Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow As anger simmers, Najib stays away from Ipoh

As anger simmers, Najib stays away from Ipoh PDF Print
Sunday, 08 February 2009 09:54
By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

The tense atmosphere in Perak has prompted Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak to skip Chinese New Year festivities in the Perak state capital.

Najib was scheduled to attend a new year dinner at SRJK (C) Yuk Choi in Ipoh but will now remain in Kuala Lumpur.

No official reason was given but The Malaysian Insider understands that it was to avoid aggravating an already tense situation.

Police presence in the state capital is still evident with roadblocks guarding the Umno headquarters and the state still buzzing about the clashes between protesters and police that accompanied the swearing in of the Umno menteri besar in Kuala Kangsar, about 30 minutes from Ipoh, yesterday.

Text messages are also being sent out asking people to boycott the function or hold candlelight vigils.

Many Pakatan Rakyat supporters have also camped out at the official residence of the menteri besar, which has now become Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin's "seat of government".

Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir, who was sworn in as menteri besar yesterday, has said that Nizar can take his time to vacate the residence and he will continue using his current home in Ipoh for the moment.

The Malaysian Insider has also learnt that Zambry will likely skip the dinner as well and concentrate on a meeting tonight with Umno division leaders and state assemblymen to discuss recent developments.

Discussions are ongoing to determine the new state executive council line-up.

Zambry will likely have to make a trip down to Kuala Lumpur to brief Najib on the list now that the latter will not be coming to Ipoh.

The proposed state executive council list is expected to be finalised by mid-afternoon tomorrow and then presented to the Sultan for his approval.

Rehearsals for the swearing-in ceremony will be held on Monday and the actual swearing in is on Tuesday.

written by Hello Keithy, February 08, 2009 09:59:22
The Perakians' anger is simmering to a all-time political "boiling point". And the message is we don't want a privately chosen MB. Neither do we want criminals at our CNY celebrations. So pack your bags and crawl back into your hole. To be exact, Hee Yit Foong's ar**hole.
written by ylcc, February 08, 2009 10:03:56
Najib has been grinning from ear to ear last week. He was practically oozing with confidence. Why so scared now? Did the brave Kuala Kangsar folks give him a scare that day?
written by angkasawan bocor, February 08, 2009 10:11:45
Hee Yit Foong says she was forced to leave DAP.

A frog, a bitch, a traitor and now a LIAR.
written by SiHangChai, February 08, 2009 10:41:49
Lets throw shoes at Najis if we see him smilies/angry.gif
written by krising1, February 08, 2009 11:03:09
A true coward this son of Razak turned out to be! He is afraid to show his face in a state which he so bravely coveted! Looks like somebody did not take the temperature readings of Perakians correctly. We are cheered by this surprise response by Perakians.
written by borneoman, February 08, 2009 11:18:49
written by SiHangChai, February 08, 2009 10:41:49
Lets throw shoes at Najis if we see him smilies/angry.gif
you can do that in kuching when he come to sarawak 12/02/2009 to buy the bidayuh/land dayak politicians.
written by mulut murai, February 08, 2009 11:19:50
Berani kerana benar, takut kerana salah

Macamana seorang yang pengecut boleh menjadi PM?
Tentunya tidak boleh!

Tapi di Malaysia.....semua Boleh!!
Memalukan!
written by Hakim Joe, February 08, 2009 11:20:25
As anger simmers, Najib stays away from Ipoh

Can't blame him...anyone with half a brain will do so and...
he does have half a brain...

written by smeagrooo, February 08, 2009 11:22:36
Malaysians Mudah Lupa.

How long can we hold this anger towards the new regime? Will we forget once GE13 comes in say 2012? That is a good 3 years to go. BN would hv thrown many sweets along the way to appease the rakyat starting with the tariff change for electricity.

Will we be hoodwinked?
written by Tompios, February 08, 2009 11:51:12
Najib enjoying himself with all compliments from his staffs. No time go anywhere!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 08, 2009 12:07:45
As anger simmers, Najib stays away from Ipoh

DONT WORRY, IT WILL REACH BOILING POINT AT THE NEXT GE OR ANY BY ELECTION.
WE ARE THANKFUL TO THIS NAJIS FOR SHOWING THE NATION HOW HE WORKS AND GETS
THINGS DONE HIS WAY. THIS IS THE PEEM WE ARE GOING TO HV.
written by sahabat, February 08, 2009 12:13:08
Believe it, Malaysia will be a laughing stock under Najib. He is full of controversies. Is he qualified to the next PM?
written by lamakawan, February 08, 2009 12:23:46
Why is Najib scared of coming to Ipoh?
What has he done wrong to the people there?
Is he still the deputy prime minister?
Is he elected by the people to be prime minister?
A people's representative must be liked by the majority of the people. He is avoiding the people means he is not liked by the people or he is afraid rotten eggs might be thrown at him?
He dared not come because he has done something wrong to the people. He has illegally eliminated peoples menteri besar .. he instals his own version of menteri besar on his running dog.
How can we support a deputy prime minister who is afraid to contact with his rakyat? How can we have a prime minister who does not want to celebrate a festive occasion with his rakyat.?
This is certainly a no no for prime minister.
written by asguard, February 08, 2009 12:45:52
That idiot Najis think that he can get away after what he has done in perak never! Justice will be serve...in coming General Election!
written by Prem, February 08, 2009 12:51:16
Democracy and the rights of the People was simply ignored as usual. I wonder what will be fates of investors???Should be okay with bag load of 'ang pow'!!!!!I suppose.Malaysia BOLEH!!!!!
written by sauber21, February 08, 2009 12:56:17
Najib
u take my home state with your money.

u better witness yourself your face step on by thousand of Perakians, even the vehicles willing to roll on you.

Najib
you are new Hitler, Bush.
love to war and killings.

written by atsanee, February 08, 2009 12:58:46
How I wish I was the salesman for Humvee.
the new perak government Excos will not be travelling around in their Camries or their Perdanas. Under current circumstances,they will surely need American made Humvees to protect against explosives,rotten eggs,flying shoes and the rakyat's curses.
Forgot to mention specially protected Rolls Royces and Jaguar limosines for you know who.....
written by Hello Keithy, February 08, 2009 13:32:49
One of the banners along the streets in Ipoh, Perak. What so "mesra" about it to the rakyat, I wonder ? The important thing to them is the side income from over-billings of functions. That's what BN is good for.

written by shamadz72, February 08, 2009 13:41:48
This is the only wise decision he has done so far, knowing very well that he might end up having some stranger shoes on his face. As I said earlier, my advice to Najib is to watch your back and make sure nobody wear shoes when meeting up with you. You never know when you gonna get it! smilies/smiley.gif

written by MAMR, February 08, 2009 14:05:21
"The tense atmosphere in Perak has prompted Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak to skip Chinese New Year festivities in the Perak state capital".

Based on the above statement, previously in Permatang Pauh he experienced a mineral water bottle thrown at him.Next time maybe he will experience pair of shoes thrown at him just like his friend Bush the butcher, and some how may be in the future he will have something worse thrown at him. Whatever, I think he deserved it.

written by peter, February 08, 2009 15:21:54
Najis and Zam-zam should have sent Hee-haw to officiate the function. In fact she should be made timbalan ketua menteri. She will love that, then she can bray a kurap'ted donkey.
written by eow_eow, February 08, 2009 15:46:40
Najis did not come to Ipoh to attend the MCA sponsored CNY do. This proves even his team of C4 experts cant guarantee his safety and neither is he trusting his MCA lap dogs with their friendship and invitation to dine and rejoice of their perceived success in Perak.
written by raven1958, February 08, 2009 23:34:11
Najib....you thought like your fatheryou will get away with murder...not this time buddy....your days are numbered...watch out ...that helicopter of yours may just crash....both Azlan and Nazrin will pay heavily for their misdeeds....this is just the beginning...better line up all your UMNO YOUTH GOONS and rempits that you can....