Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow When all 4 pillars of democracy have crumbled, the only hope is for the 5th pillar to withstand!

When all 4 pillars of democracy have crumbled, the only hope is for the 5th pillar to withstand! PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 15:49

In the midst of our Perak crisis, I said “our” is because there is now no distinction between Perakians, Sabahans, Sarawakians etc., but we are now all Perakians where the rule of law and our Constitution is concerned.

Despite the overall passionate plea of the Rakyat towards the last hope of the institution of democracy, it had proven futile and had fallen on deaf ears. These 4 pillars or rather institutions, which we have had for the past 51 years, one which we once prided ourselves as a Constitutional Monarchy and accoladed with the envy of many countries as the “best” multi-racial country in the world, where people of all ethnics were able to live harmoniously with all races.

I am a Perakian by birth and educated by one of the most renowned missionary schools in our land and now seeking my professional progress and pastures in the capital. I had on one accidental incident received an email from an unknown person to explore a video on YouTube entitled, “The legitimate Menteri Besar (MB) of Perak vows to fight on for the rights of the Rakyat till his last drop of blood”. I was initially offended by this caption as I could never forget the eerie threat by one former UMNO Youth Leader along such similar lines. Out of curiosity and a little of intrigue, I clicked onto the link to observe his comments.

I was truly taken aback by his professionalism and composure despite his impending “dismissal” by our once respected former Agong and present Sultan of Perak. YAB Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar has impeccably stood out as one of the most respected statesman and servant our country has ever seen. On one hand, he gave utmost respect to the sultan (whose name which all of a sudden I cannot recall) yet at that very juncture he withheld his composure with such compassion and told the media that he will remain as the MB of Perak for the sake of justice and for the Perakians who had given him the mandate to rule and govern within the parameters of law. With such profound comments and without an iota of doubt he won millions of supporters and sympathizers internally, regionally and possibly globally! His immaculate tone of conviction to fight for justice and fairness spoke volumes of his persistence to protect the interests of the Rakyat at the expense of his personal and family safety which we dare the Umnoputras to emulate.

My salutations to you, my beloved YAB, and I am penning my thoughts with tears flowing onto my notebook not because I am an emotional person but I believe many Malaysians share my distraught and despair at the degrading downslides of politics!

So much for the introduction of my correspondence here. The point which I desire to raise to all Perakians cum Malaysians is, we must not despair or be disheartened as there is still a glimmer of hope at the end of the tunnel. A hope of a new Malaysia, a new era of equality for all Malaysians! All such events that had unfolded so dramatically for the past week are not in vain as we believe God permits such happenings to work for the greater good at the proper time and according to his perfect discourse.

The doctrine of the separation of powers which the Sultan and his prince had espoused, namely the Legislature (Parliament), The Executive (Legitimate Government), The Judiciary and The Monarchy as in the words of the Perak’s Sultan’s son provides a check and balance for democracy to exist. I must emphasize to the royal family that you have erred in your decision and did not uphold the rights of Perakians cum Malaysians when you gave and sold “your state” on a platter to BN minus the 5th Pillar of democracy. Insomuch as the doctrine of separation of powers of which Your Highness is amongst them, you have ignored the pleas of the 5th Pillar/institution which is the Power of the People. Even though you have abandoned the precepts of democracy in the eyes of the world, there is still hope for the layman where there is still an invisible 5th Pillar that will withstand the test of time and which our fore Prime Ministers had envisioned, fought, struggled and protected at all costs against our colonial masters in order to muster our sanctified Independence!

The first 2 pillars of democracy are presently at loggerheads. The 3rd Pillar (The Judiciary), though succinct, undergoes truly tedious processes when time is of the essence. The 4th Pillar has now apparently lost its credibility and in the eyes of the hidden 5th Pillar have failed to convince the people that it is impartial. Someone just commented in the media that this 4th Pillar has absolute powers to decide which many of us will beg and implore to differ.

It is now to the 5th and unseen last pillar to uphold the sanctity of our Constitutional Monarchy. This 5th Pillar cannot be indifferent nor partisan as our country can ill afford to prolong this impasse lest our economy dithers into oblivion and be listed amongst the most underdeveloped 3rd World nations and insignificant to be on the radar screen of foreign direct investments. On this aspect, the Rakyat must, without reservations, relay this pertinent message to the political powers of both divides that we are losing our patience and tolerance is about to spit out our displeasure. The power of the people can never be discounted as “WE” the 5th Pillar/institution are the ones who placed the people in power to serve the Rakyat and not to lord over us!

Due to the political hegemony within BN which the Umno people consider themselves the outright divine rulers of Malaysia, faultless; impeccable; and unchallenged, the pipeline of authority must never be broken by the 3 other institutions. So much so, the segregation of powers remain an illusion rather than a “wawasan” which Malaysians should be pursuing to realize the tenets/pillars that hold our country to withstand the onslaught of globalization or rather in simple terms, colonization through financial means. This is now the time to review your ideology as the 5th Pillar had imputed the message on that fateful day of March 08, 2008 that BN is UMNO and UMNO is BN; no other component party is worthy of mention.

I call on the 5th Pillar to rally behind our legitimate and elected Menteri Besar of Perak YAB Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar without conditions, endorse, support and back his Exco, not necessarily to the last drop of our blood but to our last drop of sweat! We also implore to counter at the same time our economic woes and hope our Monarchy hearken to the voice of your subjects that we desire snap elections to resolve the political impasse which has sapped our resources which could have been placed for better use. Meanwhile, the 5th Pillar should not lose heart. Raise your displeasure in an orderly and subjective manner within our laws; assemble without arms; or send your petitions to our Agung since he is the sovereign Head over this Sultan; but above all, do not forget this God-Fearing MB of Perak who risked his dignity, life and family for the sake of Perakians.

The power of the people cannot be dismissed nor discounted and though the government may endeavor to divide and rule us, the infallible doctrine of democracy - a government by the people and for the people -should and will decide the fate of our land.

A humble former subject of Perak but now a Pest Controller of 2 legged Political Pests

written by OVERLORD, February 08, 2009 15:58:09
We call upon the 20 million pillars of malaysia to answer this call.... and stick it up where the sun never shines.....
written by ibabonma, February 08, 2009 15:58:22
By virtue of Perak Constitution, Clause 16(6) having not been fulfilled, the decision of the Sultan is an illegality, no less a legal blunder, so is the legitimacy of the new state government. The formation of present BN Perak government is destitute of any legal effect ab initio (where no rights are created at all).

All decisions made by the present ‘BN Excos’ in respect of the affairs of the state can be challenged in court of law, for Nizar’s earlier government has not been legally discharged. Lawfully, it just cannot function and is ineffective.

Just imagine all Perakians can sue the state government over whatever decisions being passed, almost every day and there be thousands of cases jamming the Court houses, if the present legal status of the previous government is ignored by court of law. And, the Courts are obliged to hear them.

My legal question is, do you have legal authority to spend or even to take your salaries as MB ad Excos from the state’s treasury? Its otherwise, corruption or even CBT!!!

SORRY! for the earlier misplacement.
written by DreamLady, February 08, 2009 16:04:12
Thank you, the pest controller, your write-up is inspiring, motivating, enough to charge the already heated motion!! We, the 5th pillar, shall be there to defend our rights as individuals, as the lawful citizens of Malaysia, as God-fearing people!!!

Long live Pakatan! Long Live the people of Malaysia!! Long Live the great nation of Malaysia!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
written by Mr Smith, February 08, 2009 16:06:26
Friend, I too have cried so many times over this. Sad man, real sad.
written by gx27, February 08, 2009 16:08:18
Najis,

please take note that any money taken from state's coffers by BN should be deemed as CBT now since BN is not the legitimate government in Perak.

we, the taxpayers, will not want to pay the salaries of the illegitimate office bearers.
written by Adriftboat, February 08, 2009 16:09:31
An article well written and straight to the point. Yes we as the 5th Pillar must rise to the occassion and stand by our MB through thick and thin even if we were to lose our life for the betterment of tomorrow and the country's DEMOCRACY.
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 16:11:18
the 5th pillar is bangsa malaysia,makkal sahty..the people power.
written by tgalexei, February 08, 2009 16:12:03
Hi all, remember this tuesday, we shall mark the darkest era of perak history by wearing black color clothes.
written by ahmadneil, February 08, 2009 16:12:46
`````````````````````````````````````NAJIB````````````` ``````````````````````````````
```````````````````````````I want him dead not alive````````````````````````````````
written by merchant222, February 08, 2009 16:14:30
If the fate of the rakyat is dictated by "Absolute Powers" of the 4 pillars, then better return back to old days and let the British be the government, because it seems Malaysia has no competent government with people of caliber; only VAST CORRUPTION!

If Absolute Powers decide, it must take in consideration the wishes of the people. In this respect, the Perakians and more so the constituents that elected those low mentality "PIMPS & PROSTITUTE".

If such perceived corrupt Absolute Powers of the 4 Pillars are to make decisions that the people MUST accept; or without consideration of the people, the country will go further back in time. In that context, going back in time means going back to the British days. I'd rather do that than to let BN destroy everything for us.
written by pinsysu, February 08, 2009 16:24:49
or wear dark armband for the next 100 days ...
written by rpremkumar2u, February 08, 2009 16:53:24
There is a new definition for Constitutional Anarchy. Its in Perak.
written by OutsideLookingIn, February 08, 2009 17:09:35
".....4 pillars or rather institutions which had over the past 51 years and one which we once pride ourselves as a Constitutional Monarchy accoladed with envy of many countries as the “best” multi-racial country in the world, whereby all ethnics were able to live harmoniously with all races."

Good article but I am a bit perplexed. Which country has envy for us? I lived in Malaysia from birth till I left at 19yo many years ago. I don't recall back then that all ethnics lived "harmoniously". It certainly isn't the "best" multi racial country. Not by any measure that one care to quote. Not then not now.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 08, 2009 17:29:56
When we talk about the 5th pillar we also want to know what it is its relevance.

We have 9 pillars. The coffee shop debate is we have to pay for the nine pillars to exist. Beside paying the 9 pillars we have to pay the side pillars quite in number.
We really do not know how much is taken from the coffers to support the pillars which is eating into this coffer. Maybe someone out there should release the figures for the rakyat to know..as it is the right of the rakyat being equal for the pillars to stand with support. In sum total all the pillars do is sit around and stay neutral from everything and only act when the rakyat are downtrodden. We see very little of this act the last 25 years.So it is the same the rich enjoy themselves at the expense of the poor with justification that the poor are lazy and do not work. How to find work?? if the big big contracts are given to the pillars who are supposed to channel the money backt to support the rakyat??.
With figures like 300 million and being the richest woman in Malaysia..we do not see any active contribution to the poor.
When the papers bring out horrid stories of people living in card board boxes, dilapitated houses, store rooms ,no water , no electricity, no education the the main pillar which is carrying 300 million or more combined 9 pillars..we do not see one of them coming forward to help...which is where they should be ...when the rakyat is suffering.
What is the contribution to the rakyat?. And what further justifies the need to support these pillars when in fact they should be supporting the rakyat as its last standing foundation.

When it comes to support the poor, the orphans and widows..again the collection is done from the rakyat. Then we have some MB's wife who sits there to make decisions and the money goes for their expensive trips overseas and holidays..and the orphans are handed bags of goodies like a pack of nasi kandar or a sarong for the elections.

I have yet to hear something that is done by the 9 pillars unilaterally for the rakyat except infighting, divorce, murders and not paying bills.
It is easy when you are a 300 million dollar woman..you divorce..marry another gold mine and continue..with a conscience that says..well the poor's lot is fated.

Sorry, the poor's lot is not fated. It is your fate to be given the 300 million to help the poor...and if this does not happen ..then you caused their fate...That money was created from the rakyat's cradle that has been gasaked.
The same with the amount being paid out for cross-overs..10 million or 25 million or what..it is the rakyat's money that is being gasaked and given to one individual...and then you say it is fate that the poor are poor.
Think about it>>>>>>>
written by magickriver, February 08, 2009 17:52:51
Thank you for this sincere and heartfelt endorsement of YB Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin's sterling qualities as a first-time public figure. From his first days in office, Nizar coolly won the hearts and minds of everyone he encountered because of his humility, his humanity, his luminous intelligence, sense of humor, approachability, and effortless charm. The silver lining in this dark cloud over Perak in particular and Malaysia in general is that it takes a crisis of this magnitude to uncover leaders with a heroic streak who do not buckle under pressure - and who are endowed with the necessary virtues to lead the people by shining example, not through bribery or intimidation.

Folks, we have found another potential PM in YB Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin. This country needs to have at least 12 good leaders (of any race or gender), anyone of whom can be entrusted with the highest post in the land. Right now, we have found only 6 or 7... and, just to be clear, Najib Abdul Razak is NOT amongst them!

http://magickriver.********.co...mains.html
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 17:58:32
jus mark my word,umno be end would bring out the only card they hav,the racial card!!!
written by asguard, February 08, 2009 19:58:49
UMNO has screw-up almost everything it path to power by all corrupted method and has became norm practice.. to used whatever that suits them for their own prupose1
written by BUTEK, February 08, 2009 20:53:20
DS NIZAR SHOULD SUE TV3, RTM, UTUSAN ETC FOR 1 BILLION RINGGIT FOR THE REASON THEY WRONGLY SAID THAT DS NIZAR DISMISSED THE DUN WITHOU THE PERMISSION OF SULTAN... HE ACTUALLY SAYING THAT HE 'WILL' DISMISSED THE DUN JUST WHEN THE SULTAN GIVE PERMISION.....

WITH TE MONEY WE CAN BUY ALL THE TV AND NEWPAPER COMPANIES AND MAKE SURE ALL BARUA THROWN OUT AND PUNISH BY WORKING AT UMNO PIG FARM.....
written by Susanna, February 08, 2009 21:09:46
More and more my respect rise for YAB Nizar. I hope one day you will become our PM. Then, only then can we be proud of our government
written by aliseman, February 08, 2009 21:27:18
Wow......a breakthrough.....now Malaysians can really accept the possibility that the PM comes from PAS.
written by faridw, February 08, 2009 23:25:11
Robert Mugabe cowed the 5th pillar into submission. So don't be too confident because some of the Malaysian politicians are so friendly with Mugabe that they are willing to give him refuge here if he needs it. Same time he will be giving them lessons on how to erode democracy. Already they are doing that via the ISA and making endless police reports every time somebody in the Opposition says something intelligent.
written by CPY, February 09, 2009 09:56:05
Faridw, if the 5th pillar is cowed, then God will save us from tyranny! smilies/grin.gif