Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow No way for Pakatan to hang on

No way for Pakatan to hang on PDF Print
Friday, 06 February 2009 12:36

COMMENT By BARADAN KUPPUSAMY (The Star)

SULTAN Azlan Shah has decisively refused to dissolve the state assembly and has asked Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin and his exco to resign to allow for a new Barisan Nasional-led administration to take shape.

However, Nizar is refusing to resign and his exco is taking the cue and staying put, setting the stage for a new twist in the high-octane drama that started on Sunday with the defection of one DAP and two PKR representatives.

Pakatan Rakyat supremo Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, with all the top Pakatan leaders behind him, wants an audience with the Sultan to convince him to call for a fresh election, hoping they can get a new mandate and save their administration.

But the Ruler has clearly spelt out that he is convinced the Barisan has a majority of three assemblymen – Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi (Behrang), Mohd Osman Jailu (Changkat Jering) and Hee Yit Fong (Jelapang) – who have resigned from their parties.

So the numbers are equal: 28 Pakatan and 28 Barisan in the 59-seat assembly.

Now that the Barisan has his blessing, it is going ahead to swear in the new Mentri Besar and executive councillors at 3pm today before the Ruler at the palace in Kuala Kangsar.

The irony is that while Pakatan exco members and assemblymen are still holding on to a sinking ship, they and their spouses received official letters inviting them to the swearing-in ceremony of Pangkor assemblyman Datuk Zambry Kadir as the new mentri besar, indicating how meticulously the defections and takeover had been planned.

Immediately after the Palace issued a formal statement rejecting any dissolution of the State Assembly, a notice went up at the State Secretariat building requesting Pakatan exco members and their aides to clean up their office, take their personal stuff away and hand over the keys, and surrender their official cars.

They were also reminded to leave behind all official files.

With these developments, the political crisis has ebbed and what’s left is whether the Ruler will grant an audience to Pakatan leaders again, which is unlikely.

Nizar has refused to vacate his official residence but eventually, after Zambri has been sworn in, he has to leave like the other executive members, at least to avoid embarrassment. He may even be evicted.

Several exco members who feel that the writing is on the wall are already packing up and preparing to go back to their old jobs – practising law, businesses, farming and family – things they had neglected in the euphoria of the March 8 general election victory.

If Nizar stays and insists he is the rightful Mentri Besar and if he goes to court asking for such a declaration, it would be a repeat of the “two Chief Ministers” case in Sabah in 1986.

Then, Datuk Joseph Pairin Kitingan, who had a simple majority, and the late Tun Datu Mustapha Harun, who had the minority, had a dispute over who has control of the state assembly.

They went to court and in a case that became famous, Kitingan won after three years of court hearing.

The Pakatan has filed for an order of mandamus to declare the three crucial seats vacant and is hoping for the court to order by-elections to be held.

More suits and counter suits are likely to be filed in the weeks ahead but they are likely to have little political effect.

In the battle of wits for control of Perak, the Barisan has won hands down but in the court of public opinion, it has probably lost because the general sentiment is for holding a fresh election to let the people decide the outcome.

written by arazak, February 06, 2009 12:43:20
Hey kupu, go for fly a kite!

Our passion for justice and freedom overides whatever red blood or blue blood said and done. We know, we the masses are the majority and we will prevail! Come what may. . ., if not now. . .soon!
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 12:43:39
How can HE chuck out MB like this.He is elected by the people,for the people and with the people.He must be treated fairly!
written by DreamLady, February 06, 2009 12:47:44
My dear saudara Nizar, please, brave the weather, and for all your heartache and frustration, there waiting for you is the embrace of a blessing in diguise!!!

The people of Malaysia are behind you, my dear. God bless Nizar, the upright statesman of the century!!!
written by Fat Zorro, February 06, 2009 12:51:35
Our dear Menteri Besar Dato Nizar and the PR Team of Exco, we now know who is giving orders for you and team to immediately vacate office etc etc. So I urge all of you to do as ordered, no need to stoop low to beg, and why lower yourselves to beg from a ruler who has no qualms or hesitation to show Perakians and the whole of Malaysia that he is under the total control of Najib. He has an excellent opportunity to practice what he and his son had been preaching and yet his actions on until today is a let down. He the Sultan just had elevated Najib to status of emperor of Malaysia.
Do not fret and be demotivated, All of you have merely lost a battle and so now its time for you our dear MB and team to pick yourselves up, dust yourselves down and be prepared with all of us Perakian to fight and win the war in the next GE.
written by raven1958, February 06, 2009 12:54:16
Perakians..just dont know what hit them. Hellooooo!!! Dont you fellas realise that it was meiculously planned by your new roti canai mamak MB Zambri Kadeeeerrrr from Kerala or is it Tamil Nadu.....Wake up. They stole the state from you an you guys can do is say what to do....ya ya...it's gangsters in blue isnt it......
written by uxzee, February 06, 2009 13:03:41
Once the Speaker has accepted the 3 resignations, then they officially cannot go back to the state assembly. The EC or even the Sultan do not have the powers to reinstate the 3 assemblymen or refuse to recognise the acceptance of the resignations by the Speaker.

Only the courts can decide on this. And until the court decides, the 3 are considered to to have resigned.
written by hiro, February 06, 2009 13:07:28
The way it has been meticulously planned indicates how BN has acted hand in glove with the Election Commission, police, state secretary and perhaps the Sultan to undermine the Perak government.

I'm fine with many aspects of the Sultan's decision, save this: how could the Sultan be convinced that BN has the majority, when the issue of the resignation letters have yet to be resolved? Is it right for the Sultan to assume that the resignation is not effective, that the resignation letters are invalid? Or perhaps Pakatan hasn't told the whole truth - that there is no such resignation letter in Hee's case, so even excluding the two PKR reps, BN does indeed have a majority?

If it is the case that the Sultan is biased, I think it's time to call a spade a spade, and say that for all the reputed wisdom of the Perak Sultan, when push comes to shove, we finally understand where he stands. We should also come to finally appreciate how vast and dangerous is the corrupting influence of UMNO, and how much more those who hold true to the struggles of justice and fairness in Pakatan and the rakyat have to do to overcome the scourge of decadence on our beloved country.
written by temenggong, February 06, 2009 13:09:57
Pakatan has no choice but to put the foot down and fight! Both Nizar and Sivakumar can get a stay order respectively. The rakyat is king and all must bow before the rakyat.

No doubt the tuanku has the right to appoint the MB who commands the majority in the assembly. This's his prerogative. But where is the majority? The Speaker shall advise the tuanku on the majority. The tuanku can appoint an MB but the Speaker is appointed by the assembly. The Speaker shall decide who sits in the assembly.

The credibility of the Perak Household is incredulous!! Where are the 'daulat tuankus' now you fawning peasants! It is safe to say that post 2/09 the political situation has changed yet again. This shall be called the Perak Uprising!

I say friend, we the rakyat shall tell you who will be MB lah! We decide, okay! You decide the decorations, okay!
written by Mark C, February 06, 2009 13:12:38
wah, msm spinning already started liao.... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by SamYap, February 06, 2009 13:14:58
Baradan, You have painted yourself as a BN man through and through, in all your past articles. In fact your articles appear to be carboncopy types of Wong Chun Wai's writings. Thus, even now in your article, your opinion matters little to the people though it seemed less partisan. You have done a great disservice to yourself and to your country by siding with politicians whom you already know are useless in nation building over the past 50 years.

Wake up! Its not Tunku Abdul Rahman's party, the Alliance anymore. Its now 2009 and we are confronted with a party who is used to bullying the people and mismanaging the country, costing us a huge loss in financial terms and in terms of national unity.

You would do us, the people, and yourself a great favour to write more objectively from this day hence. Its people like you wielding a pen who is best placed to contribute towards positive changes for the future of our country.
written by malaysian, February 06, 2009 13:19:41
The Sultan of Perak has lost the love and respect of many Malaysians today.

Just like Badawi, we placed a lot of hope on him but we were terriblely disappointed by his poor judgement.

Weak! That's what they are. Simply weak!
written by carribeanking7, February 06, 2009 13:22:20
Better start looking at Kedah....NOW

Good luck to the new Perak govt , they are likely to face huge resistance, and protests at any small mistakes they make , they will face misery until they are thrown out in the next elections, pahang and terengganu also likely to fall....
JOHOR will become an UMNO museum.

K.Baradan Quoted ;but in the court of public opinion, it has probably lost ,
what an understatement the word probably.
written by fearless, February 06, 2009 13:53:38
written by Dualties, February 06, 2009 14:09:59
People of Malaysia :

In BN administration, people who have money and influential political power can do wonders in this country.

Therefore, don't complaint anything until the next General Election.
VOTE FOR THE INCORRUPTIBLE & PEOPLE WITH HIGH PROFESSIONAL ETHICS and POLITICIANS who are prepared to die/suffer for the RAKYAT.

Any MALAYSIANS available in Malaysia??? ...........It's Hard to Find....except for
Raja Petra Kamarudin;
Tunku Abdul Rahman,
Tun Dr Ismail,
Onn Jaafar,
Nik Aziz,
Lim Kit Siang,
V Rajaratnam,
Lim Guan Eng

and add on to this list to complete it.
written by joeawk, February 06, 2009 14:44:09
It smells of rotten fish. So eager to get rid of the Pakatan govt, in such a rush to swear-in BN. Just like daylight robbery.

written by mnaa5982, February 06, 2009 17:05:37
Battle of wits my bloody foot!

Blessing in disguise this is. To the left the fence sitters will move. Annhilated they will next time around.