the last 52 years.

Let's hope the Sultan of Perak don't make the same mistake again of siding UMNO and BN. They will be the ones that is 'derhaka' and will tarnish the good name of the Sultan and all royalties.
written by kingelvis, February 13, 2009 08:48:40
YES and add Dr. corruption Mthir to the list. He stripped rulers of immunity..what for..for abuse of power, exactly what KARPAL is suing for.
PAKAI LAH OTAK!
Remind these monkeys who this land really belongs to.

Malaya, TANAH ORANG ASAL, FAHAM!
written by Malaysiaku, February 13, 2009 08:58:24
"“I feel that legal action should be taken against anyone who challenges the power of the Malay Rulers,” he said, adding that the movement was now seeking an audience with the Sultan."

No wonder there are so many uneducated and stupid people in Malaysia beginning with these people above. Tun Mahathir in his official capacity as UMNO President and Prime Minister was the one that curtailed the powers of the Royalty. Now isn't Mahathir and more aptly UMNO/BN that should be banned, stripped of their titles and ban from all Royal States for insulting the Sultans? This is a first classed 'Derhaka' - an act of treason by some UMNO people that gives the statement 'Melayu Mudah Lupa'. Adey, please do not continue to insult your race which do have many great and intelligent people. Some of you UMNO (people?) really shame the rest of your kind.
written by asguard, February 13, 2009 09:04:52
UMNO is even worse in malay word that can sum as muka talam dua (double faces)
written by advocatusdiaboli, February 13, 2009 09:07:09
If what is written in the Star is taken to be true (mostly it is lies) then Karpal is justified in taking the Royalty to court. No one is above the law. Not even Royalty and no one is perfect. If the Royalty really want to banish Karpal then the Royalty should equally be seen to be fair and banish the corrupt especially from UMNO as well. And guess what, the very person who curtailed the power of the Royalty in the first place is UMNO itself. We do not live in medieval times anymore. We have seen the abuses and blatant lies and racism by the Government in power for 51 years. Where were the Royalty then? Did they protect the people? Banish your ass lah!
written by PangurBan, February 13, 2009 11:17:07
written by joeawk, February 12, 2009 22:26:38
Malay special rights, my cock. Malay is not even a race. Malays is more rojak than rojak Penang. If there is a race known as Malay, the closest you can identify would be the orang asli.
======================================================= ============================
Please lah, the Orang Asli want to have nothing to do with the Malays. It is a well-documented fact that the Malays treated the Orang Asli most abominably, even to the point of hunting them down like wild animals. It is the Malays who, arriving by sea, took over the lands of the Orang Asli and pushed them further and further into jungle and the mountains.

written by panca, February 13, 2009 11:34:36
Their statement always give away their 'owned' so called 'intelligence'.

um...no!
written by astina, February 13, 2009 13:28:37
Bialash ..ini la Melayu bodh tak ada akal ..
written by fairnessforall, February 13, 2009 15:27:45
The royal household association must be made up of the servants in the royal household who are most probably uneducated, thats why they are servants. Looks like they too have been paid off by UMNO.

Firstly idiots, Karpal did not insult the Sultan. The Sultan insulted himself by proving that he is not a just a and fair ruler who cares about his subjects. His decision to work with BN despite the fact that its so clear the rakyat of Perak wants PR already shows that he does not care what his subjects wants and only concerned with his own benefit. So don't blame Karpal.

Why didnt you idiots call for Mahathir to be banned from perak when he took away the immunity of the sultans. God, please go get a brain.