Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pakatan to sue later, lodges MACC report

Pakatan to sue later, lodges MACC report PDF Print
Thursday, 12 February 2009 14:25

(The Malaysian Insider) The Pakatan Rakyat today postponed a suit challenging the legality of Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir’s administration but instead lodged a corruption report against the Barisan Nasional Perak Menteri Besar for illegally appointing advisers with executive councillor status.

Pakatan Rakyat lawyer Leong Cheok Keng said the suit, declaring the swearing in of Zambry last Friday as unconstitutional and illegal, could not be filed as the team of lawyers was rushing to complete legal documents.

He said it will be filed at the Kuala Lumpur High Court later and not Ipoh "so as not to cause embarrassment to the judges" in Perak.

Leong added that Zambry would be named as the sole respondent by Pakatan Rakyat Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin.

Nizar has refused a royal command to resign from the post after three Pakatan Rakyat lawmakers turned independent and expressed support for Barisan Nasional last week, leaving both coalitions with 28 seats each in the 59-seat state assembly. Sultan Azlan Shah appointed Zambry based on the support of the three defectors.

Earlier today Perak DAP secretary Nga Kor Ming lodged a report with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Authority against Zambry for appointing three advisers and a state information chief with executive councillor status.

Nga, who was a Pakatan Rakyat Perak state executive councillor, claimed the appointments were illegal under the Perak state constitution and would cost the state RM960,000 in emoluments a year.

The four appointmens are Datuk S. Veerasingam who will be adviser for Indian affairs while Datuk Chang Ko Youn will be Chinese adviser. Kapten Datuk Haji Mohd Najmuddin Elias Al-Hafiz is adviser on religious matters and Datuk Hamdi Abu Bakar as state information chief.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by hellosunshine, February 12, 2009 14:35:55
How about reporting Zambry for attempting to bribe the rakyat with lots of money whenever he attended the functions organized by the rakyat. smilies/grin.gif
written by ireneyow, February 12, 2009 14:47:46
The BN goverment has no other ways to take in their cronies or to reward those who have contributed their effeot for the robbery over of the Perak State Goverment from Pakatan Rakyat. This is the only way to pay for their assistance. I sincerly hope Perakians are not be so silly to accept those who was reject by our votes during 8 MArch 2008 to be representing us now without our mandate.
Is he (Zambry) not making Perkians SO STUPID.
I hereby appeal to all Perkians to say NO to those 3 so call advisors whom we have rejected last March.
UMNO HAS SHOWN AND PROVEN HOW CORRUPTED THEY ARE WITHIN THE FEW DAYS THEY ROB OVER THE POWER FROM PAKATAN.

written by IbnAbdHalim, February 12, 2009 14:48:23
That's how it goes. UMNO/BN only know how to deplete the state coffers by those appointments. They don't care whether it's legal or otherwise because money is their only god. Lantak! Kerajaan HARAM buat kerja semuanya HARAM. Memang haramjadah.
written by mountainking, February 12, 2009 14:54:26
to all the umno BN ADUN....why work so hard to become ADUN? not like you are going to be made exco?

and to EC and the govt..why not just appoint MB as you wish and appoint exco as you like. since you guys don't believe in democracy.

stupid UMNO ADUN in Perak ....no exco status...serve you right. oh, but then each of them should have been offered money and so shut up and enjoy the money. no need to serve the rakyat. to be ADUN is just to make up the number to rule and plus most of UMNO ADUN also got no brain, no education , can't even speak well....so how to be exco? embarassment and serve you ADUN right. the next round, Zambry might just appoint PR state leaders to be exco to shut you guys up. hahaha...i am so happy to know that many perak umno ADUN is just pure barking but can't bite...
written by mountainking, February 12, 2009 14:57:34
eh, weird, how come sultan never speak up on the appointment of non ADUN to be exco. is it allowed under state constitution?

over to you, sultan full of wisdom to comment. sultan, are you the one who approves non-ADUN to become exco? how come the last round, you don't allow Nizar to appoint deputy menteri besar or senior exco? i thought sultan says constitution doesn't allow. how come this time round can?

nasrin, apa nak kata? bagi peluang kat kamu..
written by lamakawan, February 12, 2009 15:15:53
Why label " UMNO has robbed the people of the PR government?" Is not the PR government still there until the court says it is beaten? We should consider this as a unsuccessful robbery of Perak by BN ! The PR gomen is still in existence unless and until the court says so. Do not surrender for no reasons. It is a failed robbery by BN.
written by kkselvam, February 12, 2009 15:18:51
I wish can spit and throw my worn out shoes at Najis and Co.That is how much I hate UMNO and its BN goons! Ptuiii..........