Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Did Your Grandfather Tell You ….

Did Your Grandfather Tell You …. PDF Print
Saturday, 07 February 2009 12:18

Did your grandfather tell you that people deserved the govt. they get? If he did, you should have listened more carefully and thought more deeply about what he said. Shame on you if you had not.

In spite of thinking of themselves as politically savvy, cutting edge and cool bunch of people, some MT commentators utter the most seditious curses. This shows how utterly emotional and undisciplined they are and how they choose to blind themselves and ignore a dangerous law. They therefore deserve the BN govt. The tragedy is that MT may have to pay the price.

The Malays deserve the govt. they get because the majority choose to be seduced by pitiful goodies and being flattered with Ketuanan Melayu by the BN govt, in spite of the fact that they know full well BN biggies commit the most corrupt and vile acts imaginable. The tragedy is that the whole community has to pay the price.

As RPK says – it is a fact of life that Chinese towkays own most of the businesses and Malays have to seek employment from them. Unfortunately for the Chinese towkays, there are other facts of life too.

The second fact of life of relevance is that Malays form the majority of voters – quite a bit more than half of all voters. The third fact of life is that most Malays are Muslims or claim to be Muslims – almost 100% do.

So while a lot of Chinese voters know that UMNO is the cause of racism in this country, a few still go around uttering unthinking vicious slights against Islam as well as Malays. One can read these utterances quite commonly on the internet. So while they know UMNO is racist, they cannot get rid of 51 years of UMNO brainwashing on their own minds. In this sense, they deserve the govt. they get for not being able to free themselves from the thing they hate, or at least tolerate it in others, for this hypocrisy can only unsettle some Malay voters who would edge closer to UMNO for security. The tragedy here is obvious – does the racist chicken or the racist egg come first?

Also, just as RPK says - that PKR in its early days did not know any better than to serve beef in its open houses, so also DAP today does not know any better than to utter that “Chinese voters are kingmakers.” This has many negative connotations. I do not wish to go into all of them. I trust you can think for yourselves if you care to spend time on it. What concerns me is that it tells me the mind of the utterer views the Chinese voters as a block which can switch sides as they please to benefit themselves. This behaviour would eventually necessitate the Chinese community thinking of themselves as an isolated, immune and separate community with a destiny that may not have anything in common with the rest of Malaysia. So while it may benefit the DAP to “reserve” the Chinese votes for itself by such utterance, it blinds itself and ignores fact of life 2 above. The Chinese are subtly “obstructed” from forming strong alliances based on mutual interest and are tragically pointed in only one single minded direction of pure self-interest. So it is no accident that Jelapang joins Behrang & co.

Finally, did your grandfather tell you that it is often not a good thing to take short cuts? One cannot undo 51 years of UMNO rule with short cuts of a few months. Weaknesses exist not only in the hearts and minds of our elected representatives, but also in our own. Hopefully struggle and set backs will make all of us stronger. Granted, we should not be too relaxed about it either, but it is a sign of amateurishness if one becomes demoralized with the first set-back. It is a sign that we may after all be opportunists addicted to easy short-cuts no better than the elected representatives who abandoned us. It is time for professionalism to take to the field.

Lastly, I am of the opinion that HRH the Sultan of Perak could have decided either way and still be right. This is part and parcel of our constitutional democracy. This is also a fact of life. In times when the law fails or is debatable, it is the function of the Sultan to make a decision and whatever decision he makes will be the right one. At the same time it is also the right thing for Pakatan to choose to take the matter to court. This is also part and parcel of our constitutional democracy. Nizar cannot be faulted, so while many Malaysians blame the Sultan or blame Nizar, the real rascal walks away triumphant.

There is lots of work to do. We can expect things like navy buildings collapsing even before they are completed or offshore patrol vessels taking several times the contract amount to build without penalty and still be less than sea-worthy to happen again. It is time to let most likely unsalvageable set-backs go and concentrate on the struggle ahead.

By batsman

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by justice, February 07, 2009 12:29:13
The fact is that Malaysia without UMNO/BN will be a peaceful, prosperous and progressive country!

Stay united and put in your efforts to educate the young voters!
We can bring UMNO/BN down COMPLETED in GE13!! Mark my word!

agree 118
written by froggy, February 07, 2009 12:31:16
The Prostitute of Jelapang

http://thedandelions.*********...-jelapang/
written by red1, February 07, 2009 12:38:12
The King can never err. How poetic. Say that to King Louis XVI, and China's last emperor.
written by teo siew chin, February 07, 2009 12:40:42
Batsman - give us a break la, let us wallow in misery just awhile to get it out of our system. I fault all grandfathers who voted for the same govt and allow absolute power all these 50 years, so there! smilies/tongue.gif
written by lobster, February 07, 2009 12:40:56
Batsman. Yes. I agree with you. Chinese are just too full of ourselves. I am especially disgusted when the ngeh fella condemned the jelapang woman as a traitor to her race. Whatever happen to Bangsa Malaysia?

And although I am disapontted with HRH's decision, I completely disagree to be disrepectful to The Sultan. If we are not going to agree wih HRH's decision should it not be in our favor, why asked in the 1st place? If we are only going to accept decision made according to our wish, than we are no better than the UMNO bunch and hence we deserve the UMNO gov't.
written by Godflesh, February 07, 2009 12:46:48
Nice article. We're all to be blamed for whatever shit we find ourselves in! Batsman, you've pretty much summed up the Malaysian psyche. Once again, nice article - straight to the point!
written by teo siew chin, February 07, 2009 12:47:22
"...some MT commentators utter the most seditious curses..."
-----------------------
That i totally agree with you Batsman.

Rein it in people, dont get YM RPK into trouble again unless YOU yourself take personal responsibility for your own seditious utterances. Work out your anger by other means - go buy some shoes!
written by by2020, February 07, 2009 13:02:34
I am running a business myself, what I see is that the Malays can not perform well in business because of the wrong understanding of building successful business.

Their understanding from what they see in their surrounding is that you can make money easily if you have good connection, nothing else. So they spend all their time buddying with those in position and power, some will make it with good connection, but many fail because they are not building their true worth. They got nothing to offer in business besides the connection! So even those with good connection will fall once their political master diminish into oblivion, therefore to keep their master's political power is akin to life and dead that resulting in such an awful and brutal political fight we see today.

Business is about having the asset capital, knowledge or product to offer, and many other ingredient to make it a success. Chinese at the beginning will save every sen they earn to build up their asset capital base, spend time on learning new technology and the important ingredient of business. With the money they saved as capital and continuous learning of the latest product to offer, that is how they survive!

On the other hand, we see many Malay businessman will not keep money they made and parted easily for big cars and bungalows or even more wifes (lol, instead of keeping them for rainy days or for increasing their capital. So their fortune will go with their political master, nothing left.

So naturally we can see who will be successful, or I should say survive, when the law of nature take its course in business.
written by ylcc, February 07, 2009 13:03:07
Hi batsman, I agree that seditious curses uttered by readers should not be condoned. Question: why blame it on the Chinese? How sure are you that they are Chinese? From what I read on the Sultan's website, they definitely do not seem Chinese to me. And your comment on "a lot of Chinese go around uttering unthinking vicious slights against Islam as well as Malays."

This morning I had just told The dragonheart off for being racist, and here you are playing the same game.

The public, MALAYSIANS, are upset over Perak. These few racists, seditious or whatever mentioned by you do not represent the majority of us.
written by by2020, February 07, 2009 13:04:47
Sorry, so add: commenting the statement "As RPK says – it is a fact of life that Chinese towkays own most of the businesses and Malays have to seek employment from them.
written by Sagaladoola, February 07, 2009 13:10:53
Hi batsman,

Thank you for this piece.

Malays, Chinese and Indians should work together as Malaysians.

For all,
Please respect each other. Don't step on Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Hinduism etc. etc. just because you do not like them. Have a meaningful discussion instead.

I am sorry for PR on this condition in Perak but unfortunately from a political-analytical point of view, it is very hard and almost impossible for PR to turn it around again.

I believe all of us know who control the courts that can determine whether the resignation letters can be accepted or otherwise.

I believe all of us know who control the Election Commission.

I believe all of us know who control the national coffers, the EPF and all.

Let BN win this political battle, but risk losing the oncoming political 2012 electoral "war".

And to Najis, this situation reflects a lot on your personality, with your bright smile all over the front page of the papers yesterday.
written by Kuda Belang, February 07, 2009 13:30:41
When the Sultan of Perak, a reader of law decides to set aside an important principle of the nation: 'Keluhuran Perlembagaan", does the majesty expects rakyat to uphold "Kesetiaan kepada raja"?
written by fireduck, February 07, 2009 13:34:44
Yes, I think we should not go overboard in expressing our disappointment. I'd hesitate to use harsh words, firstly, it's not my nature to do so. Secondly, it's too incomprehensible to think that a decision like this one can overturn overnight the respect and high regards we had for the Perak Royalty. Disappointed, for sure, but there must be some rationale behind it. Logically we all see a dissolution of the State Assembly as the best option but perhaps there are information we lack that may make it less feasible.

But while we try to grapple with the reality of the situation, let us not forget the overall goal, and that is for a better Malaysia, a nation that we can be proud of, where a real Bangsa Malaysia can emerge, and where UMNO/BN is just another option and not the ONLY option for the Government.

So, let the frogs have their day for now, but we all know that come the next GE nobody will field them as candidates, not PR and definitely not BN. UMNO/BN may be bad but I don't think they would field these frogs again as it would mean a sure loss of the seat. So, the frogs have already gotten their retirement funds and may be ready to enjoy the bitter fruits of it, so perhaps there may yet be a by-election soon.

Let's remain united, rakyat and make sure that the tsunami rolls even stronger come the next GE.
written by borneoman, February 07, 2009 13:35:31
By batsman: and cool bunch of people, some MT commentators utter the most seditious curses. This shows how utterly emotional and undisciplined they are and how they choose to blind themselves and ignore a dangerous law.

what you said here is exactly what umno led bn expect...it sooth their ears to hear a saint like you who will always be there to help stop their enemies from nailing the final nail on their coffin.do you think that RPK is also undisciplined when he utter seditious words against his enemies in m2d?do you think you would have a space to write your saintly views if not for RPK malaysia 2today?go syok sendiri and wait for the your cow to come home to your door step,lagi bagus.
written by shissun, February 07, 2009 13:36:36
http://photos-426.friendster.c...75435l.jpg
written by shissun, February 07, 2009 13:37:11
written by Bosan, February 07, 2009 13:39:24
Try to think of this phrase= THE HRH IS ALWAYS RIGHT BUT 'NEVER' WRONG.
written by gorshan, February 07, 2009 13:40:16
batsman is right, keep emotions in check.there are sedition laws aplenty to keep some commentators in kamunting for a long long time.you like the sultans or not ,agree with their decisions or not, restrict your conversations to coffeeshop talks and pepper your conversation with expletives if you must but not within earshots of undercover SB. then you wait patiently for next general election and show your maximum anger ballot time. don't forget to wave enthusiastically the next time you saw a royal motorcade passes by. let them think everything okey dokey
written by *********, February 07, 2009 13:41:39
Jika Raja dikatakan murka, Rakyat pula naik angin. Mana lebih menggerunhan? Tanyalah arwah Shah Reza Pahlavi dari Iran...More http://*********.********.com
written by malaysian, February 07, 2009 13:47:58
Batsman,

I too fear backlash from all this Sultan bashing. But I feel that the Sultan has doomed us all by denying the people a better government.

Next month Najib will be Prime Minister. Next month, mind you! Najib is not like Badawi. There is not a shred of humanity in him. He is worse than his father, and learnt evil from the devil himself, his mentor Mahathir.

Do you really believe that Malaysia will have a fair chance to elect the Pakatan Rakyat into the Federal Government in the next General Elections? Can you gurantee Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Guan Eng, Tok Guru Nik Aziz, Karpal Singh, RPK and all other PR leaders wont be arrested or detained for sodomy to sedition the day after Najib becomes PM?

Malaysia needs a Revolution. We need it urgently!
written by jjireh99, February 07, 2009 14:01:00
batsman, I BEG TO DIFFER!!

Admin - No shouting. Please refer to http://mtadmin.livejournal.com/1164.html
written by venna, February 07, 2009 14:12:36

We must apply our humble efforts to the construction of a more just and humane world. And I want to declare emphatically: Such a world is possible. To create this new society, we must present outstretched and friendly hands, without hatred and rancor, even as we show great determination and never waver in the defense of truth and justice. Because we know that we cannot sow seeds with clenched fists. To sow we must open our hands.
-- Adolfo Perez Esquivel
written by SamSan, February 07, 2009 14:35:03
After reading all the blogs including Che Det's blog, Tengku Razaleigh's blog and a host of other UMNO/BN/Pakatan Rakyat and other eminent blogs, I feel something more than what meets the eye is amiss beyond the Perak Fiasco. I am wondering whether this is going to be the ultimate nail that is going to seal Najib's coffin. Reading behind what Che Det wrote which is also in consonant with our beloved Tengku Razaleigh bold statement, there is a consistent message that hints that Najib has stupidly rushed the whole affair and in the process has shown his stupidity,greed and incapability as a future leader of UMNO and Prime Minister of Malaysia. There must be some meaning behind our beloved Sultan of Perak's advice to the Pakatan Rakayat Menteri Besar Dato Seri Nizar to be patient (sabar). We will have to wait and see what happens next. But I still believe that our beloved and much loved and cherished Sultan of Perak and the most eminent Lord President and Chief Justice Malaysia ever had knows something that we don't and has made the right decision when he kindly requested Nizar to be patient. I fervently believe our beloved Sultan won't let his people down and loves his rakyat. May Allah Almighty guide us all into the true path of wisdom and righteousness.
written by Fat Zorro, February 07, 2009 14:50:36
Why have we not heard anything said by the 3 independents? They have not explained why they disappear, fail to attend press conferences, lied etc? When Bota defected to PKR, he came on TV to explain. But the 3 PR turned independent is maintaining silence, why? Did it not occur to Sultan to ask these questions when he met them? WHat happen to dispensing justice based on the priciples of EQUITY?
written by Limang, February 07, 2009 15:04:19
Overnight, the Perak Sultan destroys every respect and adulation I had for this royal family. Instead of letting the people decide the government, he decides it.

I have stopped reading what his son said. To me, not only are all just words to trick us to believe how enlightened they are, but to hide their true colours.

The only thing I see is still that Ketuanan Melayu must rule, no matter how wrong and evil it may be.

Sad.
written by MikeChen, February 07, 2009 15:06:33
Actually the mistake by MB not to seek state re-election before the frogs started jumping was the biggest mistake. As a Perakian I am utter disgusted with the situation but like me if you are lost for words at the shenanigan in the silver state and unable to restraint your anger but still want to stay sane, you can swear and still stay saintly! This blog has a link in how to curse your enemies without losing your cool! smilies/smiley.gif

http://thehingeblogs.********.com/2009/02/verbal-blastings.html

written by raven1958, February 07, 2009 15:12:12
Mahathir says it's treason trying to stop Nazrin's car....but the Bolsheviks had no such coyness when they dealt with Nicholas effectively.....Mahathir..remember...there are no superhumans....NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW....and in ONLY GOD we trust. For the snake you have been, are and will always will be...you gave birth to all these monsters....may your name be etched for a thousand generations that a moron such as you single handedly handed over this nation to a devil....
written by OVERLORD, February 07, 2009 15:31:34
My Grandfather is to blame as he forced all of my familiy member to vote BN because they are stable, therefore boleh cari makanlah....My grandfather's friend Muthu and Ali is also to blame because they fear their jobs will be in jeopardy if they vote for the opposition.....but their generation has since passed on...Malaysians are now a "politically savvy bunch of people" I'am happy to say that before my grandfathers passing, through my knowledged gained from alternative media like MT, I managed to convince him to vote for PR.....

"Before my eyes were opened, BN was righteous...Before my eyes saw the light of day, the King was sacred...."
written by Sabahfan, February 07, 2009 15:47:04
written by temenggong, February 07, 2009 16:36:04
Then deflect all criticism and insults to Hee Haw, who is representative of the 4 frogs and the other party who validated the jump!
written by cahaya, February 07, 2009 16:56:23
Hi Batsman, Thanks for this article. So, you do remember a few conversations with your grandfather, though some were boring at the time (what you wrote in a previous article).

After 51 years of brainwashing, it will take many years (hopefully not 51 years) to fully awaken Malaysians that political and other change is possible. And that change starts with oneself, our family and relatives, and our neighbours and friends. We don’t have to vote for bad governance. We can all choose to vote for better governance and better leaders, and what happened in 308 is a good start.

Your generation is the generation for change! Younger Malaysians can choose not to continue racial politics, to discard bad habits of corruption and dishonesty, to elect competent and honest leaders, etc. Yes, Malaysians deserve better. Your generation can work together to educate and inspire Malaysians to change things for the better for a better future for Malaysia.

One day, perhaps your own children/grandchildren will say "did your father/grandfather tell you about 308, and what happened after that?" May their stories inspire many more generations to come to work for a better Malaysia for all Malaysians.
written by batsman, February 07, 2009 17:22:17
teo siew chin – it’s up to you, but use some friendly advice - don’t wallow too long – some people get addicted to self-pity.

ylcc – better to be honest and direct yet disciplined in our comments. For example, I worry about the reliability of the person next to me in a fight as will most others. I saw lots of Malays being gassed by the police and I wonder whether Jelapang is the only one who turned into a frog. I trust all my old friends, but still unsure of new ones. I often use the things I write about and the responses / comments to give myself an indication. How come it is that MALAYSIANS are upset but Malays are gassed. Surely we can all act together instead of separately.

borneoman – I am happy if you think you can provide the final nail in BN’s coffin, but I don’t think you can do it by making comments here on MT alone. In the meantime, good people are gassed and arrested by the police just for protesting. If you have the magic nail, I suggest you use it quickly to save lots of good people from making unnecessary sacrifices.

malaysian – I hope you really know what a revolution means. 6000 does not a mammoth rally make - sad fact of life. Besides, we cannot predict the future with any certainty. We should act according to facts and prepare against projections not the other way round.

cahaya - TQ, we try.

written by ylcc, February 07, 2009 18:35:20
Yes, batsman. It just happened that it was after prayers. Do you find many Chinese & Indians in mosques on Fridays. Yes, the races should have done it together, but did someone organise it or was it spontaneous?

I am going to tell you the same thing what I told The Dragonheart. There is a difference in treatment by the police towards the races. The police shout at non-Malays and whack us hard, and we are supposed to keep quiet. Watch the videos carefully. The Malays shout at the police, and they keep quiet. Aren't the police Malays? They would think twice before ill treating one of their own. You should take that into consideration, before you make comments about the non-Malays. We have been beaten very badly, ref: Cheras, ISA vigil, Kuran case, HINDRAF, etc. The police are racists to the core. Their priorities: UMNO first, Malay/Muslims second. Forget about being Malaysians.

I am sorry, but I am really tired about all this Chinese, Malay & Indian stuff. I am going off for a CNY bash. I forgot to wish you Kung Hei Fatt Choy. Cheers.
written by batsman, February 07, 2009 20:27:30
My grandfather never openly said it but I did notice he tried his level best to stay out of verbal confrontations with grandmother. I should have learnt from his example with regard to old battle axes, but often I am too stubborn for my own good.

I am sorry the Indians got dragged into this. They have a valiant and honourable record, but I think something interesting may have cropped out of this. It appears from ylcc’s list that the Chinese are reluctant to come out on political issues. They are on record as coming out on economic or monetary issues such as Cheras. Apart from this, Catholics and individuals can also show a stiff back, such as in the candlelight vigils.

So it appears that the Chinese community is strong on economic issues but weak on political issues. If one is of the view that the cup is half full, then there are good opportunities to help the Chinese organize on political issues. If the Chinese community is not well organized politically, the struggle for social justice and against corruption and abuse of power will also not realize its full potential. What do you guys think? Are there opportunities for PR here?
written by ylcc, February 07, 2009 21:13:31
batsman, please do not put words into my mouth.

Have you ever been to Kuala Kangsar? The mosque is just next to the palace. The road leading to the palace - the residential areas are predominantly Malays. I have been there numerous occasions because I love this little town, the ice kachang and the Malay shop keepers/residents. These are simple, nice, and humble folks. I could not, in my dealings with them, ever imagine that they were capable of showing so much anger. On the other hand, the Chinese are located in Ipoh town. They are far away from the scene. My point here is that the whole event was not organized, but a spontaneous reaction. So what are you talking about?

Don't just pass comments about the Chinese if you do not understand their culture. Remember years ago when UMNO tried to give monopoly of the sale of Mandarin oranges to the Malays during CNY? This is sensitive and traditionally a Chinese affair. What strategy did the Chinese come out with? Simple. They refused to buy the oranges. Who lost out in the end with crates and crates of useless oranges? Isn't this more effective than protesting in front of the Parliament?

This Hee woman. Do you think she dares appear before her constituency? She knows the Chinese are out to get her. It was reported that even the market is refusing to sell her parents vegetables. If she steps into a restaurant, no one will serve her. How is she going to live her life in Ipoh, without constantly looking over her shoulders? How is she going to do her job effectively? Where is this woman and her family now? The best option for her now is to disappear from the scene which would mean a by-election. Sometimes using your head to do things quietly does not mean weakness.

The Malays are strong in military, police, arms and numbers. What do you want the marginalized minorities in Malaysia to do? When it comes to this sort of thing, you want equality. When it comes to the pie, we are "pendatangs". So please stop all these nonsense.
written by borneoman, February 07, 2009 22:48:43
batsman,action speaks louder than words.are you a preacher or a follower?i think getting bashed and gassed is better than being killed.what doya think buddy?you fight your own way and me with mine.it will make it more difficult for our common enemy to plan their next move. Deal?
written by teo siew chin, February 07, 2009 23:09:27
aiyoyo Batsman - which is the more preferred : addiction to self-pity or addiction to $$$$ ?
End of the day, isn't it all about the money ? The almighty dollar is the ultimate seducer of man, be he pauper or king.

And Ylcc - you are most definitely wrong about discrimination of brutality by the police - pls watch the video of the fracas in Kuala Kangsar on the day of the swearing-in ceremony of the 2nd MB and you can observe that they were vicious even to our Malay brethren who were still wearing the kopiahs on their heads having just emerged from the Mosque! I salute the bravery, the warrior-spirit of these Malays who revolt against injustice, tyranny, corruption - and I spit at the men who are a shame to the uniform, attacking their brethren who they are suppose to defend and protect!!
written by ylcc, February 08, 2009 07:50:53
Hi Siew Chin, you probably are young. I have gone through the 60s riots with the FRUs. Study history back to the early 50s carefully, and you know what I am talking about. I had stated 2 priorities. First: UMNO, 2nd: Malays, forget about us. The police had no choice but to get the people off the roads. It is not going to be gentle, it is normal. Watch the difference in the Cheras tapes. These Chinese in the car. Were they protesting or dragged out purposely? Was it necessary to be so bloody and sadistic with more than 15 FRUs attacking the driver? The ISA vigil. It was peaceful, but they charged anyway. So watch all the tapes and come back to me, as this is a different issue.

I do not deny the bravery of the Kuala Kangsar Malays, and I am with them. I bring foreign visitors to Kuala Kangsar all the time, and I know the Malay restaurant owners there. Note that I said Kuala Kangsar Malays. Study its history. Just across the road to the huge palace lies the Royalty old palace. Small, on stilt, beautifully crafted and being turned into a show piece. Surrounding it, you will be surprised at the contrast. The town is practically untouched, which is why I love its beauty. It reminds me of the underdeveloped state of Mersing. Since the old palace is here, wouldnt it be right to say that the Malays here are the actual subjects of the Sultanate, that they grew up with the Royalty? They love their Sultan and they respect him. So ask yourself the question - why the sudden anger shown by his own subjects? Is it a question of racism I am talking about, or something so deeply rooted in these special people - pride, trust, loyalty, disappointment, hurt?
written by batsman, February 08, 2009 10:55:34
borneoman - Agreed, its a deal, but I hope you accept suggestions as I do. It is actually scary to fight alongside someone who is all noise and fury - gongs, cymbals, firecrackers, curses and swearing, etc.
written by apa jadi, February 08, 2009 12:11:13
Batsman,

My grandfather did not tell me all these. He was illiterate.

The trouble is that you listened too much to your grandfather. You are now beginning to yak like your grandmother over some minor issues. I just have a quick skim to your posting. I told myself, grandmother speaking. Enough.