Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Is Malaysia now a failed state?

Is Malaysia now a failed state? PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 15:31

Whether it is an unexpected food crisis or a devastating hurricane, the world’s weakest states are the most exposed when crisis strikes. In the fourth annual Failed States Index, FOREIGN POLICY and The Fund for Peace rank the countries where state collapse may be just one disaster away.

The Failed States Index 2008

177 states were included in the list, of which 35 were classified as "alert", 92 as "warning", 35 as "moderate", 15 as "sustainable". Malaysia is listed as WARNING.

http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4350

http://www.sourcewatch.org/index.php?title=Failed_state

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Failed_state

http://www.icrc.org/web/eng/siteeng0.nsf/html/57JQ6U

www.tesania.com

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by Bandit, February 08, 2009 15:49:18
Selamat datang ke Perak Darul Katak Melompat.
agree 142
written by ibabonma, February 08, 2009 15:50:04
By virtue of Perak Constitution, Clause 16(6) having not been fulfilled, the decision of the Sultan is an illegality, no less a legal blunder, so is the legitimacy of the new state government. The formation of present BN Perak government is destitute of any legal effect ab initio (where no rights are created at all).

All decisions made by the present ‘BN Excos’ in respect of the affairs of the state can be challenged in court of law, for Nizar’s earlier government has not been legally discharged. Lawfully, it just cannot function and is ineffective.

Just imagine all Perakians can sue the state government over whatever decisions being passed, almost every day and there be thousands of cases jamming the Court houses, if the present legal status of the previous government is ignored by court of law. And, the Courts are obliged to hear them.

My legal question is, do you have legal authority to spend or even to take your salaries as MB ad Excos from the state’s treasury? Its otherwise, corruption or even CBT!!!
agree 264
written by peter, February 08, 2009 15:50:04
It's has long been a failed state. With a coup d'tat it only a confirmation. More than a 50 years a one party gomen, can you find a better sign of a failed state?
agree 144
written by DreamLady, February 08, 2009 15:52:43
Anybody out there?? Somebody, please help, help! help!! the Malaysians are drowning fast in the quicksand of Bodohland!!!!
written by krising1, February 08, 2009 15:54:56
Yesterday my friend from Lawas (Sarawak) called me and told me that his town has been hit by the worst flood in 20 years. All the crops have been destroyed and all properties devastated. No state help has been forthcoming. Yet our papers have reported the Sarawak floods like a non-event. We get more reports about the condition in Gaza. We rush all kinds of all to Gaza. Some newspapers even send their reports to report the atrocities committed by the Jews. We area failed state. We failed our own citizens!
agree 339
written by sauber21, February 08, 2009 15:56:42
As we concerned
money politics craft by UMNO contributed to the failed state.

With the Najis appearance the matter become worst and worst.
No democracy, no voice, no comment, no justice,
totally blackout.

Money can buy your life, your dignity, your love one and even your home state and country.

If najis he is the 6th Prime Minister, we die faster, corruption grow as mushroom, increase the number of c4 killings, no higher education for chinese, lower down economic growth.

No to Najib No to najis no to nazi not to mati!

maybe we should save our saving in country like swiss or maybe rich-oil arab countries if any crisis happened by self made Najib!

prepare the worst coming!
agree 114
written by righttruthspeaks, February 08, 2009 15:57:26
Malaysia a failed state? Why we only just had only one constitutional monarch who happily and willingly sleeps with con men, crooks, rapists, murderers, plunderers, traitors robbers of the nation.
Daulat tuanku sultan perak!!!!! malaysia boleh!
agree 172
written by Hello Keithy, February 08, 2009 16:01:12
With BN/UMNO running this country, we are headed for Doomsday. We definitely need an alternative rule. 51 years of independence and things are getting from bad to worse. Only good is to the BN/UMNO goons.

agree 186
written by malaysianohope, February 08, 2009 16:02:34
With Malaysia continues to be mis-governed by the illegimate umno, sprinkled with kataks very soon the color will change to bloody red!!!
written by tgalexei, February 08, 2009 16:03:32
The day when najis becomes PM of Malaysia, that very day will mark the beginning of the end of malaysia. Whole malaysians ought to be scared of that day! We will end up so rotten, even Zimbabwe will appear better than Malaysia!
written by ahmadneil, February 08, 2009 16:16:30
Let it be a failed state to teach all those who take life easy and think that somebody will have to die for them.That's why we have those fence sitters who only wait to be spoon fed.Like Perak,they saw it coming but refused to take action like dissolving the assembly, until it was too late!
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 16:20:43
malaysia is a failed state becos we are having too many so called political super hypocrites n leaders who are actually made up of thieve n bandits only full of nonsensical platitudes, hoodwinking the rakyat with the sole intention only to steal,rob n rape the nation BIGTIME!
written by orangmsia, February 08, 2009 16:33:35
We are having failure due to the current BN Govt.

Let's make it successful one day by changing the Govt
written by justice, February 08, 2009 16:34:20
Malaysia now a failed state because of Barisan Najis!

agree 229
written by *********, February 08, 2009 17:10:10
Jom Heboh kita Hartal TV3...More http://*********.********.com
written by Muih, February 08, 2009 17:21:35
hahaha.. mongolia beat us
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 17:21:52
how do u expect malaysia not to fail,as it is being governed by scandalous characters n suspects??????
written by densemy, February 08, 2009 17:26:43
You go for it Malaysia, blame Najib and when he goes you can blame someone else

But the blame lies with you! And it has lain with you for the last 50 yrs during which time you have neglected your rights as citizens. This whole nation was created around the contrived submissiveness of its population. You submitted to every form of dogma that was current and you still submit.

But of course its easier for you to deny your neglect and blame someone else for your problems
written by zam3886, February 08, 2009 17:35:55
On the one hand we have the Sultan's son writing some really inspirational nation building and humanitarian articles, on the other hand you have this thing about Gamuda, tsk...it is getting very difficult to be a decent man in Malaysia these days.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 08, 2009 17:51:52
when we talk about the 5th pillar OF DEMOCRACY we also want to know what it is its relevance.

We have 9 pillars. The coffee shop debate is we have to pay for the nine pillars to exist. Beside paying the 9 pillars we have to pay the side pillars quite in number.
We really do not know how much is taken from the coffers to support the pillars which is eating into this BANK NEGARA coffer. Maybe someone out there should release the figures for the rakyat to know..as it is the right of the rakyat being equal for the pillars to stand with support. In sum total all the pillars do is sit around and stay neutral from everything and only act when the rakyat are downtrodden. We see very little of this act the last 25 years.

So it is the same the rich enjoy themselves at the expense of the poor with justification that the poor are lazy and do not work. How to find work?? if the big big contracts are given to the pillars who are supposed to channel the money back to support the rakyat??.
With figures like 300 million and being the richest woman in Malaysia..we do not see any active contribution to the poor.
When the papers bring out horrid stories of people living in card board boxes, dilapitated houses, store rooms ,no water , no electricity, no education the the main pillar which is carrying 300 million or more combined 9 pillars..we do not see one of them coming forward to help...which is where they should be ...when the rakyat is suffering.
What is the contribution to the rakyat?. And what further justifies the need to support these pillars when in fact they should be supporting the rakyat as its last standing foundation.

When it comes to support the poor, the orphans and widows..again the collection is done from the rakyat. Then we have some MB's wife who sits there to make decisions and the money goes for their expensive trips overseas and holidays..and the orphans are handed bags of goodies like a pack of nasi kandar or a sarong for the elections.

I have yet to hear something that is done by the 9 pillars unilaterally for the rakyat except infighting, divorce, murders and not paying bills.
It is easy when you are a 300 million dollar woman..you divorce..marry another gold mine and continue..with a conscience that says..well the poor's lot is fated.

Sorry, the poor's lot is not fated. It is your fate to be given the 300 million to help the poor...and if this does not happen ..then you caused their fate...That money was created from the rakyat's cradle that has been gasaked.
The same with the amount being paid out for cross-overs..10 million or 25 million or what..it is the rakyat's money that is being gasaked and given to one individual...and then you say it is fate that the poor are poor.
Think about it>>>>>>>
written by eloofk, February 08, 2009 17:53:19
With the present short-sighted leaders hemming the corridors of power, instead of planning and drawing up plans or policies to overcome the present global economic recession, they are more concern with their own power being eroding fast and concern themselves with their own personal agendas.

Malaysia is now sliding fast into the "Alert" zone.

written by wongnoball, February 08, 2009 17:58:26
Coming soon..... Legal Documents Not Legal in Malaysia Justice systems, Election Commission acting like a COurt, Syriah courts doing their other Chaos.

Come monday lots of Contract will be cancelled, Business will Collapse, UMNO will be Bankrupt....But ISA will be used to Tangkap All Opposition Leaders. Start thinking what to do next. Mat Kilau acts to disrupt, disrupt, disrupt!!

First move Money to Overseas Banks if you have not done in the last 3 years. it is so Dangerous now. All because of the infamous Sultan of Perak and EC judgement.!!...Zimbabwe Malaysia. You have been warned!!
written by JohnQ, February 08, 2009 17:59:45
THE POOR FROG is now the Official laptile for PERAK. But not the 4 crooked 2 legs frogs

FROG is actually great feng shui character, it bring fortune and wealth.

I will invest more land in Sungai Siput and Taiping.
written by lynn, February 08, 2009 18:05:56
The Perak issue/outcome is another rock-solid confirmation Malaysia is a failed state.

Everyone (except umno) was in anticipation because HRH is a very learned person, an ex-Lord President. The expectations were so high, when HRH told our beloved MB Nizar to resign, the degree of shock most of us experienced was paralysing. The rest who found their tongue cursed & sweared for hours, for days. It's nothing personal, your Royal Highness. It's the high expectation we all harbour, that was the killer; so many people believed the decision SHOULD BE dissolution of state assembly. BN & PR are given a fair chance each. May the best man wins, in honesty & integrity. We need some semblance of integrity ... a wish that appears to have totally disappeared.

written by malgal, February 08, 2009 18:35:25
Perak as footprint: i can assume position of chief exec officer/head honcho/whatever i like by barging into an organisation of my choice. then i help myself to the coffers and give myself a salary/bonus. Can ah?
written by temenggong, February 08, 2009 19:21:28
Economically we have never recovered from the 1997 crisis and today we have no direction today. Economically we are a failing state.

All four organs of power namely the legislature, executive, judiciary and the rulers are not providing any check and balance as envisioned, rather they have contributed to the perpetuation of a fascist, racist and islamist regime! The rot is so far that the senate, judiciary and the rulers in conference might as well not exist! On every human life measurement index we have fallen. The constitution of 1957 has broken down.

The conclusions are clear.
written by lamepug, February 08, 2009 20:28:27
true, true, true...malaysia is total loser.. thanks to Be-eNd leads. this reminds me 11 years ago i visit shenzhen, china and lately i visit again...it's totally changed. domestic economic was so good, which the state become a livable place compare to 11 years ago...
written by Sabahfan, February 08, 2009 21:41:26
NO rpk.... Malaysia is a fukkking corrrupted country....

and the Royalties have failed malaysia toooo

so who wants them anymore???

call this sedition if you like.... but if the royalties have failed to protect the rakyat then I AM HANG JEBAT
written by emirateswenger, February 08, 2009 22:53:03
Hang Jebat.....Hang Jebat......HANG JEBAT!!!
written by varvoom, February 09, 2009 07:15:58
Malaysia is already a Fail state if not the oil; smart people are leaving the country in drove over the years. Umno and their cronies are just sucking the last drop of the country’s wealth before handling a bankrupt country to the next administers. By 2020 Malaysia will be exporting maids and labourers to the neighbouring countries. Sad but true and it’s too late to do anything about it because the cancer of corruption, racism and religious bigotry is too malignant, incurable and terminal. Good bye Bolehland………………⠀¦â€¦â€¦â€¦
written by emirateswenger, February 09, 2009 09:37:44
Tengku's aand Hanna's,

razaleigh.com
the rule of law
A shameful scene is unfolding in Perak.

Let me follow up on what I said earlier about the status of the Chief Minister.

The Constitution is the highest law of the land. It is the foundation and source of legal authority, and the Rulers are sworn to protect and uphold it.

According to the Constitution, Dato’ Seri Nizar Jamaluddin is Menteri Besar until he resigns of his own accord, or is removed by a vote of no-confidence in a formal sitting of the assembly. The Constitution makes no provision for his removal by any other means, including by petitions or instructions from any other authority.

Two principles need clarifying in the light of today’s events:

First, the government of the day is established according to rules and principles codified in the Constitution. This is the difference between legitimately formed government and tyranny, which is rule by the law of the jungle.

Second, legitimate constitutional government draws all its authority from the consent of the people and only from that consent. The people consent because it is their government formed according to their constitution, whose leaders they have chosen through free and fair elections.

We need to test that consent periodically. At key points such as when governments are to be formed or to be dissolved, the Constitution provides for formal, definitive tests to find out how much of the people’s ‘consent’, or support, a government really has.

So we conduct elections to test how much support a candidate for leadership has among the people. The question is posed in elections governed by rules and oversight agreed ahead of time. If those elections are not held, or if there is some doubt that they are free and fair, then the question of legitimate leadership is not determined. It doesn’t matter how many men with flaming torches march chanting your name in the middle of the night. You need to prove you have the support of voters in a free and fair election.

Similarly, the Constitution provides for a definitive way to test if the Chief Minister or the Prime Minister commands a majority in the dewan or in Parliament, as the case may be. We put the question to a vote of confidence on the floor of the Dewan. Only the answer of the assembly counts. It doesn’t matter how many sworn statements, defections, press conferences, and declarations you have, nor what forms of advertisement, display, inducement or force you bring to bear on the question.

To formally test the mandate of the current government, whether in Perak, Sabah or the Federal government, the question must either be put to the people through state elections, or to the assemblymen through a formal vote in the dewan. These are the only tests that count in our constitutional democracy.

This is what it means to be a parliamentary democracy. To remove and install governments in any other way is to violate the Constitution, erode the rule of law, and to run the risk of forming an illegal government.

Legitimate authority can only be established through the democratic means spelled out in our constitution. Rightful authority is an entirely different thing from the brute power that can be bought, sold or seized by force.

The invisible laws make our government, nation and society possible. I won’t begin to describe the harm we would do these things if we began to ratify power achieved without regard for the rule of law.

written by emirateswenger, February 09, 2009 09:40:20
How about Ku Li joining PAS?

I would like to say thank you to the many people who have commented on these pages and on other sites in which my recent postings have been reported. Others have written to me directly. I am touched by your support and friendship.

Each medium of communication comes with its own style of communication and makes people relate to each other in different ways. Old-fashioned writing tends to be more formal and distant, with responses spaced out over days or weeks. Conversation puts people in the same moment. Blogs, I have found ask for immediate, informal and more personal communication with … the world. For someone bred and educated in my time and circumstances, it does take some getting used to. So I beg your indulgence meanwhile.

Please also excuse me for not being able to answer your comments individually. I assure you, however, that I read them all and hear and think about what you are saying.

Today let me respond to just one of the comments:

Reader humbleself writes:

Everyone should ponder why is there such a hurry to form a new state government when there is so much controversy constitutionally before hand.

I wonder why too. I wish our leaders were in as great a hurry to prepare our people for the direst economic crisis the world has faced since the Great Depression.

Even those countries which have put their best brains to work on the problem, given it the highest priority and set aside tens or hundreds of billions of dollars in stimulus spending now find that they have grossly under-estimated its scale, depth and complexity.

In the US yesterday, President Barack Obama chided Congress for its slowness in passing a stimulus bill.

These numbers demand action. The situation could not be more serious. It is inexcusable and irresponsible for any of us to get bogged down in distraction, delay, or politics as usual..

Now is the time … to act. To pass an economic recovery and investment plan . This is not some abstract debate. It is an urgent and growing crisis.

China has responded forcefully and cohesively with it’s own “New Deal”, Australia is already delivering a second stimulus package after a successful first round. Singapore has acted decisively with a S20.5Bn “Resilience Package” designed to cushion a recession it cannot avoid.

Meanwhile we aren’t even at the alert level that the rest of the world was at last year. One of the world’s top twenty trading nations officially thinks it merely faces a routine slowdown in the midst of a collapse in world trade.

I have been calling on our leadership to sit up and take note of the historic dimensions of this crisis since October last year. I reiterated this call in a speech last month. In the short time since, Malaysian industry leaders and economics bloggers have also been calling on the government to come out of their official denial that anything serious is going to happen to our economy. Ratings agencies, brokerage houses, banks and researchers have all come out with growth estimates drastically lower than the government’s projected rate of 3.5% growth. The government should come clean on the recession we are entering, and on how we will face it with our already ballooning budget-deficit.

Economic numbers translate into jobs, livelihoods, opportunities, food on the table. Poor economic management has very real consequences in the lives of our citizens.

The public and the business and investment community must surely get a feeling of unreality around this administration.

It’s as if the fire alarm has been ringing, the neighbourhood, in fact the whole town, is on fire and the firemen are holed up playing games with each other. Or starting other fires.

written by shepherdvoyage, February 09, 2009 09:45:11
M'sia is sinking fast in the sea of dirty policits!
written by emirateswenger, February 09, 2009 09:55:29
In my primary years, I was taught Hang Tuah's loyalty to the Sultan as being virtuous and Hang Jebat is a traitor. Later, I discovered Hang Jebat stood up to tyrant Sultan who did many shameful and cruel deeds. Today, Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat is not even taught in schools it seems.

Shame on you, the government of the day. Shame on you to start extolling loyalty to the Sultan when it fits you. Shame on you.
written by SamSan, February 09, 2009 12:01:23
After lots of meditation and prayers, I am getting the vibes that our beloved founding father's (Bapa Merdeka's) sprit has rejuvenated and taking its form and shape through the grit, determination, bravery, courageous and noble and egalitarian actions of Pete. Pete, I am getting a strong vibration here that Bapa Merdeka has chosen you to be the beacon of hope and light for Malaysia and I know that he is beaming with pride in seeing his true son take up the cudgel to bravely confront and slay the mighty dark forces trying to shround and destroy us.
written by chilten, February 09, 2009 16:30:31
My pro-UMNO friends would say that Malaysia is not a failed state. Instead, they believe that Malaysia is the best state in the world and this index is made by the kafir as part of their plot to destroy Malaysia..hahaha
written by antiilluminati, February 10, 2009 10:30:50
Is Malaysia now a failed state?

The answer is a strict NO.

Malaysia is a successful ZOO.
In this Zoo, Baboons, Monkeys and Frogs decides the fate of this nation !.
Here, we observed the LAW if the Jungle.
written by mountainking, February 10, 2009 12:17:21
really curious about this thing...

if sultan is not above the law, does that mean he can be sued? if he can't be sued, then pls provide reason.

i hope some law experts can enlighten this .....
written by Bluechip, February 10, 2009 21:14:26
Malaysia is not a failed state in 1990's but know its seems yeah. Malaysia under PM Abdullah is nothing. Malaysia dignity has started fade away. Sucessful state must shoreup fair and justice. Obama already close the guatanamo bay so when the ISA will be close or be restructured based on human rights?

http://bluechip-arena.********.com/
written by SamBall, February 12, 2009 04:45:57
Let me correct that, Msia is a state of failure, a 50 year old crippled adult state which is led by leaders with no virtues or morality!
written by AngryTaxpayer, February 12, 2009 11:27:10
Well on our way to being a failed state...KUDOS UMNO!!!!! UMNO Memang Boleh!!!! smilies/angry.gif