Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow An Open Letter to Karpal Singh

An Open Letter to Karpal Singh PDF Print
Monday, 09 February 2009 10:27

Your demand for Anwar to step down as Pakatan leader at this juncture is unjustified and perhaps even suicidal.

Karpal asks Anwar to step down

Dear Karpal,

You have been banging your head against the BN brick wall for nearly 40 years. I have long admired and loved you for your indomitable warrior spirit, which reveals you to be of authentic khalsa pedigree. With your brilliant grasp of the law you have stood out as one of the finest legal minds in the region. The few times we have met I noticed you almost glowed with the aura of a saint, and I saw you as a spiritual warrior who would fight to the death for what you believe to be right.

However, ever since the political tsunami of 8 March 2008, you have become a lot grouchier and much more pugnacious. Initially, I figured it would take you a bit of time to adjust to the new political realities wherein the DAP, which you have loyally served for so many decades, is no longer confined to playing the perennial role of Loyal Opposition. Indeed, along with its partners in the Pakatan Rakyat, the DAP must now get used to being in charge - just as Lim Guan Eng has had to swiftly adapt to being the Chief Minister of Penang, not just somebody paid to give BN a hard time in parliament and maintain the illusion of democracy.

When you're in charge, there is no longer any advantage in being perceived as "strident" or "quarrelsome." Indeed, when one is in power, one must become more accepting and understanding of others, and speak in gentler - but more authoritative - tones.

In recent days we have all witnessed the magnificent spirit of enlightened and noble leadership that Perak MB Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin personifies. He has stood up firmly and with impressive dignity to being dismissed as MB by the Sultan of Perak - and he has done so without a trace of rancor or rudeness. We could point to this and call it the silver lining in an otherwise dark cloud: the constitutional crisis in Perak and the kurang ajar manner in which YB Nizar has been mistreated by the BN faction has brought forth shining qualities within this young leader we otherwise would never know existed. YB Nizar has conducted himself with such impeccable aplomb and courage, Malaysians are now saying he is PM material - and indeed I agree he is.

What's remarkable is that YB Nizar's appeal as a leader transcends all party lines and racial barriers. We see him as a good, intelligent, approachable, humble, inspiring man - not as the PAS Mentri Besar of Perak.

Well, it's YB Nizar's job on the line - and he has never once blamed Anwar Ibrahim for the current political imbroglio. Nor has he threatened to sue the Sultan for making an arguably unwise decision, possibly swayed by business considerations.

Now more than ever the rakyat would like to see a strong, united Pakatan Rakyat focused on replacing Umno/BN as the federal government. Not one where every other leader is a loose cannon that can scuttle the ship anytime for the most absurd reasons. True, the Pakatan Rakyat espouses the spirit and not merely the letter of democratic ideals - and therefore must allow for dissenting views on various issues.

Nevertheless, it is one thing to voice disagreement and quite another to attack your political allies and colleagues in such a truculent and aggressive manner as to cause internal injury. The last thing we want is to see the Pakatan Rakyat coalition disintegrate before it has even had a chance to govern the nation.

Dear Karpal, in my humble opinion, Anwar is a highly intelligent man, albeit openly ambitious (and that is hardly a crime). If there are painful lessons to be learnt from the Perak party-hopping debacle, I have no doubt Anwar will very quickly learn them. There is absolutely no call to publicly whack him on the head with your umbrella (even if Anwar's detractors might view this as extremely comical and go to town with it).

Your demand for Anwar to step down as Pakatan leader at this juncture is unjustified and perhaps even suicidal. Without Anwar's powers of persuasion and his moderating influence, fundamentalist voices (from both ends of the spectrum) will rise to the fore and ruin all our hopes for authentic change in Malaysia.

Dear Karpal,  I value honesty and outspokenness above most other traits. I am not in politics because, like you, I'm inclined to have a short fuse - and when angry am capable of shooting my mouth off and hurting a lot of people's feelings. But you, Karpal, are a veteran politician and really ought to know better, especially as you approach your 69th solar orbit. Clearly, the patriarchal control freak latent in your DNA is beginning to emerge and with increasing frequency. I have seen 90-year-old Sikh patriarchs scare the living daylights out of their burly 40-year-old grandsons. Please, dear friend, don't give in to those destructive propensities. Good families have broken down and become dysfunctional because of uncontrollable irascibility on the part of long-bearded, stern-faced patriarchs with absolutely no sense of humor and who cannot tolerate new ways of doing things.

May I suggest that you take a break from the emotionally charged atmosphere in Perak? Take time out to recuperate from the psychic toxins of being immersed for so many decades in a BN-dominated parliament. Be a child again with your grandchildren, an affectionate father to your wonderful progeny, and a loving friend to the multitudes who adore and respect you as a living saint.

And I'm sure you have the goodness of heart and wisdom to apologize to Anwar for your outburst. Leave the fate of this nation in the collective hands of the rakyat - or of God, if you happen to be a believer. Come back and rejoin the fray when you're well rested and together let us fulfil the aspirations of a beautiful young nation.

Antares
~^@^~

Comments (45)Add Comment
written by ellyna, February 09, 2009 10:33:06
Totally agree!! Its not the time for blame game. Mr. Karpal could have done no better if he were in Anwar's shoes. Be supportive during trying times.
agree 141
written by red1, February 09, 2009 10:33:35
Karpal Singh has been a great voice of conscience, that speaks his own individual mind and stands firm irrespective of the odds or risks. Let him remain that voice, but only Anwar can carry the flag to the mountain. At the moment.
written by CPY, February 09, 2009 10:34:12
Karpal, u have the right to voice ur disatisfaction, but NTV 7 sees it as a crack of the coaltion, with i reject them! Just says things like Anwar, pls counterattack!
written by non conformist, February 09, 2009 10:38:08
Very well said, and passionately expressed.
written by Rozlan, February 09, 2009 10:39:03
well Karpal without DSAI there will be no Pakatan Rakyat..If it is your personal opinion you should be responsible enough to declare it.So that the DAP leaders will not be in defensive position
written by Newkidonblog, February 09, 2009 10:39:36
Damn, I made a mistake again! I should have give Karpal Singh the due respect for so many years.

To err is human. Say you're sorry Karpal!
written by Mark C, February 09, 2009 10:41:50
I reckon Karpal's got a tendency to shoot his mouth without thinking it through. It shake and wobble the boat at this our is to raise the white flag of surrender.

This is the most crucial time to break the shackles of unfairness and he's upping the ante with ridiculous press statements like this...sigh...I reckon he has really gone bonkers and has infact turn senile already.....tsk tsk tsk...
written by temenggong, February 09, 2009 10:43:29
Politicians have to balance principles with teamwork. The situation now calls for teamwork. Karpal has also wrongly accused Anwar of starting the crossover culture. Has Karpal forgotton the crossovers since 1969 and even before?
written by borneoman, February 09, 2009 10:44:16
Antares
~^@^~
this is what transparency is all about.in umno,their president is treated like GOD!we dont want absolute power to be vested on 1 person because we are all human and we err sometime.let the msm say what ever they like because we are resolved in our quest to give back the federation of malaysia to it rightfull owner i.e.all malaysian irrespective of colour,race and religions.
written by krising1, February 09, 2009 10:46:28
Karpal Sir, I say this with a lot of respect which I have always had for you. Your personal physical tragedy may be causing you a lot of frustration. We understand. Take it easy Sir. This is not the time to be angry with your own flock. You are the most senior and be the advisor. I am sure they will listen.
written by pinsysu, February 09, 2009 10:47:11
i sokong what you have said. an apology will glue the coalition firmly. anwar may not be the perfect candidate but he does have the trust of many and he has created a possible alternative for the rakyat to choose from. try to imagine najib's portraits sprouting everywhere comes april you would learn to be more understanding and accommodating. this is not the time to cut fingers and toes.
written by kooler, February 09, 2009 10:48:42
Perhaps Karpal spoke a little over his head, but if it serves to make Anwar see the overall political scenario from a better perspective, it will have served its purpose, whether such was intended or not.
written by Adriftboat, February 09, 2009 10:50:16
Yes I agree. Kapal, please do apologise for your outburst and no one will blame you. You are also one of the strong pillars in PR so just work along together as a family and try to accomodate each other and agree to disagree.
I have high regards for you.
written by Ken Liew, February 09, 2009 10:50:52
OK, Anwar Might not be a Good person. But he is better then other UMNO member, and he knows the UMNO quite well.

Thats what make him the the best chances we have at the moment. I will remain supporting Anwar until BN is fallen.
written by JohnQ, February 09, 2009 11:07:14
DEAREST KARPAL, PLEASE Let the "troubles" blew a little deeper until PR takes over. Afterall B-end had millions of it troubled the nation over 50yrs, what is a handful of it for a young greenhound PR ?

Pls help to blow the flames fearer and wider until PR ruled, then only champions anti Kangaroo law, where current short coming hindered any crossover resignation and by election !

Pls dont forget to remember Kak P.Pauh no able to contest and serve as MP next 4 yrs ! SHe is the PR Head before, remember.

Cheers, Good health always.

written by Foong, February 09, 2009 11:08:26
No oe in this world is an angel. We all are bound to make mistakes in our life, let alone Anwar. In such trying times we need him even more and to shorten Pakatan Rakyat needs all of you veterans. So we hope you all will settle down again and work for the rakyats.
written by joeawk, February 09, 2009 11:09:32
Anwar is no saint but Karpal might as well make sure that DAP reps have more quality and politically more savvy and not just hot headed.

Make sure that Ngeh n Nag don't let power and authority go their headed, and start behaving like DAP is about just the two of them. I won't be surprise if they are next to threaten to switch camp.
written by thumb, February 09, 2009 11:14:22
YAB Karpal. Morally it is wrong to party hop and morally it is wrong to put people under ISA without trial, but legally it is not wrong in Malaysia. You must help PKR come in to power by hook or crook to right what is wrong in this country of ours. I think if you help do that heaven will still accept you and the rakyat will say thank you.
written by truejustice, February 09, 2009 11:23:25
With all due respect, Karpal always act as if he knows the law on the back of his hand. Bar Council might be fearful of you, police might be fearful of you since you know the law quite well. But hey laws are meant to be change for those in power.
On another case, I have a relative who's contesting the husband's estate with the mistress. This was almost 10 years ago and they approach Karpal for help. It was just delay after delay and even when they wanted to withdraw the case so that anothter lawyer can represent, Karpal didn't allow it! Why?? If you can't handle it stop giving excuse just because you want the commission. So sometimes, people are not what they are especially those who talk too much and think highly of themselves
written by SL Chan, February 09, 2009 11:23:48
YB Karpal..

I totally agree antares...Take it easy my friend!!! Think you should apologize to YB Anwar...Now is not the the time to do fingerpointing. Is time to improve Pakatan and strengthen the coalition!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by GobloGadhero, February 09, 2009 11:28:05
Cyber DNA,

Wow! You are really jolly with the word: Bhan Chuute! I suppose you know the meaning?
written by eow_eow, February 09, 2009 11:34:15
Dear Karpal.
Playing the blame game now will inadvertently make you also walk the the same road and playing the same game as the Kataks and the PoJ, but worse it is a form of back stabbing and perceived as sabotage from inside. Don't forget the bigger picture of Ketuanan Rakyat that wants to see changes brought about after 50 years of BN racist politics. You can't deny the fact that Anwar was the key that brought the PR components together to fight for a bigger cause with the ultimate objective to replace BN in the 13th GE. The PR components DAP, PKR and PAS must work together for that cause and that takes courage, vision, compromise and also produce results that can be visualize as being truly viable alternative to the BN. We the ketuanan rakyat have voted PR wants to see that capability in the central government in waiting, and in which probation has been given in the PR ruled states. Regarding Perak, it is an expensive lesson for PR and a timely reminder that your preferred opinion which your legal brain perceived as legally and morally correct would not allow this stance to be fully exploited by your enemies to your own detriment and also of the ketuanan rakyat. Last but not least, wish to complement ANTARES for his blog article which have good intentions and advise for you and so many of us the PR component parties, its members and also the ketuanan rakyat in general who have been hurt by the current sad Perak episode. Take care and wishing you God Bless - "Naanak Prabh Maerai Saathhae" / "O Nanak, God is always with me";

smilies/kiss.gif
written by Singapolean, February 09, 2009 11:45:46
Party hopping is not the answer from day one. Be it from BN to Pakatan or vice versa. I believe Karpal has all the rights to say what he has said. I'm a big fan of Anwar and Pakatan, but what Anwar planned was wrong. Taking over MB's the way he planned was wrong.. not only Anwar started it.. he managed to convince other leaders in Pakatan to play along his tunes.. and so to his supporters... what a big slap when it was done to Pakatan instead.. I would get upset, why not Karpal, the Chairman of DAP (one of the component parties in Pakatan). Also not saying, Anwar should step down, NO... instead its a lesson to be learnt, especially Anwar.

NO party hopping please.....
written by Celestial, February 09, 2009 12:03:09
Antares

Brilliant and spoken from the heart. Won't expect anything less from you. You have said it all and I cannot improve on it.
written by SCM, February 09, 2009 12:06:06
Karpal Singh, Karpal Singh, Karpal Singh, you are truly an incredible man. You are so principled that you disregard the consequences and stick to your principles. This is such a great trait to have.

However, it doesn't work in a corrupt country like Malaysia where even the PM-in-waiting said openly that he wants to drench his keris with Chinese blood and is now the rakyat's main suspect in the brutal murder of a mother or 2 kids. If the PM-in-waiting is of such a dubious character, what do you expect from this geng of thugs (including the PDRM) and bandits. Knowing this, you still want to stick to principles? You CANNOT fight fire with paper.

Your goal must not be compromised, i.e. to get rid of the party that has been bribing, killing and destroying our country, at all cost. You have tried it, Lim Kit Siang has tried it and Hadi has tried it. All failed for decades. Now comes Anwar Ibrahim and all of a sudden, you have an unprecedented general election result favouring the rakyat, even with all UMNO's dirty tricks.

Please Mr. Karpal Singh, do not destroy the rakyat's dreams for your own principles. Put the nation before yourself and support Anwar to the fullest to once and for all, get rid of the disease called UMNO.
written by macaufan, February 09, 2009 12:13:31
Come on lah M'sian,
wat Karpal doing now is for d nation to b aware of him only.
remember during KT by-election? karpal 'voice out' against hudud law !
now Perak isu, he 'voice out' Stepping down of DSAI !
he cant walk, so he cant do active ground work & people started to 'un-notice' him !
this is an 'effective' way to get him being 'NOTICE' !
written by Celestial, February 09, 2009 12:20:08
Karpal

Ever heard of the saying: "Cutting your nose to spite your face"? As a politician, you are one of the rare species to go against the profession norm, very virtuous but you are not very smart. Your timing is terrible. There is a Chinese word I want to share with you and that is "YAN" - Tolerate. Even when you are about to explode, hold it in, count to 10, smell the roses and be a child again as my good friend and brother, Antares suggest. There is a bigger calling and you are part of it. don't destroy it for a moment of self indulgence.
written by Prem, February 09, 2009 12:22:22
Karpal sir, you of all the people should know that DAP by itself will never in your dreams, be able to stand on its own. AS a matured,intellectual you should not 'wash your dirty linen in public'.You should have blasted off Anuar in private.The Rakyat are at least having 40% peace of mind with Pakatan ruling.Remember wihout Anuar to bring 3 unlikely parties to form a coalition,we wont have this 'victory'!!! Unlikely for anyone else to replace Anuar,as there is none at the moment.Listening to you on T.V. was an earache,more like a senile blabbering!!!!!!
written by Saint, February 09, 2009 12:26:54
May this be a good lesson for both Karpal and Anwar.
Just shake hands and post it on MT.
All will be fine. Quarrel among good friends do not last.
And Antares - TQ. very well said.
written by Woman in Malaysia, February 09, 2009 12:32:46
Dear Karpal

I have enormous respect for you. However, you must recognise that Anwar is the glue that binds Pakatan Rakyat together. He is by no means perfect, but then who is? Antares is right - take it easy.
written by pkrgulf, February 09, 2009 12:32:55
Pak Cik Karpal,

At this age, mellow down a bit lah. Let the young leaders assume the mantle of leadership...orang tua like you take a backseat...turn into an advisor..or a spiritual one if you like..reason is simple, whatever coming out from your mouth lately are loads of crap and rubbish...simply out of touch!!!

The older the wiser as they say, but in your case, the older the crappier...so grow old..and learn to shut up or shout only when necessary..or else hop over to BN...see whether they will accept you Mr Loudmouth...

Sick of It!!

written by Al Ambia, February 09, 2009 12:33:27
Mr Karpal Singh,
I ve been an admirer and full of respect for you.So,before I have second thought of you like asking Mr Anwar to resign,think twice before you speak.What you want to do like suing the Sultan,that is your personal business but dont drag the party down.If you want to criticise you colleague,do it in the proper channel.You are all in the same boat in PKR.If there is small hole in the boat if left unplugged,eventually the boat will sink,and you ll become Kapal Singh (Titanic)
written by Bandit, February 09, 2009 12:46:08
Dear MT admin,

I would like to advice you to ban these idiot for good.

"written by Cyber DNA, February 09, 2009 11:12:12

Karpal

Sastrical!

Were you offered money???
......If so Bhan Chuute!

If not so just shut up! "

The word baan Chhute refers to "one's sisters vagina" in Hindi.

Seriously you dont need these kind of scum on MT.
written by GobloGadhero, February 09, 2009 14:05:49
Bandit,

I agree. Actually, Bhan means sister. Chuute is the F-word in Hindi.

To all friends, let's just comment and add value, rather than using uncouth language.

Agree all?
written by Nadal, February 09, 2009 14:51:00
I think there is a power play in DAP. Karpal seems to be alone when he makes an apperance but Kit Siang, Guan Eng and the seniors in DAP seem to be in the other group.
written by MalaysianFirst, February 09, 2009 18:09:28
i COMPLETELY AGREE WITH kARPAL'S PRINCIPLES BUT i ALSO COMPLETELY DISAGREE WITH HIS LACK OF DISCRETION. HE SHOULD NOT HAVE MADE SUCH DISPARAGING COMMENTS ABOUT PAKATAN'S LEADERSHIP AND INTEGRITY ON TV.

KARPAL, YOU'RE NOT THE ONLY MAN IN MALAYSIA WHO HAS PRINCIPLES. I HAVE PRINCIPLES TOO.

REALLY SAD.
written by karpi77, February 10, 2009 00:16:17
YB Karpal Sing, i am very sad
written by Bluechip, February 10, 2009 21:17:25
YB Karpal Sing you already acts as "animal" politics. you show your animal dignity. as politician you should be professional when encounter with political uncertainties. no gain no paint YB Karpal Sing.

I think I'm gonna put you as my topic in my blog

http://bluechip-arena.********.com