Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Perak Lost but Lessons Learnt

Perak Lost but Lessons Learnt PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 16:13

The political coup of Perak by BN is complete. Yes, there are still protests being put down by the FRU and law suits being filed or at least considered but for all intents and purposes, Perak now belongs to BN. The nation stares in disbelief perhaps because we underestimated BN and more so, UMNO.

There were so many predictions that UMNO was its on its last legs after the March 08 General Elections but the lompat party candidates have pledged support for BN, for whatever reason.

So what can we do as the rakyat? Well, all is not lost. For a start, we still have four states at least two of which are in unassailable positions, that is Penang and Kelantan. However, I feel that one thing we must never forget to take away from this are the lessons from this tragedy in Malaysian politics.

The first lesson we need to consider is the reality of Pakatan Rakyat. Was this coalition ever a viable option? Lets consider BN as a comparison. BN is a coalition dominated by UMNO. Under UMNO – yes, under UMNO not alongside UMNO , never make that mistake – are parties also fighting for the self-interest of their respective races. This is why BN operates smoothly. And what about Pakatan Rakyat? We have PAS, a party struggling for Islamic Supremacy although claiming to struggle for all Malaysians; DAP aiming to create a Malaysian Malaysia but accused of Chinese Chauvinism and of course PKR who fight for whatever issue which will win the vote of the day.

All in all, Pakatan Rakyat are above BN in terms of ideology, that is PAS and DAP do actually have some permanent values but are these values reconcilable? PAS, whatever it tells you to keep you sweet, will never escape the hudud law rhetoric. The trip up by KJ of Husam Musa, Nik and Hadi late last year gave ample evidence of this. The hudud law, however sacred PAS sees it, inevitably divides Malaysians, something the DAP should never brook. Then you get PKR thrown in. We get Anwar telling us he will end bumiputra-ism but if his 16th September promise is anything to go by, lets not hold our breaths, folks.

The rakyat must be represented by a single political party. This party must promise equality for all Malaysians and end racial and religious bigotry going on in the country. This goal sounds almost impossible right about now, I admit, but compromise of this and adopting stop-gap tactics like getting together simply to bring down BN will not work. Not with the coalition of chalk and cheese which we have now.

Another lesson we need to consider is who we choose as candidates. Unless the lompat party tactic is outlawed, we will never escape having these lowlife party-hoppers so what we must do is this: We must find candidates who are actually social activists. People who do not ‘do politics’ for a living but are actually hard-working professionals. These professionals must show their commitment by giving their time and effort to the community before being inducted to the party and allowed to be a candidate.

I can hear the laughter of the readers who think how impossible it is to come up with such ideas like the above but to me, there is no greater politic than a purely moral impulse. Moral individuals who are out to serve the community selflessly. That is what Malaysia and the world needs.

-  Farouk A. Peru

www.farouk.name

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by AntiBN, February 08, 2009 16:36:26
PR will rise to the occasion and will become a stronger party when all is said and done.

It's just a matter of time. This Perak fiasco is a blessing in disguise. Just look at how angry the people are now.
written by scottiebabie, February 08, 2009 16:38:23
if principles, honour, professionalism & social activism are the criteria, theres no other person suitable to lead Malaysia to a new age then our very own modern hero - RPK.

alas RPK & the like shun politics like the plague for politicians (atleast of the boleh variety) are by nature a)liars b)thiefs c)cheats d)whores or e)all of the above.

u see the catch 22 dilemmna & why RPK is NOT a politician & cant (or wont) lead Malaysia smilies/cry.gif
written by ibabonma, February 08, 2009 16:40:18
Its an illegal assembly how to pass laws? You do it and somebody sues you. This is a serious constitutional impasse. Clearly the court must decide in this issue, not the Sultan. Sultan's is a gone case.
written by malaysiaunited, February 08, 2009 16:51:50
Young Man Farouk A.Peru!
Who is thinking as a Malaysian? Everybody thinks either as Malay, or Chinese or Indian, or Dayak etc. This perpetuated by our schooling, going into Malay schools, Chinese schools, Tamils etc. I don't what are you thinking as!

What happened in Perak is exactly what already happened in Fiji, Burma, Uganda, Vietnam etc, where the immigrant races controlled the commerce, economy etc and when they started to get control of governing by proxy (E.G Like Nizar with only 6 seats controlled by DAP) As long as the Minority people are in power, it is always likely to happen! This the lesson!
What do you think is Mahathir's biggest contribution? He changed the population demography forever with his beranak 5 policy! The result of the beranak lima policy made the Malays greater than 60% of the population, whilst the Chinese and Indian population growth rate dwindled at the same time.
Change needs strong leadership and sacrifices from all, the majority race and minority races.All the current politicians( both ruling and opposition) got elected mainly on racial grounds and with promises to improve their races shortcomings. How do you think Obama got elected since he was a minority group? He had to appeal to universal values to get the 45% white votes and 95% of black votes who were excited that a black man is in fact contesting actually!
written by lynn, February 08, 2009 18:33:48
Your heading is misleading! """"Perak lost, but lessons learned."

Perak did not lose, as it was 28 vs 28; this was a premeditated job to "grab" the MB seat for BN; this 2nd MB is an illegal MB, not recognised by Perakians or the rakyat as "new" MB of Perak.

Our MB from PAS -the one lesson he haven't learned is to be crooked, sneaky, manipulating, corrupt, greedy, dishonest, unscrupulous unlike some of those creeps from BN. Such a relief to have men like him, Tok Guru Nik Aziz in our midst..... Not everyone will succumb to corruption; I was told the late Tun Ismail Ali was incorruptible so everyone was terribly afraid of him.
written by rhdliu, February 08, 2009 18:59:28
Today is 8th of February 2009. Malaysia is just 51 years 6 months 20 days old (since 31st August 1957).

What have we achieved as a nation? In the eyes of the world, Malaysia has been known as a multi-ethnic and multi-cultural country. We even referred to as a model country. Well, that was what I remember when I was still in my university years. I was studying in Sydney, Australia then. I was really proud to be a Malaysian, then. Fast forward, 17 years later. The Malaysian's social and politics have changed drastically.

Malaysian nowadays is becoming more racist. I don't know how serious the situation is but we can feel it, we can see it and we definitely read about it from the news, blogs, etc.

I am neither a supporter of Be-End or PR because to me, most (I didn't say all) (probably 90% TO 95%) OF our politicians are wolves. Well to be exact, wolves that wear human skins. To be honest, I have no respect for any politicians especially when I am a Sabahan. Sabah is the land of curse where the Rakyat is always being cheated again and again by the politicians and yet we still vote them to become the legislators and to be the Member of Parliament, one election after another.

My point is, whether is Be-end or PR, racism prevail. Race still dominates the political agenda. I am not a Chinese per se. If I were a Chinese as claimed, I would be a citizen from the People Republic of China. But I am holding a Malaysian Identity Card aka MYCARD. I should be known as a Malaysian then. That's the right way to address me. I am a Malaysian of Chinese ethnic descendant. And in Bahasa Malaysia it should be Bangsa (Nationality) = Malaysia and Kaum (Ethnic Descendant) = Chinese Han. See the difference. I am not Bangsa Cina. My bangsa is my nationality and I am a Malaysian.

Unless and until, the Government and the Rakyat realize and agree that we are Bangsa Malaysia, we will not unite closely as a nation. We should not divide ourselves so clearly into each ethnic/race group. Thus, the set up of political parties like UMNO, MCA, MIC, and even PAS (and to the extent DAP) will lead to further sub-division of ethnic/race. That's why there are only Republican and Democratic parties in USA; Labour and Liberal parties in Australia.

My point is whether it is Be-end or PR in power, please do not divide our country further into section of race-based society. We can do better than that. Nationality should be more important than ethnicity/race in order for a country to progress. Citizen must unite as one to move forward.

Stop the politics. We are facing the worst economic storm the world ever gotten into since the Great Depression 1932. We must concentrate on strengthening our economic foundation to avoid serious recession within the next two to three years time.

All the best our Malaysian.
Sabah-litic-Less
written by Rozlan, February 08, 2009 19:19:08
Farouk,

YOU didnt go to the ground and you didnt check the Perak Constitution..Dont write garbage unless you were paid by UMNO to churn out garbage
written by thor, February 08, 2009 19:20:41
Ah, we hve a writer from PERU smilies/grin.gif

Well, my opinion is this if d katak2 lompat2 FROM corruption, stagnation, mismanagement, greed, arrogant to one that is honest, dynamic, efficiently managed, humble, caring, OK WHAT. However, if katak2 jumped from light to dark might end up in toilet lah, therefore NOT OK lah smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by eskay, February 08, 2009 19:55:24
No, not under-estimated, as least for me, I over-estimated Najib & UMNO. I didn't expect this type of tricks could be played by a PM-in-waiting & his team. So low, so horrible & frightening!
written by A MI, February 08, 2009 21:08:39
written by eskay, February 08, 2009 19:55:24
No, not under-estimated, as least for me, I over-estimated Najib & UMNO.

Oh I am sure they are capable of far worse antics.