Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow It’s treason, says Muhyiddin

It’s treason, says Muhyiddin PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 14:31

(The Star) - Umno leaders have criticised the statement by DAP national chairman Karpal Singh that Pakatan Rakyat will take legal action against the Sultan of Perak over the appointment of a Mentri Besar from the Barisan Nasional.

Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said it showed blatant disrespect to Sultan Azlan Shah and “not at all a smart move on Karpal Singh’s part.”

“Surely you can’t question the wisdom of Sultan Azlan Shah. His decision has to be respected.

“If you look at it from the point of royal customs (adat istiadat), this certainly can be seen as tainting the name of the Sultan and an act of treason,” he told reporters before attending a briefing session on Iskandar Malaysia.

Karpal Singh was quoted at a press conference on Friday that the legal action should be regarded as a reminder that the Ruler was required to act within the confines of the Perak Constitution.

Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said emotions were running high among members of the wing.

“I have advised them to remain calm but it is not easy when faced with provocation of this nature against one of our Sultans,” he said, adding that the situation could get volatile if allowed to continue.

Umno supreme council member Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad said former Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin should remember that he was selected for the post based on the state Constitution and with the Sultan’s blessings.

He pointed out that Nizar’s ap­­pointment was not made based on the people’s mandate, otherwise someone from the DAP should have been given the Mentri Besar’s post.

In Putrajaya, Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique said Pakatan Rakyat should abide by the law and give up the leadership of Perak after being told do so by Sultan Azlan Shah.

“Pakatan should follow the law and vacate,” he told reporters after launching the Putrajaya-level Federal Territory Day celebrations yesterday.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by allangan2006, February 08, 2009 14:33:28
Yes, it's indeed a treason for the UMNO-fed frogs.
written by kc kua, February 08, 2009 14:38:31
Hey Tan Sri, don't say so much, If you think that is an wrong way of doing that! In order to stop this, please get all you UMNO Idiot to call for another fresh election. Than everything of this will not be an issue anymore.

Act like a Gentlemen, do what you have said!
written by Agahdemo, February 08, 2009 14:38:53
UMNO leaders, please do not exploit religion, race and royalty every time to justify your monkey acts.......
written by SamSan, February 08, 2009 14:42:46
It is a bigger treason to pressure and coerce our beloved Prime Minister Dato' Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to step down and hand over power against the agreed mutual consent by the UMNO Supreme Council wherein our beloved PM implements all the necessary changes to clean up corruption and abuse of government enforcement and judicial machinery within the next two years. Muhyiddin has to look at the mirror and answer his prime role in threatening our beloved him to step down and prevent him from given ample time to fullfill the much awaited 2004 Election promises.
written by krising1, February 08, 2009 14:43:39
MU-YEE-DIN, it is treason alright. If the UMNOputras say so, it must be so. About a million people are involved in this act of treason. Get you UMNO police and UMNO AG to arrest all them, prosecute them and execute them. Easy.
written by borneoman, February 08, 2009 14:46:04
is it an act of treason to fight for the right of the people who voted you to be their representative?do you think that the sultan can pick his choice of people to rule their own state with out ever calling for an election?may be you mistook us for a communist state?
written by NSTPravda, February 08, 2009 14:46:37
“Surely you can’t question the wisdom of Sultan Azlan Shah. His decision has to be respected."

"Respect" imposed against the rakyats' will
Will really make them more pissed off still.

Of course in more civilized society respected is earned.
But then when have kurang ajar party hacks ever learned?

Duit-lah tuan ku!
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 14:46:43
hey mu-yee-din,pressing down ur own umno president bodowi is not treason????
written by Hello Keithy, February 08, 2009 14:48:39
written by hakuna, February 08, 2009 14:49:06
What about treason against the masses??

Please talk with your mouth and not your asses.
written by borneoman, February 08, 2009 14:50:01
the 4 politicians who betrayed their voters must be charge in court for treason.
written by KKchan, February 08, 2009 14:52:20
Disrespect doesn't equate to disloyalty. Karpal can question the decision of the Sultan, much like TDM, Ku Li, Nik Aziz and Zaid. The person of the Sultan is not harmed, his name is not sullied and by and large the institution is much respected. It's his decision not the dissolve the assembly and declare the office of MB that are questioned. No one says he is not wise - but even the wise do make mistakes. Is it against the law or adat to tell the Sultan he may have made a mistake? If it is, let's abolish the Special Court.
written by mucking fuddled, February 08, 2009 14:53:45
fellows,
if you ask him again what treason means 2 hours later, he will scratch his head and give you another version, thats how 'articulate' they are...
written by ireneyow, February 08, 2009 14:55:02
If the rakyat cries for justice and fairness is treason then we are living in the Animal Kingdom. Animal have no democracy and law BUT human has. WHY IS IT TREASON if human speaks from the very bottom of the heart.
written by samarlin, February 08, 2009 14:56:39
Hey,muhidin or dipshit or whatever,only sultans have wisdom,huh?Don't equate blind loyalty with justice,please.Loser!
written by samarlin, February 08, 2009 14:57:57
No wonder some people get away with murder.
written by Awaken64, February 08, 2009 15:01:06
Were you the one who got slapped by the Sultan of Johor before TDM decided to curb their power?

Hari itu lain lagu u nanyi
Hari ini terbalik pulak!!!!

Muhidin balik tidur la.
written by thinktank observer, February 08, 2009 15:03:14
u umno's r blind and stupid. i should advice u muhyidin to keep quite and go back home. just lay down in ur bed and masterbate all day like u use to when u were in university. i know all about u, u like to masterbate in bed everyday.
written by jchew, February 08, 2009 15:04:42
All dancing with the C4 gang will paid for high price, royals alike!
written by Contradictions, February 08, 2009 15:15:55
Remember the Trengganu Menteri Besar appointment crisis. Twenty-two BN state representatives immediately announced that they were boycotting the swearing-in ceremony to object to the appointment of Ahmad.

Federal Umno leadership also issued a warning to Ahmad not to accept the post, threatening to sack him from the party. That threat materialised when the state Umno leadership decided to act against the maverick assemblyperson.

State Umno secretary Rosol Wahid handed over to a palace official a letter signed by the 22 Umno assemblypersons protesting Ahmad’s appointment. The letter also insisted that Idris should be sworn in as the rightful menteri besar.
written by DreamLady, February 08, 2009 15:17:18
Muhyiddin, the one who groomed you to be what you are today is Badawi. You turned around to backstab him by openly, without 'silu' asked him to step down as PM sooner than the expected date so as to accomodate your selfish means. By doing so, you have committed the act of TREASON!!!

Stop condemning others when you did a despicable act against Badawi who took you under his wing. Please, stop your act of hypocricy as though you are an angel who never do wrong!!!
written by temenggong, February 08, 2009 15:25:53
Watch out for this bugger. He is worse than Najib!
written by Richy, February 08, 2009 15:28:06
When TDM initiated a war against royalties that followed the clippings of priorities, privileges and immunities of royal family, the majority Umno then was all out to see that war materialized. Of course opposition too supported that.
THAT WAS NOT TREASON

Then recently when the Perlis and Terengganu rulers rejected the appointment of MBs the majority UMNO again showed their displeasure on decisions of the Sultans. There were even rallies and banners carrying slogans, some of them with humiliating words, like "Natang" which means binatang. Pak Lah said during his press conference he made his choice of MBs, and there must not be any changes referring to his disagreement with sultans. It did not stop there. The AG was asked to interfere where he wanted to meet the King to reverse his decision. Practically they were against the sultan.
THAT TOO WAS NOT TREASON

Now we have a legitimate MB was betrayed by 3 defectors who were bought over during their captivity. Under the consequences the MB advised the sultan to dissolve the legislative assembly for which the sultan refused. Doesn't matter, at least the sultan could have waited for new developments before making his decision known. Unfortunately he did not. The new government that is not favourite of people was formed. So, the people in general feel there was a mistake on the part of sultan and for those who have been consistent with people's interests prioritized, it is important for them principally the sultan’s decision is to be challenged under the constitution which the very royals consented.
THIS TIME IT'S TREASON BECAUSE LAWYER KARPAL SAID IT AND SENSIBLE MALAYS RECIPROCATE HIS OPINION.

It is nothing, in this country it's about hypocrisy. Like the “Sinchew” journalist puts it, UMNO is above the law and anything that doesn't favour UMNO become wrong, illegal, anti-Malay, anti-Islam and against the law and Royals, a better term they could manipulate this time around instead of using Ketuanan Melayu. I remember TDM saying many years ago, “Nabi Muhammad and other religious leaders in their time had long beard because they did not have shaving blades to shave unlike we people in the modern world now". For many including me it was a sensible thing to say, No Disrespect. The present scenario is also similar; Karpal and other learned individuals who gave their views and stance on Sultan are strictly based on law interpretation. It is neither Disrespect nor Treason. Anyone who says otherwise is opportunists and hypocrites!
written by ibabonma, February 08, 2009 15:39:26
Lagi satu Melayu bodoh dari Johore. Dialah celaka yang menyokong Bendahara menghapuskan kuasa Raja Melayu dulu. Melayu haprak!
written by yy88, February 08, 2009 15:59:58
Its TREASON, when Umno steal and robs the Malay claiming to fights for their race and religion
Its TREASON, when Umno intentionally create disunity and tensions between the multi races
Its TREASON, when Umno clipped the privileges and immunities of the royal families
Umno is the club of TRAITORS not leaders

written by Sabahfan, February 08, 2009 16:00:09
aaarrh, thats the only thing that UMNO leaders no brainers can say..

sikit sikit.... teriak.... TREASON... itu aje....

Hooi muhhaudin,,, go wank yourself lah
written by tgalexei, February 08, 2009 16:15:49
hey guys, why are giving comments on this bastard? he doesn't even worth our piss!!!
written by uxzee, February 08, 2009 16:21:15
When Mahathir was kurang ajar with the royalties some years ago, UMNO hailed Mahathir as a hero.
When UMNO openly called the Sultan of Trengganu as " Natang ", UMNO did not see that as kurang ajar. The police too has not come out with any report yet.

Even Tengku Razaleigh saw the Perak Sultan as having made a wrong decision in this current Perak case.

written by wood, February 08, 2009 16:57:51
You guys talk rubbish.! Did you all show respect to our KING during the last Terengganu MB crisis? I am most ashamed of you people ! You have shown us your true colours. I as an ordinary rakyat do not trust you anymore. Cannot say the same for the KING though !!! I also respect the KING NOT YOU GUYS !
written by MyView, February 08, 2009 17:22:23
Kami mahu Idris, natang

This one not treason keee?
written by budakpekan, February 08, 2009 18:00:08
Suddenly UMNO is talking about treason,

I can't forget how far they went to condemn in the ISU KEKEBALAN RAJA-RAJA in 1990's..

By the way, among the 30's not many people care about RAJA-RAJA anymore... so DYMM Raja-Raja should take note of what Nik Aziz wrote.

written by Lim Lim, February 08, 2009 18:14:24
muyiddin is talking about treason today???ask him to define it to sultan of johore himself!
written by jason, February 08, 2009 18:24:44
The Perak sultan who knows the state constitution inside out should not see too much chinese movie where the king's word is law and anyone who disobey is treason and will die. We have the CONSTITUTION. MCA use to wave the Federal Constitution. Where are they now?. Cowards hiding behind UMNO. Show yourself and bring your copy of the CONSTITUTION.
written by samarlin, February 08, 2009 19:16:19
The Sultan is committing treason against the people of this nation,you dimwit.
written by thor, February 08, 2009 19:33:11
Ah finally the one who back stabbed SLEEPY HEAD finally speak after such a long long silence. Also saw d guy from d East also speak then attend some Lo Hei function. These two "principled" guys definitely do not welcome those katak2 lompat2 to Ameno and its Insignificant Others because earlier they have put on record that such lompating is immoral.

Tapi kenapa bikin tak serupa cakap. Go tell yr Pink Lips he made a BOO BOO just because they say they want to start it first doesn't mean we want to start lompating bcos kami orang2 bermoral smilies/grin.gif

Takut ka cakap pada Boss Ameno kamu yg akan datang.

GOD SAVE THE PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by thor, February 08, 2009 19:38:23
“I have advised them to remain calm but it is not easy when faced with provocation of this nature against one of our Sultans,” he said, adding that the situation could get volatile if allowed to continue.

This is serious, he is playing the deadly GAME and if lives are lost then the RAKYAT WILL HOLD YOU RESPONSIBLE.

The botak with bull in his mouth better ISAed this guy for his own protection. This is a indirect threat he is making.

Seriously, lives are precious don't do things you will regret later.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES

written by cheekhiaw, February 08, 2009 20:32:06
A big time thief that steals from the country calling others treasonous...

written by Susanna, February 08, 2009 21:03:10
Aiyah the usual fork tongue of UMNO leaders. If this is treason what you call of Mahathir's action towards all the Sultans! Another UMNO leader trying to score point for the UMNO election
written by bumiku, February 08, 2009 22:08:16
Well, it is treason when you UMNO so called gentlemen called DYMM Agong 'natang right after March 2008! Funny, I do not recall any legal or criminal action taken against any of you UMNO leaders then. You want to answer this, Muhyiddin? (Yes, I simply would not address you with your title coz, you do great unjust to the title!)
written by Ahjamal, February 09, 2009 00:31:42
COME ON BE REAL . TAKING SOMEONE TO COURT IS TREASON . LET THE COURT DO THE JUSTICE IF IT IS WRONG THEN THE NEXT COURSE OF ACTION. YOU ARE A SILLY MINISTER
NO WONDER MALAYSIA IS ALSO SILLY DUE TO YOU.
written by Ahjamal, February 09, 2009 00:36:55
To be correct UMNO should be charge for treason they have robbed the rayak money
for the past 51 years.
written by rpremkumar2u, February 09, 2009 09:05:38
To question HRH is to question his wisdom. According to Muh Muh din. His decision has to be respected. To do otherwise equals treason. Not a smart at all move on Karpal's part , he reckons. What an example of flawed reasoning by our Minister. Let me put in my 2 sen. Minister, to question or to refer to the court is not to question the wisdom nor the knowledge. It is to ascertain the issue of legality. It is a question in law to decide excellence. It is prudent to do so. HRH is not perfect. No one entity is. To err and not to rectify the err is an even bigger error. For a silent man, you really can't think much. Wise men have something to say; fools have to say something.