Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Was the Sultan of Perak blackmailed?

Was the Sultan of Perak blackmailed? PDF Print
Monday, 09 February 2009 10:51

On 3rd July and 11th August 2008, DATUK KONG HONG MING made two separate reports to the Anti-Corruption Agency in Kota Kinabalu with regards to alleged corruption in the awarding of the ‘Jalan Sapulut – Kalabakan, Tawau’ road project at the contract sum of RM565 million. The sub-contract was awarded to Gamuda Berhad , a company owned by Raja Datuk Seri Eleena Raja Azlan Shah. Thus far no action has been taken by the Anti-Corruption Agency. Was this used to blackmail the Sultan of Perak?

Further reading:

Perak, PR, BN and Gamuda - It’s all about Business, Stupid

Construction New Road Project From Sapulut to Kalabakan, Sabah

To:   

The Director / Officer In-Charge
Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA)
Tawau

Dear Sir,

Re: AN ACA REPORT – Request for Investigation of Any Corrupt Practices and Abuse of Power on the Construction of ‘Jalan Sapulut – Kalabakan, Tawau, Sabah’ as a Design & Build Contract at the Contract Sum of RM565 million 

I, DATUK KONG HONG MING (NRIC NO.530306-12-5323), a Malaysian of Lot 21, 3rd Floor, Block C, Damai Point, Luyang, Kota Kinabalu (Hand-phone 0138888188 and 088-233558) hereby make this report calling upon ACA to investigate any corrupt practices or abuse of power committed in the implementation of a road construction project by the Federal Government through Jabatan Kerja Raya.

The subject matter of this complaint is a Design & Build contract for a road project described as ‘Jalan Sapulut – Kalabakan, Tawau’ at the contract sum of RM565 million. The design for the road project at the contract sum of RM565 Million for 179 kilometer was a permanent bituminous road with sealed pavement.

The contractual obligations of the contractor in a Design & Build contract require the contractor to provide the design, scope of work and specifications to be approved by the Government and to build according to the approved design, scope of work and specifications. Thereafter, based on negotiation between the Government and the contractor, the Government awarded the Design & Build contract at the negotiated contract sum, in this case, RM565 million for 179 kilometer of sealed road with bituminous pavement.

In a Design & Build contract like this contract, the contractor is not permitted to amend or vary the design and scope of work. In a nutshell, the contractor must complete the contract in full conformity with the approved design and scope of work without variation order.

The Project was completed sometime in early 2008 and the contractor has demobilized from the site recently.

Unfortunately, instead of building 179 kilometer of bituminous pavement serving as a major truck road linking the south and north of the State of Sabah, the Government has only completed only a 179 kilometer of standard gravel road wholly contrary to the Design & Build contract for a bituminous sealed road.

Before the Design & Build contract, the existing road was already then a good gravel road built and used by timber operator for logging activities.

I also urge your ACA experts to investigate into the very sub-standard and extremely poor quality of work done and workmanship carried out in this mega project costing our Malaysians taxpayers some RM565 million. It is just too plain and obvious in inspecting the newly completed retaining structures and concrete roadside drains which are already now in such deplorable conditions.

It is a crime to allow such shoddy workmanship and inferior work in this expensive project. What was the basis for the Government to accept the road as practically and satisfactorily completed? 

This is a case of an outrageous and scandalous wrongdoing. It is more than just a serious wastage and abuse of public funds. It has also deprived all Malaysians especially Sabahans in Tawau a good system of road network in furtherance of our social and economic development.

Those who were responsible for the suffering of the people must be held accountable for this tragic loss of public funds and blatant abuse of power.  

It will be more outrageous for us, especially the ACA, to ignore it.  

Thank you for your attention and further necessary actions against those culprits who were responsible for any corrupt practices and abuse of power.

Yours faithfully,

11th August 2008

To:   

The Director

Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA)

Kota Kinabalu

Dear Madam,

Re: AN ACA REPORT – Request for Investigation of Any Corrupt Practices and Abuse of Power on the Construction of ‘Jalan Sapulut – Kalabakan, Tawau, Sabah’ as a Design & Build Contract at the Contract Sum of RM565 million 

I, KONG HONG MING (NRIC NO.530306-12-5323), a Malaysian of Lot 21, 3rd Floor, Block C, Damai Point, Luyang, Kota Kinabalu (Hand-phone 0138888188 and 088-233558) hereby make this report calling upon ACA to investigate any corrupt practices or abuse of power committed in the implementation of a road construction project by the Federal Government through Jabatan Kerja Raya.

On 03.07.2008, I lodged this complaint at the ACA office in Tawau. I provided some documents for the purpose of investigation. However, I am uncertain whether any investigation has been carried out. I must congratulate you that your ACA officers in Tawau were courteous and professional to complainant at least to me during two occasions. But, I was surprised that in another occasion while I was there, a male staff was not so happy to accept my report on other matter.        

The subject matter of this complaint is a Design & Build contract for a road project described as ‘Jalan Sapulut – Kalabakan, Tawau’ at the contract sum of RM565 Million. The design for the road project at the contract sum of RM565 Million for 179 kilometer was a permanent bituminous road with sealed pavement.

The contractual obligations of the contractor in a Design & Build contract require the contractor to provide the design, scope of work and specifications to be approved by the Government and to build according to the approved design, scope of work and specifications. Thereafter, based on negotiation between the Government and the contractor, the Government awarded the Design & Build contract at the negotiated contract sum, in this case, RM565 million for 179 kilometer of sealed road with bituminous pavement.

In a Design & Build contract like this contract, the contractor is not permitted to amend or vary the design and scope of work. In a nutshell, the contractor must complete the contract in full conformity with the approved design and scope of work without variation order.

The Project was completed sometime in early 2008 and the contractor has demobilized from the site recently.

Unfortunately, instead of building 179 kilometer of bituminous pavement serving as a major truck road linking the south and north of the State of Sabah, the Government has only completed only a 179 kilometer of standard gravel road wholly contrary to the Design & Build contract for a bituminous road.

Before the Design & Build contract, the existing road was already then a good gravel road built and used by timber operator for logging activities.

I also urge your ACA experts to investigate into the very sub-standard and extremely poor quality of work done and workmanship carried out in this mega project costing our Malaysians taxpayers some RM565 million. It is just too plain and obvious in inspecting the newly completed retaining structures and concrete roadside drains which are already now in such deplorable conditions.

It is a crime to allow such shoddy workmanship and inferior work in this expensive project. What was the basis for the Government to accept the road as practically and satisfactorily completed? 

This is a case of an outrageous and scandalous wrongdoing. It is more than just a serious wastage and abuse of public funds. It has also deprived all Malaysians especially Sabahans in Tawau a good system of road network in furtherance of our social and economic development.

Those who were responsible for the suffering of the people must be held accountable for this tragic loss of public funds and blatant abuse of power.  

It will be more outrageous for us, especially the ACA, to ignore it.  

Thank you for your attention and further necessary actions.

Yours faithfully,

DATUK KONG HONG MING

My Address: Lot 21, 3rd Floor, Block C, Damai Point, Luyang, Off Jalan Damai, Kota Kinabalu

Tel (Office) 088-233558, Fax 088-245646, Hand-phone 0138888188 

Comments (74)Add Comment
written by Ahjamal, February 09, 2009 11:22:16
loud and clear the money link. Now we are having more clearer pictures why the coup was allowed.
agree 364
written by OVERLORD, February 09, 2009 11:23:20
To hold "ransom" the people's trust as a bargaining chip or for self preservation is dispicable and self-centered. "One man shouldn't have the power to supress 1 million voices"
agree 264
written by borneoman, February 09, 2009 11:23:28
tq for this very important clue that might be just 1 of the thousand reasons why the royals of perak err in their decision when they allow a coup d'etat to materailise in perak.
agree 210
written by Zym Zym, February 09, 2009 11:23:39
What is there to blackmail? NOthing to blakmail. Everyone in Malaysia is abang adik if you are with BN. So, if you can't beat 'em, join 'em! Or else, let's go all the way to kick someone's a$$. Hei, don't just ***** "Agree"...get your a$$ off from your seat and go to Ipoh now. Nizar needs us! Am on my way...
agree 240
written by fireduck, February 09, 2009 11:28:57
Perhaps this is one reason why the concessionaire of the Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong (LDP) was not forthcoming and transparent when the brouhaha about the increase in toll rates erupted, and that semi value guy had to throw the OSA at our face. No cigars for guessing who the concessionaire of LDP is.

Gamuda's office in Damansara Jaya has sure grown bigger and poshier too, while our paycheck gets leaner everyday as we travel through the highway.
agree 179
written by rpremkumar2u, February 09, 2009 11:30:13
Oh My God!
written by mypanida, February 09, 2009 11:31:54
Now the Rakyat really knew what you did last summer.

The road to perdition started from Kuala Kangsar.
agree 136
written by Newkidonblog, February 09, 2009 11:33:34
"Mirror, mirror on the wall, who's the fairest of all? You, my princess. You have the fairest skin but your heart is black. Black because you're tainted with bandits' blood! You should have avoided the charm of the bandit who wanted your not your heart but your blood."

END OF FAIRY TALE.

written by Ken Liew, February 09, 2009 11:36:58
Kau tak suka, saya arah orang C4 kamu-kah~!
written by ScooL, February 09, 2009 11:39:43
corruption in sabah but perakian pay the debt ?
Play fair, if gamuda corrupt, get it, sue it and jail it, we don't pay for corruption, we only pay for our future .....
agree 117
written by savemalaysia, February 09, 2009 11:41:13
Najis not only seduced the four PR assemblymen but the white-haired man as well. Money talks and without it, how on earth can such a hated and scandle-riddled rascal convince the frogs to jump ship and the so-called learned ex-judge to ignore the millions clamouring for a fresh mandate. We the rakyat are not stupid, we know the Govt, police, armed forces, judiciary, judge par excellent and the BN traitors are all corrupted to the core. They have no standing or respect in our eyes.
agree 153
written by SamSan, February 09, 2009 11:43:23
Tok Guru Nik Aziz, we need to start a continous massive and well sychronised prayer session to pray and earnesly seek Allah Almighty to remove the Syaitan material wealth aggrandizement attitude which is clouding the mind of the leaders of our country. Only Allah can save us from all the misuse of the abundant wealth bestowed on the rakyat by Allah. Only Allah Almighty can save mankind during these last few years of the Dark Age.
written by SCM, February 09, 2009 11:46:35
It all makes sense now. Imagine, UMNO even bribes the royalty. Please tell that guy Raja Dr Nazrin Shah to "tutup mulut" in future. He talks like he is the rakyat's saviour but on the side, takes bribes from UMNO. And please don't look like a fool and say that you were unaware of the corrupt practices involving your family, Nazrin.

In Malaysia, the royalty have become the slaves of UMNO, all because of greed and money.
agree 204
written by raven1958, February 09, 2009 11:48:04
It matters not....it's Azlan's own doing both to save his and his daughter's skin at the expense of selling the state and it's rakyat. THis is no diffrent from the Sultan Pahang who repeatedly got into debt and chased Genting off to Singapore. Enough of these puppets who are trying to run our lves. They all got to go..the sooner the better.
agree 164
written by kingelvis, February 09, 2009 11:49:15
And yet again Pete and MT delivers..So DYMM please explain? Or are you people really above the law!
written by onnetline, February 09, 2009 11:49:42
' Kesetiaan kepada sultan dan negri ' ........... regardless of what may be a likely reason that has induced him to make a highly questionable 'constitutional' decision and against the state citizens wishes ????

The rakyat are not longer fools or idiots to follow or respect blindly !!!!!
written by kingelvis, February 09, 2009 11:50:59
Seems only God and Karpal are above corruption..oh yes Pete sorry, forgot to mention you!
written by red1, February 09, 2009 11:53:30
oooh... like that one.. so its all about cari makan lah.. say so lahh... that means no need to worry .. it is not about all this daulat tuanku shit.. but just for senang-senang maaa... aiyaa... like this we no need worry maaa... next time we can still undi one... so be patient laa okk?
written by kokkeng, February 09, 2009 12:00:33
no one is above the law in Malaysia .......................... EXCEPT the royal family.
written by Bloodhound, February 09, 2009 12:02:04
Correct me if I'm wrong, but, isn't it a treason to try and blackmail the royal household?
written by my oumrie, February 09, 2009 12:13:15
I'm surprised the white haired man, full of law & order, that its coming out of his ears, can sire and bring up such a crook as his daughter, but I'm truly shocked that he didn't use his knowledge to correct the wrong done and instead, he bends to the will of a bigger crook! This is TREASON TO THE PEOPLE OF PERAK!
agree 129
written by SiHangChai, February 09, 2009 12:16:43
It looks like Najis may has blackmailed Sultan. Evidences are surfacing piece by piece and we know that Gamuda is part of BN. Lets see how strong the evidence will show.
written by SiHangChai, February 09, 2009 12:19:25
One more thing, can Khairy rises up and bury Najis? You and your father-in-law have the report when Najis was caught with his pants down in NS/Melaka. Use this to politically kill off Najis. Then you can achieve your dreams.
written by future, February 09, 2009 12:22:06
The Rakyat has to shed blood sweat and tears to defend their rights......WHO NEEDS THEM ANYWAY.
written by shamadz72, February 09, 2009 12:24:31
I am not surprise if this is true. Just imagine if the big 1st momma in waiting can make a call to Sultan of Selangor and scolded him like a small kid (as been told by RPK in one of his article), his husband (who used to have a Mongolian lover) can surely do more than that!

written by Saint, February 09, 2009 12:38:10
Well folks if you think the above is serious, then hear a story in my town.
There was already a good paved road in existence and last year a contract was provided to widen it. Now we have no paved road.

Only in Malaysia a contract is given to make a bituminous paved road to become a standard gravel road. We have lost the original road as it was scraped and removed.
written by teo siew chin, February 09, 2009 12:41:19
MP BUKIT GANTANG, PERAK HEART ATTACK !!!!!
written by ENCIK NASIR, February 09, 2009 12:41:42
Sorry to dissapoint you guys. According to reliable sources in JKR Sabah, the Sapulut Kalabakan Project was awarded to one Konsortium FA-Iramaduta Bhd and not Gamuda Berhad. There are rumours that Gamuda was the appointed Sub-Contractor but again a check was made out to confirmed Iramaduta is the lynchpin for the project.
A check at Lintas sSquare Kota Kinabalu confirmed that there is an office with signboard prominently displaying Konsortium FA-Iramaduta.
A couple of years ago when the LA for the projects came out, and I think a lot of people may still got copies, there were scrambles from all over Malaysia to lobby for Sub-Contract works due to perceived bloated profit margin that could be gain out of the project. Somehow, the project commenced and during the last couple of years the profit margins were and could have been usurped and neutralized by high inflations, fuel and transportation cost increase affecting the project which were mainly consisted of Civil Engineering works relying heavily on fuel (and bitumen) for machinaries consumption. (Note: don't ask me if the margins were usurped by lobby cost, political kickbacks whatever, that one i can't substantiate)
Please get the facts checked out and vetted first before it is being published coz otherwise it can be easily and subsequently dismissed. This is the sort of mistakes that can cause MT to get into unnecessary trouble.
written by loosecannon, February 09, 2009 12:44:57
As I posted before, it's all about self preservation. Looking after the family golden goose if you like. There will be more mega projects for Gamuda after this. Just watch.
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 09, 2009 12:49:03
In Bolehland, if your are in BN/UMNO if you committ to crime you only need to sumpah before the quaran and in the Mosque. For COnstitutional matters just seek the SUltan to gain power...
written by tryme, February 09, 2009 12:49:45
Oh my god!! Almost RM3.15 million per kilometer, what kind of the construction is that? That means 1 meter cost RM3156 but the material for paving road is so cheap, since they no need to cut down all the trees and make new route. There is just an upgrading works...
Can anyone sub this contract to me? may be i just need RM80 million to complete the whole project with bituminous paving. No wonder our road is the most expensive road in the world, this is one of the example. i think this amount is sufficient to build a longest bridge in Malaysia from kedah to Langkawi, haha, anyone can do it?
written by NSTPravda, February 09, 2009 12:50:03
Duit-lah tuan ku!

Daulat duit ku!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ez24get, February 09, 2009 12:50:28
I don't think the Perak Sultan has been blackmailed. UMNO has been giving Gamuda contracts year in year out for a long period of time already. Those people in the stock market will know this. Gamuda has been a high flyer and it is only lately due to the recession and the India's Satyam fraud case which has an indirect bearing that the stock price of Gamuda has been beaten down severally. Even the CEO Lin has bailed out from the company and sold off his shares lately. It's just that due to the recession, contracts have been drying out and there are too few to go around.

Malaysia is a small country in the world's map with a minuscule GDP butit has more than half of the world's Kings! With the economic pie shrinking and so many royalties wanting to have a big bite at the pie it is only natural Najib will exploit the situation by telling the royalties if they want to bite the pie, they will have to do his bidding.

It happened in Perak because the Sultan's family's business interest (not only Gamuda)is closely intertwined and is highly dependent on UMNO. The second reason is being no Sultans (Perak included) in Malaysia will ever be comfortable with a more spiritual Islam, the type espouse by PAS because the Kings' role assumes lesser significance. It's the the same with the other Islamic countries such as Saudi Arabia, etc, where support has always given way to business interest.

Later this unethical government will spread to KL concerning the Federal Government and the Agung. Even if the PR coalition wins the next GE, the Agung may give problem to PR forming the Federal Government on flimsy reasons. PR should think of integrating as a single party or at least integrate in the registered BN form. If not, there is always reason for the Agung to reject PR to form the Federal Government should it win the next GE because loosely its numbers is less than BN.

When the rakyat abandon BN, Najib natural inclination to stay alive is to buy over politicians and roping in all the royalties to help him stay in power! Next in line to be roped in will be the judges who will decide cases in favour of BN to perpetuate his stay in power. BN has the money, resources, GLCs, Police, Army and the whole judiciary and monarch system under its thumb!
written by teo siew chin, February 09, 2009 12:52:16
YB Haji Roslan Member of Parliament for Bukit Gantang near Taiping died of heart attack at about 12.40 p.m. on 9th December 2009.
written by truthsetufree, February 09, 2009 12:54:48
FOR ALL HAVE SINNED AND FALL SHORT OF THE GLORY OF GOD ALMIGHTY YEHOVAH.....(this includes any royalties)
FOR THE WAGES (PENALTI;HUKUM)OF SIN IS DEATH.......(IT WILL COME SOONER OR LATER TO THOSE WHO SINNED AGAINST GOD ALMIGHTY YEHOVAH BY COMMITTING INJUSTICE TO THE RAKYAT)
written by sukhihotu, February 09, 2009 13:02:07
Never have much respect for 'it'.Ask any senior lawyers about 'it' and you will hear how 'it' commited adultery and also its fondness for Royal Salute.
written by Sarawak Headhunter, February 09, 2009 13:02:59
This is not blackmail, it is greenmail, or is it rather purplemail (colour of the RM100 bill)? Cakap tidak serupa bikin or "Don't practise what you preach" is all the BN is about and looks like Malayan royalty is right in the game as well. Can you blame them if their wealth is at stake? This was a well-planned conspiracy from day one when it was clear that Pakatan Rakyat had managed to get a majority in Perak, and Nasarudin's so-called hopping over to PKR was obviously a scam or trojan horse if you like. Witness the well-orchestrated "transition scheme" put into motion by the State Secretary and the police acting purportedly on the instructions of the State Secretary. Since when did the police report to the State Secretary?

The legal position is crystal clear and there are no two ways about it, and that from the Sultan's own writing. Treason to disagree with what he does as against what he preaches? That would be laughable if they were not serious about it.

This is exactly what Taib Mahmud orchestrated against CM Stephen Kalong Ningkan in 1965 in Sarawak when the Governor, backed by the Federal Government, dismissed him without a formal vote of no confidence in the state assembly, an action that was held to be unconstitutional by the court. (The Sultan doesn't know this?)

In the end the Federal Government resorted to complete abuse of power by imposing emergency rule to prevent Ningkan being reinstated.

That was 34 years ago. Do the people really believe that UMNO has changed at all or is prepared to change for the better?

We should be ready for any eventuality.
written by lamakawan, February 09, 2009 13:06:45
WE need to know the reasons why the sultan allowed such a coup in Perak. It must be acknowleged and respected that the sultan is a learned man, especially when he was a judge before. So the interpretation of the federal constitution and the state constitution should not have any ambiguity on his decision regarding the sacking of Nizar. However, all is not lost if the sultan will come to his senses and unwind what he had executed on the position of Nizar. Best shot is dissolve the state assembly and no one will gain and no one will lose, for the sake of peace and security of our country.
written by Xerxes, February 09, 2009 13:10:12
GOD!!This is SAD. I hope there is not an iota of truth in all these insinuations. The institution of the Sultan aside, HRH himself is a person of such high standings, that it is a trajedy that his Highness need to suffer from such allegations.

HRH was a former Lord President and his legal training and work experience would have prepared his mindset to accept dissenting views of his decisions. And he should allow this to proceed to show he has made the decision based on his best judgement and nothing else.

What is saddest about this whole episode is the manipulations of the BN to drag HRH into this quagmire with their power grab. If BN is so confident they have the upper hand in the state assembly and that they also enjoyed the support of the Perak voters then proceed with a vote of no confidence in Mohd Nizar and topple him in the proper constitutional way and call for fresh elections. This seems to be the proper legal way to do it and is supported by both Tun Dr Mahathir and Tengku Razaleigh. Why resort to such shady methods and dragging HRH into the mess with them?
written by cahaya, February 09, 2009 13:14:07
The article is not factual, as ENCIK NASIR has pointed out in his comment above. According to reliable sources in JKR Sabah, the Sapulut Kalabakan Project was awarded to one Konsortium FA-Iramaduta Bhd and not Gamuda Berhad. There are rumours that Gamuda was the appointed Sub-Contractor but again a check was made out to confirmed Iramaduta is the lynchpin for the project.

This article could be influenced by input from Umno leader(s). The intended effect is to divide and confuse Malaysians. Why? They want angry and careless citizens to publicly say or write something which they can publish and distort in MSM. It also gives them the opportunity to arrest more under ISA.

Have you not noticed? Umno Youth councils and other Umno leaders are now shouting "Treason" at opposition leaders.

Therefore, PR supporters (including bloggers, MT commentators, etc) should take care not to say rash things or write seditious comments about royalty.
written by temenggong, February 09, 2009 13:17:00
teo siew chin, what was that? 9/12/09?
written by Celik, February 09, 2009 13:17:58
I AM SO SURPRISED. I BELIEVE 99.99% OF MALAYSIAN TAX PAYERS DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THIS INCLUDING MY SELF. HOPE DS ANWAR AS OPPOSITION LEADER MUST BRING THIS MATTER TO PARLIAMENT. DAY BY DAY WE SEEMS TO GET A CLEARER PICTURE ABOUT THE FIASCO IN PERAK.
written by Richy, February 09, 2009 13:21:10
If this is the truth, it would be the most regrettable one. I pray the Sultan, who has been regarded as reputable judge, wouldn't have had any hand in the dirty work of BN other than his alleged mistake in overlooking the facts before endorsing BN in Perak
written by Taikohtai, February 09, 2009 13:21:23
Now that the dirty side of mixing politics with business is apparent to all, I really hope that PR will make a brave stand to separate them if elected. Otherwise, the country will never be able to forge ahead with greater challenges posed in a globalised world. In most Western democracies, all politicians have to declare their assets and share holdings to Parliament. Even indirect holdings need to be made transparent so that there can be no conflict of interests when serving the electorates.
written by ENCIK NASIR, February 09, 2009 13:29:57
Maybe someone can also check out if Irama Duta is a subsidiary of Gamuda? I've check again and again and I couldn't find any link between them. LOL...
My reliable sources told me Iramaduta and Gamuda did a couple of projects together couple of years ago (in Semenanjung) but I still couldn't find any 'incriminating evidence' or any collusion thereof between them. Maybe a check with SSM, form 24, form 49 etc.. will do it, just to clear this matter once and for all. Somebody pls....
Sorry, but I really need to know the fact behind this posting.
written by Super Admin, February 09, 2009 13:32:34
ENCIK NASIR, normally in an 'Ali Baba' arrangement they would leave no incriminating evidence.
written by aplus, February 09, 2009 13:33:21
In other words the contractor need not have done any work at all and they were paid for doing a job which is cosmetic at best and nothing at worst. Wah, job completed in early 2008 somemore. Only this one, ah? Shouldn't the scenario of "tip of the iceberg" apply here? What's the cost of the double tracking job per km?Is the MACCaw going down the road of extinction much faster than the dido ACA? Vision 2020 what is that? We are all going to the dogs.
written by ENCIK NASIR, February 09, 2009 13:38:45
I agree, Ali Babas are smart lot, but Gamuda is a listed company. They can't afford not to announce that they have sub a project and not declare it to BSKL. That would be a violation, would it not be?
written by Super Admin, February 09, 2009 13:45:29
The issues here are:

1) The contract was negotiated. If tendered it could have been cheaper.
2) It was supposed to be for a permanent sealed road costing RM565 million.
3) They built, instead, a gravel road which is far cheaper than RM565 million.
4) Two reports were made to the ACA.
5) The ACA did nothing.
6) All those involved - the government, the contractor, the sub-contractor - committed fraud.
written by sahabat, February 09, 2009 13:46:31
Waste of time reporting to the MACC. This MACC is UMNO's sophisticated weapon to shoot their enemies. From TV1, TV2, TV3 and Awani we saw the MACC Chairman boasting saying investigation should be initiated agaisnt Nasaruddin for joining PR. But did he say anything when he rejoined UMNO?

Arumugam had lodged police reports but no investigation was done. Unable to resist the intimidation he had no choice but to resign his State seat. The Police is another UMNO's sophisticated weapon.
written by ENCIK NASIR, February 09, 2009 14:02:18
Agree again with you Super admin and am equally concern with the extravaganza involved. However, your first paragraph in the above posting could invite trouble for Gamuda which is a flagship Malaysian Company. And the reputation of a daughter of HRH Sultan is also at stake here. I love reading MT and I for one would like MT to live up to its independent news portal tag.
written by kc kua, February 09, 2009 14:46:49
So, It all about Money not Rakyat. So and so again, are we going to shout "Daulat Tuanku"? Is really Daulat for them and their family!
written by samarlin, February 09, 2009 14:53:27
Please ban him from coming to Penang,lest he brings his learned 1/2 past 6 knowledge and taint the state with it.
written by mypanida, February 09, 2009 15:48:41
We really are second class citizens afterall.All of us.No exception.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 09, 2009 16:10:03
When we talk about the 5th pillar we also want to know what it is its relevance and its involvement in business. Do we have to give only to royalties. In Negeri Sembilan it was very apparent that the royalty were involved full time in business.

We have 9 pillars. The coffee shop debate is we have to pay for the nine pillars to exist. Beside paying the 9 pillars( we give them business),we also have to pay the side pillars quite in number.
We really do not know how much is taken from the coffers to support the pillars which is eating into this coffer. Maybe someone out there should release the figures for the rakyat to know..as it is the right of the rakyat being equal for the pillars to stand with support. In sum total all the pillars do is sit around and stay neutral from everything and only act when the rakyat are downtrodden. We see very little of this act the last 25 years.

Latest I hear in Perak Eleena is running around with some other man. and the Sultan has given him his own Mercedes Benz.

So it is the same the rich enjoy themselves at the expense of the poor with justification that the poor are lazy and do not work. How to find work?? if the big big contracts are given to the pillars who are supposed to channel the money back to support the rakyat??.
With figures like 300 million and being the richest woman in Malaysia..we do not see any active contribution to the poor or to the nation..nothing is ploughed back.

When the papers bring out horrid stories of people living in card board boxes, dilapitated houses, store rooms ,no water , no electricity, no education the the main pillar which is carrying 300 million or more combined 9 pillars..we do not see one of them coming forward to help...which is where they should be ...when the rakyat is suffering.
What is the contribution to the rakyat?. And what further justifies the need to support these pillars and give them business when in fact they should be supporting the rakyat as its last standing foundation.

When it comes to support the poor, the orphans and widows..again the collection is done from the rakyat. Then we have some MB's wife who sits there to make decisions and the money goes for their expensive trips overseas and holidays..and the orphans are handed bags of goodies like a pack of nasi kandar or a sarong for the elections.

I have yet to hear something that is done by the 9 pillars unilaterally for the rakyat except infighting, divorce, murders and not paying bills.

It is easy when you are a 300 million dollar woman..you divorce..marry another gold mine and continue..with a conscience that says..well the poor's lot is fated.

Sorry, the poor's lot is not fated. It is your fate to be given the 300 million to help the poor...and if this does not happen ..then you caused their fate...That money was created from the rakyat's cradle that has been gasaked.

The same with the amount being paid out for cross-overs..10 million or 25 million or what..it is the rakyat's money that is being gasaked and given to one individual...and then you say it is fate that the poor are poor.

if he was blackmailed..he has a conscience...worst he was a Lord President and should be impeccable and unwavering in his carrying out of justice.

Well ..a family will have a rotten apple...maybe it is Eleena..and the Sultan needs to protect his family first???
written by Taiping60, February 09, 2009 16:26:04
How is it possible for a Sultan to be blackmailed?

It is only possible if the Sultan or the Sultan’s children are involved in things beyond the role of a royal duty. In Malaysia, there are some rulers and ruler’s children involved in business, clubs and associations and this compromise their positions.

That is why the Council of Rulers has to do something about it to protect the honour and the tradition of a ruler. Not everyone can be a ruler as only a few chosen one (by birth right) can ascend to the throne. Therefore it is important that the person has to be properly groomed for the position. There should be rules to govern the conduct of the rulers to ensure they do not go beyond their authority and most important of all to be seen neutral and acted neutral too.

Ruler is in the highest position of the order of hierarchy and as such he is above all. In view of that, if a ruler or his children are involved in business, sport clubs or any association, then they will compromise their positions and will be difficult to be neutral. If they are involved in sport clubs or associations, and if there is any scandal with that club or association, the good name of the ruler will be affected as well. Sometime, even the performance of the club can tarnish the good name of the ruler.

It is important for the rulers to remember that they cannot have the cake and eat it. Rulers come with great responsibility. They are the symbols of fairness, neutrality and stability. They are the last option the Rakyat will turn to.

As mentioned, it is important that they not only require to act rightly and fairly but also seen to be acting rightly and fairly.

If the rulers continue to involve themselves in business, sport clubs or associations, soon the trust and loyalty from the citizen will eventually deteriorated. Please act now before it is too late.
written by The Hammer, February 09, 2009 16:56:46
Don,t be surprise when files related this Gamuda goes "missing". Gamuda is going to "kaput" soon!
written by Qcumber, February 09, 2009 17:28:58
When you are in Malaysia, there are 2 rules to follow when come to face with the royalty.

Rule no. 1: The Sultan is always right.

Rule no. 2: If the Sultan is wrong, then refer to rule no. 1. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Cyber DNA, February 09, 2009 19:15:05
Thanks Super Admin for the following info

....The issues here are:

1) The contract was negotiated. If tendered it could have been cheaper.
2) It was supposed to be for a permanent sealed road costing RM565 million.
3) They built, instead, a gravel road which is far cheaper than RM565 million.
4) Two reports were made to the ACA.
5) The ACA did nothing.
6) All those involved - the government, the contractor, the sub-contractor - committed fraud. '

The Sultan was not a part of this. his Daughter was!

Can we really blame the Sultan for wanting to protect his daughter??
Wouldn't we have done the same if blackmailed by Najib??

I wonder???

I think that najib cannot b allowed at all costs to become PM!
HE MUST BE STOPPED!
THE RAKYAT SHOULD BE TOGETHER ON THIS ONE!
written by Lim Lim, February 09, 2009 19:25:05
we can all see clearer now!!!!!this is the 'wow' factor umno talking about.
written by Caesar, February 09, 2009 19:59:52
Only with a change in Gov. to PR will this report see the light of day!!
written by Sabahfan, February 09, 2009 21:03:43
DAY IN AND OUT, the corrupted UMNO leaders use TREASON as an excuse to threaten us to silence so that they can coverup their corruption and be free to be corrupte forever. After all, the UMNO bastards admit that corruption is their culture...

so what the fukkk is the point of election? Just give them eternal powers if the people are not willng to hang these corrupted leaders.... for good.

Also, by speaking against the sultans who are equally corrupted, why the fukk should i submit to this BULLSHIT treason argument? after all, for the last 50 years, what the fukkk has the sultans done for me apart from sucking my tax money?

common everyone I challenge you all to tell me... WHAT DO I OWE ANY OF THESE SULTANS that if i dont bow down to them, it is treason??? they are alll corrrupted.
written by Alamak, February 09, 2009 21:11:36
Those who has Gamuda shares should quickly dump them before they become worthless...
written by Sudahlah tu, February 09, 2009 21:22:13
kekayaan yang dikurniakan oleh Allah sentiasa cukup ...
manusia yang tamak sahaja yang real menjadi binatang.
kisah raja selalu bermisteri dan berbau busuk apabila melibatkan kekayaan negara.
apa sudah terjadi .... ?
written by Rozlan, February 09, 2009 22:23:56
Guys,

Do you remember Puteri Gunung ledang tale? I dont mean mean the adultrated Tiara jacquelina theater show.I give it to you here...

The Sultan Of Malacca ( Sultan Mahmud.He was the last Malacca Sultan and good for nothing despot) asked for the fabled Puteri Gunung Ledang hands.The princess asked a few almost impossible thins as dowry..

They are :-

1)7 trays of mosquito livers
2)7 tray of germ livers
3)7 large earthern jar of virgins tears
4)7 large earthern jar of young areca nuts juice
5)A silver and gold bridges from Malacca to Gunung ledang

6)A bowl of Sultan's blood
7)A bowl of Crown prince's blood

Sultan Mahmud said" I could provide everything from 1 to 5 item for 6th and 7 item"..

The first five represented the people interest and the last two were the Malacca royals interest...The Sultan had no problem to step on people interest but not his family.The writer had clever put up the dowry items accordingly to give a secret message for future generation.

So guys I didnt say Perak Royals are like that.It is a Malacca Sultanate tale.Some 500 years ago...

written by minds, February 10, 2009 00:37:37
We, the people of Malaysia, pledge our united efforts to attain these ends, guided by these principles:

Belief in God.

Loyalty to King and Country. (if the king also corrup or contract)

Supremacy of the Constitution.

The Rule of Law.

Mutual respect and good social behaviour.
written by Fuminari, February 10, 2009 00:53:20
those platitudes are meant for the dustbins n garbage bags from now onwards!
they were all frauds n thrash in the first place!!
written by mountainking, February 10, 2009 12:35:17
We, the people of Malaysia, pledge our united efforts to attain these ends, guided by these principles:

Belief in God. (God is not corrupted as He is perfect)

Loyalty to King and Country. (we are loyal to country but are our rulers loyal to the country?)

Supremacy of the Constitution. (i don't think so)

The Rule of Law. (are our rulers subject to this? if not, then how can you expect the subjects to do so?)

Mutual respect and good social behaviour. (don't think UMNO has this value)
written by mountainking, February 10, 2009 12:37:28
i sincerely hope sultan will not forget about the rukun negara because of Gamuda and Raja Datuk Seri Eleena Raja Azlan Shah.

we will remember this dark historic day of Perak and our future generations too.
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 10, 2009 13:08:39
Was the Sultan of Perak blackmailed?

ANOTHER P I BALA CASE - WAS THE DECISION MADE UNDER DURESS??
written by lampard, February 10, 2009 15:08:24
King, ki$$ my a$$!!
written by lampard, February 10, 2009 15:16:06
Dear SabahFan,
to answer your questions, because they have 3 balls? 1 is to produce sperms, 1 is redundant and the last one is for show! All 3 is for their own use!
written by MAGELLAN, February 11, 2009 00:20:38
Lagi satu projek oleh kerajaan Barisan Nasional