Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal indicates he won't sue Perak Sultan

Karpal indicates he won't sue Perak Sultan PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 February 2009 17:50

Karpal Singh talks to journalist at the federal Court, Putrajaya today.

(The Sun) DAP national chairman Karpal Singh has indicated that he is falling in line with the party and the Pakatan Rakyat's stand not to sue the Sultan of Perak over his decision to ask Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin to step down as mentri besar. 

DAP national chairman Karpal Singh has indicated that he is falling in line with the party and the Pakatan Rakyat's stand not to sue the Sultan of Perak over his decision to ask Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin to step down as mentri besar.

When asked by reporters outside the Palace of Justice today whether he will be taking the Sultan to court, the combative politician replied: "The question does not arise."

His fellow veteran Lim Kit Siang, who was with Karpal, said after a long discussion, they agreed that the most important task now is the upcoming two by-elections for the state seat of Bukit Selambau and the parliamentary seat of Bukit Gantang, which the opposition will go all out to retain.

He said they also agreed that whatever differences they have will be sorted out within the party.

Karpal agreed, saying "there is a bigger task ahead" (referring to the two by-elections).

He however reiterated his stand that it is within the confines of the law to take the Sultan to court, a stand that has got him a lot of flak from various quarters, including Umno.

"Pakatan leaders feel the Sultan should not be sued, although I don't agree with it," he said.

However, he added: "There are other lawyers who will do the necessity because my view is different from others, who have taken over the matter now. That is what Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim wants. Let it be that way."

Anwar had earlier said that PR would set up a legal panel to study the Perak government issue, and that Karpal's view would be taken into consideration.

This had apparently angered Karpal who felt that even his fellow leaders in the party were not supporting him.

On the demonstration by a group of Umno Youth members on Tuesday near his Pudu office, Karpal said he will not be intimidated as what he is doing is within the law.

He said Umno Youth should stop the demonstration which is illegal. "They hurled abuses at me," he said, adding the placards carried abusive words.

He also said police are looking for him to record a statement and that he will cooperate.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by KC Chin, February 11, 2009 17:55:54
My dear Karpal,
Thank you. Now we can concentrate on the 2 by-election. Kick the BN out.
agree 170
written by Democrats, February 11, 2009 18:01:10
Don't sue the sultan, sue the blardy EC and the chairman.

WHo died and made them GOD to decide the validity of resignation letters and to challenge the speakers instruction to conduct by-elections?
agree 124
written by indianputra, February 11, 2009 18:01:43
A wise decision for now. I don't know why PR must bring in issues just before an election. At KT it was hudud law by PAS and now it is suing the Sultan issue by DAP. Come on lah guys, PR has a long way to go before taking over the Government. Until then, can you all just look at the challenges and strategies to kick out BN.
written by New Malaysian, February 11, 2009 18:13:24
It is heartening to note that the Lion of Jelutong is willing to subdue his growl for a higher cause. Way to go!

We may have lost a battle but we can certainly win the War!!!

New Malaysian
written by DreamLady, February 11, 2009 18:15:39
It looks like the yee sang is working. Thank goodness, everything is as good as gold. Pakatan can now look forward to confront the next battles with united strength as differences have already being ironed out!!

written by lamepug, February 11, 2009 18:21:30
that's the way...back a step doesn't means losing...it's simply give ourselves a better views for next step... bravo~~
written by murali, February 11, 2009 18:30:14
Dear YB Karpal, why dont you and all your legal experts use all your energies and brain to release the HINDRAF 5 from Kamunting? How long they will be there?
written by DOITNOW, February 11, 2009 18:38:29
YB Karpal, I salute your decision. You have not surrendered your principles, you have merely reached a consensus with the other leaders. This is the hallmark of true leadership and teamwork, I salute your leadership, and this is very much needed for the battles ahead. The war is not over, all hands on deck!! Lets raise the voice of the people to resound loudly across Malaysia, and stem all this underhand tricks and games played by the BN.
written by ylcc, February 11, 2009 19:07:48
I hope the Sultan of Perak will take note of this gracious gesture from Karpal.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, February 11, 2009 19:13:27
Yes, after this free HINDRAF.
written by truthbespoken, February 11, 2009 19:15:16
Thanks, Karpal, for easing our minds. You good people deserve better publicity than to see you guys moving apart with your views while still fighting the political war with corrupted UMNO. After so many donkey years together on the wretched path and now being rewarded with clear signs of corrupted UMNO's vulnerability, it would be really a waste of open opportunity if you old folks cannot show a better example to help the good Malaysian cause come true! No more public trantrums from any party please and we shall steadfastedly continue to follow your strong and united leadership. Take Care and Cheers!
written by educationist, February 11, 2009 19:20:35
I'm not trained in law so I'll have to trust the PR leaders know better in not wanting to sue that former lord president.
But I do feel disappointed even as I know that action will come to nil for we do not have an impartial and just judiciary to handle such a controversial case.
So, again I'll have to find solace in the belief that his unjust and unfair actions will find their due repercussions if not in this world then the hreafter.
written by ahmadneil, February 11, 2009 19:33:43
Release him one horse!Don't forget all are not above law and Karpal can sue if there are laws been broken.Don't use demonstration to frighten Karpal.He won't blink!To those who think Karpal is a coward,try this Lion king.
written by chiongguo, February 11, 2009 19:49:11
It is not about the sultan. It is not about the MBs.

It is about the constitution !!

written by kavidibaku, February 11, 2009 20:26:44
When tun grabbed sultans' power, no one demonstrated.but why now? karpal is fighting for long run unlike some morons who grab power unethically.
written by merlin2001, February 11, 2009 20:47:43
Not to worry YB Kapal Singh, Sir. Dont despair. Just stay healthy we need you.
We will get Start a Big Fund to get augusthin paul to do it. If he agrees and wins
we will build a satanic church in his name.
written by temenggong, February 11, 2009 21:34:06
I'm saddened by this decision not to sue. We are missing a golden opportunity to establish the rule of law.
written by shissun, February 11, 2009 21:36:53
Karpal Sigh,

Good move. Think about the bigger picture. When you got the Malay respect and use it to topple UMNO, everything will settle. Malaysians will still remember you as the great positive politician, not a pariah.
written by eow_eow, February 11, 2009 22:29:59
YB Karpal Singh,
You have continued to earn our respect for your steadfastness to fight for justice but yet in the process you are prepared to join all in PR to lose a battle in order to win the war. We are all with you guys to fight and win that war. God Bless

written by KingSolomon, February 11, 2009 22:32:56
I think many people don't understand Karpal's move. He just cannot keep quiet when the federal constitution is violated. Right from the beginning he knows that he still can sue the Ular later.

Karpal, LKS, Nik Aziz, are RPK wise men. They don't need any pressure from anyone to do the right things. The younger fighters are LGE, Nizar, Teng Chang Khim, Sivarasa, etc. You all have our support.
written by Malaysiaku, February 11, 2009 23:01:19
Karpal, has all the right to sue the Sultan and if he does, I for one, will be behind him. Fortunately, Karpal and PR have out of respect, not fear of the Sultan, to decide not to sue him. I hope the Sultan and the Royalties will think twice about the wishes of the majority of the people wishes instead of catering to and giving in to a bunch of hoodlums and dictators. Unfortunately, as respectful of the Royalties I may have been before, this latest arbitary and unreasonable wrestle of power from Pakatan Rakyat - the lawful State Govt of Perak, has diminished my respect for Sultan Azlan Shah.
written by raven1958, February 11, 2009 23:11:31
Karpal...if you dont sue this ashole....the rest of them will continue doing this nonsense. Strategically the PR may be right. But the corrupted Sultan broke the law and twisted it to his advantage. He is not above the law. No human being can be. You should not have backed down.
written by hakuna, February 11, 2009 23:16:23
Karpal - I really do not know whether what you did was right or wrong but one thing is certain that you were forced to sacrifice your principles for the sake of Pakatan.
You will always be respected and no one will be able to intimidate you - a LION is always a LION immaterial of the age.
written by onnetline, February 11, 2009 23:33:34
No one should be above the law .............. sue when bad or contradicting decisions are made and to reflect fair governance and transparency !!!!!

And use the ISA strictly on Barisan Najis coalition, for a taste of their own medicine for about 51 years. Then abolished it !
written by SamBall, February 12, 2009 03:55:59
Aisamen, I enjoy seeing the humnoo beroks action so much over this Sultan affair. Banyak action saja.. when ol ker'lite time, he simply bantai the Sultana, all keep quiet.

Go fork yourself la hummno beroks; ptui. Lagi baik earn an honest living, and stand on your merits.

You jilat Karpals balls pun tak ada standard. Bunch of losers!
written by ireneyow, February 12, 2009 07:46:38
Dear Karpal,

Do not have to say much about suing or not suing the sultan of Perak. Perakians will be the judge for his doings and I am very sure the decision and the remarks from Perakians will be very clear.
We as Perakians will not respect this sultan and his family anymore. Whatever he utters from his mouth will be treated as WIND by Perakians. This is better than a court decision. He and his son can write of speak until KINGDOM COME but Perakians will treat that as a WIND. Perakians assure this will the punishment for them. Do not waste money suing them.
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 12, 2009 08:52:11
Karpal indicates he won't sue Perak Sultan
He said Umno Youth should stop the demonstration which is illegal. "They hurled abuses at me," he said, adding the placards carried abusive words

RESPECT FOR ANY RULER OR PERSON FOR THAT MATTER MUST COME FROM THE HEART.
IT CANNOT BE ENFORCED. IF ONE'S ACTIONS DOES NOT WARRANT ANY RESPECT,
THEN ONE MUST SERIOUSLY PONDER OVER ONE'S PERCEIVED AUTHORITY. YOU CAN ONLY RULE
FROM THE IVORY TOWER, REMOVED FROM REALITY AND THE PEOPLE.

KARPAL, THESE ARE THE SCUMS AND MERCENARIES HIRED BY AMENO TO DO THEIR BIDDING.
THEY ARE THE VERY SAME BUNCH OF HIPPOCRITES WHO WOULD NOT HESITATE TO USE THE WORD NATANG WHEN IT SUITS THEIR MASTERS.
written by adan, February 12, 2009 10:40:57
Karpal's wish that the UMNO Youth should stop the illegal demonstartions is just wishful thinking. It has a special SEASONLA PASS to carry out illegl demonstrations at ANYTIME, ANYPLACE, FOR ANY PURPOSE'. Secondly, based on past practice ,it is believed that the presence of police/FRU with water cannons is to PROVIDE PROTECTION OR THE DEMONSATATOR AS WELL AS TO ENSURE THAT SUCH DEMONSTRATIONS ARE ALLOWED TO CONTINUE .... UNINTERUPTED/ UNHINDERED !!
written by prof, February 12, 2009 12:33:06
Well done Y.B. Karpal well done. In spite of your outspokenness most educated Malays old and young know that you are a very kind man at heart. Please stay that way. Educated and enlightened Malays both young and old know that you had saved and won cases for various kinds of Malay individuals and groups throughtout your illustrious career. Every sane and thinking Malaysian who has been watching what is happening in Malaysia is deeply disappointed and angry with the present system. You are no exception. But keep your cool so that the Opposition in Malaysia - Muslims or non-Muslims alike can win the next round. The battle is not over yet!
written by Newkidonblog, February 12, 2009 14:31:56
Thank you Sir! You're a true statesman!

written by dusunbukit, February 12, 2009 17:39:08
WISE MOVE, FOR NOW.. NEVER STOP, TILL THE TRUTH PREVAILS. SALUTE!