Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nik Aziz: Field another candidate

Nik Aziz: Field another candidate PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 February 2009 09:19

(The Star) KOTA BARU: PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat disagrees with the DAP that former Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Moham­mad Nizar Jamaluddin be fielded in the Bukit Gantang parliamentary by-election.

As long as Pakatan regarded Mohammad Nizar as the Mentri Besar, he should not be contesting in the by-election, Nik Aziz said.

“If you ask me, I cannot accept a mentri besar contesting in a by-election. To me, it is not right for the Perak MB to contest as he is already an elected representative,” he told reporters yesterday.

Nik Aziz commended former Kedah executive council member V. Arumugam for vacating the Bukit Selambau parliamentary seat, saying that the former PKR assemblyman was a man with principle.

He agreed that the Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau by-elections should be held simultaneously.

“Elections are the hallmark of a democratic system; I don’t have any objection if both by-elections are held simultaneously. I will be campaigning ... if health permits,” he said.

In Ipoh, Nizar said it was too early to say if his party would field him in Bukit Gantang.

“There are many potential candidates. Further­more, I am not from that area,” he told reporters at the Mentri Besar’s official residence.

On Monday, Perak DAP chief Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham said Nizar was the best candidate for the seat.

Nizar said he was confident of a Pakatan victory regardless of who was chosen.

State Umno secretary Datuk Ramly Zahari said Barisan was confident of wresting the seat.

“We will not be overconfident. We will be more careful about selecting the right candidate,” he said, adding that a local candidate would be recommended to the party leadership.

written by Newkidonblog, February 11, 2009 09:23:57
State Umno secretary Datuk Ramly Zahari said Barisan was confident of wresting the seat.

Yeh, just like you're so confident your DOGS going to give birth to kittens! Tak ada maruah!!
written by Proarte, February 11, 2009 09:50:10
Nizar has forged an excellent working relationship with Pakatan leaders in Perak and nationally. He represents the modern and educated face of PAS. He is mixed and is tri-lingual.

Conservatives like Tok Aziz do not want PAS to turn itself into an Islamic based but liberal and technocratic party. The likes of Nizar would be a threat to the conservatives in PAS who have dreams of turning Malaysia into an Islamic State with Hudud, Qisas and Syariah as the supreme law of the land.

BN will use all tricks in the book to win Bukit Gantang. Remember Ijok where Khalid of PKR won in March 08? Well a few months earlier MIC won the seat through a massive onslaught by BN using bribery, massive corruption, intimidation and an estimated RM100 million expenditure. Najib will want to prove that there is a momentum after his fraudulent coup in Perak with assistance from the Palace and will stop at nothing. As such the choice of the candidate is paramount.

Unfortunately an unknown with no track record would a disastrous mistake as they will most likely be bought over or defect at a later date.Let us face it guys, the PKR and DAP representatives who defected were low calibre and of humble backgrounds. Given that the general level of morality is very low in Malaysia because of years of institutionalised corruption encouraged by BN, we need a candidate who will be least likely to succumb to bribery and who has a proven track record of public service, highly educated, cultured and multiracial in outlook and not religiously bigoted.

Now who fits the above criteria? I can think of no other than Nizar of PAS. He has the support and trust of Pakatan leaders, he has a multiracial outlook, is not an Islamic bigot, he is intelligent, has an excellent command of English, Malay and Chinese and furthermore has earned the respect of All Perakians. He is now a national figure thanks to BN and the Perak Palace's Machiavellian machinations which has earned the wrath of the majority of Perakians.

All these factors make Nizar an unassailable candidate for Bukit Gantang. It would be foolhardy not to capitalise on this. He is the only candidate who is likely to win with a landslide. It will be a very important barometer of the current level of support of Pakatan in Perak. If he wins with a higher majority than the incumbent of PAS who just died, then this will be a slap in the face for BN, namely Najib and will force Sultan Azlan to rethink his decision not to dissolve the State Assembly. After all, Nizar is still the legitimate MB legally, and a vote of no confidence on his government has not been initiated yet to make his position untenable.

We need men of calibre in Parliament and Nizar would be a welcome addition to the paucity of dynamic opposionists. He will aslo be a good advertisement for PAS in wider Malaysia as his brand of Islam is personal and he does not force Islam down people's throat.

Nizar for Bukit Gantang! It is a no brainer.
written by nafis, February 11, 2009 10:05:21
strange that it is always a PKR member who has been threatened/bribed/jumped into be end/resign/quitting/crossover....

i have yet to see a PAS member doing those things

written by DreamLady, February 11, 2009 10:18:01
MB Nizar of Perak is still the rightful MB, he does not need to go elsewhere. Nizar has to stay put and show to the goons he means business. If Nizar were to vacate the position now, is tantanmount to indicate to the UMNO goons he is showing the white flag!!!
written by burmen, February 11, 2009 10:23:31
Proarte, well written. Yes, I'm all for Nizar - at least for now, more so Bukit Gantang's in Perak. Hope Nik Aziz re-think.
written by temenggong, February 11, 2009 10:28:33
Again I agree with Proarte. Nizar is the future of Pas, the person whom all can work with. Nizar is a future DPM. These are the kind of towering malays we want!

It could be that Nizar is a threat to some Pas power bases.
written by temenggong, February 11, 2009 10:38:07
Dear Pas,

Give us Mat Sabu, failing which give us Nizar! It's your call.
written by renoir, February 11, 2009 11:02:39
temenggong wrote:
>Give us Mat Sabu, failing which give us Nizar!]]

Mat Sabu would be a great choice. I agree with Nik Aziz about Nizar - we should not allow Perakians to be confused over Nizar's MB status. Leave Nizar as he is - this is one man who's destined for national leadership, whether he's temporarily out or not.

written by clarity, February 11, 2009 11:41:51
Yes I agree with Nik Aziz. YB Nizar is more useful in Perak as well and can garner more support for the coalition. DAP ought to shoulder a bigger part of the blame for the defect of Hee since she was nurtured by DAP quite sometime ago. So no need to ask anybody to quit. In fact these two by elections should be a piece of cake because voters will take the opportunity to show the c rooks that they don't like what is happening in Perak.
written by SL Chan, February 11, 2009 14:57:16
YB Nik Aziz is a wise man....When decision being made should consider his advice too...