Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow My open letter to DYMM Paduka Seri Sultan Azlan Shah suggesting a third option.

My open letter to DYMM Paduka Seri Sultan Azlan Shah suggesting a third option. PDF Print
Friday, 06 February 2009 19:31
Duli Yang Maha Mulia Paduka Seri Sultan Azlan Shah, Ampun Tuanku, beribu ribu ampun, titah patik harap diampun,

Tuanku,

I hope this letter finds you in excellent health.

Please permit me to be the voice of some concerned citizens on the recent happenings in the state of Perak

On your 25th anniversary of rule celebrations your son The Raja Muda sang glowing praises of you as the Monarch who has the peoples interest at heart.

Raja Muda of Perak Raja Dr Nazrin Shah. said that The Ruler, as the head of state and country, needs to be neutral, non-partisan and free of having personal interest to ensure justice for the people.

No doubt you have arrived at your decision based on the technicality that MB Nizar  no longer commands the majority of the state assembly.
I humbly ask that you put aside your illustrious career in jurisprudence and legal background to see with your heart.There are enough people to look at it from legalistic angles.Many hope that you will look at it as a jury representing the people rather than a judge.

The Monarchy is regarded as the fourth pillar of democracy in a system such as ours.With the other 3 pillars namely the Executive, Parliament and Judiciary

arguably in many instances not complying to the doctrine requiring the separation of powers, the people have turned their hope to the Monarchy

Please permit me to quote The Raja Muda again :

“The presence of the Ruler helps in enhancing the effectiveness of the check and balance mechanism, thus strengthening the institutions of the legislature, executive and judiciary that have been created in the country; lifting the level of public confidence in the system of government and system of nationhood based on democratic practices, and the doctrine of the division of power,”

At the moment nobody holds a majority, the assembly is divided 28 to 28 down the middle, the 3 who have pledged allegiance to BN are still independents, we can speculate whether they did so by monetary incitements, under duress , personal dissatisfactions or genuine convictions, much has been opined about this by various parties, many ordinary citizens inside and outside of Perak see the circumstances are glaringly dubious.

Needles to say there is a huge outpouring of dissatisfactions, that does not show signs of an amicable solution, not to mention the possibility of politicians

harnessing the sentiments of the rakyat for personal gain.

Judging from dissatisfactions within political parties , it is not beyond probability that some may change political allegiances in the opposite direction in the near

future and again bring up a debacle for the palace to decide

We can understand that dissolving mandates and calling for elections at the drop of the hat is unhealthy not to mention incurring substantial costs, thus there are articles within the constitution that put caveats that prevent polls being called for frivolous reasons.

The impasse has forced you to choose between 2 decisions, dissolve the state assembly or allow current status quo to prevail which is to allow whoever that commands the majority to form the state government, I offer a third solution : call for a statewide referendum of all eligible voters.

The referendum can be conducted by an independent party other than SPR under the supervision of the palace.

This will allow Perakians to decide whether status quo should remain or to call for fresh polls.

Your Highness will also be able to take undue pressure placed upon the palace and take comfort that whatever decision taken thereafter would truly be in the spirit and wishes of the rakyat.

Ampun Tuanku

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by nana tanjung, February 06, 2009 19:36:24
As a Penangite, I would like to request the Penang State govt and MPPP to revert the name of Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah to Jalan Gelugor. He might be able to do what he wants in his state, but definitely he does not deserve even a street name in my state.
disagree 19
agree 344
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 19:36:25
Excuse me guys! May I know who is the Sultan of Perak who have been fooled by those umno crooks!
agree 178
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 19:39:43
umno have disconnected MT in the sultan's palace to prevent him from reading MT.If the sultan have read MT ,I'm very sure he will have dissolve the assembly.He love MT 100% becos all the bloggers in MT are telling nothing but the whole truth!
agree 115
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 19:42:39
AAB and Jeanne are too ashamed to attend the swearing in of the 'new MB'.He knows that when he leave office,he will be leaving the rakyat to the wolves and he is fully responsible for this.
agree 110
written by kelvin.jude, February 06, 2009 19:46:05
bro vijay..datz a well written letter. Rakyats r under siege..
written by mikefonz, February 06, 2009 19:46:23
In Malaysia, it is a norm to say one thing and do another.
Got money, everything is possible. No need to be learned
or have wisdom. Malay$ia Apa pun Boleh.
written by malaysian, February 06, 2009 19:57:37
It is obvious from recent blog posting, rebellion in the streets of Perak and defiant Opposition politicians that the Sultan of Perak has lost the confidence of the majority Malaysians.
written by Kacang Tanah, February 06, 2009 20:01:41
Dear ahmadneil,

I doubt the sultan cares to read MT and has the people’s interest at heart. Let us forget about the sultan and be self-dependent. To the 3 pariah frogs, that is the end of your political career.
written by Kopi37, February 06, 2009 20:08:54
So far we still miss to see the true royal heart which is aimed for the people's welfare and well beings like the King of Thailand and the Sultan of Brunei! They prove their philanthropic hearts by actions instead of the hypocritical postures and histrionic! All those sweet words from the Raja are nothing more than rhetoric and political craps!!!! 'Cakap tak serupa pikin'!
written by inoi, February 06, 2009 20:16:47
Sekali lagi negeri Perak dijajah oleh UMNO setelah 50 tahun DIMERDEKAKAN oleh RAKYAT.
written by marbl3s, February 06, 2009 20:51:25
I rest my case on the comment i made about the royalties. Back on these two topics last time.

1) One comment made on the petition to the sultan of selangor on the CPO -- no action taken by the way....

2) one comment made when RPK blasted the chinese for being hypocritical bastards.
written by borneoman, February 06, 2009 20:54:34
The Monarchy is regarded as the fourth pillar of democracy in a system such as ours.With the other 3 pillars namely the Executive, Parliament and Judiciary

who do you mean by ours?the people of sarawak never have a sultan or king and we never plan to have one because it is a waste of money to support one.
written by Iliyas, February 06, 2009 21:00:35
The Sultan is responsible for what has happen in Perak.Due to his"illustrious legal career"he was the judge,jury and executioner for the Pakatan Rakyat Government.DYMM will go down in History as the worse ruler of Perak.We have lost total respect for him.

written by sahabat, February 06, 2009 21:03:15
Flashback to 2004 – in his book, Constitutional Monarchy, Rule of Law and Good Governance, the sultan wrote:

"Under normal circumstances, it is taken for granted that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong would not withhold his consent to a request for dissolution of parliament. His role is purely formal."

He also added that no sultan or agung had withheld consent to dissolve legislative body, except in Kelantan in 1977.

With his decision now, it looks like what he wrote was just rhetoric... without any convictions.
written by Mr Smith, February 06, 2009 21:36:38

My 3rd open letter to Raja Nazrin. First and second here to remind him of his sermons: http://mrsmith2.********.com/

Dear Raja Nazrin,

These words (below) were spoken by you just 3 days ago at about the same time the present crisis was unfolding in Perak. May I draw you attention to Quote No 4 below.

Did you say something about the “reality occurring in the state.”

Your people and their duly elected government were pleading, crying and begging for mercy, for justice and for their will to be heard. These were the realities I heard in Perak, did you? Perhaps the fence was too high.

What say you, Sir?

These are your own words:

1.”The Ruler, as the head of state and country, needs to be neutral, non-partisan and free of having personal interest to ensure justice for the people”.

2.“As the head of state at the state level and head of the country at the national level, the Ruler plays a role in upholding stability and justice, and strengthening solidarity and unity.

3.“The presence of the Ruler helps in enhancing the effectiveness of the check and balance mechanism, thus strengthening the institutions of the legislature, executive and judiciary that have been created in the country; lifting the level of public confidence in the system of government and system of nationhood based on democratic practices, and the doctrine of the division of power.”

3. “A Ruler should always ensure that whatever he said and did were not misinterpreted or misunderstood. As such power must be exercised to implement good practices. The Ruler’s nobility and honour, position and sovereignty do not come automatically.”

4. “The height of the throne has never caused my father to ignore the welfare of his subjects; the fence surrounding the palace has never prevented my father from seeing the reality occurring in the state.”

Reference: http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by temenggong, February 06, 2009 22:00:40
There is no 'huge outpouring of dissatisfaction', only huge open criticism of the sultan's decision.

I'm not going to write the sultan an open letter. Let us just wait and see the perak household get sued. There will be enough language in the high court judgement.
written by Agahdemo, February 06, 2009 22:04:16
The drastic response made by Sultan Azlan is understandable....
MB Nizar is a leader with rakyat at heart, how I wish I can say the same for
Sultan Azlan.....

With the UMNO taking over Perak, surely there will be more $$$$$$$.....
written by Sudahlah tu, February 06, 2009 22:08:57
sultan terdesak kerana keadaan ekonomi sekarang dan ketegangan kewangan pelaburan keluarga yang melibatkan kerugian yang amat besar ....
adakalanya manusia akan tunduk kepada perbuatan diri serta tamak ...
kerugian besar pelaburan puteri kesayangannya telah memberi peluang kepada umno merampas kerajaan negeri ....
apa boleh buat ... sayang bapa lebih penting daripada segalanya ..
itulah pengorbanan rakyat perak kepada seorang sultan yang hidup dalam keadaan serba salah ...
written by ibabonma, February 06, 2009 22:21:34
Vijay Kumar Murugavell, get this!

Raja Brooke knows what he is doing and he did it deliberately in consideration of something we never know. Never believe that he was misguided, what ever.
written by SiHangChai, February 06, 2009 22:22:43
Every Perak citizens other than those UMNO/BN scumbags should boycott any BN and Sultan Perak's events. I am not insulting the Sultan, but has lost my humble respect for not being a democratic Sultan for the rakyat.
written by HL Ooi, February 06, 2009 22:23:07
"....beribu ribu ampun, titah patik harap diampun"
Shouldn't it be
"mohon patik harap di ampun"?
written by aplus, February 06, 2009 22:28:26
To DYMM Sultan of Perak, please permit me to say that what has just happened is truly an injustice, or the word "misdeed" as quoted by you recently.
written by joeawk, February 06, 2009 22:33:34
Please esxcuse the prince. He was actually telling his father to do the right thing but the father allowed palace officials to sway him, thus the people get screwed.

Nevermind, soon there will be a change in the throne because it looks like the father's position is now untenable, having enraged the people of Perak.
written by ez24get, February 06, 2009 22:39:56
Vijay Kumar Murugavell,

A good suggestion! But that is assuming that he has the rakyat at heart. Although I think that he does have the rakyat at heart, but I'm afraid his decision might be influenced more by business interest as his family's business is closely intertwined with UMNO.
written by kingelvis, February 06, 2009 22:50:56
Sultan Azlan had stated don't question Malay rights and position of Malay rulers a position identical to Umnos. (I doubt he can say that to the Orang Aslis. They should be the rulers!. Malaysia is probably the only country in the world where rulers come from kaum pendatang).

So this charade not surprising since he chose MB from PAS the party with the lease seats. He thought Pas least likely to give in to non malays. He ignored PKR in choosing MB who he thinks gave too much to non malays.

Showing himself to be a racist quite honestly!
written by JohnQ, February 06, 2009 23:09:50
LATEST BLOCKBUSTEZ " How to lose wisdom in one ACT", " How to Lose Democracy in One day" Those who attend future "lectures" for some "wisdom words" shell deemed themselves hippocrite alias hippoCRABS
written by mendela, February 06, 2009 23:11:24
I totally disappointed and devastated by actions of Sultan Perak!
Never in my life I was so sad on things I saw and read from recent events!

How will the Sultan and raja muda face the public from now on especially the people of Perak?

Why on earth the Sultan did not say a word on the ill treatments received by MB Nizar this morning from the police and the scumbags?

written by mendela, February 06, 2009 23:15:35
RPK praised Sultan of Perak many times before.
I guess RPK is a person "with eyes by no pupil" !

written by JohnQ, February 06, 2009 23:17:46
Now Who should be saying " I Beg Your pardon" tomorrow ?

EVEN Barrack OBAMA said "Sorry,Citizens, I screwed up" over a few mistakes overlooked by staff.
written by PASOK, February 07, 2009 00:19:35
The Sultan committed treason against the rakyat.
written by merlin2001, February 07, 2009 00:45:30
Time and tide waits for no one. I can understand your closeness to the Royalties.
Why go for a referendum? Why not just ask the sultan to ask the 4 grasshoppers to resign and seek a new mandate? This will save more time and money.
The speed of sacking the PR MB is clear indication of a one sided affair. Why the haste?
As far as I am concerned Feb. 6 is D Day. You should know what I mean.
written by Jester, February 07, 2009 00:49:49
sultan pun pandai buat drama lah....
written by merlin2001, February 07, 2009 01:13:22
I don't really care for the legal jargon and who is right and who is wrong.
I care for the VOTERS. Today some 2000-3000 of them were sprayed with chemical
laced water coming out of the Mosque. Kids, old man, ladies, 14-20 year old and adults some hurt, others lying on the road. Who speaks for them????
Next Friday it will be 4000-6000 and if it happens again, the week after it will be
6000-8000. These are voters who are seeking their rights. WHO SPEAKS FOR THEM???
Do it again the exponential effects will be telling.
Tell me WHO SPEAKS FOR THEM????
Just because they don't own big cars, mansions, and bodyguards to protect them, they are human beings. They have rights.
WHO SPEAKS FOR THEM?????
written by khongja, February 07, 2009 02:00:30
Its' a sad day for Perakians!In truth they were screwed by you know who!
That,s life and dont think if one has been a former Judge one is Mr.Know all.Hey! read somewhere one member of the family is regarded one of the richest in Bolehland.
At the end of the day, its money la!The rest is all craps from them!
So its time Perakians fend for themselves and not depend on those royal bees.Without you perakians they are nothing!
written by Heaven8402, February 07, 2009 02:02:18
malsia1206, respect must be earned and not asked. This applies to everybody including sultans and i don't see the sultan reserve any better than everybody else. Get your eyes open wider and see what's happening in the only BolehLand unless you were born yesterday.
written by Umm Adzka, February 07, 2009 03:49:12
Mr Smith, Raja Nazrin meant what he said. you just have to bear in mind that it was mainly addressed to UMNO (and reported through the UMNO's piece of mouth). Thus, this is how it should be interpreted:

1.”The Ruler, as the head of state and country, needs to be neutral to UMNO, non-partisan to PR and its componentand free of having personal its subjects' interest to ensure justice UMNO isfor the people”.

2.“As the head of state at the state level and head of the country at the national level, the Ruler plays a role in upholding UMNO's stability and justice, and strengthening defectors' solidarity and unity.

3.“The presence of the Ruler helps in enhancing the effectiveness of the check and balance mechanism when PR was ruling, thus thereafter strengthening the institutions of the legislature UMNO, executiveUMNO and judiciary UMNO's partisans that have been created and bribed in the country; lifomitting the level of public confidence in the system of government and system of nationhood based on democraticmoney politic practices, and the doctrine of the division of power except that of Najib's.”

3. “A Ruler should always ensure that whatever he said and did were not misinterpreted or misunderstood. As such power must be exercised to implement good practices. The Ruler’s nobility and honour (if any), position and sovereignty do not come automatically; but quite handy to ensure UMNO's sovereignty. ”

4. “The height of the throne has never caused my father to ignore the welfare of his subjects; the fence surrounding the palace has never prevented my father from seeing the reality occurring in the state.”

5. When money and power talk, nothing else matters!
written by Downunder, February 07, 2009 05:21:35
I used to have high regards to the Sultan of Perak. Unless he gives convincing reasons not to dissolve the state assembly, he has lost my respects and many that of Perakians.
written by billyong, February 07, 2009 08:14:24
After all that is said and done, the die is already cast. We now have an UMNO MB in Perak. I always thought that a Sultan would be pro-rakyat instead of pro-UMNO. I hope in future that his Royal Highness stop preaching about good governance and the rule of law, because as of now, they ring real hollow.
written by kislean, February 07, 2009 09:56:43
Forget 3rd option or 4th or 5th or whatever because on hindsight, it is obvious that the sultan didn't want Pakatan Rakyat to form the State Government from day one after the GE. There were talks of non-bumi cannot head his state and it took him a long time to swear in Nizar. Look at the new umno MB, it's too fast or too quick on everything ... the acceptance, the meetings, the swearing in. It's as if the whole thing was pre-determined. Sad. Real sad for people not only of Perak but of Malaysia.
written by ckw, February 07, 2009 10:23:32
guys, it's all part of the plan. i don't know about u guys but yesterday NST front page photo of the sultan having a supposedly "one 2 one" audience with HEE is being captured by a press photographer and put one front page. what says you? for me, it's all an elaborate plan to get PR and everyone is involved including the royalty in Perak.
written by sauber21, February 08, 2009 09:47:56
Sultan Azlan Shah disappointed us! smilies/angry.gif

we truly;really do not wanted for UMNO regiment in our home state!
we enjoy every development planning by Pakatan in the state as it bring benefits to everyone!

before the event take place,
he is my beloved Sultan, a intelligent sultan.
im excited he chosen my agency im working to build a new web for him.
i even writen an article about him; how intelligent and prominent he is.

but now i realize everything i write gave me sadness.