Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nizar refuses to step down as Perak MB

Nizar refuses to step down as Perak MB PDF Print
Friday, 06 February 2009 18:10

(The Star) - Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin refused to resign as Perak Mentri Besar on Friday on the conviction that he still legally holds the post under the Perak State Constitution.

"We are not rejecting the Sultan's command, but we are appealing to him to follow the provisions of the Perak State Constitution."

Mohammad Nizar said the state government and Pakatan Rakyat leaders would request for an audience with Sultan Azlan Shah to appeal for dissolution of the state assembly to enable a state election to be held.

He said when he was granted an audience with the Sultan earlier, he was ordered to resign from his post and the Sultan also did not consent to the dissolution of the state assembly.

"I humbly beg to differ and say to his Royal Highness that 'I, as the MB and leader of the House, am appealing not to have to resign from the post'," he told a press conference at his residence, Bernama reported.

Shocked to find their offices cleared, Mohamad Nizar and his state executive councillors held a news conference to express their dissatisfaction.

”This is ransacking my office. There is no notice of eviction,” he said.

He said he only received a letter from the State Secretary, Datuk Abdul Rahman Hashim, to return the keys to the office, the official car and others.

Mohamad Nizar insisted that the Pakatan Rakyat government was legitimate and “until there is a vote of no confidence against me, I will not tender my resignation.”

Meanwhile, in Kuala Lumpur Pakatan Rakyat de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said Nizar remains the legitimate mentri besar of Perak according to the state constritution.

written by samarlin, February 06, 2009 18:14:26
Stay strong,YB.Justice will see the light of day!
written by AuntyG, February 06, 2009 18:16:27
Nizar is the Perak elected MB. Zambry is the Perak imposed MB via coup detat.
This is "A Tale of 2 MBs" ... by "what the Dickens" !!
written by MasterYoda, February 06, 2009 18:17:46
Yes Nizar!
we are with you!

This is what you call fighting until avenue is exhausted!

We the rakyat will remember that it was you and the PR who were fighting NOT for yourselves but on behalf of us.

When the next election comes, be assured that we will vote you back in as our chosen representative... both state and government...

Najib can laugh now, but we will have the last laugh... Najib will have to cry for as long as he serves his prison sentence, He will pay for his sins ans his father's sins...
written by sisa, February 06, 2009 18:18:50
Take heart...the strong always win. History has never shown the bully winning. NOW - its the Rakyat vs BN and the Royals who don care of rakyat. As of today, i will not read anything printed as spoken or told by the Perak Royals.
Even the Royals have started to insult the Rakyat majority. Why? SELF interest..??
written by OVERLORD, February 06, 2009 18:19:26
Dear Nizar...Godspeed..you are on the threshold of history....you hold our hopes and aspiration...The King has failed us in that task....Please be careful as you are up against the largest and most powerful Criminal Cartel in Southeast Asia....From all the corners of Malaysia and even the world, we support u to the fullest...HIDUP Malaysia...!!!!
written by SL Chan, February 06, 2009 18:21:18
YAB Nizar...

You are indeed a humble person..and i respect you and we are behind you all the way. You are still the MB of Perak as far as we are concern...
written by Dominic, February 06, 2009 18:22:09
Yes Nizar,properly you need those who really believe in true democracy to come along with you too to shove for support . HRH cannot ignore his subjects just like that !
written by mypanida, February 06, 2009 18:22:31
Rakyat restui segala tingkahlaku YB Nizar.
Raja adil raja disembah, raja zalim raja disanggah.
written by thumb, February 06, 2009 18:22:50
Please read this:- http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/97753
written by panca, February 06, 2009 18:26:06
MB Nizar is the legitimate Mentri Besar, the other(what is his name again?)Is it Dr Zambry is Bogus( not elected by The Rakyat in the first place), a Zombie.

Pariah gomen! Tak tahu malu punya orang.
written by Jimmy Choo, February 06, 2009 18:31:06
My respect to you, YAB Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin.
written by thor, February 06, 2009 18:36:52
Give Encik Nizar some respect ok, he is still the MB. Why these people don't hve any ethics at all, can simply goes to ransack his office. Where can, where is the law where is decency? Ah Koon's party used to hve some say in the state look where they r now. Even Ahmad d Madcow does not hve respect for ah koon, I hve the highest admiration for Encik Nizar. He was trully concern for the safety and welfare of the original katak and the katak2 going to face charges. But these jokers betrayed him and the people. Like what LGE says if u loss faith in d party don't abandon the wishes of the RAKYAT who put u in office to serve.
written by Liberace, February 06, 2009 18:40:17
Now we ordinary folks have to explain the Constitution to the former Lord President?
written by zza11, February 06, 2009 18:46:57
To form a new government in Malaysia:
All elected assemblymen (especially those without posts) get together in numbers equal or more then 50% number of the assembly seats then march to the palace or governor’s house and tell the ruler that your group do not support the present government and one of you will be sworn in as chief minister or prime minister within 24 hours and a new Government is formed. This can be done as many times possible between elections. Do not laugh! This is the law of our country.

written by lamakawan, February 06, 2009 18:47:39
We appeal to Nizar not to resign. Get the members of parliament to call for emergency meeting that deputy prime minister had conducted a coup de tat in a opposition state and forcibly installed his own menteri besar while incumbent Nizar is still holding the position of MB.
written by malaysian, February 06, 2009 18:57:35
We r with you Nizar!

Hang in there. You r our hero!
written by Kuku Burung, February 06, 2009 18:58:48
I think it is time to do a Thailand demo!
written by samarlin, February 06, 2009 19:11:26
YB may not be rejecting the command,he should,it is so unfair to him and to Perakians.
written by justinlian, February 06, 2009 19:17:23
I wonder where is our democracy these days...
It seems to have vanish from our govt to our rulers.
It seems to be the beginning of an end to something.
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 19:19:04
This is your stand and also this our stand and together we will stand firm,shoulder to shoulder.We will fight with you to the end.
That bitch,Hee, spoiled the whole party.If she have stand firm,we won't be in this scenario.
written by harmanamri, February 06, 2009 19:22:00
I call upon the Dewan Negara of Perak to remove this family of usurpers. Force them to abdicate!!
written by hanisma, February 06, 2009 19:22:50
YAB Nizar, be steadfast to your principle! We're behind you and let's fight to the end to rid off the betrayers of this wonderful nation. May Allah be with you and us for the sake of all Perakians and Malaysians as a whole! ALLAHUAKBAR!!!
written by Hockchew, February 06, 2009 19:31:53
Get a hundred people each from DAP, PKR ad PAS from all districts in Perak to gather at Masjid with a petition to Tuanku requesting dissolution of DUN and walk peacefully to Istana asking Tuanku to dissolve the DUN.

Let the people's power take its rightful place. NO violence.

The Police, Election Commission and the Federal Government are powerful entity but they cannot shoot at unarmed peaceful rakyat walking to see their Tuanku.

Do it fast and do it right.
written by uxzee, February 06, 2009 21:56:41
YB Nizar, you have demonstrated the people's will, which is also the majority's will. Whatever you have said and done the past few days is more than what we expected from you. Please go on in your own wise ways and carry on the struggle. Honest and sincere people are behind you in their prayers, thoughts,deeds and actions.
written by temenggong, February 06, 2009 22:04:13
That bitch, Hee, spoiled the whole party.

But the bitch found favor with the sultan. He thinks she is credible. So how?
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 07, 2009 08:37:29
(The Star) - Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin refused to resign as Perak Mentri Besar on Friday on the conviction that he still legally holds the post under the Perak State Constitution.

"We are not rejecting the Sultan's command, but we are appealing to him to follow the provisions of the Perak State Constitution."

WE ARE FULLY BEHIND YOU. SUE THE WHOLE DAMN LOT. IF U ARE NOT FOR US, THEN U ARE AGAINST THE RAKYAT.
written by Agahdemo, February 07, 2009 09:39:20
It's not MB Nizar refuse to resign but rather the disgusted manner in which UMNO's way of handling the whole matter.....

Why must MB Nizar be dismissed in such a manner? Has he not serve the rakyat? work for the rakyat?

Sultan Azlan, we, rakyat Malaysia have high hope in you that you with all your wisdom will do the right thing and be compassionate the least.....

You allow yourself to be misled and acted against the interest of those who once have high regards for you....rakyat Malaysia.

We shall remember what you have done this day in Perak...............