Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow What the Law implies

What the Law implies PDF Print
Saturday, 07 February 2009 23:43

The Law is a system of rules and regulations enforced through a set of legal institutions, used as an instrument to support civil obedience, politics, economics and society. The Law emphasizes equality, fairness, liberty and justice just as it metes out punishment for those who chose to break them.

In a democratic country wannabe such as Malaysia, the Law of the Land is paramount. Even in a communist country, there are laws to govern the country. The only lawless place is probably on Mars.

The Malaysian Law states that the State Constitution will be utilized as a governing factor to guide us in time of such calamity as is happening now in the state of Perak. It states as a fact that Sultan of Perak must approve the position of Menteri Besar before it is exclusively granted to the winning political party in a state election. However, it makes no mention of whether the Sultan possesses the authority to forcibly remove this Menteri Besar at any time for whatever reasons.

In such a situation, the MB can only be removed from his office if he resigns (either voluntarily or was forced to) or a successful vote of no confidence is directed against him in a formal sitting of the State Assembly. The pertinent question now is whether such events have occurred. Did Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin resign from office? Secondly, was he removed from office through a formal vote of no confidence in the State Assembly? The answers to both questions are “NO”. It would therefore legally be assumed that Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is still acting in the capacity of the Menteri Besar of the Malaysian state of Perak.

If this is the case, then the Sultan of Perak has erred when he demanded Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin to resign from office, as he has no overriding authority to do so. Additionally, the PDRM have exceeded their power when they denied the legal Menteri Besar access to his own office. Removing all his things and personal items from the MB’s office is criminal and can be construed as theft. The Palace also has also no legal right to organize a ceremony to instill a new Menteri Besar, especially when the legal Menteri Besar is still in existence.

Having said, where does this lead us? The allegedly impartial and independent Elections Committee has shown their allegiance to the Federal Government when they illegally rejected the resignation letters submitted by the Speaker of the Perak State Assembly when they possess no discretionary powers to doing so. PDRM is also in the same quandary when they took over the State Secretariat building and ejecting the rightful state government from their offices. Even the Bar Council is finally showing its spots when they stated, “the prerogative of the Sultan cannot be challenged in court”. My question to the Bar Council is this, “Even when it is illegal?”

So, if the illegal BN State Government of Perak convenes an illegal state assembly, there can be no vote of a no confidence against the legal MB, right? Since there was no resignation letter and no formal vote as such, Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is still the MB of Perak, right? The answers to those questions lay inside a Court of Law but since the Bar Council said that “the prerogative of the Sultan cannot be challenged in court”, where does it leave us?

One last question, “Is the Word of Law still pertinent here in Malaysia?”

- Hakim Joe

written by aliseman, February 07, 2009 23:53:55
taik palat, duitku. Taik palat, duitku.
written by SocratesI, February 07, 2009 23:58:17

There is only the Word of the Warlords - Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization, no Word of Law can exist in this sort of environment !!

written by JohnQ, February 08, 2009 00:02:28
It's akin to letting the robber to tell the whole world that the house and its properties belongs to him after storming in without consent from the rightful owner!
written by khoosl11, February 08, 2009 00:03:23
Firstly, I'm a Malaysia and I love my country, my King very much. And I do respect the respective Sultans as head of their respective states. Having said that, I also want to say that NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW. I learned this during the Mahatair era.

I just wonder, is BN so desprate?
written by Bama boy, February 08, 2009 00:13:11
Dear rpk and the gang this is Raj a malaysian student studying in Alabama USA love you guys i learn a lot from MT and not forgeting you too Ahmadneil i love your comment if any one come to US please come and visit me in Alabama my email This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by joeawk, February 08, 2009 00:14:36
The Bar Coiuncil chairman had erred and the People of Perak must demand that she retract what she said and apologise. It is not her business to bodek the BN or the sultan.

Looks like she does not read constoitution .
written by sahabat, February 08, 2009 00:15:22
The voluminous anger, dissapointment and condemnation from the people I'm sure both the Sultan and son could not sleep well. They blame themselves for letting Najib to use them.

The Sultan and son have been telling the people to do what they (sultan and son) say but they themselves broke their own words. Shameful isn't it?
written by Malaysiaku, February 08, 2009 00:20:26
A brillantly written article! I cannot agree with it more!

Sultan or not, one has to remember that the days of the 'Lanun' is over. People are also not as stupid as they were before and are more willing to speak their minds.

As far as I am concern, looking at all the circumstances and chain of events, Nizar is in my eyes the legal and rightful MB as with PKR the legal government of Perak State.

BTW, with such arbitary decisions from the Sultan (an ex-Lord President as well), I dread the day where more powers were to be given to these royalties. Hope that will never ever happen. Mahathir was right after all to cut their powers.

written by DreamLady, February 08, 2009 00:23:21
Hakim Joe, I appreciate your crystal clear write-up without poluting it with impurities. A professional and responsible journalist displays facts and figures, with unbiased notes to compare, regardless his personal opinion is what the rakyat Malaysia truly need in this trying time. Thank you for your upright composure and sincerity analyzing an event as it is, without distorting the actual scenario.

Keep up with the good work, and may God bless you and family!!!
written by truthreallyhurts, February 08, 2009 00:37:07
In Bodohland, there is no such thing as Supremacy of the Law. In Bodohland, there is only Supremacy of the Wallet. The correct correct correct truth is, whoever wields the biggest wallets inevitably wins. It is irrelevant that the big fat wallet is stuffed with money stolen from taxpayers.
written by SiHangChai, February 08, 2009 00:41:50
Since the begining, it was proven that the EC has been erred in their functions and has not act as an independent electoral agency. Instead it chooses to continue to be BN's manipulation source from its failure to clean up the electoral list to creation of phantom voters. In addition, the agency has been neglience and has abuse its power and lying about the supposed 'ink' to be used in last election.

It is very clear that the new Perak govt is an illegal govt where Najib has intentionally misled the Sultan of Perak by bring all the BN and 'Independent' ADUNs as though as they are all BN ADUNs. In regardless of whether there exists a anti-hopping' law, common sense law tells that when an ADUN resigns from the party, he/she automatically should cease from being ADUN. However, the person should be given the rights to see for re-contest again. Again, the EC has committed erroreous decision for not acting on this.

While it concluded that BN has only 27 seats instead of 28 as the Nasarrudin is said to have resigned from UMNO as part of the plot with the 3 ex-PKR has resigned from their party. Therefore their seats should be automatically vacanted, and the Sultan of Perak should not be acting on Najib's fairy-tale facts. Now, the Sultan, despite being the ex-Lord President has totally made a decision that against the constitution, and the very basic of common law and overturned the votes that the Perak people has gave to PKR to govern the state. It would be a curious to the public how such decision is made, but with more and more evidence coming up like the GAMUDA link to the daughter of Sultan, and between GAMUDA and BN, it added more spice and doubt to the rakyat on the Sultan's decision. The DYMM Sultan has a duty to explain to his rakyat.

PKR and Karpal Singh have every rights to challenge the Sultan's decision in court as the Sultan himself being the former learnt Lord President, knew that the court is the last avenue to solve the confusion, and whether the 4 ADUNS resignations has actually vacanted their ADUN seats. There is no question of the important role of the court that even a former Lord President has also commented the same that the fate of PKR govt, in all fairness, should be at the hand of the court and not the Sultan.

written by Sinewy, February 08, 2009 00:57:33
Rules and Laws are man made. When the apllication of a rule or law defies human logics, conscience and dignity, then human wisdom should be called upon to make a more correct and just decision which is more accurately representing the rights of the majority of the people. It is surprising that a learned leader fails to understand and act with such wisdom and choose to blindly follow the man made rules and laws at the expense and displeasure of the majority of the rakyat. If the sultan loves his subject, why take the right away from them to choose the government of their choice and make them suffer in the hand of a government which is not elected by them? How can the sultan allow the indignified action of three ordinary citizens decide the fate of the majority?
written by tgalexei, February 08, 2009 01:13:05
In this 'Bolehland', anything is possible (anything means bad things, of course). The sad part is, the current EC, PDRM, and above them all, BN, knows that they have tainted their image so bad that the people will spit on their face whenevr they surface (if the people allowed to). But, I still cannot believe HRH Sultan of Perak can spoil people trust on HRH. The people are left with no one to trust! Don't tell to trust PR, they themselves are having garbages in their parties.
written by Fuminari, February 08, 2009 01:17:59
from now on,anyone in this bolehland can get an automatic divorce!jus lodge a report at the nearest police station stating that u hav signed the marriage doc. under duress from ur partner n there u would go n off the hook.
written by adan, February 08, 2009 01:22:50
'The only lawless place is probably MARS.' I wasn't aware that MALAYSIA has been renamed as 'MARS'
written by pokokmangga, February 08, 2009 01:52:17
Hakim Joe,
I have been following the events unfolding and am still beside myself seething with anger, disappointmnet, sadness and grieving but is able to stay calm and collected. I have read vary many opinions, comments and sections of the laws relating to this situation being repeated by vary many legal eagles and scholars.

However, I must say you have set out this so very simple, straight forward and crystal clear. I have no doubt that in the eyes of the current legislation in Perak and Malaysia, Dato' Seri Nizar is rightful Mentri Besar of Perak elected by the good people and I sincerely hope this wrong will be right in due course.
written by michael, February 08, 2009 02:02:14
What does the law implies for the average Joe like me.

We have a Monarchy as an added Level of Governance to protect the Constitutions of this land, call it an Insurance if you like. Just in case the Written Laws are unclear, we will also "Have As A Last Resort" the Monarchy to uphold the Spirit of the Laws, which is basically in there to protect the interest of the Rakyat.

In the Perak case, most everyone who is honest enough knows that the interest of the Rakyat has been deeply compromised by an "unhealthy" takeover of the State Government. One would expect that the Highest Level of Governance meaning the Sultan would rule against this takeover. Well, the rest is ...... History.

And if I am a Perakian, I will proudly declare that I have only ONE Mentri Besar, and his name is Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin. And let me tell you this, "Dato Seri is a Good and Upright man"

written by NSTPravda, February 08, 2009 02:20:38
Gunakan lah! Budaya rasuah kita
Boleh-lah! Beli polis dan raja
Majukan-lah! Budaya rasuah kita
Ikut-lah! Kelakuan pemimpin kita!

Berhati lah! Tanpa ringgit semua ta’ ada
Ada duit, boleh beli polis dan raja
Sokong-lah! Gaya rasuah perdana kita
Ikut-lah! Buatan mentri semua

Mari-lah! Mari rakyat semua
Majukan budaya rasuah
Sokong-lah! Rasuah Negara

Mari-lah! Mari rakyat semua
Majukan budaya rasuah
Rasuah jiwa bangsa!

Mari-lah! Mari yakin semua
Majukan budaya rasuah
Rasuah jiwa bangsa!

Duit-lah tuan ku!
Duit-lah tuan ku! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Susanna, February 08, 2009 02:38:38
Why have laws in our country when the leaders are so lawless in their ways to maintain power by hook or by crook? Mostly by crook which is why rakyat are so angry about! If this lawlessness state continues, I am not surprised one day, provoke the rakyat so much they will take law into their own hands and start a revolution. Afterall the leaders are abiding the rule of law, why expect the others to do so?
written by cruzeiro, February 08, 2009 03:21:29
I'm with you Hakim!
written by gx27, February 08, 2009 04:23:15
lord president or warlord?
written by red1, February 08, 2009 06:21:51
The PDRM cannot act outside the law, take it into their own hands or interpret it to their whims. The officers too cannot allow 500 year old sentiment enter their judgement. After all their salaries are paid not by gold nuggets from Slim River or from the Sultan's treasury. This is a modern tax-paying state governed by laws such as this Artikel XVI(6). That is why we all go to schools for.

written by educationist, February 08, 2009 07:13:28
The UMNOputras have used a henchman law professor from UM in the MSM to declare that the former lord President acted within his authority.
Even the Bar Council is cowed and shivering in their pants[or is it skirts] at the prospect of challenging the sultan's perogrative.
So, Hakim your piece is heartwarming at a time when the forces of evil have the upper hand. Yes, the Elections Commission and Police are their cohorts not to mention that petty state secretary but we can find solace that Nizar's government is legal though devoid of all powers.
written by Mr Smith, February 08, 2009 08:25:38
Well said Joe,
We are descending into a lawless country, like Zimbabwe. The legal Perak government is being driven away from office and accused of crimes when the real perpetrators of undemocratic actions are the Police, EC, Ruler and Federal government. They are trampling on our law with impunity.
This event is a precursor of more trampling of the constitution and the people's will.
I dread to think what would happen to this country if we do not defend democracy. Have they given a thought to our children's future. As for many of us, we are at the tail end of our lives.This country belongs to them.

BN can join forces with the Police, Royalty and Election Commission to rob the Perak government but you CANNOT win the people.
For heaven sake, give a blessed democratic country to our children. Don't destroy it.
written by joeyhuang, February 08, 2009 08:43:03
Dear YB Hee Yit Foong,
Watching through the eyes of Kong Ming (Zhu Ke Liang), I salute your dedication and brave act in sacrificing yourself in this Red Cliff battle. Keep up your faith and my support to your family members facing the public humiliation.

Yes we have Liu Pei's Shu Kingdom (Anwar), Wu Kingdom and Wei Kingdom (PAS & DAP) joining forces to face Tsao Tsao, the Prime Minister of Han Dynasty (Najib of BN) in 208A.D. (http://www.china-on-site.com/pages/comic/102.php)

Thank you for your bravery and self-sacrifice. I strongly believe Pakatan Rakyat is MOVING towards the Right Direction in this WAR. A DISASTER looming for UMNO and BN as this war rages on.

The WEATHER is now in favor of PAKATAN, they have the PEOPLE on their side now!!!

For our non-Chinese Malaysians, go to see the movie Red Cliff2 and you will undertsand this Battle in Perak!

MCA Life Member Bagan Division
written by lamakawan, February 08, 2009 10:10:26
Let me express my private opinion on experience about our country's law regarding removing someone from his habitat, be it office or residence.
No one can enter an individual's property, ( be it house or flat or office ) without the authority's permit, i.e. warrant of arrest, special order from OCPD, etc.
Let alone removing all the belongings, including emptying all the drawers of Nizar's office, etc.
An action by force to enter and/or remove properties in this case, can only and only be effected after a court order has been obtained. This must be accompanied by court baillifs as stipulated in the court order. This is only performed after eviction notices had been given and the necessary allowed time to vacate has expired.
Here we are witnessing the BN dogs going back to the dark ages and applying the law of the jungle . They forced into Nizar's office in the middle of the night and removed his properties in this manner. Is democracy putting in the reverse gear for us?
May I ask the BN gomen what is their objective in doing such actions.? What are they trying to achieve before the March 2009 takeover by Najib?
written by morbidangel, February 08, 2009 13:26:56
Dato' Seri, you are the most respectful MB that Perak ever have and we Perakians exclude UMNO/BN/MCA/MIC morons are always support you come rain or shine. InsyaAllah the truth will prevail with the help of God Almighty. BN made a terrible big blunder and can't wait to see it becomes HISTORY for years to come.
written by hakuna, February 08, 2009 13:41:46
Hakim Joe - spot on.

Are all sane people on the other side of the fence? Reckon $$$$$$ are more important - GREEDYYYY!!!!