Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Boost for Najib, blow to Anwar

Boost for Najib, blow to Anwar PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 11:34

"If Anwar is smart, he would use this time to concentrate on building his party (so that better candidates are selected the next time) and Pakatan's internal cohesion as well as playing a more effective role as the leader of the opposition."

NEW STRAITS TIMES

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's boasts of a government takeover by defections have boomeranged on him with Pakatan Rakyat's loss of Perak.
Amused by the opposition leader getting a taste of his own medicine, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad revelled in his blog that "Anwar will learn a lot of lessons from this drama".

"After all, did he not say the biggest party hop would be on Sep 16. Oh! Wrong. Sept 24. Oh, wrong again," the former prime minister said.

He delighted in the irony of Anwar's stand on Bota assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim, who had quit Umno to join the Parti Keadilan Rakyat and then U-turned back to Umno.

"What is most comical is hearing Anwar's comments regarding Nasarudin who joined Parti Keadilan Rakyat and left PKR.
"Jumping in (the trap) is allowed but jumping out is illegal," Dr Mahathir said.

Just after Nasarudin joined PKR, Anwar said he saw it as "the beginning of a new wave".

Predicting more crossovers at a Chinese New Year party to usher in the Year of the Ox in Klang, he had said "just be patient, we are working hard like the ox".

On Friday, a day after counter-defections scuppered the Perak government, Dr Mahathir ended his blog entry with a snigger: "He, he, he."

More seriously, critics of the former deputy prime minister, including former PKR Youth chief Mohamad Ezam Mohd Noor, lashed out at Anwar's two-faced attitude to party-hopping.

Ezam said Anwar's mercenary inconsistency in regard to party loyalty and discipline did not make him a "good statesman". As the crisis unfolded in Ipoh last week, the international news wires quickly savoured the just deserts, describing the fall of the Pakatan in Perak as a "boost" for Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and a "blow" to Anwar.

"Criticism from the opposition rings hollow as Anwar tried to use defections to engineer a path to power last September, and failed," Reuters reported on Thursday.

"Losing Perak would be a slap to Anwar's alliance, which won an unprecedented five of Malaysia's 13 states in the general election last year," echoed the Associated Press.

Anwar's comeuppance was not only a point to be made by journalists.

Election analyst Ong Kian Ming, in an article on Friday that was otherwise partial to the opposition, called the Perak imbroglio "a kick in the rear that Anwar and Pakatan needed".

"By turning the tables on Anwar, Najib has effectively stopped him from speaking out further about enticing BN crossovers, at least for now.

"If Anwar is smart, he would use this time to concentrate on building his party (so that better candidates are selected the next time) and Pakatan's internal cohesion as well as playing a more effective role as the leader of the opposition," he said.

At a press conference after the swearing-in on Friday of BN's Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir as Perak menteri besar, however, Anwar again bragged about luring defectors.

Perhaps half believing that he could still pull it off, senior leaders of the Pakatan, such as Pas' Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and the DAP's Lim Kit Siang, have indulged Anwar as the presumptive prime minister.

Nasarudin's first crossing on Jan 25 was roundly welcomed. With no hint of hypocrisy, Terengganu Pas commissioner Datuk Mustafa Ali was reported five days later as saying that BN defectors were doing the right thing but Pas members would never be allowed to switch.

When Nasarudin reversed direction, however, as part of a quartet of assemblymen who pulled the carpet from under the Pakatan state government, Lim paradoxically called it a "coup".

Of the Pakatan stalwarts, only DAP chairman Karpal Singh declined to be mesmerised by Anwar's rhetoric and stuck to a principled stand against party turncoats.

Last June, Anwar assumed he had Karpal on his side. "If people endorse our agenda and policies, Karpal does not have problems" with cross-overs.

On Jan 9, in the latest of Karpal's rebuffs, he said: "DAP will only form the Federal Government with the support of the people in the general election, together with its partners in the Pakatan Rakyat, and not on the support of crossovers."

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by indianputra, February 08, 2009 11:41:06
We hope Anwar learnt his lesson from this episode and we hope he will prepare his strategy carefully and with wisdom before he plunges into it. Malaysians have only one hope and that is Anwar and PR will topple the BN. Anwwar, please work on it. Thanks.
written by michael chick, February 08, 2009 11:41:55
written by lamakawan, February 08, 2009 11:43:16
Success is a long process. The road to Putrajaya is long. There is no short cut.
We must begin at the beginning.
We must always remember, FAILURE IS THE MOTHER OF SUCCESS. We learn from our mistakes. Have patience. The general elections is only 4 years away. If we continue to gain the support of the people and do not let them down, I am sure come the next elections they will still be with us, Maybe with more numbers.
written by joeyhuang, February 08, 2009 11:43:21
WHOEVER WON the hearts of the PEOPLE Wins the War

The REAL LOSER is BN and Najib,

RESULTS : The People's Opinion Poll

Watching through the eyes of Kong Ming (Zhu Ke Liang), I salute the FROGS' dedications and brave acts in sacrificing yourself in this Red Cliff battle.

Keep up your faith and my support to your family members facing the public humiliation.

Yes we have Liu Pei's Shu Kingdom (Anwar), Wu Kingdom and Wei Kingdom (PAS & DAP) joining forces to face Tsao Tsao, the Prime Minister of Han Dynasty (Najib of BN) in 208A.D. (http://www.china-on-site.com/pages/comic/102.php)

Thank you for the FROGS bravery and self-sacrifice. I strongly believe Pakatan Rakyat is MOVING towards the Right Direction in this WAR. A DISASTER looming for UMNO and BN as this war rages on.

The WEATHER is now in favor of PAKATAN, they have the PEOPLE on their side now!!! Winning the hearts of PEOPLE through Humility and Sympathy.

Congratulation PR, you won the hearts of PEOPLE

The Final Battle : 14th. General Election date 2011

The Economic Scenario for 2009-2010 : High Unemployments, runaway inflations, deflating econmies, stockmarket KLSE 600 pts., failing businesses

The Ruling Leaders : In fightings for positions, wide corruptions, lack of federal projects and foreign investments, recessions

Environments : Major crimes, inefficient police forces tainted with corruptions, widespread social ills with foreign workers and unemployed young people, lots of unhappy people!

THE GOALS : Win the Hearts of People to Win their VOTES, Aim to Capture more Parliament Seats

Meanwhile thanks to the generous donations to Pakatan's election fund from the "frogs' reward". A real cool strategy indeed!

MY DEAR FRIENDS of PAKATAN!
Please REMEMBER YOUR GOAL! GOAL! GOAL!

Its the next GENERAL ELECTION to capture the FEDERAL GOVERMENT from BN. Do Not Lose sight of the GOAL, the FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.

Whomever the Government of the day until 2011 will face the wrath of the people due to the economic crisis building up.

Focus your state assembly YB to spend time building up the "emotional bullets" to fight this REAL BATTLE in 2011.

Don't waste your time and energies in running the state without federal funding support for only 2 short years and face MAJOR PUBLIC complaints without money to help the masses.
THINK BIG and THINK FAR!

Best of LUCK to PKR, DAP and PAS

MCA LIFE MEMBER - BAGAN DIVISION
written by justice, February 08, 2009 11:45:36
DSAI is not stupid, just that he did not have the machinery to play the game with Najb. The IGP, Attorney General, Chief Judge, MACC, Election Commission are all UMNO's goons, even the Rulers are afraid of C4, how the play the game fairly?

Even if DSAI did not say anything about defection at all, do you think Najib will not do it? Najib just fully exploited the opportunity created by DSAI.
written by OVERLORD, February 08, 2009 11:46:36
Just a bunch of rubbish from this BN propaganda mouth-piece, glaringly loopsided and biased.......Look at it in another perspective.... If anwar plays his card right this will be a boost to PR and a huge whack for Najib!!...
written by Msian Idol3, February 08, 2009 11:50:58
Blah,blah, blah. PR needs to be very careful in picking its candidate as potential aduns. A very useful lesson in Perak. We now know we cannot depend on the monarchy to stand up for what is humanly right. What is humanly right is different from what is politically right.
written by rosso, February 08, 2009 11:56:32
Dear michael Chick
Can you please conjure up a devilish poster on the 3 traitors of Pakatan which we can download and print for distribution all over Perak ?
written by Motherchell, February 08, 2009 11:59:34
TDM must realize one thing , demonizing his enemy No 1 has been his forte all the while , so im sure his blood flow is back to normal with joy seeping into his skull. But then , God decides everything , he has his plans to smother evil justice of UMNO.

TDM with his age , should have some wisdom to say his scuttlebuts about DSAI. If you put both this men on stage and vote , DSAI will take the perfect 10, because he is honest . All know UMNO tricks of the trade in plundering the Nation . So for TDM to think why DSAI failed is like asking for the SS officers to leave The Nazi Party under the watchful eyes of Hitler .

TDM groomed Najib for personal ends , the world will write this in all its History books . So my advise to TDM is , to stop talking like a little kid who ran down the lane, and if he refuses to take wisdom with age , then im sorry , for the way you have grown up in these years with silver spoons to no avail!
written by Dominic, February 08, 2009 12:07:57
Lets be fair and look at whole issue with reality ! So what,if Najis managed to get a few MPs to join him and de-stabilise PKR govt ! Was that the wishes of the rakyat ? Was that done with fair play ? BN, with the full backing of the govt machinery and unlimited funds are just having an upper hand and thats about it ! PKR,on the other hand are much more handicaped. Given the stituation as it is now, DSAI and gang only have to plan now for the next GE even if we have to wait another 4-5yrs. Let TDM and others who think its the end of PKR aspiration to form the new govt in the year of the ox to eat their humble pie come the next GE. Then,I expect TDM would probably not end with his snigger as he,he,he, BUT oh,oh,oh, and drop DEAD. Verdict, choke to death !
written by hanisma, February 08, 2009 12:14:27
One rotten egg from DAP and two rotten eggs from PKR have jumped out from the basket. So, what about the rotten eggs from PAS? They too, must jump away as soon as possible so that only the good and high quality eggs remain!
written by hckit, February 08, 2009 12:18:47
Even Anwar has got enough frogs to meet Agung, do u really think Agung will make him PM without dissolving Parliment?

written by apa jadi, February 08, 2009 12:19:03
ireneyow,

Have misunderstood Joeyhuang's posting? Try read it over and over again until you understand what he ment.
written by axppin, February 08, 2009 12:20:21
Go Jeep go! You are riding high now whilst the rest are reeling. Their backside must be swollen after being kicked in the rear. You now have a clear path all the way to the next GE. With the judiciary allegedly so corrupt, you don't have to worry even about this saman to declare the Perak takeover illegal. You're the man now. Strongly supported by the explosive Rosy demolition squad. Go Jeep go! But then again.. I wonder. Sure or not you can survive this March thing? Better pray hard and seek forgiveness before it is too late.

written by KTRaj, February 08, 2009 12:22:49
PAKATAN RAKYAT WAS FOOOOOOOOL BY nasarudin hashim.
written by apa jadi, February 08, 2009 12:25:11
As the Malay saying:
Menang secumpak, kala segantang.
You win the war, you loose the battle.

I recall the sheepish grin Najib had over the past two days. It has been a long time I haven't seen him that happy. But, just shortly after that, he absent himself for the CNY dinner in Ipoh. He won?
written by sahabat, February 08, 2009 12:26:00
Mahathir is smart. He knows that UMNO would lose miserably in the election and that is why he stepped down as PM so easily.

Mahathir doesn't know that the take-over of Perak PR government by UMNO is illegal not by the constitution. That is why he is talking rubbish. Resigned from UMNO and quickly u-turned to UMNO.

PR is currently studying all possible moves and God will help those who are right and condemn those crocks to their politcal death. Let's wait and see.
written by hckit, February 08, 2009 12:26:37
Nasarudin Hashim - Malaysia Actor of the year
written by borneoman, February 08, 2009 12:26:59
ireneyow,
please read between the lines with regards to joeyhuangs posting otherwise put forward your own analytical comments for all of us to savour.
written by Old Man, February 08, 2009 12:30:37
Perhaps Sir RPK, Mr Lim Kit Siang together with Mr Karpal Singh should form a new Party in whatever name that appropriate to face BN in the next and/or future GE. We need new faces regardless of Race and/or Relgion for CHANGE. As long as politics of Race and Religion exist we are back to square one.
written by DreamLady, February 08, 2009 12:38:50
Mahathir, it tickles you pink to see Anwar falls. In case your memories fail you, he has fallen many times during your era, but he is man enough to stand up tall to confront the demons in you many hundred folds....

Pakatan rakyat is very new compared to UMNO regime of 52 years of age. For it to succeed with flying colours in its first General Election is remarkable as well as astonishing. The coalition of contradicting ideologies formed by PR are given themselves ample opportunity to learn to fall and confront trials and errors as the members stumble along the booby-trap infested journey to Putra jaya....

Most people are very harsh towards those who are learning to crawl, to stand, and later to walk like an infant does.. When UMNO regime could not achieve the maximal in terms of prosperity, harmony, and peace after 52 years, at the same time, the condition within the regime is getting from bad to worse, nobody in earnest to say anything to condemn the rotting regime. When Pakatan has their first few falls, the reaction from many sectors reacted as though the whole world is collapsing around them. Where is the fairness and the desire to see the country turn vibrant and healthy again when the same people who accuse Anwar, screaming on top of their voices to beg for a better squeaky clean society ????

When you have made up your mind to allow someone sitting behind the wheel, moral support should be consistently given to the driver, though the ride you have is bumpy at times, but nevetheless, the driver will definitely bring you to where your destiny is. What you need to display is absolute patience and faith in the one you cling your hope too...There is no such thing as doing things half-heartedly..

Be fair to Anwar and Pakatan if those who accuse them irrationally, they are in the midst of championing our cause, and to repair the compass that frequently breaks down due to not being familiar with handling the newly found tool.. Time is the prime factor..Please, to all the PR supporters, be fair and rationally before accusation are hurled at those who work fervently day and night to fight on our behalf!!! Be grateful and thank our Might Allah we are still blessed with patriots and fighters who are behind us !!!
written by DreamLady, February 08, 2009 12:41:30
typo...be fair and rational, instead of rationally..sorry about the error.
written by panca, February 08, 2009 12:44:04
Anwar has mentioned that the takeover through MP crossing will not be done without calling for the fresh election. I do not disagree with such a move in order to put out umno(BNajis), the corrupted political government. Clean up their act through this means follow by calling a fresh general elections, this is not only good but effective to also clean up the Election Commission, making them really independent body so that BNajis can see the transparency of voters elective power to decide for a good government.
written by Concerned_Citizen, February 08, 2009 12:56:21
Silly stupind UmNo paper. This paper only read by the deaths. BTW, what Najix did to the rakyat is what his father has done to Tunku Abdul Rahman. Both also rampasan kuasa yang melampau. Like father, like son.
written by Ahjamal, February 08, 2009 13:15:32
Let face this in reality should Annuar intends to take over the Federal Government it does need Najib to copy it. He needs to show the Rayak that he can take over the 5 packatan sates by lawful means. What he is doing now does not justified that he is a good leader. Any one that agreed to his claim may be short count. UMNO breads a culture of corrupter and a chain of idiots. Good things they will claimed they are smart when they do things that are out of the law they refers to the opposition even it is not true. Well he is coming in as the new PM for me I have no credit to offer to him.
written by shamadz72, February 08, 2009 13:26:15
The different with waht Anwar trying to do and what Najib did is that, Anwar promised to reform Election commission once he manage to take over the federal government if there is enough defection to PR. Then his next step is to call for a fresh GE so that the rakyat can decide once and for all in a fair election who they really want to govern this country.

Compare that to Najib and UMNO who all seems not to have any balls at all to face even a few by-election what more to call for state election. So how can he claim legitimacy in what he did? Do you guys want an illegitimate government to rule us?

written by thor, February 08, 2009 13:29:55
Actually I did not read the whole article above only a few paras, do not waste time on NST article, u know who's mouth piece this is. The gist of the article is " U LOST SERVE U RIGHT, HA HA HA , WE ARE STILL THE BEST OF CORRUPTORS " smilies/cheesy.gif

RAKYAT's wishes IGNORED, RAKYAT abused and betrayal never mind, what is important to these jokers are U STARTED IT LAH. Last ELECTION RAKYAT VOTED FOR CHANGE so LOTS AND LOTS OF SO CALL LEADERS, INCUMBENTS got the boot. RAKYAT VOTE FOR CHANGE VOTE FOR PAKATAN. Let us analyse the GE before the last one, RAKYAT VOTED Be End with a higher percentage than ever before in their history, again RAKYAT VOTED for change from our dear Tun. SLEEPY HEAD did not fulfill the RAKYAT wish on CHANGES promised but continue with the old ways. Then time start to get harder as the GLOBAL economy worsen, but still the POWER THAT IS goes on their corrupting ways.

IF ONE HOP FROM THE DARK TO THE LIGHT OK LAH RAKYAT MIGHT HVE A GOOD FUTURE, BUT IF ONE HOP FROM THE LIGHT TO THE DARK, NOT OK LAH BCOS U MIGHT JUST HOP INTO THE JAMBAN. PAKATAN RAKYAT is new and therefore has not been CORRUPTED AS BE END, Aminah OOps sori Ameno and its Insignificant Others. smilies/grin.gif

Imagine a former leader shouting from the sidelines can think that this is comical, he started all these, if d cake is growing and growing, RAKYAT able to eat can continue with their lives they being a peaceful lot don't really bother abt politics but when the cake is shrinking day by day and those who did not previously worked as hard as the RAKYAT and still wants more and more then RAKYAT START TO THINK, why all these CORRUPTORS STILL AROUND, and the CAKE BELONGS TO ALL MALAYSIANS not the IMMORAL FEW WHO ARE TASKED, GIVEN A SACRED DUTY TO PROTECT IT BUT INSTEAD HAVE BEEN EATING FROM IT.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by mansel, February 08, 2009 13:30:40
why arent any of the PR member video records when they are being offered money, you just need to be creative on how to bring down someone..

written by SiHangChai, February 08, 2009 19:03:29
Anwar is greedy and lost touch with the mission and purpose of PKR. This has happened now, BUT Karpal should not asked Anwar to step down as Pakatan President! People makes mistake, and Anwar has indeed made the biggest. Lets this be a lesson to all Pakatan members and move forward to chased-out those BN bastards!
written by faridw, February 08, 2009 22:47:38
Sajak oleh Zambry al-Kutty

Mari, Mari, Mari
Kita ke Perak untuk berjubli,
Sambil itu kita berdiri
Satu kerajaan hadhari ala Badawi.

Dengan pompuan sundal Hee yang jual tubuh sendiri,
Campur tiga jantan rendah moral dan mentaliti,
Kerajaan halal yang rakyat undi
BN telah ganti dengan mandat Najis sendiri.

Pelacur politik boleh jadi ahli,
Rasuah seks pun boleh jadi menteri.
Ini kita belajar dari Robert di Zimbabwe,
Cara licit ketepi demokrasi.

Esok bila Mugabe jadi 'refugee',
Kita bagi dia villa di Langawi.
Dia duduk sini sikit lama lagi,
Kita bagi dia Maal Hijrah punya trofi.