Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zambry sworn in after cops put down protest of thousands

Zambry sworn in after cops put down protest of thousands PDF Print
Friday, 06 February 2009 16:32

Protesters confront the police outside the mosque in Kuala Kangsar this afternoon. - Picture by Choo Choy May

UPDATED 4.10pm

By Adib Zalkapli, Lee Wei Lian and Neville Spykerman, The Malaysian Insider

Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir was sworn-in as the new Perak menteri besar by Sultan Azlan Shah today, soon after police fired tear gas and charged at more than 5,000 Pakatan Rakyat supporters outside Istana Iskandariah here.

There was little joy on the streets of this royal town after riot police broke up the large crowd of protesters marching towards the palace across the Perak River after Friday prayers to show their support for Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin, the man whom they feel is still the legitimate menteri besar.

Riot police charged at the crowd and at one point a pitched battle was being fought between the two sides.

The police fired round after round of tear gas, injuring scores including a 10-year-old boy who fainted, as a convoy of vehicles carrying Barisan Nasional leaders, including Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Razak, was trying to enter the palace grounds.

Many in the crowd have now dispersed all over the picturesque Bukit Chandan, where the palace and Ubudiah mosque are located in this royal town, after riot police continued charging at them for half an hour.

The situation remains tense outside the palace as several hundred protesters remain. Many others are still inside the mosque.
An unidentified state Pas representative has now joined police in asking the crowd to disperse.

The crowd had earlier joined Nizar for prayers at the Ubudiah mosque while preparations were ongoing for the swearing in of Zambry.

There was a standoff between riot police and supporters amid chants of "Reformasi" and "Allahuakbar". After failing to heed orders to disperse, police charged the crowd, some of whom ran back to the mosque to seek refuge. Some protestors were seen throwing bottles and other objects at the police.

In an immediate reaction, Perak DAP leader Ngeh Koo Ham said: "I'm very sad that the legitimate, peaceful demonstration in a democratic country was met with force.

"If the expression was peaceful, it should be allowed. It will be more dangerous if they go underground.”

Earlier today Pakatan Rakyat continued its futile bid to overturn the decision of Sultan Azlan Shah.

State Assembly Speaker V. Sivakumar said he would be writing to the Ruler by 3pm to ask for an emergency sitting of the state legislature, and for a postponement of the swearing-in ceremony.

This morning, Nizar was escorted out of his office by Ipoh OCPD Azisman Alias, while other Pakatan Rakyat state executive councillors were also asked to leave their offices, as the state's political impasse continued to take a turn for the worse in what is now a major constitutional crisis.

Nizar was also stopped from giving a press conference in the state secretariat building.

Earlier Nizar arrived at 9.50am in his official car.

"I feel good today. I am going to my office."

Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham was also here. They were allowed into the compound, which was being guarded by hundreds of policemen, while awaiting the swearing-in of Zambry.

It is understood the Pakatan Rakyat government plans to file a legal suit to challenge the legitimacy of a BN government, which they said is a result of a coup orchestrated by Najib.

State executive councillor Nga Kor Ming, who was yesterday asked to resign together with the Menteri Besar, also declared that the new Barisan Nasional government would not last.

"The Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin has not resigned," Nga told reporters, saying that the Pakatan Rakyat alliance would not recognise the new state government.

He begged Sultan Azlan Shah to reconsider the decision not to dissolve the state assembly.

Nga said the status of the PR administration can only be determined by the assembly after the question on the resignation by the three assemblymen has been solved by the courts.

"That was a very uncivilised, ridiculous way of handling the matter. We have been illegally removed from our office," said Nga, describing the manner in which they were chased out of the state secretariat.

Nga hinted that PR could retake the state soon and did not rule the possibility of BN lawmakers defecting to the alliance.

"I don't rule out the possibility. Let them be happy now, but they will regret very soon," said Nga.

Nizar is expected to boycott the official swearing-in ceremony at the palace in Kuala Kangsar.

Instead, he will be attending special prayers at the Ubudiah mosque, next to the palace. The public has also been invited to attend the prayers.

Nizar refused to resign yesterday when asked to do so by the Sultan, sparking the state's biggest ever political crisis.

But the BN takeover of the state is already a fait accompli, as Zambry is set to be sworn in today as the new MB.

Yesterday, Sultan Azlan Shah announced his refusal to give his consent for the dissolution of the Perak state assembly, and asked Nizar to resign.

As Nizar refused to resign, the post was declared vacant, although some constitutional experts say the proper and legal way for Nizar to be removed would have been through a vote of no confidence in the state assembly.

There are also conflicting views as to whether a Sultan, by convention, has any right to dismiss an MB, or the Yang di-Pertuan Agong a prime minister.

Nonetheless yesterday's decision has paved the way for BN to form the next state government.

The office of the Sultan of Perak, in a statement, said that after meeting all the 28 BN assemblymen and the three independents, the Sultan was convinced that Nizar had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the state assembly members.

"If YAB Datuk Seri Ir Mohammad Nizar bin Jamaluddin does not resign his post as Perak menteri besar together with the members of the state executive council, the posts of menteri besar and state executive councillors are considered vacant," the statement said.

Before thousands of supporters last night, Nizar pledged "to fight to his last drop of blood" to defend the legitimacy of his government.

MORE TO COME

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by borneoman, February 06, 2009 16:40:14
The office of the Sultan of Perak, in a statement, said that after meeting all the 28 BN assemblymen and the three independents, the Sultan was convinced that Nizar had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the state assembly members.

it is extremely dangerous to dance to the tune of umno music.the voters voice must never be underestimated.
agree 160
written by sisa, February 06, 2009 16:40:24
Totally no respect for the one who was sworn in or to the one who swore him. Both lost my respect in all ways.
Easy to talk..but difficult to walk the talk.
agree 147
written by Godflesh, February 06, 2009 16:42:09
To all who haven't registered or didn't bother to vote - pls prepare for the next GE, thats the least you can do for your country. It does matter ! Every vote counts!
written by tanwi, February 06, 2009 16:42:51
A suitable slogan for protesters as a message to the BN

"JANGAN CABAR RAKYAT!!"
written by Running Sardines, February 06, 2009 16:43:08
Ini hari saya makan ubi ... esok hari, sampai giliran kamu ...
written by shissun, February 06, 2009 16:43:24
06.02.09 - The day of uprising, civil disobedience. Will never respect the Kerajaan Haram and the Royal House.

The person I had looked up to has failed me.
agree 138
written by Newkidonblog, February 06, 2009 16:43:43
Three pillars falling to the ground
and soon there will be no more pillars standing on the ground.

The all the kings will lose their crowns!
Rotten pillars should be brought down to the ground.
written by rpremkumar2u, February 06, 2009 16:44:25
Reformasi! The most unpopular MB to be sworn in. The rakyat spit at you. Ptuihh!
written by lampard, February 06, 2009 16:45:53
Malaysia Boleh...sultan boleh, MB boleh, Najis boleh, BN boleh...Rakyat TAK BOLEH...!!!
written by u chen, February 06, 2009 16:47:40
Very disappointing to learn that the man known all this time for his humility, intelligence and integrity actually succumbed
agree 130
written by ellyna, February 06, 2009 16:52:07
Another Melayu wannabe at Perak's helm?? Or am I wrong??
written by wishuponastar, February 06, 2009 16:52:49
Some leaders make decisions to remind rakyat they exist.

They fear to be archived as museum pieces.

written by OVERLORD, February 06, 2009 16:56:06
Have u ever had the feeling that these events for the past few days was meticulously planned way before Nasaruddin Hashim aka. Frogman jumped ship? Seems that every actor including the king has been following a set of script. Right from the word go, we see the quick disappearance of 3 political whores, followed by the return of trojan horse Nasaruddin back to the fold. Nextt turn of events was executed with precision and swiftness of the King rejecting a bit for dissolution and asking Nizar to vacate his post... ...Wham! boom BAM!!!..Next thing we know, we have a new MB....Najib deserves an Oscar....
written by Anti Relon, February 06, 2009 16:57:03
When the Umno assemblyman defected to PR. No blogger protested. Now that three PR lawmakers defected to Umno protests by PR goons.
What is good for the cock is good for the pussy.
The state should have a new election to sort out the mess.
What a pity a lovely country is dragged through this mess.
written by JayJayPo, February 06, 2009 16:57:30
As a Perakian, come what may...YB Nizar is still my Menteri Besar. The existence of the Sultan of Perak in my beloved state is irrelevant to me from this day onwards.
written by Wak Din, February 06, 2009 16:57:46
Kami rakyat Perak and Malaysia berserah kepada Allah bila Tuanku berlaku adil
Kami rakyat Perak and Malaysia berserah kepada Allah bila Tuanku berlaku zalim
Kami rakyat Perak and Malaysia tidak sama sekali berserah kepada Tuanku
Maaf Tuanku, mungkin bahasa patik ini agak kasar tetapi itu adalah bahasa rakyat yang mahukan keamanan dan keadilan.
Pada hemat patik Tuanku telah bertindak zalim membelakangi pilihan rakyat. Sekarang Perak akan ditadbir oleh perasuah, pemain C4, pengampu, S$x maniac dan seumpamanya dengan perkenan duli Sultan.
Zalim sungguh nasib yang menimpa Rakyat Perak dan Malaysia.
Tetapi ingat, doa orang yang dizalimi akan sentiasa dimakbul Allah
Kami rakyat Perak and Malaysia berdoa kepada Allah sehingga kebenaran terserlah
Kami rakyat Perak and Malaysia tidak sama sekali berdoa kepada Tuanku.
Kami rakyat Perak and Malaysia akan berusaha bersungguh-sungguh agar kebenaran terserlah. Kalau tidak hari ini mungkin minggu depan atau tahun depan atau pada GE13.
Yang zalim akan tersungkur ketika - InsyaAllah.
written by timmy, February 06, 2009 17:00:22
Remember the spat between Nizar and Sultan over the sacking of a religious official.

Start from there and start to link it to the smooth take over by BN, you'll be able to connect the missing lines.
written by kokkeng, February 06, 2009 17:08:50
The sultan does not act according to the rakyat's will but his. He has crossed beyond the law
written by Mr Smith, February 06, 2009 17:11:28
It seems the sultan is more than keen to have a BN government. Why?
written by johanssm, February 06, 2009 17:16:12
Sultan made a bias decision.
Simply means the Sultan is saying it is okay for Perak to have corrupted assemblymen and women for his state.
Simply means that the sultan supports the ISA , corruption and the rakyat's vote are worthless. Might as well the sultan kicks out all politicians and he alone admin his own state just like the old sultanate time.
Some will say that sultans are mere puppets of the umno regime.
As sultans seems to be indebted to umno for challenging the Malayan Union.
But the old umno is dead.
I just want to remind the royals. Is this Islamic way ?
Or the royalties are afraid of losing power and wealth once the people's power are enforce?

So all the talks and speeches made by Raja Nazrin are mere bullshit in order to props up royalties. The royalties have everything they needed in life. From money, fame, maids , servants, Rolls Royce, Ferrari , palaces , bodyguards and outriders. They have everything !
Why cant the sultan at least gives the rakyat their own choice?
Rakyat wants an election . Is this too much to ask?
Aint this a fair demand coming from the rakyat?
written by Frusmalaysian, February 06, 2009 17:16:30
Many had expected a King Solomon -type -wisdom exercised by HRH Sultan.
written by shissun, February 06, 2009 17:19:42
Zambry,

Hang boleh sumpah naik jawatan. Tapi semua Anak-Anak Perak sumpah hang jadi KATAK 7 keturunan.
written by Bakren, February 06, 2009 17:19:53
Habis lah Malaysia macam ni.
Atas, bawah, kiri, kanan, depan, belakang, korup...
Mereka semua ni bak kata P Ramlee, "ooo, kau main bangsat ya!"
written by Debbie, February 06, 2009 17:23:03
While the govt here in aust..is going on with distributing bonuses with the 2nd stimulus plan..
We have idiots in Malaysia....who dont see the bigger side of the country's outcry.

Another reason for the kids and I .......no going back to Bodohland.

Sorry my bretheren and I can only pray for you guys.

written by jereylow, February 06, 2009 17:31:17
It is time for us to ensure PR will obtain 2/3 of MP seats and 2/3 State seats in every state and to change the constitution to get rid of corruption and the royalty. We as his subjects have given them lots of respect even though we all the while know they are corrupted but the action of Sultan of Perak will enable the RAKYAT have the ultimate say who should run our country in the next election. Our country is so very corrupted to its very core at every level and department of Government, it is only when we have the overwhelming majority to get rid of all these devilish actions in our country.
written by Bakren, February 06, 2009 17:34:19
Kenyataan Sultan, MB Nizar dan kerajaan PR hilang kepercayaan.
Kepercayaan siapa?
BN ada 28, PR ada 28. Square.
4 lagi tak kira lah - sebab, Bukan ka Sultan sendiri yg minta wakil rakyat sign surat aku janji letak jawatan ADUN kalau lompat parti?

Bukan ka anak Sultan ni yg ke sana sini bagi speech konon2 BAGUS??
Bukan ka Sultan ni yg antara aku respect?
Bila dia buat macam ni... hmmm..
Aku nak tanya, "Ini Sultan ka, apa ni?"

Ketua Agama Islam.
Aku hanya sembah Tuhan. Bukan hantu! -

HIDUP RAKYAT!
Yang bayar cukai? Rakyat.
Yang kerja susah payah? Rakyat.
Yang kena terima polisi2 sampah kerajaan? Rakyat.
Yang kena samun, rogol, rompak, bakar, halau, tindas? Rakyat.
Yang mesti tunduk, hormat, patuh? Rakyat.
Anak2 siapa yang keracunan susu basi projek kroni kat sekolah2? Rakyat.
Anak2 siapa yang mati di projek PLKN untuk kroni2 tu? Rakyat.
Siapa yang terpaksa catu makan-minum bila harga barang naik, minyak naik, bil letrik? Rakyat.
Siapa yang sengsara bila tanah runtuh, banjir besar? Rakyat.

DAN, siapa pula yang:
syok makan sedap2 hari2 di rumah2 besar?
syok belasah elaun 'entertainment' hasil duit cukai?
jalan sana-sini ada escort, polis blok jalan sampai ada accident dan rakyat terbunuh?
berkapal layar makan angin, bila rakyat Johor sengsara dengan banjir?
SIAPA?

TERLALU MARAH. kalau aku mencarut sumpah seranah pun tak guna. Buat rosak akhlak saja. Jadi sama pulak buruk akhlak (tak ada akhlak?) macam mat UMNO dan penyokong!
written by KC Chin, February 06, 2009 17:35:11
I had a hard time of getting my tears drop for 8 years after my father past away. Now, I am so sad that my tears start dropping again for Perakian. No more BN. I mean it. To hell with all the Barisan National.
written by zackzeni, February 06, 2009 17:43:23
UMNO tyrants... we the rakyat will bring down the umno goons and those who support them.
written by inoi, February 06, 2009 17:46:02
Tainted institution and less respect from RAKYAT.
written by FFT, February 06, 2009 18:11:11
written by ez24get, February 06, 2009 18:22:25
Zambry Background

The 47-year-old, a second-term Pangkor assemblyman, is a prominent political figure in Perak and has contributed to the development of information and communication technology (ICT) in the state.

Starting off his career in politics as Pangkor Umno Youth chief in 1992 and later as head of the Perak Umno Youth, Zambry had been responsible for developing the state's ICT infrastructure during his tenure as the state Education, Human Resources and Multimedia Committee chairman after the 2004 general election.

Well, Najib spoke so highly of Zambry. If you ****** ICT, RM2.21 billion and Auditor General Report you will find that he is certainly highly qualified under UMNO credentials:

The government has spent a total of RM3.2 billion over the past five years to carry out the teaching of Science and Mathematics in English, Deputy Education Minister Razali Ismail told the Dewan Rakyat today.

Out of the amount, the government paid a whopping RM2.21 billion for the purchase of information and computer technology (ICT) equipments of which there are no breakdpwns.

The rest of the expenditure went to the payment for educational incentives (RM638 million), teachers’ training (RM317 million) and ICT software (RM2.4 million).

The figures were revealed by Razali when replying to Nga Kor Ming (DAP-Taiping) who wanted to know the cost to implement the teaching of Science and Mathematics in English since 2003.

In a supplementary question, Azmin Ali (PKR-Gombak) trained his sights on the hefty sum used for the procurement of ICT equipment.

“The purpose of it (the amount spent) was not to educate, but to make a contract for cronies,” claimed Azmin, who wanted to know which company was awarded the contract to supply the equipment.

The deputy minister however did not respond.
written by sonofmalaysia, February 06, 2009 18:24:31
To all Perakian, this must be the darkest day in the history of Perak that we know of.

What is most unbearably painful is that we were stabbed from behind right through the heart by our very own Sultan whom we once revered highly and proud of !!

To our Sultan Tuanku, do you know how many Perakians are crying, crying due to anger , shame and betrayal !!

written by wishuponastar, February 06, 2009 18:59:08
I would like to add this quote (which came into my inbox so timely)to my earlier comment on the above topic.

Quote of the Day | February 6, 2009
“When your values are clear to you, making decisions becomes easier.”

—Roy Disney (b. 1930); former Disney executive, nephew of Walt Disney

Some leaders make decisions to remind rakyat they exist.

They fear to be archived as museum pieces.
written by Angel, February 06, 2009 21:52:00
I agree that more Malaysians must vote in the next GE and ensure the margins are wider between PR and BN so it would be more difficult for the same to be repeated. Also, PR must win in 80 or 90% of the states and not only 4.

We can speak through the ballot box and if true democracy still prevails in this country, we will get the govt we so richly deserve. Meanwhile, PR must do a good job in all the remaining states they are heading. Let the rakyat have no regrets electing them in!!
written by peter, February 06, 2009 23:03:26
I'm too shocked for words. I've never seen such a dirty political tactic in the world.

The neo-Nazi umNO party is truly making the rakyat very angry. This bolehland is worst than Zimbabwe. This is the end of our beloved country.

No words can convey my anger.
written by PASOK, February 07, 2009 00:53:37

Looks like dogshit, smells like dogshit... no its Zambry.
written by MasterYoda, February 07, 2009 02:13:37
www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=45582922716

Spread the Resistance!!! 20 MILLION MALAYSIANS SAY NO to NAJIB
What kind of Malaysia do I give my children?

What kind of Malaysia will I LEAVE behind?

Let us consider these questions carefully.

I WANT a Malaysia where Freedom, Equality, Democracy, Love and Tolerance are sacredly upheld.

I DONT want to give my children a DIVIDED Malaysia. NEVER.

In my hand lies the power to cause CHANGE. Its in your hand too.

SEND THIS INVITE TO AS MANY FB USERS AS YOU CAN.

"20 Million Malaysians Say NO!" - to BN's Incoming PM

20 Million Malaysians Say No! to in coming BN Prime Minister in March 2009!

As fortold in the early years after the creation of Malaysia, the oldest prophecy R.A.H.M.A.N may be fullfilled atlast... if Najib comes to the 'throne'.

Najib - the LAST BN EMPEROR from UMNO! Bapak BN terakhir!

This is the nick name, we, the Rakyat shall bestow upon him. May it catch on like a wild fire!
In March 2009, BN won on a thin majority with the understanding the current PM Abdullah would carry on until the end of the new term. However, the Warlords in BN and in particular UMNO have pressured PM Abdullah to 'abdicate' his throne. A ghost which once ruled came back from the dead to haunt PM Abdullah.

Pakatan Rakyat has come on the scene. The Real BN Busters. An incomprehensible alliance to fight the opportunists and those who are selling out Malaysia wholesale.

INVITE AS MANY FB USERS TO UNITE : 20 MILLION MALAYSIANS SAY NO!!
written by Msian Idol3, February 07, 2009 09:44:46
I just can't believe the Sultan betrayed the people. Why, why, why. The people wanted change and has endured over 50 yrs of bad govt. How can the Sultan not see this especially all the speeches made for the people. This is not arocket scientist decision. Support the people voices at the polls is critically important to justice. Its such a black day and my respect for the Perak sultanate has certainly nose dived.