Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Mood in Perak continues to sour, Transparency Int’l calls for accountability to the people

Mood in Perak continues to sour, Transparency Int’l calls for accountability to the people PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 14:21

Just days ago, incoming Umno president Najib Razak, who masterminded the coup against Menteri Besar Mohammad Nizar, was jubilant as he went to the Palace to secure a new government. But last night, he was forced to abandon plans to attend a function as distrust and disgust for him and his Umno-BN grew state-wide amongst Perakians

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara keADILan

Tensions are set to intensify in Perak, with neither coalition Pakatan Rakyat or Barisan Nasional willing to back down from the crisis over who has legitimate control of the state government.

Sparked by the much-criticised decision of the Perak Sultan to go against the advice of Pakatan Menteri Besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin to call a snap election, the situation is unlikely to improve as Perakians continue to reject the BN leadership forced upon them by their Ruler.

The Pakatan maintains that Nizar, whom they believe was unconstitutionally sacked by the Sultan, is still the legitimate head of the state government, while BN insists his position has now been filled by their candidate Zambry Kadir.

Both men went about their separate ways to govern the state yesterday.

Umno tries to stir up Malay sentiments

Working from his official residence, Nizar held a state exco meeting and approved four key plans, including extending land leases for industrial plots to 99 years from the current 30 or 60 years to make the state more attractive to investors during the current economic slowdown.

He also announced a RM1 million allocation to help the poor with funeral expenses, short-listed 342 people as local councillors and agreed to inject RM2.7 million to transform Ipoh Airport into a low-cost carrier terminal for budget airline Firefly.

“The state agencies have to concede to the government of the day and the question of their not implementing the decisions does not arise,” said Nizar, referring to the fact that the Pakatan-led state assembly has not been dissolved yet, nor has it voted to sack him.

But even as Nizar spoke, police acting in concert with the state secretariat are planning to evict him. BN-controlled media too carried ominous reports quoting unnamed sources that warned Perak civil servants to obey only Zambry.

Umno, coalition leader of BN, is also trying its best to stir up what it hopes will become a groundswell of Malay support by throwing its weight behind the Perak Sultan.

On Monday, Umno Youth plans to hold a yellow-ribbon campaign as part of efforts to suppress criticism against the Sultan.

“Obviously, Umno would do this. Firstly, the Sultan sided them, so to criticise the Sultan is to criticise them,” said a political analyst.

“Secondly, whenever Umno is in trouble and want to cover up its wrongdoing, it will bring out the racial card and try to scare everyone else into submission.”

Sultan’s web page de-activated, Najib hides from Ipoh

Nevertheless, Umno’s fightback has paled against the nation and state-wide fury unfurled by the Sultan’s controversial decision.

The storm of negative comments and feedback registered in a web page on the Ruler’s website, where guests leave their comments, has been so ‘hot’ it was deactivated.

Deputy Premier and incoming Umno president Najib Abdul Razak, who masterminded the coup against Nizar’s government, decided against coming down to a function in Ipoh last night, fully aware of the huge unpopularity he now attracts among Perakians.

Zambry, who was also scheduled to attend the function, too had to give it a miss.

Transparency International is the latest civil society group to join in the national and international condemnation of Sultan Azlan Shah’s decision to not to return the mandate to his subjects - the Perak people - and let them vote in a stable and decisive leadership of their choice.

Said Transparency International Malaysia president Ramon Navaratnam: “There has not been a high enough order of transparency in the entire episode. Hence, the people’s dissatisfaction and unhappiness. This must not be brushed aside, but must be heeded by all, including the Ruler.

Everyone must be accountable, no matter how high or low their position. The only way to satisfy the people of Perak is to return transparency to their system. And the only way to do that is through by-election or snap election.”

A day ago, Malaysia’s Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) had also urged the Ruler to review his order and allow state-wide polls. Suhakam also questioned the legitimacy of the BN state government accepted by the Sultan.

“It appears that the method adopted in forming the new government for the state of Perak is questionable, consequently so is the legitimacy of the new state government,” Suhakam said.

No backing down, two concurrent governments

With the odds still stacked against it, the Pakatan plans to go into full throttle with legal suits, and will sue Zambry first. The coalition has pledged to go all out to regain justice and accountability for the people of Perak.

“We are seeing the issue from the people’s perspective. Legal action will be taken against Zambry as we regard him as an illegitimate Menteri Besar,” said Lim Guan Eng, secretary-general of DAP, which together with KeADILan and PAS form the Pakatan coalition.

“Malaysia has in the past 24 hours become an international laughing stock because of the constitutional crisis in Perak producing two Mentris Besar – the Pakatan Rakyat Menteri Besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin who has never vacated office, and the usurper Umno Menteri Besar Zambry Abdul Kadir,” said DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang.

Said Nizar: “If they go ahead and swear in the rest of the exco members on Tuesday, we will be the only government in the world with two Menteri Besar. I will still report for work on Tiesday as Tuesday is our meet-the-clients-day.”

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by allangan2006, February 08, 2009 14:23:42
The anger of Rakyat is mounting high. It is a matter of time when this will explode.
agree 235
written by jchew, February 08, 2009 14:27:39
Royal becomes the puppet of C4, except Sultan of Trengganu.
agree 171
written by kc kua, February 08, 2009 14:34:26
What happen to the Sultan Perak. Current situation turn worst. If he keep saying that he is the King of the Perakian! So, why now he is so silent on this matter? Dear My Beloved Ruler, the Rakyat now really see Who are you and what are you said before are merely to please us!

Please come out and say something to the People of Perakian! smilies/sad.gif
agree 188
written by borneoman, February 08, 2009 14:37:39
“Secondly, whenever Umno is in trouble and want to cover up its wrongdoing, it will bring out the racial card and try to scare everyone else into submission.

this old and obsolete game plan is nothing new and the rakyat are immune to it so better be prepared to face the wrath from the rakyat.
agree 129
written by ireneyow, February 08, 2009 14:49:33
The sultan should come out to give we Perakians an explanation to his decision. We dicided the goverment on 8th March 2008 through our votes. He rejected it by sacking. No need to close the roads leading to the istana. We are not barbarians like the UMNO. We just want an explanation and also another voting rights.
agree 122
written by patlu, February 08, 2009 14:54:37
Perak Sultan's website is still working but VANDALISED.

SIGN PETITION: A Plea to Defend the Voice of the People

NOTE: Use real names and no flames please. This s a platform for you to state what you want, appeal to his heart and not to let off steam or to bash His Royal Highness.

Updates on this petition, follow topic "Perak Under Siege. What Can We Do?" at the discussion board.

Please help to spread the word. Copy paste and forward on. Thanks.
written by KKchan, February 08, 2009 14:58:58
If UMNO is stirring up a groundswell of Malay support for the Sultan on the basis that HRH is much criticised of late, it is playing a dangerous game. First it pulls HRH into the political arena (them against us) and second, if the campaign fails, it isolates HRH and the institution from its base - the Malay populace. Why is it doing this? Perhaps to find a Royal cover for its mistake?
written by Goodbites, February 08, 2009 15:10:27
BN, please call for a state election to avoid making our beloved Sultan a laughing stock of the world!
written by Caesar, February 08, 2009 15:11:06
Thank God, for TI, Suhakam who continue to 'broadcast' the farcical 'democracy' in Malaysia.

The European Commission MUST investigate why the French/Spanish submarine co. gave the bribe to Baginda/Najib's co. if it is to 'walk the talk' of the French president Sarkozy.

written by hellosunshine, February 08, 2009 15:23:38
What do you call an offspring of an illegal union of these 2? A right royal bast**d.

Errr...referring to the new CM ah, just in case some royalists gets on my back.
written by ibabonma, February 08, 2009 15:46:33
On Monday, Umno Youth plans to hold a yellow-ribbon campaign as part of efforts to suppress criticism against the Sultan.
..................................................................................

Suckers, you put up your ribbons, and you will receive missiles from the road sides in return.
written by samarlin, February 08, 2009 16:19:19
(On Monday, Umno Youth plans to hold a yellow-ribbon campaign as part of efforts to suppress criticism against the Sultan)

A perfect example of blind loyalty.I rest my case.
written by wood, February 08, 2009 17:03:40
BN has no place in Perak anymore because the rakyat do not want this kind of leaders ! Whether you like it or not , the fact is the majority of the rakyat supported the PR Govt, so what are you all thick skinned monsters doing there trying to be the new MB and govt in Perak.?
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 17:56:45
umno be end would bring out the only card they hav,the racial card!
written by jason, February 08, 2009 18:10:17
RPK once wrote storm the Bastille. This is now the time. Not that we advocate violence, but we can do it legally. We should leave no opportunity for BN to rule by trickery. Now is the time for PR leaders to show their full potential to use all means to get Perak back without fear of 'treason'. The rakyat are fully behind you.
The Perak sultan who knows the state constitution inside out should not see too much chinese movie where the king's word is law and anyone who disobey is treason and will die. We have the CONSTITUTION. MCA use to wave the Federal Constitution. Where are they now?. Cowards hiding behind UMNO. Show yourself and bring your copy of the CONSTITUTION.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 08, 2009 18:16:33
ACCOUNTABILITY???

oh yes...the accounts??? it is RM 300 Million for Gamuda...
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 08, 2009 18:21:26
"Said Transparency International Malaysia president Ramon Navaratnam: “There has not been a high enough order of transparency in the entire episode. Hence, the people’s dissatisfaction and unhappiness. This must not be brushed aside, but must be heeded by all, including the Ruler"

This died during Mahathir's time...you have to dig the grave and make it come alive...maybe over Mahathir's dead body..
written by Tompios, February 08, 2009 18:23:04
Keep fighting man! Rakyat will carve this history forever. How BN and SultaN both N=neglecting the wish of the majority rakyat.
written by non conformist, February 08, 2009 18:26:09

DUIT-LAH BAPA-KU : the guiding principle of UMNO and their lackey component party.
written by lynn, February 08, 2009 18:51:39
Not just Perakians are angry, even a few friends who supported BN are also mad & disgusted.
These people I spoked to were from Kedah, Selangor, Negri Sembilan & Johor.

BN cannot get away with this coup. It's too serious an issue to be dismissed with a wave of his arrogant hand gesture.

Again, all races must unite. Muslims who left the mosque after prayers were sprayed with teargas; why did FRU do that? All these people are harmless - Najib, you shldn't have done that, BIG MISTAKE! Tear-gassing these supporters of Nizar - they have every right to express themselves. Stop treating the rakyat like shit or trampling their rights with dirt from your shoes. You are ruthless!
written by Joe, February 08, 2009 19:07:07
WHAT an international embarrassment!! The Sultan's website got deactivated?? The people have lost confidence in the Sultant to that great a degree??

Wow! Perakians are truly the "Hang Jebat"s of our time. All supporters of truth and justice from all other states in Sarawak, Sabah and Peninsular Malaysia salute you!!

written by asguard, February 08, 2009 19:47:44
Must remove Najis from incoming PM posts! Believe he will create more chaos than serving the nation together with his fat mamma both of them capable of creat havoc!
written by Bloodhound, February 08, 2009 20:23:26

Datuk Nazir is the one and only legal MB in the state of Perak. Zambry is the illegal MB and his team are illegally installed arising from a coup d'etat against the state of Perak. They have committed a crime against the constitution of the nation!

Datuk Nazir and his supporters are the defenders of the Rule of Law in Malaysia and they are the champions of democracy which had been shreded by UMNO as a result of the coup d'etat.

Read this:
http://www.thenutgraph.com/perak-must-not-fail

"........In his judgement, Harley A-G OCJ ruled that the governor can only dismiss the chief minister when both these conditions are satisfied:

"(a) The chief minister has lost the confidence of the House, and

"(b) The chief minister has refused to resign and failed to advise a dissolution."

The principles about a no-confidence vote and royal consent are very much the core of parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy. Violating them is not merely changing the government of the day, it is changing the very political system we are in.

It then becomes regime change, not a mere government change.

Abusing Nizar for sticking to his guns will not do, for this is the exact circumstance the mechanism of dissolution is designed for.

And if the political system is changed via extra-constitutional means, it is effectively a coup against the current constitutional setting.

Crisis-turned-coup

Flowing from the principles discussed above, these are the facts:

Until and unless Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is removed by a no-confidence vote or resigns of his own accord, he is the rightful and only menteri besar of Perak Darul Ridzuan. His executive council the only rightful government as per Article 16 of the State Constitution of Perak. This point has been categorically stated by the highly respected prince Tan Sri Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah.
Any act to vacate the office of menteri besar and the executive council, and any advice to that effect is extra-constitutional.
Even if sworn in, the new menteri besar and the new executive council are illegitimate.
All actions by all the actors have now become constitutionally significant, either for or against the highest law of the state.

Nizar and his executive council's attempt to carry out their business as usual is therefore the most patriotic and loyalist act in defending the state constitution, and by extension, parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy.

The Parliamentary Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is right that this is not a collision against the palace.

Nizar is being loyal to the rule of law
(© hussein / wikipedia)
On the contrary, Nizar will go down in history as a defender of parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy in the 481-year-old Sultanate of Perak, politically one of the most developed states since the 1950s. He is being loyal to the political system, to the rule of law.

The subjects of Perak and citizens of Malaysia who choose to stand by the loyal menteri besar are similarly upholding rule of law and the political system.

In 1984, the year that Sultan Azlan Shah succeeded the Perak throne, he aptly defined the rule of law when delivering the 11th Tunku Abdul Rahman lecture in November:

"The rule of law means literally what it says: The rule of the law.

"Taken in its broadest sense this means that people should obey the law and be ruled by it.

"But in political and legal theory it has come to be read in a narrow sense, that the government shall be ruled by law and be subject to it.

"The ideal of the Rule of Law in this sense is often expressed by the phrase 'government by law and not by man'."

The Sultan's refusal to dissolve the state legislative assembly upon request by the menteri besar was controversial. When the Sultan instructed the menteri besar to resign, the controversy became a constitutional crisis. But when the Sultan swore in the BN-installed menteri besar, he effectively conjured a new government to parallel the existing, democratically-elected one. This effectively turned the crisis into a "coup".

Pushing the constitutional crisis into a constitutional coup is disastrous both politically and economically.

written by Susanna, February 08, 2009 20:49:15
I salute Nizar who stick to his guns to stand up for what is right and just. May Allah continue to guide you and give you strength because it is indeed tough to fight against the illegitimate MB which is corruptly supported by a corrupt government who will go to all means to achieve the selfish end with the rakyat's money.But Allah is greater. And you have Allah on your side. If Allah is for you, who can be against you? Thank Allah for raising you and people such as our new leaders we can be proud of smilies/smiley.gif
written by Bloodhound, February 08, 2009 20:53:52
As Malaysians, we must all stand up and be counted!

This is no longer a state of Perak issue. This is a coup d'etat against a constitutionally established government. This is an attack on the highest law of our nation - this is a Malaysian issue.

We need to protect the rule of law of the nation. Datuk Nazir and his supporters are the defenders of our Constitution, the champion of the rule of law against those who seek to desecrate our Constitution. These defenders needs your full support (moral, financial, encouragement and advices) but there must be no violence commited otherwise it defeats the purpose!
written by PresleyP, February 09, 2009 04:37:54
Never in the History that a PM to be is being rated so low in popularity.

Never in the History that a PM to be is being scourned and ridiculed by the public quite openly.

Never in the History that a Finance Minister is so involve in about other "personal" issues when the World Economy is tumbling to its historic low.

Never in the History that the fate of a State government is being decided in a close door talk between 2 person.

Never in the History that a DPM or PM to be so "scared" of the people that he got to cancel his appearance to a function.

Never ..... never ..... never ...... but ... MALAYSIA BOLEH !!!!

And he is going to be our PM next month !!!

written by PresleyP, February 09, 2009 04:48:41
The Perak coup is making Malaysia a laughing stock in the International Arena.

But the serious part of it is that the friction between the PR and BN cannot be viewed lightly. Right now, all it takes is a small spark to turn that friction into a bush fire, like the bush fire in SE Australia. And if that happens, it will not be just 56 death.

BN and coalition, you guys had made enough money. Why don't you guys just let go ? Have a little conscience and at least you guys can eat and sleep peacefully. You have your family; others have their family, brother, sisters and children too. I am not pleading. You cannot bring the money to the grave, but you can bring the sin to the grave. I am just advising.
written by CPY, February 09, 2009 09:45:45
UMNO's ability to play 'ketuanan melayu'(which sounds like ketuanan putih) has been hampered with 27 Malay-1 Chinese govt. smilies/wink.gif Ppl realise, all the needs of all the races must be taken into account. But we can't accomodate all the wants of all the races.
written by Rozlan, February 09, 2009 10:44:45
Guys what can I say.We the Pakatan Rakyat are second class citizens of DYMM's rakyat..In other word we are pariah in in His Highness's eyes..So the pariah had been delat with accordingly when the Brahmins demand it
written by takbolehtahan, February 09, 2009 17:35:23
Well, no celebration when Najis is inaugurated. I'm not going to watch it nor hear about it. I'm going to watch movies or my dvds, but I'm certainly not going to watch it.
I am sorry that the Sultan of Perak was dragged into this mess. I guess he never saw it coming, to be a scapegoat for Najis' rotten plan. I guess he is human too. But then he shouldn't have made all those speeches about integrity and good governance if he cannot uphold what he preaches. Such a shame, one move and everything goes down the drain.
written by latihanQ, February 10, 2009 13:03:17
I am sorry that the Perak Sultan has to be dragged into this mess, wittingly or unwittingly!
I had the highest regard for him since the days he was a judge and then, Lord President.
Yes, truly and surely, I am sorry he is where he is today. Perhaps he feels that too. What once was the nation's and rakyat's adulation, all lost.
For what?