Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal asks Anwar to step down

Karpal asks Anwar to step down PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 22:16

By Manjit Kaur, The Star

Pakatan Rakyat de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim should step down for causing trouble in the coalition, DAP national chairman Karpal Singh said.

The Bukit Gelugor MP is blaming Anwar for "creating trouble," and said that the former deputy prime minister "needed to repent without further betraying the people and their trust."

He said Pakatan Rakyat needed another leader, a good leader, and lashed out at PKR and DAP leaders who had fallen sway to Anwar's rhetoric in supporting crossovers of elected representatives.

"I am not getting the support from my own party leaders, neither party adviser Lim Kit Siang nor secretary-general Lim Guan Eng, on the party-hopping issue.

"It seems that they are supporting Anwar instead of me. I am the party chairman, don't push me too far as I still have the support of the rank and file,'' he told a press conference at his office near here Sunday.

Asked if he was thinking of calling for an emergency meeting on the future of the party in the coalition, Karpal Singh said he was thinking of doing so.

"I can't fight the DAP cause alone. What I am saying is the truth, and eventually the truth prevails. I have said before that DAP should seriously consider getting out of the coalition and I repeat my stand once again today.

"Party-hopping can never be justified as it can be compared with one murdering the very parents who were responsible for one's birth merely upon one reaching adulthood,'' he added.

He said he was confounded by how Anwar could have openly espoused and encouraged crossovers after the people gave a resounding mandate to the Pakatan Rakyat during the last elections.

He noted that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak had said that it was Anwar who started it all (party-hopping), but added that two wrongs could never make a right.

"For the record Barisan Nasional had accepted crossovers from DAP as far back as 1969, and therefore it is hypocritical for the Deputy Prime Minister to place the blame on Anwar, who in fact joined Barisan in 1981 and rose from the ranks to become the Prime Minister-in-waiting just before his expulsion from the party in 1998.

"I only hope he (Anwar) did not learn of the morality or rather immorality of political kangaroos hopping from the opposition to Barisan during the time he was in government.

"In the public interest, and in particular in the interest of Pakatan Rakyat, Anwar has a lot to answer for in creating the woes of the coalition now,'' he added.

On the police reports lodged against him by George Town Penang Umno Youth leaders for questioning the rights of the Malay Rulers, Karpal Singh he warned those who have made these reports of the consequences of lodging false reports.

"I am warning them of the consequences ... . Enough is enough, if they want trouble then they have come to the right place," he said in a firm tone.

Karpal said there was nothing illegal or unlawful in what he had stated in relation to the Sultan of Perak being subject to the due process of law, and that he can be sued in court for dismissing the Pakatan Rakyat state government in his official capacity.

"It has been in my view and I reiterate that view that the Sultan of Perak had acted 'ultra vires' to the provisions of Article 16(6) of the Perak Constitution,'' he added.

Anwar is widely credited with knitting the different parties in Pakatan -- PKR, DAP and PAS -- into the coherent opposition that swept five states from under Barisan Nasional's feet in the 12th general election last March.

Barisan was also denied a two-thirds majority in Parliament.

However, he spent much of his efforts after that attempting to engineer a massive defection of 31 Members of Parliament (MPs) from Barisan to the opposition, promising a Federal Government takeover by Sept 16 last year.

When that mass defection did not take place, he asked his supporters to be patient, saying it would come.

In the meantime, Anwar had become an MP after his wife and PKR president Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Ismail her seat in Permatang Pauh. This paved the way for the former deputy prime minister's return to parliament after his triumph in the ensuing by-election.

He then became the official Opposition leader.

On Jan 22, Anwar trumpeted the defection of Bota state assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim who quit Umno to join PKR. Less than 10 days later, Nasarudin jumped ship again to rejoin Umno.

This led to Barisan and Pakatan both holding 28 seats each in the state legislative assembly.

This "double hop," plus the resignations of DAP assemblyman Hee Yit Foong (Jelapang), and PKR assemblymen Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu (Changkat Jering) and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi (Behrang), led to Barisan declaring it had the majority.

While the three declared they would remain independent, they also swore allegiance to Barisan, which led to Sultan Azlan Shah declaring Barisan the legitimate state government and declining Pakatan's call to dissolve the state assembly and hold fresh elections.

PKR last year had proposed restoring some of the legal immunities to the royal families.

Comments (68)Add Comment
written by Littlebird, February 08, 2009 22:20:41
Somebody should take responsibility for the fall of Perak. But then YB Karpal should take take note that without DSAI there's no Pakatan. It is a fair call but not a smart one.
agree 179
written by inoi, February 08, 2009 22:22:23
Karpal,please don't say anything nonsense and let UMNO laughed all the way to the bank.
disagree 21
agree 134
written by SiHangChai, February 08, 2009 22:24:28
Karpal, DSAI has been greedy and learnt his lesson which affected all of us. You shouldn't moaned him for the mistake, but instead concentrating on taking on Sultan Perak and BN.
written by arazak, February 08, 2009 22:26:10
Man. . ., could somebody ask him to shut up!

During this testing time, we do not want anybody to "add salt to the wound".

If he wishes, he may also jump to BN. . ., we are sick of him!
disagree 43
agree 142
written by Kunta Kinte, February 08, 2009 22:26:43
This is not a time to point fingers at each other instead Pakatan should come out stronger from this situation. Support each other for a better tomorrow of the nation. Lets not start having Najib and the UMNO mentality
written by Chimera, February 08, 2009 22:27:18
Well if DSAI accept it atleast he come a press statement. Yes I Screwed Up. I will ammend it.
written by Braino, February 08, 2009 22:28:54
This is not the time to point fingers but rather should stay united and focus on the heavy and difficult tasks ahead....! Unity is strength!
written by Oscar Winner, February 08, 2009 22:29:05
Something's not right with this old man. Grumpy of late. Rant and rave at partners. Defintely not wise to condemn DSAI openly. Leave DAP pls if you think Kapal Sink, but don't behave like BN goons trying to tear apart PR.
disagree 20
written by OVERLORD, February 08, 2009 22:33:45
Dear brave Lion of Jelutong...., I know that u are disenchanted with the present PR party leaders....but they can't afford to lose u now as the war is not over.You represent the inner conscience of the alliance...In the past, they only "hear" what you have to say, but I guess after failing spectacularly, they would be more willing to "listen"..in this "I told you so" moment...
written by michael, February 08, 2009 22:34:06
Karpal, Please don't jeorpardise the position of PR or DAP. If you do challenge the leaderships' position publicly, how different are from from Hee, who also felt slighted by DAP. I am sure that she too she was right from her point of view.
written by lamakawan, February 08, 2009 22:36:09
Lets not blame any one for the mess in Perak. Nizar is still the mentri besar as long as he has not resigned. Lets take things as they come along. Lets do what is required to restore the legality of the PR state gomen. All leaders in PR must come together, including Anwar and Karpal, to discuss the best ways to file a case on the legality of the state's takeover by BN,
What is more important now is to get back the state administration through a court action.
All leaders in PR must sit together and adopt the best approach to this issue.
Then and only then can we start to look at personal differences and attitudes in the PR alliance. We all will get upset and emotional especially during this crisis created by the BN dogs.
Do not be disheartened because the loss of Perak is not the end of the struggle of PR. This is only the beginning that we are seeing of the progress of the PR alliance, fighting for the good of all Malaysians.
Lets get together and regain our strength to fight the uncivilised dogs in BN.
written by Badaksumbu, February 08, 2009 22:37:37
Who is going to take place of Anwar ? DAP would never have chance to govern any state should there were no support from the two -PKR and PAS supporters-younger people felt they had enough with all style and Karpal does't really carry much weight in many years to come -I don't really see why Karpal has behave destructively to PR. As an elder politician he should lead the way towards achieving our goal that one day Malaysia will have a bi-multiethnics political system. Is Karpal happy to to be under BN rule forever?
written by rpremkumar2u, February 08, 2009 22:38:40
The difference between BN and Pakatan is that in Pakatan, leaders can agree to disagree. Have you seen that happening in BN? Karpal is just calling a spade a spade. It takes balls to do what he did. There are many in Pakatan who feel what Karpal had voiced out. Did it not reach the point in time that even well intentioned advice of Pete also went unheeded? There would have been at least an after the fact situation if HRH Sultan not agreed for the dissolution of the State AAssembly had it been done as suggested by Pete. Najib saw this delay and swiftly moved in. Just because it is a question of moral haste does not render Najib ineffective. He was obviously ruthless. Obviously he went for the jugular vein. He quickly capitalized on the underestimation on the part of YAB Nizar. Quid Pro Quo. Do you think now it is easy to bring HRH Sultan's decision to the court? It is a simple process but then it means bringing to the fore the legality of the constitutional decision of His Highness. I stand corrected.
written by PASOK, February 08, 2009 22:40:49
Karpal Singh - another very clever lawyer but a very stupid politician who wants to be in the opposition for another 44 years.
written by Michael Pg, February 08, 2009 22:43:46
Kapal oh kapal,
I agree with you for fighting for justise,

But I disagree with you for making all the noise thru media. you need to control your big mouth, or you should be retire. you do more damaging than helping. You give a bullet to Umno to shoot pakatan. example sue sultan and now ask DSAI to step down. We should be united.

Sometimes I think you should step down as DAP chairman.

written by Badaksumbu, February 08, 2009 22:46:02
Of course he is ruthless otherwise Altantunya is still survive
written by truthbespoken, February 08, 2009 22:46:34
Karpal, Karpal,

You may have your points and principles. But you are playing Malaysian politics. You got to get real. And you should know there is no one else currently in the political line up who can stand up to UMNO in the way DSAI can. Hence, do not try to bring down the leader who can do the job for now. Unless you think you already have another person who is good enough to replace him.

Because of your recent rumblings and departure from your team's direction, my guess it that you could have been inadvertently ignored by your comrades on this view or by DSAI himself all along. But the bigger picture and immediate call is always for all opposing parties to work cohesively together to bring down the corrupted UMNO/BN as soon as possible to stop them from further harming the country's long term interest.

Hence, it will be to the interest of all not to bring out such divergent views and actions for now to weaken the position of the opposition. Please do not do a 'HEE YIT FONG' at this hour of political fluidity. For her, it was a "Self-over-self approach" that led to her being the biggest public reject in recent Malaysian history. Please Mr Karpal, let the status quo remain and better still, support it if you can or at least remain quiet for now if you can't. Thank you very much.
written by gx27, February 08, 2009 22:47:59
Karpal,

please dont say anything to hurt the pakatan now.
it is pointless to point finger now.
be united to fight off the evil.
please dun disappoint us again. work together please. and if there is a need to thrash out amongst pakatan people, do it in the closed door meeting.
dont be a laughing stock to your opposition.
This is something you need to learn, may be from BN, ironically.
written by batsman, February 08, 2009 22:49:47
The biggest katak in town is called lai tak. Indignation is often used to fend off exposure.
written by chriscym, February 08, 2009 22:49:47
Not the time for infighting. PR has never being to this stage without Anwar. He is the mediator between DAP & PAS. Battle has lost this time, but not the war! YB Karpal, now what the PR support would like to see is a good PR government sticking together. Otherwise the PR government will fall.
written by No nonsense, February 08, 2009 22:58:09
Hello Old man please can you stop attacking Anwar and stick together and save Perak. Dont cause anymore strain in PR. Dont start the blame game. We need to see a strong united PR and what had happened dont blame PR blame BN. Time to put things right right now. As you have said enough is enough so let it be. Work together harder and bring PR to greater heights. We have come this far please dont let go. We dont want to see another Hee Haw fellow in DAP. Dont let us lose hope after so many years with DAP. Fight on Brother.
written by Adriftboat, February 08, 2009 22:58:20
Another drama. Wshing dirty linen in public and I am sure tomorrow papers headline "Anuar asked to step down by Karpal Singh". Kapal, I do have high regards on you but during such tiring times, you should restraint yourself not to voice your opinion in public. Do it behind closed doors. When are you guys going to learn to be a bit discreet in deliberating issues affecting the parties? You are giving bullets to your enemies to shoot at you. Even if you want to show your displeasure, do have a dialogue with all seniors of the parties and trash it out. Do not be like a trumpet where it will do more harm than good as we the RAKAT is looking for a change and a better life in Malaysia. Annuar may has his shortcomings but he is also a charismatic leader. Who has not done wrong?. Move forward and I am sure Annuar may already feel bad inside without you openly condemnming him. It is a hard leason that all you guys should learn from it and try to reconsolidate your strength and not tear it apart.We are looking up to you guys for a change.
As one commentor said..."who can replace Annuar" which is a FACT. So Kapal, please sabar..ok for the sake of making a change in our country. I understand how you feel just as what how Pete felt when he wrote his article. Just try to perserve and accomodate and ultimately justice will revail. Will GOD be with you guys. I stand to be corrected.
written by Raizzen, February 08, 2009 23:02:11
You just love to throw the salt when the wound is still bleeding eh ? And not the first time too. Senile old fart. Family feuds are meant to be resolved INTERNALLY remember ?

Whatever happened to the all-for-one-one-for-all resolution in KT.
written by JaguhKampung, February 08, 2009 23:02:43
I think Mr Karpal is happy being in the opposition forever. If he thinks DAP alone can challenge the might of BN, he can take this route himself. He has to learn how to work in a coalition. There are certain thinks you should announce in the public and certain things you should discuss among yourselves in meeting rooms.

Mr Karpal is the Chairman of DAP. What he said carries a lot of weight. The rakyat is also watching whether your coalition could hold and have the means to form a viable coalition. The rakyat have been given a lot of hope. Based on what you've just demonstrated, it doesn't look like it.

There's no hero in a coalition. You may not fully agree with the direction of the coalition, but once there is a consensus, you must give your full support until the end. That is what an organization is all about. That is what democracy is all about.

If something fails and you quickly announced to the world you are against it; it doesn't make you a hero. You are just too preoccupied with your own personal interest, your pride and personal reputation.
written by Pakyeh, February 08, 2009 23:06:14
Morally it is wrong to party hop. That is it Anwar made a mistake encouragin party hopping.However if the niat/wish is for God n the rakyats welfare than it is ok to do so.You cannot be morally bound to an imoral n corrupt government. Parti hopping for monet however is immoral n should be banned.This is thinking outside the box/outside the law.Within the law a reelection should be done to justify that your party hopping is agreeable with the rajyat.
However Karpal Sing is "Marahkan nyamuk, kelambu di bakar.His action is rocking the PR boat n is seen as stupid.He should not wash PR laundry in public.Yjis action can kill all including himself. A stupid move Karpal Singh.
written by Rashid, February 08, 2009 23:07:06
Karpal,

Did Anwar start it? It was started by BN in 1969 when Anwar was in University. 2ndly, did DSAI start it in 2008? No, it was Najis Rosak who promised 50 million to Pakatan reps and officials if they bring some PR reps. What do you expect DSAI to do? He had to defend his PR states by threatening with 916 and he was constitutional about it. He didn't go to the palace neither did he offer money, bribe or blackmail, abduct or force anyone unlike BUMNO. So, you are wrong in chastising DSAI. Furthermore, didn't BN set ist goals on Perak long time ago? What did you do about it? What was your advice in saving the state? You concentrated on your personal stuff and ligitation and now you scream. That's not leadership. DSAI is not screaming, why you? And did DSAI force the 3 PR reps to leave? They were low class, useless creatures and that tells us to blame ourselves by voting for them in the 1st place. None of the 3 has a degree. How comes all those PR "degreed" reps don't jump or accept bribes? It tells you a lot. It tells that without DSAI's 916, still they would have defected bcoz they were petty, stupid and greedy. Look foward and stop this childish behaviour of blaming others including DAP leaders. You are a loose canon. You remember what you did during the KT-by-election? We won due to the pple's wisdom but you were petty. Stop it otherwise go and fish. By the way, who should be the Pakatan leader if DSAI goes? Do you have one? Who can receive rapturous reception in Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, Kuantan, Kuala Kangsar, Kuala Selangor, Alor Setar, Kinta Valley, Kota Bharu (etc) other than DSAI? Who can marshal diferent forces other than him? Who can get the ears of different groups other than him? Pliz bring one. I'm sure he is tired and he suffered enough, You will will help by bringing someone with the above qualities.
written by raven1958, February 08, 2009 23:07:17
Aiyoo.Karpal...is this how the DAP treated that Camry loving bitch....isnt there anything you fellas can do in private instead of screaming off your heads in public...it was the same during the bus stand issue in Klang.....LKS you better get a hold of your party. Anwar screwed up....but is this the time to bring this up...OK, Ok, maybe Hadi Awang should be boss.....but surely you can talk in private.....failed state we are....
written by JaguhKampung, February 08, 2009 23:08:06
Like they said, during courting everything is so sweet. Getting married and surviving the marriage is a totally different matter. It takes a lot of give and take, a lot of patience to make the marriage survive. I am sure you know what I said Mr Karpal.
written by batsman, February 08, 2009 23:13:57
Bullshit! If Karpal singh were so morally upright, why didn't he object to it in the first place. Why only now? Did he think that he had a chance to share in the spoils if DSAI succeeded and only curse and swear when Perak was lost? Why make noise only when bubur sudah jadi nasi? Why not exercise his great morality and save DAP right from the start?
written by justinlian, February 08, 2009 23:22:01
Karpal is frustrated... that's all.
Cos he has done alot to DAP as well but he still couldnt see the wisdom in it.
But I think he will in a shortest time cos actually after frustration is always help a person thinks better when he is able to cool down.
Get over it , karpal, let your frustration go.
you'll be fine.
written by temenggong, February 08, 2009 23:23:16
Karpal's views are his own and not that of the DAP. It is time to ease him out as he cannot understand coalition politics and teamwork.

DAP leaders should just refrain from commenting and let Karpal eat humble pie. If Karpal has any issues he should bring it up in the next DAP CWC.
written by MalaysiaBaru, February 08, 2009 23:23:34
You are one sanctimonious, self-righteous, LOSE CANON in DAP that needs to be SACKED with immediate effect! You are one super stupid leader who has caused much harm to the Pakatan cause. From refusing to accept a compromise appointing Nizar as MB after 8/3, creating a mountain of an issue on the Hudud law for Muslims, disrespectfully threatening to sue Sultan Azlan Shah over the appointment of Zamry as the new MB and now asking Anwar to step down plus demanding that DAP get out of PR. What you have done so far is helping Barisan Najis to destroy PR!!!

Who needs an enemy, when you are already helping BN to destroy PR. I really wonder if u are receiving cash from BN to help sabotage PR
written by sahabat, February 08, 2009 23:28:59
Karpal's outburst has damaged PR. No doubt. Well, who is to Karpal's mind is to replace Anwar? He has 2 sons both YBs. Maybe he is promoting one of them. But then is he acceptable to the majority? Let Karpal give his view.

Let me put it straight. Would PR get the 82 MPs without Anwar? Would the DAP rule Penang without Anwar? Is there PR without Anwar?

Ok let us succumb to Karpal's demand. We change Anwar. Who is the one to replace Anwar? And he must be better than Anwar. If he is no better than Anwar why should he be changed. All human beings have their own weaknesses and Anwar is no exception.

Karpal asks Anwar to step down meaning to say he is better than Anwar. Can we have a vote, please.
written by tenang, February 08, 2009 23:38:55
Karpal,

You are on your own if you choose to be another 50 year as political opposition. You can keep enjoy your status as the loudest voice outside the government, but I think many of us will be more interested in becoming the ones in charge of the government.
written by jason, February 08, 2009 23:43:10
Look at him.Its all about his ego. "I am the chairman of DAP".Sounds familiar like the DAP frog "the DAP don't want me". But Karpal won't jump. I have faith in him.
I know you are good Karpal, but this is not the time to show egotistic side.
written by MalaysiaBaru, February 08, 2009 23:43:31
Kapal Sink

You could have easily request for a closed door meeting with DSAI and thrash out all you want with him instead of tearing PR down in the public!

I am sure DSAI would have explained to you that if on 16/9/2008 the BN MPs were to cross over to PR and PR gets the majority, he would then call for a vote of no confidence in PAK Lah and demand for snap election to get a new mandate from the rakyat.

Granted, on occasions you have been a good lawyer fighting for justice. But you sorely lack in political intelligence and should just go back to be a lawyer!
written by milestone, February 08, 2009 23:59:15
Mr. Karpal, why should you act like naive politician.. it doesn't matter you told them or not or whatever, during this testing time especially, can you pls find appropriate channel to voice out!!!
One football team not compromise only 1 player Mr.Karpal,, come on be mature.. show yr leadership attitude.. u shld know who r u!! how important r u in PR.. plss again use the right channel
written by lhccys, February 09, 2009 00:13:12
To err is human. Lets learn from mistake. Be sanguine, winning the war is better than loosing the battle. Do not bemoan and repent on something already happened. Pointing fingures in public only indicates incoherent and disunity. Any disgruntle or dissent lets settle behind close door. It only hurts more when continue adding salt to injuries.
written by PakPandir, February 09, 2009 00:15:47
Karpal, we need to strenghten, and not to weaken PKR. Let's charge on, to win the war is our ultimate goal.
written by ScooL, February 09, 2009 00:18:00
We know Karpal Singh is brave man and willing to sacrifice for the people but We mature enough to see the different and different our self with Blind supporter like BN fans .....
everyone make mistake, but most important is agree and admit it ...
It take brain to tell lie but BALL's to admit and apologize, we will see what and who he/she is,(it never be to late, politic base on the people not the politician)...
The different between BN and PR, we talk, they don't, we apologize and they don't, we change, they don't
written by temenggong, February 09, 2009 00:19:56
Let make this real hard on Karpal.

Let Karpal who is the Chairman of DAP convince his CWC and ask DAP to put forward a proposal at the next Pakatan meeting asking for Anwar to step down and appoint a new Pakatan leader.
written by uxzee, February 09, 2009 00:39:16
Karpal, can you propose an alternative leader ? And can this alternative leader be accepted by PAS, DAP and PKR ? Do you doubt DSAI's contributions in the last GE ?

What happened in Perak is due to many factors including some weaknesses in DAP. Anyway these are teething problems that normally happens to a young coalition. We should learn from it and come out stronger.

The media is just waiting for these juicy news to go to town with.

Karpal, I commend you for planning to take the Sultan to court. Taro betul betul sama UMNO.
written by seethinkact, February 09, 2009 00:44:10
Dear Karpal,

You're losing it aren't u you old FART?..Heh heh..since long ago this hudud thing has really gotten u where it hurts and like an poor old Parkinson's suffering oaf, its clear for all to see that you have lost control of your faculties. A good lawyer u have been but a "has been" you are as a politician. Bro, u're going kaput and I really mean it. I think with all due respect, u should call it a day since nobody is supporting you even from your own party.

Now's not the time for new Pakatan leadership. Its you who seriously need a new adviser.
written by uzumaki naruto, February 09, 2009 01:17:14
it's about time somebody say that straight to AI's face. good call Karpal. yeaah, finally AI got a good hard knock on his head. heil to KArpal. and you too should step down from your post as DAP chairman. What's the point of sitting there,like you said nobody listen to you.
written by axppin, February 09, 2009 01:29:54
Go Jeep go! At the moment you are the true hero. The binding force that glues together the various factions. People are scrambling to be your man. Unlike your lousy competitor for the PM posts. Even his so called loyalists are starting to condemn him. Telling him off actually. Like telling someone to go fly kite. But you? You are different bro. You are the man standing tall. Today you bind BN back together. And tomorrow, the rest of Malaysia. Go Jeep go! Well for now, you may come out smelling like Roses. But your enemies will not want it to last. Jaga haa. They will send all the hantus to haunt you especially Hantu-tuya. And all the Guruji's jins cannot possibly exorcise the demons once they come fully armed to the teeth. Better get some more protection. Just in case la if you still want that new chair in March. Good luck bro!
written by dusunbukit, February 09, 2009 01:38:18
worst scenario - anwar resign from PR and back to UMNO, better chances to be the next PM. as for karpal, he's born to be an opposition for life..

so, karpal singh, keep on complaining..
written by mawi, February 09, 2009 02:17:00
Karpal. you are the one that is limpimg far behind this game of politics and thats the reason why you members are not playing it like it used to be played and will not play to your tune. Its an old song. Change, Mr Karpal. Keep up with the curremt days strategy if your want to have a level playing field.BN is no longer using swords and daggers but are using C4 nowadays and PR is using cluster bombs. So throw away your blunt sword amd come join us.
written by smeagrooo, February 09, 2009 02:27:58
if DSAI cant be the defacto leader of PR then YOU Ah karpal?

dsai has erred but at the time when the whole country is crumbling down, we cant ill afford to wait till GE13 thus when the idea of froggies surfaced, many of us supported the idea. Of cos we underestimated the greed of men and Hee-woman. Dirty tactics including threats were used coupled with the power of judiciary and police is good enough to send shivers down the spine of those targeted.

PR is still the best bet to eradicate BN and gv the country a break from corruption. Like I always say, gv others a chance to SCREW us too.
written by mawi, February 09, 2009 02:28:11
For all those years you have been DAP Chairmam and all the elections gone through, Penang was all the time under Gerakan and DAP was nothing but a mere ear buzzling noise . Anwar took only one GE amd Penang is now under DAP. Look at the records before you disqualify him. He has his ways and it seems to be working well. Perak is mot his aim. He goes for the bigger thing, Malaysia while you , only want to be heard and be contented with that.
written by Beng, February 09, 2009 02:37:27
Karpal,

Don't point fingers because of one setback. Focus on the task at hand and that is the possible legal actions against Sultan. At this time seek to strengthen not seek to weaken.
written by AsamLaksa, February 09, 2009 03:21:30
I have a lot of respect for Karpal Singh and still do. He dares to speak his opinions and he gives sound reasons.

After the March elections and all this talk with getting MPs to jump to PR, I was apprehensive. The main reason was that historically MPs in Malaysia tend to change sides not because of issues but rather on personal issues and I can't trust such an MP. So far the only good defection though it really isn't a true defection was of Zaid Ibrahim who purports to change sides due to his principles. No one else comes close so far.

But I was really tempted to support mass party hopping to PR because it was possible and held such great potential. However I still comment in MT about my reservations concerning party hopping getting quite philosophical and I was accused of intellectual masturbation. The consensus back then was that whatever was good for PR, would be good regardless.

Only Karpal Singh remained steadfast through it all. Not even RPK was that steadfast.

After the much hoped for 916 that I decided party hopping is bad but I could not fully rationalise it. But right after the Bota adun jumped to PR (that was before the aduns jumped to BN) that I could verbalise my rationale. It's simple really.

I believe anti-hopping laws in Malaysia has a big part to play not because it is perfect but because the political environment and the politicians in Malaysia are mostly immature and too easily fall for politics of convenience. They jumped parties regardless of the problems faced by the people. It all appears as if you must please the politicians to prevent them from changing sides. Which one of them cares about the rakyat???

If the politicians stand with principles and are easily accountable to the public, then there is no need for anti hopping laws. Some of the politicians shout so loud this corrupt, that corrupt but after elected, joined the corrupt like in Sabah.

Should Anwar quit? I can't say for sure. It's up to the people. You decide. Let Karpal Singh shout his thoughts and for you to think rationally.
written by pixieface, February 09, 2009 03:55:01
Lets not demonise mr karpal singh. He has a point. There should be a central committee for the PR coalition. All the heads of each political parties should come to a consensus for any decision. It is healthy to disagree. Don't be like lalang. All great minds don't think alike. Anwar can be rhetorical as well. Don't forget he engineered the take over of PBS and he is also ex umno.I still standy by karpal's strong stand against party hopping. By election should be held and all aduns/MP's should resign instead of katak over. Let the public decided if they want the party or candidate.
written by Daryl, February 09, 2009 03:57:12
Karpal
You are being used by MSM to divide the PR. Please shut up and retire and Gobind please let your dad know the opposition must stand united. That is the only way we can deliver Malaysia from the evil and royal one. Remember the roayl one is no God and we can deal with them later.
written by wongnoball, February 09, 2009 05:52:54
Malaysian TRICKED Again by the Regim Ganas Kejam Media Trick and Propoganda.

Stop Believing the Local Media RTM etc Stop IT Boycott It and You will be Free from the Clutches of Regim Ganas Kejam. Malaysia Economy is STUFFED because of this Legal Document Issues. Business have stop and Cancelled Contract because they SAW ELECTION COmmission is the COurts Now! Move Money to Overseas banks before Ringgit Devalue to $4.9 US Dollar.you have been warned!
written by Navigator, February 09, 2009 07:08:51
Karpal, I respect you for your courage and integrity in fighting for justice but you failed in this case. Also you are not a strategist. Why did you not speak up when Anwar was going around trying to bring about crossovers? Did you know UMNO started it by trying to get PAS to cross over?

Now when there is a crisis, you try to add more confusion and split the coalition. Are you for the coalition or are you a Manchurian candidate for UMNO? There is a time for everything and I think you are acting stupid. Use your brains!!!
written by Navigator, February 09, 2009 07:11:51
And learn to shut up your big mouth once in a while. Think of the consquences before you speak out.
written by Rolling Stone, February 09, 2009 08:58:28
Karpal Singh's has a very valid point and he surely has balls of steel.Atleast he maintained from day one that he does not support the party hopping stunts, a stunt which DSAI wanted to pull. Atleast he has stated his opinion on the Sultan of Perak being subjected to the due process of law for removing the PR MB of Perak , where elese DSAI is just quiet about it.Atleast Karpal made his stand on hudud very clear, where else DSAI comment was more of a "ikan goreng masak tiga rasa".However, I agree with most of you that it hurts to read such comments from Karpal coming out at this testing times and from the MSM, to that Karpal need to be sensitive to whom he is talking to.
written by Apek, February 09, 2009 09:33:04
Dear Karpal,

I agree with your stand and the stand of Harris Ibrahim on this point.

There cannot be any "freedom of association" to jump from one ship to another or to endorse ones own fantasy of BN today and Marxism tomorrow - especially when you in fact represent 50,000 individual views. Freedom of association is a personal right that cannot be forced on the 50,000 or so individual views of the people who elected you. Hence it is my view that when a state rep who represents the views of 50,000 or more decides to change his colour, then a re-election must be called.

This also has the added benefits of forfeiting the fruits of deceit and corruption by UMNO/BN in the way that the electorate will reject the party that is giving the bribe in the local elections that follow. To allow the party that gives the bribes to form government, would be to allow them to reap the fruit of corruption and/or allow for the new government to rape the state to it fullest before the next election (which would be a sure case in the state of Perak).

Having said that, Anwar should not be entirely blamed for this. It is UMNO/BN that must be blamed for this crossover game. In fact, UMNO/BN have been playing this corrupt and bribing game even before Anwar came up with this idea of a hop over. Remember Tiger Lee, remember Sabah etc etc? So lets focus on UMNO/BN - ALWAYS the giver of bribes in the Malaysian Political context.

The Perak Government fell because a DAP rep did not get a CAMRY (as well as some clerks who could not resist money and women). Lets face it Karpal, some DAP members are also as simplistically greedy and unprincipled as any in UMNO. Lets not lash out at Anwar for the shame that a DAP member has brought to your organization because this blame game will not end.

So, I call upon Karpal and Anwar to "cool it". You have made your principled point and I thank you for it. It is not about your individual and personal pride. It’s about us the People of Malaysia. So the both of you, get your acts together. We would like to see some concerted efforts in running the states.

written by Wisdom above, February 09, 2009 10:07:42
India is the biggest Democracy.

India has Anti-hoping Law and a provision embedded in their Constitution.

You seat is automatically declared VACANT when you HOP, switched parties, etc !

Shall we add a provision in the Constitution to stop HOPPING ?
written by CPY, February 09, 2009 10:25:35
Karpal, Anwar for now is the 'messiah'. If u call him to step down who will replace him. Tian Chua ah? Azizah ah?
written by WaKaliKong101, February 09, 2009 10:53:10
KS, You have been a good advocate, one who inspires, and one we also truly admire too for speaking the truth and for coeming to the aid of the marginalised. We will remember you as one of the more famous bastions of righteousness in Malaysia. You will be remembered, long after you are gone.

We are now at a cruciual moment of Malaysian history. Your comment in calling for the resignation of DSAI at this time is not helpful, it will only hurt the collective efforts of the populace in calling for a change in the governnance. There will be differences in opinions in the coalition and I think this is good for a vibrant and a healthy democracy. My appeal to you, as our well respected politicians, would be to agree to disagree. We should not allow the differing voices of our common platform any leverage for BN to create disunity in PR, whether real or ortherwise. Mu dua-sen for your consideration, KS.
written by shooks, February 09, 2009 11:09:15
Karpal Singh has been in the opposition for so long that now he's at loss now being on the other side of the road.

I get the feeling that he doesn't like the arrangement and wants things to be back as they were.

Perhaps, DAP is just like UMNO with warlords and family empires.
written by mei1, February 09, 2009 11:12:54
United we stand, divided we fall. Can this be solved / discussed in PR's meeting rather than open criticism? This will only make Be eNd compenent parties futher speculate & make up more issues. To all PR members, pls learn from your mistakes, think twice & act wisely for the sake of THE PEOPLE & the nation!!
written by Bandit, February 09, 2009 12:18:54
Anwar should have selected candidates who were not UMNO deadwoods. Those whom he should have selected should have been those who sticed to him through his troubled times. Whatever happened after the last GE, Anwar should had gone done and strengthn his party further then to keep on enticing BN members to hop and form a Federal Government and become an instant PM. Anwars main aim is become the next PM in the shortest time possible and to avenge what the BNajis did to him. Anwar forgot that he could not do it without the help from DAP and PAS. Now his own people have bethrayed him. His very own Pakatan people. karpal has always taken a stand that he is anti frogs. Yet no one bothered. Some call him old grumpy man and some even went further to say he wants to jump. JUMP?? Karpal?? Which stupid idiot could even suggest that karpal will abandon DAP? Karpals heart and soul is with DAP and he speaks with intentsity about loyalty toones belief and and fighting whatever to uphold his belief. Karpal's suggestion were even ignored by LKS and LGE because they too were hoping for a quick PR Federal Govt hitching on Anwars's back. Look what has happened now. Maybe karpal is venting his frustration at Anwar for the present situation. being in politics for so long nobody respects him. ISA and now in wheel chair he is still there fighting for us and we treat him as an old Grumpy man and some jerks calling him Kapal. Bloody fools. Maybe its time Pakatan cleans its own house of wannabe frogs because looking at the situation many more frogs are going to leap over to BN. Karpal you are the man and I salute you.
written by Ngui, February 09, 2009 15:02:01
This is not the time for hot "headedness". Karpal is being ridiculous. It is preferable that PR form the next Federal Govt through the ballot box. However if any genuine MPs want to cross over without any condition then they should be welcome.
written by Milo, February 09, 2009 21:56:28
YB Karpal call is not justified. Just because DSAI lost a 'game of chess' in Perak (especially if it is due to dirty the employment of dirty tactics) does not mean he need to resign. He has more than proven himself in other areas, including the impact on the 8th March election. I say stay DSAI on and fight on!