Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Defence argues Najib at the heart of RPK sedition trial

Defence argues Najib at the heart of RPK sedition trial PDF Print
Tuesday, 10 February 2009 22:50

Raja Petra Kamarudin in good spirits outside the Sessions Court just before the trial. — Pic by Edward Cheah

Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

The sedition trial of prominent anti-establishment blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin continued today at the Sessions Court here amid much drama — with the Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s name often cropping up.

In his cross-examination of a key prosecution witness, defence lawyer Gobind Singh Deo, tried to establish that the sedition charge against the Malaysia Today editor was “politically motivated”, as he told reporters outside the courtroom later.

The cross-examination of Superintendant Gan Tack Guan lasted over three hours.

During that time, Gobind shot question after question over Gan’s failure, as the police officer who lodged the report against Raja Petra, to record the DPM’s statements despite being named in Raja Petra’s allegedly seditious article published in his website on April 25 last year.

Raja Petra — popularly known by his initials RPK — was charged with sedition last May for allegedly implying Najib was involved in the sensational murder of a Mongolian woman in an online article titled “Let’s Send the Altantuya Murderers To Hell”.

If convicted, he faces up to three years in prison or a fine not more than RM5,000 or both.

“Did you, at any point of time during the investigation of the Altantuya case, question Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak?” Gobind questioned while referencing Raja Petra’s article.

“No,” Gan replied.

“If you did not investigate Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, how do you know the content of the paragraph is untrue?” Gobind pressed.

“I got to know the facts from the investigating officer ASP Tonny Lunggan,” Gan answered, looking uncomfortable.

Assistant Superintendent Tonny Lunggan was the investigating police officer who headed the probe into the gruesome death of Mongolian model, Altantuya Shaaribuu, whose blown-up remains were discovered in a jungle clearing in Shah Alam near here close to three years ago.

Raja Petra, who is out on bail, attended today’s trial with his wife Marina Lee Abdullah and several supporters dressed in black “I Am With RPK” t-shirts.

He appeared amused at the interrogation tactics employed by Gobind and the resulting agitation showed by Gan, frequently turning around to smile at the public from his seat in the dock.

The trial will resume with Gan’s cross-examination on Thursday.

written by malsia1206, February 10, 2009 22:55:19
In a poker game, you do not show your hand and trump card for mudane stake. Honestly, any other candidate would beat BN flat on the nose. Save the best when it counts most.
written by Zym Zym, February 10, 2009 23:01:47
RPK, nail the ba$tard once and for all. Go get the big fish who is responsible for the killing of Atlantuya. For get about the small fry. We want justice. We demand justice. But looking at how our judiciary works...sigh, RPK is going back to Kamunting for good. We hope not!
written by MAGELLAN, February 10, 2009 23:06:34
We are all waiting in suspense for you to hammer the final nail into Najis's coffin. At least then, we can stop listening to all his lies and finally know the truth.

I am sure you will win, my prayers are with you for this case.
written by rpremkumar2u, February 10, 2009 23:18:06
Gobind is a brilliant counsel who does not interrogate. He asks pertinent questions sticking to facts. Policemen are hazy about facts and often go by conjecture. Even if i was in Gan's shoes for 3 hours, I would be sufficiently creamed by Gobind. Go Gobind go, gun Gan down.
written by Khan, February 10, 2009 23:21:32
NajisC4 to deserve to be sent to Sungai Buloh, even better to Mongolia....He shd never be allowed to escape justice...
written by Khan, February 10, 2009 23:23:43
Gobind...like father like son...After the famous Christopher Fernando...I see Gobind to be the next best Criminal Lawyer...of course, his father is in a different league...
written by DreamLady, February 10, 2009 23:26:14
Hi, Raja Petra, you look good and vibrant in the pix. As you continue to embrace the countless obstacles with grits, it indirectly motivates your friends and idols as the strength that grows within them is seen bubbling with the same amount of passion you always display extravagantly. You are a pillar of strength where the weak, the suppressed, the downthrodden look you up for solace.

I constantly pray for your safety, your happiness, and your good health so that your very presence shines bright and wide across the horizon to brighten up the lives of those miserable souls who are dying to get the taste of a comforting word from you..
written by justice, February 10, 2009 23:32:04
written by sahabat, February 10, 2009 23:32:06
The majority is waiting for your clarification on why you asked Anwar, LKS and Hadi Awang to step down.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, February 10, 2009 23:36:58
Dear RPK, you are indeed our saudara and we stand with you in prayers. May the ALMIGHTY GOD who knows everything and is in control of everything be with you and your lawyer. ANd may all those who are out to cheat and lie tremble and get their just reward.
written by budakindia, February 11, 2009 07:08:54
In Malaysia, police pretends that they are "real" cops. That's why Gan pretended Najib is innocent! What BS!
written by Ken Liew, February 11, 2009 08:04:58
Najis is above the law... he is Hadhari's GOD in waiting. So everything that say bad about him, is unacceptable...

this is how Malaysia work, If you are in the power of BN and UMNO, you dont have to follow rules/Law and even proper procedure.

And thats call Malaysia Boleh~!
written by dumbfounded, February 11, 2009 09:15:14
May God guide you and your lawyers throughout your trails.
written by Xerxes, February 11, 2009 11:03:19
RM500m commission from the submarine purchase and the threat of C4 are very powerful incentives to say the correct (not necessarily true)things.
written by lynn, February 11, 2009 12:37:08
Fact remains unchallenged, Altantuya was proficient in 5 languages & she acted as Interpreter for at least one major deal nego. between MoD & the Russian supplier. It's impossible najis never met her before! Impossible.

In corrupt Bodohland, monetary greed is above all religions, Rule of Law, the Constitution, the Rakyat (so what PR got mandate to rule Perak) - (almost) nobody can beat the power of money offered. Everyone has a price.

RPK, we are all rooting for you in our hearts. Everyday.
written by smalluncle, February 11, 2009 13:51:10
Sorryla, I guess RPK will kalah this case.

Why? Because many "solid" evidence so far has turn to gases. And the promise of the "real thing" also no where to be found. Even the SD holder also no where to be found!

Sorryla blather.