Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow What more to say?

What more to say? PDF Print
Saturday, 07 February 2009 15:32

If I were in Umno I would do exactly the same. I would use the immense wealth that Umno possesses to buy over the prostitutes in Pakatan Rakyat. Anyway, is that not what we want Anwar Ibrahim to do? We want Anwar to form a new federal government by enticing at least 30 Parliamentarians from Barisan Nasional to cross over to the opposition.

Many ask why I have been very silent the last 48 hours. Well, that is because I sudah menyampah. Why scream now? If we want to scream make sure we do it before the ship sinks. Once we are in the water we should save our breath for breathing -- if we can keep our heads above water, that is. If not, then quietly drown and die with some dignity. At least you will be remembered for someone who died in style.

There is a time to talk. There is a time to act. Now is no longer the time to talk. So can all those people who keep sending me messages via SMS about ‘you must do this’ or ‘you must do that’ please stop doing so. You are just wasting your money. I don’t even read them. I just delete them without reading any of them. Stop telling me what I should do. If you feel something should be done, go and do it yourself.

Okay, I am down with a bad flu so I am in a very bad mood today. Even my wife is staying out of my way. I have not been sleeping because every time I do I start coughing violently. This article, for sure, is being written with me in a most foul mood indeed.

In spite of the flu I drove up to Ipoh on Thursday but came home that same night because I had to go to court the following morning (yesterday). I am sure many of you who met me in Ipoh noticed I was not my usual friendly self. Sorry if I appeared sombong but I was feeling real bad on Thusday.

To add to that list of aggravations, I am in the midst of preparing for three court cases next week -- my sedition, criminal defamation and ISA hearings. Yes, I am going to be locked up in three different courts almost the entire week. And chances are, I might be sent back to Kamunting to spend the remaining years of my life under detention if I lose.

I wrote the following pieces in the run-up to Thursday:

Constitutional Monarchy, rule of law and good governance
(5 Feb) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17646/84/)

How to bring a government down (4 Feb) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17609/84/)

If fresh state elections are held in Perak
(4 Feb) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17586/84/)

Santa Claus is coming to town (2 Feb) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17494/84/)

No two ways about it: DISSOLVE the Perak State Assembly (2 Feb) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17494/84/)

Live by the sword, die by the sword (31 Jan) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17434/84/)

I just love this country (27 Jan) (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17284/84/)

As you can see, I have already said what I wanted to say. There is nothing more I can add about an event that is already a fait accompli. Nasi sudah jadi bubur, as the Malays would say.

About a week ago, a few of us sat down to discuss the impending collapse of the Perak government. It was suggested we speak to the Pakatan Rakyat leaders, which we did. Our recommendation was that they dissolve the Perak State Assembly and hold fresh state elections while Pakatan Rakyat still has the majority in the Assembly. Once Pakatan Rakyat has lost that majority it will be too late. No way will the Sultan agree to the request to dissolve the Perak State Assembly once you no longer command the majority in the Assembly.

But the Pakatan Rakyat leaders would not listen. They still have things under control, they remarked. We did not think so and we told them this. But who are we to ‘teach grandmothers how to suck eggs’, as Malaysians would say? If we are so smart then how come they, and not us, are the party leaders. We would be sitting in their chairs, instead, if we are cleverer than them. Politicians do not think much of you if you do not hold any party positions. They only respect those who hold positions in political parties and government, not those outside mainstream politics.

Everyone is an expert on hindsight. Only good leaders have foresight. And our leaders lack just that, foresight. They are very clever when it comes to reacting to situations. But they know nothing about pre-empting. Why react, especially when it is too late? You must be able to pre-empt before it is too late to do anything. This is what our leaders lack, the skill to pre-empt.

When the Rulers of Perlis and Terengganu ‘interfered’ in Umno’s choice of Menteri Besar, we hailed them as great Rulers who are full of justice and wisdom. When the Rulers agreed to allow Pakatan Rakyat to form the Perak and Selangor state governments, they are the best Rulers in the world. Whenever things go our way we are full of praise. But as soon as the decision does not favour us they are haprak Rulers.

The Rulers are a disappointment. We are disgusted with our Rulers. Our Rulers sold out to Umno. Malaysia should abolish the Monarchy and turn the country into a Republic. And so on and so forth. That is what is on the lips of many Malaysians. But if the Rulers had favoured the opposition, even though they did so in violation of the law and the Constitution, we will hail the Rulers as amongst the best in the world.

Actually, the Perak and Selangor Rulers were worried that the Pakatan Rakyat state governments of these two states would not last, in particular in Perak, which had a very slim majority. That is why there was a week’s delay in swearing in the Perak and Selangor state governments.

And can you blame the Rulers? DAP had said it will not sit at the same table as PAS, let alone form a coalition government with it, if PAS does not openly and publicly declare it will abandon the Islamic State agenda. PAS, on the other hand, said it shall not openly and publicly declare such a thing. That means DAP and PAS can never form a coalition.

The Rulers of Perak and Selangor then called all the State Assemblymen and women from DAP, PKR and PAS and asked them, one by one, whether they agree to the formation of coalition governments in Perak and Selangor. The coalition can only be formed if all three parties -- DAP, PKR and PAS -- agree to it. Even if just one of the three do not agree, then Pakatan Rakyat will not have enough seats to form the governments in both Perak and Selangor.

The DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women indicated their agreement. But this still did not satisfy the Rulers. You can say one thing now, but what is there to prevent you from changing your minds later? So the Rulers asked the DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women for both Perak and Selangor to sign letters confirming this agreement. Only then will the Rulers agree to swear in the new state governments.

It was, in a way, a contract of sorts. The Rulers wanted all the DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women from Perak and Selangor to sign a contract stating that they agree to the formation of a three-party coalition and that there are no dissenters from amongst the ranks of DAP, PKR and PAS.

Then the fight broke out. DAP, PKR and PAS could not agree on how to share out the EXCO positions, the racial quotas, who should hold the posts of Menteri Besar and Speaker, and so on. In Selangor, some DAP State Assemblymen organised demonstrations. In Perak, they threatened to boycott the swearing-in ceremony. Even the trivial matter of the wearing of the songkok during the swearing-in ceremony became a hot issue and almost brought the coalition down before it could even be formed.

The Perak and Selangor Rulers had their doubts. They doubted whether the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition, now called Pakatan Rakyat, could last. DAP, PKR and PAS had very little in common and were always squabbling over minor issues. And they argued about party and racial quotas just like Barisan Nasional. Pakatan Rakyat is as racist as Barisan Nasional. It appeared like there is very little difference between Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional.

Nevertheless, the Perak and Selangor Rulers decided to give Pakatan Rakyat a chance. Let Pakatan Rakyat prove that not only it can do a better job but it can also keep the coalition going. If the coalition breaks up, then a decision would have to be made, later, what to do about it. In the meantime, allow Pakatan Rakyat to prove it can last at least one full term until the next general election.

Then we began to hear grumblings. This State Assemblyman was not happy and wanted to resign. That State Assemblywoman was not happy and wanted to resign. Barely one year into the marriage and the marriage appeared to be breaking up. The Indians complained about not having enough Indian quotas. The Chinese grumbled about having the most number of seats but not being able to become Menteri Besar. The Malays grumbled about the ‘Chinese’ government not looking after the Malays.

It was all about race and about so-and-so being neglected and not being looked after better. Suddenly it was no longer about the rakyat. It was about your personal interest and position and about the quotas your race is being denied. Pakatan Rakyat was nothing but Barisan Nasional by another name.

What happened in Perak is good. I hope it will teach Pakatan Rakyat that it has to get its act together. The DAP lady’s crossover was triggered by something very trivial and goes to show she is more concerned about herself than about her party or about the rakyat. Everyone got a new Camry except her. So she sulked (merajuk) and left the party. If she had been given a new car she would not have sulked. A mere car brought the Perak government down.

If this is what brought the Perak government down, then it deserves to fall. The Pakatan Rakyat government in Perak used to be a non-Malay majority government. Now, it is an almost entirely Malay government. 27 of the 28 State Assemblymen are from Umno. Even if the three ‘independents’ join the new government it will be 29 Malays against only two Chinese. And there is not a single Indian State Assemblyman/woman in the new government.

What took 52 years of transformation has been destroyed in a mere days. Today, we are back to an entirely Malay government in Perak. And a DAP State Assemblywoman helped achieve this. A Chinese made the restoration of maruah Melayu (Malay dignity) possible. She should be given the next Ma'al Hijrah award and be accorded Bumiputera status.

I can only say that this serves Pakatan Rakyat right. They had it coming. When personal interests and racial issues override everything else, you deserve to fall. And there are many low quality wakil rakyat still in Pakatan Rakyat -- DAP, PKR, as well as PAS. Expect more to cross over. The RM25 million dangled in front of their faces is just too difficult to say no to. After all, not everyone is in politics to serve the rakyat. Many are in it for their personal interests. And RM25 million is an attractive proposition.

Next time, get better candidates. Some of the Pakatan Rakyat wakil rakyat are so low standard I would not even trust them to baby-sit my dog. I would not deny there are some good wakil rakyat in Pakatan Rakyat, some even better than those from Barisan Nasional. But all we need are 30% bad ones to bring the party down, especially when you are barely surviving with a 10% majority in Parliament or the state assemblies.

Okay, Umno bought over our wakil rakyat. So what? If they are not for sale then Umno could not have been able to buy them. It is like prostitution. If there are clients then there will be prostitutes. It is the law of supply and demand. If there are no takers then there can be no givers as well. Simple!

We all know that Umno has tons of money. And RM10 million is nothing to Umno. If the Pakatan Rakyat people are so unprincipled then whom do we blame? Why blame Umno? Blame our people who worship money and pray to the Ringgit. Blame Pakatan Rakyat for fielding low quality people to contest the elections.

You can take the man out of the kampong but you can’t take the kampong out of the man. Low quality people can’t suddenly become high quality just because they are now wakil rakyat. They will still remain low quality and will kowtow to money because they have no maruah (dignity). That is, after all, what prostitutes do. They open their legs for money. And many in Pakatan Rakyat are prostitutes while those who manage prostitutes and called pimps.

If I were in Umno I would do exactly the same. I would use the immense wealth that Umno possesses to buy over the prostitutes in Pakatan Rakyat. Anyway, is that not what we want Anwar Ibrahim to do? We want Anwar to form a new federal government by enticing at least 30 Parliamentarians from Barisan Nasional to cross over to the opposition. Najib did in Perak exactly what we want Anwar to do at federal level. So, why the sudden outrage? What if three State Assemblymen in Negerl Sembilan cross over and Pakatan Rakyat gets to form the new Negeri Sembilan state government? Would we still express outrage?

Let’s face it: we lost. Let’s just lick our wounds and learn from this bitter experience. Our leaders were stupid and we paid for this stupidity. We chose poor quality people as candidates. We knew that Umno was trying to buy over our wakil rakyat. We knew they would eventually succeed. But we just stood and watched without launching a pre-emptive strike -- such as dissolving the state assembly when there was time to do so and when we still had the power to do so.

That is the long and short of it. Let us lose like gentlemen. Sure, they did not play fair. The Sultan should not have forced the MB’s resignation or appointed a new MB from Umno when Nizar did not resign. Sure, there are questions of whether it was legal to do what the Sultan did. But he did, fair or otherwise. And the Sultan could not have done so had we been cleverer. We left the door open and they walked in. We should take the blame for that rather than moan and bitch. And, next time, lock all the doors. Thieves are thieves and will always be thieves. But we were sloppy and that allowed the thieves to get in. There is no denying that.

We lost the battle. But we are yet to lose the war. That is the big picture. So focus on the big picture and see how we can eventually win the war. That is more important. And how do we turn defeat into victory? How can we menang dalam kalah? We can turn defeat into victory if our leaders are clever. My only worry is whether they are clever enough to do this. Let us see.

Comments (223)Add Comment
written by medicshan, February 07, 2009 16:15:10
In spite of a paroxysmal night cough disturbing you, and the multitude of court cases burdening you, you have hit the nail on the head with your article.
disagree 30
agree 923
written by OVERLORD, February 07, 2009 16:16:57
RPK...I'am sure after this muck-up, they will be more willing to listen.... Please forgive PR as they are still in their infancy stages....They need your assistance...WE need you as our rock of Gibraltar!!!
disagree 30
agree 527
written by soulsberry, February 07, 2009 16:17:24
All along whenever I read the speeches delivered by Perak Sultan and The Prince, I was always believed that when rakyat was bullied and robbed, some conscience Sultans will be there to product us. Well, it doesn't seem like that. Since yesterday I can feel like needle through my heart.

How and who can we turn to next time? When even the sultan and his son that positioned themselves as conscience of Malaysia; the voices of reason and logic and guardians of the Federal Constitution turned away from their beloved rakyat.

Please, the PR government in Perak is well liked by Perakians, it is not Perakians that want the change of government but a bunch of improper politicians. Please don't shut down the chance for Perakians to decide their leader.

Ampun Tuanku, I sincerely plead for your kindness to re consider your early decision.

Daulat Tuanku.

Yours sincerely.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/927550
disagree 44
agree 292
written by non conformist, February 07, 2009 16:18:20
He that is greedy of gain troubleth his own house; but he that hateth gifts shall live. Proverbs 15:27

The desire to be rich is dangerous to a man's family. He will be tempted to accept bribes or compromise righteousness, which will bring trouble to his wife, children, and estate. But a man that hates bribes or financial compromise will preserve and prosper his family.

Greed is excessive ambition and covetous desire for more than you have or should reasonably expect (1:19; Isaiah 56:11). Gain is financial success or wealth. The proverb condemns desiring to be rich, which leads to compromising godliness and wisdom.

The gifts here are bribes, which are given to pay a man to compromise the law or financial wisdom (29:4; Ex 23:8; Deut 16:19; Is 33:15). A virtuous man will hate such gifts, for he will not sell his integrity or the approval of God for any price.

Read the rest here:
http://letgodbetrue.com/proverbs/15_27.htm
written by Mirage, February 07, 2009 16:18:33

Let me be the first to wish you well and speedy recovery from your flu. As I notice and as we all know, in the world of politics there is no such thing as a real compromise without something being exchange in between. As you rightly said, nasi sudah jadi bubur however that does not mean that all is loss. We have the majority ppl supporting Pakatan and BN knows deep down what they have won is an empty shell. So the question for the fight is what is it that really prove the former MB Nizar does not have the majority support from the constituitional angle which is not accepted by the majority. This also mean the integrity of the choice by the Sultan which is being questioned also carry BIG question mark.

I believe its the ppl power here that will change things. The BN goverment will not give in BUT they will have to succumb to a fresh election. This anyhow is what we really want isn't it....to win fair and square.

Take Care
agree 195
written by tmf, February 07, 2009 16:20:31
DEMORALIZED – BN COUP IN PERAK 6TH FEB 2009

A retired British politician confessed during an interview, on the tactic they used in frustrating the true meaning of democracy:-

“If we were to allow the people to actually have faith in democracy, then we would be ended up being their servants, working day and night, attending to all sorts of requests or needs; or addressing all sorts of issues or problems faced by the electorate.

No, we don’t want that; all we really want is power to control, power to maneuver. Honestly, it’s all about having good lives and excitement for ourselves.

How we go about achieving this was rather simple. First, we used propaganda to confuse them (the electorate), then we used all sorts of government apparatus, such as police force and other enforcement agencies to strike fear into them, and finally we demoralized them by all means during any election to ensure that they lose faith in the democratic process and do not bother to vote. So, eventually, we got elected or gained power with the silent majority watching helplessly.”

From the 5th till 6th of Feb, by taking over power in Perak from PR in the most grotesque way ever, BN/UMNO had succeeded in demoralizing me and my whole family on the democratic process in this country.
agree 152
written by exzonerator, February 07, 2009 16:22:20
Should have given the Assemblywoman a Camry toycar instead.
disagree 16
agree 162
written by Wassupdoc, February 07, 2009 16:26:39
It's now official. There's a checklist that was employed to screen the feasibility of UMNO taking over. So there's no way you could challenge the decision legally, or constitutionally, so to speak...

1. Is the new MB alive? Check
2. Will the new MB listen and behave? Check
3. Is the new MB from UMNO? Check
4. Is my bank account secured? Check
5. Have I checked with my wife? Check
6. Has police been informed and tear gas stocked-up? Check
7. Does all that keep Najib happy? Check
8. Cross-check and arm doors. Check
9. Call my secretary to make press statement. Check
10. Sit back and light my Cuban cigar. Check

Not a difficult decision after all. These ten steps checklist has been rigorously
tested and was found to be comprehensively foolproof, hardproof, sunproof (UVF30, anti-wrinkle) and even bulletproof. It was found to be more effective than the long-proven method, like tossing a coin, or drawing a straw for instance.
So, anymore difficult decision in the future, please refer to checklist.

(I smell fish. Najib is a clever, sly old politician. As the saying goes, only fight the battle you're confident of winning. Najib has got the plan played out right from the start. He only has to pull the string. As for HRH, noticed there's really not much 'thinking process' going on. The plan played out in rapid fire succession in
less than 24 hours. The decision has been made right before there was a decision! The parading of the 31 ADUN members is merely a 'public parade', not so much a 'royal parade'. You could have brought in 31 fried kuey teow seller from Jalan Alor and it won't make two hoot a different. Overall, I smell rats.)

God helps Malaysia.

Long live the power of people.
agree 144
written by jibbief, February 07, 2009 16:28:20
On the dot, Pete. Those morons in PR are now crying becos of their own stupidity. Let them cry their hearts out and then, maybe, they will take stock of the situation and plan for the days ahead.

PR must learn from this or they are doomed. And Chinese heroes in the DAP better get their act together. They may still win big in the GE13 but they may never taste power again.
agree 116
written by Mr Smith, February 07, 2009 16:28:52
Yes, you an angry man. But what makes you think the sultan would have agreed to dissolve the assembly earlier if requested. One must be real dumb to assume the sultan knew nothing about the goings-on in the state and UMNO's attempt to buy reps.
To put it bluntly, the Malays in Perak were unhappy with a Chinese majority government and even more angry that they were going to get land titles. UMNO had to put an end to that. Come on, sir, this was a conspiracy.
disagree 27
agree 351
written by jjireh99, February 07, 2009 16:29:02
ok, i think PKR has fumbled. Lesson learnt. BUT, the fact still remains that the sultan knowing extremely well the sentiments of the rakyat still chooses to side with BN/UMNO-that we cannot swallow but swallow we must! Whether it is right or wrong legally or morally, the people of today has not an ounce of conscience and integrity left in their hearts, whoever they may be, that's all! So, away with dignified and flowery and rhetoric speeches but give us back good morals and conscience. It is a forgotten virtue....tsk..tsk..tsk... so sad. I think I'll migrate after all!
written by briantanchinyeam, February 07, 2009 16:29:13
Pakatan Rakyat,give us something different from BN.In between the March 2008 election campaign,you promise to provide the people,no more racist issues like in BN,but on the other hand,the state govt in Perak proved to us that it was mere lips service.DAP,PAS,and PKR,solve the internal problems before running the state.We still relied on you PR to topple the BN led govt.
written by eloofk, February 07, 2009 16:32:33
Dear RPK, you're right on target. I would recommend to the leaders of PK to read up on the book "Art of War" by Sun Tze if they want to win this war.
written by MikeChen, February 07, 2009 16:34:59
As a Perakian, I am disgusted with what is happening. I am seething and if you are like me lost for words at the shenanigan in the silver state and unable to restraint your anger but still want to stay sane, you can swear and still stay saintly! This blog has a link in how to curse your enemies without losing your cool! smilies/smiley.gif

http://thehingeblogs.********.com/2009/02/verbal-blastings.html
written by NSTPravda, February 07, 2009 16:35:48
Wah, RPK you are waxing philosophical in your old age
You are wise to concede our victory at this stage
A dog is always dog, it is in its nature to bark
Thieves are thieves, will c4 you in the dark

So now you know what we in UMNO can do
You dirty rakyats are but animals in our zoo
We have even managed to infect one ruler, on high
And convinced him of what our money can buy

So why accuse our beloved Najib of commiting any crime
We are only doing what we are good at, time after time
If we are so bad, why are we abetted by a learned royalty?
Along with two new-found UMNO supporters one crippled Hee?

You people are just pussed off becos’ you were being outplayed
Our Najib is a better master, and the jumpers were well payed
We are champions at this corrupt and double-dealing power game
If you don’t know how to steal and deal, you’ve yourselves to blame

Now we have the best state, ruler and renegades that money can buy
There is actually no faithful followers that you can rely
Don’t worry, now in power we can and will start looting right away
Just in case some errant judge rule our victory as not semua-nya OK!

Duit-lah tuan mu!
agree 147
written by lampard, February 07, 2009 16:36:06
RPK, We are in sync!! That was what I commented! Freaking lousy representatives,a kampong old freak, an ex postman and a form 5 failed clerk! Now all can buy Fellali(Ferrari) and live in Perth...!
Encik Anwar, why dont you use better candidates?
screen your people le....For 1, offer RPK a high seat in PKR! He is better than most of your representatives add together!!!
written by SocratesI, February 07, 2009 16:37:06

Pakatan Rakyat has to get its act together and be more pro-active instead of reactive. The leaders would do well to follow Karpal Singh's impeecable example of what principled leadership is all about, and indeed take in and absorb Ku Li's comments too, and learn from there. No cross-overs should have been condoned either way. Sure, it is tempting indeed to dream of cross-overs to enable Pakatan Rakyat to topple Barisan Najis and take over the Govt., but we must remember our bargaining position - Pakatan Rakyat is an Opposition Party, and with no access to the type of financial resources that Barisan Najis has. What can Pakatan Rakyat offer the ADUNs who are willing to prostitute themselves that Barisan Najis cannot double, triple or quadruple the offer ??!!

There are upright people, but amongst the Utterly Moronic Nazi Org. ADUNs maybe only 1 is left - Ku Li, and he won't jump ship 'cos he is a principled man. To the rest, what can possibly move them ?? Money ?? Pakatan does not have as much as Barisan Najis and will be out-gunned hands down. position & power ?? They are the ruling party so what can Pakatan offer them ... and even if they cross-over, 2 things will happen, UMNO just ips the offer and buys him/her back, or Pakatan ADUNs will get uneasy and jealous that the prostitute ADUNs from UMNO can be given better offers and that would upset the Assemblymen in PR.

So the best way forward for PR is just to do a great job as much as you can, and keep in close touch and communication with the Rakyat, and work sincerely for the Rakyat towards a Free & Just Malaysia by the next GE in 2013 !

written by Raja Chulan, February 07, 2009 16:37:55
Absolutely spot on Bang Pete.

Thank you BN for cleaning out the prostitutes from PR for us. We just lost a battle but strengthening to win the war.
written by SamSan, February 07, 2009 16:40:09
Hi Pete, Your summation is very apt. I am pleading to DAP and Keadilan to dissolve and merge under a newly reconstituted PAS which has the original founding fathers Malaysian constitution as the new PAS's party constitution. PAS should amend its constitution to be all encompassing moderate Islam where there is no such thing as kafirs but only sons of Adam and Abraham of different denominations and faith, all co-existing harmonioulsy under the overall overaching umbrella of moderate Islam. Pete, I strongly believe if everyone in PAS, DAP and Keadilan accepts the true teaching of the Prophet and follow his precepts to the core under this new PAS where equality, transparency, civic consciousness,basic human rights and no class consciousness exist, then and only then will be able to forge a strong alternative government. I am praying to Allah Almighty to guide and open the third eye and wisdom of our Pakatan leaders to truly merge and form a formidable opposition under the wisdom and true love of ISLAM.
disagree 33
written by michael, February 07, 2009 16:41:20
Get Well and Stay Well, Dear RPK.

The PR coalition needs you, whether or not they dare to admit it;
The Royalty needs you, whether or not they care to admit it; and
Malaysians needs You, the MOST and we know it!

Take Care and Best Wishes!
written by Richy, February 07, 2009 16:41:53
After all our grievances and disputes over this robbery, this is the reality. Yes, we do not have many MPs and assemblymen with integrity and honesty in PR. Yes, some have sold their souls for money. We don't have to take them to street but we have to do something, like challenging them in the court. I’m not talking taking UMNO or BN to court. I’m talking about the traitors. The assemblymen must be taught through some hard means. Perhaps the constituents from all three constituencies should gather to take them to court for the betrayal. We have not done this before. It's not about PR losing their members in the august house. It's about the voters who have been cheated by their representatives. Sue them for betrayal; sue them for disappearing for 5 days without prior notification. Sue them for going back on their words. Sue them for deceiving the majority who placed their trust on them as respective party members.
Let this be the precedence for other voters who could face similar problems.
written by A MI, February 07, 2009 16:42:20
Dear RPK
Get well soon and may the Angels protect you and help you win all your court cases. Ameen.
written by eskay, February 07, 2009 16:48:18
Good advice to PR & rakyat. Thank you. Will PR take the heed ?

A good lesson to me too –
1)don’t put the blame on others, check what’s wrong with myself first
2)when comes to a matter of life & death, first must take precautious guard, do not expect, judge & assume someone looked virtuous / kind / helpful will actually lend the necessary supports.

Get Well Soon !!
written by jjireh99, February 07, 2009 16:50:21
DSAI, I still think you should be able to convince 30 MPs to cross over now. After all, it is acceptable now, don't you think? Just a thot'. I can't wait for the next GE13 to rid of UMNO/BN, that's all! What a shame for them to know that majority of the rakyat have written them off for good. Everyone wants to get rid of them. Even though they may say it's all your fault for suggesting cross-over first, but they are still a pathetic party now knowing that everyone looks down upon this corrupted party. Ah well, at least this thought is comforting enough for me not to migrate now!
written by Wassupdoc, February 07, 2009 16:53:32
Get well soon Sir RPK, first you have my respect cos you're from the Royal family and fight for the people. Now you have my respect cos you're RPK and fight for the people. May the force be with you!!

Yoda
written by biggun129, February 07, 2009 16:53:50
We had been commenting and voting for a 'Snap Election' before all this things happend, nobody read our comments, and nobody care about our voting, you can vote in MT a million times but if there is no action to whom it concerned, so, now, why should we cry our split milk, we had done what we are support to do, if the PR's attitude keep on like this, then you will see Kedah changing hand in a very short period, I said before, why dont you killed the onslaught bull, before the onslaught bull kick you out from the arena, and now PR, do you really feels the pain???If you try to be mercy to your enemy, then you are very cruel to yourself!!!When I proposed a buy over of the Frogs to form the Federal Government, most of the commentators in MT critize me for unethical, and they said PR must retain its integrity and be ethical, and now, what happened, dealing with crooks with mercy hearts,that is what you are getting, not only the Malaysian hurts but the nation moving toward the end road!!!For those hard core who still cannot accept the facts, please think it over before you put your comments on MT!!!
written by TheMessenger, February 07, 2009 16:55:13
Bro RPK..
U have the wisdom to lead.
when everyone say it's right, you can tell there is still something wrong.
when everyone say it's wrong, you can see there is something right about it.
just like our wise Guru Nik Aziz.

RPK.. I'm with you..
written by shissun, February 07, 2009 16:55:19
Pardon me if I rude. However, I need to stress. We are not well-read about politics or strategists like you all in PR team. I am not a truly PR supporter. As well as millions of Perakians who trapped in such crisis. Last election, we took the trouble driving all the way back from KL to Perak, paying ourselves the petrol and toll and and half working day leave to vote for CHANGE. Yes, CHANGE, not for BN or PR. What has happened now is a big big letdowns for us. One of my friends said, damn, no need to have election lah. We felt extremely fuming. We felt we being betrayed by our own people.

We don't know what happened behind the political door. What the Sultan's thinking and rationale. What PR leaders had and had not done to save the day. Honestly, we do not care at all. What we know is our Vote for Change had being violated and yes, given another chance, we will ensure total annihilation whoever messed up our state.
written by justinlian, February 07, 2009 16:58:35
I recommend Pakatan to have RPK to be their adviser and listen to him carefully.
Such wisdom in a human, where were you all able to find.
Maybe next 2 life also you wont be able to find one.
Although he has use half of his life to do something else but at least he still has the wisdom for everyone.
If all Pakatan leaders does not unite, you will forever gone with the wind.
written by confuseus, February 07, 2009 17:01:40
"Some of the Pakatan Rakyat wakil rakyat are so low standard I would not even trust them to baby-sit my dog."

He, he, he - Welcome back again, RPK !!
Yes, not long after the GE12, I even told Bersih leaders that they won not because Rakyat love them but because Rakyat hate BN but after securing 5 states, they became worst and worst just like BN.... DUA KALI LIMA = 15 !!!

You guys should have set up the OMBUDSMAN Office as agreed but you all SUCKS!!!
written by Chaptokam, February 07, 2009 17:02:15
Well written ,
Well analysed
Right on the dot
Unbiased report

Look at Ones self before you start screaming ..........
written by needchg, February 07, 2009 17:03:06
dear Pete, last few days we were fishing...missed your presence. Hope you will take care and get well. If you need a good chinese medical doctor who is good for cough treatment...go to Lucky Garden , Bangsar and see Andrew (his shop is call Ban Joo Trading). I know how terrible you must feel, so you must get rid of this nagging cough.
written by Wisdom above, February 07, 2009 17:05:49
Thanks PETE for highlighting the misgivings among some PR ADUNS and MPs !

Now I remembered the PEOPLES' PARLIAMENT DECLARATION in details !

(1)DAP, PKR and PAS had very little in common and were always squabbling over minor issues.And they argued about party and racial quotas.
(2)If she had been given a new car she would not have sulked. A mere car brought the Perak government down.
(3)When personal interests and racial issues override everything else, you deserve to fall. And there are many low quality wakil rakyat still in Pakatan Rakyat -- DAP, PKR, as well as PAS.
(4)Next time, get better candidates. Some of the Pakatan Rakyat wakil rakyat are so low standard I would not even trust them ... (to display RIGHTEOUSNESS )

If she had been given a new car she would not have sulked. A mere car brought the Perak government down.... VERY SHAMEFUL indeed !

She should have asked her electorates to buy her a new CAMRY instead of just sulking ? Things would be different in due course ?
I for once may 'contribute my small contribution to enable the State Govt to purchase' one new CAMRY for her Official usage as I know PR State Government are denied FINANCIAL supports from the Arrogance BN Federal Government.

I Like this ending by Pete !
"So focus on the big picture and see how we can eventually win the war. That is more important. And how do we turn defeat into victory? How can we menang dalam kalah? We can turn defeat into victory if our leaders are clever."

Next time, get better candidates.
YES, get candidates who can lead a normal, simple and contended life as a Wakil Rakyat like you can think anyone who ?
written by aryn, February 07, 2009 17:12:44
Sure, the PR leaders and wakils ought to be ashamed of their actions and lack of foresight. And 'padan muka' they lost Perak for refusing to listen to sound advice. If they are any wiser, they should solicit as much good advice from outside the PR circle to remain relevant.

But that does not absolve the Perak Sultan for what he did, what he could have done. He could have defend democracy in the interest of his subjects and for Malaysians alike.

His decision would certainly help pave the way for the restoration of democracy and rights to elect a government. Rights and democracy that eroded under Umno/BN govt.

His decision would also endear the royalties to the people as 'payung negara'. It would also help restore their dignity when Umno/Mahathir clipped their wings then.
Bear in mind that it is only after Pakatan Rakyat features prominently and won five states in the PRU12 that the royalties 'found' their voice again. Because the people power are embracing them where Umno/BN trampled them.

But now, it appears to be back to square one. The people's rights and democracy are once again raped and rob.

The Perak Sultan could have put a stop to all these injustice and pave a way for Malaysia towards a new era and our dream for a change. But he disappointed us when it mattered most.

The saddest thing is that he might just open the floodgates for more 'rampas kuasa' Unless his brother rulers or head of state have the guts to stand up for what is right.
written by ireneyow, February 07, 2009 17:17:20
I am a Perakian and I would say that Perakians LOVE Pajatan Rakyat goverment. We have no regrets on the late submission of the dissolution of state assembly. We however are more disappointed that the ruler swore in 2 assemblymen knowing very well there are having a corruption case this coming Tuesday and another bloody women who ran away from the her party just because of a New car. Is this logic. All he needs to do is read and hear more from his rakyat which he did not do do. Is our ruler fair in his decision. Even if you execute me I will still say "HE IS NOT A FAIR RULER" He deserves all those bad comments about him. We will praise him if he is GOOD and will scream at him when he is NO GOOD. We Perakians are people with sensible mind. We do not own any certificate from Hospital Tanjong Rambutan eventhough it is very near.
Take care.
written by sahabat, February 07, 2009 17:20:21
Excellent article from RPK.

When Hee Yit Foong the Deputy Speaker failed to turn up during the Sultan's silver jubilee celebration, I had asked PR leaders not to waste time talking but to immediately dissolve the assembly. Unfortunately who am I for them to listen.

We all read RPK's appeal to have the assembly dissolved but again PR leaders did not bother to take note. Now it is too late.

Anyway, let us pray PR leaders would win in all the cases that they are bring to the courts.
written by krising1, February 07, 2009 17:20:25
After reading this I suddenly feel "lifted". Yes, there should not be any unruly behaviour of any kind. If as you say, there were signs of trouble and PR did not want to move to dissolve the assembly, it has been a very said mistake. Now we have to move. And for RPK, here is some Dr. Quack advice - gargle your mouth and throat with warm salt water. You should find some relief if you you do it every few hours.
written by Stephengui, February 07, 2009 17:24:48
RPK,another fantastic hit right on the nail.Though felt sad n disappointed but ironically PR got what they deserved in Perak...Like what I feel in my heart, a frog is a frog, whether BN, UMNO, PR, PAS, PKR, DAP or whatsoever...so please get rid of all the potential frogs n scrutinise all candidates before fielding them....and PLIZ, PLIZ, prove one of my friends wrong when he said that all of us Malaysians are not yet ready for real DEMOCRACY..a successful political party should disregard and never bring out racial issue....all of us are Malaysians...period...
written by froggy, February 07, 2009 17:25:05

The Prostitute of Jelapang

http://thedandelions.*********...-jelapang/
written by ksmaniam, February 07, 2009 17:29:16
I agree and wish to add a few more things which PR is lacking which we have indicated and they have not carried out..
1. form a shadow cabinet....this will show how serious they are tol from a new government, and the MP's will have something to do...rather than piciking on UMNO's mistakes they would have been seen as a tough opponent...and the leaders could have become the problems solvers akin to overlook the bigger picture....
2. After forming governments they were busy....and the one's who were not part of the government were left out....the limelight was on some thus the others were not part of the governing.....human fraility took over...
3. MP's were neglected, party was weak and needed the MP's support rather than the MP's getting support from the party. Why? The party was not well organised. DAP is an old party but it has been an effective opposition. Governing is a new game for it. DAP failed in perak. Even in Penang, its only Lim Guan Eng, the rest is a vacuum.
Take away LIm, Penang is empty. The other MP's must be given a bigger role. Perhaps its a typical LIM.
4. We always say BN is a well oiled machinery. Well PR is not. So it has to become a well oiled machinery. HOW? Start becoming PAKATAN RAKYAAT and not PAS in Kelantan, DAP for chinese, PRK for DSAI. Please become PR. YOU have not. period.
my 2 cents worth added to RPK if he allows.
written by sorosapril, February 07, 2009 17:29:36
I always believe race and religion should not mix with politic, DAP likes to play race while PAS like to play religion, how to work together?

every time the leaders of DAP open their mouth, may be they don't realise it, it is bad taste for those who are at the receiving end of their words, likewise same thing for PAS.

Keadilan? majority of them are ex-UMNO, so what is the different?

Anyway, wonder why PAKATAN Leaders never learnt history of SABAH incident, the same thing happened and repeated in PERAK.

Why the MB did not seek for dissolution the first time he met the Sultan? was he worried he would not be the MB again if there was an election and PAKATAN won big? again self interest like RPK said.

Overconfident on the part of the Pakatan Leaders? most probably,

RPK is right, if your men are not strong enough and easily enticed by RM, too bad. every one blamed the Sabah voters for voting BN in the last election, i am not surprised if you looked at the candidates put forth by Pakatan, ( by the way, does it exist in Sabah, i see some areas having candidates from keadilan and dap together)the candidates are mostly ex-BN people and they are ' well known" so why vote for them, the different is if you vote for BN, at least there are money coming from Federal, if you voted in an opposition, no money coming and the elected running Sabah govrenment will make Sabah poorer liked Sabah under PBS time, the leaders were busy for themselves and not development of Sabah, Sabahans would not want to go through the same again
written by ahmadneil, February 07, 2009 17:31:53
If I were offered that much money I will surely take the money and still vote PR.
written by cabearth, February 07, 2009 17:32:04

I doubt the Sultan will allow dissolution of State Assembly even if the Pakatan leaders had agreed to your proposal.

This plan had been hatched a long time ago. A difference of one week will not make much difference.

The Sultan will still reject our call for dissolution of DUN anyway.

Besides, should we come and request the Sultan to dissolve while we still have majority the Sultan will have bigger reason to reject our call.

Sultan will say "Why"? At least this time, the sultan did't ask why.

Trust me. A difference of one week will not make any difference. Things has already been made into motion
written by ksmaniam, February 07, 2009 17:32:26
And yes i was also disappointed and so was my dearest friend Sulaiman. I was heart broken and unable to believe it. Remember all the hullabulloo after march 8, in perak, well a was sad then. But now I am sadder. Really sad.
written by hellosunshine, February 07, 2009 17:33:52
"So the Rulers asked the DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women for both Perak and Selangor to sign letters confirming this agreement. Only then will the Rulers agree to swear in the new state governments."

You seemed to be defending the royals in this article but based on the above extract from you, shouldn't the Sultan had royally admonished these 3 kataks for their lack of integrity and dishonesty in breaking their signed and sworn agreement in front of him? And based on this, the Sultan should dissolve the DUN.
agree 121
written by raven1958, February 07, 2009 17:34:30
Sorry RPK...Yes candidates are of poor quality. I cannot believe LKS fell for the polio trick but compromised on the fact that she was a clerk. Just another Saiful character. But the Perak Sultan was dead wrong in what he did. He should have stayed out of it and let the electorate decide. The Aussies had a drunk named John Kerr who did something similar in 1975. The electorate never forgave him and till this day Aussies still clamor for a Republic, which they will eventually achieve. This episode has shown that Malaysians and especially Malays are not naive anymore....the death knell for the monarchy has been sounded...its demise is only a matter of time.
written by johanssm, February 07, 2009 17:36:33
Your humble advise and radical simple explanation did subside the anger in most of us. Not all but most of us.
PR do need better consultants from the outside instead of just relying on their own party . It is hard to know and to prevent prostitution.
But since it is an okay to have political prostitution.This means it is perfectly okay to have the flesh trade prostitution as well.That is how i interpret it.
Flesh trade prostitute is to feed her own family but political prostitute is to enrich oneself. Appears that flesh trade prostitutes have a higher moral standing than the latter.
We should look at a bigger picture by losing Perak.As well as No Pain, No gain.
written by ibabonma, February 07, 2009 17:38:14
UMNO can take Perak by what ever means but we quarrel with Tuanku's decision in not allowing the Assembly to be dissolved thus allowing the rakyat to decide. Appointing a new government without dissolving the earlier is also legally unacceptable, knowing very well that such dissolution could only be made on the floor by a motion of no confidence,in this particular case. But, what can we say, the law can be interpreted in many ways and at the pleasure of the expert.

That's the issue and I say Tuanku erred.
written by Concerned_Citizen, February 07, 2009 17:46:33
Yeah, not everyone into politics really to serve the people and this definitely happens UMNO/ BN. Only a partial that happens to be in PR. The only person that I really salute in the UMNO is Tan Sri Tengku Razaleigh. He is there to serve the people but I hope that he consider abandon BN and considering PR or stay independent. If he does, at least people will still have hope in this country.
written by Susanna, February 07, 2009 17:51:57
As usual Pete, you are right to put things in perspective. The reason why we remain indignant is because of the double jeopardy and stabbing. One from the unscrupulous party which we kind of expect, well nothing surprising from a gang of corrupt and low class people but the greater stab from a respected ruler in such a sweeping, nonchalant dismissal of a good servant, that was hard to stomach and most hurting. Why want to respect when our protector fail us to let us choose the leaders we want. Wouldn't that eliminate to a greater extent the low class, untrustworthy candidates? I take comfort that whilst the unscrupulous can get away and triumph with dirty tactics, and a ruler who expound on justice but did not do in time of need, the justice will still be served by Allah for sure because He knows the hearts of men and their motives. They will have to account for their terrible deeds for sure.
written by tmf, February 07, 2009 17:55:43
Dear Hellosunshine,

We would like to know the honest answer to your interesting question. Thanks for your kind observation.
written by sorosapril, February 07, 2009 18:04:21
RPK three of the FROGS told the Sultan they would agree to the formation of the coalition government and signed letters, and now the same three FROGS told the same Sultan the same thing again about supporting the BN government, hmmmm, i wonder why the Sultan did not charge the three FROGS for going against their promise to him and how the Sultan can still believe the same pledge from the same three FROGS? I thought it is tantamount to sedition or treason against the Sultan?

So if i said something bad about the Sultan, i can be charged for sedition and also get you in trouble since i posted my comments in MT, then what about the three FROGS who went against the Sultan on their words???

Good lesson for all especially those in Pakatan Rakyat, learns from Toh Guru, he only got one seat majority, yet he came through without any problem at all, at least the PAS candidates are good and really practise what they preached.
written by Bentoh, February 07, 2009 18:08:01
Oh my dear RPK... this is your worst ever writing to date...

So everything is DAP's fault... yeah...

So the Sultan is right... he did nothing wrong... yeah~
disagree 30
written by orangmsia, February 07, 2009 18:10:48

While a lot of people only blamed the DAP assemblywoman, we shouldnt forget the other 3 PKR assemblymen who crossed over to BN and caused the coup.

For this time I must praise PAS assemblymen&their supporters despite I dont really agree fully on their idea of Hudud law.

PR will win it back during the next election. I believe Najis&co. wont last long.
written by Hope4all, February 07, 2009 18:12:56
You're in my prayers. Good luck in your next week's court proceedings. Your brave and selfless acts towards the betterment of this country at the expense of your own life put many anonymous warriors (like me) to shame.
written by Super Admin, February 07, 2009 18:18:08
Bentoh, this article is meant for the English-speaking readers.

sorosapril, why not repeat what you said but with your full name, address and IC number this time? It is very easy to be seditious when you are hiding and can't get caught.

Mr Smith, I did not see any Chinese and Indians getting whacked by the police in Bukit Chandan yesterday. If it is a Malay conspiracy they should be rejoicing instead of protesting. Please stop this "we Chinese are being discriminated by you Malays" shit.

orangmsia, we can expect this from PKR scumbags but not from DAP people. DAP had the most number of seats in Perak, more than PKR and PAS combined. Hee blew that good and proper because she did not get a car.
written by Msahibul56, February 07, 2009 18:19:04
I think DSAI has some of the Umno-shit in him after being in that party for so long. Unless he purged them all out - ego, fear of somebody smarter than him taking over the mantle of PKR, haughtiness, cronyism, nepotism and the malady that money can solve everything - I fear that PR will turn out to be just another BN.

Cleanse out the system, get rid off the deadwoods, dungus and kaki bodeks, from the ranks. Replace them with honest, intelligent, capable and creditable ones who place the rakyat above self and you have got a formidable front.

Otherwise, we will always be outfoxed by the master trickster and ever-conniving BN.
written by fearless, February 07, 2009 18:19:18
All conscience minded bloggers, please start a SAY NO TO ZAMBRY campaign. I have designed three logos for you to download and put in your websites, blogs or even toilet.

agree 122
written by tmf, February 07, 2009 18:21:06
PAS in Kelantan survive with one seat majority and this honorable achivement is currently being used by DPM to predict that BN/UMNO can also survive in Perak. Will our dear Perakian prove him wrong?

written by clarity, February 07, 2009 18:21:33
What you say is true because it happened. But what if it did not happen? What if yhe election commission did not intentionally or unintentionally erred in not accepting letters presented by the speaker. Then the seats would have to be declared vacant and PR could still contest.
However one thing is sure. PR may have lost this battle but they have won the war. BN will be wiprd out in the next GE because of what happened.
written by pkrgulf, February 07, 2009 18:24:27

I know you may have not much to say but I just have 1 question for you...if the situation is the reverse in Perak...i.e PR toppling BN like what BN did, would it be ever allowed to happen? The issue here is fair play...PR cant keep the gates closed forever for thieves...whereas BN can do anything the like to grab power...

Like you said, let's learn from this...may Allah grant us the hikmah to win the war in GE..

written by fearless, February 07, 2009 18:24:52
DS Anwar please stop your nonsense “katak” defection game first. You have toppled PBS state government with this dirty tactic when you were in UMNO.

Defection of any assemplypersons is against the will of rakyats who voted them in. PR stands no higher moral ground than BN in this “katak” game plan.

Let amend the constitution to have anti-hopping law to settle this “katak” game once and forever.
written by Lim Lim, February 07, 2009 18:27:28
however,pete;question is would the sultan give consent should the pakatan government hav gone ahead with the pre-empting strike jus as what u said???
written by JohnQ, February 07, 2009 18:35:33
DEAR PERAKIAN, Make Sure YOUR anger about this daylight robbery keep and last until NEXT GE!
For Crying out loud, DO KEEP a Alarm WakeUP Call on your handphone everyday at certain unique hour,minute and second to remind you this constitution and democracy raped day and moment.

May I suggest that this time should be 03:08:09 and the song is ... Pls suggest dear PERAKIAN!
written by tmf, February 07, 2009 18:36:50
PR did not lose this round because of their ignorance in the rule of law. In fact PR lost in this round because they believed and trusted in the rule of law. PR should not have handicapped itself by religiously adhering to and hoping for the manifestation of the rule of law if they really know who they are really fighting against.

PR was simply not “street smart” any more after coming to power. I guess this is the lesson PR must learn from this episode.
written by biggun129, February 07, 2009 18:38:59
Dear RPK,you better write whatever thing you feel and want to write, I know you are very frustrated, so, do I, but we had done what we can, and you better start writing to your satisfaction, please let go what everthing in your heart, so that you feel better, and for the next few days before 211,'Whack as much as possible and posted it on MT" cos you may not be able to write as freely as you are now, they are going to put you back to the Kamunting Resort, and I dont think they will allow you to carry your Laptop with you!Beware, Najib will do what everthing not to let you get loose this time again!!! Will, if that happen, worst come to worse, I will try to make more trips to visit you at Kamunting Resort! Take good care of yourself!!!
written by Rozlan, February 07, 2009 18:40:57
PR is a newly formed coalition.So some bickering did happened.Even BN who had been arounfd for 50 yrs did have some bickering..It was not the bickering that DYMM Sultans care about..They were concern because UMNO was not in power..So when they feel they have the chances to installed UMNO back,they dont loose even a minute to do that.To the point they are makng blunder overiding the Constitution..

If DYMM sack MB of Perak in line with the Constitution by now I believes DYMM will sleep well by now with his integrity intact.Either PR was late to curb UMNO lies were not an issue...
written by ireneyow, February 07, 2009 18:44:34
Mr. Smith, I totally agree with you, ONLY THE MALAYS (UMNO) are angry we get free hold titles.
Disolution of state assembly applied one week earlier will make no difference as our ruler will not approve after all.
written by JohnQ, February 07, 2009 18:49:20
For quick remedy, all Perakian and candlelights holder around the country, just add one prayer in your wish lists , that is

" may few ADUN from the crook and crab coalition have heart attacks next few weeks so as to let the PERAKIANS decide again in by elections."
written by truthbespoken, February 07, 2009 18:49:27

Your body may be weak but your mind is strong and clear. Your message here is heartfelt and to the point. But as cabearth and a few others have said, the only hiccup is whether the Sultan would have agreed to the dissolution of the assembly even if a request was made earlier by the speaker. Or was it indeed a conspiracy already hatched between the two parties as suspected by many now? The public will probably never get the correct answer to that situation now. Anyway, water has passed under the bridge and we can only wait for the next opportune moment to strike back while keeping the momentum of the peoples' struggle alive and up all the time. RPK, may you recover from flu soon and may the force be with you always on your fight on the impending courts cases.
written by arifabdull, February 07, 2009 19:07:24
"About a week ago, a few of us sat down to discuss the impending collapse of the Perak government. It was suggested we speak to the Pakatan Rakyat leaders, which we did."

Yes, I confirm you did told them to dissolve. http://arifabdull.blogsome.com...r-ibrahim/
written by malaysianohope, February 07, 2009 19:17:24
Abang,
It's understandable that you still feel that the Sultan should be left off the hook but I think otherwise. If he had weight the state of affair in depth that the 28:28 plus 3 dunggus is untenable whoever has the mandate. Under such circumstances the Perakians should be given the rights to decide who they want to govern the state ie a dissolution & re-election is the best option. By taking away the rights of Perakians the Sultan is playing politics!
Have said that I fully agree that Pakatan is seen as the victim of disceitful attempts by umno especially C4 and Malaysians voters will not forgive them come GE13. Since C4 has opened a can of worms AI should double up on getting barisan candidates to crossover at Federal level with the aim of taking over government which is a delicious prize.
written by ScooL, February 07, 2009 19:27:24
Thanks RPK.
Is good lesson for us, just don't blindly support the leader to prevent PR become another BN ....
written by OutsideLookingIn, February 07, 2009 19:45:28
Very well written, RPK. I was getting rather disappointed about this site the entirely one sided comments over the last two days. Yes, I can see that there are many supporters of the PKR on this site. It is sad though that many cannot see the principles of fairness and integrity in democracry. As RPK as mentioned, it is important that AI and PKR et al needs to learn from the Perak saga.

I would do what the Sultan has done if I was in his shoes. It is easy to take "popular" decision but much harder to make unpopular decisions when you are in a position to make them. Yes, we can argue about whether he has the authority or not to do what he do but PKR and their leaders have really stuffed up big time and they have to learn from Perak. They won't have a similar chance at the national level in the next election.

You either support hopping or you don't. Don't cry foul if someone else do what you were hoping to do. A principle leader would ask the Bota assmblyman to go back to where he came from in the first place.

There is favouritism in the (old) Perak government. If you can't keep your members happy, don't complain if others pinch them. That's life. I made similar comments in a different post before RPK's article and was shouted down. As ScooL mentioned, don't blindly support PR lest they become another BN. Some of yo are beginning to sound and behave like the BN supporters.

written by Loh, February 07, 2009 19:53:12
///Mohd Ali Rustam, contender of Deputy President of UMNO said that Nizar should accept the outcome in Perak as one based on the democratic process and respect for Sultan Azlan Shah’s position.

Najib said should there be any disputes on the appointment {of MB from BN}, the remedy is to go to court. He said “it does not matter what we feel because it is the sultan’s prerogative to decide under the Federal (state?) Constitution./// -- The Star

Najib may soon be the PM and it would be his duty to uphold the Federal Constitution. As the UMNO Chief of UMNO for Perak and the state government he would also be responsible to uphold the state constitution. The persons who are responsible to uphold the constitution need to understand what the constitution provides, pertaining to the relevant issues, even though they are not expected to be able to argue cases in court. The state constitution provides for specific actions in the event that the Mentri Besar ceases to enjoy the majority of the votes of the State Legislative Assembly. For ease of reference, the two relevant sections are reproduced here under:

Quote:
Article 16 (6) of the Perak state constitution reads: “If the MB ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly, then, unless at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council.”
Article 16 (7) reads: “Subject to Clause (6) a member of the Executive Council other than the MB shall hold office at His Royal Highness’ pleasure, but any member of the Council may at any time resign his office.”
Unquote
In the event that the Mentri Besar ceases to enjoy majority support in the Legislative Assembly, however determined, he can be removed in three ways. He can resign, he can be dismissed, and his post as the Mentri Besar can be removed by having the Legislative Assembly dissolved. Since it was specifically mentioned in Article 16(7) that the Mentri Besar was not subject to hold office at His Royal Highness’ pleasure, the MB cannot be dismissed, and he need not follow the advice of the Sultan to resign. So, there are two alternatives to removing the Mentri Besar in that event; either the Mentri Besar resigns, or the State Assembly was dissolved when the letter of resignation was not forthcoming, and the Highness has been requested to dissolve the LA.

The Mentri Besar announced publicly on Thursday 5th February 2009 that he had not resigned and that the Highness would announce his decision soon. It should be clear to Najib that the only constitutional course of action for the Sultan was to announce the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly. Yet, Najib was competing for time to announce that the BN had acquired the required number of kataks so that a majority of seats in the LA would be occupied by BN. That misled the Royal Highness into taking into consideration matter beyond what had been provided by the state constitution. The Sultan subsequently appointed a second Mentri Besar for Perak, and declared that the Mentri Besar was ordered to resign. The actions were ultra vires to Article 16 of the Perak state constitution.

To ensure that decision made ultra vires of the state constitution is fait accompli, UMNO leaders threatened Pakatan government to accept the action as though the Sultan has the right to take action ultra vires of the constitution, and that those actions cannot be challenged. That was why Mohd Ali suggested that Nizar should respect the Sultan’s decision. He was clear that he had no ground to ask Nazir to respect the constitution.

Having contributed to the Sultan making the decision he hoped for, Najib now places the Sultan in a position for legal challenge. He attributed full responsibility to the Sultan, after having involved his highness in politics..

The education Minister, Kerismuddin said that other Pakatan government will also be taken over soon. He too does not respect state constitution, and he believes that UMNO can involve the royal houses to do their bidding, just like what happened in Perak.

Are the leaders in UMNO aware of the basic tenets of rule of law?

written by Bloodhound, February 07, 2009 20:21:49
http://www.thenutgraph.com/perak-must-not-fail

With the illegal installation/appointment of the BN team when the incumbent is still legally recognised, the crisis has now degenerated into a "COUP"

Najib had just undertaken a coup in the state of Perak.

Read this:
http://www.thenutgraph.com/perak-must-not-fail
written by DezMalaysia, February 07, 2009 20:29:10
Wish you a speed recovery RPK.

And, I am quite agreed with your points regarding the internal fightings & prostitutes in PR.
It's sad...

Anyway, every setback is a chance for victory. We will keep the fire up~
written by SiHangChai, February 07, 2009 20:35:57
EVERYONE, JUST WATCH THE TV3 8PM NEWS TODAY VERY INTERESTING COMMENT BY NAJIS BY QUOTING THAT THE KELANTAN GOVT UNDER PAS IN THE PAST HAS SURVIVED BY 1 MAJORITY ADUN, SO CAN THE NEW PERAK GOVT. @%$#%@!

DEAR ADUN JELAPANG, HEE 'the traitor',
JUST AS YOU THINK THAT BY CROSSING OVER AS INDEPENDENT BY ALLIANCE TO ******* BN DOESN'T MEAN THAT YOU WILL BE TREATED SPECIAL. READ WHAT NAJIS HAS SAID IN THE TV3 NEWS. THEY ARE PREPARED IF YOU JUMP AGAIN AND DON'T SUPPORT ******* BN.

WHAT DID NAJIS TELL US, YOU ARE JUST ANOTHER BY-PASSENGE. NOW THAT THEY HAVE MADE USE OF YOU AND LTIED TO SULTAN PERAK ON THE MAJORITY ADUN TO TOPPLE PKR, THEY ALREADY TOLD THAT YOU ARE NO USE TO THEM ALREADY. YOU ARE BETRAYED THE WHOLE RAKYAT WHO BACKED YOU AS DAP/PKR ADUN, AND WORST, YOU BACKSTABBED THE CHINESE COMMUNITY.

MY BEST LUCK TO YOU AS YOU WILL BE FOREVER REMEMBERED AS TRAITOR, NOTHING BUT A TRAITOR EVEN IF YOU GO BACK TO DAP/PKR. THE BEST IS THAT YOU RESIGN AS ADUN AND LET THE WHOLE EPISODE CLOSE, AND LET THE COMMUNITY TO WORK WITH SOMEONE ELSE WHOM THEY CAN TRUST.

ADUN HEE, MY ONLY COMMENT TO YOU BUT NOT AS AN ADVICE IS THAT NAJIS HAS TREATED YOU LIKE NAJIS ADUN AND HAS NO VALUE BUT LIKE A WHORE. I WOULD NOT BACK DOWN MY STATEMENT ON THIS AFTER HEARING WHAT NAJIS HAD SAID OVER IN TV3 8PM NEWS.
written by archie, February 07, 2009 20:42:35
There's still the question of whether the resignations of the two ex-PKR assemblymen were valid.
written by thumb, February 07, 2009 20:43:11
You have hit the nail right on the head Mr.Smith _"One must be real dumb to assume the sultan knew nothing about the goings-on in the state and UMNO's attempt to buy reps.
To put it bluntly, the Malays in Perak were unhappy with a Chinese majority government and even more angry that they were going to get land titles. UMNO had to put an end to that. Come on, sir, this was a conspiracy."
written by DezMalaysia, February 07, 2009 20:48:25
written by Kopi37, February 07, 2009 20:52:51
Good medicines are always bitter and only good doctor will give bitter medicines, the clever patient will not them all in a swallow! Only stupid patient will prefer to take sweet syrup and will curse the good doctor for giving him bitterness!

It all depends on the so-called PR, which we supported, to bite the bitter pills and repent to prove their sincerity in fostering true statesmanship and work in close rapport with their comrades and associates in the coalition or be kicked out once more in the subsequent battle, or even the war come next election! The rakyat are yearning for change and new look of political landscapes and have less or no interest to portray someone the Hero, place him or her in the altar and pray as the Deity! We vote them in to be our servants and be the slaves for the Nation! Those low mentality polio, lusty and greedy pigs or bitch have no place in our ambit of choice, they will be vanished! smilies/angry.gif
written by ploon, February 07, 2009 20:53:11
RPK, you tell it like it is, man. This is what sets you apart from mere mortals like us. You see what we can't see and say what we don't know how to say. You deserve all the accolade and hero-worship bestowed on you. God bless you and may He keep you out of jail and from the clutches of evil.
written by DreamLady, February 07, 2009 21:00:23
Good evening, Raja petra, you are upset, I know how you feel about the whole episode. The priority at this moment is your health and mental state of mind. For once, let these people ( the goons and PR) go flying their kites at whichever they fancy. Your health and peace of mind should be your concern at this hour.

Take some time off to enjoy the fresh air with your family....they would be thrilled to have you all to themselves.....

Take good care, I do care alot about your well-being. Please, keep yourself well, ok!! Good nite!!
written by milestone, February 07, 2009 21:06:23
Salam and Dear ALL; PR and BR Supporters

Mr.Pete, I would highly suggesting that PR to form centralize of Political Strategy Council which compromise each party political strategy leader and you as reps from BR bloggers.

Again as I said, different point of view will be always on the table; but we have again to find common understanding before we move on. PERHAPS then the strategy council can voice out to the PR leaders for their decision. I believe this is crucial.

AND for PR, Please built the "right highway" for BR blogger REPS to channel the concern formally.!!!

Mr. Pete, we are fighthing with DIRTY regime; I do believe we should setup formal channel of communication to source into the PR!!! I will do my part directly by emailing to them.. accepted or not is not my job; as grassroot person I always think of "DO" more than command!!!
written by Liberace, February 07, 2009 21:13:35
True, it's too late. True, we were naive. True, Pakatan made fatal mistakes. But it does not mean we have to hold our peace over the outrageously callous actions of BN and the Sultan to install a government against the expressed wishes of the people. If we shut up and walk away with our tail between our legs, BN will be emboldened. A strong reaction is absolutely necessary to make BN and the sultanate think of the cost of bulldozing their way through.
written by Anak Kampung, February 07, 2009 21:13:40
1. It is easy to say we need better candidates --- that is painfully obvious. But where are they going to come from? The ranks are very thin in the opposition. Perhaps that's because most of them just log on to Malaysia Today and complain instead of standing for election or doing something useful.

2. The letters the ADUN signed to support the PR government. Are they not legally binding?
written by Grasshopper, February 07, 2009 21:17:39
You don't need to be a rocket scientist to realise this is an own goal by BN (unless of course you undergone a lobotomy to join BN). If any elections were to be held today, by-election or otherwise, BN 'safe seat' or otherswise, BN will not stand a chance in hell of winning, the rakyat will teach them a lesson.

Maybe the Sultan is smarter than anyone gives him credit for, if he were to disslove the State Assembly tomorrow and hold fresh elections, BN will lose all seats.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 07, 2009 21:21:48
Well said...
do not elect ..prostitute politicians

problem is RPK we do not have the ability to screen the prostitute politicians

I want to puke......sorry..
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 07, 2009 21:21:48
Well said...
do not elect ..prostitute politicians

problem is RPK we do not have the ability to screen the prostitute politicians

I want to puke......sorry..
written by JaguhKampung, February 07, 2009 21:22:53
Did the Sultan take side?

When Pakatan Rakyat won the Perak state government with a 3 seats majority in March 2008 (31 - 2smilies/cool.gif, the Sultan had took more than a week to finally decide who is the government.

This time, Barisan did not even have a majority. It was a tie (28-28-3) with 3 independents they claimed to be leaning to their side. The Sultan decided that Barisan had the majority of the state assembly within one day!

http://jaguhkampung.********.c...-side.html
written by tgalexei, February 07, 2009 21:24:54
A car to bring our rakyat's achievement to an end!
What a shame...
written by Alice, February 07, 2009 21:28:42
She should be given the next Ma'al Hijrah award and be accorded Bumiputera status
======================================================= ======================

gOOD THAT YOU STILL HAVE YOUR SENSE OF HUMOUR RPK.
TAKE IT EASY AND GOD WILL GUIDE YOU ON.
TAKE CARE RPK. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ploon, February 07, 2009 21:29:07
A car! A car! Our kingdom for a car!
written by teo siew chin, February 07, 2009 21:38:31
"...A Chinese made the restoration of maruah Melayu (Malay dignity)possible..."
-----------------------

errrr...who was calling the chinese 'kingmakers'? smilies/wink.gif

oh well - "rather lose with honour than win by fraud."
written by sahabat, February 07, 2009 21:53:11
PBS is accusing Anwar for his role in the down fall of PBS in 1994. This is only their assumption. What does Herbert Timbon know about it as during that time Herbert was the Deputy President SIB.

Does Herbert Timbon know that Pairin Kitingan bought 2 Berjaya YBs (Bahrom Titingan/Lau Pui Keong) and 2 USNO YBs (Saman Gulam/Siptang YB) to defect to PBS in 1985?

Before rejoining BN were Pairin, Maximus, Yee Moo Chai, Radin, Edward Yong, Johnny Mositun and Herbert Timbon not so critical to UMNO? Even dogs could not eat the words of curse from these PBS leaders to UMNO but now they are eating UMNO's stool. No shame.
written by ktchye, February 07, 2009 22:02:48
What RPK has written is mostly right. But one thing that needs to be pointed out is that our rulers have of late been given too much power to decide on political matters, which is not their original brief. Let us not forget that ours is a constitutional monarchy in which the sultans, and the King as well, are supposed to play a purely formal role in politics. Because our political rulers, namely, Abdullah Badawi and gang, were weak right after the March 8 bust-up, they allowed the rulers of a few states to act beyond their constitutional brief and raised no protest over it. That was wrong; it opened the door for further misuse of position.

The Sultan of Perak appears to have been high-handed in asking Nizar to resign. I agree with what Loyarburok has written:

http://www.loyarburok.com/the-system/the-real-question-on-perak/

"Regarding the legality of the Sultan’s decision to call for the resignation of the Menteri Besar (MB), I am prepared to say that the decision is wrong in law. Based on the Perak Constitution, the MB does not hold office at the pleasure of the Sultan.

The only way the MB goes is by way of a no-confidence motion in the State Legislative Assembly. The Sultan cannot just ask MB to vacate his office.

Article 16(6) of the Perak Constitution states that:

If the Menteri Besar ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly, then, unless at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council.

The question then is: who decides whether the MB ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the State Legislative Assembly? Should it be the Sultan or the State Legislative Assembly? How and where should such issues be decided?

The answers to these questions are obvious. Matters of grave importance that affect the interests of the State should be decided in the hall of the State Legislative Assembly, NOT along the corridors or halls of the palace."

It may be that the Sultan chose to interpret Article 16(6) thus -- after speaking to the ADUN who had turned independent, he was convinced that the Menteri Besar ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly, and therefore he could declare that BN could now take over the government and Nizar would have to resign as MB -- but he could have waited for due process to be followed, i.e. allow for that no-confidence to be expressed in the Legislative Assembly first. What was the hurry, anyway?

The whole transfer of power looked like it was done in haste. Which, when compared to the long time it took for the Sultan to eventually swear in the new MB (Nizar) and his Exco after March 8 (a process that took nearly 2 weeks) , seems odd.

I think our Parliamentarians should seriously consider this issue of palace intervention in politics and restore the rightful practice before it gets further compromised.

Kee Thuan Chye
written by ganbing, February 07, 2009 22:06:36
1)About getting quality candidates to contest, this is easier said than done. Who knows what goes in the hearts of men and women? Remember that Hee woman was a DAP member for 20 years. Shouldn’t she be a pretty safe bet?

2)Then again PR did not expect to win so big in March 8. PR didn’t even exist before March 8. Hence many of their candidates were simply roped in including the ex-postman and ex-soldier and not expected to win. I’m sure PR will vet their candidates properly now.

3)If Nizar had gone to see the Sultan to dissolve the assembly while still holding the majority, the Sultan may have no constitutional right to refuse. This is a not a case of losing confidence in which the Sultan retains discretion but wanting to call early elections. No monarch has the right to refuse dissolution for elections or it would play havoc with the democratic process.

4)The states of Selangor, Kedah and Penang should bear this in mind if their governments are threatened. There are always plenty of signs before the actual coup takes place.

5)However I can’t really blame PR for the lack of foresight. The fact that the Sultan of Perak who has always taken the moral high ground of good governance will take part in political play instead of deciding impartially is a shock to most of us.

written by panca, February 07, 2009 22:10:37
Yes Bro Pete,
like I commented ealier...Pimp and Prostitutes.

Umno is 'filthy' rich. Pimp and pimping, so don't blame the pimp, the prostitutes are easily drawn to diamond studded pimp that at anytime crap 'najis' in your constituents. So beware your state of 'affairs'.
written by ganbing, February 07, 2009 22:11:31
"... but he could have waited for due process to be followed, i.e. allow for that no-confidence to be expressed in the Legislative Assembly first. What was the hurry, anyway?"

A motion of no confidence will not pass in the Legislative Assembly as the speaker had declared the seats of the 3 defectors vacant and hence ineligible to vote. That was why it had to be done by this high handed way.
written by Rozlan, February 07, 2009 22:30:58
If Tuanku Sultan Perak want to "murka" about the mess he is in..He should blame Najib and all Perak UMNO leaders who coaxed him to make the blunder.The blunder which put him to shame.A blunder which was not suppose to be made by one of the country best Lord President..So Idont see why Tuanku want to murka to YAB DS Ahmad Nizar...He had never betray Tuanku and the Perakians.The best Perak MB we ever had
written by cble, February 07, 2009 22:39:35
100 peratus bersetuju dengan pandapat RPK. Berkemungkinan besar PKR ketika pemilu ke 12 amat sukar untuk mendapat calon2 dari keturunan melayu yang profesional kerana mereka ini takut hendak melawan arus kerana majoritinya bertuhankan UMNOputrea untuk mendapat rezki yang lumayang. Desababkan demekian, mereka terpaksa meletak calon melayu yang half past six kerana keadaan.

Wbp dengan kemenangan yang dicapai pada pemilu lepas, InsyaALLAH, pada pemilu 13 nanti sudah pasti PKR dapat mengemukakan calon2 melayu yang berkualiti. Beegitulah harapan kami sebagai rakyaat Malaysia
written by lobster, February 07, 2009 22:46:51
RPK, I was nodding all the way while reading your article. By the way, good luck with your court cases and take care.
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 07, 2009 22:52:14
Based on details in RPT’s article, it is clear that the HRH Sultan of Perak had gone through the necessary and rigorous exercise in vetting the solidarity of the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition party post the 2008 election, and had been convinced that the Pakatan coalition commands the confidence of the majority of the electorate. Simple as it may seems to many, it is not an overly trivial question to ask for the basis or bases of His Highness’ then decision? Is it based the total vote counts for the respective parties (the so-called “popular votes”), the number of Assemblymen by the proposed coalition or some obscure gauge of judging which party had the confidence of the majority? Is it not clear then, and is it not clear now that the main consideration was the number of Assemblymen (which obviously had to be in the majority) of the proposed coalition.
The issue at hand now is whether party hoppers (which are not illegal in the eyes of the law) which had since tilted the majority counts in the Perak State Assembly to the opposition party (then UMNO/BN), thus paving for a change of the Perak State government, OR that there had been no distinct change of the wishes and aspirations of the people and therefore the move by UMNO/BN should not be sanctioned (by all the legal entities of the state be it the Sultanate, Judiciary, civil service, police, FRU dll), OR the situation is so uncertain that it is best for the Rakyat to decide (which will warrant the resolution of the Assembly). Unfortunately, this question is a moot point, as HRH Sultan of Perak had already made clear his decision. Without the benefit of an open and direct revelation by His Majesty, we can only ponder and guess the reasons for his decision. There are many in the Pakatan camp who believe that His Majesty had erred in his judgment, and directly benefitted the UMNO-led party. However one has to beg the question: if the original determinant for choosing the governing party was the number of Assemblymen, should not this determinant be used in the current incident ? Seat buying is undeniably detestable, and I am sure His Majesty will have nothing to do with such deplorable act but can someone please guide how His Majesty can reliably sought to verify the existence of this RM$10-15m booty ! Also, how can His Highness sought to verify that the hearts and minds of the electorate has remained unchanged and still lies with the Pakatan coalition. Maybe (which means I can be wrong !), His majesty just had to rely on original determinant which happened to be a measurable and quantifiable measure i.e. the counts of Assemblymen. Whatever His Majesty’s thoughts are, to me it is a moot point now. RPT, I agree with you: Pakatan Rakyat in Perak should have called the HRH to dissolve the Assembly while they had the opportunity but this is now a moot point. No point discussing moot points. It is far more important for the Pakatan leaders to look inwards and question where and what they had fallen short. RPT had so clearly outlined these in his article above, So no need for anyone to reiterate. Just read them by heart and spread the message around! Pakatan Leaders : The ball is in in yr court to act!

written by Mr Smith, February 07, 2009 22:52:32
Raja, you could be wrong, very wrong.

If only it was as simple as that.

Raja, allow me to explain why you could be wrong. Do you think UMNO did not know that a dissolution was on the cards. Yes, they did. That was why they sent their mole, Nasarudin, to cross over to give Pakatan a false sense of hope and confidence. Nasarudin even claimed that more BN were waiting to cross over, which was again to preempt such a move. Why dissolve the assembly when you had a 5 vote majority?

Remember Anwar said he never urged Nasarudin to cross over but it was Nasarudin who visited him to make known his intentions to join Pakatan. Also bear in mind that Nasarudin did not leave UMNO when he crossed over. He was still an UMNO member.

Then again, if Pakatan leaders were to take your advise and call for a vote to dissolve the Assembly what makes you think that Jamaludin, Osman and Hee would have supported the motion? What makes you think Nasarudin would have voted with Pakatan? He was a Trojan Horse, remember?

UMNO found its quarry in Jamaludin,Osman and Hee because they were the weak links in Pakatan and easy for the pick.

Most probably the trio were already bought over much earlier but allowed to stay on in Pakatan till the "right time".

OK. Forget the scenario above. What makes you think the sultan would have consented to the dissolution of the assembly? He would have rejected the MB's request as he was for a BN government. What makes you think that the sultan who could sack the MB unconstitutionally would accede to his request to dissolve the assembly.

The sultan and Najib know fully well that a snap election would spell the total annihilation of BN in Perak. Would they allow it to happen? What would happen to Gamuda?

Put all the pieces together and you will see an evil conspiracy.

As of today, in Malaysia, Might is Right. People who are defending democracy are being gassed and made into villeins. How could we condone this coup and wait for the General Elections to hit back?

I admire MB Nizar for grit and determination in stand up against this Mighty tyrants who are no better than the Jews.

http://mrsimth2.********.com/
written by Daryl, February 07, 2009 23:04:07
Actually, the Perak and Selangor Rulers were worried that the Pakatan Rakyat state governments of these two states would not last, in particular in Perak, which had a very slim majority. That is why there was a week’s delay in swearing in the Perak and Selangor state governments.

I disagree with this statement. Why do they have doubt about these coalition? If it failed how does it bother the royalty when they still receive free money from rakyat and remember not "BN". Now with BN being the slim majority why is he not worried... what happened if one of this ADUN go crazy because he/she can steal money again or receive heart attack while playing bedminton... than what? Bias royalty is what is it... but the fault is not the four and it exposed the weakness in the palace.
written by Daryl, February 07, 2009 23:05:04
sorry "fault is with the four and it exposed the weakness in the palace."
written by James Loh, February 07, 2009 23:06:53
I totally agree with Raja Petra that we loose and we must admit to it. It takes Nabi Muhammad so many years to reach Mekah. Pakatan Rakyat need to realize that they need to select principle candidate next time. I've always admire PAS leaders and organization a lot. Though some of them makes statement that scares me but they've very discipline group. I think DAP and Keadilan needs to learn a lot from PAS. It's time for ANWAR AND LIM GUAN ENG talk to Nik Aziz and Hadi Awang. Learn from them and focus the few PAKATAN STATES. The good will always prevail. We must admit our mistakes like gentlemen. I always like Pakatan Rakyat Perak MB but I think he should step down though technically he's still our leader. There will always be next time. Let's focus on improve Pakatan Rakyat constituency and build up a stronger base. We shall prevail again! The RAKYAT will remember that UMNO betrayed the people!
written by JaguhKampung, February 07, 2009 23:17:27
A car!? She left DAP because she didn't get the Camry!? Can she drive? Can this be true? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by tumbledore, February 07, 2009 23:24:05
Toyota Camry??

for that stupid car!?

it's high time toyota stopped
producing camrys.
Perak fiasco is a bad advertisement
for it.

dear Pete, please don't be offended
when people are clueless and frustrated
they look up to someone who can say something
to ease their pain.
you have become maybe, unwillingly, their
anchor, who they believe know whats right
or wrong in this mayhem. if your article
has appeared earlier, even I would have been
consoled. please get well soon. and wish
you a lot of luck in court.
I heard people saying that you could
get addicted to prison life
- so don't get hooked smilies/wink.gif

written by Janaka, February 07, 2009 23:35:58
The Prostitute of Jelapang did not get the car. Now she want to punished herself by prostituting her SHITHOLE by letting SHITFOOL of AMNO sodomised UP&DOWN to SHOW her sodomasation satisfaction.
written by James Loh, February 07, 2009 23:36:12
These are the seats Pakatan Rakyat hold
Penang: DAP 19, PKR 9, PAS 1
PERAK: DAP 16, PAS 6, PKR 5

These showed that Pakatan Rakyat needs to increase Malay candidates to win over UMNO seats for next General Election. Should Anwar start lay ground work now? We need to do it now. As long as UMNO remain strong, we can never have strong state government. Let's focus on winning the heart and mind of UMNO voters.
written by Taiping60, February 07, 2009 23:54:06
RPK, while I agree with some of your conclusions, I disagree with some as well.

Firstly about comparising the three assemblymen (2 from PKR and 1 from UMNO) prostitutes and the sole assemblywoman who brought down Pakatan to prostitutes may not be entirely right. Even some prostitutes did sacrifice their life for their family, what did these four did? They are scumbags as far as the public is concern. The government was successfully brought down and established by these four scumbags.

You may have explained well on the part of the Sultan. We fully appreciate it. Like many public position including the king, you have to be seen doing it right and not just doing the right thing. I still could not comprehensive the Palace took so many weeks to determine Pakatan has the confident and the majority of the assembly while it took a day or two to decide on BN especially when it involved independents of known reputation. In this case, from the rationale the Sultan may have done it right but certainly not seen right. However, from legallity it is certainly wrong for the Sultan to ask the MB to resign.

With regards to insulting the Sultan. NO, it should not be the way. Just like the relationship between a child and father. It is fine for Child to be angry with one Father for something he did. In most occassion the father has good reasons but there were times the father was wrong too. However, no matter what the child must have absolute respect for the father.

You were absolutely right about what Anwar of PKR tring to do. This whole thing started by him. I for one who dissagree with cross over on day one. Cross over is unhealthy. Rightly or wrongly, the people have spoken in 8 March 2008 that they want to give BN particularly Abdullah Badawi a chance to govern the country to change thing. Yes, we remove his two third majority, which rightly so. So if Anwar wants to induce some of the BN to cross over, it is the same low moral thing. So NO more cross over. If whoever feel he does not agree with the party he or she represents anymore, he or she should resign from his or her assembly or parliament seat and seek re-election with the party he or she believe in.

You were right about loosing the battle and winning the war. I think BN made a wrong move to take over Perak in this way. The public backlash is going to be very difficult to repair. I fully understand BN fear of going to the public but it has already get worse after this incident. So Najib you win the battle but unfortunately you sacrifice the war. As a leader you should have think long term otherwise you could be the shortest serving PM is Malaysia history.

written by K.I.S.S, February 07, 2009 23:57:12
Perak is gone, over and done with for the time bring but Perakians can can still show who is boss in the next GE.I don't even think PR should proceed with the legal action they are presently considering.History wil judge Najib and the sultan.Not that Najib cares anyway so lets move forward. Sarawak is there for the taking. Not exactly low lying fruits as of now but with concerted efforts by all stake holders, not BN of course,she can be taken.The dayaks dominated constituencies holds the key for change of government in Sarawak.The dayaks in PKR will welcome your comments and suggestion. You can post them in the 'dayak baru' blog.
written by matdeboq, February 08, 2009 00:00:32
If this kinda of article were to come from other person rather than yourself YM RPK...!!!
I guess the respond won't be that favourable as above...!!
As always and many have agreed,this is a nice piece..!!
Hope you'll get well sooner and than I guess you will be a bit nicer..!!
written by LFLee, February 08, 2009 00:18:45
Dear Pete, get well soon!

1. I don't agree Anway's crossover plan equal what Najib
did in Perak - Anwar seek the legal process while Najib
going backdoor. PR even promise they will have election
again soon if they take over. So they are not equal? smilies/kiss.gif

2. According to merdekareview.com Hee did get her Camry
but she is not happy because she didn't get a driver with
it - everyone else get both Camry AND driver. Not that it
matters now... smilies/grin.gif

3. Please don't equal Hee with prostitute, it is in fact
a humiliation to prostitute! smilies/grin.gif

Get well soon!

I will be even more pissed compare to this Perak crisis
if they send you back to Kamunting!!!!

written by petestop, February 08, 2009 00:36:27

Hope you get well soon, and best of luck on your court cases, our prayers are with you.

Unfortunately what you written is true. Although you have stick you head out and be the lightning rod, the people who urges you on here, hardly budges. They prefer to be arm-chair politicians, cheering you on on forums and blogs and sending you thousands of SMSes.

Indeed it is TIME TO ACT !!

Let's give our support to Nizar and commence Civil Disobedience.
We do not recognise the Berak State Govt that comprises of THIEVES.

written by fan73, February 08, 2009 00:48:31
I can imagine all those people that planned this at putrajaya smiling and partying... like there is no tomorrow.

PR back to the drawing board!! I had voted for U.. Please be reminded that the word RAKYAT must be on top of the chart.

written by benny loh, February 08, 2009 01:07:34
When HE pretended to be cross with LGE we knew she acted poorly and the real reason was her mind was made up:
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...d-man.html
written by renoir, February 08, 2009 01:51:01
>UMNO found its quarry in Jamaludin,Osman and Hee because they were the weak links in Pakatan and easy for the pick....What makes you think the sultan would have consented to the dissolution of the assembly? He would have rejected the MB's request as he was for a BN government. What makes you think that the sultan who could sack the MB unconstitutionally would accede to his request to dissolve the assembly. The sultan and Najib know fully well that a snap election would spell the total annihilation of BN in Perak. Would they allow it to happen? What would happen to Gamuda? Put all the pieces together and you will see an evil conspiracy....I admire MB Nizar for grit and determination in stand up against this Mighty tyrants]]

Great points, Mr.Smith. And yes, Nizar is the hero of the hour and he deserves our firm support.

I'd told some people about wearing a black armband for the death of democracy, and was delighted to see Wong Chin Huat came up with the same suggestion. Like Thoreau Perakians can also refuse to pay their taxes - let those who usurped power try to put the millions of Perakians in jail. Another move is to call all streets and cities by their former names in our private or internet conversations - Perakians can revert to names such as Ipoh's Brewster Road and Hugh Low Street and even call Teluk Intan its original name of Teluk Anson.

We can also wear T-shirts that support Nizar, such as "Nizar is my MB" or "We're for Nizar." I consider, with due respect to the political parties, Nizar to be more important than Pakatan or any of its components.

Lastly, tell all our friends, relatives, colleagues, etc., in Malaysia and overseas the story of the coup detat, and pledge to ourselves never to let this matter rest until the present illegal administration steps down. We MUST NOT WAIT for the next GE. Our struggle must start from today and continue until justice is done and seen to be done.

written by zhugeliang, February 08, 2009 01:55:32
I was all too pissed off last few days on the BN unprofessional forceful takeover and very upset with the Sultan of Perak as well. After reading your article, I began to see that it is all about quality people that we put up. And Pakatan has very little of good and strong people and so, Pakatan in Perak falls because of it own ego and all about selfish personal interests. BN is devilish smart and BN focus their attack on these low quality people (the Achilles heel of Pakatan) to maximum effect. I'd say BN outsmart Pakatan people this time. However, like you say, it is not lost. Pakatan, if they can accept defeat and realize that this is their weak point and must make it stronger and strengthened their weaknesses. A good lesson for Pakatan and all of Perak and Malaysia voters. We have time to prepare for GE13 and this will be a good slap on the face for Pakatan. Like stock market, what goes up must come down. Pakatan has been on winning streak last 2 by-elections and it may just get into their head too much until they failed to see this coming.
written by malaysian2008, February 08, 2009 02:11:57
The Raja has not given the voters a chance; and he vote to UMNO, why ? your guest will be same as mine.

If he really want to make a good decision then give the perak rakyat their right to choose their new representative. not someone that had lose their respect and the raja still insist they are the rakyat's choice ???

28 vs 28 and 3 disqualify representative. you tell me who hold majority ? the 3 frogs should sustain their votes as they are no more represent their people who vote them b'cos they are PR candidate

RPK wrote :
The DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women indicated their agreement. But this still did not satisfy the Rulers. You can say one thing now, but what is there to prevent you from changing your minds later? So the Rulers asked the DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women for both Perak and Selangor to sign letters confirming this agreement. Only then will the Rulers agree to swear in the new state government

If that is the case, then why the sultan trust the three jokers that swear & sign agreement infront of him that support PR and now verbally swear support the BN. what if they change mind tomorrow when the $$$$ don't come. and switch back to PR like the triple jump frog of BN. Will the sultan declare the new MB will be PR b'cos PR now hold majority ???

So why the sultan let the politician play to their tune and make a fool of his royal highness. just slap the frog and go ahead for new electon to see what perakian want the govt. to be.

written by NSTPravda, February 08, 2009 02:22:40
written by NSTPravda, February 08, 2009 02:20:38
Gunakan lah! Budaya rasuah kita
Boleh-lah! Beli polis dan raja
Majukan-lah! Budaya rasuah kita
Ikut-lah! Kelakuan pemimpin kita!

Berhati lah! Tanpa ringgit semua ta’ ada
Ada duit, boleh beli polis dan raja
Sokong-lah! Gaya rasuah perdana kita
Ikut-lah! Buatan mentri semua

Mari-lah! Mari rakyat semua
Majukan budaya rasuah
Sokong-lah! Rasuah Negara

Mari-lah! Mari rakyat semua
Majukan budaya rasuah
Rasuah jiwa bangsa!

Mari-lah! Mari yakin semua
Majukan budaya rasuah
Rasuah jiwa bangsa!

Duit-lah tuan ku!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Siapabohong, February 08, 2009 02:22:54
Hehehe.... that woman turned traitor just because not given a Camry! Then she deserve to be curse by the those who have voted her under DAP banner and by all the PR supporters. Such a big desire and lust....... Kerana nyamuk seekor, kelambu sanggup dibakar! Twisted a bit my perception about OKU.
written by milestone, February 08, 2009 02:31:43
BN/UMNO Regime is trying to create new EPL deal in malaysia!! They are "BUYING" "PLAYER@POLITICAL PROSTITUTE" like "transferring" deal in EPL!!!

ARE WE SO BULLSHIT TO ACCEPT ALL THIS???!! R U??!!!

SO WAKE UP ON THE STREET AND HELP PERAKIAN TO HOLD BACK THEIR LEGAL GOVERMENT!!
DON'T JUST STOP ONLY GRUMBLING @ MT!!!!

WE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENT!!!

BN/UMNO = KERAJAAN HARAM NEGERI PERAK
written by wongnoball, February 08, 2009 03:47:44
The Order of Blame should be as Follows:

1. UMNO for using Corruption and money to entice. That is illegal and Un-Islamic
2. The 3 Prostitute from PKR and DAP
3. The Sultan - For not allowing ANY new Mandate from the People to approve of New Government when the choice was obvious.

So rakyat can still do a few things to show anger to Sultan for his actions, since we already know UMNO-BN will always use money and people can be tempted by it. Wear Black every Friday and SUnday, don't accept and give back those Dato, datuk, title.

If the 3 have received more than 10 million in their account, they can always jump back to Pakatan and use "some" of the money to Obliterate UMNO-BN Forever in the immediate SNAP by election. Renew Passport, Migrate and leave the country first of cource(since you are expert at disappearing). All will be Forgiven!! Send a message to UMNO-BN there is also no Gurantee on their end.

It is not safe when the Regim Ganas Kejam UMNO-BN controls the Judiciary, Police, C4, Army, Media.....when the whole Malaysia changed to Pakatan then you can balik kampung....all forgiven

Let US Rakyat Malaysia who wants Change deal with the CHAOS.....your ONLY opening left that will give you some dignity to live.....still not too late!!

written by flyer168, February 08, 2009 04:52:12
Dear Pet,

I do not blame you for feeling the way you did, after all you & your Special Bunch contributed towards PR's campaignings, support, etc.

Yes, they are all like that....when they are amongst other fellow "Politicians", you nor any one of your SB or us are "Political Party" members, so any suggestions/solutions which might be the correct one, are not considered, period !

I hope they will reflect/ponder upon their individual/Group status with a SWOT test, identify & correct their "Short/Long term Shortcomings" - Identify/ restructure/impprove/consolidate their "Think-tank", identify/improve/consolidate their "Infrastructure", have their "Identified Key Personnel" ready for action when it is time to "Mobilise" as I had discussed with Aloysious earlier.

Alternatively, how about we focus/identify/build-up our own "Independent 3rd Front Green" Group with our own identified "Independent" candidates at the next G/E & let us "Move On" towards our "Anak Bangsa Malaysia" cause - as I had discussed with Haris & Pat.

We have already wasted almost one year & it back to square one...no!

Cheers & take care this Ox year Pet.
written by johanssm, February 08, 2009 07:09:07
Pete should rest as he have a hectic week ahead with multiple court cases .
Dont let Pete walks alone.
Some of us will be standing near Pete and some of us will glance from far.
Rest RPK, perak is game over for now.
written by chilten, February 08, 2009 07:10:10
Just like in South Park cartoon, people always have to vote either a douche or a turd in elections. At least they have democracy.
written by NSTPravda, February 08, 2009 07:26:30
While you guys worry about the status of RPK
We are worried where we are going to get our next pay
So before Mohd Osman and Jamaludding junp in for a steal
We am proposing immediately to Hee a RM10million deal

Here goes:

Ah Hee, Ah Hee,
Will you marry me?
I will do to you and your money
What you did to your constituency

We are alike, unabashed prostitutes you and I
But I guarantee I will provide 100% to satisfy
Yes, you may have screwed more people than me
But I will make up to you 10 million times in quality
So why not take me out for a raunchy and sexy meal
On your ferari wheelchair, we can really wheel and deal

Darling, you are more than just another cripple to me
You are my soul, my sweet banker and my mohoney
Let me make you forget the Perakians/ADUN you screwed today
In my heart, even with you, your money is semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ireneyow, February 08, 2009 07:44:29
I need ever thought of RPK writing one sided comment till this one came. I am really disaapointed with this article not only because RPK sometime write things in a emotional way that follows his mood and health. It is a bit dangerous to believe totally all you have written as you put emotional more that facts at time. I have to be very carefull to believe all your work piece nowadays.
I am a Perakians and in the business circle and also have close friends from the PK and BN party. I know many of the facts in this article of yours are one sided.
Please do not let us down with emotional comments.
written by maisur, February 08, 2009 08:28:11
"Great" article RPK

a Raja trying to defend a Sultan

forget about undang-undang tubuh negeri perak. forget about the rakyat wishes

my blue "raja" blood comes first

dear RPK, azlan shah made the rakyat to hate him in less than 24 hours, don't let this happen to yourself!
written by fearless, February 08, 2009 08:31:26
No doubt, Sultan Azlan Shah is a highly respected sultan unlike others.

As a good sultan, he should not accept political defectors' new promise in supporting BN.

These defectors were "angkat sumpah" before him at 11 months ago. How can Sultan Azlan Shah so forgetful about this?

What were happen if these defectors change their minds again?

I like Karpal Singh condemned Anwar and his gangs for taking power through defection.

The political correct way is to dissolve state assembly and call a snap election. Or at least let "wakil rakyat" tables a no-confidence motion against Nizar.
written by hitam had, February 08, 2009 08:43:40
I wonder what the sentiments will be if the PM-in-waiting succeeds in enticing sufficient kataks to leap in Parliament and the Ruler dismisses the incumbent PM by following this precedence?

Are we going to oppose that dismissal also?

Pax.
written by fearless, February 08, 2009 08:45:51
That is 100% true, there are many opposition supporters turned blind when Anwar planned to take over center government through "katak" defection.

Anwar 916 plan is wrong morally, this bad thing shall not be used to justify Perak debacle is right as Najib proudly said yesterday.

Both Anwar and Najib should be condemned for raping our democracry system for their own political mileage.

I have criticized oppositon parties to drag royal families into politics in the past, now the rakyat pay the price for loosening tiger into jungle. The sultans have reclaimed "absolute power" due to our own fault.
written by Celestial, February 08, 2009 09:14:16
Do Not Judge the Sultan of Perak too Harshly

The saga of the Perak crisis has kept every Malaysian and foreigner alike for the past few days totally engrossed, albeit angry, agitated, disappointed or euphoric (depending on which side of politics one belongs to). However, being an ex-Malaysian (who still have an innate love for the country of his birth) and an observer who has followed the ins and outs of the unfolding saga, one has to wonder why His Royal Highness, the Sultan of Perak who is a learned Judge and past President of the Judiciary would err in his decision, given that some of the legal minds (including senior constitutional lawyers) have stated the MB can only be removed if:

1He resigns of his own accord, or
2He is removed by a vote of no confidence in a formal sitting of the State Assembly.

Neither conditions have been met as far as I can see. Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah further stated that:

“The Constitution makes no provision for his removal by any other means, including by petitions or instructions from any other authority,” Additionally, there is already a precedence of a similar situation in Sabah which had ruled in favour of the sitting Chief Minister. I know my critics will say that the Sultan has the right to hire and in accordance to the Interpretational Act, has the right to fire also. This is an extremely grey area and the precedence (see link here) already set in Sabah must have crossed the Sultan’s mind before he acted like he did.

So this begs the question as to why the Sultan would act the way he did. The Sultan is a learned man and is not an idiot. His son is considered to be of even higher intellect. I cannot believe that the two have not consulted with each other as well as the number of impartial legal counsels that the Sultan could have called upon. Why would the Sultan deliberately cause a constitutional crisis and bring vilifications upon himself and his royal household? Why was there a haste to swear in the BN government? We need to stop letting our emotions run wild and think logically. We have to think outside the box so they say. Things may not be as they appear and something else behind the scene have come into play.

Now the conspiracy and blackmail theory abounds. As I mentioned to another Ex-Malaysian friend in a recent conversation (when we get together this evening for a get together, I am sure Malaysian politics will feature highly in our conversations) that I cannot believe the Sultan would deny a dissolution of the Assembly and call for a fresh election unless he has no choice in the matter. Can it be blackmail?

If one is to believe the comment from a Palace Insider (second comment in post here) that stated the Sultan did not have a choice to act the way he did, then it fits my blackmail and conspiracy theory. Honestly, I don’t know how much credence to give this but it fits my own beliefs so readers will need to indulge me.

If my assumption is correct and the Sultan has been blackmailed and he is put in a position where he has no choice, then how to still do the right thing by the rakyats. The answer is to do the perceived “WRONG” thing by the rakyats. Appoint the BN MB while the current MB has not been legally removed, overstep his authority and create a constitutional crisis where it would be challenged in court and where a precedence has already been set. The result would be that there may be a ruling by the court that, in order to resolve the two MBs situation and constitutional crisis, the Assembly be dissolved and fresh elections be held. This is called killing two birds with one stone:

1.Sultan cannot be blackmailed because he did what his blackmailer(s) wanted,
2.The Rakyat still get their elections.

However, this came at a heavy price for the Sultan, His action and decision have caused many Malaysians to be angry, disappointed and even vilifications thrown at him. A man with his reputation and integrity does not throw them out on a whim unless he is put in an extremely difficult position where he had no choice (although senility had crossed my mind but I like to be charitable).

So in conclusion, if my assumptions and analysis are correct, then the Sultan is to be admired and not vilified for he has put his reputation and the Royalty’s integrity on the line for the Rakyat. But then I could be wrong. I hope I am more right than wrong. Such is life.

RPK has written that for Malaysia to move forward, politics must transcend race, colour and religion. Then truly a race of Anak2 Bangsa Malaysia can sprout forth and take control of your destiny.

Ex-Malaysian

Caveat: The above comments are my own personal views and in no way influenced by blackmail, money, coercions or physical threats. I am not paid by the Sultan of Perak or any of his associates to write the above. And I certainly won’t get anything from BN. smilies/tongue.gif
written by evaangel, February 08, 2009 09:28:14
Thank you RPK for bringing a much needed perspective to this drama. I wish you all the best for next week and a speedy recovery for your illness. (lots and lot of vitamin C is the key!!!)
And can we all lay off the 'cripple' shit with this Hee woman? Yes she has lost all credibility and support now but seriously this attack on her disability is just distasteful.
written by SamSan, February 08, 2009 10:08:08
Hi Pete, I think it is now time for all the Tengku's and member of royal blood in UMNO to become active and start cleaning up the corrupt UMNO and bring it back to the cemerlang days of the first Royalty ie our beloved Bapa Merdeka Tunku Abdul Rahman. I am very proud of the action by Tengku Rithaudeen and Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah in seriously wanting to stop the rot in UMNO that has seriously impaired all the noble ambitions of Tengku Abdul Rahman. I am praying that all the Sultans will provide total support to these Tengku's in UMNO to bring about a total revamp in UMNO and rid it of decadent and corrupt politics that has not only paralysed UMNO but the entire government machinery and nation as well. May Allah Almighty guide our eminent and truth and justice seeking Tengku's to restore UMNO to its glory old Days of our beloved Bapa Merdeka. This is what we mean by the Mahsuri Curse when corrupt leaders trample upon our noble constitution and rape and sodomise it to their whim and fancy. Pete, I am sure Bapa Merdeka is very proud of you and your nobility in all your actions.
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 08, 2009 10:22:37
PKR vice-president R.Sivarasa, in today Sunday Star, is quoted to be NOT against party-hopping. He explains that in the Malaysian context, politicians have no other choice, due to the addition of Article 48(6) into the Federal Constitution in the 1980s, which states that a person who has resigned from the House of Representatives would be barred from taking office for five years. Sivarasa says he opposes the introduction of the anti-hopping law without the removal of the particular clause in the Federal Constitution because it is akin to double oppression. My comment are these : The elected representative owes the duties and responsibilities to his/her electorate. If he were to be barred from taking office for five years while acting on the right side of the conscious, so be it ! Whose interests are the elected representative acting and protecting ? Is it his own interest to hang on as a MP/Assemblymen or his/her electorate !? To all the PKR leaders: Pls look inward and assess the question: do you have the integrity and true intentions to be fair and judicious in working for the Rakyat, irrespective of race, creed and sex ? If you do not and cannot face the “risks and hardship” of being barred from public office for 5 years while adhering to the apt principles, then you are no better than the selfish, self-centered and deceitful UMNO-MCA-MIC front ! So pls do not let your electorate down !
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 08, 2009 10:32:00
It has been widely quoted that a decision to dissolve the Perak Assembly will involved substantial amount of expenditure and disruption at the expense of the people (one such comment was by constitutional law expert Prof Shad Saleem in today Sunday Star), and that this was one of the considerations taken by HRH Sultan of Perak. I dont buy this argument, and no politicians or any state entities should lead themselves to believe this argument as is it not true that no amount expense and extent of disruption can be equaled and measured by the full exercise and implementation of the democracy by the Rakyat !
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 08, 2009 10:45:00
Celestial: Your conspiracy theory diagnosing the so-called “ irrationality” decision of a learned and respected Sultan, of him being blackmailed and finally him making a self-inflicting decision that will hopefully lead to the whole fiasco being trialed at the Federal Court is already being circulated around. However, this game-plan will only be successful if and only if the judiciary can act fairly and independently. What promise can we have of this taking place ? My thought to all fellow citizens is that a proper balance of power between the executive, judiciary and legislature is something we vitally and absolutely indispensably must sought after. Such ambition cannot be left to the Pakatan , community and NGO leaders ! Every single citizen, (Indians, Kadazans, Bajau, Baba Nyonya, Malays, Serani and Chinese and everyone else) must play their role !
written by mendela, February 08, 2009 11:04:51
I wish you recover very soon.
Let me say a few words:

1.Not all PR aduns are bad. Yes, I agree too there are a few bad ones, but their # could be just 2% of their total # of aduns. On the other hand, most UMNO aduns are corrupted.
2. In your article, for the first time you sided the Sultans and UMNO too much, that may be due to your upcoming court cases.

3. Should PR requested the assembly to be resolved says 2 weeks ago, I don't think the Perak Sultan would agree too. His family just have too much business interests in Malaysia and Najis is going to become PM and Finane minister.

Sultan's daughter is the richest woman in Malaysia and one of the richest person in Malaysia too. Her companies (like Gamuda) need lots of Government projects to sustain in order to survive the current economy tsunami. You think Perak Sultan do not know the repercusions if he just resolved the assembly? His family business empires could be collapsed just that if Najis shut all the pipelines to these companies.

4. 28 plus 3 flogs vs 28 is an extremely fragile government, why Sultan allows it to continue to operate? Sultan just dare not to offend Najis.

written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 11:08:30
To those who don't understand what "You can take the man out of the kampong but you can’t take the kampong out of the man" mean, that is your problem, not mine. I suppose you also do not understand what "when pigs fly" and "when the shit hits the fan" mean.

As for those who think that this article is in defense of the Sultan, it is clear you did not finish form 5 in an English-medium school. Get an English-speaking friend to explain this article to you.
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 11:15:12
mendela, I should punch you in the face for suggesting that I 'sided' with the Sultan and Umno because of my court cases next week. I am made of better stuff than you suggest. I bet you would never make that statement with your name and address below it. So who is the chicken, you or me? Quote the sentences that favours the Sultan or Umno. Do you mean this one?

"That is the long and short of it. Let us lose like gentlemen. Sure, they did not play fair. The Sultan should not have forced the MB’s resignation or appointed a new MB from Umno when Nizar did not resign. Sure, there are questions of whether it was legal to do what the Sultan did. But he did, fair or otherwise. And the Sultan could not have done so had we been cleverer. We left the door open and they walked in. We should take the blame for that rather than moan and bitch. And, next time, lock all the doors. Thieves are thieves and will always be thieves. But we were sloppy and that allowed the thieves to get in. There is no denying that."
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 11:21:27
dear RPK, azlan shah made the rakyat to hate him in less than 24 hours, don't let this happen to yourself! : written by maisur

maisur, I don't care one bit whether you hate me or not. I am not trying to win a popularity contest.

(1) I am NOT defending the Sultan
(2) You don't understand what I wrote
(3) You only want to read what you agree with

So it does matter if people with your low sense of reasoning hate me. I don't need to win any votes. I just want to tell what I feel whether you love me or hate me.
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 11:35:44
petestop, I do not care much for those who criticise but do so from the safety of their homes. Only 10,000 signed the petition to the Agong that People's Parliament put up - and less than 20,000 signed our petition asking for the Perak Assembly to be dissolved. That is the level of activeness these people demonstrate. But if talk, then 100,000 will talk, many commenters here included.

Many 'outraged' people who are tearing me to pieces here don't do a damn thing, not even sign petitions, let alone attend the candlelight vigil (only 100-200 people every week). Those in Bukit Chandan yesterday, thousands of them, were all Malays. So go to hell those Malays, Chinese, Indians who post comments expressing outrage but do nothing beyond that. Your views are not of any significance.
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 11:42:44
renoir, I will bet you RM1,000 that you will not be able to sell 10,000 T-shirts, and will bet you RM5,000 that a handful of those who do buy them will be brave enough to wear them, and will bet you RM10,000 that all those 'outraged' people commenting here will NOT attend a demonstration in support of Nizar if you organise one.

This is based purely on experience and not emotion, as some try to suggest.
written by maisur, February 08, 2009 11:59:24
dear Raja PK...

any tom, dick and harry would know that you were trying to paint a nice picture for the sultan. lots of the paragraphs above put the blame on PR leaders and potrayed the sultan as credible. only in the second last para you said "The Sultan should not have forced the MB’s resignation or appointed a new MB from Umno when Nizar did not resign. Sure, there are questions of whether it was legal to do what the Sultan did. But he did, fair or otherwise. "

this crisis was clearly started by UMNO and made worse...very worse by azlan shah. he clearly acted against the wish of the rakyat! remember, the rakyat employ him and his family! the rakyat feed him and his family! the rakyat pay for the wine and champagne he drinks every day!

since you seem to know everything, why don't you elaborate more about raja elena and gamuda and the multi billion ringgit of loss of contract should azlan shah listen to the rakyat rather than the UMNO goons. dare to write about that?

so please stop the rubbish such as "actually, the Perak and Selangor Rulers were worried that the Pakatan Rakyat state governments of these two states would not last, in particular in Perak, which had a very slim majority. That is why there was a week’s delay in swearing in the Perak and Selangor state governments.

wow...what a caring sultan of perak (as well as selangor) as you tried to potray

if azlan shah is such a credible and fair ruler, why didn't he take one week to evaluate the consequences of bestowing an legal, immoral, froggie BN government in perak?

stop blaming the PR leaders. start writing more about how azlan shah robbed and betray the rakyat.

daulat rakyat!
written by SamSan, February 08, 2009 12:01:26
Pete, tell me why very present leaders choose humble life style as shown by our beloved Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Sambanthan and Tun Ismail. Only now your esteemed self, Tok Guru Nik Aziz, Tok Guru Hadi Awang, Tengku Razaleigh, Lim Guan Eng, Lim Kit Siang and a host of other PAS ulamas, to name the few, shun too much materialism and prefer a very simple basic but noble Ghandian life style based on needs rather than wants. These leaders want to see some wealth in their rakyat hands and because they lead a simple life as their rakyat, they truly understand and appreciate the rakyats feeling,emotions and suffering. They are happy if they see their rakyat stomach not empty and in this regard they truly follow Prophet Muhammad's noble path of being simple, noble and shunning too much materialim which is the real Syaitan. Pete, hope you can respond to this. When we really talk about the glory days of Islam, doesn't it mean the leaders during that period living a simple and basic lifestye as their rakyat. This is where I sincerely miss our beloved Bapa Merdeka Tunku Abdul Rahman, a very simple but noble and decent royalty who enjoyed seeing the smile on the rakyat faces wherein the rakyat welfare was more important than their own self aggrandizement of wealth.
written by SamSan, February 08, 2009 12:03:44
Pete, some tying error in my earlier posting. Can you tell me why very few present leaders choose humble life style ....
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 12:17:41
maisur, did you not read this (also in MT)?

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17790/84/

Did you know that Barisan Nasional (a registered party) won the MOST number of seats in Perak and Selangor? Pakatan Rakyat not only DID NOT exist at that time but is NOT a registered party. Legally, Barisan Nasional should have formed the government in these two states.

We spoke about this way back in 1999 (10 years ago) and appealed, with no success, for Barisan Alternatif (then) to register as a party. We were worried that even if PAS, PKR, PRM and DAP did win more seats than BN, we would still not be able to form the government since it would be BN versus PKR versus DAP versus PAS and versus PRM, and NOT BN versus the four parties COMBINED.

This was the point raised by BN but the Sultans of Perak and Selangor agreed to allow PAS, PKR and DAP to combine their seats so that they outnumber BN. BN could have gone to court to challenge this decision since they won more seats than EACH of the three parties (PAS, PKR and DAP).
written by mendela, February 08, 2009 12:20:01
I have signed all petitions so far. I attended many sessions of PJ ISA vigil. I have made countless donation to PR causes. I am one of your most faithful readers. I and my wife have met you and Marina at Bangsar last yaer and we chated.

OK. Let me pull back that statement that offended your so greatly. You need to get well fast to fight the 3 cases, you need to be at your best when you are at the court rooms. Get lots of vitamin C, drink lots of fresh orange juice.

No matter how, I am still very unhappy at what Perak Sultan has done to all people of Perak.
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 08, 2009 12:24:03
The DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women indicated their agreement. But this still did not satisfy the Rulers. You can say one thing now, but what is there to prevent you from changing your minds later? So the Rulers asked the DAP, PKR and PAS State Assemblymen and women for both Perak and Selangor to sign letters confirming this agreement. Only then will the Rulers agree to swear in the new state governments

SO THEN DID THESE 3 FROGS NOT BETRAY THE RULER BY GOING AGAINST THEIR PLEDGE?? IS THIS NOT A BETRAYAL TO HRH??? OR ARE SUCH SWEARINGS INSIGNIFICANT AND MEANINGLESS??
THE PEOPLE IN THESE 3 CONSTITUENCIES HV A MISSION TO DECIDE IF THEY WANT SUCH ADUNS
COME NEXT GE.
written by teo siew chin, February 08, 2009 12:28:17
Now now now YM Raja Petra, calm down.
Lesser beings emote unreasonably - you are far above that!
The road you have taken is not only long & winding, it is fraught with landmines - those of your gumption and gall are few and far between, and that i'm sure you know.
Rest if u r battle-weary for in resting, you sharpen your axe - to hurl it at the commenters if you must! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 12:32:01
mendela, are you implying that I am happy with what the Sultan did? I was at the MB's house that night to pledge support to him, not at the palace to pledge support to the Sultan. And I was very sick when I drove up to Ipoh but I did not allow that to keep me home. My contention is simple: why did we open the door when we knew that there are forces trying to get in?

By the time Nizar went to the Sultan, Najib had already held his press conference to announce that Perak had fallen. The request to dissolve the assembly should have been done while Pakatan Rakyat still commanded the majority, and not one hour after you have lost that majority.

We allowed the thieves in. Thieves are thieves. When they can get in they will get in. But they can only get in if we don't lock the doors.
written by Raja Petra, February 08, 2009 12:33:04
ROBERTNGTG, they pledged loyalty to their parties, not to the Sultan.
written by apa jadi, February 08, 2009 12:40:37
I would have no complaints if the Sultan took more time to consider and act procedurally. Instead they acted in a haste.

>We can turn defeat into victory if our leaders are clever.

I always bear in mind of treating problem with opportunity. I hope the bad precedence the Sultan set is another opportunity for PR. I too, will wait and see.
written by milestone, February 08, 2009 12:41:33
From the article, show that there is "grey" area of communication between BR and PR which should be solved. I wish this can be done.
written by diehard, February 08, 2009 12:44:29
defect because of a car????
she dont even deserve wheelchair...
she should be crawling on the floor...
@#$%^&
written by malaysianohope, February 08, 2009 12:48:22
All things said & done these very acts by C4 & umno will be etched in the minds of Malaysians forever, so in this regards I say thanks you scumbags! Abang we shall prevail not now but eventually and patience is the key!
written by LucidMind, February 08, 2009 12:55:40
Dear RPK and my fellow countrymen,

As a rakyat wishing to live in a peaceful and just society, we have just had a set-back. It is disappinting no doubt but looking at the long term, at the big picture, I actually believe that this is a good thing.

1) I consider what happened in Perak a big mistake made by Najib and gang. He's not gaining more future vote out of this. He had just manipulated the rakyat.

2) Its a lesson for PR. I am of the opinion that they could use some time to reflect and strengthen their foundation. Don't waste un-neccesary energy, you are fighinting a monster, never under estimate them.

As a whole, I see hope and I see the beginning of the end of UMNO. Fact is, rakyat are not afriad to speak their mind and are more educated than before. We'll keep marching on, one step at a time.
written by LucidMind, February 08, 2009 12:59:28
One more thing, its seems that shoe throwing is in fashion these days. First Bush and then Wen Jiabao. I say we prepare some for Najib and the gang too. Let's see who can get to them first.

In fact, I personally perfer rotten egg but I don't mind to go along with the fashion. smilies/grin.gif
written by mendela, February 08, 2009 13:17:05
I got your point.
BTW, will you be at tonight PJ Anti-ISA Vigil? If you cannot make it, may be you should send a representative to brief us on the details of how the thieives stole Perak from PR legimate Government and how we better avoid it in the future.

Lucidmind, you may use C4 instead, it is tit for tat.
written by ganbing, February 08, 2009 13:21:34
"This was the point raised by BN but the Sultans of Perak and Selangor agreed to allow PAS, PKR and DAP to combine their seats so that they outnumber BN. BN could have gone to court to challenge this decision since they won more seats than EACH of the three parties (PAS, PKR and DAP)."

Pete, if the Sultans of Perak and Selangor had allowed BN to form minority govts they wouldn't last as a vote of no-confidence by the opposition parties in concert would have brought them down. There was no alternative but to let the opposition parties who have made a pact form the govts. Whether the pact will last or not is not for the Sultans to divine.
written by Oasis, February 08, 2009 13:26:41
We can kiss our dreams of fair government for all good bye
written by jonath66my, February 08, 2009 13:30:58
Yes, it's sad that PR is a reflection of UMNO using their model to government because they themselves don't have a different model of government.
But angry as I am there is some face saving for us BolehLanders.
Now at least the pendatang won't be called 'pendatang' as they will need us for the rejuvenation of their ketuanan Melayu. The very ass that they kicked they need to lick it what an irorny!
Now is the time to catalogue all the supposedly promises of BN, 'I am for all races, new beginning, new change, blahs.. what this pangkor fello parrots Najib and the lest of the geng' Najib is willing to win this batlle and sacrifice the war... and heer hee-pocrisy shows in politics, it's the lifeline to their political survior.. both BN and PR are in the same game! But choose we must, voters did send a message, the next round is to send a stronger one.
But it's really a 'padan muka' to PR who must learn the hard way. In this case there is no consolation 'in losing you win'... it's you lost and that's going to be the end for you... if you are a shadow government ala BN style. www.jonathan66-my.********.com
But we must continue to remove the ISA and all those who are racist politicians, PR or BN
written by merlin2001, February 08, 2009 14:06:58
Like you I have learnt to accept the situation.
As you have indicated you have your own cases to fight. I agree wholeheartedly.
The reasons I comment is for the poor unorganized people fighting a third force
or party THE PDRM.
With UMNO youth now planning to organize support for the Royalty, I pray that all parties will use their head to prevent a head on clash.There will be no winners.
The other thing is that Najib must never become become PM of else we will see an Armageddon never seen before in Malaysia.
I am very sure he will target many of us, you especially.
Thus to me the focus must be to stop Najib should take precedence.
Let us put our heads together on how to achieve this.Hope you agree.
written by Joe, February 08, 2009 14:11:30
CAMRY?? THass a F**ked up car la... aiyo! So cheap!
written by renoir, February 08, 2009 14:30:43
Raja Petra wrote:
>I will bet you RM1,000 that you will not be able to sell 10,000 T-shirts ... all those 'outraged' people commenting here will NOT attend a demonstration in support of Nizar if you organise one...This is based purely on experience and not emotion, as some try to suggest]]

Hi, Pete, hope you're better now - coughs ought to be treated as soon as possible. One winter I'd a cough that lasted a week, and a subsequent x'ray revealed a scar in my lungs. Regarding the sales of T-shirts and their wearing, I've no idea how successful the measure would be. Still, it's important to do it, as we did so in our nightly vigils. Doing things keep issues alive, which is why we who're for the most part non-partisan continue to demonstrate against the ISA at the Civic Center every Sunday. Sometimes people don't wear the shirts for a number of reasons. I've a large "No Holds Barred" which I wore only once in my neighborhood because it's too small, though for many fear is a real factor as well.

Unlike the reader you referred to, I don't think you ever write out of emotion, and there're a number of points you made, such as the arrogance of some Pakatan people, which I know to be true. It's because of the importance of having a strong opposition that I continue to support them, not because they're ultra smart (most are former grads of local univs, which I think is indicative of the extent of their intellect) or that they're angels.

Still, in the present case, it's important to stand firm with PR, and even more so with Nizar. The latter, who remains the only legitimate MB of Perak, must be supported through words and actions until justice and lawful government is restored in Perak.

Regards
written by letsbefair, February 08, 2009 14:34:43
Anwar should work towards a system whereby both side of the divide is about equal strength instead of having such huge ambition of making himself PM as quickly as possible. His very ambition will cause the downfall of PR eventually.

All three PR component parties should scout for talented people with financial stability to be office bearers so as to minimize turncoats. Tough but if we want to see a stronger PR this is most crucial!
Work hard and selfless. After many years at it will we see a formidable rival to match the powerful BN.

There is no shortcut to success! Ask any rags to riches successful and honest businessman. They will have somewhat the same principles.
written by sydput, February 08, 2009 14:36:20
I have told this many times before. Anwar does not have the capability to manage the country. He is scared shit of malay /muslim extremist.
It was because of RPK that many young voters turn out to vote, not PKR.
RPK is neither black nor white, brown nor yellow. Totally neutral. He can stand on his own against any extremist and dictators. BN's threat is not anwar but RPK. They will try their best to put you back into kamunting. When that happens, this country's morale will be destroyed as the youths will abandon in participating actively in politics whilst the elites continue on their dubious ways.
written by Proarte, February 08, 2009 14:44:40
The only way forward is for Pakatan to come up with a common ideology. I am actually happy with the outcome in Perak. I totally agree with RPK's thesis.

If we are honest, do you think Pakatan would have lasted 1 day if the MBship had been granted to Ngeh Koo Ham? PAS would have protested and insisted that 'state constitution be followed' and chastise the Sultan for using his constituional prerogative to appoint a non-Malay even if he saw it fit to do so. PAS would have called him 'Pengkhianat kepada Islam and Bangsa'.

We saw how PAS in Selangor was so exercised when a Chinese was appointed as head of PKNS albeit in a temporary basis. They wanted an 'Imam' and a Malay to be appointed and did not have any qualms about showing their racist and bigoted side to the Malaysian public in complete betrayal of the Pakatan pledges before March the 8th election. So leaders in PAS, please do not sit on your high horse when you are equally capable of betrayal. I am not talking about the low quality unintelligent types who defected in Perak but high eschelon PAS leaders, some with PhDs. These very people were willing to do a deal with Toyo to keep UMNO in power in Selangor.Furthermore, just before the KT election, PAS announced in a decidedly provocative manner that it would implement Hudud when Pakatan came to power. Given the well known sensitivity of the subject matter, its divisive nature and not to mention seditious pronouncement, it revealed that PAS was not a team player in Pakatan and was willing to sacrifice the unity fo Pakatan for its own selfish interest.

How do we convince Malaysians that Pakatan speaks for ALL Malaysians irrespective of their race, religion and colour? If they cannot come up with a common ideology which rises above race and religion then there is nothing which Pakatan can offer Malaysians which BN cannot. Better the devil you know than the devil you don't.

Even Anwar seems incapable of a leadership with integrity. His motivation appears to be power for himself at all cost and in the process he fails dismally to live up to his grandiloquent utterances on moral governance. His 'all things to all men' modus operandi is downright dishonest. He plays the Islamic card to the hilt in his Malay constituency and then uses the language of secular democracy when he speaks to non-Muslims or an international audience. But it simply does not add up but Anwar seems to think he is being a 'smart' politician and the end justifies the means. Well, if he carries on like this, all the gains made in March 08 will evaporate and he will have only himself to blame. He could not see that calling for en masse defections so soon after elections was unethical to say the least and an abuse of the democratic process, showing utter contempt for the choice of the Rakyat. WHat kind of moral leader is this?

Anwar seems not to be able to shake off his UMNO traits where 'Malayness' and Islam are used to the hilt for political gain. It really is laughable when he extolls Jefferson, the father of secular democracy and his principles and then denies Lina Joy her right to be Christian before the Law. He does not have the guts to say that the Malaysian Syariah Courts are wrong in declaring that a person born into a Muslim family cannot change his or her faith. Another example of Anwar's moral cowardice and duplicity was his silence over the Ma Zu statue in Kudat. He did not condemn ABIM when they said the statue would 'desecrate' a Mosque which is 0.5 km away.

When the current legitimate MB of Perak Nizar was hounded out of his office by UMNO lackeys, he said at a press conference with Kit Siang next to him, that 'ini bukan cara Melayu' which is an illogical and racist statement as Malaysian have been witness to very disgusting and immoral behaviour by Malays. Who gave Anwar a black eye? It was a Malay. Who murderded Altantunya? It was a Malay. Who was the judge involved in Lingamgate? It was a Malay. Who has sworn on the Koran that Anwar sodomised him? It was a Malay. The list of heinous Malay Muslim behaviour is endless so Anwar should desist from playing his Malay and Islamic card because it is counterproductive and derisory.

What Anwar should focus on is to forge a coalition which has potential to merge so that it speaks with a united voice and has a common philosophy which always affirms the fundamental rights and equality of every Malaysian and holds this as sacrosanct.

There is no alternative.
written by Rhan, February 08, 2009 14:45:21
Petra,

You are right this round. However, you only said all this after the whole issue end. PR don’t have the number but keep on bull shit, BN have the number and make use of it at the best time. No point telling us who attend to Bukit Chandan, the protest against Hee from the village folk is a reflection of where we stand. We are both wrong in term of strategy and moral. Admit our wrong and move on.
written by letsbefair, February 08, 2009 14:48:50
Oh by the way, the "Sabah Massacre" is different then than this present scenario. Then PBS Pairin Kitingan fought it out alone. Gagasan Rakyat was less potent.

BN paid 10 million for the first two to turn frogs. Subsequent offer was only 5 million and the rest later was 1 million. Guess those later frogs must have regreted for hesitating and ended up making so much less!! From a majority to only five very loyal assembly men Pairin just throw in the towel. Since he can't beat them then might as well join them! How sad!!!

PR is stronger and Perak still have a very strong 28 PR assembly men/women. But as I said earlier they need talented individuals with strong financial background. So my worry is...will there be more defections...?!

Selangor government better take care!! Penang is safer and Kedah...less important. Kedah will fall eventually but BN's top priority is Selangor!
Selangor, Penang and Perak are the wealthiest states in the country.
written by son of soil, February 08, 2009 15:35:16
Hope you get well soon,give hell to all those prosecutors.We leave in a dog eat dog world.It was naive for the PR to think Najib was going to sit idle and just grumble,he got an election coming he got to show he is the hero.PR get out of the March 8 honeymoon....kick some butt,do some house cleaning and most important of all stop bickering among your selfs....sit down plan a strategy how to counter all this onslaught from BM...lastly please think as yourself as Malaysian first.
written by pinsysu, February 08, 2009 15:38:31
er, that flu bug must have gone into your head? who can be a better candidate compared to Hee? Hee is an economic genius! Hee is perhaps worthy to be the next Finance Minister! Hee knows the economic difference of 1 camry and RM25m! holding high paper qualifications does not vouch for your character. a humble fisherman may have more integrity compared to a so-called PhD (readily available on-line: only 2 conditions reqd - 1 you got money and 2 you know how to spell your name).

so the silver state fell bcos of one Jap car. Cao cao the 'invincible' general fell bcos of a cup of tea made by a pretty woman (zhou Yu's wife). but why blame woman where the faults lie deep within your camp or within the men? go watch Red Cliff 2 and you will know what i mean. what anwar needs perhaps is a great adviser of Zhugeliang's calibre ... maybe RPK fits the bill ...

do get well and ready for more battles ahead. life is afterall a journey and not destiny. cheers!
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 08, 2009 16:13:01
RPK : Don’t be disheartened by comments by Maisur, Mendala (subsequently retracted), Ireneyow and Tompias : dia ni orang tdk paham English, dan u udah klarifikasi. My advice goes by the Chinese saying: For gentlemen will only forgive and forgets for he has only but a big heart.
written by jchew, February 08, 2009 18:44:28
Raja Petra, you could be wrong, very wrong !
We knew that Umno was trying to buy over our wakil rakyat. We knew they would eventually succeed. But we just stood and watched without launching a pre-emptive strike -- such as dissolving the state assembly when there was time to do so and when we still had the power to do so. (Raja Petra Kamarudin, No Holds Barred)

If only it was as simple as that.

Raja, allow me to explain why you could be wrong. Do you think UMNO did not know that a dissolution was on the cards. Yes, they did. That was why they sent their mole, Nasarudin, to cross over to give Pakatan a false sense of hope and confidence. Nasarudin even claimed that more BN were waiting to cross over, which was again to preempt such a move. Why dissolve the assembly when you had a 5 vote majority?

Remember Anwar said he never urged Nasarudin to cross over but it was Nasarudin who visited him to make known his intentions to join Pakatan. Also bear in mind that Nasarudin did not leave UMNO when he crossed over. He was still an UMNO member.

Then again, if Pakatan leaders were to take your advise and call for a vote to dissolve the Assembly what makes you think that Jamaludin, Osman and Hee would have supported the motion? What makes you think Nasarudin would have voted with Pakatan? He was a Trojan Horse, remember?

UMNO found its quarry in Jamaludin,Osman and Hee because they were the weak links in Pakatan and easy for the pick.

Most probably the trio were already bought over much earlier but allowed to stay on in Pakatan till the "right time".

OK. Forget the scenario above. What makes you think the sultan would have consented to the dissolution of the assembly? He would have rejected the MB's request as he was for a BN government. What makes you think that the sultan who could sack the MB unconstitutionally would accede to his request to dissolve the assembly.

The sultan and Najib know fully well that a snap election would spell the total annihilation of BN in Perak. Would they allow it to happen? What would happen to Gamuda?

Put all the pieces together and you will see an evil conspiracy.

As of today, in Malaysia, Might is Right. People who are defending democracy are being gassed and made into villeins. How could we condone this coup and wait for the General Elections to hit back?

I admire MB Nizar for grit and determination in stand up against this Mighty tyrants who are no better than the Jews.

http://mrsimth2.********.com/

Posted by Mr. Smith at 1:08 AM 0 comments
written by cekikdarah, February 08, 2009 19:37:38
Right on "the eggs" RPK.

This will test Malaysians, especially Perakians, if we do indeed easily forget.

Come PRU in 2012/2013, we'll see.

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/educ...tures.html
written by sueteh, February 08, 2009 20:26:59
Yes, Pakatan must be fair/adil to all its MPs/Assemblymen&women. Kalau semua gets a Camry, Ah Hee should also get one, why discriminate her?? Do you Pilih Kasih kah?? Inilah padahnya. You cannot blame and cursing Ah Hee hundred percent either. Perhaps it was her first time holding power and maybe she just either cannot handle her new minted power or just plain taking advantage of it. Is she selfish? Yes. Do you think DSAI is not selfish too? He is as well,so as with Najib.

The perkahwinan/marriage of Pakatan (one husband/two wives of two wives/one husband?) is surely tough one.

1. PAS - very Melayu and very Hudud & Qisas inclined. Their main dream and focus
is to establish an Islamic country. Clear cut.

2. PKR - supposingly combination of all races. Very ideal trying to be a rojak
type of party. Striving to be non radical unlike PAS or DAP.

3. DAP - your very very typical Cinapek Kiasi and Kiasu party. Cinapek/Ah Piau
thinking.

So, how do you want to gel lah??

BN- UMNO/MIC/GERAKAN/MCA/SUPP

1. UMNO - 100 percent - Melayu and Ketuanan Wang Ringgit. They opposes Hudud & Qisas. They would rather have the Malays ber-maksiat than to follow Hudud & Qisas. Ultimately, UMNO holds the majority and holds the Purse Strings.

2. The rest of the party components are merely either running dogs, yes-men/women,
also busying lining their pockets.

You know,like Teater Lagenda - the late Tan Sri P Ramlee, in his movies ' i (UMNO) take satu ringgit, i give you (the rest) 25 cents each. i must give you but it won't be as much as for me.

written by sueteh, February 08, 2009 20:42:08
I sincerely urged Mr Karpal Singh (DAP) DO NOT launch a court case on the Sultan or Perak or any Sultan. You want to sue Najib, whoever else, go ahead. But not the Sultan. Personally, I may not like His Highness decision but he had made it. Mr Singh, you are a man of law. But, you do not entirely understand the ways of the Melayu, which I don't blame you. I also do not understand the ways of the Melayus but whether the Sultan makes good/bad decision, I will not sue HRH.

However, you can sue the Zambry bapak budak dari Pangkor lah.
written by tokbahaman, February 08, 2009 20:58:40
RPK. With the recent happenings, shall elections then be redundant? smilies/sad.gif
written by Zym Zym, February 08, 2009 21:25:09
RPK is a man of foresight. As such, I, zym zym bin mydin would like to suggest that RPK is to be elected as Malaysia's first president. What says you all?
written by zhugeliang, February 08, 2009 23:31:24
Few days before the Big Jump, a Gerakan fella was commenting on the Bota katak that jumped to PKR. He said "Don't worry, 2 from PKR will jump to UMNO." very confidently and which a load of ego (typical of Gerakan people, eh?). This means that within BN parties already know about this news already even before the event happened. Not sure if it this is what the Pakatan know too. And then after the Big Jump, Gerakan Youth came out to speak that this is not right???
written by Hazel, February 08, 2009 23:43:08
Dear RPK sorry to hear that you are sick. Well I had bad cough before and someone told me to steam honey with oranges(peel and cut of course) for an hour, it worked for me, may be you could try. Hope you get well soon.
written by Caesar, February 09, 2009 01:03:35
This article reminds us of:
a)Why Anwar could not take over the Govt. last year..because PKR does not have the $$$ to buy some BN MPs ( also that many BN incumbents are $$-tainted that once they move over the ACA and the 'law' will nab them.
b)That the bigger picture of the Altantuya affair is that the submarine kickback is a vital fund-raiser because UMNO needs BILLIONs to stay in power. THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE this since they talk so much about liberal democracy and the end of unfettered capitalism (per Angela Merkel and Sarkozy).

Anwar, why don't you pursue this with some of your influential international figures? Or is the submarine kickback grossly exagerated?

written by Tompios, February 09, 2009 06:29:00
Sometimes we need new paradigm for us to drink pure and heavy water from people who work for Malaysia citizen. As for me, I believe RPK is a kind of atomic source that naturally can give us energy that feeding our brain and action. The more we hit him the more energy will come out from him. When an electron is bound to an atom, it has a potential energy.

"Jangan main-main dgn RPK"! Atomic bomb.
written by Running Sardines, February 09, 2009 08:39:24
Dear Pete

You are absolutely right in what you write. It is so unfortunate that our leaders in PR lack wisdom ... if only they have wisdom like Solomon, surely today it will be different in Perak ... if what is said about that Camry is true, then the Perak PR Government was really bad in handling internal conflicts ... so sad ...

As for the $$$$, you are definitely right ... GREED = Greater returns expected every day ...

May all in the PR learnt from this mistake and those elected should not be self-centred ... May God have mercy on Malaysia
written by ahmadneil, February 09, 2009 08:51:47
When Pete is angry,that means he is very sick.Never does he respond in manners like this.Leave him alone till he gets better.Too much have happen in the last few days .Cool down ,Pete and concentrate on your impending trial.
written by anak penang, February 09, 2009 10:13:02
There are a bunch of guys here who blindly support whatever RPK says.
Some of them sound so pathetic in their phrase of words in supporting him.

RPK, with due respect,I love and admire you but don't agree with many things in the article
written by bakas, February 09, 2009 11:41:27
Yo guys...!!! No seditious remarks please. What a bunch of losers!

I must admit I was not at all surprised when PR fell in Perak. The writings were already on the wall, but we were so busy with ourselves that we failed to see it. In Selangor, if PR is not careful, the same thing can happen again, and this time who do we blame? The Rulers again...? How convenient..Blame it to everyone else but yourself.

Let this be a big lesson to PR not to mess with the trust given by the rakyat. We elected you not to bicker amongst yourselves, but to serve us. Your mandate lies not only in remaining in the coalition, but to listen and do what the rakyat is telling you. And we are telling you enough is ENOUGH!

DSAI, Karpal Singh, Nik Aziz and Lim Kit Siang should sit down and strategize again. Sometimes it takes a punch in the face to wake us up, and boy, we are bleeding right now. But take it like a man, stand up and keep up the fighting. We haven't lost the trust for PR, but our patience is wearing thin very fast.

I see it as a blessing in disguise. Let those frogs jump now. Better lose a state than lose the country later.
written by Stephengui, February 09, 2009 13:34:18
Dear RPK, could not have agreed with u more...the crisis in Perak could have been avoided by dissolving the state assy, hold the by-elections, pass the anti-hopping law and let the Perakians decide once and for all on a fair and deserving state government....not to let FROGs rule the day like in this case...but what to do...nasi sudah jadi bubur...by the way, a lot of my friends here in Kuching, Sarawak share your views and opinions...heck, we even ordered and bought the Anti-ISA T-shirts but we could not support you in person in Semenanjung due to the distance and financial constrains...You can criticise me in this aspect all you want but you can be assured that my family and I wishes you luck and pray that you get justice and fairness in all the trials that will be coming up...

written by Milo, February 09, 2009 16:31:56
YB RPK is Spot On!
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 10, 2009 10:47:57
That is the long and short of it. Let us lose like gentlemen. Sure, they did not play fair. The Sultan should not have forced the MB’s resignation or appointed a new MB from Umno when Nizar did not resign. Sure, there are questions of whether it was legal to do what the Sultan did. But he did, fair or otherwise. And the Sultan could not have done so had we been cleverer. We left the door open and they walked in. We should take the blame for that rather than moan and bitch. And, next time, lock all the doors. Thieves are thieves and will always be thieves. But we were sloppy and that allowed the thieves to get in. There is no denying that.

POINT TAKEN. AND ALL THE RAKYAT MUST LEARN THAT EVERY ONE HAS THAT RIGHT TO DECIDE
AND MAKE NO MISTAKE IN DECIDING. WE HV NO ONE ELSE TO DEPEND ON. KICK OUT BEEND/AMENO FROM NOW ON IN EVERY BY ELECTION.
written by Jit Dharma, February 10, 2009 11:15:49
Long live Pakatan Rakyat!!!! We've never come so close and
to give up now is unthinkable. BN is a dead duck because it is
led by a criminal.Pure and simple.
written by bebas2lawat, February 10, 2009 13:21:38
HeyPeople,
Pls. stop raving and ranting what is done is done. Hope the leaders of PR learn from this and do better the next time. Come on guys there are still four states in PR's hands. The Sultan couldnt do anything but what He did as PR had already lost their majority and were no longer in power.Dont take it out on the ruler pls!!
written by Loh, February 10, 2009 13:58:12
///Article 16(6) of the Perak Constitution states that:

If the Menteri Besar ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly, then, unless at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council.///

If an ordinary contract written such as, if you owe a person some money, then unless at your request, your debt is forgiven, you shall have to repay the debt. It would be clear that the final actions relates to repaying the debt. Else the authority, the court will impose a sentence to enforce payment of the debt.

In the case regarding the tenure of the Mentri Besar, would the framers of the constitution considered it proper that the final action relates to the Mentri Besar tendering his resignation, and failing which, a court case would ensue to force the resignation; meanwhile, there would be uncertainty about the legal status of the Mentri Besar? Would the framers prefer that the dispute should be resolved with finality, which is if the resignation was not forthcoming the post would be removed through the dissolution of the Legislative Assembly. That allows for a new Mentri Besar to be selected based on fresh election. That also removes the need for discretion on the appointment of a new Mentri Besar, which could be seen as political intervention by the ruler. The framers of the constitution knew too well that constitutional monarch should not be involved in politics, and they would not deliberately intend the ruler to make the political decision to dissolve or not to dissolve the Legislative Assembly. In either case, almost equal number of the population would disagree. That alone would subject the institution of the monarchy to public opinion. Further, the fate of the people would depend on the wisdom of one person rather than the majority in modern democracies.

The question is whether article 16 (6) should be read based on the intention attributable to the framersof the constitution, or on the grammatical interpretation of the English language. It might be argued that based on grammar, if the dissolution of the LA should depend on the outcome of the intention of MB to resign, then the word ‘unless’ should have been juxtaposed to read: “If the Menteri Besar ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly, then, at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, unless he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council.” The sentence sounds odd, and that was why what is in the constitution has been chosen. Ungrammatically elegant though the above sentence shows, but it provides no ambiguity. It can be implemented without having to depend on the status, knowledge and reputation of the person whose role includes clear cut dissolution of the Legislative Assembly.

Many UMNO party office bearers, Mohyuddin, Rafidah Aziz, Hishamuddin, Mohd Ali Rustam, Syed Hamid have said that whatever His Royal Highness has decided, it would have to be obeyed. So to them there is no issue on the merit of the decision, but the person who made the decision. It implies that whatever the Sultans and Agong decide, they will not question, out of their loyalty, it would appear. So, if Agong decides that they should resign, they would happily oblige. That is a good development. So, MACC does not have to bring doubtful cases to court. Give the list of suspects to Agong, and with Agong’s pronouncement that in the interest of the nation they should resign they will resign.

written by astina, February 11, 2009 12:34:57
Is it any suprise that the Perak Gomen fel ??

DAP is nothing more than a Chinese Chauvinist party and PKR is actually ofspring of umNO ..both are race based ..and add PAS to that..

The leaders of these 2 party are more interested in their personal agenda instead of being a public servant.

Pete i had reservations despite your believe in DSAI being able to form the next Federal Goverment.
When you have Karpal , LKS , Hadi and Anwar in the same boat ..its like the Titanic...iceberg or carlsberg will bring it down ...just the matter of time..

smilies/wink.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by letsbefair, February 11, 2009 15:47:08
Whether we like it or not, BN had everything under their control.

Police, Army, MACC, Judiciary, EC and those billion Ringgit companies. They will never relinquish power even if they are voted out of power. Only fools would do so and become "commoners". Earning a living out of political power is tough and most of us would agree but with power comes wealth!

That is why Robert Mugabe, Ferdinand Marcos, Myanmar Junta ect. will cling on to power even when they were trounced at the polls!

What we need is to make PR strong but not enough to take over the Federal government. In so doing Najib or whoever in control would not take drastic actions to cling on to power but instead try to appease the people with generous offer and and work hard to improve the live of everyone.
Without any pressure BN will get arrogant and only think of themselves.
written by kukamelon, February 11, 2009 16:59:36
If I were offered even 5 million, I would crossover indefinately. I would even bend down for Najib. 5 million can do me good until I die. I do not have to worry about anything. Maybe my child would enjoy that money too... If I just put 3 million in fixed deposit with a 4% interest per year, that would be 12,500 per month. Is that not enough for an average Malaysian for a month's expenditure? I still can drive Camry, own a bungalow, fly overseas for holiday & suck eggs with my grandmother...
Because MALAYSIA BOLEH! You think that the liers, cheaters, power crazy idiots will repent? It is easier for the camel to enter into the eye of the needle than for all these MALAYSIAN politician to become honest & man full of integrity.
Malaysia is full of corruption. If you want to get a job done, just pay them. This is going on in the government & also the private sectors. Even the forklift driver-despite getting his monthly salary, will only offload (fast)if you pay him a few bucks. Or else, when he sees you coming, he'll dissappear for a while; forklift have to change gas/pour diesel lar... stomach ache lar, had to arrange barang in the warehouse lar... So, what will the lorry driver/employer do? Pay lar!!! Never pay means turun slow & cannot carry more trips... equals to less income. So pay lar!!! And the next time the forklift driver sees the lorry coming to load/offload, he won't have anymore problems. Huh!
You want business also you gotta pay commission. No give commission, no get business...
I have heard & I have seen... What I hear can be rumour, right? But, I've seen with my own eyes!
Will these MALAYSIANS ever change? Will they? They won't!
Moses could not even get the Israelites to enter the promise land, for 40 years they were wondering in the desert-going round & round. Come on lar, Moses splitted the red sea, GOD gave manna from heaven, changed bitter water to sweet water,even their clothes grew with them... but they still had doubts... They never entered the promised land-land full of honey & milk... Come on lar, if Adam & Eve never ate from the tree of good and evil, would things be like what it is now?
RPK, everytime you attack these idiots & point out their mistakes, they only get smarter. Najib probably has 10 advisors under his payroll to brain storm to find out what yours/PKR's next move would be. Even if you were put in prison & died for these MALAYSIAN, you think people will remember you in times to come? Will they? If the history itself can be changed, you think they cannot erase your history kah? The ungratefull fellows will definately also forget you.
So brother, at this point, enjoy life to the fullest. PKR will not be able to form the next governmet at this point of time. Barisan will get smarter and smarter after every obstacle they encounter.
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 18:08:44
Kukamelon : If you don’t want to be principled and sincerely, so be it ! if you have already thrown in the tower, so be it, but don’t rant and complain here ! you do not do justice to everyone who think and behave otherwise. Bugger off ! We don’t need self-centred people like you!
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 18:11:49
Eagle22: Whether you like it or not, the MP from Pekan, Pahang happens to be the DPM of Malaysia and the leader of UMNO , the party which purportedly commands the majority of the Perak State Assemblymen. He did not go alone, he went with all the Perak Assemblymen and the nominated new MB. You have a point in stating that Perak MP has nothing to do with Perak state but are you suggesting that the Perak Sultan should have rejected the presence of Pekan MP ? Maybe, right so ! But if Anwar Ibrahim had wanted to be present in the swearing-in of the Pakatan assemblymen last year, would you have disagree with this ? If the Sultan had consented to the presence of Anwar, would you have objected and say back then : what does the MP from Pematang Pauh has to do with Perak politics and ask Anwar to leave the ceremony? I share your anger over what happened in Perak but let us debate rationally and calmly.
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 18:14:03
Anak penang : you stated that you do not agree with many points presented here. Fine and good ! that is what democracy is all about, the ability to discuss, share and debate sensibly. Just state the points that you disagree and why you disagree on them. Contrasting and opposing views are always accepted but not irrational.
written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 18:21:01
Jchew : your “insight” of Nasarudin being a mole and crossed over to Pakatan to give Pakatan a false hope and therefore prevent a possible dissolution (when PR had 5 vote majority) is just too difficult for me to digest.

To your question, “what make you think Jamaluddin, Osma and Hee would support the motion?”. My response is that no involvements from these three individuals are needed for a dissolution. Hope by now you would have read wide enough to understand the election process, else pls ask around.
Jchew : also to your question “what makes you think the sultan would have consented to the dissolution”
Obviously, and especially in Msian politics, there is no certaintly of this happening ! I am not a constitutional law expert but my limited knowledge of this subject is that if the government party were to present to the Sultan that the incumbent party no longer commands the confidence of the majority of the Rakyat, the Sultan should then agree to a dissolution. There is a possibility that the Sultan might not agree to this, and in my opinion, this was why the BN leaders were rushing to meet up with the Sultan to present its side of the case. Obviously, the BN had presented their State Assemblymen line-up which off course then was in the majority and therefore seek consent to form the next government. Hence, it is RPK (which is also mine) that the Pakatan government should had called for dissolution in the early parts of the event when it had a stronger chance (which was diminishing by the hours during the course of event) of doing so.

You also said that the Perak Sultan would have rejected the MB’s request (for a dissolution) because he is pro-BN ! what reasonings(and pls state clearly and logically) for making the statement that the Sultan is pro-BN! You seems to suggest that the Sultan’s association through her daughter’s 7.5% stake in Gamuda was the reason for a possible rejection of a dissolution. Well, everyone is entitled to their opinions, irrespective whether they are logical or otherwise. But may I then ask whether you were one of those people who had cheered for the Perak Sultan for supporting and sanctioning the Pakatan-party as the Perak incoming state government after last year general election at the huge risk of antagonizing the Federal Government such that Gamuda would suffer seriously ! Did you cheer and applauded the Sultan then ? Did this thought cross your mind then ? If yes, then I cheer you for being steadfast to your principles and not being a hypocrite ! or are you going to argue that the Sultan had no choice but to accept the Pakatan line up ? Let us think before we act, let us think before we write.

written by RungutanSiAhPek, February 14, 2009 18:32:44
Ireneyow : I am not from Kuala Lumpur. I am a small kampong in East Coast, not even a quarter the size of Ipoh but that is not the point. I apologize for offending you on yr command of English. I am sure you competent in the language. Unfortunately, I happened to think what RPK wrote were very fair and believe that you might have misinterpreted his meanings. Everyone is entitled to opinions but just make sure there are no misunderstanding. Pls read blogs and comments on “RPK takes on …Everybody”, specifically on comment by Sufc and response from Super Admin. I am sure you would agree that what happened to Perak is everybody’s business, not just Perakian. Rgds.