BN’s Perak coup may prove costly PDF Print
Monday, 09 February 2009 10:16

No side can hold the moral ground. Looking at the dubious quality of BN’s latest catches – two of the independents are facing corruption charges – Najib ought to have foreseen the victory would have been at best pyrrhic, as it is being described by many.

BUSINESS TIMES SINGAPORE

Barisan Nasional, or rather Umno, appears to have underestimated the backlash arising from the backdoor takeover of the Perak state government last week if the anger over the past few days are of any indication.

The silver state is now saddled with two chief ministers – BN’s Zambry Abdul Kadir and Pakatan Rakyat’s Nizar Jamaluddin who will not stand down as he maintains that Perak Sultan Azlan Shah had acted unconstitutionally in demanding his resignation.

Lawyers are divided as to whether the state has been thrown into a constitutional crisis. But what is certain is that the various lawsuits being planned to challenge this takeover – including one on whether the three assemblymen from PR had already vacated their seats prior to becoming “independents but friendly to BN” – is going to be long and drawn out.

Which investor is going to chance his money in such a messy state of affairs?

Nizar had requested the Sultan to dissolve the state assembly and hold fresh polls after his three assemblymen became independents and effectively the “kingmakers” since both BN and PR have 28 assemblymen each.

That Sultan Azlan decided the BN now held the majority with the support of the independents and chose not to dissolve the house was his prerogative.

Perakians, however, have overwhelmingly expressed their preference to see the matter resolved at the ballot box, rather than be presented with a fait accompli.

Nonetheless, the opposition to the Sultan’s decision was astounding.

The public protests during the swearing-in of Mr Zambry on Friday saw unprecedented – and unwarranted – scenes of groups venting their displeasure at the royal house by pelting vehicles with stones as they drove past.

Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak and the man credited with the state takeover contends what is good for the goose is good for the gander, pointing out that BN was merely taking a leaf out of PR’s book when it comes to encouraging defections.

PR head Anwar Ibrahim had, after all, taunted BN all of last year that he would claim the federal government through mass defections.

Ironically, at the end of January, he had happily “unveiled” the Bota state assemblyman as a BN defector to PR – only to see his prize leap back into the arms of BN some 10 days later, following which the three PR assemblymen declared they had become independents.

No side can hold the moral ground. Looking at the dubious quality of BN’s latest catches – two of the independents are facing corruption charges – Najib ought to have foreseen the victory would have been at best pyrrhic, as it is being described by many.

The resulting rancour has left Perak and the nation even more divided than ever.

If both political coalitions had been challenged to put aside their differences and to work together to overcome the global recession, the bad blood over the latest events is going to make it all but impossible.

Support for Najib had already been dismal, according to an independent poll conducted at the end of last year by Merdeka Centre, with only 41 per cent of respondents agreeing he would make a good prime minister.

When broken down by race, 57 per cent of Malays gave him the nod, while only 18 per cent or less than one in five Chinese and 28 per cent of Indians agreed.

Umno holds 27 seats in Perak and its Chinese partner, the Malaysian Chinese Association, one. It has no Indian representative in a state that is nearly half non-Malay.

Set to become prime minister in March under a transition plan, the events of last week will make it tougher for Najib to narrow the divide.

Judging by the tone of comments on the blogosphere as well as those in coffee shops and homes across the country, Najib may have scored big with his party, but one suspects that it will be at some expense to Umno’s main coalition partners, and greater political cost to his standing with the people. – MI

written by borneoman, February 09, 2009 10:23:26
umno underestimated the power of the voters.gone are the days when voters allow politicians to betray their votes!
written by ellyna, February 09, 2009 10:25:47
Nothing good ever comes from evil. The people have the absolute right to choose their leader. Undoubtedly, they are all behind Datuk Nizar. GIVE THEM THEIR RIGHT!! UMNO/BN has created outrage and more hatred among the rakyat with their crooked ways. This is how you have to pay by losing the rakyat's support and confidence.
written by pinsysu, February 09, 2009 10:32:25
historically women were convenient excuses for the downfall of some kingdoms. and history has a strange way of repeating itself. Hee will be forever remebered fondly as the key to the downfall of the BN government. so dun be too harsh on her ya.
written by Ken Liew, February 09, 2009 10:54:55
UMNO dan BN , corruption, sumuanya OK! JOIN BN/UMNO if you are corrupted.

And hell is waiting next to you!
written by Taiping60, February 09, 2009 11:12:25
Ellyna you said it right. "Nothing good ever comes from evil."

Najib and UMNO will leave to regret it.

As for Anwar and Pakatan. You were lucky to see the effect of the evil. Hope Pakatan particularly Anwar will learn from this incident. Don't play with the devils, you alway get burnt.
written by pinsysu, February 09, 2009 11:16:40
correction: BN’s Perak coup proves costly! watever is costing them now is work-in-progre$$. the rakyat will sign their final account that will cost them the federal government.
written by mypanida, February 09, 2009 11:20:47
Show them what People's Power is all about !!!!!!
In time a small knife will cut down a giant tree.
The people's choice are being robbed and the people reserved the right to retaliate.
This is just the prelude.
written by savemalaysia, February 09, 2009 11:22:42
No hold to any power can be long and legitimate if it were usurped from the citizens, the very people who decide their govt in a GE. The shameless bunch of UMNO's goons including the AP swindler Rafidah Aziz think that they are the only smart fellows on earth and the people are all fools. Rather those UMNO's abusers have disgusting shown to the people that their politics is as dirty as it can get and such practioners (a gangster-like Najis and his bunch of acrid slimeballs) will be wiped out while the party will pay heavily for their immoral act of snatching a govt from the backdoor.
written by asguard, February 09, 2009 12:38:17
UMNO is main dalang... behind every single step of Perak problem...together with Najis as main actor!
written by Godflesh, February 09, 2009 12:58:47
People Power? There are still many Malaysians who grumble and bitch about everything that's not right in the, country but yet fail to vote. Many are not even registered voters!. It's these who we should be convincing to join the struggle and come GE13 we may achieve what we're hoping for!
written by tenang, February 09, 2009 13:11:53
To BN & UMNO Members and Other Fence-Sitters,

Despite the latest development in Perak seemingly sends a victory to BN, all common people which includes also the vast majority of BN/UMNO members and fence-sitters are the biggest losers. BN-UMNO members, you are the citizen first, then the members of a political party. When your party leaders uses bribe and intimidation to force cross-over of ADUNs, the party leaders have essentially suspend your right as the citizen to select your leaders. You may ask what is the big deal since the end result is that your party/coalition have more ADUNs and hold the state government? It is a big deal because your very endorsement of the actions of your party leader is an endorsement to use bribe and intimidation to deal with the rest of state governance.

BN & UMNO Members,
You are citizen first, then only you are members of your parties. If you are not a citizen (when your right is violated & suspended), you can no longer be a member of your party. By accepting the ruthless coup by your leaders, you become mere subjects of a feudal system, or worse, slaves of your masters.

Time to reclaim your citizenship, UMNO-BN Members!
written by jeevy, February 09, 2009 16:20:50
The only solution now to break the impasse is for UMNO to advise HRH the Perak Sultan to go on air and opologise dat he has erred and dictate dat fresh elections be held for the people of Perak (even if this is not face-saving) as long as its done in all humility-the people of Perak will accept his apologies ....he is human too and dat humans do make mistakes....this way he would have got his respect back and everybody would be happy...even UMNO-for UMNO would hv seen to hv done the proper thing-even if it loses in the forth coming elections it doesnt matter-it could pump a lot of money into Peraks economy these 3 yrs and try to win the hearts and mind of Perakians come 2013 )..this way its a win-win situation for everybody....its not d question of money per se.... UMNO must portray itself as a just and compassionate govt. first and a juz govt. it must be come 2013........dat is d cruz of d matter now...
written by Hockchew, February 09, 2009 20:39:02
Hee must resigned as ADUNimmediately
written by latihanQ, February 10, 2009 13:23:03
I am amazed but plesantly surprised we still have a man of Tengku Razaleigh's courage, an Umno member, who has the honesty and integrity to say it as it is!
Even the Tun demonstrated vacillation in his flip-flops, with his for and then against approach.
Does Malaysia still have a chance to be governed by the Constitution?